ما هو التوقيع الرقمي؟

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
ما هو التوقيع الرقمي؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

التوقيع الرقمي هو آلية تشفير تستخدم للتحقق من صحة وسلامة البيانات الرقمية. قد نعتبرها نسخة رقمية من التواقيع المكتوبة بخط اليد العادية ولكن مع مستويات أعلى من التعقيد والأمان.

بعبارات بسيطة، قد نصف التوقيع الرقمي باعتباره رمزًا مرفقًا برسالة أو مستند. بعد الإنشاء تعمل الشفرة او الرمز كدليل على أن الرسالة لم يتم العبث بها على طول الطريق من المرسل إلى المتلقي.

على الرغم من أن مفهوم تأمين الاتصالات باستخدام التشفير يعود إلى العصور القديمة، أصبحت مخططات التوقيع الرقمي حقيقة ممكنة في السبعينيات ويرجع ذلك الفضل لتطوير تشفير المفتاح العام (PKC). لذلك لمعرفة كيفية عمل التوقيعات الرقمية نحتاج أولاً إلى فهم أساسيات وظائف التجزئة وتشفير المفتاح العام.


دالات/وظائف التجزئة (Hash Functions)

يعتبر الـ Hashing هو أحد العناصر الأساسية لنظام التوقيع الرقمي. تتضمن عملية التجزئة تحويل البيانات من أي حجم إلى إخراج ذي حجم ثابت. يتم ذلك عن طريق نوع خاص من الخوارزميات المعروفة باسم وظائف التجزئة (Hash Functions). يُعرف الإخراج الذي تم إنشاؤه بواسطة دالة هاش بقيمة تجزئة أو ملخص الرسالة.

عند دمجها مع التشفير يمكن استخدام ما يسمى بوظائف تجزئة التشفير لإنشاء قيمة تجزئة (ملخص) تعمل كبصمة رقمية فريدة. هذا يعني أن أي تغيير في بيانات الإدخال (رسالة) قد ينتج عنه إخراج مختلف تمامًا (قيمة التجزئة). وهذا هو السبب في أن وظائف تجزئة التشفير تستخدم على نطاق واسع للتحقق من صحة البيانات الرقمية.


تشفير المفتاح العام (PKC)

تشفير المفتاح العام أو PKC إلى نظام تشفير يستخدم زوج من المفاتيح: مفتاح عام واحد ومفتاح خاص واحد. يرتبط المفتاحان رياضيا ويمكن استخدامهما لتشفير البيانات والتوقيعات الرقمية.

تعتبر PKC كأداة تشفير أكثر أمانًا من الطرق البدائية للتشفير المتماثل. في حين تعتمد الأنظمة الأقدم على نفس المفتاح لتشفير المعلومات وفك تشفيرها، فإن PKC تسمح بتشفير البيانات باستخدام المفتاح العمومي وفك تشفير البيانات باستخدام المفتاح الخاص المقابل.

بخلاف ذلك، قد يتم تطبيق نظام PKC أيضًا في توليد التوقيعات الرقمية. تتكون العملية من تجزئة رسالة (أو بيانات رقمية) جنبًا إلى جنب مع المفتاح الخاص لمن قام بالتوقيع بعد ذلك يمكن لمستلم الرسالة التحقق مما إذا كان التوقيع صالحًا باستخدام المفتاح العمومي الذي يوفره الموقع.

في بعض المواقف قد تتضمن التوقيعات الرقمية تشفيرًا لكن هذا ليس هو الحال دائمًا. على سبيل المثال، يستخدم بلوكشين البيتكوين نظام الـ PKC والتوقيعات الرقمية ولكن لا يوجد تشفير في هذه العملية على عكس ما يعتقد العديد من الناس. من الناحية الفنية، يقوم البيتكوين بنشر ما يسمى بخوارزمية Elliptic Curve Digital Signature أو (ECDSA) لمصادقة المعاملات.


طريقة عمل التوقيعات الرقمية

في مجال العملات الرقمية غالبًا ما يتكون نظام التوقيع الرقمي من ثلاث خطوات أساسية: التجزئة (Hashing) والتوقيع (Signing) والتحقق (Verifying).

تجزئة البيانات

الخطوة الأولى هي تجزئة الرسالة أو البيانات الرقمية. يتم ذلك عن طريق مرور البيانات من خلال خوارزمية تجزئة بحيث يتم إنشاء قيمة تجزئة (أي ملخص الرسالة). كما ذكرنا سابقا، يمكن أن تختلف الرسائل اختلافًا كبيرًا في الحجم لكن عندما يتم تجزئتها يكون لكل قيم التجزئة نفس الطول. وهذه هي الخاصية الأساسية لوظيفة التجزئة.

ومع ذلك فإن تجزئة البيانات ليست ضرورية لإنتاج توقيع رقمي لأنه يمكن استخدام مفتاح خاص لتوقيع رسالة لم يتم تجزئةها مطلقًا. ولكن بالنسبة للعملات الرقمية، يتم تجزئة البيانات دائمًا لأن التعامل مع بيانات ذات طول ثابت يسهل العملية بأكملها.

التوقيع

بعدما يتم تجزئة المعلومات، يحتاج مرسل الرسالة إلى التوقيع عليها. هذه هي اللحظة التي يأتي فيها دور تشفير المفتاح العام. هناك عدة أنواع من خوارزميات التوقيع الرقمي ولكل منها آلية خاصة تعمل بها. ولكن في الأساس يتم توقيع رسالة التجزئة باستخدام مفتاح خاص ويمكن لمتلقي الرسالة بعد ذلك التحقق من صلاحيتها باستخدام المفتاح العام المتماثل (المقدم من قبل الموقِّع).

بمعنى اخر، إذا لم يتم تضمين المفتاح الخاص عند إنشاء التوقيع، فلن يتمكن مستلم الرسالة من استخدام المفتاح العام المتماثل للتحقق من صحته. يتم إنشاء كل من المفاتيح العامة والخاصة بواسطة مرسل الرسالة ولكن يتم مشاركة المفتاح العام فقط مع مستقبل الرسالة.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن التوقيعات الرقمية مرتبطة مباشرة بمحتوى كل رسالة. وذلك على عكس التوقيعات المكتوبة بخط اليد التي تميل إلى أن تكون هي نفسها بغض النظر عن الرسالة، فإن كل رسالة موقعة رقمياً سيكون لها توقيع رقمي مختلف.

التحقق

لنأخذ مثالاً لتوضيح العملية برمتها حتى الخطوة الأخيرة وهي التحقق. تخيل أن أليس تكتب رسالة إلى بوب بعدها يتم تجزئتها ثم تجمع قيمة التجزئة مع مفتاحها الخاص لإنشاء توقيع رقمي. سيعمل التوقيع كبصمة رقمية فريدة لتلك الرسالة.

عندما يتلقى بوب الرسالة، يمكنه التحقق من صحة التوقيع الرقمي باستخدام المفتاح العام الذي توفرة أليس وبهذه الطريقة يمكن أن يكون بوب متأكدًا من أن أليس هي من قامت بإنشاء التوقيع لأن لديها فقط المفتاح الخاص الذي يتوافق مع هذا المفتاح العام (على الأقل هذا ما نتوقعه).

لذلك من المهم لـ أليس أن تحتفظ بالمفتاح الخاص في مكان سري حيث أنه إذا قام شخص آخر بوضع يده على مفتاح أليس الخاص فيمكنه إنشاء توقيعات رقمية والتظاهر بأنه أليس (إنتحال شخصيتها). في سياق البيتكوين، يعني هذا أنه يمكن لأي شخص استخدام المفتاح الخاص بـ أليس لنقل أو إنفاق البيتكويين الخاص بها دون إذنها.


لماذا تكون التوقيعات الرقمية مهمة؟

غالبًا ما تستخدم التوقيعات الرقمية لتحقيق ثلاث نتائج و هي: سلامة البيانات و التوثيق وعدم النكران.

  • سلامة البيانات. يمكن أن يتحقق بوب من أن رسالة أليس لم تتغير بعد ارسالها حيث أن أي تعديل في الرسالة سينتج عنه توقيع مختلف تمامًا.
  • التوثيق. طالما تم الاحتفاظ بالمفتاح الخاص بـ أليس بطريقة امنة و سرية فيمكن لـ بوب استخدام المفتاح العام لتأكيد أن التوقيعات الرقمية تم إنشاؤها بواسطة أليس وليس أي شخص آخر.
  • عدم النكران. بمجرد إنشاء التوقيع لن تتمكن أليس نكران هذا التوقيع في المستقبل ما لم يتعرض مفتاحها الخاص للخطر.


حالات الإستخدام

يمكن تطبيق التوقيعات الرقمية على أنواع مختلفة من المستندات والشهادات الرقمية. وعلى هذا النحو يكون لديها العديد من التطبيقات. تتضمن بعض حالات الاستخدام الأكثر شيوعًا ما يلي:  

  • تكنولوجيا المعلومات. لتعزيز أمن أنظمة الاتصالات عبر الإنترنت.
  • المالية.  يمكن إستخدام التوقيعات الرقمية للتدقيق وتقارير النفقات واتفاقيات القروض وغير ذلك الكثير.
  • قانوني.  التوقيع الرقمي لجميع أنواع العقود التجارية والاتفاقيات القانونية بما في ذلك الأوراق الحكومية.
  • الرعاية الصحية. التوقيعات الرقمية يمكن أن تمنع الاحتيال في الوصفات والسجلات الطبية.
  • البلوكشين. تضمن أنظمة التوقيع الرقمي أن المالكين الشرعيين للعملات الرقمية فقط هم القادرون على التوقيع على معاملة لنقل الأموال (طالما أن مفاتيحهم الخاصة ليست معرضة للخطر).


القيود

تعتمد التحديات الرئيسية التي تواجه التوقيعات الرقمية على ثلاثة متطلبات على الأقل: 

  • الخوارزمية. تعتبر جودة الخوارزميات المستخدمة في أنظمة التوقيع الرقمي مهمة للغاية. يشمل ذلك إختيار وظائف التجزئة الموثوقة وأنظمة التشفير.
  • التنفيذ.  إذا كانت الخوارزميات جيدة لكن التنفيذ ليس كذلك فمن المحتمل أن يكون لدى نظام التوقيع الرقمي عيوبًا.
  • المفتاح الخاص. إذا تم تسريب المفاتيح الخاصة أو تعرضها للخطر بطريقة ما، فسيتم إبطال بعض الخصائص مثل عدم النكران و غيرها. بالنسبة لمستخدمي العملات الرقمية فقد يؤدي فقدان المفتاح الخاص إلى خسائر مالية كبيرة.


التوقيعات الإلكترونية و التوقيعات الرقمية

ببساطة، تتعلق التوقيعات الرقمية بنوع معين من التوقيعات الإلكترونية والتي تشير إلى أي طريقة إلكترونية لتوقيع المستندات والرسائل. وبالتالي فإن جميع التوقيعات الرقمية هي توقيعات إلكترونية ولكن العكس ليس صحيحًا دائمًا.

الفرق الرئيسي بينهما هو طريقة المصادقة. حيث أن التوقيعات الرقمية تقوم بإستخدام أنظمة التشفير مثل وظائف/دالات التجزئة وتشفير المفتاح العام وتقنيات التشفير.


أفكار ختامية

تعد وظائف التجزئة وتشفير المفتاح العام هي جوهر أنظمة التوقيعات الرقمية والتي يتم تطبيقها الآن على مجموعة واسعة من حالات الاستخدام. في حالة تنفيذها بشكل صحيح يمكن للتوقيعات الرقمية أن تزيد من الأمان وتضمن النزاهة وتسهل مصادقة جميع أنواع البيانات الرقمية.

في عالم البلوكشين، تُستخدم التوقيعات الرقمية للتوقيع على معاملات العملات الرقمية والتصريح بها. حيث أنها مهمة بشكل خاص في البيتكوين لأن التوقيعات تضمن أنه لا يمكن إنفاق العملات إلا من قبل الأفراد الذين يمتلكون المفاتيح الخاصة المقابلة.

على الرغم من أننا نستخدم كل من التواقيع الإلكترونية والرقمية لسنوات، إلا أنه لا يزال هناك مجال كبير للنمو. حيث أنه لا يزال جزء كبير من بيروقراطية اليوم تعتمد على الأعمال الورقية، لكن من المحتمل أن نرى المزيد من اعتماد الأنظمة التي تعمل بالتوقيع الرقمي أثناء انتقالنا إلى نظام رقمي أكثر.

Loading

What Is a Digital Signature?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
What Is a Digital Signature?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

A digital signature is a cryptographic mechanism used to verify the authenticity and integrity of digital data. We may consider it as a digital version of the ordinary handwritten signatures, but with higher levels of complexity and security.

In simple terms, we may describe a digital signature as a code that is attached to a message or document. After generated, the code acts as proof that the message hasn’t been tampered with along its way from sender to receiver.

Although the concept of securing communications using cryptography dates back to ancient times, digital signature schemes became a possible reality in the 1970s - thanks to the development of Public-Key Cryptography (PKC). So, to learn how digital signatures work, we need to first understand the basics of hash functions and public-key cryptography.


Hash functions

Hashing is one of the core elements of a digital signature system. The process of hashing involves transforming data of any size into a fixed-size output. This is done by a special kind of algorithms known as hash functions. The output generated by a hash function is known as a hash value or message digest.

When combined with cryptography, the so-called cryptographic hash functions can be used to generate a hash value (digest) that acts as a unique digital fingerprint. This means that any change in the input data (message) would result in a completely different output (hash value). And that’s the reason cryptographic hash functions are widely used for verifying the authenticity of digital data.


Public-key cryptography (PKC)

Public-key cryptography, or PKC, refers to a cryptographic system that makes use of a pair of keys: one public key and one private key. The two keys are mathematically related and can be used for both data encryption and digital signatures.

As an encryption tool, PKC is more secure than the more rudimentary methods of symmetric encryption. While older systems rely on the same key to encrypt and decrypt information, PKC allows for data encryption with the public key and data decryption with its corresponding private key.

Other than that, the PKC scheme may also be applied in the generation of digital signatures. In essence, the process consists of hashing a message (or digital data) along with the signer’s private key. Next, the recipient of the message can check if the signature is valid by using the public key provided by the signer.

In some situations, digital signatures may involve encryption, but that isn’t always the case. For instance, the Bitcoin blockchain makes use of PKC and digital signatures, but unlike many tend to believe, there is no encryption in the process. Technically, Bitcoin deploys the so-called Elliptic Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (ECDSA) to authenticate transactions.


How digital signatures work

In the context of cryptocurrencies, a digital signature system often consists of three basic steps: hashing, signing, and verifying.

Hashing the data

The first step is to hash the message or digital data. This is done by submitting the data through a hashing algorithm so that a hash value is generated (i.e., the message digest). As mentioned, the messages can vary significantly in size, but when they are hashed, all their hash values have the same length. This is the most basic property of a hash function.

However, hashing the data is not a must for producing a digital signature because one can use a private key to sign a message that wasn’t hashed at all. But for cryptocurrencies, the data is always hashed because dealing with fixed-length digests facilitates the whole process.

Signing

After the information is hashed, the sender of the message needs to sign it. This is the moment where public-key cryptography comes into play. There are several types of digital signature algorithms, each with its own particular mechanism. But essentially, the hashed message will be signed with a private key, and the receiver of the message can then check its validity by using the corresponding public key (provided by the signer).

Put in another way, if the private key is not included when the signature is generated, the receiver of the message won’t be able to use the corresponding public key to verify its validity. Both public and private keys are generated by the sender of the message, but only the public key is shared with the receiver.

It’s worth noting that digital signatures are directly related to the content of each message. So unlike handwritten signatures, that tend to be the same regardless of the message, each digitally signed message will have a different digital signature.

Verifying

Let’s take an example to illustrate the whole process until the final step of verification. Imagine that Alice writes a message to Bob, hashes it, and then combines the hash value with her private key to generate a digital signature. The signature will work as a unique digital fingerprint of that particular message.

When Bob receives the message, he can check the validity of the digital signature by using the public key provided by Alice. This way, Bob can be sure that the signature was created by Alice because only she has the private key that corresponds to that public key (at least that’s what we expect).

So, it’s crucial for Alice to keep her private key in secret. If another person gets their hands on Alice’s private key, they can create digital signatures and pretend to be Alice. In the context of Bitcoin, this means someone could use Alice’s private key to move or spend her Bitcoins without her permission.


Why are digital signatures important?

Digital signatures are often used to achieve three results: data integrity, authentication, and non-repudiation.

  • Data integrity. Bob can verify that Alice’s message wasn’t changed along its way. Any modification in the message would produce a completely different signature.
  • Authenticity. As long as Alice’s private key is kept in secret, Bob can use her public key to confirm that the digital signatures were created by Alice and no one else.
  • Non-repudiation. Once the signature has been generated, Alice won’t be able to deny having signed it in the future, unless her private key gets somehow compromised.


Use cases

Digital signatures can be applied to various kinds of digital documents and certificates. As such, they have several applications. Some of the most common use cases include:  

  • Information Technology. To enhance the security of Internet communication systems.
  • Finance. Digital signatures can be implemented to audits, expense reports, loan agreements, and much more.
  • Legal. Digital signing of all sorts of business contracts and legal agreements, including governmental papers.
  • Healthcare. Digital signatures can prevent fraud of prescriptions and medical records.
  • Blockchain. Digital signature schemes ensure that only the rightful owners of the cryptocurrencies are able to sign a transaction to move the funds (as long as their private keys aren’t compromised).


Limitations

The major challenges faced by digital signature schemes rely on at least three requirements: 

  • Algorithm. The quality of the algorithms used in a digital signature scheme is important. This includes the choice of reliable hash functions and cryptographic systems.
  • Implementation. If the algorithms are good, but the implementation is not, the digital signature system will likely present flaws.
  • Private Key. If the private keys get leaked or somehow compromised, the properties of authenticity and non-repudiation will be invalidated. For cryptocurrency users, losing a private key may result in significant financial losses.


Electronic signatures vs. digital signatures

Simply put, digital signatures relate to one particular kind of electronic signatures - which refer to any electronic method of signing documents and messages. Thus, all digital signatures are electronic signatures, but the opposite isn’t always true.

The main difference between them is the authentication method. Digital signatures deploy cryptographic systems, such as hash functions, public-key cryptography, and encryption techniques.


Closing thoughts

Hash functions and public-key cryptography are at the core of digital signature systems, which are now applied to a wide range of use cases. If properly implemented, digital signatures can increase security, ensure integrity, and facilitate the authentication of all kinds of digital data.

In the blockchain realm, digital signatures are used to sign and authorize cryptocurrency transactions. They are particularly important for Bitcoin because the signatures ensure that coins can only be spent by the individuals that possess the corresponding private keys.

Although we’ve been using both electronic and digital signatures for years, there is still a lot of room for growth. A great portion of today’s bureaucracy is still based on paperwork, but we will likely see more adoption of digital signature schemes as we migrate to a more digitalized system.

Loading