شرح المقايضات الذرية

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
شرح المقايضات الذرية
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

ما هي المقايضات الذرية؟

تتكون المقايضات الذرية من تقنية تسمح بالتبادل السريع لعمليتي رقميتي يعملان على شبكات  بلوكشين مختلفة مميزة. تعتمد مثل هذه العملية و المعروفة أيضًا باسم التداول الذري عبر سلسلة على ما يسمى  بالعقود الذكية (Smart Contracts) وتتيح للمستخدمين تداول عملاتهم الرقمية مباشرة من  محافظهم الرقمية الشخصية. لذا فإن المقايضات الذرية هي في الأساس عمليات تداول من نوعية نظير الى نظير تعمل عبر شبكات بلوكشين مختلفة.

على الرغم من كونها تقنية مبتكرة إلا أن فكرة التداول عبر السلسلة كان يتم مناقشتها لسنوات عديدة. من المحتمل أن يكون Tier Nolan هو أول من  وصف بروتوكول مقايضة ذرية كامل في عام 2013. مع ذلك قدم Daniel Larimer بروتوكول مقايضة غير جدير بالثقة في عام 2012 عض الناس يعتبرونه النموذج الأولي للمقايضة الذرية.

في السنوات التالية بدأ العديد من المطورين في تجربة بروتوكولات المقايضة الذرية. تشير الدلائل على أن مجتمعات Bitcoin و Litecoin و Komodo و Decred لعبت جميعها دورًا مهمًا في هذه العملية.

بدأت أول مقايضة ذرية من نوعية نظير الى نظير  في عام 2014. ولكن أصبحت هذه التقنية معروفة على نطاق واسع من قبل عامة الناس في عام 2017 فقط ويرجع ذلك إلى المقايضات الناجحة بين  LTC/BTC و DCR/LTC.


كيف تعمل المقايضات الذرية؟

تم تصميم بروتوكولات المقايضة الذرية بطريقة تمنع أي طرف من الأطراف المعنية من الغش. لفهم طريقة عملها دعنا نتخيل أن أليس تريد مقايضة لايت كوين (LTC) مع بوب الذي يملك بيتكوين (BTC).

أولاً تقوم أليس بإيداع الـ لايت كوين (LTC) الخاص بها في عنوان عقد يعمل كخزنة. عندما يتم إنشاء هذه الخزنة تنشئ أليس أيضًا مفتاحًا للوصول إليها. ثم تقوم بمشاركة الهاش المشفر لهذا المفتاح مع بوب. لاحظ أنه لا يمكن لبوب الوصول إلى الـ لايت كوين (LTC) حتى الآن لأنه لا يملك سوى هاش المفتاح وليس المفتاح نفسه.

بعد ذلك يستخدم بوب الهاش الذي قدمته أليس لإنشاء عنوان عقد آخر آمن ويقوم فيه بإيداع البيتكوين (BTC) الخاص به. للمطالبة بالبيتكوين يتعين على أليس استخدام نفس المفتاح و بفعل ذلك تكشف عنه لبوب (بفضل وظيفة خاصة تسمى hashlock). هذا يعني أنه بمجرد مطالبة أليس بالبيتكوين الخاص بـ بوب، يكون بوب أيضا قادرًا على المطالبة اللايت كوين الخاص بـ أليس وتصبح عملية المقايضة كاملة.

مصطلح ‘الذري’ يتعلق بحقيقة أن هذه المعاملات تحدث إما بالكامل أو لا تحدث على الإطلاق. إذا استسلم أي من الأطراف أو فشل في القيام بما يجب عليه، فسيتم إلغاء العقد وتتم إعادة الأموال تلقائيًا إلى أصحابها.

يمكن أن تحدث المقايضات الذرية بطريقتين مختلفتين: داخل السلسلة وخارج السلسلة. تحدث المقايضات داخل الشبكة على أي من شبكات العملة (في هذه الحالة تكون بلوكشين البيتكوين أو بلوكشين اللايت كوين). من ناحية أخرى تحدث المقايضات خارج الشبكة على  طبقة ثانوية. يعتمد هذا النوع من المقايضات الذرية عادة على قنوات الدفع ثنائية الاتجاه على غرار القنوات المستخدمة في  شبكة البرق.

من الناحية الفنية تعتمد معظم أنظمة التداول التي لا تحتاج للثقة على عقود ذكية تستخدم التوقيعات المتعددة و  Hash Timelock Contracts (HTLC).


Hash Timelock Contracts (HTLC)

بينما تعتبر الـ (HTLC) جزءًا مهمًا من  شبكة البرق الخاصة بالبيتكوين، هي أيضًا أحد المكونات الرئيسية التي تجعل المقايضات الذرية ممكنة. و كما يوحي الإسم فهي تستند إلى وظيفتين رئيسيتين وهما: الـ Hashlock و الـTimelock. وبالتالي فإن إستخدام الـ Hash Timelock Contracts يلغي الحاجة إلى الثقة لأنها تنشئ مجموعة محددة من القواعد التي تمنع المقايضات الذرية من التنفيذ جزئيًا (حتى تكتمل جميع أركان المقايضة).

الـ Hashlock أو المعوقات هي ما يمنع إنفاق الأموال ما لم يتم الكشف عن جزء من البيانات (مثل مفتاح أليس الذي ذكرناه في المثال السابق) والـ Timelock هي وظيفة تضمن أن العقد لا يمكن تنفيذه إلا في إطار زمني محدد مسبقًا. وبالتالي فإن استخدام الـ HTLCs يلغي الحاجة إلى الثقة لأنها تنشئ مجموعة محددة من القواعد التي تمنع المقايضات الذرية من التنفيذ جزئيًا (حتي تكتمل جميع أركان المقايضة).


المميزات

ترجع أكبر مزايا المقايضة الذرية الى طبيعتها اللامركزية. عن طريق إزالة الحاجة إلى تبادل مركزي أو أي نوع آخر من الوساطة. يمكن تنفيذ مقايضات متقاطعة عبر سلسلة من طرفين (أو أكثر) دون الحاجة الى وجود ثقة بين بعضهما البعض. هناك أيضًا مستوى متزايد من  الأمان لأن المستخدمين لا يحتاجون إلى منح أموالهم إلى منصة تداول مركزية أو جهة خارجية. بدلاً من ذلك مكن أن تحدث الصفقات مباشرةً بين محافظ المستخدمين الشخصية.

أيضا هذا النوع من تداول النظير الى نظير له تكاليف تشغيل أقل بكثير حيث أن رسوم التداول إما منخفضة للغاية أو منعدمة. وأخيرًا، تتيح المقايضات الذرية حدوث عمليات التداول بسرعة كبيرة مع درجات أعلى من قابلية التشغيل البيني. بمعنى اخر يمكن تبديل  العملات الرقمية بطريقة مباشرة دون الحاجة الى استخدام  البيتكوين أو  الإيثيريوم كعملة وسيطة.


القيود

هناك بعض الشروط التي يجب الوفاء بها لإجراء عملية مقايضة ذرية. وعلى الأرجح قد تمثل هذه الشروط عقبات أمام اعتماد هذه التقنية على نطاق واسع. على سبيل المثال، لإجراء عملية مقايضة ذرية يجب أن تكون العملات الرقمية المشتركة في عملية المقايضة تعمل على شبكة بلوكشين تشترك في نفس خوارزمية التجزئة (مثل SHA-256 للبيتكوين). أيضا فإنها تحتاج إلى أن تكون متوافقة مع الـ HTLC ووظائف برمجية أخرى.

بخلاف ذلك تثير المقايضات الذرية مخاوف بشأن خصوصية المستخدمين. وذلك لأنه يمكن تتبع المعاملات والمقايضات عبر الإنترنت بسرعة على مستكشف البلوكشين. مما يجعل من السهل ربط العناوين بمالكيها. الحل على المدى القصير لهذه المشكلة هي استخدام العملات الرقمية التي تركز على الخصوصية كوسيلة لتقليل الكشف عن مالكها. ومع ذلك فإن العديد من المطورين يجربون استخدام التواقيع الرقمية في المقايضات الذرية كحل أكثر موثوقية.


لماذا تكون مهمة؟

لدى المقايضات الذرية قدرة كبيرة على تحسين مجال العملات الرقمية ولا يزال يتعين اختبارها على نطاق أوسع. يمكن للتداول خلال السلسلة أن يحل في النهاية العديد من المشكلات التي تشكل جزءًا منصات التداول المركزية. على الرغم من أن هذه المنصات حافظت على أنظمة العملات الرقمية حتى اليوم إلا أن هناك العديد من المخاوف بشأنها. بعض هذه المشكلات تشمل:

  • عرضة أكثر للخطر: حيث أن لاحتفاظ بالعديد من الموارد القيمة في مكان واحد يجعلها أكثر عرضة للإختراق أو السرقة. و تعتبر منصات التداول المركزية أهدافًا رئيسية للسرقات الرقمية.

  • سوء إدارة الأموال والخطأ البشري:  تتم إدارة منصات التداول المركزية بواسطة أشخاص. إذا ارتكب الأشخاص ذوو الأدوار المهمة أخطاء أو إذا اتخذ الزعماء خيارات سيئة فيما يتعلق بالمنصة نفسها، فيمكن تعريض أموال المستخدمين للخطر.

  • تكاليف تشغيلية أعلى: لدى منصات التداول المركزية رسوم سحب و تداول أعلى

  • عدم الكفاءة فيما يتعلق بحجم الطلبات:  عندما يزداد نشاط السوق بشدة، كثيراً ما تفشل منصات التداول المركزية في التعامل مع حجم طلبات التداول المتزايد مما يتسبب في تباطؤ النظام أو إنقطاع اتصالة بالإنترنت.

  • القانون:  في معظم البلاد يعتبر تنظيم العملات الرقمية من الناحية القانونية غير مثالي بالمرة. لا يزال هناك الكثير من المخاوف المحيطة بموافقة الحكومة وإدارتها.


أفكار ختامية

على الرغم من أن المقايضات الذرية لا تزال جديدة إلى حد ما وتوجد قيود بالتأكيد، إلا أن هذه التكنولوجيا تقود تغييرات كبيرة فيما يتعلق بإمكانية التشغيل المتداخل مع البلوكشين وقدرات التداول عبر السلسلة. وعلى هذا النحو فإن هذه التقنية لديها قدرة كبيرة للتأثير على نمو صناعة العملات الرقمية وفتح طرق جديدة من حيث اللامركزية والتحويلات النقدية المباشرة. من المتوقع أن يتم إستخدام المقايضات الذرية أكثر فأكثر في المستقبل القريب وخاصة في منصات التداول اللامركزية.

Loading

Atomic Swaps Explained

Share
Atomic Swaps Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

What are atomic swaps?

Atomic swaps consist of a technique that allows the quick exchange of two different cryptocurrencies, running on distinct blockchain networks. Such a process (also known as atomic cross-chain trading) is based on smart contracts, and it allows users to trade their coins directly from their personal crypto wallets. So atomic swaps are, essentially, peer to peer trades across different blockchains.

Despite being an innovative technique, the idea of cross-chain trading is under discussion for many years. Tier Nolan was likely the first to describe a complete atomic swap protocol, back in 2013. However, a trustless exchange protocol called P2PTradeX was presented by Daniel Larimer in 2012, and some people consider it to be the prototype of an atomic swap.

In the following years, many developers started to experiment with atomic swap protocols. Evidence suggests that Bitcoin, Litecoin, Komodo, and Decred communities all played an important role in the process.

Apparently, the first peer to peer atomic swaps started to take place in 2014. But it was only in 2017 that the technique became widely known by the general public - mainly because of the successful swaps between LTC/BTC and DCR/LTC.


How do atomic swaps work?

Atomic swap protocols are designed in a way that prevents any of the involved parties from cheating. To understand how they work, let’s imagine that Alice wants to trade her Litecoins (LTC) for Bob’s Bitcoins (BTC).

First, Alice deposits her LTC into a contract address that acts like a safe. When this safe is created, Alice also generates a key to access it. She then shares a cryptographic hash of this key with Bob. Note that Bob can’t access the LTC yet because he only has the hash of the key and not the key itself.

Next, Bob uses the hash provided by Alice to create another safe contract address, in which he deposits his BTC. To claim the BTC, Alice is required to use that same key and, by doing so, she reveals it to Bob (thanks to a special function called hashlock). This means that as soon as Alice claims the BTC, Bob is able to claim the LTC and the swap is complete.

The term ‘atomic’ relates to the fact that these transactions either happen entirely or not at all. If any of the parties give up or fails to do what they are supposed to, the contract is canceled, and the funds are automatically returned to their owners.

Atomic swaps can happen in two different ways: on-chain and off-chain. On-chain atomic swaps happen on either of the currency’s networks (in this case, either the Bitcoin or Litecoin blockchain). Off-chain atomic swaps, on the other hand, take place on a secondary layer. This kind of atomic swaps is usually based on bidirectional payment channels, similar to the ones used in the Lightning Network.

Technically speaking, most of these trustless trading systems are based on smart contracts that use multi-signatures and Hash Timelock Contracts (HTLC).


Hash Timelock Contracts (HTLC)

While Hash Timelock Contracts (HTLC) are an important part of the Bitcoin Lightning Network, they are also one of the key components that makes atomic swaps possible. As the name suggests, they are based on two key functions: a hashlock and a timelock.

A hashlock is what prevents funds from being spent unless a piece of data is revealed (Alice’s key in the previous example). Timelock is a function that ensures the contract can only be executed within a predefined timeframe. Consequently, the use of HTLCs removes the need for trust because they create a specific set of rules that prevent atomic swaps from executing partially.


Advantages

The biggest advantages of atomic swaps are all related to its decentralized nature. By removing the need for a centralized exchange or any other kind of mediator, cross-chain swaps can be executed by two (or more) parties without requiring them to trust each other. There is also an increased level of security because users don’t need to give their funds to a centralized exchange or third party. Instead, the trades can happen directly from users’ personal wallets.

Also, this form of peer to peer trading has much lower operational costs as trading fees are either very low or absent. Lastly, atomic swaps make it possible for trades to happen very quickly, with higher degrees of interoperability. In other words, altcoins can be swapped directly without making use of Bitcoin or Ethereum as an intermediary coin.


Limitations

There are a few conditions that need to be met for an atomic swap to take place, and these may likely present obstacles for the technique to be widely adopted. For instance, to perform an atomic swap, the two cryptocurrencies need to be based on blockchains that share the same hashing algorithm (e.g., SHA-256 for Bitcoin). Also, they also need to be compatible with HTLC and other programmable functionalities.

Other than that, atomic swaps bring up concerns about users privacy. That’s because on-chain swaps and transactions can be quickly tracked on a blockchain explorer, making it easy to link the addresses. A short-term answer to this problem is to use privacy-focused cryptocurrencies as a way to reduce exposure. Still, many developers are experimenting with the use of digital signatures in atomic swaps as a more reliable solution.


Why do they matter?

Atomic swaps have great potential to improve the cryptocurrency space and are yet to be tested on a broader scale. Cross-chain trading can eventually solve many of the problems that are part of most centralized exchanges. Although these exchanges have maintained the cryptocurrency systems up until today, there are several concerns about them. Some of these issues include:

  • Greater vulnerability: keeping many valuable resources in one location makes them more vulnerable to hacking, and centralized exchanges are prime targets for digital heists.

  • Funds mismanagement and human error: centralized exchanges are run by people. If those in important roles make mistakes or if the leaders make poor choices regarding exchange operation, users’ funds can be compromised.

  • Higher operational costs: centralized exchanges have higher withdrawal and trading fees

  • Inefficiency in regards to volume demands: when the market activity gets too intense, centralized exchanges often fail to deal with the increased trading demand, causing the system to slow down or go offline.

  • Regulation: in most countries, cryptocurrency regulation is far from ideal. There are still many concerns surrounding government approval and management.


Closing thoughts

Although atomic swaps are still fairly new and limitations certainly exist, this technology is driving significant changes in regards to blockchain interoperability and cross-chain trading capabilities. As such, the technique has great potential to influence the growth of the cryptocurrency industry, opening up new avenues in terms of decentralization and peer to peer monetary transfers. The chances are that atomic swaps will be used more and more in the near future, especially within decentralized exchanges.

Loading