原子交换详解

分享
Copied to clipboard!
原子交换详解

什么是原子交换?

原子交换(Atomic swaps)是一种支持两种运行在不同 区块链网络上的加密货币进行快速交换的技术。这种交易过程(也称为原子跨链交易)是基于 智能合约的,可以支持用户从他们的 加密钱包中直接交换想要的代币。因此,原子交换本质上是跨链的点对点交易。

尽管该技术是一种创新。但多年来跨链交易的概念一直被人们所关注。2013年,Tier Nolan首次对原子交换协议进行了详细 描述。然而,Daniel Larimer在2012年时,提出了一种名为 P2PTradeX的去中心化交换协议,也有人认为该协议是原子交换的原型。

在接下来的几年中,许多开发人员不断尝试使用原子交换协议。有证据表明比特币、莱特币、Komodo和Decred社区在这一过程中都发挥了重要作用。

首笔点对点原子交换交易发生 在2014年。但直到2017年,该技术才被公众接受,其背后的推动原因是 LTC/BTC和 DCR/LTC这两个交易对之间的成功交换。


原子交换如何工作的?

原子交换协议的设计方式可以有效防止交易对手间发生欺诈。为了更好理解它们是如何工作的,让我们假设Alice想要将她手中的Litecoins(LTC)与Bob手中的比特币(BTC)进行交换。

首先,Alice将她的LTC存入合约地址,该地址类似于一个保险箱。通过该方式创建好安全防护后,Alice还会生成一个用于访问它的密钥。然后,她与Bob共享此密钥的加密哈希值。请注意,Bob这时候无法获得Alice的LTC,因为他只拥有该密钥的哈希值,而并非密钥本身。

接下来,Bob使用Alice提供的哈希值创建出另一个安全合约地址,用于存入他的BTC。如果Alice要交换BTC,Alice需要使用与该地址相同的密钥,与此同时,她也需要将LTC的密钥展示给Bob(借助于hashlock的特殊功能)。这意味着,一旦Alice提出兑换BTC,Bob就能同时获得Alice手中的LTC,该原子交换的交易流程也随之完成。

“原子”一词代表了交易的一致性,即交易要么完全成功要么完全不成功。如果任何一方在交易过程中放弃或未能按照预期执行,合约将被取消,资金将自动返还给其原所有者。

原子交换可以通过两种不同的方式进行:链上和链下。链上原子交换发生在任一种加密货币的区块链在线网络中(在上述案例中,是发生在比特币和莱特币的区块链网络上)。另一方面,链下原子交换是发生在 链下的。这种原子交换通常基于双向支付渠道,类似于 闪电网络中所使用的渠道支付。

从技术上讲,大多数去中心化的交易系统都是基于 多重签名和 哈希时间锁合约(HTLC)的智能合约完成的。


哈希时间锁合约(HTLC)

Hash Timelock Contracts(HTLC)是比特币 闪电网络的重要组成部分,它们同时也是原子交换的关键组件之一。顾名思义,它们基于两个关键功能:hashlock和timelock。

如果没有展示相关的密钥数据(上述案例中的Alice密钥),hashlock会锁定资金的使用。 Timelock能够确保智能合约只能在预定义的时间范围执行。因此,HTLC的使用消除了中心化的需求,它们创建了特定的规则,从而防止原子交换被部分执行。


优势

原子交换的最大优势与其去中心化有关。原子交换消除了中心化交换和任何其他类型中介的需求,跨链交换可以在两方或多方执行而不需要它们彼此信任。由于用户不需要将资金提供给中心化交易所或第三方,因此 安全级别也会随之提高。交易可以直接通过用户的个人钱包发起。

此外,这种形式的点对点交易,使用的交易费用非常低或不需要费用,因此具有较低的运营成本。最后一点优势是原子交换可使交易更快的进行,因此具有更高的互操作性。换句话说,可以使各类 竞争币直接进行交换,而无需使用 比特币或 以太坊作为中间币。


局限性

同样,原子交换也需要满足其他一些必要性条件,这也可能会成为该技术推广的主要障碍。例如,为了执行原子交换,两种加密货币所在的区块链网络需要基于相同散列算法(例如,都使用比特币的SHA-256散列算法)。此外,它们还需要兼容HTLC和其他可编程功能。

除此之外,原子交换也带来了泄露用户隐私的安全隐患。这是因为通过区块链资源管理器,可以快速跟踪链上交换和交易,因此可以轻松获取用户地址。针对该隐患的短期解决方案是使用以隐私为中心的加密货币,从而减少隐私暴露的发生。尽管如此,许多开发人员尝试在原子交换中使用数字签名作为更可靠的解决方案。


为什么原子交换如此重要?

原子交换具有改善加密货币领域的巨大潜力,但目前尚未大范围进行测试。跨链交易最终可以解决许多中心化交易所存在的问题。虽然这些交易所目前仍然维持着加密货币的运行,但是它们仍然存在一系列隐患。其中部分问题包括:

  • 更重大的威胁隐患:中心化交易所具有更大的价值,因此他们更容易受到黑客攻击,中心化交易所是数字货币劫持的主要目标。

  • 不完善的资金管理以及人为错误:中心化交易所需要人为运营。如果那些担任重要角色的管理者发生失误,或决策者在交易所运营方面做出决策失误,那么交易所用户的资金就会受到损失。

  • 运营成本较高:中心化交易所有较高的提现和交易手续费。

  • 交易量剧增导致低效率:当市场活动过于活跃时,中心化交易所往往无法应对大量增加的交易需求,导致系统运行缓慢或服务不可用。

  • 监管:在大多数国家,加密货币监管政策严格。政府的批准和管理仍然存在许多不确定问题。


总结

尽管原子交换仍然是较为新颖的技术,所以其必定存在局限性,但这项技术在推动区块链互操作性和跨链交易方面具有重大变革。因此,该技术具有很大的潜力,能够影响加密货币行业的发展,在去中心化和点对点货币交换方面开辟了全新途径。原子交换可能在不久的将来会越来越多地被使用,特别是在去中心化交易所内。

Loading

Atomic Swaps Explained

Share
Atomic Swaps Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

What are atomic swaps?

Atomic swaps consist of a technique that allows the quick exchange of two different cryptocurrencies, running on distinct blockchain networks. Such a process (also known as atomic cross-chain trading) is based on smart contracts, and it allows users to trade their coins directly from their personal crypto wallets. So atomic swaps are, essentially, peer to peer trades across different blockchains.

Despite being an innovative technique, the idea of cross-chain trading is under discussion for many years. Tier Nolan was likely the first to describe a complete atomic swap protocol, back in 2013. However, a trustless exchange protocol called P2PTradeX was presented by Daniel Larimer in 2012, and some people consider it to be the prototype of an atomic swap.

In the following years, many developers started to experiment with atomic swap protocols. Evidence suggests that Bitcoin, Litecoin, Komodo, and Decred communities all played an important role in the process.

Apparently, the first peer to peer atomic swaps started to take place in 2014. But it was only in 2017 that the technique became widely known by the general public - mainly because of the successful swaps between LTC/BTC and DCR/LTC.


How do atomic swaps work?

Atomic swap protocols are designed in a way that prevents any of the involved parties from cheating. To understand how they work, let’s imagine that Alice wants to trade her Litecoins (LTC) for Bob’s Bitcoins (BTC).

First, Alice deposits her LTC into a contract address that acts like a safe. When this safe is created, Alice also generates a key to access it. She then shares a cryptographic hash of this key with Bob. Note that Bob can’t access the LTC yet because he only has the hash of the key and not the key itself.

Next, Bob uses the hash provided by Alice to create another safe contract address, in which he deposits his BTC. To claim the BTC, Alice is required to use that same key and, by doing so, she reveals it to Bob (thanks to a special function called hashlock). This means that as soon as Alice claims the BTC, Bob is able to claim the LTC and the swap is complete.

The term ‘atomic’ relates to the fact that these transactions either happen entirely or not at all. If any of the parties give up or fails to do what they are supposed to, the contract is canceled, and the funds are automatically returned to their owners.

Atomic swaps can happen in two different ways: on-chain and off-chain. On-chain atomic swaps happen on either of the currency’s networks (in this case, either the Bitcoin or Litecoin blockchain). Off-chain atomic swaps, on the other hand, take place on a secondary layer. This kind of atomic swaps is usually based on bidirectional payment channels, similar to the ones used in the Lightning Network.

Technically speaking, most of these trustless trading systems are based on smart contracts that use multi-signatures and Hash Timelock Contracts (HTLC).


Hash Timelock Contracts (HTLC)

While Hash Timelock Contracts (HTLC) are an important part of the Bitcoin Lightning Network, they are also one of the key components that makes atomic swaps possible. As the name suggests, they are based on two key functions: a hashlock and a timelock.

A hashlock is what prevents funds from being spent unless a piece of data is revealed (Alice’s key in the previous example). Timelock is a function that ensures the contract can only be executed within a predefined timeframe. Consequently, the use of HTLCs removes the need for trust because they create a specific set of rules that prevent atomic swaps from executing partially.


Advantages

The biggest advantages of atomic swaps are all related to its decentralized nature. By removing the need for a centralized exchange or any other kind of mediator, cross-chain swaps can be executed by two (or more) parties without requiring them to trust each other. There is also an increased level of security because users don’t need to give their funds to a centralized exchange or third party. Instead, the trades can happen directly from users’ personal wallets.

Also, this form of peer to peer trading has much lower operational costs as trading fees are either very low or absent. Lastly, atomic swaps make it possible for trades to happen very quickly, with higher degrees of interoperability. In other words, altcoins can be swapped directly without making use of Bitcoin or Ethereum as an intermediary coin.


Limitations

There are a few conditions that need to be met for an atomic swap to take place, and these may likely present obstacles for the technique to be widely adopted. For instance, to perform an atomic swap, the two cryptocurrencies need to be based on blockchains that share the same hashing algorithm (e.g., SHA-256 for Bitcoin). Also, they also need to be compatible with HTLC and other programmable functionalities.

Other than that, atomic swaps bring up concerns about users privacy. That’s because on-chain swaps and transactions can be quickly tracked on a blockchain explorer, making it easy to link the addresses. A short-term answer to this problem is to use privacy-focused cryptocurrencies as a way to reduce exposure. Still, many developers are experimenting with the use of digital signatures in atomic swaps as a more reliable solution.


Why do they matter?

Atomic swaps have great potential to improve the cryptocurrency space and are yet to be tested on a broader scale. Cross-chain trading can eventually solve many of the problems that are part of most centralized exchanges. Although these exchanges have maintained the cryptocurrency systems up until today, there are several concerns about them. Some of these issues include:

  • Greater vulnerability: keeping many valuable resources in one location makes them more vulnerable to hacking, and centralized exchanges are prime targets for digital heists.

  • Funds mismanagement and human error: centralized exchanges are run by people. If those in important roles make mistakes or if the leaders make poor choices regarding exchange operation, users’ funds can be compromised.

  • Higher operational costs: centralized exchanges have higher withdrawal and trading fees

  • Inefficiency in regards to volume demands: when the market activity gets too intense, centralized exchanges often fail to deal with the increased trading demand, causing the system to slow down or go offline.

  • Regulation: in most countries, cryptocurrency regulation is far from ideal. There are still many concerns surrounding government approval and management.


Closing thoughts

Although atomic swaps are still fairly new and limitations certainly exist, this technology is driving significant changes in regards to blockchain interoperability and cross-chain trading capabilities. As such, the technique has great potential to influence the growth of the cryptocurrency industry, opening up new avenues in terms of decentralization and peer to peer monetary transfers. The chances are that atomic swaps will be used more and more in the near future, especially within decentralized exchanges.

Loading