什么是数字签名?

分享
Copied to clipboard!
什么是数字签名?

数字签名是用于验证数字和数据真实性和完整性的加密机制。我们可以将其视为传统手写签名方式的数字化版本,并且相比于签字具有更高的复杂性和安全性。

简而言之,我们可以将数字签名理解为附加到消息或文档中的代码。在生成数字签名之后,其可以作为证明消息从发送方到接收方的传输过程中没有被篡改的证据。

虽然使用密码学保护通信机密性的概念可以追溯到古代,但随着公钥密码学(PKC)的发展,数字签名方案在20世纪70年代才成为现实。因此,要了解数字签名的工作原理,我们首先需要了解散列函数和公钥加密的基础知识。


散列函数

哈希是数字签名中的核心要素之一。哈希值的运算过程是指将任意长度的数据转换为固定长度。这是通过称为散列函数的特殊运算实现的。经过散列函数运算而生成的值称为哈希值或消息摘要。

当哈希值与加密算法相结合,即使用加密散列函数的方法来生成散列值(摘要),该值可作为唯一的数字指纹。这意味着对于输入数据(消息)的任何更改都会导致有完全不同的输出值(散列值)。这就是加密散列函数被广泛用于验证数字和数据真实性的原因。


公钥加密(PKC)

公钥加密或PKC是指使用一对密钥的加密系统:公钥和私钥。这两个密钥在数学上是相关的,可用于数据加密和数字签名。

作为一种加密工具,PKC相比于对称加密具有更高的安全性。对称加密系统依赖于相同的密钥进行加密和解密信息,但PKC则使用公钥进行数据加密,并使用相应的私钥进行数据解密。

除此之外,PKC还可以应用于生成数字签名。本质上,该过程发送方使用自己的私钥对消息(数据)的哈希值进行加密。接下来,消息的接收者可以使用签名者提供的公钥来检查该数字签名是否有效。

在某些情况下,数字签名本身可能包括了加密的过程,但并非总是这样。例如,比特币区块链使用PKC和数字签名,而并不像大多数人所认为的,这个过程中并没有进行加密。从技术上讲,比特币又部署了所谓的椭圆曲线数字签名算法(ECDSA)来验证交易。


数字签名的工作原理

在加密货币的背景下,数字签名系统通常包含三个基本流程:散列、签名和验证。

对数据进行散列

第一步是对消息或数据进行散列。通过散列算法对数据进行运算,生成哈希值(即消息摘要)来完成的。如上所述,消息的长度可能会有很大差异,但是当消息被散列后,它们的哈希值都具有相同的长度。这是散列函数的最基本属性。

但是,仅仅将消息进行散列并不是生成数字签名的必要条件,因为也可以使用私钥对没有进行过散列的消息进行加密。但对于加密货币,消息是需要经过散列函数处理的,因为处理固定长度的哈希值有助于加密货币的程序运行。

签名

对信息进行散列处理后,消息的发件人需要对其消息进行签名。这里就用到了公钥密码学。有几种类型的数字签名算法,每种算法都有自己独特的运行机制。本质上,都是使用私钥对经过散列的消息(哈希值)进行签名,然后消息的接收者可以使用相应的公钥(由签名者提供)来检查其有效性。

换句话说,如果在生成签名时不使用私钥,则消息的接收者将不能使用相应的公钥来验证其有效性。公钥和私钥都是由消息的发送者生成的,但仅将公钥共享给接收者。

需要注意的是,数字签名与每条消息的内容相关联。因此,与手写签名所不同,每条消息的数字签名都是不同的。

验证

让我们举一个例子说明下整个过程,包括从开始直到最后一步的验证。我们假设Alice向Bob发送一条消息、并将该消息进行散列得到哈希值,然后将哈希值与她的私钥结合起来生成数字签名。数字签名将作为该消息的唯一数字指纹。

当Bob收到消息时,他可以使用Alice提供的公钥来检查数字签名的有效性。这样,Bob可以确定签名是由Alice创建的,因为只有她拥有与该公钥所对应的私钥(至少这与我们所假设的一致)。

因此,Alice需要保管好私钥至关重要。如果另一个人拿到了Alice的私钥,他们就同样可以创建数字签名并伪装成Alice。在比特币的背景下,这意味着有人可以使用Alice的私钥,并可在未经她知晓的情况下转移或使用她的比特币。


为什么数字签名很重要?

数字签名通常用于实现以下三方面目标:数据完整性、身份验证和不可否认性。

  • 数据完整性。Bob可以验证Alice的消息是否发生了篡改。消息中的任何变动都会产生完全不同的数字签名。
  • 真实性。只要Alice将其私钥保管好,Bob就可以使用她的公钥来确认数字签名是由Alice本人所创建的,而非其他人所为。
  • 不可否认性。生成签名后,Alice将来无法否认签名该签名,除非她的私钥以某种方式泄露出去。


案例

数字签名可以应用于各种数字文档和证书。因此,他们有几个应用程序。一些最常见的案例包括:

  • 信息技术。增强互联网通信系统的安全性。
  • 金融。数字签名可以应用于审计、财务报告、贷款协议等等。
  • 法律。数字签名可以应用于各种商业合同和法律协议,包括政府文件。
  • 卫生保健。数字签名可以防止处方和医疗记录的欺诈。
  • Blockchain。数字签名方案确保只有加密货币的合法所有者才能签署交易,并移动资金(只要他们的私钥不受侵害)。


局限性

数字签名方案面临的主要挑战主要局限于以下三方面因素:

  • 算法。数字签名方案中使用的算法对质量要求很高。其中包括可靠的散列函数和加密系统的选择。
  • 实施。如果算法很完备,但却没有一个良好的实施方案,数字签名系统也可能会出现隐患。
  • 私钥。如果私钥丢失或以某种方式泄露,则真实性和不可否认性将得不到保证。对于加密货币用户而言,丢失私钥可能会导致重大的财产损失。


电子签名与数字签名

简而言之,数字签名可以理解为是一种特定类型的电子签名,特指使用电子化的方式签署文档和消息。因此,所有数字签名都可认为是电子签名,但反之并非如此。

它们之间的主要区别在于身份验证方式。数字签名需要部署加密系统,例如散列函数、公钥加密和加密技术。


总结

散列函数和公钥加密是数字签名系统的核心,现已在各种案例中使用。如果实施得当,数字签名可以提高安全性,确保完整性,便于对各类数据进行身份验证。

在区块链领域,数字签名用于签署和授权加密货币交易。它们对比特币尤为重要,因为数字签名能够确保代币只能由拥有相应私钥的人使用。

虽然我们多年来一直使用电子和数字签名,但仍有很大的发展空间。如今大部分的公文仍然还是基于纸质材料,但随着更多的系统迁移到数字化中,我们还会看到更多的数字签名方案。

Loading

What Is a Digital Signature?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
What Is a Digital Signature?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

A digital signature is a cryptographic mechanism used to verify the authenticity and integrity of digital data. We may consider it as a digital version of the ordinary handwritten signatures, but with higher levels of complexity and security.

In simple terms, we may describe a digital signature as a code that is attached to a message or document. After generated, the code acts as proof that the message hasn’t been tampered with along its way from sender to receiver.

Although the concept of securing communications using cryptography dates back to ancient times, digital signature schemes became a possible reality in the 1970s - thanks to the development of Public-Key Cryptography (PKC). So, to learn how digital signatures work, we need to first understand the basics of hash functions and public-key cryptography.


Hash functions

Hashing is one of the core elements of a digital signature system. The process of hashing involves transforming data of any size into a fixed-size output. This is done by a special kind of algorithms known as hash functions. The output generated by a hash function is known as a hash value or message digest.

When combined with cryptography, the so-called cryptographic hash functions can be used to generate a hash value (digest) that acts as a unique digital fingerprint. This means that any change in the input data (message) would result in a completely different output (hash value). And that’s the reason cryptographic hash functions are widely used for verifying the authenticity of digital data.


Public-key cryptography (PKC)

Public-key cryptography, or PKC, refers to a cryptographic system that makes use of a pair of keys: one public key and one private key. The two keys are mathematically related and can be used for both data encryption and digital signatures.

As an encryption tool, PKC is more secure than the more rudimentary methods of symmetric encryption. While older systems rely on the same key to encrypt and decrypt information, PKC allows for data encryption with the public key and data decryption with its corresponding private key.

Other than that, the PKC scheme may also be applied in the generation of digital signatures. In essence, the process consists of hashing a message (or digital data) along with the signer’s private key. Next, the recipient of the message can check if the signature is valid by using the public key provided by the signer.

In some situations, digital signatures may involve encryption, but that isn’t always the case. For instance, the Bitcoin blockchain makes use of PKC and digital signatures, but unlike many tend to believe, there is no encryption in the process. Technically, Bitcoin deploys the so-called Elliptic Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (ECDSA) to authenticate transactions.


How digital signatures work

In the context of cryptocurrencies, a digital signature system often consists of three basic steps: hashing, signing, and verifying.

Hashing the data

The first step is to hash the message or digital data. This is done by submitting the data through a hashing algorithm so that a hash value is generated (i.e., the message digest). As mentioned, the messages can vary significantly in size, but when they are hashed, all their hash values have the same length. This is the most basic property of a hash function.

However, hashing the data is not a must for producing a digital signature because one can use a private key to sign a message that wasn’t hashed at all. But for cryptocurrencies, the data is always hashed because dealing with fixed-length digests facilitates the whole process.

Signing

After the information is hashed, the sender of the message needs to sign it. This is the moment where public-key cryptography comes into play. There are several types of digital signature algorithms, each with its own particular mechanism. But essentially, the hashed message will be signed with a private key, and the receiver of the message can then check its validity by using the corresponding public key (provided by the signer).

Put in another way, if the private key is not included when the signature is generated, the receiver of the message won’t be able to use the corresponding public key to verify its validity. Both public and private keys are generated by the sender of the message, but only the public key is shared with the receiver.

It’s worth noting that digital signatures are directly related to the content of each message. So unlike handwritten signatures, that tend to be the same regardless of the message, each digitally signed message will have a different digital signature.

Verifying

Let’s take an example to illustrate the whole process until the final step of verification. Imagine that Alice writes a message to Bob, hashes it, and then combines the hash value with her private key to generate a digital signature. The signature will work as a unique digital fingerprint of that particular message.

When Bob receives the message, he can check the validity of the digital signature by using the public key provided by Alice. This way, Bob can be sure that the signature was created by Alice because only she has the private key that corresponds to that public key (at least that’s what we expect).

So, it’s crucial for Alice to keep her private key in secret. If another person gets their hands on Alice’s private key, they can create digital signatures and pretend to be Alice. In the context of Bitcoin, this means someone could use Alice’s private key to move or spend her Bitcoins without her permission.


Why are digital signatures important?

Digital signatures are often used to achieve three results: data integrity, authentication, and non-repudiation.

  • Data integrity. Bob can verify that Alice’s message wasn’t changed along its way. Any modification in the message would produce a completely different signature.
  • Authenticity. As long as Alice’s private key is kept in secret, Bob can use her public key to confirm that the digital signatures were created by Alice and no one else.
  • Non-repudiation. Once the signature has been generated, Alice won’t be able to deny having signed it in the future, unless her private key gets somehow compromised.


Use cases

Digital signatures can be applied to various kinds of digital documents and certificates. As such, they have several applications. Some of the most common use cases include:  

  • Information Technology. To enhance the security of Internet communication systems.
  • Finance. Digital signatures can be implemented to audits, expense reports, loan agreements, and much more.
  • Legal. Digital signing of all sorts of business contracts and legal agreements, including governmental papers.
  • Healthcare. Digital signatures can prevent fraud of prescriptions and medical records.
  • Blockchain. Digital signature schemes ensure that only the rightful owners of the cryptocurrencies are able to sign a transaction to move the funds (as long as their private keys aren’t compromised).


Limitations

The major challenges faced by digital signature schemes rely on at least three requirements: 

  • Algorithm. The quality of the algorithms used in a digital signature scheme is important. This includes the choice of reliable hash functions and cryptographic systems.
  • Implementation. If the algorithms are good, but the implementation is not, the digital signature system will likely present flaws.
  • Private Key. If the private keys get leaked or somehow compromised, the properties of authenticity and non-repudiation will be invalidated. For cryptocurrency users, losing a private key may result in significant financial losses.


Electronic signatures vs. digital signatures

Simply put, digital signatures relate to one particular kind of electronic signatures - which refer to any electronic method of signing documents and messages. Thus, all digital signatures are electronic signatures, but the opposite isn’t always true.

The main difference between them is the authentication method. Digital signatures deploy cryptographic systems, such as hash functions, public-key cryptography, and encryption techniques.


Closing thoughts

Hash functions and public-key cryptography are at the core of digital signature systems, which are now applied to a wide range of use cases. If properly implemented, digital signatures can increase security, ensure integrity, and facilitate the authentication of all kinds of digital data.

In the blockchain realm, digital signatures are used to sign and authorize cryptocurrency transactions. They are particularly important for Bitcoin because the signatures ensure that coins can only be spent by the individuals that possess the corresponding private keys.

Although we’ve been using both electronic and digital signatures for years, there is still a lot of room for growth. A great portion of today’s bureaucracy is still based on paperwork, but we will likely see more adoption of digital signature schemes as we migrate to a more digitalized system.

Loading