حالات استخدام البلوكشين: إنترنت الأشياء

مشاركة
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

ما هو إنترنت الأشياء (IoT)؟

تم إنشاء مجموعة كبيرة من التقنيات الرائدة منذ الأيام الأولى للثورة الرقمية في الخمسينيات. على الرغم من قصرها في البداية على عدد قليل من الأفراد، إلا أنه الصناعة تطورت بسرعة كبيرة وأصبحت معظم التقنيات الجديدة منتشرة على نطاق واسع ويمكن الوصول إليها.

إن التقارب بين الأنواع المختلفة من الأجهزة المبتكرة (مثل رقائق RFID وأجهزة الاستشعار والإنترنت) وإمكانية الوصول إليها المتزايدة أدت إلى ظهور مفهوم إنترنت الأشياء (IoT). تمثل تقنية إنترنت الأشياء تحولًا كبيرًا في عصر الكمبيوتر الذي يسمح الآن بتوصيل أكثر من مجرد أجهزة الكمبيوتر عبر الإنترنت.


تاريخ إنترنت الأشياء

كان أول استخدام معروف لإنترنت الأشياء في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا حيث استخدم طلاب الجامعة أجهزة استشعار رخيصة لمراقبة وإعادة تخزين آلة موزع الكولا لديهم. بعد ذلك تم إحراز مزيد من التقدم نحو إنترنت الأشياء في عام 1994 تقريبًا عندما اقترح مقال صحفي بقلم Reza Raji فكرة نقل حزم البيانات من أجل تشغيل المنازل و المصانع أوتوماتيكيا.

في حوالي التسعينيات بدأت شركة مايكروسوفت مع العديد من الشركات الأخرى في تجربة أفكار مماثلة ومنذ عام 2002 فصاعدًا بدأت العديد من وسائل الإعلام تناقش الإنجازات في إنترنت الأشياء مثل استخدام الأجهزة الذكية المتصلة بعضها ببعض أثناء ربطها بنظام معلومات المراقبة. ومع ذلك، يعتبر الكثيرون أن 2008 هي سنة الميلاد الرسمية لصناعة إنترنت الأشياء عندما كان هناك أجهزة إلكترونية متصلة بالإنترنت أكثر من الأشخاص.


كيف يعمل إنترنت الأشياء؟

تكنولوجيا إنترنت الأشياء هي ببساطة شبكة إنترنت للعديد من الأجهزة والأشياء المادية وتتألف عادةً من شبكة من أجهزة الاستشعار والأجهزة غير الحاسوبية التي تتصل بأجهزة الكمبيوتر أو أجهزة أخرى عبر الإنترنت. قد يشمل ذلك استخدام منظمات الحرارة وأجهزة مراقبة معدل ضربات القلب وأجهزة الرش وأنظمة الأمن المنزلي. تسمح ابتكارات تقنية إنترنت الأشياء بالمراقبة عن بُعد والتحكم والأتمتة (تشغيل الأشياء أوتوماتيكيا) والتحقق من الحالة لمجموعة كبيرة من الأجهزة المختلفة وأجهزة الاستشعار والتي يمكن استخدامها في المنازل الذكية والسيارات ذاتية القيادة.


إنترنت الأشياء للاستخدام الشخصي والمنزلي

يمكن نشر تكنولوجيا إنترنت الأشياء بعدة طرق مختلفة للاستخدام الشخصي والمنزلي. ترتبط الأمثلة الشائعة بمفهوم التشغيل الآلي للمنزل حيث يمكن استخدام العديد من الأجهزة لمراقبة والتحكم في استخدام المصابيح ومكيفات الهواء والسخانات وحتى أنظمة الأمان.

قد تكون هذه الأجهزة متصلة أيضًا بعناصر شخصية أخرى مثل الساعات الذكية والهواتف الذكية أو أيضًا بمحاور ذكية مخصصة مصممة لتوصيل المنتجات المنزلية الذكية المختلفة (مثل أجهزة التلفزيون الذكية والثلاجات).

 تتمتع المنازل الآلية أيضًا بإمكانية تحسين نوعية حياة كبار السن وذوي الإعاقات بشكل كبير من خلال توفير تقنية مساعدة لهم خاصةً لأولئك الذين يعانون من قيود البصر أو السمع أو التنقل. قد يشمل ذلك استخدام أجهزة استشعار في الوقت الفعلي تحذر أفراد الأسرة عندما تكون معدلات ضربات القلب لدى أقاربهم غير طبيعية أو عندما يتعرضون للسقوط. مثال آخر مثير للاهتمام هو استخدام الأسِرَّة الذكية للكشف عما إذا كان السرير مشغولًا أم لا ويتم اختبارها بالفعل من قبل بعض المستشفيات لتتبعها عند مغادرة المريض لسريرة.


إنترنت الأشياء للاستخدام التجاري والصناعي

قد تتضمن بعض أمثلة حالات الاستخدام الصناعي استخدام أجهزة استشعار لتتبع الظروف البيئية مثل درجة الحرارة والرطوبة وضغط الهواء والجودة. قد يستخدم المزارعون أجهزة إنترنت الأشياء أيضًا لتعقب نفاد مواشيهم من الماء أو الطعام أو من قِبل الشركات المصنعة لتعيّن أن المنتج المهم على وشك النفاد. يمكنهم حتى تعيين الآلات الآلية لطلب المزيد من هذا المنتج عندما يكون العرض أقل من كمية معينة.


القيود

يوفر إنترنت الأشياء الكثير من الابتكارات المثيرة للاهتمام وهو بالتأكيد هنا ليبقى. فيما يتعلق بالقيود، فإن إحدى المشكلات في استخدام أنظمة إنترنت الأشياء لكل من الشركات والمنازل هي زيادة عدد الأجهزة المطلوب مراقبتها وتوصيلها (وقد يعتمد الكثير منها على الاتصال بالإنترنت). إذا لم يكن التنفيذ مناسبًا بما فيه الكفاية فقد يتعين على الشركات وأصحاب المنازل الوصول إلى العديد من التطبيقات المختلفة من أجل مراقبة أجهزتهم المتعددة. هذا من شأنه أن يجعل إنترنت الأشياء أكثر استهلاكا للوقت وأقل جاذبية للعملاء المحتملين. 


لهذا السبب أنشأت بعض الشركات مثل Apple و Lenovo تطبيقات تتيح التحكم في الأجهزة في نظام iOS حتى من خلال استخدام الأوامر الصوتية. تعمل منصات إنترنت الأشياء الأخرى على محاور مستقلة عن الإنترنت أو شبكة الـ WiFi. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك Amazon's Echo و Samsung's SmartThings Hub. والذي يجعل إنترنت الأشياء يعمل عن طريق الأجهزة التي يتم توصيلها بمستشعر غالبًا ما يكون متصلاً إما بالإنترنت نفسها أو بمستقبل WiFi آخ مما يتيح التحكم المركزي والبرمجة والمراقبة.


إنترنت الأشياء و العملات الرقمية

من المحتمل أن تعتمد العديد من أنظمة إنترنت الأشياء على المعاملات المالية الصغيرة وهذا سيتطلب توصيل أجهزة إنترنت الأشياء بطريقة تسمح بما يسمى الاقتصاد من آلة إلى آلة (M2M) والذي هو في الأساس تبادل الأموال بين الأجهزة غير البشرية. في مثل هذا السياق، هناك طلب متزايد على العملات المتوافقة مع إنترنت الأشياء والعملات الرقمية هي بالتأكيد بديل قابل للتطبيق.


في البداية اعتقد الكثيرون أن البلوكشين بحد ذاته سيكون الإطار الأساسي لاقتصاد M2M نظرًا لكونه مناسبًا للمعاملات الصغيرة ويستخدم على نطاق واسع مع العملات الرقمية. ومع ذلك، فإن العديد من شبكات البلوكشين لها أداء محدود فيما يتعلق بعدد المعاملات في الثانية التي يمكنهم التعامل معها. هذا يعني أن معظم تطبيقات البلوكشين الخاصة بـ إثبات العمل (Proof of Work) و إثبات الحصة (Proof of Stake) تقدم حاليًا إمكانات محدودة للتوسع مما يجعلها غير مناسبة لمعالجة المعاملات الصغيرة M2M على نطاق واسع. ومع ذلك، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن العديد من مشاريع البلوكشين تعمل على إيجاد حلول قابلة للتطوير مثل شبكة البرق الخاصة بالبيتكوين (Lightning Network) و بلازما الإيثيريوم (Ethereum Plasma).


تطبيقات انترنت الأشياء (IOTA)

IOTA (تطبيق إنترنت الأشياء) هو مشروع يركز بشدة على حلول إنترنت الأشياء ويهدف إلى أن يكون العمود الفقري لاقتصاد M2M الناشئ. فهو بروتوكول دفتر الأستاذ الموزع المفتوح المصدر على عكس البيتكوين و العملات الرقمية الأخرى ا يتطلب من عمال التعدين التحقق من المعاملات. حيث لا يعتمد IOTA على شبكة البلوكشين ولكن على مجموعة من المعاملات المترابطة والتي يطلق عليها تشابك "Tangle".

يتكون الـ Tangle من شبكة يمكن فيها التحقق من المعاملات مباشرةً من قبل المستخدمين الذين يطلبونها طالما أنهم يكملون معاملتين أخريين مسبقًا. ويرتبط حد المعاملات في الثانية التي يمكن معالجتها ارتباطًا مباشرًا بعدد المستخدمين في الشبكة.

الـ IOTA هي عملة رقمية تجريبية و معقدة للغاية والوحيده التي تستخدم بنية متشابكة. تم الإبلاغ عن العديد من المشكلات الفنية وما زالت بنية التشابك بحاجة إلى إثبات كفاءتها. ومع ذلك، طرح المشروع بعض المفاهيم المبتكرة والمثيرة للاهتمام وإذا تمكن المطورون من التغلب على القيود المحتملة، فقد يكون ذلك مناسبًا لاقتصاد إنترنت الأشياء و اقتصاد الـ M2M.


أفكار ختامية

سيتيح إنترنت الأشياء (IoT) أخيرًا التشغيل الآلي والإشراف والتحكم في الأجهزة على نطاق واسع مما سيؤدي بالتأكيد إلى تحسين حياتنا اليومية وزيادة كفاءة الصناعات المختلفة وهناك فرصة جيدة لأن تكون العملات الرقمية جزءًا من ثورة إنترنت الأشياء لتكون بمثابة النقود الرقمية للاقتصاد الدقيق والمعاملات من نوعية M2M. يوجد حاليًا عدد محدود من مشاريع العملات الرقمية التي تستهدف صناعة إنترنت الأشياء. ولكن من المحتمل أن نرى الكثير منها قيد الإنشاء في المستقبل القريب حيث تستمر التكنولوجيا في التقدم بوتيرة سريعة.

Loading

Blockchain Use Cases: The Internet of Things (IoT)

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

What is the Internet of Things?

Since the early days of the Digital Revolution in the 1950s, a wide range of groundbreaking technology has been created. Despite being initially restricted to just a few individuals, the industry developed very quickly, and most of the novel technologies became increasingly widespread and accessible.

The convergence of the various types of innovative devices (such as RFID chips, sensors, and the Internet) and their increased accessibility eventually gave birth to the concept of the Internet of Things (IoT). IoT technology marks a significant shift in the Computer Age that now allows for more than just computers to be connected through the Internet.


The history of IoT

The first known use of the IoT was at MIT, where university students used cheap sensors to monitor and restock their cola dispenser machine. More progress towards the IoT was made around 1994 when a journal article by Reza Raji proposed the idea of moving packets of data in order to automate homes and factories. 

Around the 1990s, Microsoft along with several other companies began experimenting with similar ideas, and from 2002 onward, many media outlets started discussing the breakthroughs of IoT - such as the use of smart devices connected to each other while linked to a monitoring information system. Nonetheless, 2008 is regarded by many as the official year of birth of the IoT industry, when there were more electronic devices connected to the Internet than people.


How IoT works?

IoT technology is basically the internetworking of multiple physical devices and objects and usually consists of a network of sensors and non-computing devices that communicate with computers or and devices through the Internet. This may include the use of thermostats, heart rate monitors, sprinklers, and home security systems. The innovations of IoT technology allows for the remote monitoring, control, automation, and status checking of a wide range of devices and sensors, which can be used on smart homes and self-driving cars.


IoT for personal and domestic use

IoT technology can be deployed in many different ways for personal and domestic use. Common examples are related to the concept of home automation, where several devices can be employed to monitor and control the use of lights, air conditioners, heaters, and even security systems. These devices may also be connected to other personal items such as smart watches and smartphones, or also to dedicated smart hubs that are designed to connect different smart home products (such as smart TVs and refrigerators).

Automated homes also have the potential to significantly improve the quality of life of older adults and people with disabilities by providing assistive technology for them - especially for the ones with sight, hearing or mobility limitations. This may include the use of real-time sensors that warn family members when their relative’s heart rates are abnormal or when they experience a fall. Another interesting example is the use of smart beds to detect whether a bed is occupied or not, and these are already being tested by some hospitals to track when patients leave their beds.


IoT for commercial and industrial use

Some examples of industrial use cases may include the use of sensors to track environmental conditions, such as temperature, humidity, air pressure, and quality. IoT devices may also be used by farmers to track when their livestock is running out of water or food, or by manufacturers to be aware when an important product is about to run out. They could even set automated machines to order more of that product when the supply is below a certain threshold.


Limitations

The Internet of Things brings lots of interesting innovations and is certainly here to stay. Concerning its limitations, however, one issue in the use of IoT systems for both businesses and homes is the increased number of devices required to be monitored and connected (and many of them may be dependent on Internet connection). If the implementation is not proper enough, companies and homeowners may have to access several different Apps in order to monitor their multiple devices. This would make IoT more time-consuming and less attractive to potential customers. 

For this reason, some companies like Apple and Lenovo, have created applications that allow devices to be controlled in the iOS environment, even through the use of voice commands. Other IoT platforms work around hubs that are independent of the Internet or WiFi access. Examples of these are Amazon's Echo and Samsung's SmartThings Hub. So, the IoT works by the devices being linked to a sensor, which is often connected either to the internet itself or to another WiFi receiver, allowing for central control, programming, and monitoring.


IoT cryptocurrencies

Many IoT systems will likely be dependent on financial micro-transactions between digital objects, and this will require the IoT devices to be connected in a way that allows for the so-called machine-to-machine (M2M) economy - which is basically the exchange of money between non-human devices. In such a context, there is an increasing demand for IoT-compatible currencies, and cryptocurrencies are certainly a viable alternative.

At first, many believed that the blockchain itself would be the basic framework for the M2M economy since it is suitable for micropayments and is widely used with cryptocurrencies. However, many blockchain networks have limited performance in regards to the number of transactions per second they can handle. This means that most Proof of Work and Proof of Stake blockchain implementations currently present limited potential for scalability, making them unsuitable for processing M2M microtransactions on a large scale. Nonetheless, it is worth mentioning that many blockchain projects are working towards scalability solutions, such as the Bitcoin Lightning Network and the Ethereum Plasma.


IOTA

IOTA (Internet of Things Application) is a project that is heavily focused on IoT solutions and aims to be the backbone of the emerging M2M economy. It is an open-source distributed ledger protocol that, unlike Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies, does not require miners to verify transactions. IOTA is not based on a blockchain network, but on a stream of interconnected transactions, which they call tangle.

The tangle consists of a network where transactions can be verified directly by the users who solicit them, as long as they complete two other transactions beforehand. The limit of transactions per second that can be processed is directly related to the number of users in the network.

IOTA is a complex and highly experimental cryptocurrency and the only one that uses a tangle architecture. Many technical issues have been reported, and the tangle structure still needs to prove its efficiency. Still, the project brought up some interesting, innovative concepts, and if developers manage to overcome the potential limitations, it may be suitable for the IoT and M2M economy.


Closing thoughts

The Internet of Things (IoT) will eventually allow for automation, supervision, and control of devices on a mass scale, which will certainly improve our daily lives and increase the efficiency of various industries. There is a good chance that cryptocurrencies will be a part of the IoT revolution, serving as the digital money for the microtransactions and M2M economy. Currently, there is a limited number of cryptocurrency projects targeting the IoT industry, but we will likely see many more being created in the near future, as technology continues to advance at a fast pace.

Loading