燃烧证明解释

分享
Copied to clipboard!
燃烧证明解释

虽然大多数区块链系统普遍使用工作量证明(PoW)和权益证明(PoS)共识算法,但燃烧证明(PoB)已经逐渐成为以上算法的一种可能替代方案。

总的来说,区块链共识算法负责保护网络安全以及验证交易。

工作量证明的区块链,例如比特币,其场景是矿工之间互相竞争并找到复杂加密问题的有效解决方案。第一个找到某个区块的解答的矿工将他的工作量证明(区块哈希)广播到网络当中,分布式的节点网络将验证该证明是否有效。如果有效,矿工有权利将该区块永久添加到区块链中,并获得新生成的比特币奖励。

当我们谈到权益证明的区块链时,共识算法则以不同的方式工作。权益证明算法不使用散列函数,而是用数字签名证明币的所有权。新区块的验证由叫做区块”锻造者“或”铸币者“完成,他们以一种确定性的方式被选择出来。锻造者拥有的币越多,那么被选为区块验证者的可能性就越大。与工作量证明系统不同的是,大多数权益证明系统不提供区块奖励,锻造者从验证区块当中得到的奖励都是交易费用。

尽管燃烧证明算法与工作量证明和权益证明有一定的相似性,但它有其特定的方式来达成共识和验证区块。


燃烧证明(PoB)

燃烧证明算法的版本有许多个,而由Iain Stewart提出的版本则可能是数字货币领域最被大众所认可的。它被认为是工作量证明算法的可持续替代方案。

本质上来说,燃烧证明看起来像是能耗更低的工作量证明算法。因为燃烧证明的区块验证并不需要大量的算力资源或依赖强大的挖矿硬件(例如ASIC)。相反的是,作为一种在区块链中“投资”的方式,数字货币被故意销毁(燃烧),因此候选矿工们不需要投入物质资源。在燃烧证明的系统中,矿工投资到虚拟采矿平台(或虚拟采矿电力)。


换句话说,通过销毁数字货币,能够证明用户对网络的投入,获得“挖矿”以及验证交易的权利。由于销毁币的过程代表虚拟挖矿能力,用户在系统中销毁的币越多,他/她拥有的(虚拟)算力就越大,因此被选择作为下一个区块验证者的机会就越高。


燃烧证明是怎么工作的?

简单来说,燃烧的过程包括将货币发送到一个公众可验证的地址,在那里货币便不能再被使用。通常,这些地址是随机生成的无私钥地址。当然,燃烧硬币的过程会降低市场流通性并造成稀缺,从而导致其价值的潜在上涨。但更重要的是,货币燃烧是确保网络安全的另一种方式。

工作量证明区块链安全的原因之一就是矿工需要投入大量资源才能最终获利。这意味着矿工们在激励作用下会以诚实地态度帮助网络,以防止初始投资被浪费。

这个想法跟燃烧证明类似,但是燃烧证明区块链并不投入电力,劳动力和算力,它只通过燃烧货币来保证安全。

燃烧证明系统将为矿工提供区块奖励,并且在一定时间内,预计该奖励将包含燃烧货币的初始投资。

如前文所述,实现燃烧证明有不同的方法。有些项目通过燃烧比特币,而另一些项目则通过燃烧自己的原生数字货币来实现燃烧证明。


燃烧证明 VS 权益证明

燃烧证明与权益证明的一个共同点是区块验证者必须投入他们的数字货币才能参与共识机制。然而,权益证明要求锻造者将他们的币变为股份,并通常会将其锁定。但如果他们决定离开网络,他们可以取走数字货币并在市场上出售。因此,在这种情况下没有永久的市场稀缺性,因为货币仅在一段时间内无法流通。而燃烧证明的区块验证者必须永远销毁它们的数字货币,造成永久性的经济稀缺。


燃烧证明的优缺点

以下列出的优点/缺点是基于燃烧证明支持者的一般论点,不应被视为已证实的事实。关于这些论点仍存在争议,需要进一步测试才确认其有效性。


优点

  • 可持续性高,降低能源消耗。

  • 不需挖矿硬件,货币燃烧采用虚拟矿机。

  • 数字货币燃烧减少了循环供应(市场稀缺)。

  • 鼓励矿工长期投入。

  • 数字货币分配/挖矿更加去中心化。


缺点

  • 燃烧证明并不是真正环保的,因为被烧毁的比特币是通过工作量证明挖矿产生的,这需要大量的资源。

  • 没有证明其可以在更大规模的区块链网络上工作。需要进行更多测试以确认其效率和安全性。

  • 矿工所的验证工作往往会被推迟。它没有工作量证明区块链那么快速。

  • 燃烧数字货币的过程并不总是透明的,或是很容易被普通用户验证。

Loading

Proof of Burn Explained

SHARE
Proof of Burn Explained

While most blockchain systems either make use of a Proof of Work (PoW) or a Proof of Stake (PoS) consensus algorithm, the Proof of Burn (PoB) is being tested as a possible alternative to those.

Generally speaking, the blockchain consensus algorithms are responsible for keeping the network secure and for verifying and validating transactions.

A Proof of Work blockchain, such as the one of Bitcoin, creates a scenario where miners compete to find a valid solution of a complex cryptographic problem. The first miner to find a solution for a certain block broadcasts his proof of work (the block hash) to the rest of the network. The distributed network of nodes will then verify whether that proof is valid or not. If valid, the miner earns the right to permanently add that block into the blockchain and is also rewarded with newly generated Bitcoins.

When it comes to Proof of Stake blockchains, the consensus algorithm works in a different way. Instead of using hash functions, the PoS algorithm makes use of digital signatures that prove the ownership of coins. The validation of new blocks is done by the so-called block forgers or minters, which are chosen in a deterministic way. The more coins a forger has at stake, the higher the chances of being chosen as a block validator. Unlike PoW systems, however, the majority of PoS systems do not provide block rewards, and all a minter gets from validating a block are the transaction fees.

Although the Proof of Burn algorithm presents similarities with PoW and PoS, it has its own particular way of reaching consensus and validating blocks.


Proof of Burn (PoB)

There is more than one version of PoB, but the concept of Proof of Burn idealized by Iain Stewart is probably the most acknowledged within the cryptocurrency space. It was proposed as a more sustainable alternative to the PoW consensus algorithm.

Essentially, Proof of Burn looks like a Proof of Work algorithm but with reduced rates of energy consumption. The block validation process of PoB-based networks does not require the use of powerful computational resources and does not depend on powerful mining hardware (like ASICs). Instead, cryptocurrencies are intentionally burned as a way to “invest” resources in the blockchain, so the candidate miners are not required to invest physical resources. In PoB systems, miners invest in virtual mining rigs (or virtual mining power).

In other words, by performing coin burns, users are able to demonstrate their commitment to the network, gaining the right to “mine” and validate transactions. Since the process of burning coins represents virtual mining power the more coins a user burns in favor of the system, the more mining power he/she has and, thus, the higher the chances to be chosen as the next block validator.


How does Proof of Burn work?

In a few words, the process of burning coins consists of sending these to a public verifiably address where they become inaccessible and useless. Typically, these addresses (aka. eater addresses) are randomly generated without having any private key associated with them. Naturally, the process of burning coins reduces the market availability and creates an economic scarcity, causing a potential increase in its value. But more than that, coin burning is another way of investing in the security of the network.

One of the reasons Proof of Work blockchains are secure is the fact that miners need to invest lots of resources in order to finally be profitable. This means that a PoW miner will have all the incentives to act honestly and help the network in order to prevent the initial investments from being wasted. 

The idea is similar for Proof of Burn algorithms. But instead of investing electricity, labor work, and computational power, PoB blockchains are supposed to be secured by the investment made through coin burns and nothing else.

Similarly to PoW blockchains, PoB systems will provide block rewards to miners and within a certain period of time, the rewards are expected to cover the initial investment of the burned coins.

As previously stated, there are different ways of implementing the Proof of Burn consensus algorithm. While some projects perform their PoB mining through the burning of Bitcoins, others achieve consensus by burning their own native coin.


Proof of Burn vs Proof of Stake

One thing that PoB and PoS have in common is the fact that the block validators have to invest their coins in order to participate in the consensus mechanism. However, PoS blockchains require forgers to stake their coins, usually locking them up. But if they decide to leave the network, they may take those coins back and sell them in the market. Therefore, there is no permanent market scarcity in such a scenario because coins are only taken out of circulation for a certain period of time. On the other hand, PoB block validators have to destroy their coins forever, creating a permanent economic scarcity.


Advantages and Disadvantages of Proof of Burn

The advantages/disadvantages listed here are based on the general arguments of PoB supporters and should not be considered proven facts. There are controversies about these arguments which require further testing in order to be confirmed as valid or invalid.


Advantages 

  • More sustainable. Reduced power consumption. 
  • No need for mining hardware. Coin burns are virtual mining rigs.
  • Coin burns reduce the circulating supply (market scarcity).
  • Encourages long-term commitment by the miners.
  • Coin distribution/mining tends to be less centralized.


Disadvantages 

  • Some say that PoB is not really eco-friendly because the Bitcoins being burned are generated through PoW mining, which requires lots of resources.
  • Not proven to work on larger scales. More testing is needed to confirm its efficiency and security.
  • The verification of the work done by miners tends to be delayed. It is not as fast as in Proof of Work blockchains.
  • The process of burning coin is not always transparent or easily verifiable by the average user.
Loading