ما هي العقود الذكية؟

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
ما هي العقود الذكية؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

تم وصف العقود الذكية لأول مرة بواسطة Nick Szabo في التسعينات. في ذلك الوقت قام بتعريف العقد الذكي كأداة لإضفاء الطابع الرسمي على شبكات الكمبيوتر وتأمينها عن طريق دمج البروتوكولات مع واجهات المستخدم. ناقش أيضا Szabo الاستخدام المحتمل للعقود الذكية في مختلف المجالات التي تنطوي على اتفاقيات تعاقدية مثل أنظمة الائتمان و إتمام المدفوعات وإدارة حقوق المحتوى.

في عالم العملات الرقمية قد نعرف العقد الذكي على أنه تطبيق أو برنامج يتم تشغيله على البلوكشين. عادة ما يعملون كاتفاق رقمي يتم تطبيقه بواسطة مجموعة محددة من القواعد. يتم تعريف هذه القواعد مسبقًا بواسطة كود كمبيوتر والذي يتم نسخة و تنفيذة بواسطة جميع عقد الشبكة.

تسمح العقود الذكية في جوهرها للبلوكشين بإنشاء بروتوكولات لا تحتاج للثقة. وهذا يعني أنه يمكن للطرفين تقديم التزامات عبر البلوكشين دون الحاجة إلى معرفة أو الثقة ببعضهما البعض. يمكنهم التأكد من أنه إذا لم يتم استيفاء الشروط فلن يتم تنفيذ العقد. بخلاف ذلك فإن استخدام العقود الذكية يمكن أيضا أن يلغي الحاجة إلى الوسطاء مما يقلل من تكاليف التشغيل بشكل كبير.

على الرغم من أن بروتوكول البيتكوين كان يدعم العقود الذكية لسنوات عديدة، إلا أن العقود الذكية أصبحت أكثر شهرة من قبل المبدع والمؤسس المشارك في الإيثيريوم Vitalik Buterin. مع ذلك تجدر الإشارة إلى أن كل بلوكشين قد يقدم طريقة مختلفة لتطبيق العقود الذكية. 

سوف تركز هذه المقالة على العقود الذكية التي يتم تشغيلها على آلة الإيثيريوم الإفتراضية Ethereum Virtual Machine (EVM) - والتي تعد جزءًا أساسيًا من بلوكشين الإيثيريوم.


كيف تعمل؟

ببساطة، يعمل العقد الذكي كبرنامج حتمي. حيث ينفذ مهمة معينة عندما يتم استيفاء شروط معينة. وعلى هذا النحو غالبًا ما يتبع نظام العقد الذكي عبارات "if… then…" لكن على الرغم من المصطلح الشائع الناتج من إسمها إلا أن العقود الذكية ليست عقودًا قانونية وليست ذكية. فهي مجرد مجموعة من التعليمات البرمجية تعمل على نظام موزع (وهو البلوكشين).

تكون العقود الذكية مسؤولة عن تنفيذ وإدارة عمليات البلوكشين التي تحدث عندما يتفاعل المستخدمون (العناوين) مع بعضهم البعض على شبكة الإيثيريوم. أي عنوان ليس عقدًا ذكيًا يُطلق عليه externally owned account (EOA) أي "حسابًا خارجيًا" وهذا يعني أنه يتم التحكم في العقود الذكية بواسطة كود كمبيوتر ويتم التحكم في الـ EOAs من قبل المستخدمين.

ببساطة، تتكون العقود الذكية الخاصة بالإيثيريوم من Contract Code (كود عقد) ومفتاحين عامين (two public keys). المفتاح العام الأول هو المفتاح الذي يوفره مُنشئ العقد. بينما المفتاح الآخر يمثل العقد نفسه حيث يعمل كمعرف رقمي فريد لكل عقد ذكي.

يتم نشر أي عقد ذكي من خلال معاملة على البلوكشين ولا يمكن تفعيلها إلا عند استدعائها من قبل EOA (أو عن طريق عقود ذكية أخرى). مع ذلك يحدث التنشيط الأول دائما بسبب EOA (مستخدم).


الميزات الرئيسية

غالبًا ما يقدم العقد الذكي الخاص بالإيثيريوم الخصائص التالية:

مُوَزَّعة. يتم نسخ العقود الذكية وتوزيعها في جميع عُقَد شبكة الإيثيريوم. يعد هذا أحد الإختلافات الرئيسية عن الحلول الأخرى المبنية على خوادم مركزية.

حتمية. تؤدي العقود الذكية الإجراءات التي تم تصميمها لها فقط عندما يتم الوفاء بالمتطلبات. أيضا ستكون النتيجة هي نفسها دائما بغض النظر عمن ينفذها.

مستقلة. يمكن للعقود الذكية أتمتة جميع أنواع المهام. مثل البرامج ذات التنفيذ الذاتي. في معظم الحالات إذا لم يتم تشغيل عقد ذكي فسيظل ساكن ولن يقوم بأي إجراء.

غير قابلة للتغيير. لا يمكن تغيير العقود الذكية بعد نشرها. يمكن "حذفها" فقط إذا تم تطبيق/إضافة وظيفة معينة سابقًا. بالتالي يمكننا القول أن العقود الذكية يمكن أن توفر رمزًا مقاومًا للعبث.

قابلة للتعديل. يمكن برمجة العقود الذكية بعدة طرق مختلفة قبل النشر. يمكن استخدامها لإنشاء العديد من أنواع التطبيقات اللامركزية (DApps). هذا مرتبط بحقيقة أن بلوكشين الإيثيريوم من نوعية Turing complete.

لا تحتاج للثقة. يمكن أن يتفاعل طرفان أو أكثر عبر العقود الذكية دون معرفة أو الثقة ببعضهما البعض. بالإضافة إلى ذلك تضمن تقنية البلوكشين صحة ودقة البيانات.

شفافة. يرجع هذا لسبب أن العقود الذكية مبنية على بلوكشين عام. حتى كود المصدر الخاص بها غير قابل للتغيير لكن يمكن لأي شخص رؤيته.


هل يمكنني تغيير أو حذف عقد ذكي؟

يستحيل إضافة وظائف جديدة إلى عقد الإيثيريوم الذكي بعد نشره. لكن إذا أضاف منشئه وظيفة تسمى SELFDESTRUCT في كود برمجتة سيكون بإمكانه "حذف" العقد الذكي في المستقبل واستبداله بعقد جديد. على عكس ذلك، إذا لم يتم إضافة هذه الوظيفة في الكود مسبقًا لن يتمكن من حذفه.

الجدير بالذكر أن ما يسمى بالعقود الذكية القابلة للترقية تتيح للمطورين مزيد من المرونة بالنسبة لثبات العقود. هناك العديد من الطرق لإنشاء عقود ذكية قابلة للترقية بدرجات متفاوتة من التعقيد.

على سبيل المثال، دعونا نتخيل أن العقد الذكي ينقسم إلى عدة عقود أصغر. تم تصميم بعض هذه العقود لتكون غير قابل للتغيير في حين أن البعض الآخر تم إضافة وظيفة 'الحذف' به. هذا يعني أنه يمكن حذف جزء من الكود (العقود الذكية) واستبداله بينما تظل الوظائف الأخرى ثابتة.


المميزات وحالات الإستخدام

بإعتبار العقود الذكية كود قابل للبرمجة فيمكن تخصيصها إلى حد كبير و يمكن أيضا تصميمها بعدة طرق مختلفة حيث تقدم العديد من أنواع الخدمات والحلول.

ولأن العقود الذكية لامركزية وذاتية التشغيل، فقد توفر شفافية أعلى وتكاليف تشغيل منخفضة. يتوقف ذلك على طريقة تطبيقها. يمكنها أيضًا زيادة الكفاءة وتقليل النفقات البيروقراطية.

تعتبر العقود الذكية مفيدة بشكل خاص في المواقف التي تنطوي على تحويل أو تبادل الأموال بين طرفين أو أكثر.

بمعنى آخر، يمكن تصميم العقود الذكية لتناسب حالات إستخدام متعددة. بعض الأمثلة تشمل إنشاء أصول على شكل Tokens وإستخدامها في أنظمة التصويت والمحافظ الرقمية ومنصات التداول اللامركزية والألعاب وتطبيقات الهاتف المحمول. قد يتم نشرها مع حلول أخرى للبلوكشين التي تتعامل مع مجالات الرعاية الصحية والجمعيات الخيرية وسلسلة التوريد والحوكمة والتمويل اللامركزي (DeFi).


ERC-20

تتبع الرموز (الـ Tokens) الصادرة على بلوكشين الإيثيريوم معيارًا يعرف باسم ERC-20. يصف المعيار الوظائف الأساسية لجميع الرموز المبنية على الإيثيريوم. وعلى هذا النحو غالبًا ما يشار إلى هذه الأصول الرقمية باسم ERC-20 tokens وتمثل هذه الرموز جزءًا كبيرًا من العملات الرقمية الحالية.

قامت العديد من شركات البلوكشين والشركات الناشئة بنشر عقود ذكية لإصدار الرموز الرقمية الخاصة بها على شبكة الإيثيريوم. بعد الإصدار قامت غالبية هذه الشركات بتوزيع رموز ERC-20 الخاصة بها من خلال إكتتابات (عروض العملة الأولية أو ICO). في معظم الحالات أتاح إستخدام العقود الذكية تبادل الأموال وتوزيع الرموز بطريقة لا تحتاج الى الثقة و فعالة.


القيود

العقود الذكية مصنوعة من كود كمبيوتر مكتوب من قبل البشر. هذا يجلب العديد من المخاطر حيث يمكن أن يخضع الكود لثغرات وأخطاء. يجب كتابة العقود الذكية ونشرها من قبل مبرمجين ذوي خبرة لتكون مثالية. خاصة عندما تنطوي على معلومات حساسة أو مبالغ كبيرة من المال.

بخلاف ذلك يجادل البعض بأن الأنظمة المركزية يمكن أن توفر معظم الحلول والوظائف التي توفرها العقود الذكية. لكن الفرق الرئيسي هو أن العقود الذكية تعمل على شبكة P2P موزعة بدلاً من خادم (server) مركزي. ولأن العقود الذكية مبنية على نظام بلوكشين فإنها تميل إلى أن تكون ثابتة أو يصعب تغييرها.

كون العقود الذكية ثابتة ولا يمكن تغييرها يمكن أن يكون شيْئًا عظِيمًا في بعض الحالات ولكن سيء للغاية في حالات أخرى. على سبيل المثال عندما تم اختراق Decentralized Autonomous Organization (DAO) سُرقت ملايين من الأثير (ETH) بسبب عيوب في كود العقد الذكي الخاص بهم.

نظرًا لأن عقدهم الذكي كان غير قابل للتغيير، لم يتمكن المطورين من إصلاح الكود. مما أدي في نهاية المطاف الى حدوث هارد فورك ومما أدى الى انشاء سلسلة إثيريوم ثانية. ببساطة، سلسلة قامت بإسترجاع عملية القرصنة وأعادت الأموال إلى أصحابها الشرعيين (هذا جزء من بلوكشين الإيثيريوم الحالي). بينما قررت السلسلة الثانية عدم التدخل في الاختراق مشيرة إلى أنه لا ينبغي أبدًا تغيير الأشياء التي تحدث على البلوكشين (تسمى هذه السلسلة الآن Ethereum Classic).

من المهم أن نلاحظ أن المشكلة لم تأتي من بلوكشين الإيثيريوم ولكن كان السبب في ذلك وجود خطأ في تنفيذ العقد الذكي.

يتعلق القيد الاخر بالعقود الذكية بوضعها القانوني غير المؤكد. ليس فقط لأن وضعها القانوني غير واضح في معظم البلاد ولكن أيضًا لأن العقود الذكية لا تتناسب مع الإطار القانوني الحالي.

على سبيل المثال تتطلب العديد من العقود تعريف الطرفين بشكل صحيح وأن يكون عمرهم أكثر من 18 عامًا. تتعارض هذه المتطلبات مع ما توفره البلوكشين من حماية لهوية مستخدميها بالإضافة الى عدم وجود وسطاء. على الرغم من وجود حلول محتملة لهذا الأمر إلا أن التنفيذ القانوني للعقود الذكية لايزال تحديًا حقيقيًا خاصةً عندما يتعلق الأمر بالشبكات الموزعة التي لا حدود لها.


النقد

يرى بعض مُتحمِّسِي البلوكشين العقود الذكية كحل سيساعد على تشغيل أنظمتنا التجارية والبيروقراطية الحالية آليًّا. في حين أن هذا هو الواقع المحتمل إلا أنه لا يزال بعيدا عن أن يصبح النظام الطبيعي.

العقود الذكية هي بالتأكيد تكنولوجيا مثيرة للاهتمام. لكن كونها موزعة وحتمية وشفافة وغير قابلة للتغيير إلى حد ما يمكن أن يجعلها أقل جاذبية في بعض الحالات.

يعتمد النقد بشكل أساسي على حقيقة أن العقود الذكية ليست حلاً مناسبًا للعديد من مشكلات العالم الحقيقي. في الواقع بعض المؤسسات تكون في حال أفضل عند إستخدامها البدائل التقليدية القائمة على خادم (server). 

تكون الخوادم المركزية أسهل وأرخص في الصيانة عند مقارنتها بالعقود الذكية وتميل إلى تقديم كفاءة أعلى من حيث السرعة والاتصالات عبر الشبكة (إمكانية العمل المشترك).


أفكار ختامية

ليس هناك شك في أن العقود الذكية تسببت في تأثير كبير في عالم العملات الرقمية وأنها بالتأكيد أحدثت ثورة في مجال البلوكشين. على الرغم من أن المستخدمين النهائيين قد لا يتفاعلون مباشرة مع العقود الذكية، إلا أنه من المحتمل أن تعمل هذه العقود على تشغيل مجموعة واسعة من التطبيقات في المستقبل بدءًا من الخدمات المالية وإدارة سلسلة التوريد.

لدى العقود الذكية و البلوكشين معا القدرة على تغطية جميع مجالات مجتمعنا تقريبا. لكن الوقت وحده هو الذي سيحدد إذا كانت هذه التقنيات الرائدة ستتمكن من التغلب على العديد من الحواجز التي تحول بينها و بين إعتمادها على نطاق واسع.

Loading

What Are Smart Contracts?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
What Are Smart Contracts?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Nick Szabo first described smart contracts in the 1990s. Back then, he defined a smart contract as a tool that formalizes and secures computer networks by combining protocols with user interfaces. Szabo discussed the potential use of smart contracts in various fields that involve contractual agreements - such as credit systems, payment processing, and content rights management.

In the world of cryptocurrencies, we may define a smart contract as an application or program that runs on a blockchain. Typically, they work as a digital agreement that is enforced by a specific set of rules. These rules are predefined by computer code, which is replicated and executed by all network nodes.

In essence, blockchain smart contracts allow for the creation of trustless protocols. This means that two parties can make commitments via blockchain, without having to know or trust each other. They can be sure that if the conditions aren't fulfilled, the contract won't be executed. Other than that, the use of smart contracts can remove the need for intermediaries, reducing operational costs significantly.

Although the Bitcoin protocol has been supporting smart contracts for many years, they were made popular by the creator and co-founder of Ethereum, Vitalik Buterin. It's worth noting, though, that each blockchain may present a different method of implementing smart contracts. 

This article will focus on the smart contracts that run on the Ethereum Virtual Machine (EVM), which is an essential part of the Ethereum blockchain.


How do they work?

In simple terms, a smart contract works as a deterministic program. It executes a particular task when and if certain conditions are met. As such, a smart contract system often follows "if… then…" statements. But despite the popular terminology, smart contracts are not legal contracts, nor smart. They are just a piece of code running on a distributed system (blockchain).

On the Ethereum network, smart contracts are responsible for executing and managing the blockchain operations that take place when users (addresses) interact with each other. Any address that is not a smart contract is called an externally owned account (EOA). Thus, smart contracts are controlled by computer code, and EOAs are controlled by users.

Basically, Ethereum smart contracts are made of a contract code and two public keys. The first public key is the one provided by the creator of the contract. The other key represents the contract itself, acting as a digital identifier that is unique to each smart contract.

The deployment of any smart contract is made through a blockchain transaction, and they can only be activated when called by an EOA (or by other smart contracts). However, the first trigger is always caused by an EOA (user).


Key features

An Ethereum smart contract often presents the following characteristics:

Distributed. Smart contracts are replicated and distributed in all nodes of the Ethereum network. This is one of the major differences from other solutions that are based on centralized servers.

Deterministic. Smart contracts only perform the actions they were designed to, given the requirements are met. Also, the outcome will always be the same, no matter who executes them.

Autonomous. Smart contracts can automate all sorts of tasks, working like a self-executing program. In most cases, though, if a smart contract isn't triggered, it will stay "dormant" and won't perform any action.

Immutable. Smart contracts can't be changed after deployed. They can only be "deleted" if a particular function was previously implemented. Thus, we may say that smart contracts can provide tamper-proof code.

Customizable. Before deployment, smart contracts can be coded in many different ways. So, they can be used to create many types of decentralized applications (DApps). This is related to the fact that Ethereum is a Turing complete blockchain.

Trustless. Two or more parties can interact via smart contracts without knowing or trusting each other. In addition, blockchain technology ensures that data is accurate.

Transparent. Since smart contracts are based on a public blockchain, their source code is not only immutable but also visible to anyone.


Can I change or delete a smart contract?

It's impossible to add new functions to an Ethereum smart contract after deployed. However, if its creator includes a function called SELFDESTRUCT in the code, they are able to "delete" the smart contract in the future - and replace it with a new one. In contrast, though, if the function isn't included in the code beforehand, they won't be able to delete it.

Notably, the so-called upgradeable smart contracts allow developers to have more flexibility over contracts' immutability. There are many ways to create upgradeable smart contracts, with varying degrees of complexity.

Taking a simplified example, let’s imagine that a smart contract is divided into multiple smaller contracts. Some of them are designed to be immutable, while others have the 'delete' function enabled. This means that part of the code (smart contracts) can be deleted and replaced, while other functionalities remain intact.


Advantages and use cases

As programmable code, smart contracts are highly customizable and can be designed in many different ways, offering many kinds of services and solutions.

As decentralized and self-executing programs, smart contracts may provide increased transparency and reduced operational costs. Depending on the implementation, they can also increase efficiency and reduce bureaucratic expenses.

Smart contracts are particularly useful in situations that involve the transfer or exchange of funds between two or more parties.

In other words, smart contracts can be designed for a wide variety of use cases. Some examples include the creation of tokenized assets, voting systems, crypto wallets, decentralized exchanges, games, and mobile applications. They may also be deployed along with other blockchain solutions that are tackling the fields of healthcarecharitysupply chaingovernance, and decentralized finance (DeFi).


ERC-20

Tokens issued on the Ethereum blockchain follow a standard known as ERC-20. The standard describes the core functions of all Ethereum-based tokens. As such, these digital assets are often referred to as ERC-20 tokens, and they represent a great portion of the existing cryptocurrencies.

Many blockchain companies and startups deployed smart contracts in order to issue their digital tokens on the Ethereum network. After the issuance, the majority of these companies distributed their ERC-20 tokens through Initial Coin Offering (ICO) events. In most cases, the use of smart contracts enabled the exchange of funds, and distribution of tokens, in a trustless and efficient way.


Limitations

Smart contracts are made of computer code written by humans. This brings numerous risks as the code is subject to vulnerabilities and bugs. Ideally, they should be written and deployed by experienced programmers, especially when involving sensitive information or large amounts of money.

Other than that, some argue that centralized systems can provide most of the solutions and functionalities offered by smart contracts. The main difference is that smart contracts are running on a distributed P2P network, rather than a centralized server. And because they are based on a blockchain system, they tend to be either immutable or very hard to change.

Being immutable can be great in some situations, but very bad in others. For example, when a Decentralized Autonomous Organization (DAO) called "The DAO" got hacked in 2016, millions of ether (ETH) were stolen due to flaws in their smart contract code.

Since their smart contract was immutable, developers were unable to fix the code. This eventually led to a hard fork, giving birth to a second Ethereum chain. Simply put, one chain "reverted" the hack and returned the funds to the rightful owners (this is part of the current Ethereum blockchain). The other chain decided to not interfere with the hack, stating that things that happen on a blockchain should never be changed (this chain is now called Ethereum Classic).

It's important to note that the problem didn't come from the Ethereum blockchain. Instead, it was caused by a faulty smart contract implementation.

Another limitation of smart contracts is related to their uncertain legal status. Not only because it's in a grey area in most countries, but also because smart contracts don't suit the current legal framework.

For example, many contracts require both parties to be properly identified and over 18 years old. The pseudonymity provided by blockchain technology, combined with the lack of intermediaries, may threaten those requirements. While there are potential solutions to this, the legal enforceability of smart contracts is a real challenge - especially when it comes to borderless, distributed networks.


Criticism

Some blockchain enthusiasts see smart contracts as a solution that will soon replace and automate a great part of our commercial, and bureaucratic systems. While this is a possible reality, it's probably far from becoming the norm.

Smart contracts are certainly an interesting piece of technology. But, being distributed, deterministic, transparent, and somewhat immutable can make them less appealing in some situations.

Essentially, criticism relies on the fact that smart contracts are not a suitable solution for many real-world problems. In fact, some organizations are better off using conventional server-based alternatives. 

When compared to smart contracts, centralized servers are easier and cheaper to maintain, and tend to present a higher efficiency in terms of speed and cross-network communication (interoperability).


Closing thoughts

There is no doubt that smart contracts caused a big impact in the world of cryptocurrencies, and they certainly revolutionized the blockchain space. While the end-users may not interact directly with smart contracts, these are likely to power a wide range of applications in the future, ranging from financial services to supply chain management.

Together, smart contracts and blockchain have the potential to disrupt almost all areas of our society. But only time will tell if these groundbreaking technologies will manage to overcome the many barriers to large scale adoption.

Loading