مميزات و عيوب البلوكشين

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

تم تصميم معظم الـ Blockchains لتكون مثل قاعدة بيانات لامركزية تعمل بمثابة دفتر أستاذ رقمي موزع. تقوم هذه الدفاتر بتسجيل وتخزين البيانات في كتل والتي يتم تنظيمها في تسلسل زمني وترتبط ببعضها بادلة تشفير. أدى إنشاء البلوكشين العديد من المزايا في مجموعة متنوعة من الصناعات وتوفير مزيد من الأمن في بيئات لا يمكن الثقة بها. ومع ذلك، فإن طبيعتها اللامركزية تجلب بعض العيوب. على سبيل المثال، عند مقارنتها بقواعد البيانات المركزية التقليدية فإن البلوكشين قدم كفاءة محدودة وتتطلب سعة تخزين أكبر.


المميزات

موزعة

نظرًا لأنه يتم تخزين بيانات البلوكشين في آلاف الأجهزة على شبكة موزعة من العقد، فإن النظام والبيانات تقاومان إلى حد كبير الإخفاقات الفنية والهجمات الضارة. كل عقدة شبكة قادرة على نسخ وتخزين نسخة من قاعدة البيانات. وبسبب ذلك، لا توجد نقطة واحدة للفشل. أيضا إذا انقطع الإتصال من عقدة واحدة (جهاز واحد) لا تؤثر بأي شكل على توفر أو أمان الشبكة.

على النقيض، تعتمد العديد من قواعد البيانات التقليدية على خادم واحد أو عدد قليل من الخوادم وهي أكثر عرضة للإخفاقات التقنية و الهجمات السيبرانية.


الثبات/الإستقرار

من المستبعد أن يتم عكس الكتل المؤكدة، وهذا يعني أنه بمجرد تسجيل البيانات في البلوكشين يكون من الصعب للغاية إزالتها أو تغييرها وهذا ما يجعل البلوكشين تقنية رائعة لتخزين السجلات المالية أو أي بيانات أخرى حيث يكون هناك حاجة إلى مسار التدقيق لأن كل تغيير يتم تتبعه ويتم تسجيله بشكل دائم على دفتر أستاذ موزع عام (بمعنى أن كل شيء يكون واضح أمام جميع المشاركين في الشبكة).

على سبيل المثال، يمكن لشركة ما استخدام تقنية البلوكشين لمنع موظفيها من القيام بأي سلوك إحتيالي. في هذا السيناريو يمكن أن توفر البلوكشين سجل آمن ومستقر لجميع المعاملات المالية التي تتم داخل الشركة وهذا من شأنه أن يجعل الأمر أكثر صعوبة على الموظف لإخفاء المعاملات المشبوهة.


نظام لا يحتاج للثقة

في معظم أنظمة الدفع التقليدية لا تعتمد المعاملات فقط على الطرفين المعنيين ولكن أيضًا على الوسيط مثل البنك أو شركة بطاقة الائتمان أو مقدم خدمات الدفع. عند استخدام تقنية البلوكشين لا يكون هذا ضروريًا لأن الشبكة الموزعة للعقدات تتحقق من المعاملات من خلال عملية تعرف باسم التعدين. لهذا السبب غالباً ما يشار إلى البلوكشين على أنه نظام لا يحتاج للثقة.

لذلك، فإن نظام البلوكشين ينفي خطر الثقة في منظمة واحدة ويقلل أيضًا من التكاليف الإجمالية ورسوم المعاملات عن طريق قطع رسوم الوسطاء والجهات الخارجية.


العيوب

هجمات الـ 51٪

أثبتت خوارزمية إثبات العمل (Proof of Work) التي تحمي بلوكشين البيتكوين أنها فعالة جدًا على مر السنين. ومع ذلك، هناك عدد قليل من الهجمات المحتملة التي يمكن القيام بها ضد شبكات البلوكشين و هجمات ال51٪ هي الأكثر شيوعا في عالم العملات الرقمية. قد يحدث مثل هذا الهجوم إذا تمكنت إحدى الكيانات من السيطرة على أكثر من 50٪ من قدرة الشبكة على التجزئة مما سيسمح لها في نهاية المطاف بتعطيل الشبكة عن طريق استبعاد أو تعديل ترتيب المعاملات بشكل مقصود.

على الرغم من كونه ممكنًا نظريًا، لم يكن هناك أي هجوم 51٪ ناجح على بلوكشين البيتكوين لأن مع نمو الشبكة بشكل أكبر يزداد الأمان ومن غير المحتمل أن يستثمر القائمون على التعدين كميات كبيرة من الأموال والموارد لمهاجمة بلوكشين البيتكوين لأنه يتم مكافئتهم بشكل أفضل عند العمل بأمانة. على الرغم من ذلك، لن يتمكن هجوم بنسبة 51٪ ناجح إلا من تعديل أحدث المعاملات لفترة قصيرة من الوقت نظرًا لأن الكتل مرتبطة من خلال أدلة تشفير (تغيير الكتل القديمة يتطلب مستويات خارقة وغير متاحة من قوة الحوسبة). أيضا، فإن بلوكشين البيتكوين مرن جدا وسيتكيف بسرعة كرد على هجوم.


تعديل البيانات

جانب آخر من أنظمة البلوكشين هو أنه بمجرد إضافة البيانات إلى شبكة البلوكشين يكون من الصعب تعديله. في حين أن الاستقرار هو أحد مزايا البلوكشين إلا أنه ليس جيدًا دائمًا. عادة ما يكون تغيير بيانات البلوكشين و الكود أمرا شاقًا للغاية ويتطلب في كثير من الأحيان القيام بـ Hard Fork حيث يتم التخلي عن سلسلة واحدة و استبدالها بواحدة جديدة.


مفاتيح خاصة

يستخدم البلوكشين الـ Public-Key (المفتاح العام) لمنح المستخدمين ملكية وحداتهم من العملات الرقمية (أو أي بيانات بلوكشين أخرى). كل حساب بلوكشين (أو عنوان) له مفتاحان متلازمان: مفتاح عام (يمكن مشاركته) ومفتاح خاص (يجب أن يبقى سريًا). يحتاج المستخدمون إلى مفتاحهم الخاص للوصول إلى أموالهم، ما يعني أنهم يعملون كمصرف خاص بهم. إذا فقد المستخدم مفتاحه الخاص، فستفقد أمواله فعليًا، ولا يوجد شيء يمكنه فعله حيال ذلك.


غير فعال

تعتبر البلوكشين و خاصة تلك التي تستخدم خوارزمية إثبات العمل غير فعالة إلى حد كبير. بما أن التعدين ذو قدرة تنافسية عالية وهناك فائز واحد فقط كل عشر دقائق فيصبح عمل كل معدن آخر مهدر. في الوقت الذي يحاول فيه المعدنين (القائمون على التعدين) باستمرار زيادة قوتهم الحسابية حتى يكون لديهم فرصة أكبر لإيجاد تجزئة صالحة زادت الموارد المستخدمة من قبل شبكة البيتكوين بشكل ملحوظ في السنوات القليلة الماضية حتى أنها أصبحت تستهلك حاليا طاقة أكثر من العديد من الدول مثل الدنمارك وايرلندا ونيجيريا.


التخزين

يمكن أن تنمو دفاتر البلوكشين بشكل جدا على مر الزمن. حيث يتطلب بلوكشين البيتكوين حاليا حوالي 200 جيجابايت من التخزين. يبدو أن النمو الحالي في حجم البلوكشين يفوق نمو محركات الأقراص الثابتة كما أن الشبكة تخاطر بفقد العقد إذا أصبح دفتر الأستاذ كبيرًا جدًا بحيث لا يمكن للأفراد تنزيله وتخزينه.


الختام

على الرغم من الجوانب السلبية، تقدم تقنية البلوكشين بعض المزايا الفريدة ومن المؤكد أنها هنا لتبقى. ما زال أمامنا طريق طويل نحو التبني السائد، لكن العديد من الصناعات تتعامل مع مزايا وعيوب أنظمة البلوكشين بالفعل ومن المرجح أن تشهد السنوات القليلة القادمة الشركات والحكومات تجربة تطبيقات جديدة لمعرفة أين تضيف تقنية البلوكشين القيمة الأكبر.

Loading

Blockchain Advantages and Disadvantages

Share
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Blockchain Advantages and Disadvantages

Most blockchains are designed as a decentralized database that functions as a distributed digital ledger. These blockchain ledgers record and store data in blocks, which are organized in a chronological sequence and are linked through cryptographic proofs. The creation of blockchain technology brought up many advantages in a variety of industries, providing increased security in trustless environments. However, its decentralized nature also brings some disadvantages. For instance, when compared to traditional centralized databases, blockchains present limited efficiency and require increased storage capacity.


Advantages


Distributed

Since blockchain data is often stored in thousands of devices on a distributed network of nodes, the system and the data are highly resistant to technical failures and malicious attacks. Each network node is able to replicate and store a copy of the database and, because of this, there is no single point of failure: a single node going offline does not affect the availability or security of the network.

In contrast, many conventional databases rely on a single or a few servers and are more vulnerable to technical failures and cyber attacks.

Stability

Confirmed blocks are very unlikely to be reversed, meaning that once data has been registered into the blockchain, it is extremely difficult to remove or change it. This makes blockchain a great technology for storing financial records or any other data where an audit trail is required because every change is tracked and permanently recorded on a distributed and public ledger.

For example, a business could use blockchain technology to prevent fraudulent behavior from its employees. In this scenario, the blockchain could provide a secure and stable record of all financial transactions that take place within the company. This would make it much harder for an employee to hide suspicious transactions.

Trustless system

In most traditional payment systems, transactions are not only dependent on the two parties involved, but also on an intermediary - such as a bank, credit card company, or payment provider. When using blockchain technology, this is no longer necessary because the distributed network of nodes verify the transactions through a process known as mining. For this reason, Blockchain is often referred to as a 'trustless' system. 

Therefore, a blockchain system negates the risk of trusting a single organization and also reduces the overall costs and transactions fees by cutting out intermediaries and third parties.


Disadvantages


51% Attacks

The Proof of Work consensus algorithm that protects the Bitcoin blockchain has proven to be very efficient over the years. However, there are a few potential attacks that can be performed against blockchain networks and 51% attacks are among the most discussed. Such an attack may happen if one entity manages to control more than 50% of the network hashing power, which would eventually allow them to disrupt the network by intentionally excluding or modifying the ordering of transactions.

Despite being theoretically possible, there was never a successful 51% attack on the Bitcoin blockchain. As the network grows larger the security increases and it is quite unlikely that miners will invest large amounts of money and resources to attack Bitcoin as they are better rewarded for acting honestly. Other than that, a successful 51% attack would only be able to modify the most recent transactions for a short period of time because blocks are linked through cryptographic proofs (changing older blocks would require intangible levels of computing power). Also, the Bitcoin blockchain is very resilient and would quickly adapt as a response to an attack.

Data modification

Another downside of blockchain systems is that once data has been added to the blockchain it is very difficult to modify it. While stability is one of blockchain’s advantages, it is not always good. Changing blockchain data or code is usually very demanding and often requires a hard fork, where one chain is abandoned, and a new one is taken up.

Private keys

Blockchain uses public-key (or asymmetric) cryptography to give users ownership over their cryptocurrency units (or any other blockchain data). Each blockchain account (or address) has two corresponding keys: a public key (which can be shared) and a private key (which should be kept secret). Users need their private key to access their funds, meaning that they act as their own bank. If a user loses their private key, the money is effectively lost, and there is nothing they can do about it.

Inefficient

Blockchains, especially those using Proof of Work, are highly inefficient. Since mining is highly competitive and there is just one winner every ten minutes, the work of every other miner is wasted. As miners are continually trying to increase their computational power, so they have a greater chance of finding a valid block hash, the resources used by the Bitcoin network has increased significantly in the last few years, and it currently consumes more energy than many countries, such as Denmark, Ireland, and Nigeria.

Storage

Blockchain ledgers can grow very large over time. The Bitcoin blockchain currently requires around 200 GB of storage. The current growth in blockchain size appears to be outstripping the growth in hard drives and the network risks losing nodes if the ledger becomes too large for individuals to download and store.


Closing thoughts

Despite the downsides, blockchain technology presents some unique advantages, and it is definitely here to stay. We still have a long road to mainstream adoption, but many industries are getting to grips with the advantages and disadvantages of blockchain systems. The next few years will likely see businesses and governments experimenting with new applications to find out where blockchain technology adds the most value.

Loading