权益证明租赁(LPOS)共识协议解释

分享
权益证明租赁(LPOS)共识协议解释

权益证明租赁(LPOS)共识算法和Waves-NG协议 

作者:Waves贡献者 Guy Brandon

Waves网络采用权益证明租赁(LPOS)共识算法,该算法与Waves-NG协议相结合,可实现网络的高度可扩展性和事务吞吐量。


介绍

Waves网络于2016年推出,当时通过ICO募集了30,000比特币,价值约1600万美元。该项目旨在开发可用于业务交易流程的综合区块链生态系统,其中包含涵盖各类功能需求的工具包,包括轻松创建自定义加密货币令牌、直接编写智能合约、实现点对点交易的内置去中心化交易所(DEX)、与dApps实现安全便捷的交互方式以及Waves Keeper浏览器插件所提供的Web服务。


可扩展性

从一开始,Waves就认识到可扩展性是大多数区块链项目推广使用的需求,并优先意识到要开发相关的技术,来解决现有区块链的局限性。例如,比特币具有很高的安全性但交易速度相对较慢,并且每秒只能支持大约7笔交易(TPS)。因此,比特币的效率不足以使其成为全球性货币。基于第二层的解决方案,如比特币的闪电网络就是为了实现该目标而事实的。而Waves在该层上采用了不同的方法,在考虑第二层应用之前,Waves首先关注链上的可扩展性。


租赁平衡

Waves的原创共识算法是基于简单的股权证明协议实现的。总量为1亿枚的WAVES代币都在ICO之后完成了分发,并且供应量也是固定的:因为WAVE是“PoW”属性的代币,所以不存在通货膨胀。因此,Waves区块验证者(锻造者,他们通常被称为是Waves生态系统中的'矿工')从他们处理的区块中获得交易费,但没有额外的区块奖励。

租赁的股权证明(LPoS)系统于2017年5月全面启动,该协议可以让使用Waves lite客户端用户(没有运行完整节点的用户)将他们的WAVES令牌租赁给挖矿节点。租用的WAVES被锁定在用户的帐户中,无法进行转移或交易。此外,代币仍然完全由账户持有人控制,租约到期后可以随时取消。考虑到挖矿节点运行需要相关的技术开销以及7*24小时在线,因此只有相对较少的Waves社区运行挖矿节点(区块生成器列表可以在http://dev.pywaves.org/generators/查看)。

租赁给挖矿节点的WAVES代币可用于增加矿工的权重,反之,也增加了矿工发现下一个区块的机会。租赁的股权证明系统至少以两种方式提高了网络的安全性。首先,用于保护网络的WAVES代币是越多越好的,因为这样会使攻击者更难以累积到执行51%攻击所需的代币数量。其次,WAVES代币从用户的冷钱包中租给挖矿节点,但节点本身(保持在线的节点)可能只有很小的余额。由于租赁的资金不会转移给矿工,这可以显著降低在线存储的WAVES代币被攻击的风险。


一种新的共识方法:Waves-NG

2017年12月WAVES进一步升级了网络,推出了Waves-NG共识协议。这是一个基于比特币NG方案的新协议,由Cornell IT教授EminGünSirer发明。

比特币初始的协议随机性选择矿工。区块链中增加了一个区块之后,矿工们会相互竞争,根据区块链的当前状态查找下一个区块的有效哈希值。同时,新生成的交易被放入内存池(mempool),在那里它们将保持挂起状态,直到有矿工来收集并验证这些交易。

虽然比特币和比特币NG协议都被认为是拜占庭容错(BFT)系统,后者作为不同工作机制的可扩展替代方案,于2015年被提出。在Bitcoin-NG系统中,会预先选择下一个矿工,该矿工会创建一个空的“密钥区块” - 这个区块最终会被添加到区块链中。小型区块被称为‘microblocks’(由几个交易组成),他们近乎实时地被添加到该密钥区块中。用日常生活作为类比,这就像在购物车(密钥区块)上添加几个购物袋(microblocks)后,最后将完整的小车推到收银台(添加到区块链网络上)。这意味着可以在几秒钟内将交易添加到区块链中,唯一可能发生的延迟就是网络上的延迟。Waves将权益证明机制进行了升级,从而创建了Waves-NG协议,也是首个将比特币NG协议用于开放公共区块链中。

对生态系统的进一步完善是通过“MassTransfers”。支持在单个交易中封装多达100笔转账,并降低了手续费用。一方面,MassTransfer为了在增加容量和便利性之间进行折中,限制了每个MassTransfers中仅包括100 txs,另一方面也限制了同时发送大量低成本交易的能力。如果需要进行更大量的转账交易,则可以按照顺序提交多个MassTransfers转账交易。

换句话说,用户可以简单地选择MassTransfer作为另一种“发送交易”的方式,该方式支持可以让他们在单个交易中最多添加100个收款人。此外,收款人的地址可以通过JSON提供或使用CSV文件上传,从而可以直接高效地进行大型空投或每周向租赁WAVES代币给挖矿节点的用户付款。结合Waves-NG,MassTransfer功能可在网络上实现极高的吞吐率。

在Waves网络上进行了许多压力测试,来评估新协议的潜在吞吐量。2018年10月,在MainNet上进行了一次大容量的压力测试。该测试表明公开的区块链协议(不仅仅是有限和受控的TestNet)可以在24小时内支持超过610万笔交易,平均每分钟4,200 txs或每秒71 txs,峰值吞吐量可达到每秒数百个交易。


总结思想

权益证明租赁(LPOS)可使无技术专业背景的普通用户帮助保护Waves网络,在控制WAVES代币的前提下,将WAVES租用到完整节点。同时,Waves-NG实现了高达100 TPS的吞吐量,这比许多区块链高出了一个数量级。由于不需要向矿工支付资金奖励,后者也不需要承担高电费和昂贵的硬件,所以交易的手续费用很低。

对于Waves来说,链上可扩展性一直是优先考虑的因素,但由于所需要的存储空间和带宽,任何区块链都可以通过这种方式进行扩展。Waves的开发人员认为,在进一步实现可扩展的解决方案前,可优化当前方案,并可实现支持高达1,000 TPS的交易能力。Waves目前正在探索涉及侧链的第二层扩展解决方案,该方案可支持在并行链上处理大量交易,并最终在Waves主网上实现保护。

Loading

Leased Proof of Stake Consensus Explained

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Leased Proof of Stake Consensus Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Leased Proof of Stake Consensus Algorithm and the Waves-NG protocol

Author: Guy Brandon, Waves contributor.

Waves network operates on a leased proof-of-stake (LPoS) consensus algorithm combined with the Waves-NG protocol, allowing for a high degree of scalability and transaction throughput.


Introduction

Waves network was launched in 2016 after an ICO that raised 30,000 BTC – around $16 million at the time. The project is developing a comprehensive blockchain ecosystem for use in business processes, with a wide-ranging toolkit covering diverse needs - including easy creation of custom cryptocurrency tokens; straightforward smart contracts; peer-to-peer trading on a built-in decentralised exchange (DEX); and a safe, convenient means of interacting with dApps and web services through the Waves Keeper browser plug-in.


Scalability

From the outset, Waves recognized that scalability would be required for mass blockchain adoption, and prioritized the development of technology to address the limitations of existing blockchains. For example, Bitcoin is highly secure but relatively slow, and can only support around 7 transactions per second (TPS). As such, Bitcoin is not efficient enough to be used as an everyday currency worldwide. Second-tier solutions such as the Lightning Network are required for Bitcoin to serve this purpose. Waves has taken a different approach, focusing initially on high on-chain scalability before considering second-tier applications.


Balance leasing

Waves’ original consensus algorithm was a simple Proof of Stake implementation. All 100 million WAVES tokens were distributed after the ICO, and supply is fixed: there is no inflation, as there is with PoW-mined coins. Therefore, Waves block validators (forgers, though they are typically known simply as ‘miners’ within the Waves ecosystem) receive transaction fees from the blocks they process, but no block rewards. 

The Leased Proof of Stake (LPoS) system was fully launched in May 2017, allowing users of the Waves lite client – those who did not run a full node – to lease their WAVES tokens to mining nodes. Leased WAVES are locked in the user’s account and cannot be transferred or traded. Still, the tokens remain in the full control of the account holder and leases can be canceled at any time. Given the technical overheads associated with running a mining node and the need to be online 24/7, only a relatively small proportion of the Waves community runs nodes (a list of block generators can be found at http://dev.pywaves.org/generators/). 

WAVES tokens that are leased to a mining node are used to increase the stakeweight of the miner, which in turn increases the chances of that miner finding the next block. The Leased Proof of Stake system improves network security in at least two ways. Firstly, the more WAVES are used to secure the network the better, because it becomes harder for an attacker to accumulate the tokens necessary to carry out a 51% attack. Secondly, WAVES can be leased to a node from a user’s cold storage address, but the node itself – which remains online – may only have a minimal balance. This significantly reduces the risk of WAVES tokens being hacked from computers that are online, since the leased funds are not transferred to the miner.


A new approach to consensus: Waves-NG

A further upgrade to the network occurred in December 2017, with the launch of Waves-NG. This was a new protocol based on the Bitcoin-NG proposal by Cornell IT professor Emin Gün Sirer.

The original Bitcoin protocol chooses each miner retrospectively. After a block has been added to the blockchain, miners compete to find a valid hash for the next block, based on the current state of the blockchain. Meanwhile, newly-generated transactions go into the memory pool (mempool), where they will remain pending until a miner eventually collects and validates them. 

Although both Bitcoin and Bitcoin-NG protocols are considered Byzantine fault tolerant (BFT) systems, the latter was proposed in 2015 as a scalable alternative based on a different working mechanism. On a Bitcoin-NG system, the next miner is chosen in advance and this miner creates an empty ‘key block’ - which is the block that will be ultimately added to the blockchain. Small blocks called ‘microblocks’ (consisting of a few transactions each) are added in near-real time to this key block. To use an everyday analogy, this is like adding several bags of shopping (microblocks) to a trolley (keyblock), before the full trolley is ultimately wheeled to the checkout (added to the blockchain). This means that transactions can be added to the blockchain in just a few seconds, with the only real delay being network latency. Waves updated this idea for a proof-of-stake network, creating the Waves-NG protocol – the first deployment of Bitcoin-NG for an open, public blockchain.

A further addition to the ecosystem has been MassTransfers. These allow up to 100 transfers to be packaged within a single transaction, with reduced fees. The limit of 100 txs per MassTransfer was chosen as a compromise between adding significant capacity and convenience, on the one hand, and limiting the ability to send very large batches of low-cost transactions all at once, on the other hand. If more transfers need to be made, multiple MassTransfers can be submitted sequentially. 

In other words, users can simply choose a MassTransfer as a different kind of ‘Send transaction’, allowing them to include up to 100 recipients in a single transaction. Moreover, the recipient addresses can be provided via JSON or uploaded from a CSV file, making it straightforward and efficient to conduct large airdrops or perform weekly payouts to those who lease their WAVES to mining nodes. Combined with Waves-NG, the MassTransfer feature enabled a very high rate of throughput on the network.

A number of stress tests have been conducted on the Waves network to gauge the throughput potential of the new protocol. In October 2018, a major stress test was conducted on MainNet. This demonstrated that the public, open blockchain protocol (not simply a limited and controlled TestNet) could support over 6.1 million transactions within a 24-hour period – an average of 4,200 txs per minute or 71 txs per second, with peak throughput reaching hundreds of transactions per second.


Closing thoughts

The Leased Proof-of-Stake system enabled everyday users without technical expertise to help secure the Waves network, leasing their WAVES to full nodes without losing control of their tokens. Meanwhile, Waves-NG enabled a throughput of up to 100 TPS, which is an order of magnitude more than many blockchains. Fees are low because there is no need to pay miners with block rewards to compensate them for high electricity costs and expensive hardware.

On-chain scalability has been a priority for Waves, but there are limits to the extent that any blockchain can scale this way due to the storage and bandwidth required. Waves’ developers believe that the current approach can be optimized to support up to 1,000 TPS before further scaling solutions are required. Waves is currently exploring options for a second-tier scaling solution involving sidechains, enabling a large number of transactions to be processed on a parallel chain but ultimately secured on the main Waves blockchain.

Loading