شرح المؤشرات الرائدة والمتأخرة

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
شرح المؤشرات الرائدة والمتأخرة
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

ما هي المؤشرات الرائدة والمتأخرة؟

المؤشرات الرائدة والمتأخرة هي الأدوات التي تقيس قوة أو ضعف الاقتصادات أو الأسواق المالية. ببساطة المؤشرات الرائدة تتغير قبل الدورة الاقتصادية أو اتجاه السوق. وعلى العكس تعتمد المؤشرات المتأخرة على الأحداث السابقة وتوفر رؤى حول البيانات التاريخية لسوق أو اقتصاد معين.

بمعنى آخر، توفر المؤشرات الرائدة إشارات تنبؤية (قبل وقوع الأحداث أو تغير اتجاهات السوق) وتولد المؤشرات المتخلفة إشارات بناءً على اتجاه حدث بالفعل. يتم استخدام هذين النوعين من المؤشرات على نطاق واسع من قبل المستثمرين والمتداولين الذين يستخدمون التحليل الفني (TA) مما يجعلها مفيدة للغاية في تداول الأسهم والعملات الأجنبية والعملات الرقمية

تتمتع مؤشرات التحليل الفني في الأسواق المالية بتاريخ طويل يمتد إلى العقود الأولى من القرن العشرين. تكمن الفكرة وراء هذه المؤشرات في تطوير نظرية داو التي حدثت بين عامي 1902 و 1929. تؤكد نظرية داو في الأساس على أن تحركات الأسعار ليست عشوائية وبالتالي يمكن التنبؤ بها باستخدام تحليل شامل لسلوك السوق السابق.

بخلاف ذلك يتم أيضا استخدام المؤشرات الرائدة والمتأخرة في تحديد الأداء الاقتصادي. على هذا النحو فهي لا ترتبط دائمًا بالتحليل الفني وأسعار السوق ولكن أيضًا بالمتغيرات الاقتصادية والمؤشرات الأخرى.


كيف تعمل المؤشرات الرائدة والمتأخرة؟

المؤشرات الرائدة

كما ذكرنا من قبل، المؤشرات الرائدة هي التي يمكن أن توفر معلومات حول الاتجاهات التي لم تظهر بعد أو لم يتم حدوثها. لذلك يمكن استخدام هذه المؤشرات للتنبؤ بحدوث حالات ركود أو استرداد محتملة للسوق. على سبيل المثال في مجالات سوق الأوراق المالية أو مبيعات التجزئة أو تصاريح البناء.

لذلك تميل المؤشرات الرائدة إلى تقديم الرؤى قبل الدورات الاقتصادية وهي بشكل عام مناسبة للتحليلات القصيرة والمتوسطة الأجل. على سبيل المثال يمكن اعتبار تصاريح البناء نوعًا من المؤشرات الاقتصادية الرائدة. حيث أنها قد تشير إلى الطلب في المستقبل على عمال البناء والاستثمارات في سوق العقارات بشكل عام.


المؤشرات المتأخرة

على عكس المؤشرات الرائدة، يتم استخدام المؤشرات المتأخرة لتحديد الاتجاهات الحالية والتي قد لا تكون واضحة على الفور من تلقاء نفسها. بالتالي فإن هذا النوع من المؤشرات يتحرك وراء الدورات الاقتصادية. 

عادة يتم إستخدام المؤشرات المتأخرة في التحليلات طويلة الأجل اعْتمادًا على الأداء الاقتصادي التاريخي أو بيانات الأسعار السابقة. بمعنى اخر، فإن المؤشرات المتأخرة تنتج إشارات بناءً على اتجاه السوق أو الحدث المالي الذي بدأ أو حدث بالفعل.


المؤشرات المتزامنة

على الرغم من أنها أقل شعبية في مجال العملات الرقمية، إلا أن هناك أيضًا نوع ثالث من المؤشرات جدير بالذكر والتي تُعرف باسم المؤشرات المتزامنة. هذه المؤشرات موجودة في مكان ما بين النوعين الآخرين (الرائدة والمتأخرة). تعمل نوعية هذه المؤشرات في الوقت الفعلي تقريبًا وتقدم معلومات حول الوضع الاقتصادي الحالي.

على سبيل المثال: يمكن إنشاء مؤشر متزامن عن طريق قياس ساعات العمل لمجموعة من الموظفين أو معدل الإنتاج لقطاع صناعة معين مثل التصنيع أو التعدين.

مع ذلك تجدر الإشارة إلى أن تعاريف المؤشرات الرائدة والمتأخرة والمتزامنة ليست دائمًا واضحة تمامًا. قد تنقسم بعض المؤشرات إلى فئات مختلفة حسب الطريقة والسياق التي تعمل بها. هذا أمر شائع بشكل خاص مع المؤشرات الاقتصادية مثل الناتج المحلي الإجمالي (GDP).

يعتبر الناتج المحلي الإجمالي (GDP) مؤشر متأخر لأنه يتم حسابه على أساس البيانات التاريخية السابقة. لكن في بعض الحالات قد يظهر هذا المؤشر تغييرات اقتصادية فورية تقريبًا مما يجعله مؤشرًا متزامنًا.


الإستخدامات في التحليل الفني

كما ذكرنا من قبل تعتبر المؤشرات الاقتصادية أيضًا جزءًا من الأسواق المالية. يقوم العديد من المتداولين والخبراء بإستخدام أدوات التحليل الفني التي يمكن تعريفها على أنها مؤشرات رائدة أو متأخرة.

في الأساس، توفر مؤشرات التحليل الفني الرائدة نوعًا من المعلومات التنبؤية وعادة ما تكون مستندة إلى أسعار السوق وحجم التداول. هذا يعني أنها قد تشير إلى تحركات السوق التي من المحتمل أن تحدث في المستقبل القريب. لكن هي ليست دقيقة دائمًا مثل أي مؤشر آخر.

تتضمن أمثلة المؤشرات الرائدة المستخدمة في التحليل الفني مؤشر القوة النسبية (RSI) ومؤشر RSI Stochastic بمعنى أنه يمكن حتى اعتبار الشموع (Candlesticks) نوع من المؤشرات الرائدة بسبب الأنماط التي تنشئها. في التطبيق العملي، قد توفر هذه الأنماط نظرة ثاقبة حول أحداث السوق المستقبلية.

من ناحية أخرى، تعتمد مؤشرات التحليل الفني المتأخرة على البيانات السابقة مما يمنح المتداولين نظرة ثاقبة حول ما حدث في السوق بالفعل. مع ذلك يمكن أن تكون مفيدة في اكتشاف بداية اتجاهات السوق الجديدة. على سبيل المثال عندما ينتهي الاتجاه الصعودي وينخفض السعر تحت المتوسط المتحرك قد يشير ذلك إلى بداية الاتجاه الهبوطي.

في بعض الحالات قد يكون هناك نوعان من المؤشرات في نظام مخطط واحد. على سبيل المثال، تتكون سحابة إيشيموكو من المؤشرات الرائدة والمتأخرة.

لكل من المؤشرات الرائدة والمتأخرة مزاياها وعيوبها عند إستخدامها في التحليل الفني. تميل المؤشرات الرائدة الي تقديم أفضل الفرص للمتداولين من خلال التنبؤ بالاتجاهات المستقبلية. لكن تكمن المشكلة في أن المؤشرات الرائدة تنتج إشارات خاطئة في كثير من الأحيان.

في الوقت نفسه تميل المؤشرات المتأخرة إلى أن تكون أكثر موثوقية لأنها محددة بوضوح من خلال بيانات السوق السابقة. مع ذلك الجانب السلبي الواضح للمؤشرات المتأخرة هو رد فعلها المتأخر لحركات السوق. حيث أن في بعض الحالات قد تأتي الإشارات متأخرة نسبيًا حتى يفتح المتداول مركزًا مما يؤدي إلى انخفاض المكاسب المحتملة.


الإستخدامات في الإقتصاد الكلي

الإضافة إلى فائدتها في تحديد اتجاهات أسعار السوق، تُستخدم أيضًا المؤشرات في تحليل اتجاهات الاقتصاد الكلي. تختلف المؤشرات الاقتصادية عن تلك الني تستخدم في التحليل الفني ولكن لا يزال من الممكن تصنيفها على نطاق واسع إلى أصناف رائدة ومتأخرة.

تشمل المؤشرات الاقتصادية الرائدة الأخرى مبيعات التجزئة وأسعار العقارات ومستويات النشاط الصناعي بالإضافة إلى الأمثلة التي سبق ذكرها. يُفترض بشكل عام أن هذه المؤشرات تقود النشاط الاقتصادي في المستقبل أو على الأقل توفر رؤى تنبؤية. 

من الأمثلة التقليدية الأخرى لمؤشرات الاقتصاد الكلي المتأخرة معدلات البطالة و التضخم. جنبا إلى جنب مع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي (GDP) ومؤشر أسعار المستهلكين (CPI). عادة يتم استخدام هذه المؤشرات عند مقارنة مستويات التنمية لمختلف البلدان أو عند تقييم نمو الأمة بالمقارنة مع السنوات أو العقود السابقة.


أفكار ختامية

تلعب المؤشرات الرائدة والمتأخرة دورًا مهمًا في العديد من أنواع الدراسات المالية سواء تم إستخدامها في التحليل الفني أو الاقتصاد الكلي. فهي تسهل تفسير أنواع مختلفة من البيانات وغالبا ما تجمع بين مفاهيم متعددة في أداة واحدة.

على هذا النحو يمكن لهذه المؤشرات في نهاية المطاف التنبؤ بالاتجاهات المستقبلية أو تأكيد إتجاهات تم حدوثها بالفعل. بخلاف ذلك فهي أيضًا مفيدة عند تقييم الأداء الاقتصادي لبلد سواء فيما يتعلق بالسنوات السابقة أو بالمقارنة مع البلدان الأخرى.

Loading

Leading and Lagging Indicators Explained

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Leading and Lagging Indicators Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

What are leading and lagging indicators?

Leading and lagging indicators are tools that evaluate the strength or weakness of economies or financial markets. Simply put, leading indicators change in advance of an economic cycle or market trend. In contrast, lagging indicators are based on previous events and provide insights about the historical data of a particular market or economy.

In other words, leading indicators provide predictive signals (before the occurrence of events or trends), and lagging indicators generate signals based on a trend that is already underway. These two classes of indicators are used extensively by investors and traders who employ technical analysis (TA), making them quite useful in stock, Forex, and cryptocurrency trading. 

In financial markets, TA indicators have a long history that stretches back to the early decades of the 20th century. The idea behind these indicators is rooted in the development of the Dow Theory, which occurred between 1902 and 1929. Essentially, the Dow Theory asserts that price movements are not random, and therefore can be predicted by using thorough analysis of prior market behavior.

Other than that, leading and lagging indicators are used for mapping economic performance. As such, they are not always related to technical analysis and market prices, but also to other economic variables and indexes.


How do leading and lagging indicators work?

Leading indicators

As mentioned, leading indicators that can provide information about trends that are yet to emerge. Therefore, these indicators may be used for predicting potential recessions or recoveries. For instance, in regards to stock market performance, retail sales, or building permits.

So, leading indicators tend to move ahead of economic cycles and are, in general, suitable for short and mid-term analyses. For example, building permits can be considered a kind of leading economic indicator. They may signal future demand for construction labor, and investments in the real estate market.


Lagging indicators

As opposed to leading indicators, lagging indicators are used to identify existing trends, which may not be immediately evident on their own. Thus, this type of indicator moves behind the economic cycles. 

Typically, lagging indicators are applied to long-term analyses, based on historical economic performance or previous price data. In other terms, lagging indicators produce signals based on a market trend or financial event that has already been initiated or established.


Coincident indicators

Although they are less popular in the cryptocurrency space, there is also a third class of indicators worth mentioning, which are known as coincident indicators. These indicators are somewhere in between the other two types. They work almost in real-time, providing information about the current economic situation.

For instance, a coincident indicator can be created by measuring the working hours of a group of employees or the production rate of a particular industry sector, such as manufacturing or mining.

It’s worth keeping in mind, however, that the definitions of leading, lagging, and coincident indicators are not always crystal clear. Some indicators may fall into different categories depending on the method and context. This is particularly common with economic indicators like the Gross Domestic Product (GDP).

Traditionally, GDP is considered a lagging indicator because it is calculated based on historical data. In some cases, however, it may reflect nearly instant economic changes, making it a coincident indicator.


Uses in technical analysis

As mentioned, economic indicators are also part of financial markets. Many traders and chartists deploy technical analysis tools that can be defined as either leading or lagging indicators.

Essentially, the leading TA indicators provide some sort of predictive information. They are usually based on market prices and trading volume. This means that they may indicate market movements that are likely to happen in the near future. But, just as any indicator, they are not always accurate.

Examples of leading indicators used in technical analysis include the Relative Strength Index (RSI) and the Stochastic RSI. In a sense, even the candlesticks may be considered as a type of leading indicator due to the patterns they create. In practice, these patterns may provide insights into future market events.

On the other hand, lagging TA indicators are based on previous data, giving traders insights about what has already happened. Still, they can come in handy when spotting the beginning of new market trends. For example, when an uptrend is over, and the price drops below a moving average, this could potentially indicate the start of a downtrend.

In some cases, the two types of indicators may be present in a single chart system. The Ichimoku Cloud, for instance, is composed of both leading and lagging indicators.

When used for technical analysis, both leading and lagging indicators have their advantages and disadvantages. By predicting future trends, leading indicators would seem to offer the best opportunities for traders. The problem, however, is that leading indicators frequently produce misleading signals.

Meanwhile, lagging indicators tend to be more reliable since they are clearly defined by previous market data. The obvious downside of lagging indicators, though, is their delayed reaction to market movements. In some cases, the signals may come relatively late for a trader to open a favorable position, resulting in lower potential gains.


Uses in macroeconomics

Beyond their usefulness in evaluating price market trends, indicators are also used to analyze macroeconomic trends. Economic indicators are different than those used for technical analysis, but can still be broadly classified into leading and lagging varieties.

In addition to the previously cited examples, other leading economic indicators include retail sales, housing prices, and the levels of manufacturing activity. In general, these indicators are assumed to drive future economic activity, or at least provide predictive insights. 

Other two classic examples of lagging macroeconomic indicators include unemployment and inflation rates. Along with GDP and CPI, these are commonly used when comparing the development levels of different countries - or when assessing the growth of a nation in comparison to previous years and decades.


Closing thoughts

Whether they are used in technical analysis or macroeconomics, leading and lagging indicators play an important role in many types of financial studies. They facilitate the interpretation of different kinds of data, often combining multiple concepts in a single instrument.

As such, these indicators can eventually predict future trends or confirm those that are already occurring. Other than that, they are also useful when evaluating the economic performance of a country. Either in relation to the previous years or in comparison to other countries.

Loading