حالات استخدام البلوكشين: التحويلات

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
حالات استخدام البلوكشين: التحويلات
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

Community Submission - Author: Igor Davidov


بإختصار، يمكن تعريف التحويلات بأنها تحويل الأموال إلى مكان بعيد و عادة تكون بين الأفراد الذين يعيشون في بلدان مختلفة. في معظم الحالات تتكون من عامل مهاجر يقوم بإرسال الأموال إلى بلده الأصلي.

تمثل التحويلات اليوم أكبر تدفق للأموال الى الدول النامية متجاوزة الاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة و مساعدات التنمية و التطوير الرسمية. وفقًا لـ   مجموعة البنك الدولي (World Bank Group)، شهدت صناعة التحويلات نمواً ملحوظًا في السنوات الماضية، حيث ارتفعت بنسبة 8.8٪ في عام 2017 و 9.6٪ في عام 2018.

تعتمد بعض الاقتصادات النامية اعتمادًا كبيرًا على الأموال التي تأتي من الخارج مما يجعل التحويلات المالية مكونًا مهمًا لاقتصادها. على هذا النحو تعتبر تحويلات العمال المهاجرين’ أحد مصادر الدخل الرئيسية للعديد من البلدان. على سبيل المثال، تلقت هايتي تحويلات دولية بلغت حوالي 29 ٪ من ناتجها المحلي الإجمالي في عام 2017. ارتفعت النسبة إلى 30.7 ٪ في عام 2018.


المشكلة

يقدر البنك الدولي أن التكلفة الحالية لإرسال 200 دولار تبلغ حوالي 7٪ (المتوسط العالمي). وبالنظر إلى أن التحويلات المالية في جميع أنحاء العالم بلغت 689 مليار دولار في عام 2018، فإن 7 ٪ سوف تعول على ما يقرب من 48 مليار دولار المدفوعة في التكاليف التشغيلية.

تعتمد معظم حلول التحويلات على خدمات الجهات الخارجية والمؤسسات المالية بالإضافة إلى الرسوم المرتفعة. الحاجة إلى وسطاء متعددين يجعل النظام الحالي غير فعال للغاية، ليس فقط لأن الخدمات غالية ولكن أيضًا لأن التحويلات قد تستغرق أيامًا أو حتى أسابيع.

في هذا السياق، قد توفر تقنية البلوكشين بدائل أكثر فاعلية لصناعة التحويلات. تقدم هذه المقالة بعض الإمكانيات والحلول الحالية إلى جانب بعض الأمثلة عن الشركات العاملة في المجال.


هل البلوكشين هي الحل؟

الهدف الرئيسي لشركات تحويلات البلوكشين هو تبسيط العملية و إزالة الوسطاء الغير ضروريين. الفكرة هي توفير وسائل تحويل و دفع فورية. لا تعتمد البلوكشين على عملية بطيئة للموافقة على المعاملات على عكس الخدمات التقليدية والتي عادة ما تمر عبر العديد من الوسطاء وتتطلب الكثير من العمل اليدوي.

بدلاً من ذلك، يمكن لنظام البلوكشين إجراء المعاملات المالية في جميع أنحاء العالم مبني على شبكة موزعة من أجهزة الكمبيوتر. هذا يعني أن العديد من أجهزة الكمبيوتر تشارك في عملية التحقق من المعاملات والتحقق من صحتها ويمكن القيام بذلك بطريقة لامركزية وآمنة. بالمقارنة مع النظام المصرفي التقليدي، يمكن أن توفر تقنية البلوكشين حلول دفع أسرع وأكثر موثوقية بتكلفة أقل بكثير.

بمعنى اخر، يمكن أن تحل تقنية البلوكشين أغلب المشكلات التي تواجه صناعة التحويلات، مثل التكاليف العالية و الوقت المستغرق في إرسال التحويلات. يمكن أن تنخفض التكاليف التشغيلية بشكل كبير عن طريق تقليل أعداد الوسطاء.


حالات الإستخدام

تطبيقات الهاتف

تقوم العديد من الشركات الآن بتجربة تقنية البلوكشين لتقديم حلول دفع جديدة. تتيح بعض محافظ الهاتف للمستخدمين إرسال و إستقبال الأصول الرقمية في جميع أنحاء العالم و أيضأ تحويلهم بسرعة من عملات رقمية إلى عملات ورقية.

تعتبر Coins.ph احد الأمثلة على تطبيقات محافظ الهاتف التي تقدم العديد من المميزات. حيث يمكن للمستخدمين القيام بالتحويلات الدولية ودفع الفواتير و شراء أرصدة في الألعاب أو ببساطة تداول البيتكوين و العملات الرقمية الأخرى. أيضا لا تتطلب حسابًا مصرفيًا.


المنصات الرقمية

تقوم بعض الشركات بتشغيل بنية تحتية تتفاعل مباشرة مع النظام المالي التقليدي. على سبيل المثال "BitPesa" هي عبارة عن منصة على الإنترنت تستخدم تقنية البلوكشين في أفريقيا. تأسست في عام 2013 و توفر حلول دفع وتحويل عملات بأسعار قليلة و سرعة أعلى.

بروتوكول Steller هو أيضا مثال اخر على منصات البلوكشين التي تخدم صناعة التحويلات. تأسست Stellar في عام 2014 بهدف تعزيز الوصول المالي وربط الناس والمؤسسات المالية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

تعتمد شبكة Stellar على دفتر الأستاذ الموزع الذي يحتوي على عملته الخاصة والتي تسمى Steller lumens أو (XLM). يمكن إستخدام عملتها كجسر لإيصال الأموال مما يسهل عمليات التداول العالمية بين الأصول الورقية والعملات الرقمية. و على غرار BitPesa، يمكن للمستخدمين والمؤسسات المالية استخدام منصة Stellar لإرسال واستلام الأموال بتكاليف منخفضة للمعاملات.


الصرافات الألية

بالإضافة الى استخدام تطبيقات الهاتف المحمول والمنصات الرقمية، قد يوفر استخدام أجهزة الصراف الآلي حلاً مثيراً للاهتمام لإرسال واستقبال الأموال في جميع أنحاء العالم. قد يكون هذا النهج مفيدًا بشكل خاص في المناطق المتخلفة التي لا تزال تفتقر إلى اتصال إنترنت جيد أو نظام بنكي.

تعمل بعض الشركات مثل Bit2Me و MoneyFi على تطوير أنظمة تحويل جديدة تجمع بين تقنية البلوكشين وأجهزة الصراف الآلي. وهدفهم هو إصدار بطاقات مسبقة الدفع تدعم وظائف متعددة

إن الاستخدام المشترك لدفاتر البلوكشين وأجهزة الصراف الآلي لديه القدرة على تقليل الحاجة إلى الوسطاء بشكل كبير. لن يحتاج المستخدمون إلى حساب مصرفي ومن المحتمل أن تفرض شركات الصراف الآلي رسومًا رمزية على هذه العملية.


التحديات والقيود الحالية

على الرغم من أنه من الواضح أن تقنية البلوكشين يمكن أن تقدم العديد من المزايا لصناعة التحويلات إلا أنه لا يزال أمامها طريق طويل. فيما يلي بعض الحواجز المحتملة والقيود الرئيسية إلى جانب الحلول الممكنة لتجنب هذه الحواجز.

  • التحويل من عملات رقمية الى ورقية  لا يزال الاقتصاد العالمي يعتمد على العملات الورقية، والتحويل بين بين العملات الورقية و العملات الرقمية ليس أمرا سهلا. في كثير من الحالات يتطلب الأمر حساب مصرفي. يمكن لمعاملات من نوع نظير إلى نظير (P2P) أن تلغي الحاجة إلى وجود بنك ولكن من المرجح أن يحتاج المستخدمون إلى التحويل من عملات ورقية إلى رقمية من أجل استخدام الأموال.

  • الاعتماد على الهاتف المحمول و الإنترنت. لا يزال ملايين الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في البلدان المتخلفة يفتقرون إلى إمكانية الوصول إلى الإنترنت ولا يمتلك الكثيرون هواتف ذكية. كما ذكرنا سابقا، قد تكون أجهزة الصراف الآلي المتوافقة مع تقنية البلوكشين جزءًا من الحل.

  • القوانين.   لا تزال قوانين و لوائح إستخدام العملات الرقمية في مراحل مبكرة للغاية. حيث أنها إما ان تكون غير واضحة أو تكون غير موجودة في العديد من البلدان خاصة تلك التي تعتمد على تدفق النقد الأجنبي. و لكن الإعتماد على تقنية البلوكشين بالتأكيد سيدفع تقنين العملات الرقمية للأمام.

  • التعقيد.  يتطلب استخدام العملات الرقمية و البلوكشين معرفة تقنية معينة. لا يزال معظم المستخدمين يعتمدون على مزودي خدمة تابعين لجهة خارجية لأن تشغيل واستخدام البلوكشين بشكل مستقل ليس أمرا سهلا. وأيضا لاتزال العديد من  المحافظ الرقمية و المنصات تفتقر إلى الأدلة التعليمية والواجهات البديهية.

  • التقلب  لا تزال أسواق العملات الرقمية غير ناضجة وتخضع لتقلبات كبيرة. وعلى هذا النحو فهي ليست مناسبة دائمًا للاستخدام اليومي حيث قد تتغير قيمتها السوقية بسرعة كبيرة. بخلاف ذلك، العملات عالية التقلب ليست مثالية للأشخاص الذين يريدون فقط تحويل الأموال من مكان إلى آخر. لكن هذه المشكلة أقل إثارة للقلق وقد توفر العملات المستقرة حلاً قابلاً للتطبيق.


أفكار ختامية

شهدت صناعة التحويلات نموا كبيرا في العقد الماضي وربما تستمر في التوسع في السنوات التالية. من المحتمل أن يكون معدل الهجرة المتزايد للأشخاص الذين يبحثون عن عمل أو فرص تعليمية أحد الأسباب الرئيسية. وفقًا لـ تقرير الهجرة العالمية كان هناك ما يقدر بنحو 244 مليون مهاجر دولي في عام 2015 حوالي 57٪ أكثر من الـ 155 مليون في عام 2000.

ومع ذلك لا تزال مساحة التحويلات مقلقة بسبب أوجه القصور والقيود. نتيجة لذلك، تستغل المزيد من الشركات تكنولوجيا البلوكشين لتوفير بدائل أكثر كفاءة ومن المحتمل أن نرى اعتمادًا أكبر من قبل العمال المهاجرين في المستقبل القريب.

Loading

Blockchain Use Cases: Remittance

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Blockchain Use Cases: Remittance
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Community Submission - Author: Igor Davidov.


In short, remittance can be defined as the transfer of money to a distant location, usually between individuals that live in different countries. In most cases, it consists of an immigrant worker sending money to their home country.

Today, remittances represent the largest flow of funds into the developing world, surpassing foreign direct investments and official development assistance. According to the World Bank Group, the remittance industry experienced significant growth in the past years, up 8.8% in 2017, and 9.6% in 2018.

Some developing economies are heavily dependent on cash that comes from abroad, making remittances a substantial component of their economy. As such, migrant workers’ transfers are now one of the main sources of income for many countries. For example, Haiti received international remittances that accounted for roughly 29% of its GDP in 2017. The percentage raised to 30.7% in 2018.


The problem

The World Bank estimates that the current cost for sending a $200 remittance is around 7% (global average). Considering that worldwide remittances made up to $689 billion in 2018, 7% would count for roughly $48 billion paid in operational costs.

In addition to the high fees, most remittance solutions rely on third-party services and financial institutions. The need for multiple intermediaries makes the current system highly inefficient. Not only because the services are expensive but also because transfers may take days or even weeks.

In this context, blockchain technology may provide viable and more efficient alternatives to the remittance industry. This article introduces some of the possibilities and existing solutions, along with a few examples of companies working on the space.


Is blockchain the solution?

The main goal of blockchain remittance companies is to simplify the entire process, removing unnecessary intermediaries. The idea is to provide frictionless and nearly instant payment solutions. Unlike traditional services, a blockchain network doesn’t rely on a slow process of approving transactions, which usually goes through several mediators and requires a lot of manual work.

Instead, a blockchain system can perform worldwide financial transactions based on a distributed network of computers. This means that several computers participate in the process of verifying and validating transactions - and this can be done in a decentralized and secure way. When compared to the traditional banking system, blockchain technology can provide faster and more reliable payment solutions at a much lower cost.

In other words, blockchain technology may solve some of the major problems faced by the remittance industry, such as high fees and long transaction time. The operational costs can drop substantially simply by reducing the numbers of intermediaries.


Use cases

Mobile Application

Many companies are now experimenting with blockchain technology to deliver new payment solutions. Some mobile crypto wallets allow users to send and receive digital assets worldwide, and to quick exchange between crypto and fiat currencies.

Coins.ph is one example of a mobile wallet app that provides multiple features. Users are able to do international remittances, pay bills, buy game credits, or simply trade Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. Also, some financial services don’t require a bank account.


Digital platforms

Some companies are operating an infrastructure that interacts directly with the traditional financial system. For instance, BitPesa is an online platform that deploys blockchain technology in Africa. Founded in 2013, they are providing payment solutions and currency exchange at lower rates and increased speed.

The Stellar protocol is another example of a blockchain platform serving the remittance industry. Stellar was founded in 2014 with the alleged goal of promoting financial access, connecting people and financial institutions worldwide.

The Stellar network counts with a distributed ledger that has its own currency, named Stellar lumens (XLM). Their native token can be used as a bridge currency, facilitating global trades between fiat and cryptocurrency assets. Similar to BitPesa, users and financial institutions can use the Stellar platform to send and receive money with reduced transaction costs.


ATMs

Along with mobile applications and online platforms, the use of ATMs may provide an interesting solution for sending and receiving money worldwide. Such an approach may be especially useful in underdeveloped areas that still lack a good Internet connection or banking system.

Companies like Bit2Me and MoneyFi are developing new remittance systems that combine blockchain technology with ATMs. Their goal is to issue prepaid cards that support multiple functionalities. 

The combined use of blockchain ledgers with ATMs has the potential to greatly reduce the need for intermediaries. Users won’t need a bank account, and the ATM companies will likely charge a small fee in the process.


Current challenges and limitations

While it’s clear that blockchain technology can bring many advantages to the remittance industry, there is still a long way to go. Following are some of the potential barriers and major limitations, along with possible solutions.

  • Crypto-fiat conversion. The worldwide economy is still based on fiat currencies, and converting between crypto and fiat is not always an easy task. In many cases, a bank account is required. Peer to peer (P2P) transactions can remove the need for a bank, but users will likely need to convert from fiat to crypto in order to use the money.

  • Mobile and Internet dependence. Millions of people living in underdeveloped countries still lack access to the Internet, and many don’t have a smartphone. As mentioned, blockchain-compatible ATMs may be part of the solution.

  • Regulation. Cryptocurrency regulation is still in very early stages. It is either unclear or inexistent in several countries, especially the ones that rely on foreign cash inflow. But further adoption of blockchain technology will certainly push regulation forward.

  • Complexity. Using cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology require certain technical knowledge. Most users still rely on third-party service providers because running and using blockchain autonomously is not an easy task. Also, many crypto wallets and exchanges still lack educational guides and intuitive interfaces.

  • Volatility. Cryptocurrency markets are still immature and subject to high volatility. As such, they are not always suitable for everyday use, as their market value may change very quickly. Other than that, highly-volatile currencies are not ideal for people that just want to transfer money from one place to another. This problem is less concerning, though, and stablecoins may offer a viable solution.


Closing thoughts

The remittance industry experienced significant growth in the past decade, and will probably continue to expand in the following years. The increased immigration rate of people in search of work or educational opportunities is likely one of the main causes. According to the World Migration Report 2018, there were an estimated 244 million international migrants in 2015 - about 57% more than the 155 million estimated in 2000.

However, the remittance space is still troubled by inefficiencies and limitations. As a consequence, more companies are harnessing blockchain technology to provide more efficient alternatives, and we will likely see greater adoption by immigrant workers in the near future.

Loading