区块链的优势及劣势

分享

大多数区块链都是作为去中心化数据库而设计的,且其功能也相当于一个分布式数字账本。而这些区块链账本则以区块的形式记录和存储数据,且其中的区块也都将按照时间顺序排列,并通过密码学证明来相互链接。区块链技术的出现为许多行业都带来了一定的优势,并为缺乏信任的环境提供了更高的安全性。然而,区块链的去中心化特性某些时候也带来了一定的弊端。就比如说,与传统的中心化数据库相比,区块链的效率是有限的,且需要更大的存储容量。


优势

分布式

由于区块链数据通常都被存储在分布式节点网络上的数千个设备中,所以系统和数据对于技术故障和恶意攻击都具有很强的抵抗性。其中每个网络节点都可以复制并存储数据的副本,因此单点故障将不会有影响:单个节点的脱机将不会影响到的网络的可用性和安全性。

相比之前,许多传统数据库却只依赖于单个或几个服务器,所以更容易受到技术故障和网络攻击的影响。


稳定性

已被确认的区块基本上不可能再被逆转,这就意味着一旦数据被注册到区块链中,则很再难进行删除或更改。而这就使得区块链可以成为存储财务记录或任何其他需要审计追踪的数据的一项优秀的技术,因为区块链中的每个更改都会被分布式公众账本所追踪和永久记录。

就比如,企业可以使用区块链技术来防止员工的欺诈行为。在此种用例中,区块链可以将公司内发生的所有财务交易进行安全且稳定的记录。而这一效果就使得员工们很难隐藏可疑的交易。


去信任机制

在大多数传统的交易支付系统中,交易过程的不仅会存在交易双方,同时还需要依赖于第三方中介机构(例如,银行、信用卡公司或支付方式提供商)。然而,在使用区块链技术时,情况却完全不同,因为分布式节点网络只需通过“挖矿”的过程来核实并验证交易。

因此,区块链系统将消除信任单个实体的风险,并减少了整个过程中的成本和交易费用(通过减少中间商)。


劣势

51%攻击

多年来,保护比特币区块链的工作量证明 共识机制一直都非常有效。然而,却逐渐出现了一些可以影响到区块链网络的潜在攻击,而其中51%攻击则被谈论的最多。当一个实体设法控制了50%以上的网络哈希算力时,此种攻击就会发生,而此种情况最终将会允许攻击者通过故意删除或修改交易的顺序来破坏网络。

尽管此种攻击理论上是可行的,但事实上比特币区块链网络上未曾出现过成功的51%攻击。并且,随着网络规模的扩大,安全性也随之提高,同时矿商们不太可能花费大量的资金和资源来攻击比特币,因为他们已经从诚实的挖矿中获得了很好的回报。此外,由于区块之间是通过密码学证明相互链接的(篡改之前的区块则需要巨大的网络算力),所以成功的51%攻击将只能在短时间内对最近期的交易进行修改。并且,比特币区块链也具有极快的适应性,而这将能够迅速的反应并适应各种攻击。


数据修改

区块链系统的另一个缺陷在于,一旦数据被添加到区块链当中,就很难在对其进行修改。虽然难以修改的稳定性是区块链的一大优势,但有些情况下也可能是他的弊端所在。更改区块链的数据或节点一般都是非常困难的,通常都需要硬分叉,也就是使用新链来占用旧链。


私钥

区块链是使用公钥(或不对称)密码学来赋予用户对其加密货币(或任何其他区块链数据)的所有权。每一个区块链账户(或地址)都有两个对应的密钥:公钥(可以共享)和私钥(应该保密)。用户需要使用他们的私钥来访问资金,这就意味着用户充当自己的银行。如果用户丢失了私钥,那么他们实际上就丢失了对资金的控制权(且资金的丢失也无法挽回)。


低效率

区块链,尤其是那些使用工作量证明的区块链,它们通常都是效率极低的。并且,由于挖矿业的激烈竞争且每10分钟只有一位获胜者,所以在此期间其他矿工的工作和时间就浪费了。矿工们正不断的尝试提升他们的算力,以便于自己有更大的机会找出有效的哈希块。并且最近的几年中,比特币网络使用的资源也明显增加,目前它所消耗的能源也已经超过了某些国家使用的能源(如丹麦、爱尔兰和尼日利亚等)。

 

存储

区块链账本随着时间的推移也逐渐变大。目前比特币区块链就已经需要大约200GB的存储空间。而目前区块链规模的增长也似乎超过了硬盘设备的增长,且如果分类账变得太大以至于个人无法下载和存储,则网络就可能会丢失节点。


总结

尽管存在缺陷,但区块链所呈现出的一些独一无二的特性已经明确表示出了区块链将会继续生存下去。在获得普遍采用的过程中我们还有很长的路要走,而且现在的许多行业也正在逐渐适应区块链系统的优势和劣势。再过几年,企业和政府也许会尝试更多的应用,以此来找出区块链技术可以在哪些方面展现出其最大价值。



Loading

Blockchain Advantages and Disadvantages

Share
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Blockchain Advantages and Disadvantages

Most blockchains are designed as a decentralized database that functions as a distributed digital ledger. These blockchain ledgers record and store data in blocks, which are organized in a chronological sequence and are linked through cryptographic proofs. The creation of blockchain technology brought up many advantages in a variety of industries, providing increased security in trustless environments. However, its decentralized nature also brings some disadvantages. For instance, when compared to traditional centralized databases, blockchains present limited efficiency and require increased storage capacity.


Advantages


Distributed

Since blockchain data is often stored in thousands of devices on a distributed network of nodes, the system and the data are highly resistant to technical failures and malicious attacks. Each network node is able to replicate and store a copy of the database and, because of this, there is no single point of failure: a single node going offline does not affect the availability or security of the network.

In contrast, many conventional databases rely on a single or a few servers and are more vulnerable to technical failures and cyber attacks.

Stability

Confirmed blocks are very unlikely to be reversed, meaning that once data has been registered into the blockchain, it is extremely difficult to remove or change it. This makes blockchain a great technology for storing financial records or any other data where an audit trail is required because every change is tracked and permanently recorded on a distributed and public ledger.

For example, a business could use blockchain technology to prevent fraudulent behavior from its employees. In this scenario, the blockchain could provide a secure and stable record of all financial transactions that take place within the company. This would make it much harder for an employee to hide suspicious transactions.

Trustless system

In most traditional payment systems, transactions are not only dependent on the two parties involved, but also on an intermediary - such as a bank, credit card company, or payment provider. When using blockchain technology, this is no longer necessary because the distributed network of nodes verify the transactions through a process known as mining. For this reason, Blockchain is often referred to as a 'trustless' system. 

Therefore, a blockchain system negates the risk of trusting a single organization and also reduces the overall costs and transactions fees by cutting out intermediaries and third parties.


Disadvantages


51% Attacks

The Proof of Work consensus algorithm that protects the Bitcoin blockchain has proven to be very efficient over the years. However, there are a few potential attacks that can be performed against blockchain networks and 51% attacks are among the most discussed. Such an attack may happen if one entity manages to control more than 50% of the network hashing power, which would eventually allow them to disrupt the network by intentionally excluding or modifying the ordering of transactions.

Despite being theoretically possible, there was never a successful 51% attack on the Bitcoin blockchain. As the network grows larger the security increases and it is quite unlikely that miners will invest large amounts of money and resources to attack Bitcoin as they are better rewarded for acting honestly. Other than that, a successful 51% attack would only be able to modify the most recent transactions for a short period of time because blocks are linked through cryptographic proofs (changing older blocks would require intangible levels of computing power). Also, the Bitcoin blockchain is very resilient and would quickly adapt as a response to an attack.

Data modification

Another downside of blockchain systems is that once data has been added to the blockchain it is very difficult to modify it. While stability is one of blockchain’s advantages, it is not always good. Changing blockchain data or code is usually very demanding and often requires a hard fork, where one chain is abandoned, and a new one is taken up.

Private keys

Blockchain uses public-key (or asymmetric) cryptography to give users ownership over their cryptocurrency units (or any other blockchain data). Each blockchain account (or address) has two corresponding keys: a public key (which can be shared) and a private key (which should be kept secret). Users need their private key to access their funds, meaning that they act as their own bank. If a user loses their private key, the money is effectively lost, and there is nothing they can do about it.

Inefficient

Blockchains, especially those using Proof of Work, are highly inefficient. Since mining is highly competitive and there is just one winner every ten minutes, the work of every other miner is wasted. As miners are continually trying to increase their computational power, so they have a greater chance of finding a valid block hash, the resources used by the Bitcoin network has increased significantly in the last few years, and it currently consumes more energy than many countries, such as Denmark, Ireland, and Nigeria.

Storage

Blockchain ledgers can grow very large over time. The Bitcoin blockchain currently requires around 200 GB of storage. The current growth in blockchain size appears to be outstripping the growth in hard drives and the network risks losing nodes if the ledger becomes too large for individuals to download and store.


Closing thoughts

Despite the downsides, blockchain technology presents some unique advantages, and it is definitely here to stay. We still have a long road to mainstream adoption, but many industries are getting to grips with the advantages and disadvantages of blockchain systems. The next few years will likely see businesses and governments experimenting with new applications to find out where blockchain technology adds the most value.

Loading