شرح Proof of Authority

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
شرح Proof of Authority
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

لقد تغير عالم العملات الرقمية بشكل كبير منذ أول معاملة بلوكشين على شبكة البيتكوين إنتقالا الى خوارزميات الإجماع المعروفة مثل إثبات العمل Proof of Work و إثبات الحصة Proof of Stake. ثم تم إقتراح آليات إجماع أخرى مع طرق بديلة للوصول إلى توافق في الآراء (إجماع) داخل نظام البلوكشين.

خوارزمية إثبات العمل Proof of Work و التي تستخدم في البيتكوين هي الأكثر موثوقية وأمان حتى اليوم. ومع ذلك فهي ليست قابلة للتوسع، فالبيتكوين و الأنظمة الأخرى التي تعمل بـ PoW محدودة الأداء من حيث معدل المعاملات في الثانية (TPS). يرجع هذا السبب لحقيقة أن البيتكوين يعتمد على شبكة موزعة من العقد والتي تحتاج إلى التوصل إلى توافق في الآراء (إجماع) والاتفاق على الحالات الحالية لـ البلكوشين. وهذا يعني أنه قبل تأكيد كتلة جديدة من المعاملات يجب التحقق منها والموافقة عليها من قِبل غالبية عقد الشبكة. لذلك فإن الجانب اللامركزي في البيتكوين لا يوفر فقط نظاما إقتصاديا آمنً و جدير بالثقة بل أيضًا يحد من إمكانية استخدامه على نطاق أوسع.

فيما يتعلق بحجم المعاملات التي يمكن إتمامها في الثانية الواحدة، عادة ما تظهر البلوكشين القائمة على خوارزمية إثبات الحصة Proof of Stake أداء أفضل من البيتكوين. ومع ذلك، فإن الاختلاف ليس كبيرًا و الشبكات القائمة على Proof of Stake لم تكن حقا قادرة على حل مشكلة قابلية التوسع.

في هذا السياق، يجري حاليًا تطبيق Proof of Authority كبديل أكثر كفاءة لأنه قادر على إجراء المزيد من المعاملات في كل الثانية.


ما هي Proof of Authority؟

 Proof of Authority أو PoA هي خوارزمية إجماع قائمة على السلطة وتقدم حلاً عمليًا وفعالًا لشبكات البلوكشين (خاصةً الشبكات الخاصة). تم اقتراحها في عام 2017 من قبل Gavin Wood و هو المؤسس المشارك والرئيس السابق للتكنولوجيا لشركة Ethereum.

تستفيد خوارزمية PoA من قيمة الهويات مما يعني أن مدققي/محققي الكتل لا يقومون بالتحقق من الكتلة بأنفسهم لكن سمعتهم هي من تفعل. لذلك يتم تأمين البلوكشين القائم على PoA عن طريق التحقق من العقد التي يتم اختيارها بشكل تعسفي (غير عشوائي) ككيانات جديرة بالثقة.

يعتمد نموذج PoA على عدد محدود من مدققي الكتل وهذا ما يجعله نظامًا قابلا للتوسع. يتم التحقق من الكتل والمعاملات من قبل المشاركين المعتمدين مسبقا والذين يقومون بدور المشرفين على النظام.

يمكن تطبيق خوارزمية Proof of Authority في أشكال متنوعة من السيناريوهات ويتم اعتبارها خيارًا عالي القيمة للتطبيقات السوقية. على سبيل المثال عندما يتعلق الأمر بسلاسل التوريد (Supply Chains) تعتبر PoA الحل الفعال والمعقول.

يتيح نموذج Proof of Authority للشركات الحفاظ على خصوصيتها مع الاستفادة من مزايا تقنية البلوكشين. مثل شركة Microsoft Azure التي يتم فيها تطبيق Proof of Authority. بإختصار، توفر منصة Azure حلولًا للشبكات الخاصة مع نظام لا يتطلب عملة أصلية مثل غاز (Gas) للإيثيريوم لانة لا يوجد حاجة للتعدين. 


Proof of Authority vs Proof of Stake

يعتقد البعض أن خوارزمية PoA هي نسخة معدلة من خوارزمية PoS التي تعزز الهوية بدلاً من العملات. نظرًا للطبيعة اللامركزية لمعظم شبكات البلوكشين فإن PoS ليست مناسبة دائمًا لبعض الشركات والمؤسسات. في المقابل، قد تمثل أنظمة PoA حلًا أفضل للبلوكشين الخاصة لأن أدائها أعلى بكثير.

شروط الوصول لتوافق آراء (إجماع) في Proof of Authority

على الرغم من أن الشروط قد تختلف من نظام إلى نظام إلا أن خوارزمية PoA عادة ما تعتمد على:

  • هويات صحيحة وجديرة بالثقة: يحتاج المدققون إلى تأكيد هوياتهم الحقيقية. 

  • صعوبة في أن تصبح مدققاً: يجب أن يكون المرشح على استعداد لاستثمار المال ووضع سمعته على المحك. و هي عملية صعبة تقلل من مخاطر اختيار المدققين المشكوك فيهم وتحفز الالتزام طويل الأجل.

  • مقياس/نموذج للموافقة على المدقق: يجب أن تكون طريقة اختيار المدققين مساوية لجميع المرشحين.

الجوهر وراء آلية السمعة هو اليقين وراء هوية المدقق. لا يمكن أن تكون العملية سهلة ولا يمكن التخلي عنها بسهولة. يجب أن تكون قادرة على التخلص من الأشخاص السيئين. وأخيرًا، ضمان خضوع جميع المدققين لنفس الإجراء لسلامة النظام وموثوقيته.


القيود

إن مفهوم آلية Proof of Authority هو أنه يتخلى عن اللامركزية لذا يمكن القول إن هذا النموذج من خوارزميات الإجماع هو مجرد محاولة لجعل الأنظمة المركزية أكثر كفاءة. في حين أن هذا يجعل من PoA حلاً مناسبا للشركات الكبيرة التي لديها احتياجات سوقية ، إلا أنها تجلب بعض التردد  خاصة في عالم العملات الرقمية. 

تتمتع أنظمة PoA بطاقة إنتاجية عاليه لكن جوانب من ثبات النظام تصبح موضع شك عندما يمكن تحقيق أشياء مثل الرقابة و الحظر (blacklisting) بسهولة

هناك انتقاد شائع آخر هو أن هويات مدققي PoA مرئية لأي شخص. و الرد على هذا كان أن المشاركين القادرين على شغل هذا المنصب فقط سيسعون إلى أن يصبحوا مدققين (كمشارك معروف علناً). ومع ذلك فإن معرفة هوية المدققين قد تؤدي إلى تلاعب طرف ثالث. على سبيل المثال، إذا أراد أحد المنافسين تعطيل شبكة قائمة على Proof of Authority فقد يحاول التأثير على المدققين المعروفين العامين للتصرف بطريقة غير شريفة لإفساد النظام من الداخل.


الخاتمة

لكل من PoW أو PoS أو PoA مزاياه وعيوبه الفريدة. من المعروف جيداً أن اللامركزية تحظى بتقدير كبير في عالم العملات الرقمية و PoA كخوارزمية إجماع تضحي باللامركزية من أجل تحقيق إنتاجية عالية وقابلية للتوسع. الميزات الرئيسية في الأنظمة التي تعمل بـ PoA هي تناقض صارخ من كيفية عملة البلوكشين حتى الآن. ومع ذلك، تقدم PoA نهجًا مثيرًا للاهتمام ولا يمكن تجاهله باعتباره أحد الحلول السريعة للبلوكشين. والتي قد تناسب تطبيقات البلوكشين الخاصة بشكل جيد

Loading

Proof of Authority Explained

SHARE
Proof of Authority Explained

The cryptocurrency space has changed a lot since the first blockchain transaction on the Bitcoin network. Along with the well-known Proof of Work and Proof of Stake algorithms, other consensus mechanisms were proposed, with alternative methods for reaching consensus within a blockchain system.

The PoW consensus algorithm used by Bitcoin is the most reliable and secure in existence today. However, it is not really scalable. Bitcoin, as well as other PoW-based blockchains, have a limited performance in terms of transactions per second (TPS). Such limitation is related to the fact that Bitcoin relies on a distributed network of nodes, which need to reach consensus and agree on the current states of the blockchain. This means that before a new block of transactions gets confirmed it needs to be verified and approved by the majority of network nodes. Therefore, the decentralized aspect of Bitcoin is not only providing a secure and trustless economic system but it is also limiting its potential to be used on a larger scale.

In regards to the amount of transactions per second, Proof of Stake blockchains usually present a better performance than Bitcoin. However, the difference is not that significant and PoS networks did not really manage to solve the scalability problem.

In this context, the Proof of Authority is currently being implemented as a more efficient alternative because it is able to perform much more transactions per second.


What is Proof of Authority?

Proof of Authority (PoA) is a reputation-based consensus algorithm that introduces a practical and efficient solution for blockchain networks (especially the private ones). The term was proposed in 2017 by Ethereum co-founder and former CTO Gavin Wood. 

The PoA consensus algorithm leverages the value of identities, which means that block validators are not staking coins but their own reputation instead. Therefore, PoA blockchains are secured by the validating nodes that are arbitrarily selected as trustworthy entities.

The Proof of Authority model relies on a limited number of block validators and this is what makes it a highly scalable system. Blocks and transactions are verified by pre-approved participants, who act as moderators of the system.

PoA consensus algorithm may be applied in a variety of scenarios and they are deemed a high-value option for logistical applications. When it comes to supply chains, for example, PoA is considered an effective and reasonable solution. 

The Proof of Authority model enables companies to maintain their privacy while availing the benefits of blockchain technology. Microsoft Azure is another example where the PoA is being implemented. In a few words, the Azure platform provides solutions for private networks, with a system that does not require a native currency like the ether ‘gas’, since there is no need for mining.


Proof of Authority vs Proof of Stake

Some consider PoA to be a modified PoS, which leverages identity instead of coins. Due to the decentralized nature of most blockchain networks, PoS is not always suitable for certain businesses and corporations. In contrast, PoA systems may represent a better solution for private blockchains because its performance is considerably higher.


Conditions for Proof of Authority Consensus

Although the conditions may vary from system to system, the PoA consensus algorithm is usually reliant upon: 

  • valid and trustworthy identities: validators need to confirm their real identities.

  • difficulty to become a validator: a candidate must be willing to invest money and put his reputation at stake. A tough process reduces the risks of selecting questionable validators and incentivize a long-term commitment.

  • a standard for validator approval: the method for selecting validators must be equal to all candidates. 

The essence behind the reputation mechanism is the certainty behind a validator’s identity. This can’t be an easy process nor one that would be readily given up. It must be capable of weeding out bad players. Finally, ensuring that all validators go through the same procedure guarantees the system’s integrity and reliability.


Limitations

The perception of the PoA mechanism is that it foregoes decentralization. So one could say that this model of consensus algorithm is just an effort to make centralized systems more efficient. While this makes PoA an attractive solution for large corporations with logistical needs, it does bring some hesitation - especially within the cryptocurrency scope. PoA systems do have a high throughput, but aspects of immutability come into question when things like censorship and blacklisting can be easily achieved.

Another common criticism is that the identities of PoA validators are visible to anyone. The argument against this is that only established players capable of holding this position would seek to become a validator (as a publicly known participant). Still, knowing the validators’ identities could potentially lead to third-party manipulation. For instance, if a competitor wants to disrupt a PoA-based network, he may try to influence public known validators to act dishonestly in order to compromise the system from within.

PoW, PoS, or PoA all have their own unique advantages and disadvantages. It is well known that decentralization is highly valued within the cryptocurrency community and PoA, as a consensus mechanism, sacrifices decentralization in order to achieve high throughput and scalability. The inherent features of PoA systems are a stark contrast from how blockchains have been functioning until now. Still, PoA presents an interesting approach and cannot be disregarded as an emerging blockchain solution, which may suit well for private blockchain applications.

Loading