ما هي خوارزمية إجماع البلكوشين؟

مشاركة
ما هي خوارزمية إجماع البلكوشين؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

في سياق العملات الرقمية، خوارزميات الإجماع هي عنصر حاسم في كل شبكة بلوكشين لأنها المسؤولة عن الحفاظ على سلامة وأمن هذه النظم الموزعة. أول خوارزمية إجماع تم إنشاؤها في العملات الرقمية هي خوارزمية إثبات العمل (Proof of Work) و التي قام بتصميمها ساتوشي ناكاموتو تم تطبيقها على البيتكوين كطريقة للتغلب على الأخطاء البيزنطية.


خوارزمية الإجماع

يمكن تعريف خوارزمية الإجماع بأنها الآلية التي من خلالها تصل شبكة البلوكشين إلى الإجماع/التوافق. تُبنى البلوكشين اللامركزية العامة كنظم موزعة، ولأنها لا تعتمد على سلطة مركزية فإن العقد الموزعة تحتاج إلى الاتفاق على صلاحيات المعاملات. هذا هو الدور الذي تلعبه خوارزميات الإجماع. فهي تعمل على تأكيد إتباع قواعد البروتوكول وضمان أن جميع المعاملات تحدث بطريقة موثوق بها بحيث لا يمكن صرف العملات إلا مرة واحدة. 

من المهم أن نفهم الاختلافات بين الخوارزمية والبروتوكول قبل الدخول في الأنواع المختلفة من خوارزميات الإجماع.


خوارزمية الإجماع vs البروتوكول

غالبًا ما يتم استخدام مصطلح الخوارزمية و البروتوكول بشكل تبادلي ولكنهما ليسا نفس الشيء. بعبارات بسيطة، قد نعرف البروتوكول كقواعد أساسية لسلسلة البلوكشين والخوارزمية كـ الآلية التي يتم من خلالها اتباع هذه القواعد.

 بالإضافة إلى استخدامها على نطاق واسع في الأنظمة المالية يمكن أيضا تطبيق تقنية البلوكشين على مجموعة متنوعة من الشركات وقد تكون مناسبة لحالات الاستخدام المختلفة. لكن بغض النظر عن السياق، يتم بناء شبكة البلوكشين على قمة البروتوكول الذي سيقوم بتحديد كيفية عمل النظام، لذلك ستحتاج جميع الأجزاء المختلفة للنظام وجميع المشاركين في الشبكة إلى اتباع قواعد البروتوكول الأساسي.

في حين أن البروتوكول يقوم بتحديد ما هي القواعد، فإن الخوارزمية هي من تخبر النظام بالخطوات التي يجب اتخاذها من أجل الامتثال لهذه القواعد وتحقيق النتائج المرغوبة. على سبيل المثال، خوارزمية الإجماع في البلوكشين هي ما تحدد صلاحية المعاملات والكتل. لذا، فإن البيتكوين و الإيثيريوم هما بروتوكولات في حين أن إثبات العمل (Proof of Work) و إثبات الحصة (Proof of Stake) هما الخوارزميات المتفق عليهما.

للتوضيح أكثر، ضع في اعتبارك أن بروتوكول البيتكوين يعرّف كيفية تفاعل العقد وكيف يجب أن تنتقل البيانات فيما بينها و  وما هي متطلبات التحقق من الكتلة بنجاح. على الجانب الأخر، فإن خوارزمية الإجماع هي المسؤولة عن التحقق من الأرصدة والتوقيعات وتأكيد المعاملات وأيضا التنفيذ الفعلي لعملية التحقق من الكتل وكل هذا يعتمد على إجماع/توافق الشبكة.


الأنواع المختلفة من خوارزميات الإجماع

هناك عدة أنواع من خوارزميات الإجماع. أكثر التطبيقات شيوعًا هي إثبات العمل (PoW) و إثبات الحصة (PoS). كل واحده لها مزاياها و عيوبها الخاصة عند محاولة موازنة الأمن مع الوظائف وقابلية التوسع.


إثبات العمل - Proof of Work أو PoW

خوارزمية إثبات العمل هي أول خوارزمية تم إنشاؤها. يتم إستخدامها من قبل العديد من العملات الرقمية المختلفة. فهي جزء أساسي من عملية التعدين.  

تنطوي عملية التعدين في خوارزمية إثبات العمل على العديد من محاولات التجزئة (Hashing). وبالتالي فإن المزيد من القوة الحاسوبية تعني المزيد من التجارب في الثانية الواحدة. بمعنى آخر، المُعَدِّنين الذين يملكون معدل تجزئة (hash rate) عالي يكون لديهم  فرص أفضل للعثور على حل صالح للكتلة التالية (المعروف أيضًا باسم تجزئة الكتلة/ hash block).

تتأكد خوارزمية إجماع إثبات العمل من أن المُعَدِّنين قادرون فقط على التحقق من كتلة جديدة من المعاملات وإضافتها إلى البلوكشين إذا كانت العقد الموزعة للشبكة قامت بالتوصل إلي توافق/إجماع على أن تجزئة الكتلة (hash block) التي يوفرها المُعَدِّن صالحة. 


إثبات الحصة - Proof of Stake أو PoS

تم تطوير خوارزمية إجماع إثبات الحصة في عام 2011 كبديل لخوارزمية إثبات العمل. على الرغم من أن إثبات الحصة (PoS) و إثبات العمل (PoW) تشتركان في أهداف متشابهة إلا أن لهما بعض الاختلافات والخصائص الأساسية، خاصة أثناء عملية التحقق من الكتل الجديدة.

بإختصار، تقوم خوارزمية إثبات الحصة بإستبدال عملية التعدين في خوارزمية إثبات العمل بآلية يتم فيها التحقق من صحة الكتل وفقًا لحصة المشاركين. يتم تحديد المدقق الخاص بكل كتلة و المعروف أيضا بإسم (Forger أو Minter) عن طريق القيام باستثمار بإستخدام العملة الرقمية نفسها وليس بواسطة مقدار الطاقة الحاسوبية المخصصة. قد يقوم كل نظام يستخدم إثبات الحصة بتنفيذ الخوارزمية بطرق مختلفة ولكن بشكل عام، يتم تأمين البلوكشين من خلال عملية انتخابية شبه عشوائية تأخذ بعين الاعتبار ثروة العقدة و عُمر العملة (المدة التي يتم فيها تخزين او قفل العملات) إلى جانب عامل العشوائية.

في الوقت الحالي تعتمد بلوكشين الإيثيريوم على خوارزمية إثبات العمل (PoW) لكن سيتم إصدار بروتوكول Casper في النهاية لتبديل الشبكة من خوارزمية إثبات العمل (PoW) إلى خوارزمية إثبات الحصة (PoS) في محاولة لزيادة قابلية التوسع في الشبكة.


لماذا تكون خوارزميات الإجماع مهمة بالنسبة للعملات الرقمية؟

كما ذكرنا سابقاً، فإن خوارزميات الإجماع ضرورية للحفاظ على سلامة وأمن شبكة العملة الرقمية. فإنها توفر وسيلة للعقد الموزعة للتوصل الى توافق في الآراء/إجماع على معرفة أي إصدار من البلوكشين هو الحقيقي. فالإتفاق على حالة البلوكشين الحالية هو أمر ضروري لنظام اقتصادي رقمي حتى يعمل بشكل صحيح.

تعتبر خوارزمية إجماع إثبات العمل من أفضل الحلول لمشكلة الجنرالات البيزنطيين مما سمح بإنشاء البيتكوين كنظام متسامح للخطأ البيزنطي. وهذا يعني أن بلوكشين البيتكوين مقاوم للغاية للهجمات مثل الهجوم بنسبة 51٪ المعروف أيضا بإسم (هجوم الأغلبية). ليس فقط لأن الشبكة لامركزية ولكن أيضا بسبب إستخدام خوارزمية إثبات العمل (PoW) لأن التكاليف الباهظة التي تنطوي عليها عملية التعدين تجعل من الصعب للغاية ومن غير المرجح أن يستثمر المُعَدِّنين مواردهم لتعطيل الشبكة.

Loading

What Is a Blockchain Consensus Algorithm?

Share
What Is a Blockchain Consensus Algorithm?

In the context of cryptocurrencies, the consensus algorithms are a crucial element of every blockchain network as they are responsible for maintaining the integrity and security of these distributed systems. The first cryptocurrency consensus algorithm to be created was the Proof of Work (PoW), which was designed by Satoshi Nakamoto and implemented on Bitcoin as a way to overcome the Byzantine faults.


Consensus Algorithm

A consensus algorithm may be defined as the mechanism through which a blockchain network reach consensus. Public (decentralized) blockchains are built as distributed systems and, since they do not rely on a central authority, the distributed nodes need to agree on the validity of transactions. This is where consensus algorithms come into play. They assure that the protocol rules are being followed and guarantee that all transactions occur in a trustless way, so the coins are only able to be spent once. 

Before we dive into the types of consensus algorithms, it is important to understand the differences between an algorithm and a protocol.


Consensus Algorithm vs Protocol

The term algorithm and protocol are often used interchangeably, but they are not the same thing. In simple terms, we may define a protocol as the primary rules of a blockchain and the algorithm as the mechanism through which these rules will be followed. 

Besides being extensively used on financial systems, the blockchain technology can be applied to a wide variety of businesses and may be suitable for different use cases. But regardless of the context, a blockchain network will be built on top of a protocol that will define how the system is supposed to work, so all the different parts of the system and all participants of the network will need to follow the rules of the underlying protocol.

While the protocol determines what the rules are, the algorithm tells the system what steps to take in order to comply with these rules and produce the desired results. For instance, the consensus algorithm of a blockchain is what determines the validity of transactions and blocks. So, Bitcoin and Ethereum are protocols while the Proof of Work and Proof of Stake are their consensus algorithms.

To further illustrate, consider that the Bitcoin protocol defines how the nodes should interact, how the data should be transmitted between them, and what are the requirements for a successful block validation. On the other hand, the consensus algorithm is responsible for verifying the balances and signatures, confirming transactions, and for actually executing the validation of blocks - and all this is dependent on network consensus.


Different Types of Consensus Algorithms

There are several types of consensus algorithms. The most common implementations are PoW and PoS. Each one has its own advantages and disadvantages when trying to balance security with functionality and scalability.


Proof of Work (PoW)

PoW was the first consensus algorithm to be created. It is employed by Bitcoin and many other cryptocurrencies. The Proof of Work algorithm is an essential part of the mining process

The PoW mining involves numerous hashing attempts, so more computational power means more trials per second. In other words, miners with a high hash rate have better chances to find a valid solution for the next block (aka. block hash). The PoW consensus algorithm makes sure that miners are only able to validate a new block of transactions and add it to the blockchain if the distributed nodes of the network reach consensus and agree that the block hash provided by the miner is a valid proof of work.


Proof of Stake (PoS)

The PoS consensus algorithm was developed in 2011 as an alternative to PoW. Although PoS and PoW share similar goals, they present some fundamental differences and particularities. Especially during the validation of new blocks.

In a few words, the Proof of Stake consensus algorithm replaces the PoW mining with a mechanism where blocks are validated according to the stake of the participants. The validator of each block (also called forger or minter) is determined by an investment of the cryptocurrency itself and not by the amount of computational power allocated. Each PoS system may implement the algorithm in different ways, but in general, the blockchain is secured by a pseudo-random election process that considers the node’s wealth and the coins age (how long the coins are being locked or staked) - along with a randomization factor.

The Ethereum blockchain is currently based on a PoW algorithm, but the Casper protocol will eventually be released to switch the network from PoW to PoS in an attempt to increase the network’s scalability.


Why Consensus Algorithms Matter to Cryptocurrencies

As previously mentioned, the consensus algorithms are crucial for maintaining the integrity and security of a cryptocurrency network. They provide a means of distributed nodes reaching consensus on which version of the blockchain is the real one. Agreeing upon the current blockchain state is essential for a digital economic system to work properly. 

The Proof of Work consensus algorithm is considered one of the best solutions to the Byzantine Generals’ Problem, which allowed the creation of Bitcoin as a Byzantine Fault Tolerant system. This means that the Bitcoin blockchain is highly resistant to attacks, such as the 51% attack (or majority attack). Not only because the network is decentralized but also because of the PoW algorithm. The high costs involved in the process of mining makes it very difficult and unlikely that miners will invest their resources to disrupt the network.

Loading