区块链应用案例:数字身份

分享
Copied to clipboard!
区块链应用案例:数字身份

在诸多新兴区块链技术案例中,数字身份管理与验证有可能是最有前景的应用之一。仅在2018年,全球数十亿人受到个人数据外泄的影响。无可否认地,我们需要更有效的方法来储存、传输、验证这些敏感信息。在此背景下,区块链系统或能带来有价值的方案,解决那些中心化数据库所面临的难题。


区块链如何在数字身份系统中应用呢?

本质上来说,当一个文件被写入区块链系统中,其中信息的真实性已被维护网络的节点所确认。换句话说,一个来自多个用户的“有序声明”支持着所有记录信息的有效性。

在本文中,网络节点可以被合法机构或政府机关所掌控,负责确认和验证数字纪录。每个节点可以对数据的真实性进行“投票”,让这些文件被批准为正式文件,增加其安全等级。


密码学所扮演的角色

认识到基于区块链的身份系统并不需要直接或由外部系统分享敏感信息,这一点很重要。反之,数字资料可以通过密码学方式被分享与认证,像是哈希函式、数字签名和零知识证明。

通过使用哈希算法,任一文件都可被转换成哈希值,也就是一长串字符。就此例来说,这个哈希值代表着创建它的所有信息,就像是数字指纹一样。最重要的是,政府机构或其他公信组织可以通过数字签名授与该文件正式有效性。

例如,一个公民可以提供他们的文件给合法机构,让他们产生一组唯一的哈希值(数字指纹)。该机构接着可以创建一个用来验证该哈希值的数字签名,也就表示它可以被视为一份正式文件。

除此之外, 零知识证明可以让证书或身份在不揭露任何资讯的状况下被分享和认证。这代币着即便资料是被加密的,它的真伪仍可以被验证。也就是说,你可以用零知识证明,在无需透露你实际年龄的情况下,去证明你已达到可驾车年龄,或者可以进入俱乐部。


身份自主权

身份自主权是指一种模型,拥有身份自主权的每个用户都可以完全控制其数据,这些数据可以存储在个人钱包(类似于加密钱包)中。在此情况下,人们可以决定何时以及如何与其他人共享信息。例如,某个用户可以将其信用卡凭据存储在个人钱包中,然后使用其私钥对交易进行签名并发送。通过这种方式,他们可以证明自己是该信用卡的真实所有者。

尽管区块链技术主要用于存储和交易加密货币,但它也可以用于共享和验证个人文档和进行签名。例如,有人具备政府机构认可的合格投资人资质,他就可以通过零知识证明协议将该事实的确认权移交给经纪商。最后,经纪商可以在没有获得投资人净值或收入详细资料的情况下,确认该投资者的资质是合格的。


潜在优势

在数字身份中采用密码学与区块链技术具有两大优势。第一是用户可更容易掌控自己的个人资料是如何以及何时被使用的。相比于将敏感资料储存在中心化服务器中,这可以大幅减少有关的风险。同时,区块链网络可以通过密码学系统提高隐私级别。如之前所述,零知识证明协议可以在不分享文件详细信息的情况下,证明文件的有效性。

另一个优点是,基于区块链的数字身份系统比传统方式更为可靠。例如,使用数字签名验证用户的真实性较为容易。除此之外,区块链系统可以保护信息的真实性,而且能够有效保护各类信息不被窜改。


潜在缺点

和诸多区块链案例相同,在数字身份系统中应用该技术仍然存在挑战。目前该领域最大的挑战是遇到合成身份诈骗这类恶意攻击时,系统仍容易被攻击。

合成身份指结合来自不同人的有效信息生成一个全新的虚假身份。而用于创建该虚假身份的其他信息都是真实的,所以某些系统会误认该合成身份是真实的。这类攻击被罪犯分子广泛应用于信用卡欺诈。

然而,通过数字签名可以有效治理该问题,伪造的组合文件不会被在区块链记录。例如,政府机构会为每个文件提供个人的数字签名,同时也会为同一个人所注册的所有文件生成相同的数字签名。

另外一个缺点是存在51%攻击的可能性,这在小型区块链网络中更可能发生。51%攻击有可能让区块链发生回滚,也就是改变其交易记录。该问题在人人都可加入的公有链中,尤其需要关注。而通过私链的解决方案就可以有效减少该类攻击,因为在私链中,验证者均为可信机构。然而,私链的解决方案也意味着更大中心化和更少民主化。


结论

尽管存在诸多缺点与限制,区块链技术仍然有极大的潜力改变信息验证、储存与分享的方式。当许多公司和初创企业在探索这些可能性时,还有许多尚待完善的事情。我们在未来几年仍会看到许多专注于数字身份管理的服务,这也将成为区块链技术的其核心。

Loading

Blockchain Use Cases: Digital Identity

Share
Blockchain Use Cases: Digital Identity
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Among the many emerging use cases of blockchain technology, digital identity management and verification is perhaps one of the most promising. In 2018 alone, billions of people were affected by personal data breaches, all around the world. There is an undeniable need for more secure methods of storing, transferring, and verifying sensitive information. In this context, blockchain systems may bring valuable solutions to some of the difficulties faced by most centralized databases.


How can blockchain apply to digital identity systems?

In essence, when a file is recorded on a blockchain system, the authenticity of its information is ensured by the many nodes that maintain the network. In other terms, a “batch of claims,” from multiple users, supports the validity of all recorded data.

In such a scenario, the nodes of the network can be controlled by authorized agencies or governmental institutions, responsible for verifying and validating the digital records. Basically, each node can “cast a vote” regarding the authenticity of the data so that the files can be used just like an official document, but with increased levels of security.


The role of cryptography

It’s crucial to understand that a blockchain-based identity system doesn’t require the direct or explicit sharing of sensitive information. Instead, digital data can be shared and authenticated through the use of cryptographic techniques, such as hashing functions, digital signatures, and zero-knowledge proofs.

Through the use of hashing algorithms, any document can be converted into a hash, which is a long string of letters and numbers. In this case, the hash represents all the information used to create it, acting as a digital fingerprint. On top of that, governmental institutions or other trusted entities can provide digital signatures to give the document an official validity.

For instance, a citizen could provide their document to an authorized agency so they can generate a unique hash (digital fingerprint). The agency can then create a digital signature that confirms the validity of that hash, meaning that it can be used as an official document.

Other than that, zero-knowledge proofs make it possible for credentials or identities to be shared and authenticated without revealing any information about them. This means that even if data is encrypted, its authenticity can still be verified. In other words, you could use ZK proofs to prove you are old enough to drive or enter a club without revealing the exact date of your birth.


Self-sovereign identity

The concept of self-sovereign identity refers to a model where each individual users has full control over their data, which could be stored in personal wallets (similar to crypto wallets). In this context, one could decide when and how their information is shared. For instance, someone could store their credit card credentials in a personal wallet and then use their private key to sign a transaction that sends that information out. This would allow them to prove they are the true owners of that credit card.

While blockchain technology is mostly used to store and exchange cryptocurrencies, it can also be used to share and validate personal documents and signatures. For example, a person might have a government agency sign off on their status as an accredited investor, then transfer confirmation of that fact to a brokerage via a ZK proof protocol. As a consequence, the brokerage could be sure the investor was properly accredited, even though they have no detailed information about their net worth or income.


Potential advantages

The implementation of cryptography and blockchain in digital identity may provide at least two major benefits. The first is that users can have better control over how and when their personal information is used. This would greatly reduce the dangers associated with storing sensitive data in centralized databases. Also, blockchain networks can provide higher levels of privacy through the use of cryptographic systems. As mentioned, zero-knowledge proof protocols allow users to prove the validity of their documents without the need to share details about them.

The second advantage is the fact that blockchain-based digital ID systems can be more reliable than the traditional ones. For instance, the use of digital signatures could make it relatively easy to verify the source of a claim made about a user. Other than that, blockchain systems would make it harder for a person to falsify a piece of information, and could effectively protect all sorts of data against frauds.


Potential limitations

As with many use cases of blockchain, there are some challenges involved in using the technology for digital identification systems. Arguably the most difficult problem is the fact that these systems would still be vulnerable to a type of malicious activity known as synthetic identity theft.

Synthetic identity involves combining valid information from different individuals to create an entirely new identity. Since each piece of information used to create a synthetic identity is accurate, some systems may be tricked into recognizing the fake ones as authentic. This kind of attack is widely used by criminals in credit card frauds. 

However, the problem can be mitigated through the use of digital signatures so that made-up combinations of documents won’t be accepted as records on a blockchain. For instance, a governmental institution could provide individual digital signatures for each document but also a common digital signature for all documents registered by the same individual.

Another point of attention is the possibility of 51 percent attacks, which is more likely in small blockchain networks. A 51 percent attack has the potential to reorganize a blockchain, essentially changing its records. This problem is particularly concerning in public blockchains, where anyone can join the process of verifying and validating blocks. Fortunately, private blockchains can reduce the likelihood of such attacks as they would only include trusted entities as validators. However, this would represent a more centralized and less democratic model.


Closing thoughts

Despite the drawbacks and limitations, blockchain technology has great potential to change the way digital data is verified, stored, and shared. While many companies and startups are already exploring the possibilities, there is a lot to be done. Still, we’ll certainly see more services focused on digital ID management in the coming years. And most likely, blockchain will be a central part of it.

Loading