خوارزمية إثبات الحصة المؤجرة

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
خوارزمية إثبات الحصة المؤجرة
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

خوارزمية إجماع إثبات الحصة المؤجرة وبروتوكول Waves-NG

Author: Guy Brandon, Waves contributor.

تعمل شبكة Waves على خوارزمية إجماع تسمى إثبات الحصة المؤجرة (LPoS) مقترنة ببروتوكول Waves-NG  مما يسمح بدرجة عالية من قابلية التوسع وإنتاجية المعاملات.


المقدمة

تم إطلاق شبكة Waves في عام 2016 بعد قيام عرض العملة الأولي (الإكتتاب) بجمع 30000 BTC أي حوالي 16 مليون دولار في ذلك الوقت. يقوم المشروع بتطوير نظام بيئي شامل للكتل لاستخدامه في العمليات التجارية مع مجموعة أدوات واسعة النطاق تغطي الاحتياجات المتنوعة بما في ذلك سهولة إنشاء الرموز (الـ tokens) الرقمية و عقود ذكية واضحة و تداول نظير إلى نظير في منصات لامركزية مدمجة (DEX) وو سيلة آمنة و مريحة للتفاعل مع dApps (التطبيقات اللامركزية) وخدمات الويب من خلال المكون الاضافي لمتصفح Waves Keeper.


قابلية التوسع

منذ البداية ، أدركت Waves أن قابلية التوسع ستكون مطلوبة للإعتماد الشامل للبلوكشين وأعطت الأولوية لتطوير التكنولوجيا لمعالجة قيود البلوكشين الموجودة. على سبيل المثال، يعتبر البيتكوين آمن للغاية لكنه بطيئ نسبيًا ويمكنه  فقط دعم حوالي 7 معاملات في الثانية الواحدة (TPS). وعلى هذا النحو، فإن البيتكوين ليس فعال بما يكفي لاستخدامه كعملة يومية في جميع أنحاء العالم. حلول المستوى الثاني مثل شبكة البرق مطلوبة من أجل البيتكوين  لخدمة هذا الغرض. اتبعت Waves نهج مختلف  حيث ركزت في البداية على قابلية التوسع على السلسلة العالية قبل التفكير في تطبيقات المستوى الثاني.


تأجير الرصيد

كانت خوارزمية الإجماع الخاصة بـ Waves  عبارة عن تطبيق بسيط لخوارزمية إثبات الحصة. تم توزيع جميع الرموز التي يبلغ عددها 100 مليون WAVES بعد الـ  ICO والإمداد ثابت ولا يوجد تضخم كما هو الحال مع العملات الرقمية المستخدمة لخوارزمية إثبات العمل PoW التى يتم تعدينها. لذلك، فإن المحققين لكتل Waves (الـ forgers، على الرغم من أنها تُعرف عادة باسم "عمال التعدين / miners"  في النظام البيئي لـ Waves) يتلقون  رسوم المعاملات من الكتل التي يقومون بمعالجتها ولكن لا توجد مكافآت كتلة.

تم إطلاق نظام إثبات الحصة المؤجرة Leased Proof of Stake (LPoS) بالكامل في مايو 2017 مما يسمح لمستخدمي Waves lite client ( أولئك الذين لم يديروا عقدة كاملة)  بتأجير رموز WAVES الخاصة بهم إلى عقد التعدين. تم تأمين رموز Waves المؤجرة في حساب المستخدم ولا يمكن نقلها أو المتاجرة بها. ومع ذلك، ظل الرموز تحت السيطرة الكاملة لصاحب الحساب ويمكنه إلغاء عقود الإيجار في أي وقت. نظرًا للنفقات العامة الفنية المرتبطة بتشغيل عقدة التعدين والحاجة إلى الاتصال بالإنترنت على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع فإن نسبة صغيرة نسبيًا فقط من مجتمع Waves تدير العقد (يمكن العثور على قائمة بمولدات البلوك على الرابط الاتي http://dev.pywaves.org/generators/)

يتم استخدام الرموز التي يتم تأجيرها إلى عقدة التعدين لزيادة حصتها مما يزيد بدوره من فرص ذلك العامل في العثور على الكتلة التالية. يحسّن نظام إثبات الحصة المؤجرة  أمان الشبكة بطريقتين على الأقل. أولاً، يتم استخدام المزيد من رموز Waves  لتأمين الشبكة بشكل أفضل حيث أنه يصعب على المهاجم تجميع الرموز اللازمة لتنفيذ هجوم بنسبة 51٪. ثانياً، يمكن استئجار Waves  إلى عقدة من عنوان التخزين البارد للمستخدم ولكن العقدة نفسها  التي تبقى عبر الإنترنت  قد يكون لها حد أدنى من الرصيد هذا يقلل بشكل كبير من خطر تعرض رموز Waves المتصلة بالإنترنت للسرقة  نظرًا لأن الأموال المؤجرة لا يتم تحويلها إلى عامل التعدين.


نهج جديد لتوافق الآراء: Waves-NG

مع إطلاق Waves-NG، حدثت ترقية أخرى للشبكة في ديسمبر 2017. كان هذا بروتوكولًا جديدًا استنادًا إلى اقتراح Bitcoin-NG من قِبل أستاذ تكنولوجيا المعلومات في شركة Cornell Emin Gün Sirer.

يختار بروتوكول البيتكوين الأصلي كل عامل تعدين  بأثر رجعي. بعد إضافة كتلة إلى البلوكشين  يتنافس عمال التعدين للعثور على علامة صالحة للكتلة التالية  بناءً على الحالة الحالية للبلوكشين. في هذه الأثناء  تدخل المعاملات التي تم إنشاؤها حديثًا في تجمع الذاكرة (mempool) حيث ستبقى معلقة حتى يقوم عامل التعدين  بتجميعها والتحقق منها في نهاية المطاف.

على الرغم من اعتبار كل من بروتوكولي البيتكوين و Bitcoin-NG أنظمة تتسامح مع الأخطاء البيزنطية (BFT)، إلا أنه تم اقتراح هذا الأخير في عام 2015 كبديل قابل للتطوير استنادًا إلى آلية عمل مختلفة. على نظام Bitcoin-NG يتم اختيار عامل التعدين التالي مقدمًا ويقوم هذا العامل بتكوين "كتلة رئيسية" فارغة وهي الكتلة التي سيتم إضافتها في نهاية المطاف إلى البلوكشين تتم إضافة كتل صغيرة تسمى "microblocks" (تتكون من عدد قليل من المعاملات لكل منهما) في الوقت شبه الحقيقي لهذه الكتلة الرئيسية. لاستخدام تشبيه يومي، شبه ذلك إضافة العديد من أكياس التسوق (microblocks) إلى عربة التسوق (keyblock) قبل أن تكون العربة الكاملة في نهاية المطاف على عجلة السحب (تُضاف إلى البلوكشين). هذا يعني أنه يمكن إضافة المعاملات إلى البلوكشين في بضع ثوان فقط مع التأخير الحقيقي الوحيد هو زمن الوصول إلى الشبكة. قامت Waves بتحديث هذه الفكرة لشبكة تعمل بخوارزمية إثبات الحصة مما أدى إلى إنشاء بروتوكول Waves-NG وهو أول نشر لـ Bitcoin-NG لبلوكشين مفتوحة وعامة.

إضافة أخرى إلى النظام البيئي كانت الـ MassTransfers. هذه تسمح بتجميع ما يصل إلى 100 تحويل في صفقة واحدة  مع رسوم مخفضة. من ناحية  تم اختيار حد 100 txs لكل MassTransfer كحل وسط بين إضافة سعة وراحة كبيرة وتقييد القدرة على إرسال دفعات كبيرة جدًا من المعاملات منخفضة التكلفة في آن واحد من ناحية أخرى. إذا كانت هناك حاجة إلى إجراء المزيد من عمليات النقل يمكن تقديم MassTransfers متعددة بشكل متتابع.

بمعنى آخر،  يمكن للمستخدمين ببساطة اختيار MassTransfer كنوع مختلف من "إرسال معاملة" مما يتيح لهم تضمين ما يصل إلى 100 مستلم في معاملة واحدة. علاوة على ذلك، يمكن توفير عناوين المستلمين عبر JSON أو تحميلها من ملف CSV مما يجعل من السهل والكفء إجراء تحويلات او Airdrops  كبيرة أو إجراء دفعات أسبوعية لأولئك الذين يستأجرون رموز الـ Waves الخاصة بهم إلى عقد التعدين. مكّنت خاصية الـ MassTransfer من معدل نقل مرتفع للغاية على الشبكة مع خاصية Waves-NG.

تم إجراء عدد من اختبارات الإجهاد على شبكة Waves لقياس إمكانات الإنتاجية للبروتوكول الجديد. في أكتوبر 2018  تم إجراء اختبار إجهاد رئيسي على الـ MainNet. هذا يدل على أن بروتوكول البلوكشين  العمومي المفتوح (وليس مجرد TestNet محدود ومسيطر عليه) يمكن أن يدعم أكثر من 6.1 مليون معاملة خلال فترة 24 ساعة بمعدل 4200 txs في الدقيقة أو 71 txs في الثانية مع وصول إنتاجية الذروة إلى مئات المعاملات في الثانية الواحدة.


أفكار ختامية

أتاح نظام إثبات الحصة المؤجرة (LPoS)  للمستخدمين العاديين دون خبرة فنية المساعدة في تأمين شبكة Waves. واستئجار رموز WAVES الخاصة بهم إلى العقد الكاملة دون فقد السيطرة عليها. وفي الوقت نفسه، مكّنت Waves-NG من إنتاجية تصل إلى 100 TPS (معاملة في الثانية الواحدة) وهو أمر من حيث الحجم أكبر من العديد من شبكات البلوكشين الأخرى. الرسوم منخفضة لأنه لا توجد حاجة إلى دفع عمال التعدين بمكافآت الكتلة لتعويضهم عن ارتفاع تكاليف الكهرباء والأجهزة باهظة الثمن.

تعد قابلية التوسع على السلسلة إحدى أولويات Waves، لكن هناك حدودًا لتوسع أي بلوكشين بهذه الطريقة نظرًا للتخزين وعرض النطاق الترددي (الـ Bandwidth) المطلوب. يعتقد مطورو Waves أن النهج الحالي يمكن تحسينه لدعم ما يصل إلى 1000 TPS قبل الحاجة إلى المزيد من حلول التوسع. تقوم Waves حاليًا باستكشاف خيارات لحل التدرج من المستوى الثاني الذي يشمل السلاسل الجانبية مما يتيح معالجة عدد كبير من المعاملات على سلسلة متوازية ولكن يتم تأمينها في النهاية على بلوكشين Waves الرئيسية.

Loading

Leased Proof of Stake Consensus Explained

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Leased Proof of Stake Consensus Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Leased Proof of Stake Consensus Algorithm and the Waves-NG protocol

Author: Guy Brandon, Waves contributor.

Waves network operates on a leased proof-of-stake (LPoS) consensus algorithm combined with the Waves-NG protocol, allowing for a high degree of scalability and transaction throughput.


Introduction

Waves network was launched in 2016 after an ICO that raised 30,000 BTC – around $16 million at the time. The project is developing a comprehensive blockchain ecosystem for use in business processes, with a wide-ranging toolkit covering diverse needs - including easy creation of custom cryptocurrency tokens; straightforward smart contracts; peer-to-peer trading on a built-in decentralised exchange (DEX); and a safe, convenient means of interacting with dApps and web services through the Waves Keeper browser plug-in.


Scalability

From the outset, Waves recognized that scalability would be required for mass blockchain adoption, and prioritized the development of technology to address the limitations of existing blockchains. For example, Bitcoin is highly secure but relatively slow, and can only support around 7 transactions per second (TPS). As such, Bitcoin is not efficient enough to be used as an everyday currency worldwide. Second-tier solutions such as the Lightning Network are required for Bitcoin to serve this purpose. Waves has taken a different approach, focusing initially on high on-chain scalability before considering second-tier applications.


Balance leasing

Waves’ original consensus algorithm was a simple Proof of Stake implementation. All 100 million WAVES tokens were distributed after the ICO, and supply is fixed: there is no inflation, as there is with PoW-mined coins. Therefore, Waves block validators (forgers, though they are typically known simply as ‘miners’ within the Waves ecosystem) receive transaction fees from the blocks they process, but no block rewards. 

The Leased Proof of Stake (LPoS) system was fully launched in May 2017, allowing users of the Waves lite client – those who did not run a full node – to lease their WAVES tokens to mining nodes. Leased WAVES are locked in the user’s account and cannot be transferred or traded. Still, the tokens remain in the full control of the account holder and leases can be canceled at any time. Given the technical overheads associated with running a mining node and the need to be online 24/7, only a relatively small proportion of the Waves community runs nodes (a list of block generators can be found at http://dev.pywaves.org/generators/). 

WAVES tokens that are leased to a mining node are used to increase the stakeweight of the miner, which in turn increases the chances of that miner finding the next block. The Leased Proof of Stake system improves network security in at least two ways. Firstly, the more WAVES are used to secure the network the better, because it becomes harder for an attacker to accumulate the tokens necessary to carry out a 51% attack. Secondly, WAVES can be leased to a node from a user’s cold storage address, but the node itself – which remains online – may only have a minimal balance. This significantly reduces the risk of WAVES tokens being hacked from computers that are online, since the leased funds are not transferred to the miner.


A new approach to consensus: Waves-NG

A further upgrade to the network occurred in December 2017, with the launch of Waves-NG. This was a new protocol based on the Bitcoin-NG proposal by Cornell IT professor Emin Gün Sirer.

The original Bitcoin protocol chooses each miner retrospectively. After a block has been added to the blockchain, miners compete to find a valid hash for the next block, based on the current state of the blockchain. Meanwhile, newly-generated transactions go into the memory pool (mempool), where they will remain pending until a miner eventually collects and validates them. 

Although both Bitcoin and Bitcoin-NG protocols are considered Byzantine fault tolerant (BFT) systems, the latter was proposed in 2015 as a scalable alternative based on a different working mechanism. On a Bitcoin-NG system, the next miner is chosen in advance and this miner creates an empty ‘key block’ - which is the block that will be ultimately added to the blockchain. Small blocks called ‘microblocks’ (consisting of a few transactions each) are added in near-real time to this key block. To use an everyday analogy, this is like adding several bags of shopping (microblocks) to a trolley (keyblock), before the full trolley is ultimately wheeled to the checkout (added to the blockchain). This means that transactions can be added to the blockchain in just a few seconds, with the only real delay being network latency. Waves updated this idea for a proof-of-stake network, creating the Waves-NG protocol – the first deployment of Bitcoin-NG for an open, public blockchain.

A further addition to the ecosystem has been MassTransfers. These allow up to 100 transfers to be packaged within a single transaction, with reduced fees. The limit of 100 txs per MassTransfer was chosen as a compromise between adding significant capacity and convenience, on the one hand, and limiting the ability to send very large batches of low-cost transactions all at once, on the other hand. If more transfers need to be made, multiple MassTransfers can be submitted sequentially. 

In other words, users can simply choose a MassTransfer as a different kind of ‘Send transaction’, allowing them to include up to 100 recipients in a single transaction. Moreover, the recipient addresses can be provided via JSON or uploaded from a CSV file, making it straightforward and efficient to conduct large airdrops or perform weekly payouts to those who lease their WAVES to mining nodes. Combined with Waves-NG, the MassTransfer feature enabled a very high rate of throughput on the network.

A number of stress tests have been conducted on the Waves network to gauge the throughput potential of the new protocol. In October 2018, a major stress test was conducted on MainNet. This demonstrated that the public, open blockchain protocol (not simply a limited and controlled TestNet) could support over 6.1 million transactions within a 24-hour period – an average of 4,200 txs per minute or 71 txs per second, with peak throughput reaching hundreds of transactions per second.


Closing thoughts

The Leased Proof-of-Stake system enabled everyday users without technical expertise to help secure the Waves network, leasing their WAVES to full nodes without losing control of their tokens. Meanwhile, Waves-NG enabled a throughput of up to 100 TPS, which is an order of magnitude more than many blockchains. Fees are low because there is no need to pay miners with block rewards to compensate them for high electricity costs and expensive hardware.

On-chain scalability has been a priority for Waves, but there are limits to the extent that any blockchain can scale this way due to the storage and bandwidth required. Waves’ developers believe that the current approach can be optimized to support up to 1,000 TPS before further scaling solutions are required. Waves is currently exploring options for a second-tier scaling solution involving sidechains, enabling a large number of transactions to be processed on a parallel chain but ultimately secured on the main Waves blockchain.

Loading