什么是节点?

分享
Copied to clipboard!
什么是节点?

关于节点的定义,很多情况下是不尽相同的。当涉及到计算机或者通讯网络时,节点往往指的是一个再分发点或者通讯终端。通常,一个节点是由物理网络设备构成的,但是虚拟的节点则大不相同。

简而言之,一个网络节点可以产生,接收或传输信息。据此,我们将要讨论不同类型的比特币网络节点:全节点,超级节点,挖矿节点和SPV用户。


比特币节点

通过对区块链文章的深入研究 -- 由于它的分布式系统特征 -- 计算机网络的节点使得比特币能够像一个去中心化的点对点(P2P)数字货币运作。同样的,比特币也是免审查的,用户之间的转账不需要任何中间商来提供担保(无论用户相距多远)。

因此,区块链的节点就像是一个发挥着不同功能的通讯节点一样。任何连接到比特币网络的计算机或其他设备,都可以被视为是比特币网络的节点,这些节点之间也进行着相互的交流,同时它们也能够通过比特币的点对点协议来传输交易和区块的信息。然而,每一个计算机节点都是根据它的特定功能来定义的,所以,比特币网络中存在多种不同类型的节点。


全节点

全节点是那些真正支持和保护比特币网络的节点,它们相对于网络来说是独立的。它们也会参与到交易信息和区块信息的确认工作当中,同样的,全节点也能够将新的区块信息加到区块链网络当中。

通常,一个全节点会下载一个完整的比特币区块链网络信息的副本,但这并不是一个硬性的要求(有时候也会下载一个缩减版的副本)。

一个比特币的全节点的建立可以通过多种不同软件的安装来完成,但是最常用的软件是比特币核心(Bitcoin Core),以下是运行一个比特币核心全节点的基本要求:

  • 一台装有Windows,Mac OS X 或者Linux操作系统的台式电脑或笔记本电脑
  • 200GB的可用磁盘空间
  • 2GB的内存
  • 上传速度不低于50kB/s的带宽
  • 无上传限制或者高上传上限的网络连接。每个月,全节点能够上传的信息不低于200GB,下载信息不低于20GB。当第一次运行全节点时,需要下载约为200GB的文本
  • 全节点一天运行时间不低于6小时,最好是7x24小时的运行模式

很多志愿机构和用户运行作为比特币网络的全节点来帮助比特币的生态发展。像2018年,大约有9700多个公开的节点在比特币网络上运行。注意,这个数字仅仅是公开的节点,也就是那些可见的节点。

除了公开的节点,还有许多隐藏的节点是不可见的,这些节点通常是经过像Tor的隐藏协议,或者仅仅因为它们配置不可公告,便只在防火墙后运行。


公开节点(超级节点)

本质上来说,一个公开节点或者一个超级节点都是一个可见的全节点。它与其他的节点之间进行数据的交流和传输,因此,一个超级节点就是一个再分发点,它扮演着一个数据来源和交流桥梁的角色。

一个可靠的超级节点通常是7x24小时不停地将区块链的历史信息和交易数据传输给全世界的节点。基于这个原因,相较于一个隐藏的全节点,一个超级节点需要更多的算力和更好的网络连接。


挖矿节点

为了能够在竞争日益激烈的环境中挖到比特币,就必须投资特殊的挖矿硬件和程序。这些挖矿程序(软件)并不是直接关联到Bitcoin Core上的,它们是与Bitcoin Core并行来挖矿的。一个矿工既可以选择自己挖矿,也可以选择加入矿池。

个人矿工的全节点使用的是他们自己的区块数据副本,矿池的矿工们则是共同协作的,每一个人能够贡献自己的算力。在一个矿池中,只有矿池的管理员才被要求以一个全节点的身份运行 -- 可以被看作是整个矿池的全节点。


轻量级或SPV用户

也被称为简单支付验证(SPV)用户,这些轻量级用户使用比特币网络但并不是全节点。SPV用户没有为网络安全贡献力量,因为他们不会保存区块链信息的副本,也不会加入到交易信息的验证工作中。

简单来说,SPV就是一种不用下载整个区块链信息副本,就可以查看交易信息的一种方式,因此,SPV用户依赖其他全节点(超级节点)来提供信息。这些轻量级的用户就像是通讯终端一样,也被众多的数字货币钱包所使用。


用户VS挖矿节点

值得一提的是,运行一个全节点和运行一个全挖矿节点是不同的。只需要投资特殊的挖矿硬件和软件,任何人都可以成为一个全挖矿节点。

在尝试挖一个区块之前,一名矿工需要收集之前被全节点确认过的交易信息。接着,就需要创造一个备选区块(有一组交易信息), 同时尝试进行挖矿。如果一名矿工成功找到了这个备选区块的哈希值,他就向全网公布,这样其他的节点就可以验证其真实性。因此,这种共识的规则的准确性和安全性是由全网的节点共同维护的,并不只是矿工。


结束语

比特币节点之间的相互交流是通过比特币的点对点网络协议进行的,它们通过这种方式来验证系统的完整性。如果一个节点想要传播一些错误的信息,就会被那些忠实的节点快速识别出来并将其从网络中断开。

运行一个全节点不会获得任何经济上的奖励,但是该行为依然值得强烈推崇,因为它会为用户们提供诚信,安全和私密性。全节点保障规则的顺利执行,它们保护着区块链不被攻击,除此之外,一个全节点不需要信任其他人,它使得用户能够百分百掌控自己的财产。

Loading

What are Nodes?

SHARE
What are Nodes?

The definition of a node may vary significantly according to the context it is used. When it comes to computer or telecommunication networks, nodes may offer distinct purposes, acting either as a redistribution point or as a communication endpoint. Usually, a node consists of a physical network device but there are some specific cases where virtual nodes are used.

Simply put, a network node is a point where a message can be created, received, or transmitted. Hereby we will discuss the different types of Bitcoin nodes: full nodes, super nodes, miner nodes, and SPV clients.


Bitcoin nodes

Diving into the context of blockchains - which are designed as distributed systems - the network of computer nodes is what makes it possible for Bitcoin to be used as a decentralized peer-to-peer (P2P) digital currency that is censorship-resistant by design and does not require a middle-man to be transacted from user to user (no matter how distant they are in the world).

Therefore, blockchain nodes are responsible for acting as a communication point that may perform different functions. Any computer or device that connects to the Bitcoin interface may be considered as a node in the sense that they communicate somehow with each other. These nodes are also able to transmit information about transactions and blocks within the distributed network of computers by using the Bitcoin peer-to-peer protocol. However, each computer node is defined according to its particular functions, so there are different types of Bitcoin nodes.

 

Full nodes

Full nodes are the ones that really support and provide security to Bitcoin and they are indispensable to the network. These nodes are also referred to as full validating nodes as they engage in the process of verifying transactions and blocks against the system’s consensus rules. Full nodes are also able to relay new transactions and blocks to the blockchain. 

Usually, a full node downloads a copy of the Bitcoin blockchain with every block and transaction, but this is not a requirement to be considered a full node (a reduced copy of the blockchain may be used instead).

A Bitcoin full node can be established through different software implementations, but the most used and popular one is the Bitcoin Core. These are the minimum requirements to run a Bitcoin Core full node:

  • Desktop or laptop with a recent version of Windows, Mac OS X, or Linux.

  • 200GB of free disk space.

  • 2GB of memory (RAM).

  • High-speed internet connection with upload speeds of at least 50 kB/s.

  • An unmetered connection or a connection with high upload limits. Full nodes on may reach or exceed an upload usage of 200 GB/month and a download usage of 20 GB/month. You will also need to download ~200GB when you first start your full node.

  • Your full node should run at least 6 hours a day. Even better if you run it continuously (24/7)


Many volunteer organizations and users are running Bitcoin full nodes as a way to help the Bitcoin ecosystem. Currently, there are roughly 9,700 public nodes running on the Bitcoin network. Note that this number only includes the public nodes, which refer to the listening Bitcoin nodes that are visible and accessible (aka. as listening nodes). 

Besides the public nodes, there are many other hidden nodes which are not visible (non-listening nodes). These nodes are usually operating behind a firewall, through hidden protocols like Tor, or simply because they were configured to not listen for connections.


Listening nodes (super nodes)

Essentially, a listening node or super node is a full node that is publicly visible. It communicates and provides information to any other node that decides to establish a connection with it. Hence, a super node is basically a redistribution point that may act both as a data source and as a communication bridge. 

A reliable super node typically runs 24/7 and has several established connections, transmitting the blockchain history and transactions data to multiple nodes around the world. For that reason, a super node will probably require more computational power and a better internet connection when compared to compared to a full node that is hidden.


Miners’ nodes

In order to be able to mine Bitcoins in the current competitive scenario, one has to invest in specialized mining hardware and programs. These mining programs (software) are not directly related to the Bitcoin Core and are executed in parallel to try and mine Bitcoin blocks. A miner may choose to work alone (solo miner) or in groups (pool miner). 

While the solo miners’ full nodes make use of their own copy of the blockchain, pool miners work together, each one contributing with his own computational resources (hashpower). In a mining pool, only the administrator of the pool is required to run a full node - which can be referred to as a pool miner’s full node.


Lightweight or SPV clients

Also known as Simplified Payment Verification (SPV) clients, the lightweight clients are the ones that make use of the Bitcoin network but do not really act as a full node. Therefore, SPV clients do not contribute to the network’s security because they do not keep a copy of the blockchain and do not participate in the process of verifying and validating transactions. 

In short, SPV is the method through which a user can check whether some transactions were included or not in a block, without having to download the entire block data. Thus, SPV clients rely on the information provided by other full nodes (super nodes). The lightweight clients work as communication endpoints and are used by many cryptocurrency wallets.


Client vs mining nodes

It is important to note that running a full node is not the same as running a full mining node. While miners have to invest in expensive mining hardware and software, anyone is able to run a full validating node. Moreover, before trying to mine a block, a miner needs to gather pending transactions that were previously accepted as valid by the full nodes. Next, the miner creates a candidate block (with a group of transactions) and try to mine that block. If the miner manages to find a valid solution for that block, he broadcasts it to the network and the other full nodes will verify the validity of the block. Therefore, the consensus rules are determined and secured by the distributed network of validating nodes and not by the miners.

Closing thoughts

Bitcoin nodes communicate with one another through the Bitcoin P2P network protocol, and by doing so, they guarantee the integrity of the system. A node that misbehaves or tries to propagate incorrect information is quickly recognized by the honest nodes and is disconnected from the network.

Despite the fact that running a full validating node does not provide financial rewards, it is highly recommended because it provides trust, security, and privacy to the users. Full nodes ensure that the rules are being followed. They protect the blockchain against attacks and frauds (such as double-spending). In addition, a full node does not need to trust others and it allows the user to be in total control of his money.

Loading