什么保障了区块链的安全性?

分享
Copied to clipboard!
什么保障了区块链的安全性?

区块链通过各种机制实现了安全加固,这些机制包括先进的加密技术以及决策和行为的数学模型。区块链技术是大多数数字货币系统的基础架构,它可以防止数字货币被复制和破坏。

在对数据不可篡改和安全性要求非常高的的其他环境中,区块链技术的运用也尤为重要。相关案例包括记录和跟踪慈善捐赠、医疗数据库和供应链管理。

但是,区块链的安全性远非一个简单的议题。因此,理解这些创新系统的基本概念和机制是如何为区块链提供强有力的保护就相当关键。


不可篡改和共识的概念

虽然安全性当中的许多特征都与区块链相关联,但最重要的两个特征则是共识和不可篡改。共识是指分布式区块链网络中的节点就网络的真实状态和交易的有效性能够达成一致。达成共识的过程通常取决于网络使用的共识算法

另一方面,不可篡改是指区块链能防止已经确认的交易记录被更改。虽然这些交易通常与数字货币的转换相关,但有时候,它们也指代其他非货币形式的电子数据的记录过程。

总的来说,共识和不可篡改为区块链网络中的数据安全性提供了基础框架。共识算法能够确保所有节点都遵循系统规则并且都认可网络的当前状态,而不可篡改能够保证每个得到有效性验证的区块数据和交易记录的完整性。


密码学在区块链安全中的作用

区块链主要依靠加密技术来保障数据的安全。而加密散哈希函数则是该技术的关键。哈希是一种计算过程,哈希算法是一种可以输入任意大小的数据,并输出一个可预测且固定大小的哈希的算法(即哈希函数)。

无论输入数据的大小如何,输出始终是相同的字节。但如果输入发生变化,输出将完全不同。只要输入不变,无论运行多少次哈希函数,输出的哈希值将始终相同。

在区块链中,这些输出值(即哈希)是数据块的唯一标识符。每个区块的哈希是相对于前一个区块的哈希生成的,这就是将区块链接在一起,形成区块链的原因。此外,区块哈希是由该区块所包含的数据决定的,这意味着对数据所做的任何更改都会更改区块哈希值。

因此,该区块的数据和前一个区块的哈希共同决定了每一个区块的哈希。这些哈希标识符在确保区块链安全性和不可篡改方面发挥着重要作用。

哈希函数也用于验证交易的共识算法中。例如,在比特币区块链上,工作量证明 (PoW)算法运用了名为SHA-256的哈希函数。顾名思义,SHA-256输入数据并输出长度为256位或64个字符长的哈希值。

除了为分布式账本中的交易记录提供保护之外,密码学还能够在存储数字货币的钱包的安全性方面发挥重要作用。如成对的公钥和私钥分别可以让用户通过使用非对称或公钥密码学来接收和发送数字货币。私钥被用于产生交易所需要的电子签名,从而可以验证所发送货币的所有权。

虽然具体内容已超出了本文范围,但非对称密码学的特性能够防止除私钥持有者之外的任何人访问存储在数字货币钱包中的资金,从而,能够在资金所有者决定使用它们之前保障这些资金的安全性(只要私钥不被共享或泄露)。


密码经济学

除密码学之外,一种被称为密码经济学的较为新颖的概念也在维护区块链网络安全性方面发挥着重要作用。它与博弈论的研究领域息息相关,该理论通过数学原理模拟了具有既定规则和奖励情境中理性行动者所做的决策。虽然传统博弈论可以广泛应用于一系列商业案例,但密码经济学也独立建模并描述了分布式区块链系统上节点的行为。

简而言之,密码经济学是对区块链协议中经济学的相关研究,它们的设计原理可能基于其参与者的行为而产生不同的结果。密码经济学的安全性基于如下这种模型,即区块链系统为节点提供了更大的激励,使其能够真实得采取行动,而不是采用恶意或错误的行为。再者,比特币挖矿中使用的工作量证明共识算法是提供这种激励方式的优秀案例。

当中本聪(Satoshi Nakamoto)提出比特币挖矿的框架时,它就被有意地设计成昂贵且消耗资源巨大的工作。由于其复杂性和计算需求,PoW挖矿涉及大量的金钱和时间投入 — 与挖矿节点的位置和使用者无关。因此,这种结构能够强有力地防范恶意活动,并为鼓励了诚实的挖矿行为。恶意或低效的节点很快会区块链网络淘汰,而真实和高效的矿工有可能获得大量的区块奖励。

同样,风险和收益之间的平衡也可以通过将一个区块链网络的大部分哈希率放置到一个单独的组织或实体的手中,来防止可能破坏共识的潜在攻击的发生。就像被熟知的51%攻击,一旦成功,便可能造成极大的破坏。而鉴于工作量证明的竞争机制和比特币网络的规模,恶意用户获得对大多数节点控制权的可能性是非常小的。

此外,在一个巨大的区块链网络当中,实现51%攻击所消耗的算力将会是一个天文数字,因此,这种巨大的投资与相对较小的潜在回报差也对该攻击的发生起到了直接的抑制作用。这也促成了区块链的一个典型的特征,即拜占庭容错(BFT),该特征说明了即使某些节点受到损害或发生恶意行为,分布式系统仍然可以继续正常工作。

只要产生大量恶意节点的成本过高,且真实挖矿活动可以得到更好的激励,该系统就能在毫无阻力的情况下地不断壮大。然而,值得注意的是,相对较小的区块链网络系统会很容易受到攻击,因为用于这些系统的总哈希率远低于比特币网络的哈希率。


总结

通过博弈论和密码学的结合运用,区块链能够像分布式系统一样获得更高的安全性。然而,几乎与所有系统一样,如何正确应用这两个知识领域至关重要。去中心化和安全性之间的平衡对于构建可靠有效的数字货币网络至关重要。

随着区块链的不断发展和推广,其安全系统也将发生变化,以满足不同应用的需求。例如,现在为商业企业开发的私有区块链更多地依赖于访问控制所提供的安全性,而这与大多数公共区块链所使用的博弈论机制(或密码经济学)大不相同。

Loading

What Makes a Blockchain Secure?

SHARE
What Makes a Blockchain Secure?

Blockchains are secured through a variety of mechanisms that include advanced cryptographic techniques and mathematical models of behavior and decision-making. Blockchain technology is the underlying structure of most cryptocurrency systems and is what prevents this kind of digital money from being duplicated or destroyed.

The use of blockchain technology is also being explored in other contexts where data immutability and security are highly valuable. A few examples include the act of recording and tracking charity donations, medical databases, and supply chain management.

However, blockchain security is far from being a simple subject. Therefore, it is important to understand the basic concepts and mechanisms that grant robust protection to these innovative systems.


The concepts of immutability and consensus

Although many features play into the security associated with blockchain, two of the most important are the concepts of consensus and immutability. Consensus refers to the ability of the nodes within a distributed blockchain network to agree on the true state of the network and on the validity of transactions. Typically, the process of achieving consensus is dependent on the so-called consensus algorithms.

Immutability, on the other hand, refers to the ability of blockchains to prevent alteration of transactions that have already been confirmed. Although these transactions are often relating to the transfer of cryptocurrencies, they may also refer to the record of other non-monetary forms of digital data.

Combined, consensus and immutability provide the framework for data security in blockchain networks. While consensus algorithms ensure that the rules of the system are being followed and that all parties involved agree on the current state of the network - immutability guarantees the integrity of data and transaction records after each new block of data is confirmed to be valid.


The role of cryptography in blockchain security

Blockchains rely heavily on cryptography to achieve their data security. One cryptographic function that is extremely important in such a context is that of hashing. Hashing is a process whereby an algorithm known as a hash function receives an input of data (of any size) and returns a determined output that contains a fixed-length value.

Regardless of the input size, the output will always present the same length. If the input changes, the output will be completely different. However, if the input doesn’t change, the resulting hash will always be the same - no matter how many times you run the hash function.

Within blockchains, these output values, known as hashes, are used as unique identifiers for data blocks. The hash of each block is generated in relation to the hash of the previous block, and that is what links the blocks together, forming a chain of blocks. Moreover, the block hash is dependent on the data contained within that block, meaning that any change made to the data would require a change to the block hash.

Therefore, the hash of each block is generated based on both the data contained within that block and the hash of the previous block. These hash identifiers play a major role in ensuring blockchain security and immutability.

Hashing is also leveraged in the consensus algorithms used to validate transactions. On the Bitcoin blockchain, for example, the Proof of Work (PoW) algorithm used to achieve consensus and for mining new coins utilizes a hash function called SHA-256. As the name implies, SHA-256 takes data input and returns a hash that is 256 bits or 64 characters long.

In addition to providing protection for transaction records on ledgers, cryptography also plays a role in ensuring the security of the wallets used to store units of cryptocurrency. The paired public and private keys that respectively allow users to receive and send payments are created through the use of asymmetric or public key cryptography. Private keys are used to generate digital signatures for transactions, making it possible to authenticate ownership of the coins that are being sent.

Though the specifics are beyond the scope of this article, the nature of asymmetric cryptography prevents anyone but the private key holder from accessing funds stored in a cryptocurrency wallet, thus keeping those funds safe until the owner decides to spend them (as long as the private key is not shared or compromised).


Cryptoeconomics

In addition to cryptography, a relatively new concept known as cryptoeconomics also plays a role in maintaining the security of blockchain networks. It is related to a field of study known as game theory, which mathematically models decision-making by rational actors in situations with predefined rules and rewards. While traditional game theory can be broadly applied to a range of cases, cryptoeconomics specifically models and describes the behavior of nodes on distributed blockchain systems.

In short, cryptoeconomics is the study of the economics within blockchain protocols and the possible outcomes that their design may present based on its participants’ behavior. Security through cryptoeconomics is based on the notion that blockchain systems provide greater incentives for nodes to act honestly than to adopt malicious or faulty behaviors. Once again, the Proof of Work consensus algorithm used in Bitcoin mining offers a good example of this incentive structure.

When Satoshi Nakamoto created the framework for Bitcoin mining, it was intentionally designed to be a costly and resource-intensive process. Owing to its complexity and computational demands, PoW mining involves a considerable investment of money and time - regardless of where and who the mining node is. Therefore, such a structure provides a strong disincentive for malicious activity and significant incentives for honest mining activity. Dishonest or inefficient nodes will be quickly expelled from the blockchain network, while the honest and efficient miners have the potential of getting substantial block rewards.

Similarly, this balance of risks and rewards also grants protection against potential attacks that could undermine consensus by placing the majority hash rate of a blockchain network into the hands of a single group or entity. Such attacks, known as 51 percent attacks, could be extremely damaging if successfully executed. Due to the competitiveness of Proof of Work mining and the magnitude of the Bitcoin network, the likelihood of a malicious actor gaining control of a majority of nodes is extremely minimal.

Furthermore, the cost in computing power needed to attain 51 percent control of a huge blockchain network would be astronomical, providing an immediate disincentive to make such a large investment for a relatively small potential reward. This fact contributes to a characteristic of blockchains known as Byzantine Fault Tolerance (BFT), which is essentially the ability of a distributed system to continue to work normally even if some nodes become compromised or act maliciously. 

As long as the cost of establishing a majority of malicious nodes remains prohibitive and better incentives exist for honest activity, the system will be able to thrive without significant disruption. It is worth noting, however, that small blockchain networks are certainly susceptible to majority attack because the total hash rate devoted to those systems is considerably lower than the one of Bitcoin.


Closing thoughts

Through the combined use of game theory and cryptography, blockchains are able to attain high levels of security as distributed systems. As with nearly all systems, however, it is critical that these two fields of knowledge are properly applied. A careful balance between decentralization and security is vital to building a reliable and effective cryptocurrency network.

As the uses of blockchain continue to evolve, their security systems will also change in order to meet the needs of different applications. The private blockchains now being developed for business enterprises, for example, rely much more on security through access control than on the game theory mechanisms (or cryptoeconomics) that are indispensable to the safety of most public blockchains.

Loading