حالات استخدام البلوكشين: الأعمال الخيرية

مشاركة
حالات استخدام البلوكشين: الأعمال الخيرية
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

البلوكشين للجمعيات الخيرية: مقدمة للعمل الخيري عن طريق العملات الرقمية

غالباً ما تواجه المنظمات الخيرية عوائق في طريق النجاح بسبب الافتقار إلى الشفافية و المسائلات القضائية والحدود للطرق التي يمكن بها قبول التبرعات. الـ Crypto-philanthropy (أو استخدام تكنولوجيا البلوكشين لتسهيل المساهمات الخيرية) أصبح حلاً بديلاً مع المعاملات اللامركزية المباشرة التي قد تساعد هذه المؤسسات على تلقي التبرعات وجمع الأموال بشكل أكثر كفاءة.


أساسيات البلوكشين

جلب إنشاء البلوكشين العديد من الفوائد في مجموعة متنوعة من الصناعات لأنها تسمح لزيادة الشفافية وأمن البيانات. على الرغم من وجود هذا المفهوم قبل إنشاء البيتكوين بوقت طويل. إلا أنه لم يتم الاعتراف إلا بعد فترة قصيرة بقدرة البلوكشين على العمل الجماعي على نطاق واسع.

البلوكشين هو عنصر أساسي في جميع شبكات العملات الرقمية الاقتصادية. تم تصميمه سابقاً من قبل ساتوشي ناكاموتو كدفتر رقمي يعمل عن طريقة البيتكوين ولكن تم تطبيق التكنولوجيا منذ ذلك الحين على مجموعة متنوعة من السيناريوهات الأخرى وقد أثبتت أنها مفيدة للغاية ليس فقط بالنسبة للعملات الرقمية ولكن أيضًا للعديد من أنواع الاتصالات الرقمية ومشاركة البيانات.

تعمل بلوكشين البيتكوين كتكنولوجيا دفتر أستاذ رقمي موزع والتي يحميها التشفير ويتم الحفاظ عليها بواسطة شبكة ضخمة من أجهزة الكمبيوتر (العقد) ويسمح هذا الإطار بمعاملات نظير إلى نظير (P2P) التي لا حدود لها في بيئة لا تحظى بالثقة. وهذا يعني أنه لا توجد حاجة لأن يثق المستخدمون بعضهم البعض لأن جميع العقد المشاركة مطالبة باتباع مجموعة من القواعد المحددة مسبقًا (والتي يحددها بروتوكول البيتكوين)

السجل الخاص بالبيتكوين الذي يستخدم لإتمام هذه المعاملات لا وجود له في اي مركز بيانات أو خادم واحد مما يعني انه لا توجد سلطة متحكمة به. بدلاً من ذلك يتم توزيع و تكرار البلوكشين عبر عدد لا يحصى من نقاط الكمبيوتر المنتشرة حول العالم. وهذا يعني أنه في كل مرة يتم فيها تأكيد معاملة أو تغيير البيانات يتعين على كل مشارك تحديث نسخته الخاصة من البلوكشين وفقا لتلك الأحداث (يجب عليهم التوصل إلى توافق في الآراء فيما يتعلق بكل تغيير).

كما ذكرنا، غالباً ما يستخدم البلوكشين كدفتر حسابات موزع  والمزايا التي توفرها هذه التقنية الفريدة تخدم العديد من المنظمات الخيرية والمؤسسات الخيرية. مؤسسة بينانس الخيرية Blockchain Charity Foundation - BCF هي مثال بارز على ذلك.


تبرعات العملات الرقمية

لا يزال هناك طريق طويل لنقطعه حتى يتم تبني استخدام العملات الرقمية على مستوى العالم ويعد هذا الطريق أطول خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالجمعيات الخيرية. حاليا، هناك عدد صغير ولكن متزايد من المنظمات الخيرية التي اعتمدت بالفعل على العملات الرقمية كوسيلة للتبرع. 

يمكن للجهات المانحة التي تعتزم استخدام العملات الرقمية لتقديم مساهماتها إما أن تحصر جهودها مع المنظمات القليلة التي تدعمها أو تتبرع بكميات كبيرة كافية كمحاولة لإقناع مؤسساتها الخيرية المفضلة بقبول العملات الرقمية.

قبل أن تبدأ مؤسسة خيرية في تلقي تبرعات بإستخدام العملات الرقمية  فإنها تحتاج إلى وجود عملية لإدارة وتوزيع الأموال بطريقة شفافة وفعالة و تحتاج أيضا لفهم أساسيات العملات الرقمية و تكنولوجيا البلوكشين وكيف يمكن تحويل هذه التبرعات إلى عملة ورقية. يعتبر ذلك أمر حاسم لاستراتيجية التنفيذ الفعال.


فوائد محتملة لاستخدام العملات الرقمية للعمل الخيري

  • الشفافية الكاملة: كل معاملة عملة رقمية فريدة ما يعني أنه يمكن تتبعها بسهولة من خلال البلوكشين. إن المستوى الأعلى من الشفافية والمساءلة العامة يمكن أن يخفف من عقلية المانحين ويشجعهم على تقديم الدعم بينما يعزز سمعة المؤسسة الخيرية في النزاهة.
  • العالمية واللامركزية: تقدم معظم شبكات البلوكشين مستويات عالية من اللامركزية  مما يعني أنها لا تحتاج إلى الاعتماد على حكومة مركزية أو مؤسسة أخرى. وبالتالي  يمكن للأموال أن تنتقل مباشرة من الجهات المانحة إلى المؤسسات الخيرية والطبيعة اللامركزية للبلوكشين تجعلها مناسبة بشكل فريد للمعاملات الدولية.
  • الاتفاقيات الرقمية: البلوكشين يجعل من السهل مشاركة وتخزين البيانات الرقمية. ويمكن أيضا أن تستخدم لضمان أن الوثائق أو العقود الهامة لا يمكن تعديلها دون موافقة جميع الأعضاء المعنيين.
  • مصاريف مخفضة: إن تقنية البلوكشين لديها القدرة على تبسيط الطريقة التي تدار بها المؤسسات الخيرية وتخفيض التكاليف الإجمالية من خلال طلب عدد أقل من الوسطاء.
  • ضرائب مخفضة: إذا أخذنا بالاعتبار أحد المانحين في الولايات المتحدة كمثال، إذا تم تقديم مساهمة مع البيتكوين فستحصل المؤسسة الخيرية على القيمة الكاملة للتبرع (لا توجد ضرائب على أرباح رأس المال). علاوة على ذلك  سيكون المانح قادراً على المطالبة بخصم ضريبي أعلى تجاه الوكالات الحكومية.


مخاوف وقيود

على الرغم من المزايا المحتملة،  هناك بعض المخاوف المحتملة التي يجب أخذها في الاعتبار عند اعتماد العمل الخيري:

  • التقلب: بجانب العملات الرقمية المستقرة فإن معظم العملات المشفرة يتم تداولها في أسواق شديدة التقلب وغالباً ما تعاني من تقلبات كبيرة في القيمة.
  • الأمان:  إذا فقدت المفاتيح الخاصة التي تمنح حق الوصول إلى الأموال المتبرع بها فلا توجد طريقة لاستعادتها بالمثل، إذا لم يتم إدارة المفاتيح وتأمينها بشكل صحيح فقد ينتهي الأمر بوحدة خبيثة بالوصول إلى المحفظة وسرقة الأموال.
  • الوعي العام والفهم: يجد معظم الناس أن البلوكشين يصعب شرحة والعديد من المتبرعين المحتملين لا يفهمون أساسيات العملات الرقمية بشكل جيد بما فيه الكفاية للثقة في النظام أو الاستفادة منه للتبرعات الخيرية.


حالات العالم الحقيقي

قامت منظمات خيرية رفيعة المستوى في السنوات الأخيرة بتبني العمل الخيري عن طريق العملات الرقمية. على سبيل المثال في عام 2017 تلقت المنظمة الخيرية العالمية Fidelity Charitable ما يعادل 69 مليون دولار أمريكي في التبرعات بالعملات الرقمية. في العام نفسه  قام متبرع مجهول يعرف باسم Pine بتوزيع 55 مليون دولار تبرعات باستخدام البيتكوين  إلى منظمات مختلفة حول العالم عبر الـ Pineapple Fund.

كما ذكرنا سابقا،  فإن مؤسسة البلوكشين الخيرية الخاصة ببينانس هي مثال بارز آخر على العمل الخيري الرقمي. تعد مؤسسة البلوكشين الخيرية منظمة غير ربحية تهدف إلى تحويل الأعمال الخيرية من خلال استخدام منصة خيرية لامركزية.


افكار أخيرة

لا تزال الأعمال الخيرية الرقمية وسيلة جديدة نسبياً لتقديم التبرعات وقبولها وتوزيعها ولكن مع تطور تكنولوجيا البلوكشين على نطاق واسع ومألوف  قد تأتي الجمعيات الخيرية والجهات المانحة على حد سواء لاعتناقها كوسيلة واحدة أكثر جاذبية لمساعدة المحتاجين. يبدو من المعقول أن نفترض أنه مع استمرار الجمهور في تبني هذا النوع من العطاء  ستقوم المنظمات الخيرية بتكثيف عملياتها الخاصة بالتبادل.

Loading

Blockchain Use Cases: Charity

14.02.2019

Blockchain Use Cases: Charity

Blockchain for charities: an introduction to crypto-philanthropy

Charitable organizations often encounter barriers to success due to lack of transparency, accountability issues, and limits to the ways they can accept donations. Crypto-philanthropy (or the use of blockchain technology to facilitate charitable contributions) offers an alternative solution, with decentralized and direct transactions that may help these organizations receive donations and raise funds more efficiently.


Blockchain basics

The creation of blockchain systems brought up many benefits in a variety of industries, as they allow for increased transparency and data security. Although the concept existed long before the creation of Bitcoin, it was only recently that blockchain’s potential started to be acknowledged on a broader scale.

Blockchain is a fundamental component of nearly all cryptocurrency economic networks. It was formerly devised by Satoshi Nakamoto as the digital ledger behind Bitcoin, but the technology has since been applied to a variety of other scenarios and has proven to be quite useful not only for digital currencies but for many other types of digital communication and data sharing.

The Bitcoin blockchain operates as a distributed ledger technology (DLT), which is protected by cryptography and maintained by a huge network of computers (nodes). Such a framework allows for peer-to-peer (P2P) borderless transactions within a trustless environment. Trustless means there is no need for users to trust each other because all participating nodes are required to follow a predefined set of rules (outlined by the Bitcoin protocol).

The Bitcoin ledger used for these transactions does not reside on any single data center or server. Instead, the blockchain is distributed and replicated across a myriad of computer nodes, spread around the world. This means that every time a transaction is confirmed or data is changed, each participant has to update its own version of the blockchain, in accordance with those events (they have to reach consensus in regards to every change).

As mentioned, blockchain is often used as a distributed ledger, and the advantages provided by this unique technology are serving several philanthropy organizations and charity foundations. The Binance Blockchain Charity Foundation (BCF) is one notable example.


Cryptocurrency donations

There is still a long way to go until cryptocurrencies get globally adopted, and this route is particularly longer when it comes to charity. Currently, there is a small but growing number of charitable organizations that have already embraced cryptocurrency as a donation method.

Donors that intend to use cryptocurrency to make their contributions may have to either confine their efforts to the few organizations that support them or donate large enough amounts as an attempt to persuade their favorite charities into accepting crypto payments.

Before a charity starts receiving cryptocurrency donations, it needs to have a process in place for managing and distributing the funds in a transparent and efficient way. Understanding the basics of cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology - and how the donations can be converted into fiat currency - is crucial for an effective implementation strategy.


Potential benefits of crypto-philanthropy

Crypto-philanthropy promises some notable advantages for charitable organizations and donors, which include:

  • Total transparency: each cryptocurrency transaction is unique, which means that it is also easily tracked through the blockchain. The higher level of transparency and public accountability can ease donors' minds and encourage them to give while also reinforcing the charity's reputation for integrity.
  • Global and decentralized: most blockchain networks present high levels of decentralization, meaning that they do not need to rely on a centralized government or other institution. Thus, funds can move directly from donors to charities, and the decentralized nature of blockchain makes it uniquely suitable for international transactions.
  • Digital agreements: blockchain makes it easier to share and store digital data, and may also be used to ensure that important documents or contracts cannot be modified without the approval of all involved members. 
  • Reduced expenses: blockchain technology has the potential to simplify the way charities are managed, automating parts of the process and reducing the overall costs by requiring fewer intermediaries.
  • Reduced taxes: considering a US-based donor as an example, if a contribution is made with Bitcoin, the charity will get the full donated value (no capital gain taxes). Moreover, the donor would be able to claim a higher tax deduction towards governmental agencies.


Concerns and limitations

Despite the potential advantages, there are some potential concerns to be considered when adopting crypto-philanthropy:

  • Volatility: besides stablecoins, most cryptocurrencies are being traded on highly volatile markets, and often suffer large swings in value. 
  • Security: if the private keys that give access to donated funds are lost, there is no way to recover them. Likewise, if the keys are not managed and secured properly, a malicious entity may end up accessing the wallets and stealing the funds.
  • Public awareness and understanding: most people find blockchain quite difficult to explain, and many potential donors don’t understand the basics of cryptocurrencies well enough to trust the system or make use of it for charitable donations.


Real-World Cases

Crypto-philanthropy has been taken up by some high-profile charitable organizations in recent years. In 2017, for example, the global philanthropic organization Fidelity Charitable received the equivalent of $69 million in cryptocurrency donations. The same year, an anonymous donor known as Pine distributed around $55 million in Bitcoin donations to various organizations worldwide via the Pineapple Fund.

As previously presented, the Blockchain Charity Foundation (BCF) is another notable example of crypto-philanthropy. The BCF is a not-for-profit organization aiming to transform philanthropy through the use of a decentralized charity platform.


Final thoughts

Crypto-philanthropy remains a relatively new means of giving, accepting, and distributing donations. But as the blockchain technology grows more widespread and familiar, charities and donors alike may come to embrace it as one more attractive way to help those in need. It seems only sensible to assume that as the public continues to adopt this form of giving, charitable organizations will ramp up their cryptocurrency operations.

Loading