Blockchain使用案例:医疗保健

分享
Copied to clipboard!
Blockchain使用案例:医疗保健

除了比特币以及其他数字货币,区块链技术也可被运用于数据存储等其他领域。除了慈善供应链,医保领域是讨论度最高的运用案例。那么,区块链的哪些特性使得它在医保领域如此适用呢?


优势

区块链的一些特点让其可以安全地记录数字货币的交易数据,同时也能够储存医疗信息。由于绝大多数的主链都是分布式的系统,并经过加密算法来记录和保护数据信息,所以在没有其他参与者授权的情况下,任何人想要入侵和修改数据都是极其困难的。因此,不可篡改的特性使得区块链可以成为记录医疗信息的数据库。

此外,这种点对点的架构使得病人的信息能够全网同步更新,即使这些数据存储在不同的电脑里面。事实上,每一个节点都拥有整个链上储存的信息副本,这些节点通过定期沟通来确保信息的及时更新和准确性。所以,去中心化和数据分布也是重要的方面。

值得一提的是,区块链是分布式的系统但并不总是去中心化的系统(就管理模式而言)。去中心化不是二进制的,它完全取决于这些节点在整体架构上是如何分布的,不同的分布式系统所呈现的去中心化程度也是不同的。在医保领域,区块链都是私有的网络系统,那些公链通常是用作数字货币的账本。尽管任何人都可以加入到公链当中,但是私有链只是由一小部分的节点进行管理。


潜在的优势

增加安全性

前文提到,区块链技术在医保领域最重要的作用就是创造一个安全统一的,分布式的数据库。因为区块链数据的不可篡改性,数据安全性将不再是一个顾虑,因此,区块链技术能够被用于注册和追踪成千上万患者们的医疗数据。

不同于传统的数据库依赖于一个中心化的服务器,一个分布式系统的运用能大幅提升数据交换的安全性,也能削减目前服务器所产生的费用。区块链去中心化的特性使其更不易产生技术问题和在面对外部攻击的时候,抗风险性更强大。区块链网络所提供的这种安全特性能够充分运用于医疗领域,来对抗黑客入侵和勒索软件的攻击。


互通性

用区块链来记录医疗数据的另一个好处是能够提升各个诊所,医院和其他医疗服务机构的互通性。技术上的差异通常会使得不同机构之间分享数据变得异常困难。但是,区块链可以完美解决这个问题,只要是授权的节点,就能进入到病历记录甚至是药品分发记录的数据库当中。不同于传统服务器将单一节点的内部数据全部聚合,区块链技术是让所有人同时参与到一份数据库中。


可及性和透明度

除了简化了数据分享的过程,区块链系统也大大提升了病人对自身医疗信息的可及性和透明度。在一定的条件下,要确认修改病人病例的需求也可以确保数据的准确性,如果运用得当,这样的验证模式能够提供额外的安全保障,也可以排除人为因素导致的错误和抵抗网络攻击。


可靠的供应链管理

区块链能够提供一种可靠的方法来追踪药物从生产到销售过程的走向,这样就能有效的解决药物造假问题。结合物联网的设备,通过测量温度等外界因素,判断储藏和运输的条件,区块链也可以用来坚定药品的质量。


保险欺诈保护

区块链技术也可以被用作抵抗医疗保险欺诈,每年,医疗保险欺诈问题会消耗美国的医保体系约680亿美金的资金。而存储在区块链上的数据是不可变的,同时这些数据(包括费用明细)也会分享给保险提供商来防止欺诈的发生。


临床试验招募

医保领域的另一项应用是,区块链技术用来提升临床试验的质量和效率。链上的医疗数据可以让临床试验的招募者们识别哪些病人适合来做测试。这样一个招募系统能大规模提升临床试验的注册系统,因为,如果不熟悉某种药品的病人就永远不会有机会参与到该种药品的实验中。在试验进行当中,区块链也能够确保实验数据被准确的收集。


潜在的局限性

尽管区块链技术能带来诸多的好处,但在被广泛运用于医疗行业之前,它仍然有很多的壁垒。

合规

拿美国来举例,对区块链技术感兴趣的医保公司需要遵守当前的数据方面的相关规定,如HIPAA。简单来说,HIPPA列举了在医疗领域,数据存储,分享和保护的相关标准。因此,为了完全合规,美国公司就得部署定制化的区块链信息记录系统来提高隐私性和降低可及性。


初始预算和发展速度

从供应商角度来说,将区块链技术投入运用需要巨额的初始投资,这也阻碍了其大规模的实际运用。此外,就转账速度来说,分布式的系统比中心化的系统要更慢,因为一个大的区块链网络,有成千上万的节点,这就需要更多的时间来传输和同步数据,这对于储存数百万病人资料的大数据库来说是个不得不考虑的问题,对于像一些大的图片文件(X光片,核磁共振)来说尤为严重。


结束语

从上传和分享不可变的医疗数据,到在药品供应链中提升其透明度,区块链技术在医保方面有着明确的运用方向。尽管有一些技术,物流和合规方面的挑战,但是这些系统的实际运用将会在未来的医疗领域中发挥着举足轻重的作用。

Loading

Blockchain Use Cases: Healthcare

Share
Blockchain Use Cases: Healthcare
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

While it is more often associated with Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies, blockchain technology has also been explored for data storage and protection in a range of different industries. Along with charity and supply chain, the healthcare sector is among the most discussed use cases. But what aspects of blockchain make it suitable for healthcare?


The benefits of using blockchain in healthcare

Some of the features that allow cryptocurrency blockchains to act as a secure record of financial transactions are also applicable to storing medical data. Since most blockchains are designed as distributed systems that record and protect files through the use of cryptography, it is extremely difficult for someone to disrupt or change the data without having the approval of all other participants of the network. Therefore, immutability is one of the features that enable the creation of incorruptible databases for medical records.

Moreover, the peer-to-peer architecture used in blockchains allows all copies of a patient's record to be synchronized with one another as updates are made, even though they are stored in different computers. In fact, each network node holds a copy of the entire blockchain, and they communicate regularly to ensure data is up to date and authentic. Thus, decentralization and data distribution are also important aspects.

It is worth mentioning that blockchains are distributed but not always decentralized (in terms of governance). Decentralization is not a binary thing, so depending on how nodes are distributed and on the overall architecture, distributed systems may present variable degrees of decentralization. In the context of healthcare, blockchains are usually built as a private network, as opposed to the public ones that are typically used as cryptocurrency ledgers. While anyone can join and contribute to the development of a public blockchain, private versions require permission and are managed by a smaller number of nodes.


Potential advantages

Increased security

As mentioned, one of the most important use cases of blockchains in the healthcare industry is leveraging the technology to create a secure and unified peer-to-peer (distributed) database. Thanks to blockchains’ immutability, data corruption should no longer be a concern. The blockchain technology can be used to effectively register and track the medical data of thousands of patients.

Unlike traditional databases that rely on a centralized server, the use of a distributed system allows for data exchange with higher levels of security, while also cutting down on the administrative costs that the current system imposes. The decentralized nature of blockchains also makes them less vulnerable to technical failures and external attacks that often compromise valuable information. The security provided by blockchain networks can be particularly useful for hospitals, which are often dealing with hacker invasion and ransomware attacks.


Interoperability

Another advantage of blockchain-based medical records is their ability to enhance interoperability among clinics, hospitals, and other health service providers. Technological differences in data storage systems often make it difficult for organizations to share documents. Blockchains, however, can solve this problem by allowing authorized parties to access a unified database of patient files or even medicine distribution records. So rather than attempting to interface with each others' internal storage, service providers can work together on a single one.


Accessibility and transparency

In addition to simplifying the process of record sharing, blockchain systems may also give patients increased levels of accessibility and transparency over their own health information. In some circumstances, requesting for the validation of changes made to patients’ documents can ensure the accuracy of the records, and if employed properly, this kind of verification can provide an extra layer of security against both human error and intentional falsifications.


Reliable supply chain management

Blockchains can provide a reliable method for tracking pharmaceuticals through the entire manufacturing and distribution process, thus cutting down on the widespread problem of drug counterfeiting. In conjunction with IoT devices used to measure factors such as temperature, blockchain technology could also be used to verify proper storage and shipping conditions or to authenticate drug quality.


Insurance fraud protection

Blockchain could also be used to combat medical insurance fraud, a problem which is estimated to cost the American healthcare system around $68 billion each year. Immutable records stored on blockchains and shared with an insurance provider can prevent some of the most common types of fraud, including billing for procedures that never took place and charging for unnecessary services.


Clinical trials recruiting

Another use of blockchain in healthcare is to improve the quality and effectiveness of clinical trials. Medical data on blockchains could be used by trial recruiters to identify patients who could benefit from the drugs being tested. Such a recruitment system could greatly improve clinical trial enrollment, as many patients are never made aware of relevant drug trials and therefore are never given an opportunity to participate in them. While trials are conducted, blockchains can be used to ensure the integrity of the data being collected.


Potential limitations

Although it offers many advantages to both patients and providers, blockchain still has some obstacles to overcome before it eventually reaches widespread adoption in the medical sector. 


Compliance

Taking the US as an example, healthcare companies that are interested in adopting blockchain technology are required to comply with existing data regulations, such as the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA). Basically speaking, HIPAA outlines standards for data storage, sharing, and protection in the healthcare sector. So in order to be fully compliant, US-based companies would need to deploy customized blockchain record systems, with increased privacy features and limited accessibility.


Initial costs and speed

On the provider end, blockchain solutions are likely to involve a high initial investment, a fact that certainly prevents wider adoption. In addition, distributed systems tend to be significantly slower than centralized ones in terms of transactions per second. A big blockchain network, with numerous nodes, would probably need more time to transmit and synchronize data when compared to centralized systems. This is especially concerning for huge databases that would eventually need to store and track information of millions of patients. The problem would be even worse for large sized image files, such as computed tomography or MRI scans.


Closing thoughts

From creating and sharing immutable medical records to increasing transparency in the pharmaceutical supply chain, blockchain networks have several promising use cases in the healthcare sector. Though there are some technical, logistical, and regulatory challenges, the implementation of these systems will likely play a significant role in the future of medical data storage and transfer.

Loading