شرح الـ Byzantine Fault Tolerance

مشاركة
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

منذ بداية البيتكوين في عام 2008 كنظام مالي إلكتروني يعمل بطريقة الند للند تم إنشاء العديد من العملات الرقمية كل واحده منهم تعمل بآلية خاصة. لكن الشئ الوحيد المشترك بين جميع العملات الرقمية هو البلوكشين باعتبارها العنصر الأساسي في بنيتهم.

تم تصميم جميع البلوكشين بشكل متعمد لتكون جميعها لامركزية مع وجود استثناءات قليلة، تعمل بمثابة دفتر الأستاذ الرقمي الذي يتم المحافظة عليه من خلال شبكة موزعة من عقد (نقاط) الكمبيوتر. ولهذا السبب سمحت تكنولوجيا البلوكشين بإنشاء أنظمة إقتصادية جديرة بالثقة حيث يمكن تنفيذ المعاملات المالية بطريقة شفافة و موثوق بها دون الحاجة إلى وسطاء.

حاليا يتم تبني إستخدام العملات الرقمية باعتبارها بديلا قابلا للتطبيق للأنظمة المصرفية و طرق الدفع التقليدية التي تعتمد بشكل كبير على الثقة.

كما هو الحال في معظم أنظمة الحوسبة الموزعة، يحتاج المشاركون في شبكة العملات الرقمية إلى الاتفاق بانتظام على الوضع الحالي الذي يعمل به البلوكشين هذا ما نسميه إنجازاً بتوافق الآراء (بالإجماع). ومع ذلك فإن التوصل إلى توافق في الآراء بشأن الشبكات الموزعة بطريقة آمنة ومضمونة تعتبر مهمة صعبة جدا.

إذن، كيف يمكن لشبكة موزعة من عقد الكمبيوتر أن توافق على قرار ما إذا كان من المرجح أن تفشل بعض العقد أو أن تعمل بشكل غير شرعي؟ هذا هو السؤال الأساسي لما يسمى بـ Byzantine Generals’ problem (مسألة الجنرال البيزنطي) التي نشأ عنها مفهوم تسامح الخطأ البيزنطي (Byzantine Fault Tolerance)


ما هي مسألة الجنرال البيزنطي (Byzantine Generals’ problem)؟

بإختصار، تم تصور مشكلة الجنرالات البيزنطيين عام 1982 كمعضلة منطقية توضح كيف أن مجموعة من الجنرالات البيزنطيين قد يواجهون مشاكل في التواصل مع بعضهم البعض عند محاولة الاتفاق على الخطوة التالية في خطتهم. 

تفترض المعضلة أن لكل جنرال جيشه الخاص وأن كل مجموعة تقع في مواقع مختلفة حول المدينة التي ينوي الهجوم عليها و يجب على كل جنرال الاتفاق على إما الهجوم أو التراجع. لا يهم ما إذا كانوا يهاجمون أو يتراجعون طالما أن جميع الجنرالات يتوصلون إلى توافق في الآراء أي الاتفاق على قرار مشترك من أجل تنفيذه بتنسيق. 

لذلك، قد نضع في الاعتبار الأهداف التالية:

  • يجب على كل جنرال أن يقرر: الهجوم أو التراجع (نعم أو لا).

  • بعد اتخاذ القرار، لا يمكن تغييره.

  • يجب أن يتفق جميع الجنرالات على نفس القرار و أن يقوموا بتنفيذه بطريقة متزامنة.

ترتبط مشاكل الاتصال المذكورة أعلاه بحقيقة أن كل جنرال واحد قادر فقط على التواصل مع جنرال آخر من خلال الرسائل والتي يتم إرسالها من قبل الناقل/الساعي. وبالتالي، فإن التحدي الرئيسي لمشكلة الجنرالات البيزنطيين هو أن الرسائل يمكن أن تتأخر أو تتلف أو تضيع.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، حتى إذا تم تسليم الرسالة بنجاح فقد يختار جنرال واحد أو أكثر (لأي سبب) أن يقوم بالتصرف بشكل خبيث وإرسال رسالة مخادعة للتشويش على الجنرالات الآخرين مما يؤدي إلى الفشل التام للمهمة.

إذا طبقنا هذه المعضلة في سياق البلوكشين، فإن كل جنرال يمثل عقدة شبكة و يتعين على العقد التوصل إلى توافق في الآراء بشأن الحالة الراهنة للنظام. بطريقة أخرى، يتعين على غالبية المشاركين في شبكة موزعة الموافقة على نفس الإجراء وتنفيذه لتجنب حدوث فشل كامل.

لذلك، فإن الطريقة الوحيدة للتوصل إلى توافق في الآراء في هذه الأنواع من الأنظمة الموزعة هي من خلال وجود ⅔ (ثلثي) أو أكثر من العقد الصادقة. وهذا يعني أنه إذا قررت غالبية الشبكة التصرف بشكل ضار، فسوف يكون النظام عرضة للفشل والهجمات (مثل الهجوم بنسبة 51٪).


Byzantine Fault Tolerance - BFT

بإختصار، الـ Byzantine fault tolerance أو (BFT) هو خاصية نظام قادر على مقاومة نوع الفشل المستمد من معضلة مشكلة الجنرالات البيزنطيين. وهذا يعني أن نظام BFT قادر على الاستمرار في التشغيل حتى في حالة فشل بعض العقد أو التصرف بشكل ضار.

هناك أكثر من حل ممكن لمشكلة الجنرالات البيزنطية، وهذا يعني وجود طرق متعددة لبناء نظام BFT. وبالمثل، هناك أساليب مختلفة و متعددة للبلوكشين لتحقيق التسامح مع الخطأ البيزنطي وهذا يقودنا إلى ما يسمى خوارزميات الإجماع.


خوارزميات إجماع البلوكشين

يمكننا تعريف خوارزمية الإجماع كالآلية التي من خلالها تصل شبكة البلوكشين إلى الإجماع. التطبيقات الأكثر شيوعًا منها هي خوارزمية إثبات العمل Proof of Work - PoW و إثبات الحصة Proof of Stake - PoS. لكن لنأخذ حالة البيتكوين كمثال. 

في حين ينص بروتوكول البيتكوين على قواعد النظام الأساسية، فإن خوارزمية الإجماع المعروفة بإسم إثبات العمل (PoW)  هي التي تحدد كيفية اتباع هذه القواعد من أجل التوصل إلى توافق في الآراء (على سبيل المثال، أثناء التحقق من المعاملات).

على الرغم من أن مفهوم إثبات العمل أقدم من العملات الرقمية إلا أن ساتوشي ناكاموتو قام بتطوير نسخة معدّلة منه كخوارزمية مكنت من إنشاء البيتكوين كنظام BFT.

لاحظ أن خوارزمية إثبات العمل (PoW) ليست متسامحة بنسبة 100٪ مع الأخطاء البيزنطية ولكن بسبب عملية التعدين الكثيفة التكلفة وتقنيات التشفير، أثبتت PoW أنها واحدة من أكثر التطبيقات أمانًا و الجديرة بالثقة لشبكات البلكوشين.

ولذلك، يتم استخدام خوارزمية إثبات العمل التي صممها ساتوشي ناكاموتو من قبل الكثيرين كواحدة من الحلول الأكثر عبقرية للأخطاء البيزنطية.


الختام

مشكلة الجنرالات البيزنطيين هي معضلة مثيرة أثارت في نهاية المطاف أنظمة الـ BFT  والتي يتم تطبيقها على نطاق واسع في سيناريوهات مختلفة. حتى خارج صناعة البلوكشين، عدد قليل من حالات استخدام الـ BFT تشمل صناعات الطيران والفضاء والطاقة النووية.

ضمن سياق العملات الرقمية، وجود شبكة اتصال فعالة جنبا إلى جنب مع آلية إجماع هو أمر حيوي لأي نظام بلوكشين. يعتبر تأمين هذه الأنظمة جهدًا مستمرًا ولا تزال خوارزميات الإجماع الموجودة تعمل على التغلب على بعض القيود (مثل قابلية التوسع). ومع ذلك، تعتبر خوارزمية إثبات العمل (PoW) و إثبات الحصة (PoS) منهجين شيقين للغاية لأنظمة BFT والتطبيقات المحتملة هي بالتأكيد مصدر إلهام واسع الانتشار. 

Loading

Byzantine Fault Tolerance Explained

06.12.2018

Since the inception of Bitcoin in 2008, as a peer-to-peer electronic cash system, many other cryptocurrencies were created, each one with a particular mechanism. But one thing that nearly all cryptocurrencies have in common is the blockchain, as the core element of their architecture.

With few exceptions, blockchains are intentionally designed to be decentralized, working as a digital ledger that is maintained by a distributed network of computer nodes. For this reason, blockchain technology allowed the creation of trustless economic systems, where transparent and reliable financial transactions could be executed without the need for intermediaries. Cryptocurrencies are being adopted as a viable alternative to traditional banking and payment systems, which are heavily dependent on trust.

Just as most distributed computing systems, the participants of a cryptocurrency network need to regularly agree on the current state of the blockchain, and that is what we call consensus achievement. However, reaching consensus on distributed networks, in a safe and trustful way, is far from being an easy task.

So, how can a distributed network of computer nodes agree on a decision, if some of the nodes are likely to fail or to act dishonestly? This is the fundamental question of the so-called Byzantine Generals’ problem, which gave birth to the concept of Byzantine fault tolerance.


What is the Byzantine Generals’ Problem?

In a few words, the Byzantine Generals’ Problem was conceived in 1982 as a logical dilemma that illustrates how a group of Byzantine generals may have communication problems when trying to agree on their next move.

The dilemma assumes that each general has its own army and that each group is situated in different locations around the city they intend to attack. The generals need to agree on either attacking or retreating. It does not matter whether they attack or retreat, as long as all generals reach consensus, i.e., agree on a common decision in order to execute it in coordination.

Therefore, we may consider the following goals:

  • Each general has to decide: attack or retreat (yes or no);

  • After the decision is made, it cannot be changed;

  • All generals have to agree on the same decision and execute it in a synchronized manner.

The aforementioned communication problems are related to the fact that one general is only able to communicate with another through messages, which are forwarded by a courier. Consequently, the central challenge of the Byzantine Generals’ Problem is that the messages can get somehow delayed, destroyed or lost.

In addition, even if a message is successfully delivered, one or more generals may choose (for whatever reason) to act maliciously and send a fraudulent message to confuse the other generals, leading to a total failure.

If we apply the dilemma to the context of blockchains, each general represents a network node and the nodes need to reach consensus on the current state of the system. Putting in another way, the majority of participants within a distributed network have to agree and execute the same action in order to avoid a complete failure.

Therefore, the only way to achieve consensus in these types of distributed system is by having at least ⅔ or more reliable and honest network nodes. This means that if the majority of the network decides to act maliciously, the system is susceptible to failures and attacks (such as the 51% attack).


Byzantine Fault Tolerance (BFT)

In a few words, Byzantine fault tolerance (BFT) is the property of a system that is able to resist the class of failures derived from the Byzantine Generals’ Problem dilemma. This means that a BFT system is able to continue operating even if some of the nodes fail or act maliciously. 

There is more than one possible solution to the Byzantine Generals’ Problem and, therefore, multiple ways of building a BFT system. Likewise, there are various different approaches for a blockchain to achieve Byzantine fault tolerance and this leads us to the so-called consensus algorithms.


Blockchain Consensus Algorithms

We can define a consensus algorithm as the mechanism through which a blockchain network reach consensus. The most common implementations are Proof of Work (PoW) and Proof of Stake (PoS). But let’s take the Bitcoin case as an example.

While the Bitcoin protocol prescribes the primary rules of the system, the PoW consensus algorithm is what defines how these rules will be followed in order to reach consensus (for instance, during the verification and validation of transactions).

Although the concept of Proof of Work is older than cryptocurrencies, Satoshi Nakamoto developed a modified version of it as an algorithm that enabled the creation of Bitcoin as a BFT system.

Note that the PoW algorithm is not 100% tolerant to the Byzantine faults, but due to the cost-intensive mining process and the underlying cryptographic techniques, PoW has proven to be one of the most secure and reliable implementations for blockchain networks. In that sense, the Proof of Work consensus algorithm, designed by Satoshi Nakamoto, is considered by many as one of the most genius solutions to the Byzantine faults.


Conclusion

The Byzantine Generals’ Problem is an intriguing dilemma that eventually gave rise to the BFT systems, which are being extensively applied in various scenarios. Beyond the blockchain industry, a few use cases of BFT systems include the aviation, space, and nuclear power industries.

Within the cryptocurrency context, having an efficient network communication along with a good consensus mechanism is vital to any blockchain ecosystem. Securing these systems is an ongoing effort and the existing consensus algorithms are yet to overcome a few limitations (such as scalability). Nonetheless, PoW and PoS are very interesting approaches as BFT systems, and the potential applications are certainly inspiring widespread innovation.

Loading