延时工作量证明

分享
Copied to clipboard!
延时工作量证明

延时工作量证明(dPoW)是由科莫多(Komodo)项目所设计的一种安全机制。基本上来说,它是工作量证明(PoW)共识算法的修改版本,它利用比特币区块链的哈希算力来增强网络安全性。通过使用延时工作量证明(dPoW),Komodo开发人员不仅能够保护自己的网络,还能够保护未来加入Komodo生态系统的任何第三方区块链。实际上,dPoW可以用于保护任何使用UTXO模型开发的独立区块链项目。


延时工作量证明(dPoW)是如何工作的?

以Komodo为例,dPoW安全机制使用Zcash代码库开发并实现,通过利用比特币的哈希算力,实现零知识隐私证明并提高网络安全性。 

每隔十分钟,Komodo系统会对区块链网络执行快照。然后,将快照的结果写入到比特币网络上的区块中。总的来说,这个过程创建了整个Komodo系统的备份,该系统的备份保存在比特币区块链中。 

从技术层面说,Komodo社区选举的公证节点通过在Komodo链上执行交易,将每个受dPoW保护的区块链的区块哈希写入Komodo分布式账本中。通过调用OP_RETURN指令,公证节点将单个区块哈希存储到Komodo链上。

公证节点选择间隔十分钟的快照执行时间的原因是为了确保整个网络认可该区块的有效性。每个区块链的网络仍然会对每个区块达成共识。公证节点简单地记录来自之前挖掘的区块散哈希值。

接着,公证节点将来自Komodo区块链的哈希写入比特币帐本中。该步骤也可以通过执行比特币交易并使用OP_RETURN指令将数据写入比特币的区块链中来完成。

在公证节点完成对比特币区块链网络的操作后,Komodo的公证节点就会将来自比特币区块链的区块数据写回到每个受保护的链上。此时,网络将不会接受任何尝试更改公证区块(或在公证节点达成共识之前创建的任何区块)的重组操作。

目前,dPoW是与比特币一起被捆绑使用的,但它可以作为安全性工具被用在任何其他使用UTXO模型的区块链中。



工作量证明(PoW) 与延时工作量证明(dPoW)

工作量证明(PoW)算法的主要目标之一是维护网络安全,阻止诸如分布式拒绝服务攻击(DDoS)之类的网络攻击。简而言之,PoW算法是生产成本非常高的数据块,但是它容易被验证,并且是挖矿过程中的重要元素。

基于PoW的区块链中的挖矿设计是非常苛刻的。矿工需要解答一道复杂的密码学题目,从而挖到一个新的区块。这个过程涉及了大量的计算工作,需要消耗非常昂贵的硬件和电力。挖矿的过程不仅仅可以保护网络免受外部攻击,还可以验证交易的合法性并生成新的数字货币(作为矿工解决难题的奖励)。 

因此,基于工作证明量的区块链很安全的原因之一就是挖矿的过程会涉及到非常高的资金投入。然而,需要注意的是,PoW区块链的安全性与用于它们的算力(哈希)直接相关,这意味着小型区块链网络不如大型区块链网络安全。 

与PoW不同,dPoW不用于在新区块上达成共识,因此不被认为是共识算法。它是在PoW共识规则之外实施的安全机制。 DPoW使得经过公证的区块不可能被重组,这意味着它使区块链更加安全并且能够抵抗51%攻击

实际上,每当一个区块被公证后,dPoW就会“重新设置”区块链的共识规则。例如,大多数PoW区块链使用“最长链规则”。因此,每当区块链网络确认区块XXX和XX1已经被公证时,最长链规则就会从区块XXX,XX2开始。网络将不再接受从区块XXX,XX0或之前开始的链,即使它是最长的链。


总结

延时工作量证明安全机制允许执行频繁的备份,以确保在系统发生故障或在被入侵后,可以快速恢复整个网络的数据。如果攻击者想要成功造成持久的攻击损害,那他也必须关闭比特币网络,破坏比特币区块链中所备份的所有快照。 

如果您想了解有关延时工作量证明的更多信息,请查看Komodo的区块链安全服务页面

Loading

Delayed Proof of Work Explained

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Delayed Proof of Work Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Delayed Proof of Work (dPoW) is a security mechanism designed by the Komodo project. It is basically a modified version of the Proof of Work (PoW) consensus algorithm that makes use of Bitcoin blockchain’s hashpower as a way to enhance network security. By using dPoW, Komodo developers are able to secure not only their own network but also any third-party chain that ends up joining the Komodo ecosystem in the future. In fact, dPoW can be implemented for any project that develops an independent blockchain using a UTXO model.


How does dPoW work?

Taking Komodo as one example, the dPoW security mechanism was developed and implemented into the Zcash code base, allowing zero-knowledge privacy and increasing network security by leveraging Bitcoin’s hash rate.

At intervals of ten minutes, the Komodo system takes a snapshot of its own blockchain. Then, the snapshot is written into a block on the Bitcoin network in a process called notarization. Basically, this process creates a backup of the entire Komodo system, which is saved within the Bitcoin blockchain.

Technically speaking, Komodo’s community-elected notary nodes write a block hash from every dPoW-protected blockchain onto the Komodo ledger, by executing a transaction on the Komodo chain. Using the OP_RETURN command, the notary nodes store a single block hash onto the Komodo chain.

The reason why the notary nodes select a block hash that is about ten minutes old is to ensure that the entire network agrees the block is valid. Each blockchain's network still comes to consensus for each block. The notary nodes simply record a block hash from a previously-mined block.

Then, the notary nodes write a block hash from the Komodo chain onto the Bitcoin ledger. This process is also completed by executing a BTC transaction and using OP_RETURN to write the data into a block on the Bitcoin chain.

Once this notarization to Bitcoin occurs, Komodo's notary nodes write that block data from the BTC chain back onto the chain of every other protected chain. At this point, the network will not accept any re-organizations that attempt to change a notarized block (or any blocks that were created prior to the most recently-notarized block).

Currently, dPoW is being used with Bitcoin, but it has the potential to be used as a tool for leveraging both the security and the features of any other blockchain that uses a UTXO model.


PoW vs dPoW

One of the main goals of the Proof of Work (PoW) algorithm is to maintain network security, deterring cyber attacks such as Distributed Denial-of-Service attacks (DDoS). In a few words, the PoW algorithm is a piece of data that is very costly to produce but easy for others to verify and that is a crucial element of the mining process.

The mining within PoW-based blockchains is very demanding by design. Miners need to solve a complex cryptographic puzzle in order to be able to mine a new block. Such a process involves intense computational work, which is very costly in terms of hardware and electricity. The process of mining not only protect the network from external attacks but also verifies the legitimacy of transactions and generate new cryptocurrency units (as a reward to the miner that solves the puzzle). 

Therefore, one of the reasons Proof of Work blockchains are secure is the fact that the mining process involves a very high financial investment and depends on network consensus. However, it is important to note that the security of PoW blockchains is directly related to the amount of computational power (hash rate) being devoted to them, meaning that small blockchain networks are not as secure as large ones.

In contrast to PoW, dPoW is not used to achieve consensus on new blocks and, thus, is not considered a consensus algorithm. Instead, it is a security mechanism that is implemented in addition to ordinary PoW consensus rules. DPoW makes it impossible for blocks that have been notarized to be reorganized, which means it makes blockchains far more secure and resistant to 51% attacks.

In effect, dPoW "re-sets" a blockchain's consensus rules every time a block is notarized. For instance, most PoW chains use the "longest chain rule." So each time a blockchain's network receives confirmation that block XXX,XX1 has been notarized, the longest chain rule starts over at block XXX,XX2. The network will not accept a chain that begins at block XXX,XX0 or prior, even if it is the longest one.


Closing thoughts

The delayed Proof of Work security mechanism allows for frequent backups to ensure that in the event of a system failure or successful hack, the entire data can be quickly recovered. For a hack to successfully cause lasting damage the attacker would have to take down the Bitcoin network as well, destroying all of the snapshots that were backed up within the Bitcoin blockchain

For those who would like to learn more about delayed Proof of Work, please check Komodo's Blockchain Security Service page.

Loading