ما هي شبكة البرق (Lightning Network) ؟

مشاركة
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

تم إنشاء شبكة البرق (Lightning Network) أو (LN) كمفهوم من قبل جوزيف بون و ثاديوس فريجا في عام 2015. الفكرة الرئيسية وراء المشروع هي تصميم بروتوكول دفع يمكن استخدامه كحل لمشكلة التوسع التي تواجهها بلوكشين البيتكوين و لكن قد يتم تطبيق هذا المفهوم على العملات الرقمية الأخرى أيضا.

تم التوصل لمقدمة شبكة البرق بسبب القيود التي يواجهها البيتكوين و العديد من العملات الرقمية الأخرى. في الوقت الحالي بلوكشين البيتكوين قادرة على اتمام من 2 الى 7 معاملات في الثانية (TPS) و مع نمو نظام العملات الرقمية و انضمام المزيد من الأشخاص الى الشبكة  يزداد أيضًا عدد المعاملات التي يتم بثها إلى البلوكشين. مع ازدياد ازدحام الشبكة يتناقص الأداء العام مما يقلل بشكل كبير من قابلية الاستخدام العملي للبيتكوين كعملة رقمية عالمية. لهذا السبب تم إنشاء LN كمحاولة للتخفيف من ازدحام شبكة بلوكشين البيتكوين.


كيف تعمل؟

تتكون شبكة البرق من شبكة نقل خارجية يتم بناؤها فوق بلوكشين البيتكوين. يعمل النظام على مستوى ند لند (P2P) وتعتمد سهولة استخدامه على إنشاء ما يسمى بقنوات الدفع ثنائية الاتجاه و التي من خلالها يمكن للمستخدمين إجراء معاملات عملات رقمية مستمرة. 

بعد أن يقرر الطرفان فتح قناة دفع, يتمكنان من نقل الأموال ذهابًا وإيابًا عبر محافظهما. على الرغم من أن عملية إنشاء قناة دفع جديدة تنطوي على معاملة متسلسلة إلا أن جميع المعاملات التي تتم داخل القناة تكون خارج السلسلة ولا تتطلب توافقًا عالميًا. لذلك، يمكن تنفيذ 

هذه المعاملات بسرعة من خلال عقد ذكي وتحمل رسوم أقل بكثير ومعدل معاملات في الثانية (TPS) أعلى بكثير.

لفتح قناة دفع, يتعين على الطرفين المعنيين إنشاء محفظة متعددة التوقيع وإضافة بعض الأموال إليها. الأموال التي يتم تخزينها في المحافظ متعددة التوقيع لا يمكن الوصول لها إلا إذا تم توفير المفاتيح الخاصة لكلا الطرفين (اثنان أو أكثر، يتوقف على الحالة).

وهذا يعني أنه لا يمكن لأحد الأطراف فتح المحفظة دون موافقة الطرف الآخر.

على سبيل المثال, دعنا نتخيل أن أليس تريد استخدام شبكة البرق لتبادل البيتكوين مع بوب. أولاً، يقومون بإعداد قناة دفع باستخدام محفظة متعددة التوقيع.في حين أن قناة الدفع تعمل مثل عقد ذكي, تعمل المحفظة متعددة التوقيع مثل خزنة حيث يتم إيداع الأموال التي يتم تداولها بها. طوال عمر قناة الدفع يمكن لأليس وبوب إجراء العديد من المعاملات خارج السلسلة كما يريدون.

يقوم كل من أليس وبوب بتوقيع وتحديث نسختهما الخاصة من الميزانية العمومية مباشرة بعد كل معاملة والتي تسجل كمية العملات لكل واحدة منها. عندما تنتهي معاملاتهم يمكنهم إغلاق قناة الدفع وبث الميزانية النهائية إلى بلوكشين البيتكوين. سيضمن عقد شبكة البرق الذكي حصولهم على البيتكوين الخاص بهم وفقًا للإصدار الأخير من الميزانية العمومية.
بإختصار, الأطراف المعنية تحتاج فقط إلى التفاعل مرتين مع بلوكشين البيتكوين. مرة لفتح قناة الدفع مرة أخرى لإغلاقها, مما يعني أن جميع المعاملات الأخرى التي تتم داخل القناة لا تتفاعل مباشرة مع السلسلة الرئيسية.


توجيه الشبكة ( Network Routing )

حتى إذا لم يكن لدى الطرفين قناة دفع مباشر فسيظل بإمكانهم إرسال واستلام البيتكوين من خلال قنوات الدفع المترابطة. هذا يعني أن أليس قادرة على إرسال دفعات إلي تشارلي دون الحاجة إلى إنشاء قناة مباشرة معه. طالما أن هناك مسار شبكة بينهما يحتوي على رصيد كافٍ. لذلك إذا كانت قناة أليس تحتوي على قناة دفع مفتوحة مع بوب, و بوب لديه قناة دفع مع تشارلي,  يمكنها إرسال الدفعة عبر بوب. 

قد يتضمن توجيه الدفع العديد من عقد شبكة البرق (Lightning Network) ولكن سوف يبحث العقد الذكي تلقائيًا عن أقصر مسار متوفر.


مزايا شبكة البرق

  • يعمل مشروع شبكة البرق على حل لمشكلة التوسع خارج السلسلة إذا نجحت فقد يقلل من حركة المرور على بلوكشين البيتكوين.

  • من خلال استخدام قنوات الدفع ثنائية الاتجاه,  تسمح شبكة البرق بإجراء معاملات فورية تقريبًا.

  • قد تكون شبكة البرق مناسبة لعمليات الدفع الصغيرة.  حيث يسمح بنقل قيم صغيرة مثل 1 ساتوشي. علاوة على ذلك ، يمكن تنفيذ الدفعات التلقائية من جهاز إلى جهاز, حيث تتم المعاملات بين الأجهزة الإلكترونية دون الحاجة إلى تدخل الإنسان.


قيود شبكة البرق

  • لا يمكن إتمام دفعات شبكة البرق إذا كان المستلم غير متصل بالشبكة.

  • قد يحتاج المشاركون في الشبكة إلى مراقبة قنوات الدفع بانتظام للحفاظ على أرصدتهم (يمكن التغلب على مثل هذه المخاطر من خلال خدمات مراقبة خارجية).

  • شبكة البرق غير مناسبة للدفعات الكبيرة نظرًا لأن الشبكة تضم العديد من المحافظ متعددة التوقيع (وهي عبارة عن محافظ مشتركة) لذا فهناك احتمالية كبيرة بأن هذه الحسابات لن يكون لديها رصيد كافي للقيام بدور الوسيط في الدفعات الكبيرة.

  • يشمل فتح وإغلاق قناة الدفع معاملة على السلسلة والتي تتطلب عادةً عمل يدوي رسوم معاملات مرتفعة.


متى يتم تطبيق شبكة البرق؟

إذا أخذنا في الاعتبار الإصدار التجريبي من ال mainnet الذي أعلنته شركة Lightning Labs, فإن تاريخ إصدار شبكة البرق كان 15 مارس عام 2018, و مع ذلك الإصدار الرسمي لم يأت حتى الان لأنها لم يتم تطبيقها بشكل فعال أعلى بلوكشين البيتكوين.

منذ صدور الإصدار التجريبي حدثت زيادة كبيرة في عدد عقد وقنوات دفع شبكة البرق. اعتبارًا من نوفمبر 2018 أبلغت Grafana عن أكثر من 12500 قناة دفع.

إن العمل الجماعي للعقد وقنوات الدفع هو ما يجعل شبكة البرق حلًا مثيرًا لمشكلة التوسع ولقد مرت النسخة التجريبية بالكثير من التجارب ولم تثبت فعاليتها بعد. و مع ذلك فإن شبكة البرق لديها إمكانية هائلة لتحسين نظام البيتكوين و العملات الرقمية.

Loading

What is Lightning Network?

28.11.2018

The Lightning Network (LN) as a concept was created by Joseph Poon and Thaddeus Dryja in 2015. The main idea behind the project is to design a payment protocol that can be used as an off-chain solution for the scalability problem faced by the Bitcoin blockchain, but the concept may be applied to other Cryptocurrencies as well.

The introduction of the Lightning Network was triggered by the limitations that not only Bitcoin but by many other cryptocurrencies are facing. Currently, the Bitcoin blockchain is only able to process from 2 to 7 transactions per second (TPS). As the cryptocurrency ecosystem grows and more people join the network, the number of transactions being broadcasted to the blockchain also increases. As the network gets more and more congested, the overall performance is compromised, which greatly reduces the practical usability of Bitcoin as global digital currency. In such a context, the LN was created as an attempt to alleviate the network congestion of the Bitcoin blockchain.

How does it work?

The Lightning Network consists of an off-chain transfer network that is being built on top of the Bitcoin blockchain. The system works on a peer-to-peer (P2P) level and its usability relies on the creation of the so-called bidirectional payment channels, through which users can make seamless cryptocurrency transactions.

After two parties decide to open a payment channel, they are able to transmit funds back and forth across their wallets. Although the process of setting up a new payment channel involves an on-chain transaction, all transactions that take place within the channel are off-chain and do not require a global consensus. Therefore, these transactions can be quickly executed through a smart contract, incurring in much lower fees and a much higher TPS rate.

In order to open a payment channel, the two parties involved need to set up a multi-signature wallet and add some funds to it. Funds that are stored on multi-sig wallets can only be accessed if the private keys of both parties are provided (two or more, depending on the case). This means that one party cannot open the wallet without the consent of the other.

As an example, let’s imagine that Alice wants to use the Lightning Network to trade Bitcoins with Bob. First, they set up a payment channel, using a multi-signature wallet. While the payment channel acts like a smart contract, the multi-sig wallet acts like a vault, where the funds to be traded are deposited. During the lifetime of the payment channel, Alice and Bob can perform as many off-chain transactions as they want.

Right after each transaction, both Alice and Bob sign and update their own copy of the balance sheet, which records the amount of coins each one has. When they are done with their transactions, they can close the payment channel and broadcast the final balance sheet to the Bitcoin blockchain. The LN smart contract will make sure they receive their Bitcoins, according to the last version of the balance sheet.

Summing up, the parties involved only need to interact twice with the Bitcoin blockchain. One time to open the payment channel and another one to close it, which means that all other transactions that take place within the channel are not directly interacting with the main chain.

Network Routing

Even if two parties do not have a direct payment channel, they are still able to send and receive Bitcoins through interconnected payment channels. That means that Alice is able to send payments to Charlie without having to create a direct channel with him, as long as there is a network route between them that contains enough balance.

So, if Alice has an open payment channel with Bob and Bob has a channel with Charlie, she can send the payment through Bob. The payment routing may involve many Lightning Network nodes, but the smart contract will automatically search for the shortest available path.

Advantages of Lightning Network

  • The LN project is working towards an off-chain solution for the scalability problem. If successful, it may reduce the traffic on the Bitcoin blockchain.
  • Through the use of bidirectional payment channels, the Lightning Network allows for nearly instant transactions.
  • The LN may be suitable for micropayments, as it allows the transfer of values as small as 1 satoshi. Moreover, automatized micropayments may be implemented on the Machine-to-Machine economy, where transactions are made between electronic devices without the need for human interference.

Limitations of Lightning Network

  • Unlike on-chain transactions, LN payments cannot be made if the receiver is offline.
  • Participants of the network may need to monitor payment channels regularly in order to keep their funds safe (such risk could be overcomed by outsourced monitoring services).
  • The LN is not suitable for large payments. As the network counts with many multi-signature wallets (which are basically shared wallets) chances are high that these will not have sufficient balance to act as intermediaries of large payments.
  • Opening and closing a payment channel involves an on-chain transaction, which usually requires manual work and higher transaction fees.

When Is Lightning Network Coming?

If we take into consideration the mainnet beta version announced by Lightning Labs, the Lightning Network release date was on March 15th of 2018. However, the official release is yet to come as it is not effectively implemented on top of the Bitcoin blockchain.

Since the beta release, there was a huge increase in the number of LN nodes and payment channels. As of November 2018, Grafana dashboard reports more than 12,500 payment channels.

The collective work of nodes and payment channels is what makes the Lightning Network an interesting solution for the scalability problem. The beta version has been going through a lot of experimentation and its efficiency is yet to be proved. Nevertheless, the Lightning Network does have a huge potential to improve the Bitcoin and the cryptocurrency ecosystem.

Loading