ما الذي يجعل البلوكشين آمن؟

مشاركة
ما الذي يجعل البلوكشين آمن؟

يتم تأمين البلوكشين من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من الآليات التي تشمل تقنيات التشفير المتقدمة و نظريات تغيير السلوك الرياضية وآليات اتخاذ القرار. تعد تقنية البلوكشين هي البنية الأساسية لمعظم أنظمة العملات الرقمية وهي ما يمنع هذا النوع من النقود الرقمية من التكرار/النسخ أو التدمير.

كما يتم حاليا استكشاف طرق لاستخدام تقنية البلوكشين في سياقات أخرى حيث تكون ثبات البيانات وأمانها ذات قيمة عالية. وتشمل بعض الأمثلة على ذلك تسجيل وتتبع التبرعات الخيرية وقواعد البيانات الطبية وإدارة سلسلة التوريد.

ومع ذلك فإن أمان البلوكشين ليس موضوعًا بسيطًا. لذلك، من المهم فهم المفاهيم الأساسية والآليات التي تمنح حماية قوية لهذه الأنظمة المبتكرة.


مفاهيم الثبات (عدم القابلية للتغير) والتوافق

على الرغم من أن العديد من الميزات مرتبطة بأمان البلوكشين، إلا أن أهمها هما التوافق (الإجماع) و الثبات (عدم القابلية للتغير). يشير التوافق إلى قدرة العقد داخل شبكة البلوكشين الموزعة للاتفاق على الحالة الحقيقية للشبكة وعلى صلاحية المعاملات. عادة تعتمد عملية تحقيق التوافق في الآراء على ما يسمى بخوارزميات الإجماع.

من ناحية أخرى تشير كلمة الثبات إلى قدرة البلوكشين على منع تغيير المعاملات التي تم تأكيدها بالفعل. على الرغم من أن هذه المعاملات تتعلق في الغالب بنقل العملات الرقمية إلا أنها قد تشير أيضًا إلى سجلات الأشكال الأخرى غير النقدية للبيانات الرقمية.

يوفر التوافق و الثبات معا إطارًا لأمان البيانات في شبكات البلوكشين. في حين تضمن خوارزميات الإجماع (التوافق) أن قواعد النظام يتم اتباعها وأن جميع الأطراف المعنية تتفق على الحالة الراهنة للشبكة، يضمن الثبات سلامة البيانات وسجلات المعاملات بعد التأكد من صحة كل مجموعة جديدة من البيانات.


دور التشفير في أمان البلوكشين

تعتمد شبكات البلوكشين بشدة على التشفير لتحقيق أمان البيانات الخاصة بها. إحدى وظائف التشفير الهامة في هذا السياق هي وظيفة التجزئة (Hashing). التجزئة هي عملية تقوم بموجبها خوارزمية تعرف بإسم Hash function باستلام مدخلات البيانات (من أي حجم) وإرجاع مخرجات محددة تحتوي على قيمة ذات طول ثابت.

بغض النظر عن حجم المدخلات ستظهر المخرجات دائمًا بنفس الطول. إذا تغيرت المدخلات، فتتغير المخرجات تمامًا، ولكن اذا لم تتغير المدخلات فسيظل الـ Hash الناتج ثابت دائمًا بغض النظر عن عدد المرات التي تقوم فيها بتشغيل وظيفة التجزئة (الـ Hash function).

في البلوكشين يتم استخدام قيم الإخراج هذه المعروفة باسم التجزئة كمعرفات فريدة لكتل البيانات. يتم إنشاء هاش كل كتلة مرتبطة بهاش الكتلة التي سبقتها. وهذا ما يربط الكتل معا و يشكل سلسلة من الكتل (البلوكشين). علاوة على ذلك، يعتمد هاش الكتلة على البيانات الموجودة داخل هذه الكتلة مما يعني أن أي تغيير يتم إجراؤه على البيانات يتطلب تغييرًا في هاش الكتلة.

لذلك، يتم إنشاء هاش كل كتلة استنادًا إلى البيانات الموجودة داخل تلك الكتلة وهاش الكتلة السابقة. تلعب معرّفات الهاش هذه دورًا رئيسيًا في ضمان أمان البلوكشين ثباته.

يتم أيضًا استخدام التجزئة (Hashing) في خوارزميات الإجماع المستخدمة للتحقق من صحة المعاملات. على سبيل المثال في بلوكشين البيتكوين خوارزمية إثبات العمل (PoW) المستخدمة لتحقيق الإجماع و تعدين العملات الجديدة تستخدم دالة هاش تسمى SHA-256. يأخذ SHA-256 إدخال البيانات ويعيد التجزئة التي يبلغ طولها 256 بت أو 64 حرفًا كما موضح من الإسم. بالإضافة إلى توفير الحماية لسجلات المعاملات في الـ Ledgers. يلعب التشفير أيضًا دورًا في ضمان أمان المحافظ المستخدمة لتخزين وحدات من العملات الرقمية. يتم إنشاء المفاتيح العامة والخاصة المزدوجة التي تسمح للمستخدمين بتلقي المدفوعات وإرسالها على التوالي من خلال استخدام التشفير غير المتماثل أو تشفير المفتاح العام. يتم استخدام المفاتيح الخاصة لإنشاء تواقيع رقمية للمعاملات مما يتيح إمكانية مصادقة ملكية العملات التي يتم إرسالها.

على الرغم من أن التفاصيل خارج نطاق هذه المقالة، إلا أن طبيعة التشفير غير المتماثل تمنع أي شخص باستثناء صاحب المفتاح الخاص من الوصول إلى الأموال المخزنة في محفظة عملة رقمية، وبالتالي الحفاظ على هذه الأموال آمنة حتى يقرر المالك إنفاقها (طالما أن المفتاح الخاص غير مشترك أو مخترق).


الإقتصاد الرقمي (Cryptoeconomics)

بالإضافة إلى علم التشفير، يلعب مفهوم جديد نسبيًا يعرف باسم الإقتصاد الرقمي (cryptoeconomics) دورًا في الحفاظ على أمان شبكات البلوكشين. وهو مرتبط بمجال دراسي يعرف بإسم نظرية اللعبة التي تقوم رياضياً بنماذج صنع القرار بواسطة العناصر العقلانية في الحالات ذات القواعد والمكافآت المحددة مسبقًا. في حين أن نظرية اللعبة التقليدية يمكن تطبيقها على نطاق واسع في مجموعة من الحالات، إلا أن علم الـ cryptoeconomics يحدد ويصف سلوك العقد على أنظمة البلوكشين الموزعة.

باختصار، إن الـ cryptoeconomics هو عبارة عن دراسة للاقتصاديات ضمن بروتوكولات شبكة البلوكشين والنتائج المحتملة التي قد يقدمها تصميمها بناءً على سلوك المشاركين بها. يعتمد الأمن من خلال الـ cryptoeconomics على فكرة أن أنظمة البلوكشين توفر حوافز أكبر للعقد للعمل بأمانة بدلا من محاولتها تبني السلوكيات الخبيثة أو الخاطئة.

مرة أخرى، توفر خوارزمية إجماع إثبات العمل (Proof of Work / PoW) المستخدمة في تعدين البيتكوين مثالاً جيدًا لهذا الهيكل التحفيزي.

عندما أنشأ ساتوشي ناكاموتو إطارا لتعدين البيتكوين تم تصميمه عمدا ليكون عملية مكلفة ومكثفة للموارد. بسبب تعقيدها ومطالبها الحسابية ينطوي التعدين المستخدم في خوارزمية إثبات العمل استثمار كبير من المال والوقت، بغض النظر عن مكان ومن يقوم بتعدين العقد. ولذلك ، فإن مثل هذا الهيكل يوفر عائقا قويا للنشاط الخبيث وحوافز كبيرة لنشاط التعدين النزيه. حيث يتم طرد العقد غير الكافية أو غير الفعالة بسرعة من شبكة البلوكشين في حين أن عامل التعدين النشط والفعال لديه القدرة على الحصول على مكافآت كتلة كبيرة.

بالمثل، فإن هذا التوازن من المخاطر والمكافآت يمنح الحماية أيضًا من الهجمات المحتملة التي يمكن أن يواجهها التوافق/الإجماع عند وضع معدل تجزئة الأغلبية لشبكة البلوكشين في أيدي مجموعة أو كيان واحد. مثل هذه الهجمات معروفة بإسم هجمات الـ 51٪ قد تكون مدمرة للغاية إذا تم تنفيذها بنجاح. نظرا للقدرة التنافسية في نظام تعدين خوارزمية إثبات العمل و حجم شبكة البيتكوين فإن احتمالية وجود فاعل خبيث يسيطر على غالبية العقد هو مستبعد للغاية.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن التكلفة في مجال الحوسبة اللازمة للقيام بهجوم بنسبة 51٪ ناجح على شبكة بحجم شبكة البيتكوين ستكون فلكية. مما يجعل الحافز للقيام بمثل هذا الهجوم قليلا للغاية بالنسبة لحجم الاستثمار الكبير للغاية الذي يتطلبه.

تساهم هذه الحقيقة التي تعرف بإسم الخطأ البيزنطي (BFT) في خصائص البلوكشين. والتي هي في الأساس قدرة النظام الموزع على الاستمرار في العمل بشكل طبيعي حتى إذا تعرضت بعض العقد إلى خطر أو عمل ضار.

وطالما بقيت تكلفة إنشاء غالبية العقد الخبيثة باهظة وكانت هناك حوافز أفضل للنشاط الصادق فسيكون النظام قادراً على الازدهار دون حدوث أي خلل كبير.ومع ذلك تجدر الإشارة إلى أن شبكات البلوكشين الصغيرة هي بالتأكيد عرضة لهجوم الإغلبية (هجوم الـ 51٪) لأن معدل التجزئة الإجمالي المخصص لهذه الأنظمة أقل بكثير من البيتكوين.


أفكار ختامية

 تستطيع أنظمة البلوكشين تحقيق مستويات عالية من الأمان كنظم موزعة من خلال الاستخدام المشترك لنظرية الألعاب والتشفير. وكما هو الحال مع جميع الأنظمة تقريبًا، فمن المهم تطبيق مجالي معرفة هذين بشكل صحيح. إن التوازن الدقيق بين اللامركزية والأمان أمر حيوي لبناء شبكة عملات رقمية موثوقة وفعالة.

ومع استمرار تطور استخدام البلوكشين ستتغير أنظمة الأمان الخاصة بهم أيضًا لتلبية احتياجات التطبيقات المختلفة. على سبيل المثال، تعتمد أنظمة البلوكشين الخاصة التي يتم تطويرها حاليًا لمؤسسات الأعمال على الأمان من خلال التحكم في الوصول أكثر من اعتمادها على آليات نظرية الألعاب (أو الـ cryptoeconomics) التي لا غنى عنها لسلامة معظم الكتل العامة العامة.

Loading

What Makes a Blockchain Secure?

SHARE
What Makes a Blockchain Secure?

Blockchains are secured through a variety of mechanisms that include advanced cryptographic techniques and mathematical models of behavior and decision-making. Blockchain technology is the underlying structure of most cryptocurrency systems and is what prevents this kind of digital money from being duplicated or destroyed.

The use of blockchain technology is also being explored in other contexts where data immutability and security are highly valuable. A few examples include the act of recording and tracking charity donations, medical databases, and supply chain management.

However, blockchain security is far from being a simple subject. Therefore, it is important to understand the basic concepts and mechanisms that grant robust protection to these innovative systems.


The concepts of immutability and consensus

Although many features play into the security associated with blockchain, two of the most important are the concepts of consensus and immutability. Consensus refers to the ability of the nodes within a distributed blockchain network to agree on the true state of the network and on the validity of transactions. Typically, the process of achieving consensus is dependent on the so-called consensus algorithms.

Immutability, on the other hand, refers to the ability of blockchains to prevent alteration of transactions that have already been confirmed. Although these transactions are often relating to the transfer of cryptocurrencies, they may also refer to the record of other non-monetary forms of digital data.

Combined, consensus and immutability provide the framework for data security in blockchain networks. While consensus algorithms ensure that the rules of the system are being followed and that all parties involved agree on the current state of the network - immutability guarantees the integrity of data and transaction records after each new block of data is confirmed to be valid.


The role of cryptography in blockchain security

Blockchains rely heavily on cryptography to achieve their data security. One cryptographic function that is extremely important in such a context is that of hashing. Hashing is a process whereby an algorithm known as a hash function receives an input of data (of any size) and returns a determined output that contains a fixed-length value.

Regardless of the input size, the output will always present the same length. If the input changes, the output will be completely different. However, if the input doesn’t change, the resulting hash will always be the same - no matter how many times you run the hash function.

Within blockchains, these output values, known as hashes, are used as unique identifiers for data blocks. The hash of each block is generated in relation to the hash of the previous block, and that is what links the blocks together, forming a chain of blocks. Moreover, the block hash is dependent on the data contained within that block, meaning that any change made to the data would require a change to the block hash.

Therefore, the hash of each block is generated based on both the data contained within that block and the hash of the previous block. These hash identifiers play a major role in ensuring blockchain security and immutability.

Hashing is also leveraged in the consensus algorithms used to validate transactions. On the Bitcoin blockchain, for example, the Proof of Work (PoW) algorithm used to achieve consensus and for mining new coins utilizes a hash function called SHA-256. As the name implies, SHA-256 takes data input and returns a hash that is 256 bits or 64 characters long.

In addition to providing protection for transaction records on ledgers, cryptography also plays a role in ensuring the security of the wallets used to store units of cryptocurrency. The paired public and private keys that respectively allow users to receive and send payments are created through the use of asymmetric or public key cryptography. Private keys are used to generate digital signatures for transactions, making it possible to authenticate ownership of the coins that are being sent.

Though the specifics are beyond the scope of this article, the nature of asymmetric cryptography prevents anyone but the private key holder from accessing funds stored in a cryptocurrency wallet, thus keeping those funds safe until the owner decides to spend them (as long as the private key is not shared or compromised).


Cryptoeconomics

In addition to cryptography, a relatively new concept known as cryptoeconomics also plays a role in maintaining the security of blockchain networks. It is related to a field of study known as game theory, which mathematically models decision-making by rational actors in situations with predefined rules and rewards. While traditional game theory can be broadly applied to a range of cases, cryptoeconomics specifically models and describes the behavior of nodes on distributed blockchain systems.

In short, cryptoeconomics is the study of the economics within blockchain protocols and the possible outcomes that their design may present based on its participants’ behavior. Security through cryptoeconomics is based on the notion that blockchain systems provide greater incentives for nodes to act honestly than to adopt malicious or faulty behaviors. Once again, the Proof of Work consensus algorithm used in Bitcoin mining offers a good example of this incentive structure.

When Satoshi Nakamoto created the framework for Bitcoin mining, it was intentionally designed to be a costly and resource-intensive process. Owing to its complexity and computational demands, PoW mining involves a considerable investment of money and time - regardless of where and who the mining node is. Therefore, such a structure provides a strong disincentive for malicious activity and significant incentives for honest mining activity. Dishonest or inefficient nodes will be quickly expelled from the blockchain network, while the honest and efficient miners have the potential of getting substantial block rewards.

Similarly, this balance of risks and rewards also grants protection against potential attacks that could undermine consensus by placing the majority hash rate of a blockchain network into the hands of a single group or entity. Such attacks, known as 51 percent attacks, could be extremely damaging if successfully executed. Due to the competitiveness of Proof of Work mining and the magnitude of the Bitcoin network, the likelihood of a malicious actor gaining control of a majority of nodes is extremely minimal.

Furthermore, the cost in computing power needed to attain 51 percent control of a huge blockchain network would be astronomical, providing an immediate disincentive to make such a large investment for a relatively small potential reward. This fact contributes to a characteristic of blockchains known as Byzantine Fault Tolerance (BFT), which is essentially the ability of a distributed system to continue to work normally even if some nodes become compromised or act maliciously. 

As long as the cost of establishing a majority of malicious nodes remains prohibitive and better incentives exist for honest activity, the system will be able to thrive without significant disruption. It is worth noting, however, that small blockchain networks are certainly susceptible to majority attack because the total hash rate devoted to those systems is considerably lower than the one of Bitcoin.


Closing thoughts

Through the combined use of game theory and cryptography, blockchains are able to attain high levels of security as distributed systems. As with nearly all systems, however, it is critical that these two fields of knowledge are properly applied. A careful balance between decentralization and security is vital to building a reliable and effective cryptocurrency network.

As the uses of blockchain continue to evolve, their security systems will also change in order to meet the needs of different applications. The private blockchains now being developed for business enterprises, for example, rely much more on security through access control than on the game theory mechanisms (or cryptoeconomics) that are indispensable to the safety of most public blockchains.

Loading