ما هو الـ Mimblewimble؟

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
ما هو الـ Mimblewimble؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

Community Submission - Author: William M. Peaster


Mimblewimble أو (MW) هو عبارة عن تصميم للبلوكشين يستخدم طريقة جديدة لهيكلة و تخزين المعاملات. هو تطبيق مختلف لبلوكشين إثبات العمل (PoW) الذي يسمح بزيادة الخصوصية وإمكانية توسيع الشبكة.

تم تقديم تصميم Mimblewimble في منتصف عام 2016 بواسطة Tom Elvis Jedusor (إسم مستعار). على الرغم من أنه تمكن من مشاركة الأفكار الأساسية للـ Mimblewimble إلا أن الوثيقة الأولى تركت بعض الأسئلة دون إجابات مما أدي لقيام الباحث بـ Blockstream المعروف بإسم Andrew Poelstra بدراسة وتحسين المفهوم الأصلي. بعد فترة وجيزة كتب Poelstra ورقة بعنوان Mimblewimble (تم نشرها في أكتوبر عام 2016).

يدرس العديد من الباحثين والمطورين إمكانيات بروتوكول MW منذ ذلك الحين. يعتقد البعض أن تطبيقة على البيتكوين سيكون صعبًا للغاية لكنه ممكنًا من الناحية التقنية. يعتقد Poelstra وآخرون أن Mimblewimble قد يحسن في النهاية شبكة البيتكوين كسلسلة جانبية (Sidechain). 


كيفية عمل Mimblewimble

Mimblewimble يغير النموذج التقليدي لمعاملات البلوكشين. حيث أنه يتيح للبلوكشين الحصول على سجل أكثر إحكاما وهو أسهل وأسرع من ناحية التحميل والمزامنة والتحقق.

في بلوكشين Mimblewimble لا توجد عناوين يمكن التعرف عليها أو عناوين قابلة لإعادة الاستخدام. مما يعني أن جميع المعاملات تبدو وكأنها بيانات عشوائية لشخص خارجي. تكون بيانات المعاملة مرئية فقط للمشاركين المعنيين.

لذلك تبدو الكتلة في Mimblewimble كمعاملة واحدة كبيرة بدلاً من مزيج من العديد من المعاملات. هذا يعني أنه يمكن التحقق من الكتل وتأكيدها لكنها لا تقدم تفاصيل حول كل معاملة. هذا لأنه لا يوجد وسيلة لربط المدخلات الفردية بمخرجاتها.

على سبيل المثال، تحصل "أليس" على 5 عملات MW من والدتها و 5 من والدها ثم ترسل تلك العملات العشر إلى "بوب". تم التحقق من المعاملات و تأكيدها لكن تفاصيلها ليست عامة. الشيء الوحيد الذي يمكن أن يعرفه بوب هو أن أليس أرسلت له 10 عملات لكنه لا يستطيع معرفة من الذي أرسلها إلى أليس سابقًا.

لنقل العملات على بلوكشين Mimblewimble يجب على المرسل والمستقبل تبادل معلومات التحقق. لذلك ما زلنا بحاجة إلى التواصل مع أليس و بوب لكن ليس من الضروري أن يكونا متصلاً بالإنترنت في نفس الوقت لإتمام المعاملة.

تستخدم أيضا Mimblewimble ميزة أخرى تسمى الاختصار (cut-through) والتي تقلل من بيانات الكتلة عن طريق إزالة معلومات المعاملات الزائدة عن الحاجة. بدلاً من تسجيل كل المدخلات والمخرجات (من والد ووالدة أليس لها ومن أليس إلى بوب)، تقوم الكتلة بتسجيل زوج واحد فقط من المدخلات والمخرجات (من والدي أليس وإلى بوب).

من الناحية الفنية يدعم تصميم Mimblewimble مفهوم المعاملات السرية (Confidential Transactions أو CT) الذي اقترحه Adam Back في عام 2013 و تم تنفيذة من قبل Greg Maxwell و Pieter Wuille. ببساطة، CT هي أداة خصوصية تخفي كميات من تحويلات البلوكشين.


Mimblewimble vs. Bitcoin

تحتفظ بلوكشين البيتكوين بكل بيانات المعاملات منذ الكتلة الأولى (genesis block) للبيتكوين. مما يعني أن أي شخص قادر على تحميل سجل البلوكشين العام والتحقق منه معاملة تلو معاملة.

على عكس بلوكشين Mimblewimble الذي يحتفظ ببيانات المعاملات الأساسية فقط مع توفير المزيد من الخصوصية أيضًا. يتأكد المدققون من عدم حدوث أي نشاط غير عادي (على سبيل المثال: الإنفاق المزدوج) و أن عدد العملات المتاحة للتداول صحيح ودقيق.

بخلاف ذلك، يزيل Mimblewimble نظام برمجة البيتكوين وهي قائمة من الإرشادات التي تحدد طريقة تنظيم المعاملات مما ساعد على جعل بلوكشين MW أن تكون أكثر خصوصية وقابلة للتوسّع. أكثر خصوصية لأنه لا يمكن تتبع العناوين على الإطلاق وأكثر قابلية للتوسّع لأن بيانات البلوكشين صغيرة.

لذلك اختلاف رئيسي آخر بين البيتكوين و Mimblewimble هو حجم البيانات النسبي للبلوكشين الخاص بكل منهما. وهو ما يرتبط بميزة الإختصار التي تحدثنا عنها سابِقًا. يتطلب Mimblewimble موارد حسابية أقل وذلك بسبب إزالة بيانات المعاملات غير الضرورية.


المميزات

حجم البلوكشين

كما ذكرنا سابِقًا، فإن Mimblewimble يسمح بضغط البيانات مما يقلل من حجم البلوكشين الكلي. يمكن للعقد أَيْضًا التحقق من سجل المعاملات بشكل أسرع وذلك باستخدام موارد أقل بكثير. بالإضافة إلى ذلك من الأسهل بالنسبة للعقد الجديدة أن يتم تحميلها ومزامنتها باستخدام بلوكشين MW.

قد تؤدي التكاليف المنخفضة للانضمام إلى الشبكة وتشغيل العقد إلى الحصول على مجتمع أكثر تنوعًا وتوزيعًا. مما قد يقلل على الأرجح من مركزية التعدين الشائعة في العديد من شبكات البلوكشين التي تعمل بـ إثبات العمل (PoW).

قابلية التوسع

يمكن استخدام Mimblewimble في النهاية كسلسلة جانبية (sidechain) ويمكن إرفاقه بالبيتكوين أو سلسلة رئيسية أخري. قد يعمل تصميم MW أيضًا على تحسين أداء قنوات الدفع مثل القنوات التي تستخدمها شبكة البرق "Lightning Network".

الخصوصية

إن إزالة نظام برمجة البيتكوين بالإضافة الى استخدام المعاملات السرية سوف يجلب مستوى عالٍ من خصوصية المستخدم مما يؤدي إلى التعتيم على تفاصيل المعاملات.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك يمكن اعتبار العملات القائمة على بلوكشين Mimblewimble أنها قابلة للاستبدال. إن خاصية قابلية الإستبدال هي ما يجعل كل وحدة من العملات قابلة للتبديل مع أي وحدة أخرى من نفس العملة (لا يمكن تمييزهم).


القيود

إنتاجية المعاملة

المعاملات السرية تقلل من إنتاجية المعاملات بشكل كبير. تتمتع البلوكشين التي تستخدم المعاملات السرية بخصوصية أكثر ولكن معدلات TPS أقل (عدد المعاملات في الثانية الواحدة) عند مقارنتها بالنظام الغير خاص. مع ذلك يمكننا القول أن الحجم الصغير لـ MW يعوض عن قيود الـ TPS الناتجة عن المعاملات السرية.

غير مقاومة للكم

أنظمة Mimblewimble ليست مقاومة لأجهزة الكمبيوتر الكمومية (أجهزة الكمبيوتر المتقدمة والقوية). تعتمد MW على الخصائص البسيطة نسبيًا للتوقيعات الرقمية. لكن لا يزال الكمبيوتر الكمومي الناضج بعيدًا لعقود ومن المحتمل أن تجد العملات الرقمية باستخدام Mimblewimble طرقًا لمنع الهجمات الكمومية في السنوات القادمة.


أفكار ختامية

يمثل إدخال Mimblewimble علامة بارزة في تاريخ البلوكشين. من ناحية تجعل ميزة الإختصار شبكات الـ MW أرخص وأسهل في القياس ومن ناحية أخرى قد يتم تنفيذ بروتوكول MW كحل جانبي أو كقناة دفع مما قد يسمح بمزيد من الخصوصية وقابلية التوسع.

حتى الآن تعمل بعض مشاريع البلوكشين مع تصميم Mimblewimble بما في ذلك فريق Litecoin. أما Grin و Beam هما مثالان آخران. في حين أن Grin هو مشروع يحركه المجتمع ويعمل على إثبات مفهوم بروتوكول MW بشكل خفيف إلا أن Beam تتبنى نهجًا يشبه بدء التشغيل. وفي حين أن كلا المشروعين يعتمدان على Mimblewimble إلا أنهما متميزان من الناحية التقنية حيث أن لكل منهما طريقة معينة لتنفيذ تصميم Mimblewimble.

في الوقت الحالي يوجد سؤال بدون إجابة وهو ما إذا كان بإمكان Mimblewimble تحقيق مستوى كبير من الموثوقية والتبني. فهي فكرة مثيرة وواعدة ولكنها أيضًا صغيرة جدًا. على هذا النحو فإن حالات الاستخدام المحتملة لا تزال قيد التحقيق ويظل مستقبل Mimblewimble غير مؤكد.

Loading

What Is Mimblewimble?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
What Is Mimblewimble?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Community Submission - Author: William M. Peaster.


Mimblewimble (MW) is a blockchain design that employs a novel way of structuring and storing transactions. It’s a different implementation of a Proof of Work (PoW) blockchain that allows for increased privacy and better network scalability.

The Mimblewimble design was introduced in mid-2016 by pseudonymous Tom Elvis Jedusor. Although he managed to share the core ideas, the first Mimblewimble document left some questions open. This led Blockstream researcher Andrew Poelstra to study and improve the original concept. Soon after, Poelstra wrote a paper entitled Mimblewimble (published in October 2016).

Since then, many researchers and developers are studying the possibilities of the MW protocol. Some say that implementing it on Bitcoin would be quite difficult, though technically possible. Poelstra and others believe Mimblewimble may eventually improve the Bitcoin network as a sidechain solution. 


How Mimblewimble Works

Mimblewimble changes the traditional model of blockchain transactions. It allows for a blockchain to have a more compact history, which is easier and faster to download, synchronize, and verify.

In a MW blockchain, there are no identifiable or reusable addresses, meaning that all transactions look like random data to an outsider. The transaction data is only visible to their respective participants.

So, a Mimblewimble block looks like one large transaction rather than a combination of many. This means that blocks can be verified and confirmed, but they give no details about each transaction. There is no way to link individual inputs with their respective outputs.

Consider the following example. Alice receives 5 MW coins from her mom and 5 from her dad. Then, she sends those 10 coins to Bob. The transactions are verified, but their details aren’t public. The only thing Bob knows is that Alice sent him 10 coins, but he can’t tell who previously sent those to Alice.

To move the coins on a Mimblewimble blockchain, the sender and receiver must exchange verifying information. So we still need Alice and Bob to communicate, but they aren’t required to be online at the same time for the transaction to happen.

Also, Mimblewimble employs a feature called cut-through, which reduces the block data by removing redundant transaction information. So instead of recording each input and output (from Alice’s parents to her, and from Alice to Bob), the block would only record one input-output pair (from Alice’s parents to Bob).

Technically, the Mimblewimble design supports and extends the concept of Confidential Transactions (CT), proposed by Adam Back in 2013 and implemented by Greg Maxwell and Pieter Wuille. Simply put, CT is a privacy tool that hides the amounts of blockchain transfers.


Mimblewimble vs. Bitcoin

The Bitcoin blockchain has maintained the data of every transaction since the genesis block, meaning that anyone is able to download and verify its public history - transaction by transaction.

In contrast, a Mimblewimble blockchain only keeps the essential information - while also providing more privacy. The validators make sure that no unusual activity happens (e.g., double spending), and that the amount of coins in circulation is accurate.

Other than that, Mimblewimble removes the Bitcoin scripting system, which is a list of instructions that defines how transactions are structured. The script removal allowed MW blockchains to be more private and scalable. More private because addresses can’t be traced at all, and more scalable because the blockchain data is smaller.

So, another key difference between Bitcoin and Mimblewimble is the relative data size of their blockchains - which is related to the previously discussed cut-through feature. By removing unnecessary transaction data, Mimblewimble requires less computational resources.


Advantages

Blockchain size

As mentioned, Mimblewimble allows for data compression, reducing the overall blockchain size. Nodes can verify transaction history much faster, using considerably less resources. Besides, it’s easier for new nodes to download and synchronize with a MW blockchain.

The reduced costs to join the network and run a node may eventually lead to a more diversified and distributed community, which would likely reduce the centralization of mining common in many PoW blockchains.

Scalability

Eventually, Mimblewimble may be used as a sidechain solution that could be attached to Bitcoin or another parent chain. The MW design may also improve the performance of payment channels, such as the ones used by the Lightning Network.

Privacy

The removal of the Bitcoin scripting system, combined with the use of Confidential Transactions brings a high level of user privacy, obfuscating the details of transactions.

In addition, coins that are based on Mimblewimble blockchains can be considered fungible. The property of fungibility is what makes every unit of a coin interchangeable with any other unit of the same coin (they are indistinguishable).


Limitations

Transaction throughput

Confidential Transactions tend to reduce transaction throughput significantly due to the larger data size. So when compared to a non-private system, a blockchain that uses CT has more privacy but lower TPS rates (transactions per second). 

Still, we may say that the compact size of MW makes up for the TPS limitation caused by the Confidential Transactions. It's also worth noting that the transaction throughput depends on other factors, such as block size and frequency.

Not quantum-resistant

Generally speaking, the Mimblewimble protocol is not resistant to quantum computers as it relies on relatively simple properties of digital signatures. But, a mature quantum computer is still decades away, and cryptocurrencies using Mimblewimble will likely find ways to prevent quantum attacks in the coming years. In fact, some solutions are already being experimented with (e.g., Switch Commitments).


Closing thoughts

The introduction of Mimblewimble marks a notable milestone in blockchain history. On the one hand, the cut-through feature makes MW networks cheaper and easier to scale. On the other hand, the MW protocol may be implemented as a sidechain or payment channel solution, allowing for more privacy and scalability.

So far, a few blockchain projects are working with the Mimblewimble design, including the Litecoin team. Grin and Beam are two other examples. While Grin is a community-driven project working on a lightweight proof of concept of the MW protocol, Beam adopts a startup-like approach. While both projects are based on Mimblewimble, they are technically distinct as each has a particular way of implementing the MW design.

An open question, for now, is whether Mimblewimble can achieve a significant level of reliability and adoption. It is an exciting and promising idea, but also very young. As such, the potential use cases are under investigation, and the future of Mimblewimble remains uncertain.

Loading