区块链应用案例:转账汇款

分享
Copied to clipboard!
区块链应用案例:转账汇款

由社区提交 - 作者:Igor Davidov


简单来说,汇款可以被定义为将资金划转至其他较远的地方,而跨国汇款则是一种常见的汇款方式。例如,异国工作者将其资金汇到他们的祖国。

今天,转账汇款已取代了海外直接投资和政府官方的开发资金,成为世界最大的资金流。根据世界银行集团的数据统计,汇款量在过去几年中出现了显着增长,2017年增长了8.8%,2018年增长了9.6%。

一些发展中经济体严重依赖来自国外的资金,转账汇款已成为其经济的重要组成部分。因此,外出打工人员的资金流入便是许多国家的一项主要收入来源。例如,海地收到的国际汇款约占2017年国内生产总值的29%。这一占比在2018年提高到30.7%。


存在的问题

世界银行估计,现在200美元汇款的手续费约为7%(全球平均水平)。而2018年全球汇款量将达到6890亿美元,其中7%为转账的运营成本,约价值480亿美元。

除了高额的手续费之外,大多数汇款还都依赖于第三方服务和金融机构。多个中介机构的介入使得当前转账系统运行起来非常低效。不仅是因为转账手续费高昂,其所需要的时间也很长,大多都要花费数天甚至数周。

而区块链技术则可以为汇款行业提供可行且更高效的替代方案。本文将引用一些公司运作的案例来介绍其可行性和现有解决方案。


区块链会是有效的解决方案吗?

区块链的汇款机构的主要目标是简化整个转账流程,剔除不必要的中间人。其核心在于提供无阻滞且近乎即时汇款的解决法案。传统服务通常需要多个审批员的审核,且工作量很大。而区块链网络摒除了这个弊端,不再有缓慢的交易审批流程。

区块链系统是基于分布式计算机网络的,可在全球范围内执行金融交易。这意味着交易流程可以通过去中心化的方式安全地进行,而这仅需要几台计算机参与验证和确认交易即可。与传统的银行系统相比,区块链技术可用更低的运营成本提供更快捷、更可靠的支付解决方案。

换句话说,区块链技术可以解决该行业面临的一些主要问题,例如高手续费和交易时间长等。仅通过减少中间机构的数量,运营成本就会大幅下降。


案例

移动应用

许多公司正在尝试使用区块链技术来提供全新的支付解决方案。而一些数字货币钱包的移动端可以让用户在全球范围内发送和接收数字资产,并进行数字货币和法定货币之间的快速转换。

以“Coins.ph”为例,它是一款多功能的移动钱包应用程序。用户可以用它进行国际汇款、支付账单、购买游戏积分,或者只是交易比特币和其他数字货币。并且,它的一些金融服务不需要创建银行账户。


数字平台

一些公司尝试运营与传统金融系统相关的基础设施。例如,非洲的一个区块链技术在线平台—“BitPesa”,于2013年成立,平台以较低的手续费率和较高的时效性,为客户提供支付解决方案和货币兑换服务。

“Stellar”区块链平台,也是在该领域提供汇款服务的案例。Stellar成立于2014年,其目标是促进金融服务发展,将立金融机构和个人紧密联系起来。

Stellar网络使用自己独立的货币以及分布式计算,该代币名为Stellar lumens(XLM)。他们的本地代币可以用作桥接货币,促进法定货币和数字货币资产之间的全球交易。与BitPesa类似,用户和金融机构可以使用Stellar平台以较低的交易成本进行交易。


自动取款机

与移动应用程序和在线平台一样,ATM的普及也为全球交易提供了另一种有趣的解决方案。该方案在互联网普及性差以及银行系统欠发达的地区作用突出。

类似于Bit2Me和MoneyFi这样的公司,正在开发全新的汇款体系,致力于将区块链技术与ATM结合起来。他们的目标是发行具有多种功能的信用卡。

区块链的分布式账本与ATM的结合使用可大大减少用户对中介机构的需求。用户不需要银行账户,ATM的运营公司可能会在交易中收取少量的手续费。


目前存在的挑战和局限性

虽然区块链技术能够为汇款行业带来诸多显著的优势,但仍有很长的路要走。以下是当前存在的潜在障碍和主要限制,以及可能的解决方案。

  • 数字货币和法定货币之间的转换。全球经济仍以法定货币为基础,数字货币与法定货币之间的转换并非易事。在许多情况下,需要银行帐户。点对点(P2P)交易可以消除对银行的需求,但是用户还是需要从法定货币转换为数字货币才能使用这笔资金。

  • 一些生活在欠发达国家的数百万人仍然无法上网,许多人没有智能手机。而现如今,移动和互联网等设施成为了刚需。如上文提到的,基于区块链技术的ATM可能成为解决方案的一部分。

  • 法律监管。数字货币监管仍处于初级阶段。在一些国家,法律监管方面要么不明确,要么彻底不存在,这种现象在那些依赖海外资金流入的国家里尤为突出。但随着区块链技术的进一步推广,也会不断推动法律监管向前发展。

  • 复杂性。使用数字货币和区块链技术需要一定的技术知识。大多数用户仍然依赖第三方服务提供商,因为自主运行和使用区块链并非易事。此外,许多数字货币钱包和交易所仍然缺乏指导说明和直观的界面。

  • 波动性。数字货币市场仍然不成熟,且容易受到波动性的影响。因此,它们并不总是适用于日常交易,它们的市场价值可能会在短时间内发生剧烈变化。除此之外,高波动性的货币并不适合转账的基础需求。当然,也不需要过度担忧该问题,稳定币就能提供可行的解决方案。


总结

转账汇款行业在过去十年里有着显着增长,在接下来的几年里发展规模也会不断壮大。寻找工作和教育机会的人口移民率不断上升可能是主要原因之一。根据“2018年世界移民报告”显示,2015年大约有2.44亿国际移民,比2000年预估的1.55亿约增长57%。

然而,该行业仍然受到低效和诸多限制的困扰。因此,越来越多的公司正在利用区块链技术提供更有效的替代方案,在不久的将来,我们很可能看到异国工作者们大量使用该技术。

Loading

Blockchain Use Cases: Remittance

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Blockchain Use Cases: Remittance
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Community Submission - Author: Igor Davidov.


In short, remittance can be defined as the transfer of money to a distant location, usually between individuals that live in different countries. In most cases, it consists of an immigrant worker sending money to their home country.

Today, remittances represent the largest flow of funds into the developing world, surpassing foreign direct investments and official development assistance. According to the World Bank Group, the remittance industry experienced significant growth in the past years, up 8.8% in 2017, and 9.6% in 2018.

Some developing economies are heavily dependent on cash that comes from abroad, making remittances a substantial component of their economy. As such, migrant workers’ transfers are now one of the main sources of income for many countries. For example, Haiti received international remittances that accounted for roughly 29% of its GDP in 2017. The percentage raised to 30.7% in 2018.


The problem

The World Bank estimates that the current cost for sending a $200 remittance is around 7% (global average). Considering that worldwide remittances made up to $689 billion in 2018, 7% would count for roughly $48 billion paid in operational costs.

In addition to the high fees, most remittance solutions rely on third-party services and financial institutions. The need for multiple intermediaries makes the current system highly inefficient. Not only because the services are expensive but also because transfers may take days or even weeks.

In this context, blockchain technology may provide viable and more efficient alternatives to the remittance industry. This article introduces some of the possibilities and existing solutions, along with a few examples of companies working on the space.


Is blockchain the solution?

The main goal of blockchain remittance companies is to simplify the entire process, removing unnecessary intermediaries. The idea is to provide frictionless and nearly instant payment solutions. Unlike traditional services, a blockchain network doesn’t rely on a slow process of approving transactions, which usually goes through several mediators and requires a lot of manual work.

Instead, a blockchain system can perform worldwide financial transactions based on a distributed network of computers. This means that several computers participate in the process of verifying and validating transactions - and this can be done in a decentralized and secure way. When compared to the traditional banking system, blockchain technology can provide faster and more reliable payment solutions at a much lower cost.

In other words, blockchain technology may solve some of the major problems faced by the remittance industry, such as high fees and long transaction time. The operational costs can drop substantially simply by reducing the numbers of intermediaries.


Use cases

Mobile Application

Many companies are now experimenting with blockchain technology to deliver new payment solutions. Some mobile crypto wallets allow users to send and receive digital assets worldwide, and to quick exchange between crypto and fiat currencies.

Coins.ph is one example of a mobile wallet app that provides multiple features. Users are able to do international remittances, pay bills, buy game credits, or simply trade Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. Also, some financial services don’t require a bank account.


Digital platforms

Some companies are operating an infrastructure that interacts directly with the traditional financial system. For instance, BitPesa is an online platform that deploys blockchain technology in Africa. Founded in 2013, they are providing payment solutions and currency exchange at lower rates and increased speed.

The Stellar protocol is another example of a blockchain platform serving the remittance industry. Stellar was founded in 2014 with the alleged goal of promoting financial access, connecting people and financial institutions worldwide.

The Stellar network counts with a distributed ledger that has its own currency, named Stellar lumens (XLM). Their native token can be used as a bridge currency, facilitating global trades between fiat and cryptocurrency assets. Similar to BitPesa, users and financial institutions can use the Stellar platform to send and receive money with reduced transaction costs.


ATMs

Along with mobile applications and online platforms, the use of ATMs may provide an interesting solution for sending and receiving money worldwide. Such an approach may be especially useful in underdeveloped areas that still lack a good Internet connection or banking system.

Companies like Bit2Me and MoneyFi are developing new remittance systems that combine blockchain technology with ATMs. Their goal is to issue prepaid cards that support multiple functionalities. 

The combined use of blockchain ledgers with ATMs has the potential to greatly reduce the need for intermediaries. Users won’t need a bank account, and the ATM companies will likely charge a small fee in the process.


Current challenges and limitations

While it’s clear that blockchain technology can bring many advantages to the remittance industry, there is still a long way to go. Following are some of the potential barriers and major limitations, along with possible solutions.

  • Crypto-fiat conversion. The worldwide economy is still based on fiat currencies, and converting between crypto and fiat is not always an easy task. In many cases, a bank account is required. Peer to peer (P2P) transactions can remove the need for a bank, but users will likely need to convert from fiat to crypto in order to use the money.

  • Mobile and Internet dependence. Millions of people living in underdeveloped countries still lack access to the Internet, and many don’t have a smartphone. As mentioned, blockchain-compatible ATMs may be part of the solution.

  • Regulation. Cryptocurrency regulation is still in very early stages. It is either unclear or inexistent in several countries, especially the ones that rely on foreign cash inflow. But further adoption of blockchain technology will certainly push regulation forward.

  • Complexity. Using cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology require certain technical knowledge. Most users still rely on third-party service providers because running and using blockchain autonomously is not an easy task. Also, many crypto wallets and exchanges still lack educational guides and intuitive interfaces.

  • Volatility. Cryptocurrency markets are still immature and subject to high volatility. As such, they are not always suitable for everyday use, as their market value may change very quickly. Other than that, highly-volatile currencies are not ideal for people that just want to transfer money from one place to another. This problem is less concerning, though, and stablecoins may offer a viable solution.


Closing thoughts

The remittance industry experienced significant growth in the past decade, and will probably continue to expand in the following years. The increased immigration rate of people in search of work or educational opportunities is likely one of the main causes. According to the World Migration Report 2018, there were an estimated 244 million international migrants in 2015 - about 57% more than the 155 million estimated in 2000.

However, the remittance space is still troubled by inefficiencies and limitations. As a consequence, more companies are harnessing blockchain technology to provide more efficient alternatives, and we will likely see greater adoption by immigrant workers in the near future.

Loading