ما المقصود بـ Staking؟

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
ما المقصود بـ Staking؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

Staking هي عملية الاحتفاظ بالأموال في محفظة عملة رقمية لدعم عمليات شبكة البلوكشين. فهي في الأساس عبارة عن تجميد العملات الرقمية للحصول على مكافآت. في معظم الحالات تعتمد العملية على المستخدمين المشاركين في أنشطة البلوكشين من خلال محفظة رقمية شخصية مثل Trust Wallet.

يرتبط مفهوم الـ Stacking بآلية إثبات الحصة Proof Of Stake (PoS). يتم استخدامه في العديد من شبكات البلوكشين القائمة على PoS أو أحد المتغيرات العديدة.


من الذي أنشأ إثبات الحصة (Proof of Stake)؟

من المحتمل ان يكونا Sunny King و Scott Nadal أول من قدما أفكار إثبات الحصة و الـ Stacking سابقا في عام 2012. ووصفا Peercoin بأنها عملة مبتكرة تعمل بنظام PoS. كانت تعتمد في البداية على نظام هجين من PoW/PoS لكن تم التخلص تدريجياً من اعتمادها على PoW (إثبات العمل). مما سمح للمستخدمين بالتعدين ودعم المشروع في المراحل المبكرة من اصدارة دون الاعتماد بشكل كامل على نظام PoS.

في عام 2014 قام Daniel Larimer بتطوير ما يسمى بآلية Delegated Proof of Stake (DPoS) والتي تم إستخادمها لأول مره كجزء من شبكة Bitshares لكن قامت عملات رقمية إخرى بإعتماد نفس النموذج لاحقا. أيضًا من الجدير بالذكر أن Larimer قام بإنشاء Steem و EOS وقاموا أيضًا بإعتماد نموذج DPoS.

تتيح DPoS للمستخدمين إستخدام أرصدتهم كأصوات والتي تُستخدم لانتخاب عدد معين من المندوبين. بعد ذلك يدير المندوبون المنتخبون عمليات البلوكشين نيابة عن ناخبيهم مما يضمن الأمن والإجماع (التوافق في الأراء). يمكن أيضا لأصحاب المصلحة أن يقوموا بتجميد العملات الخاصة بهم كـ Stake والحصول على مكافآت دورية نتيجة للاحتفاظ بالأموال.

يميل نموذج DPoS إلى تقليل زمن الوصول وزيادة إنتاجية الشبكة (أي يمكنه إتمام المزيد من المعاملات في الثانية الواحدة). ويرجع ذلك بسبب أنه يصل الى حالة توافق الآراء بمشاركة عدد قليل من عُقد التحقق. من ناحية أخرى عادة ما ينتج عن ذلك درجة أقل من اللامركزية حيث يعتمد المستخدمون على مجموعة مختارة من العُقد.


كيف يعمل الـ Stacking؟

كما ذكرنا من قبل فإن عملية الـ Staking هي عملية الاحتفاظ بالأموال لتلقي المكافآت مع المساهمة في عمليات البلوكشين. على هذا النحو يتم استخدام الـ Staking على نطاق واسع على الشبكات التي تعمل على آلية توافق الاراء إثبات الحصة (Proof of Stake) أو أحد أشكالها. 

على عكس البلوكشين القائم على إثبات العمل (PoW) الذي يعتمد على التعدين للتحقق والتصديق على الكتل الجديدة. تقوم البلوكشين القائمة على PoS إنتاج كتل جديدة والتحقق من صحتها من خلال عملية الـ Staking.

عادةً ما يكون لدى المستخدمين الذين يشاركون بكميات أكبر من العملات الرقمية فرصة أكبر أن يتم إختيارهم كمدققي الكتلة التالية. بينما يتطلب تعدين ASIC استثمارًا كبيرًا في الأجهزة، يتطلب الـ Staking استثمارًا مباشرًا (والتزامًا) في العملة الرقمية. كل بلوكشين يعمل بنظام PoS له عملتة الرقمية الخاصة.

يتيح إنتاج الكتل من خلال الـ Staking درجة أعلى من قابلية التوسع. وهذا من احد الأسباب التي ستجعل شبكة الإيثيريوم تنتقل في نهاية المطاف من PoW الى PoS، والمعروف بعملية ترقية Ethereum Casper.

تعتمد بعض السلاسل نموذج Delegated Proof of Staking (DPoS). وهو يسمح للمستخدمين بالإشارة ببساطة إلى دعمهم من خلال المشاركين الآخرين في الشبكة. بمعنى آخر يعمل أحد المشاركين الموثوق بهم نيابة عن المستخدمين أثناء فعاليات صنع القرار.

المدققون المفوضون (العقد) هم الذين يتعاملون مع العمليات الرئيسية والحوكمة الشاملة لشبكة البلوكشين. يشاركون في عمليات التوصل إلى توافق في الآراء (الإجماع) وتحديد معايير الإدارة الرئيسية.


تضخم الشبكة

بالنسبة لبعض الشبكات يتم تحديد مكافات الـ Staking على أساس معدل "تضخم" ثابت وهذا يشجع الأفراد على استخدام عملاتهم الرقمية (بدلا من تخزينها فقط "HODL"). تستخدم هذه العملية التكاليف التشغيلية للشبكة لدفعها لحاملي العملات او الرموز.

على سبيل المثال، تقوم عملة Stellar بتوزيع التضخم أسبوعيًا على المستخدمين الذين يقومون بالمشاركة بعملاتهم في عملية الـ Staking عبر ما يسمى بـ Staking Pools. أحد فوائد هذا النهج هو أن الشبكة يمكنها صرف سعر فائدة ثابت أو متحكم فيه.

نتيجة لذلك إذا كان المستخدم يحتفظ بـ 10,000 XLM لمدة عام واحد ويقوم بتحديد استخدامهم للتضخم من خلال توقيع معاملة فسيكون بإمكانه ربح 100 XLM من توزيع المكافآت. قد يحدث ذلك على مدار عام بمعدل تضخم متوازن قدره 1٪ (مع تجاهل الآثار المركبة).

أيضًا يمكن عرض المعلومات لجميع مستخدمي الشبكة الذين يقررون المشاركة أم لا في الـ Stake. هذا يمكن أن يحفز المشاركين الجدد لأنه يوفر جدول مكافأة يمكن تخمينة بدلاً من فرصة احتمالية لتلقي مكافأة الكتلة.


Staking pool

يتم تكوين Staking pool عندما يدمج العديد من حاملي العملات مواردهم لزيادة فرصهم في التحقق من الكتل والحصول على المكافآت. هذه الطريقة تجمع بين قوة الـ staking الخاصة بهم وتقاسم مكافآت الكتلة النهائية التي تتناسب مع مساهماتهم الفردية.

تعد الأحواض أو الـ Pools أكثر فاعلية في الشبكات التي يكون بها حاجز للدخول سواء كان تقنيًا أو ماليًا ومرتفعًا نسبيًا. في أغلب الاوقات تتطلب الأحواض إعدادًا كبيرًا وتطويرًا وصيانة. على هذا النحو يتقاضى العديد من مزودي خدمات الأحواض رسومًا كنسبة مئوية من المكافآت التي يتم توزيعها على المشاركين.

بخلاف ذلك قد توفر الأحواض مرونة إضافية فيما يتعلق بأوقات السحب وأوقات فك التجميد والحد الأدنى من الأرصدة على الشبكة. بالتالي يتم تشجيع المستخدمين الجدد على المشاركة مما يؤدي إلى زيادة اللامركزية في الشبكة.


Cold staking

تشير Cold Staking أو التجميد البارد بعملية التجميد على محفظة رقمية لا يوجد بها اتصال بالإنترنت مثل محفظة الأجهزة. تسمح الشبكات التي تدعم عملية التجميد البارد للمستخدمين بالمشاركة أثناء الاحتفاظ بأموالهم بشكل آمن. لكن إذا قام صاحب المصلحة بنقل العملات الرقمية من مكان التخزين البارد فسيتوقف صاحب المصلحة عن تلقي المكافآت. هذه الطريقة مفيدة بشكل خاص في السماح لأصحاب المصلحة الكبار في الشبكة بضمان أقصى حماية لأموالهم مع الاستمرار في المشاركة في دعم الشبكة.


أفكار ختامية

بوجود المزيد والمزيد من الخيارات والسبل التي يمكن للمستخدمين من خلالها المشاركة مالياً في توافق الآراء وإدارة البلوكشين من المرجح أن يؤدي إنتشار التجميد أو الـ Staking إلى تقليل الحواجز أمام الدخول إلى النظام الرقمي البيئي. وتتطلع بينانس إلى دعم البلوكشين القائم على إثبات الحصة (Proof of Stake) وتسمح للمستخدمين بالمشاركة وكسب المكافآت مباشرةً على Binance.com.


Staking on Binance

تدعم الآن Binance تجميد العديد من العملات القائمة على PoS بما في ذلك Stellar (XLM)Algorand (ALGO)NEO (GAS)Ontology (ONG)VeChain (VTHO)Tron (BTT),  Komodo (KMD)Stratis (STRAT) وQtum (QTUM). ببساطة إحتفظ بهذه العملات على Binance وابدأ في كسب المكافآت اليوم!

Loading

What Is Staking?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
What Is Staking?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Staking is the process of holding funds in a cryptocurrency wallet to support the operations of a blockchain network. Essentially, it consists of locking cryptocurrencies to receive rewards. In most cases, the process relies on users participating in blockchain activities through a personal crypto wallet, such as Trust Wallet.

The concept of staking is closely related to the Proof of Stake (PoS) mechanism. It is used in many blockchains that are based on PoS or one of its many variants.


Who created Proof of Stake?

Sunny King and Scott Nadal were likely the first to introduce the ideas of Proof of Stake and staking, back in 2012. They described Peercoin as an innovative PoS cryptocurrency. It was initially based on a hybrid PoW/PoS mechanism but gradually phased out its emphasis on Proof of Work (PoW). This allowed users to mine and support the project in the early stages, without becoming fully reliant on a PoS system.

In 2014, Daniel Larimer developed the so-called Delegated Proof of Stake (DPoS) mechanism. It was first used as part of the Bitshares network, but other cryptocurrencies adopted the same model. Notably, Larimer also created Steem and EOS, which also adopt the DPoS model.

DPoS allows users to commit their balances as votes, which are used to elect a certain number of delegates. Then, the elected delegates manage the blockchain operations on behalf of their voters, ensuring security and consensus. Also, stakeholders are able to stake their coins, receiving periodic rewards for holding funds.

The DPoS model tends to reduce latency and increase the throughput of a network (i.e., it can perform more transactions per second). Mainly because it allows for consensus to be achieved with a lower number of validating nodes. On the other hand, it usually results in a lower degree of decentralization as users rely on a select group of nodes.


How does staking work?

As mentioned, staking is the process of holding funds to receive rewards, while contributing to the operations of a blockchain. As such, staking is widely used on networks that adopt the Proof of Stake (PoS) consensus mechanism or one of its variants. 

Unlike Proof of Work (PoW) blockchains that rely on mining to verify and validate new blocks, PoS chains produce and validate new blocks through staking. This allows for blocks to be produced without relying on mining hardware (ASICs). So, instead of competing for the next block with heavy computation work, PoS validators are selected based on the number of coins they are committing to stake.

Typically, users that stake larger amounts of coins have a higher chance of being chosen as the next block validator. While ASICs mining requires a significant investment in hardware, staking requires a direct investment (and commitment) in the cryptocurrency. Each PoS blockchain has its particular staking currency.

The production of blocks via staking enables a higher degree of scalability. This is one of the reasons the Ethereum network will eventually migrate from PoW to PoS, in the Ethereum Casper upgrade.

Some chains adopt the Delegated Proof of Staking (DPoS) model. It allows users to simply signal their support through other participants of the network. In other words, a trusted participant works on behalf of users during decision-making events.

The delegated validators (nodes) are the ones that handle the major operations and overall governance of a blockchain network. They participate in the processes of reaching consensus and defining key governance parameters.


Network inflation

For some networks, staking rewards are determined as a fixed percentage "inflation" rate. This encourages individuals to utilize their coins (rather than only HODL). This process amortizes the operational costs of the network to all token holders.

For example, Stellar distributes its inflation weekly to users that are staking their coins through a staking pool. One benefit of this approach is that the network can disburse a fixed or controlled interest rate.

As a result, if a user holds 10,000 XLM for one year and specifies an inflation destination on-chain by signing a transaction, they should expect to earn 100 XLM in rewards. That would happen over the course of a year at a balanced inflation rate of 1% (ignoring compounding effects).

Also, the information can be displayed to all network users who are deciding whether or not to stake. This could incentivize new stakers as it provides a predictable reward schedule rather than a probabilistic chance of receiving a block reward.


Staking pool

staking pool is formed when several coin holders merge their resources to increase their chances of validating blocks and receiving rewards. They combine their staking power and share the eventual block rewards proportionally to their individual contributions.

Pools are most effective in networks where the barrier to entry, whether technical or financial, is relatively high. Often, pools require significant setup, development, and maintenance. As such, many pool providers charge a fee as a percentage of the staking rewards distributed to participants.

Other than that, pools may provide additional flexibility in regards to withdrawal times, unbinding times, and minimum balances on the network. Thus, new users would be encouraged to participate, leading to a greater network decentralization.


Cold staking

Cold staking refers to the process of staking on a crypto wallet that has no connection to the Internet, i.e., a hardware wallet. Networks that support cold staking allow users to stake while securely holding their funds. However, if the stakeholder moves the coins out of the cold storage, the stakeholder will stop receiving rewards. This method is particularly useful in allowing large stakeholders in the network to ensure maximum protection of their funds while still supporting the network.


Closing thoughts

With more and more options and avenues for users to participate financially in the consensus and governance of blockchains, the growth of staking will likely lower the barriers to entry to the crypto ecosystem. Binance is eager to support blockchains powered by Proof of Stake and will allow users to stake and earn rewards directly on Binance.com.


Staking on Binance

Binance now supports staking for several PoS coins, including Stellar (XLM)Algorand (ALGO)NEO (GAS)Ontology (ONG)VeChain (VTHO)Tron (BTT),  Komodo (KMD)Stratis (STRAT), and Qtum (QTUM). Simply hold these tokens on Binance and start earning rewards today!

Loading