布林线指标的解释

分享
Copied to clipboard!
布林线指标的解释

什么是布林线指标?

布林线指标(BB)是由金融分析师和交易员John Bollinger于20世纪80年代初创建的。布林线指标作为(金融分析)工具被广泛应用于技术分析(TA)领域,从基本上来说,它是一种振荡测量器,用于表明市场中的高低波动,以及超买或超卖的情况。

布林线指标的主要原理是强调价格是如何围绕平均值波动的。更具体一些来说,指示器由上轨,下轨和中间移动平均线(也称为中轨线)组成。两个横向波带对市场价格行为作出反应,当波动率较高时扩展(远离中轨线运行)而波动率较低时收缩(向中轨线运行)。

标准布林线公式将中轨线设置为20天简单移动平均线(SMA),而上轨和下轨则基于与SMA相关的市场波动率(称为标准差)计算。 布林线指标的标准配置如下所示:

  • 中轨线 = 20日的移动平均线(SMA)

  • 上轨线 = 20日的SMA +(20日的标准差 x 2)

  • 下轨线 = 20日的SMA -(20日的标准差 x 2)

标准布林线以20天为周期,将上下波带设置为远离中轨线的两个标准差(x2)。这样做是为了确保至少85%的价格数据将在这两个波带之间波动,但也可以根据不同的需求和交易策略来调整设置规模。


如何在交易中运用布林线指标?

尽管布林线指标广泛应用于传统金融市场,但它们也可以被用在加密货币交易体系中。 有各种方法可以使用和分析布林线指标,但人们不应把布林线当作独立工具或视其为表明买/卖机会的指标。 相反,布林线应与其他技术分析指标一起使用。

考虑到这一点,让我们思考一下,人们可以如何解读布林线指标所提供的数据。

如果价格高于移动平均线并超过布林带上轨,则大概可以安全地认为市场此时为过度扩张(超买状态)。 另一方面,如果价格多次触及上轨,则可能表示的是显著的压力水平。

相反,如果某些资产的价格显著下降并且多次超出或触及下轨,则市场可能处于超卖状态或达到了强有力的支撑水平。

因此,交易者可以使用布林线(以及其他TA指标)来设定他们的卖出或买入目标,同样,他们也可以对市场中的超买和超卖情况有一个总体的了解。

此外,当试图预测价格高低波动的时刻时,布林线指标的扩展和收缩可能是有用的。波带会随着资产价格波动剧烈而远离中轨线运行(扩展),或随价格波动变弱而向中轨线运行(收缩)。

所以,布林线指标更适合作为分析市场波动率并试图预测即将到来的走势的一种工具应用于短线交易。一些交易者认为,当波带过度扩展时,当前的市场可能在趋近巩固期或即将达到趋势反转。同理,当波带过窄时,交易员们认为市场将会发生巨大变动。

当市场价格横向移动时,布林线趋于向中间的简单移动平均线收窄。通常(但并非总是如此),低波动率和小的偏差水平会出现于大规模的爆发性运动之前,一旦波动率回升,这种现象就会发生。


布林线指标 vs 肯特纳通道

与基于SMA和标准偏差的布林线不同,现代版本的肯特纳通道(KC)指标利用均幅指标(ATR)将通道宽度设置在20天指数移动平均线(EMA)上下。因此,肯特纳通道的公式大致是这样的:

  • 中轨线 = 20日的指数移动平均线(EMA)

  • 上轨线 = 20日的EMA +(10日的ATR x 2)

  • 下轨线 = 20日的EMA -(10日的ATR x 2)

通常,肯特纳通道会比布林线呈现出更加紧密的波段。因此,它也许比布林线更适合以更清晰明显的方式指出趋势反转和超买/超卖的市场状况。此外,肯特纳通道指标通常会提供比布林线更早的超买/超卖信号。

另一方面,布林线可以更好地代表市场波动情况,因为与肯特纳通道相比,它扩展和收缩的动作幅度更大也更明确。此外,通过使用标准偏差,布林线指标比较不可能提供伪信号,因为其宽度较大,因此(上下轨)难以被越过。

与肯特纳通道相比,布林线更受欢迎。然而,这两个指标都很好——尤其是对于短期交易的设置——并且两者也可以结合使用,以提供更可靠的(市场)信号。

Loading

Bollinger Bands Explained

08.12.2018

uploads/aUTeYaoY9GI1llHdJmev.png

What are Bollinger Bands? 

The Bollinger Bands (BB) were created in the early 1980s by financial analyst and trader John Bollinger. Bollinger Bands are broadly used as an instrument for technical analysis (TA), which is basically an oscillator measurer that indicates whether the market has high or low volatility and also overbought or oversold conditions.

The main idea behind the BB indicator is to highlight how prices are dispersed around an average value. More specifically, the indicator is composed of an upper band, a lower band, and a middle moving average line (also referred to as middle band). The two sidelong bands react to the market price action, expanding when the volatility is high (moving away from the middle line) and contracting when volatility is low (moving towards the middle line).

The standard Bollinger Bands formula sets the middle line as a 20-day simple moving average (SMA), while the upper and lower bands are calculated based on the market volatility in relation to the SMA (which is referred to as standard deviation). The standard settings for the Bollinger Bands indicator would look like this:

  • Middle line: 20-day simple moving average (SMA)

  • Upper band: 20-day SMA + (20-day standard deviation x2)

  • Lower band: 20-day SMA - (20-day standard deviation x2)

The standard BB setting acknowledges a 20-day period and set the upper and lower bands to two standard deviations (x2) away from the middle line. This is done to ensure that at least 85% of the price data will be moving in between these two bands, but the settings may be adjusted according to different needs and trading strategies.


How to use Bollinger Bands in trading?

Although the Bollinger Bands are widely used in traditional financial markets, they may also be used for cryptocurrency trading setups. Naturally, there are various ways to use and interpret the BB indicator, but one should avoid using Bollinger Bands as a stand-alone instrument and it should not be considered an indicator of buying/selling opportunities. Instead, BB should be used along with other technical analysis indicators. 

With that in mind, let’s imagine how one could potentially interpret the data provided by the Bollinger Bands indicator.

If the price makes its way above the moving average and exceeds the upper Bollinger band, it is probably safe to assume that the market is overextended (overbought condition). Or else, if the price touches the upper band multiple times, it may indicate a significant resistance level.

In contrast, if the price of certain asset drops significantly and exceeds or touches the lower band multiple times, chances are the market is either oversold or found a strong support level.

Therefore, traders may use BB (along with other TA indicators) to set their selling or buying targets. Or also to get an overview of the previous points where the market presented overbought and oversold conditions.

In addition, the Bollinger Bands expansion and contraction may be useful when trying to predict moments of high or low volatility. The bands can either move away from the middle line as the price of the asset becomes more volatile (expansion) or move towards it as the price becomes less volatile (contraction).

Therefore, the Bollinger Bands are better suited for short-term trading as a way to analyze the market’s volatility and try to predict forthcoming movements. Some traders assume that when the bands are over-expanded, the current market trend may be close to a consolidation period or a trend reversal. Alternatively, when the bands get too tight, traders tend to assume that the market is getting ready to make an explosive movement.

When the market price is moving sideways, the BB tends to narrow towards the simple moving average line in the middle. Usually (but not always), low volatility and tight deviation levels precede large and explosive movements, which tend to occur as soon as the volatility picks back up.


Bollinger Bands vs Keltner Channels 

Unlike Bollinger Bands, that is based on SMA and standard deviations, the modern version of the Keltner Channels (KC) indicator makes use of the Average True Range (ATR) to set the channel width around a 20-day exponential moving average (EMA). Hence, the Keltner Channel formula would look like this:

  • Middle line: 20-day exponential moving average (EMA)

  • Upper channel line: 20-day EMA + (10-day ATR x2)

  • Lower band: 20-day EMA - (10-day ATR x2)

Typically, the Keltner Channels indicator tends to be tighter than Bollinger bands. Consequently, it may be better suited than BB for spotting trend reversals and overbought/oversold market conditions in a more clear and obvious way. In addition, the KC indicator usually provides the overbought/oversold signal earlier than BB. 

On the other hand, the Bollinger Bands tend to represent market volatility better since the expansion and contraction movements are much wider and explicit when compared to KC. Moreover, by using standard deviations, the BB indicator is less likely to provide fake signals, since its width is larger and, thus, harder to be exceeded.

Between BB and KC, Bollinger Bands is the more popular one. However, both indicators are good - especially for short-term trading setups - and may also be used together in order to provide more reliable signals.

Loading