شرح Ethereum Casper

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
شرح Ethereum Casper
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

ما هو الـ Ethereum Casper؟

Community Submission - Author: William M. Peaster


كاسبر هو التطبيق الذي سيحول الإيثيريوم في نهاية المطاف إلى بلوكشين إثبات الحصة (Proof of Stake - PoS) (المعروف أيضًا باسم Ethereum 2.0). على الرغم من أن الإيثيريوم تم إطلاقه في صيف 2015 كـ بلوكشين تعمل بخوارزمية إثبات العمل (Proof of Work - PoW) إلا أن المطورين كانوا يخططون بالفعل للإنتقال الى نموذج الحصة. بعد اكتمال الانتقال لن يصبح التعدين جزءًا من شبكة الإيثيريوم.

حتى الآن هناك اثنين من تطبيقات كاسبر المتقدمة في النظام البيئي للإيثيريوم وهما Casper CBC و Casper FFG. تم اقتراح نسخة CBC مبدئيًا من قِبل باحث مؤسسة الإيثيريوم Vlad Zamfir. على الرغم من أن البحث في CBC كان يركز في البداية على بروتوكولات PoS للـ بلوكشين العامة إلا أنه تطور منذ ذلك الحين إلى مجال أوسع من الدراسة وأصبح يضم مجموعة من نماذج PoS.

يقود مؤسس الإيثيريوم Vitalik Buterin البحث عن Casper FFG. يتكون الاقتراح الأولي من نظام هجين بين PoW و PoS لكن التنفيذ لا يزال قيد المناقشة وقد تحل المقترحات الجديدة في نهاية المطاف بنموذج PoS خالص.

والجدير بالذكر أن Casper FFG هي التي يتم التخطيط لها لبدء إصدار Ethereum 2.0. لكن هذا لا يعني أن Casper CBC لن يكون لها أي فائدة. في الواقع قد ينتهي الأمر باستبدال أو استكمال Casper FFG في المستقبل. 

بينما تم تطوير كلا الإصدارين للإيثيريوم، إلا أن Casper هو نموذج PoS يمكن اعتماده وتنفيذه أيضًا في شبكات البلوكشين الأخرى.


كيف يعمل الـ Casper

يُطلق على الانتقال من Ethereum 1.0 إلى 2.0 ترقية "الصفاء (Serenity)" وسوف تتكون من ثلاث مراحل مختلفة. في مرحلته الأولية (المرحلة 0) سيتم إطلاق بلوكشين جديد بإسم  Beacon Chain. ستقود قواعد Casper FFG آلية الإجماع الخاصة بالبلوكشين الجديد القائم على إثبات الحصة (PoS).

على عكس تعدين إثبات العمل (PoW) حيث يدير عمال التعدين أجهزة متخصصة باهظة الثمن لإنشاء والتحقق من كتل المعاملات، فإن تطبيق Casper سيزيل عملية التعدين من الإيثيريوم. بدلاً من ذلك سيتم التحقق من صحة الكتل الجديدة والتصديق عليها من قبل مدققي الكتلة والذي سيتم إختيارهم وفقا لحصتهم.

بمعنى اخر، سيتم تحديد القدرة على التصويت لكل مدقق على أساس كمية الـ ETH الذي وضعها كحصة له. على سبيل المثال فإن الشخص الذي يودع 64 ETH سيكون له ضعف وزن تصويت شخص قام بإيداع الحد الأدنى لمبلغ الحصة. ليصبح مدقق كتلة في المرحلة الأولى من Serenity سيحتاج المستخدمون إلى حصة لا تقل عن 32 من الأثير (ETH) يتم إيداعها في عقد ذكي خاص مبنى على بلوكشين Ethereum 1.0. 

إذا سارت الأمور على ما يرام فسيتم اختيار لجان عشوائية من المدققين لاقتراح كتل جديدة وفي النهاية سيحصلون على مكافآت الكتلة لقيامهم بذلك. من المحتمل أن تتكون مكافآت الكتلة من رسوم المعاملات فقط لأنه لن يكون هناك  مكافأة من الكتلة نفسها (كما بالتعدين). 

مع ذلك تجدر الإشارة الى أن كل تطبيق PoS يمكن أن يقدم طريقة مختلفة مع نماذج مجزية (مكافآت) مختلفة. لا يزال نموذج كاسبر قيد التطوير ولا يزال يتعين تحديد الكثير من التفاصيل. 


مميزات Casper

تتمثل إحدى مميزات كاسبر في أنه في جعل نظام الحصة أمرًا ممكنًا مما سيساعد الإيثيريوم في أن يصبح صديقًا للبيئة. عندما يتعلق الأمر بالكهرباء والموارد الحاسوبية فإن الأنظمة المعتمدة على PoW تتطلب الكثير الموارد. على العكس، فأن نماذج PoS تحتاج الى موارد أقل بكثير. عندما يتم تطبيق نموذج PoS كامل في الإيثيريوم لن تكون هناك حاجة إلى التعدين لتأمين البلوكشين وبالتالي فإن الموارد المطلوبة ستكون أقل من ذلك بكثير.

ميزة أخرى محتملة لكاسبر مرتبطة بالأمان. حيث أنه في جوهره سيتم استخدام كاسبر كمحدد أي المسؤول عن ترتيب سلسلة الكتل. في الأساس سيكون بمثابة أمين سجل لدفتر Ethereum 2.0. لذلك إذا تصرف المدقق بشكل ضار فسيتم إزالته بسرعة ومعاقبته. إن عقوبة الغش في القواعد هي حصة المدقق (من عملة ETH) مما يعني أن تجاوزات الشبكة ستكون مكلفة للغاية. ومع ذلك لا يزال المطورين يناقشون إمكانيات هجمات 51٪.

أخيرًا، يدافع بعض الأشخاص عن أن كاسبر سيمنح الإيثيريوم مستويات أعلى من اللامركزية. في الوقت الحالي الأقوى على شبكة الإيثيريوم هو من يمتلك الموارد اللازمة لتشغيل عمليات التعدين. بينما في المستقبل سيتمكن أي شخص يمكنه شراء الكمية المناسبة من الإثير من المساعدة في تأمين بلوكشين الإيثيريوم.


القيود

لا يزال هناك طريق طويل أمام كاسبر ليتم تطويرة و تنفيذة. حاليا الكفاءة والامان في كاسبر لا تزال غير مثبتة. هناك العديد من التفاصيل التي يتعين تحديدها وتعديلها. لن يمكننا التأكد من شكله وسلوكه حتى يتم تشغيل أول إصدار منه في المرحلة 0 من ترقية Serenity.

فيما يتعلق بالقيود النظرية، لن يتمكن كاسبر من صياغة الكتل في حال تلف نظام التحقق في الإيثيريوم. نظرًا لكونه مبني حاليًا فإن كاسبر لا يزال غير مقاوم تمامًا لهجمات 51٪. بخلاف ذلك لا تزال هناك حاجة إلى مواصفات رسمية لتوضيح قاعدة الـ fork التي قد تكون مطلوبة عند الرد على الهجمات.


أفكار ختامية

يقوم الإيثيريوم بالإستغناء عن التعدين و يتجه الى نظام التخزين الذي سيقوم فيه المستخدمين بتخزين الإثير (ETH) في عنوان إيداع لتأمين البلوكشين. كاسبر هي تقنية تستخدم لصياغة الكتل التي تسهل هذا التحول. 

سيساعد كاسبر في إنشاء الأساس الذي سيعتمد عليه المزيد من تقدم Ethereum 2.0 وسيكون جاهز للانتقال إلى نموذج إثبات الحصة (PoS). بالإضافة إلى ذلك فإن الطبيعة المفتوحة المصدر للبلوكشين تعنى أيضًا أن الفوائد المحددة لكاسبر يمكن أن يتم تعديلها والقيام بـ fork بها والبناء عليها من قبل المشاريع الأخرى. 

سيشكل كاسبر علامة فارقة مهمة في تاريخ الإيثيريوم عندما يتم إصدارة رسميًا. بالنسبة للوقت الذي قد يتم فيه إصدار كاسبر طرح سابقا جاستن دريك الباحث في إيثيريوم إمكانية إطلاق المرحلة الأولى من كاسبر في 3 يناير عام 2020 (يوم عيد ميلاد البيتكوين الحادي عشر) لكن كان هذا التاريخ اقْتِراحًا مُؤَقَّتًا ويمكن أن يتم الإطلاق في أي وقت من عام 2020.

Loading

Ethereum Casper Explained

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Ethereum Casper Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

What is Ethereum Casper?

Community Submission - Author: William M. Peaster


Casper is the implementation that will eventually convert Ethereum into a Proof of Stake (PoS) blockchain (also known as Ethereum 2.0). Although Ethereum was launched in the summer of 2015 as a Proof of Work (PoW) blockchain, developers were already planning a long-term transition to the staking model. After the transition is complete, mining will no longer be part of the Ethereum network.

To date, there have been two co-developed Casper implementations in the Ethereum ecosystem: Casper CBC (Correct-by-Construction) and Casper FFG (Friendly Finality Gadget). The CBC version was initially proposed by Ethereum Foundation researcher Vlad Zamfir. Although research on CBC was initially focused on PoS protocols for public blockchains, it has since evolved into a wider field of study, comprising a family of PoS models.

Research on Casper FFG is being led by Ethereum co-founder Vitalik Buterin. The initial proposal consisted of a hybrid PoW/PoS system, but the implementation is still under discussion, and new proposals may eventually replace it with a pure PoS model.

Notably, Casper FFG is the one being planned to initiate the Ethereum 2.0 rollout. But, that doesn’t mean Casper CBC won’t be of any use. In fact, it may end up replacing or complementing Casper FFG in the future. 

While both versions have been developed for Ethereum, Casper is a PoS model that may also be adopted and implemented in other blockchain networks.


How Casper Works

The transition from Ethereum 1.0 to 2.0 is dubbed the “Serenity” upgrade. It will consist of three different phases. In its initial phase (Phase 0), a new blockchain called Beacon Chain will be launched. Casper FFG rules will drive the consensus mechanism of this new PoS-based blockchain.

Unlike PoW mining, where miners run expensive and specialized machines to create and validate blocks of transactions, Casper implementation will remove the process of mining from Ethereum. Alternatively, the verification and validation of new blocks of transactions will be done by block validators, which will be selected according to their stake.

In other words, the voting power of each validator will be determined by the amount of ETH they put at stake. For example, someone who has deposited 64 ETH will have double the voting weight of someone who deposited the minimum staking amount. To become a block validator in the first phase of Serenity, users will need a minimum stake of 32 ether (ETH) - deposited into a special smart contract based on the former Ethereum blockchain (1.0). 

If all goes well, random committees of validators will be selected to propose new blocks and eventually receive block rewards for doing so. The block rewards will likely consist only of transaction fees as there won’t be a block subsidy

It is worth noting, however, that each PoS implementation may present a different approach, with different rewarding models. The Casper model is still under development, and many details are yet to be defined. 


Advantages of Casper

One advantage of Casper is that, in making staking possible, it will help Ethereum become environmentally friendly. When it comes to electricity and computational resources, PoW-based systems are very demanding. In contrast, PoS models have a much lower demand. When a full PoS model is finally implemented in Ethereum, miners will no longer be needed to secure the blockchain, so the required resources will be much lower.

Another potential advantage of Casper is related to security. In essence, Casper will be used as a selector, responsible for ordering the chain of blocks. Basically, it will act as a bookkeeper of the Ethereum 2.0 ledger. So if a validator acts maliciously, they will be quickly removed and punished. The penalty for cheating the rules is a validator’s stake (in ETH), meaning that network transgressions will be very expensive. However, developers are still discussing the possibilities of 51% attacks.

Lastly, some people defend that Casper will give Ethereum greater levels of decentralization. For now, those who are most powerful on the network are those who have the resources to run mining operations. In the future, anyone who can buy the appropriate amount of ether will be able to help secure its blockchain.


Limitations

There is a long way to go until Casper if finally developed and implemented. Currently, its efficiency and security are still unproven. There are many details to be defined and adjusted. Until a version of it goes live in Phase 0 of the Serenity upgrade, we can’t be sure of how it will look like and behave.

As far as theoretical limitations, Casper won’t be able to finalize blocks if Ethereum’s validating system becomes corrupted. As it is currently structured, Casper is still not totally resistant to 51% attacks. Other than that, a formal specification is still needed to outline a fork rule that may be needed when responding to attacks.


Closing thoughts

Ethereum is moving away from mining and toward staking, where users will stake ether (ETH) in a deposit address to secure the blockchain. Casper is a technology used to finalize blocks that will facilitate that shift. 

Casper will help create the foundation upon which further Ethereum 2.0 advancements will rely on, and is set to make the transition to a PoS model smoother. In addition, the open-source nature of the blockchain space also means the outlined benefits of Casper can be forked out, modified, and built upon by other projects in perpetuity going forward. 

When Casper is formally rolled out, it will mark an important milestone in the history of Ethereum. As for when Casper could arrive, Ethereum researcher Justin Drake has previously floated the possibility of launching the first phase of Casper on January 3rd, 2020 (the 11th birthday of Bitcoin). However, that date was a tentative proposition. The launch could happen at any point in 2020.

Loading