حالات إستخدام البلوكشين: الهوية الرقمية

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
حالات إستخدام البلوكشين: الهوية الرقمية
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

تعد إدارة الهوية الرقمية والتحقق منها واحدة من أكثر الحالات الواعدة بين العديد من حالات استخدام البلوكشين الأخرى. تأثر مليارات الأشخاص من انتهاكات المعلومات الشخصية في عام 2018 وحده في جميع أنحاء العالم. هناك حاجة لا يمكن إنكارها إلى طرق أكثر أمانًا لتخزين ونقل والتحقق من المعلومات الحساسة. قد تقدم أنظمة البلوكشين حلولاً قيمة لبعض الصعوبات التي تواجهها معظم قواعد البيانات المركزية.


كيف يمكن تطبيق البلوكشين على أنظمة الهوية الرقمية؟

عندما يتم تسجيل ملف على نظام البلوكشين يتم ضمان صحة معلوماته بواسطة العديد من  العقد التي تحافظ على الشبكة. بمعنى اخر، تدعم مجموعة من المطالبات من عدة مستخدمين صلاحية جميع البيانات المسجلة.

في مثل هذا السيناريو يمكن التحكم في عقد الشبكة بواسطة وكالات أو مؤسسات حكومية معتمدة بحيث تكون مسؤولة عن التحقق من السجلات الرقمية والمصادقة عليها. ببساطة، يمكن لكل عقدة “الإدلاء بصوت” فيما يتعلق بصلاحية البيانات بحيث يمكن استخدام هذه الملفات تمامًا مثل المستند الرسمي لكن على مستوى أعلى من الأمان.


دور التشفير

من المهم فهم أن أي نظام هوية قائم على البلوكشين لا يتطلب مشاركة مباشرة أو صريحة للمعلومات الحساسة. بدلاً من ذلك يمكن مشاركة البيانات الرقمية والمصادقة عليها من خلال استخدام تقنيات التشفير مثل دالات التجزئة (Hash Functions) والتوقيعات الرقمية وبراهين المعرفة الصفرية (zero-knowledge proofs).

كن تحويل أي مستند إلى هاش (تجزئتة) عن طريق استخدام خوارزميات التجزئة وهي سلسلة طويلة من الحروف والأرقام وفي هذه الحالة تمثل التجزئة جميع المعلومات المستخدمة في إنشائة بمثابة بصمة رقمية. علاوة على ذلك يمكن للمؤسسات الحكومية أو غيرها من الكيانات الموثوق بها تقديم التوقيعات الرقمية لمنح المستند صلاحية رسمية.

على سبيل المثال يمكن للمواطن تقديم مستنده إلى وكالة معتمدة حتى يتمكنوا من إنشاء هاش مميز (بصمة رقمية) له. يمكن للوكالة بعد ذلك إنشاء توقيع رقمي يؤكد صحة هذه البصمة (او الهاش - التجزئة) مما يعني أنه يمكن استخدامه كوثيقة رسمية.

أيضا تُمكّن  براهين المعرفة الصفرية من مشاركة بيانات الاعتماد أو الهويات والمصادقة عليها دون الكشف عن أي معلومات عنها أو عن صاحبها. هذا يعني أنه حتى لو تم  تشفير البيانات فلا يزال من الممكن التحقق من صحتها. بمعنى آخر، يمكنك استخدام ZK Proofs لإثبات أنك تبلغ من العمر ما يكفي لقيادة سيارة أو الدخول إلى نادي دون الكشف عن تاريخ ميلادك بالتحديد.


هوية السيادة الذاتية

يشير مفهوم هوية السيادة الذاتية إلى نموذج يتمتع كل مستخدم فردي فيه بالتحكم الكامل في بياناته والتي يمكن تخزينها في محافظ شخصية (مثل محافظ العملات الرقمية) بمعنى أنه يمكن للمرء أن يقرر متى وكيف يتم مشاركة معلوماته. على سبيل المثال، يمكن لشخص ما تخزين بيانات اعتماد بطاقة الائتمان الخاصة به في محفظة شخصية ثم يقوم بإستخدام المفتاح الخاص لتوقيع إجراء يرسل هذه المعلومات إلى الخارج مما سيسمح للجهة المستقبلة بالتأكد من أنه المالك الحقيقي لتلك البطاقة الائتمانية.

على الرغم من أن تقنية البلوكشين تستخدم في الغالب لتخزين وتبادل العملات الرقمية إلا أنه يمكن استخدامها أيضًا لمشاركة المستندات والتوقيعات الشخصية والتحقق من صحتها. على سبيل المثال، قد يكون لدى الشخص وكالة حكومية توقع على حالته كمستثمر معتمد ثم تنقل إعتماد هذه الحقيقة إلى شركة سمسرة عبر بروتوكول ZK Proof. نتيجة لذلك يصبح من الإمكان أن تتأكد شركة السمسرة من أن المستثمر قد تم اعتماده بشكل صحيح على الرغم من أنه ليس لديه معلومات مفصلة عن صافي ثروته أو دخله.


المميزات المحتملة

قد يوفر تطبيق علم التشفير و البلوكشين في الهوية الرقمية اثنين على الأقل من الفوائد الرئيسية. الأول هو أنه يمكن للمستخدمين التحكم بشكل أفضل في كيفية استخدام معلوماتهم الشخصية ومتى يتم ذلك وهذا من شأنه أن يقلل إلى حد كبير من المخاطر المرتبطة بتخزين البيانات الحساسة في قواعد البيانات المركزية التي تكون عرضة للقرصنة. وأيضا يمكن لشبكات البلوكشين توفير مستويات أعلى من الخصوصية من خلال استخدام أنظمة التشفير. كما ذكرنا سابقا تسمح بروتوكولات إثبات المعرفة الصفرية للمستخدمين بإثبات صحة مستنداتهم دون الحاجة إلى مشاركة التفاصيل المتعلقة بهم او بالمستندات.

الميزة الثانية هي حقيقة أن أنظمة الهوية الرقمية القائمة على البلوكشين يمكن أن تكون أكثر موثوقية من الأنظمة التقليدية. على سبيل المثال يمكن أن يسهل استخدام التواقيع الرقمية التحقق من مصدر المطالبة المقدمة بشأن المستخدم بسهولة نسبية. بخلاف ذلك فإن أنظمة البلوكشين ستجعل من الصعب على الشخص تزوير أي جزء من المعلومات ويمكنه حماية جميع أنواع البيانات بشكل فعال ضد عمليات الاحتيال.


القيود المحتملة

هناك بعض التحديات التي ينطوي عليها استخدام التكنولوجيا لأنظمة التعريف الرقمية كما هو الحال مع العديد من حالات استخدام البلوكشين الأخرى. يمكننا القول إن المشكلة الأكثر صعوبة هي أن هذه الأنظمة ستظل عرضة لنوع من الأنشطة الضارة المعروف بسرقة الهوية الاصطناعية.

تنطوي الهوية الاصطناعية على الجمع بين المعلومات الصحيحة من أفراد مختلفين لإنشاء هوية جديدة تمامًا. نظرًا لأن كل جزء من المعلومات المستخدمة لإنشاء الهوية الإصطناعية صحيح فقد يتم خداع بعض الأنظمة في التعرف على الهويات المزيفة باعتبارها أصلية. يستخدم هذا النوع من الهجوم على نطاق واسع من قبل المجرمين في عمليات الاحتيال على بطاقات الائتمان. 

مع ذلك يمكن التخفيف من حدة هذه المشكلة من خلال استخدام التوقيعات الرقمية بحيث لن يتم قبول مجموعات مصطنعة من المستندات كسجلات على البلوكشين. على سبيل المثال يمكن للمؤسسات الحكومية أن توفر توقيعات رقمية فردية لكل وثيقة وأيضًا توقيع رقمي مشترك لجميع الوثائق المسجلة بواسطة الشخص نفسه.

مشكلة أخرى لوضعها بالإعتبار هي إحتمالية وقوع هجمات 51% والذي من الأرجح أن يحدث على شبكات البلوكشين الصغيرة. هجوم 51% لديه القدرة على إعادة تنظيم البلوكشين وببساطة تغيير سجلاته. تثير هذه المشكلة قلقًا خاصًا في شبكات البلوكشين العامة التي يمكن بها لأي شخص الانضمام إلى عملية التحقق من الكتل والتصديق على صحتها. لكن لحسن الحظ يمكن أن تقلل شبكات البلوكشين الخاصة من احتمالية وقوع مثل هذه الهجمات لأنها ستشمل فقط الكيانات الموثوقة كمصادقين على الكتل. ولكن سيمثل هذا نموذجًا أكثر مركزية وأقل ديمقراطية.


أفكار ختامية

على الرغم من العيوب والقيود التي تواجه تكنولوجيا البلوكشين إلا أن لها إمكانية كبيرة لتغيير طريقة التحقق من البيانات الرقمية وتخزينها ومشاركتها. في حين أن العديد من الشركات تستكشف إحتمالات تطبيقها بالفعل إلا أن هناك الكثير مما يجب عمله. مع ذلك سنرى بالتأكيد المزيد من الخدمات التي تركز على إدارة الهوية الرقمية في السنوات القادمة وعلى الأرجح سوف تكون البلوكشين جزءًا أساسيًا منه.

Loading

Blockchain Use Cases: Digital Identity

Share
Blockchain Use Cases: Digital Identity
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Among the many emerging use cases of blockchain technology, digital identity management and verification is perhaps one of the most promising. In 2018 alone, billions of people were affected by personal data breaches, all around the world. There is an undeniable need for more secure methods of storing, transferring, and verifying sensitive information. In this context, blockchain systems may bring valuable solutions to some of the difficulties faced by most centralized databases.


How can blockchain apply to digital identity systems?

In essence, when a file is recorded on a blockchain system, the authenticity of its information is ensured by the many nodes that maintain the network. In other terms, a “batch of claims,” from multiple users, supports the validity of all recorded data.

In such a scenario, the nodes of the network can be controlled by authorized agencies or governmental institutions, responsible for verifying and validating the digital records. Basically, each node can “cast a vote” regarding the authenticity of the data so that the files can be used just like an official document, but with increased levels of security.


The role of cryptography

It’s crucial to understand that a blockchain-based identity system doesn’t require the direct or explicit sharing of sensitive information. Instead, digital data can be shared and authenticated through the use of cryptographic techniques, such as hashing functions, digital signatures, and zero-knowledge proofs.

Through the use of hashing algorithms, any document can be converted into a hash, which is a long string of letters and numbers. In this case, the hash represents all the information used to create it, acting as a digital fingerprint. On top of that, governmental institutions or other trusted entities can provide digital signatures to give the document an official validity.

For instance, a citizen could provide their document to an authorized agency so they can generate a unique hash (digital fingerprint). The agency can then create a digital signature that confirms the validity of that hash, meaning that it can be used as an official document.

Other than that, zero-knowledge proofs make it possible for credentials or identities to be shared and authenticated without revealing any information about them. This means that even if data is encrypted, its authenticity can still be verified. In other words, you could use ZK proofs to prove you are old enough to drive or enter a club without revealing the exact date of your birth.


Self-sovereign identity

The concept of self-sovereign identity refers to a model where each individual users has full control over their data, which could be stored in personal wallets (similar to crypto wallets). In this context, one could decide when and how their information is shared. For instance, someone could store their credit card credentials in a personal wallet and then use their private key to sign a transaction that sends that information out. This would allow them to prove they are the true owners of that credit card.

While blockchain technology is mostly used to store and exchange cryptocurrencies, it can also be used to share and validate personal documents and signatures. For example, a person might have a government agency sign off on their status as an accredited investor, then transfer confirmation of that fact to a brokerage via a ZK proof protocol. As a consequence, the brokerage could be sure the investor was properly accredited, even though they have no detailed information about their net worth or income.


Potential advantages

The implementation of cryptography and blockchain in digital identity may provide at least two major benefits. The first is that users can have better control over how and when their personal information is used. This would greatly reduce the dangers associated with storing sensitive data in centralized databases. Also, blockchain networks can provide higher levels of privacy through the use of cryptographic systems. As mentioned, zero-knowledge proof protocols allow users to prove the validity of their documents without the need to share details about them.

The second advantage is the fact that blockchain-based digital ID systems can be more reliable than the traditional ones. For instance, the use of digital signatures could make it relatively easy to verify the source of a claim made about a user. Other than that, blockchain systems would make it harder for a person to falsify a piece of information, and could effectively protect all sorts of data against frauds.


Potential limitations

As with many use cases of blockchain, there are some challenges involved in using the technology for digital identification systems. Arguably the most difficult problem is the fact that these systems would still be vulnerable to a type of malicious activity known as synthetic identity theft.

Synthetic identity involves combining valid information from different individuals to create an entirely new identity. Since each piece of information used to create a synthetic identity is accurate, some systems may be tricked into recognizing the fake ones as authentic. This kind of attack is widely used by criminals in credit card frauds. 

However, the problem can be mitigated through the use of digital signatures so that made-up combinations of documents won’t be accepted as records on a blockchain. For instance, a governmental institution could provide individual digital signatures for each document but also a common digital signature for all documents registered by the same individual.

Another point of attention is the possibility of 51 percent attacks, which is more likely in small blockchain networks. A 51 percent attack has the potential to reorganize a blockchain, essentially changing its records. This problem is particularly concerning in public blockchains, where anyone can join the process of verifying and validating blocks. Fortunately, private blockchains can reduce the likelihood of such attacks as they would only include trusted entities as validators. However, this would represent a more centralized and less democratic model.


Closing thoughts

Despite the drawbacks and limitations, blockchain technology has great potential to change the way digital data is verified, stored, and shared. While many companies and startups are already exploring the possibilities, there is a lot to be done. Still, we’ll certainly see more services focused on digital ID management in the coming years. And most likely, blockchain will be a central part of it.

Loading