先行指标和滞后指标详解

分享
Copied to clipboard!
先行指标和滞后指标详解

什么是先行指标和滞后指标?

先行指标和滞后指标是评估经济或金融市场扩张和低谷的工具。简而言之,先行指标会在经济周期或市场趋势来临之前发生变化。相反,滞后指标基于历史事件进行分析,提供有关特定市场或经济运行历史数据的参考。

换句话说,先行指标提供预测信号(在事件或趋势发生之前),而滞后指标则根据已经发生的趋势生成指导信号。这两类指标被使用技术分析(TA)的投资者和交易商广泛使用,在股票、外汇和加密货币交易中非常有用。 

在金融市场中,技术分析指标的历史可追溯到20世纪初期。这些指标背后的思想源于1902年至1929年之间出现的道指理论。基本上,道指理论断言价格走势不是随机的,因此可以通过对先前市场行为的分析来预测市场走势。

除此之外,先行指标和滞后指标可用于绘制经济走势。因此,它们并不总是与技术分析和市场价格有关,还与其他经济变量和指数相关。


先行指标和滞后指标的工作原理

先行指标

如前所述,先行指标可以预测有关未来的趋势。因此,这些指标可用于预测潜在的衰退或复苏。例如,关于股票市场表现,零售业或建筑许可。

因此,先行指标往往会超越经济周期,并且通常适合于短期和中期的周期分析。例如,建筑许可被视为一种先行的经济指标。它的出现可能表明未来对建筑工人的需求以及对房地产市场的投资将会增加。


滞后指标

与先行指标相反,滞后指标用于识别现有趋势,而这些趋势可能不会立即显现出来。因此,这种指标落后于经济周期。

通常情况下,基于历史经济表现或先前的价格数据,经常会将滞后指标应用于长期分析中。换句话说,滞后指标会根据已经启动或建立的市场趋势和金融交易创建出相应的信号。


同步指标

尽管先行和滞后指标在加密货币领域不那么受欢迎,但还有第三类指标值得一提,称为同步指标。这个指标介于其他两种类型指标之间。他几乎实时工作,提供有关当前经济状况的分析信息。

例如,可以通过测量一组员工的工作时间或特定行业(例如制造业或采矿业)的生产率来生成同步指标。

值得注意的是,先行、滞后和同步指标的定义并不总是很清晰。我们根据方式和内容,某些指标又可分为几种不同的类别。这在诸如国内生产总值(GDP)之类的经济指标中尤为常见。

本质上,GDP被认为是一个滞后指标,因为它是根据历史数据计算得出的。但是,在某些情况下,它可能反映了近乎实时的经济变化,使其成为一个便利的指标。


用于技术分析

如上所述,经济指标也是金融市场的一部分。许多交易员和图表分析专家部署了先行指标或滞后指标的技术分析工具。

本质上,先行技术指标提供了某种预测性的信息。它们通常基于市场价格和交易量。这意味着在不久的将来可能发生的市场动向。但是,同其他指标一样先行指标也并不总是准确的。

技术分析中使用的先行指标包括相对强度指数(RSI)随机相对强度指数(RSI)。从某种意义上说,由于烛台创建的走势,甚至烛台也可以视为一种先行指标。实际上,这些模式可以提供对未来市场事件的参考。

另一方面,技术分析中的滞后指标基于历史数据,使交易者可以了解已经发生的事件。不过,当出现新市场趋势时,它们也可以派上用场。例如,当上升趋势结束并且价格跌破至移动平均线以下时,这可能表示下降趋势已经开始了。

某些情况下,这两种类型的指标可能同时出现在单个图表系统中。例如,一目均衡图由先行指标和滞后指标组成。

当用于技术分析时,先行指标和滞后指标各有利弊。在预测未来趋势方面,先行指标可以为交易者提供最佳机会。然而,问题在于先行指标经常产生误导性信号。

同时,滞后指标往往更为可靠,因为它们由市场的历史数据所明确定义。滞后指标的显著缺点是,它们对市场走势的反应较为迟钝。在某些情况下,对于交易者来说,开立盈利头寸的信号时机可能相对较晚,导致潜在收益偏低。


宏观经济学中的作用

这两个指标除了能够评估价格市场趋势外,还可用于分析宏观经济趋势。经济指标与技术分析所用的指标不同,但仍可以大致分为先行和滞后。

除先前引用的例子之外,其他主要经济指标还包括零售额、房价和制造业活动水平。通常,该类指标被认为会推动未来的经济活动,或至少提供可预测的参考信息。

宏观经济中的滞后指标,还有其他两个典型案例,包括失业率和通胀率。在比较不同国家的发展水平时,或者是评估一个国家在前几年和几十年前的增长时,通常会使用GDP和CPI。


总结

无论是技术分析还是宏观经济学,先行指标和滞后指标在许多类型的金融研究中都起着十分重要的作用。它们通常在单个工具中结合多个相关概念,从而有助于解释不同类型的数据。

所以,这些指标最终可以预测未来趋势或确认已经发生的趋势。除此之外,它们在评估一个国家的经济绩效时也十分有用。同样,也可以用于和其他国家进行比较或是对比往年数据。

Loading

Leading and Lagging Indicators Explained

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Leading and Lagging Indicators Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

What are leading and lagging indicators?

Leading and lagging indicators are tools that evaluate the strength or weakness of economies or financial markets. Simply put, leading indicators change in advance of an economic cycle or market trend. In contrast, lagging indicators are based on previous events and provide insights about the historical data of a particular market or economy.

In other words, leading indicators provide predictive signals (before the occurrence of events or trends), and lagging indicators generate signals based on a trend that is already underway. These two classes of indicators are used extensively by investors and traders who employ technical analysis (TA), making them quite useful in stock, Forex, and cryptocurrency trading. 

In financial markets, TA indicators have a long history that stretches back to the early decades of the 20th century. The idea behind these indicators is rooted in the development of the Dow Theory, which occurred between 1902 and 1929. Essentially, the Dow Theory asserts that price movements are not random, and therefore can be predicted by using thorough analysis of prior market behavior.

Other than that, leading and lagging indicators are used for mapping economic performance. As such, they are not always related to technical analysis and market prices, but also to other economic variables and indexes.


How do leading and lagging indicators work?

Leading indicators

As mentioned, leading indicators that can provide information about trends that are yet to emerge. Therefore, these indicators may be used for predicting potential recessions or recoveries. For instance, in regards to stock market performance, retail sales, or building permits.

So, leading indicators tend to move ahead of economic cycles and are, in general, suitable for short and mid-term analyses. For example, building permits can be considered a kind of leading economic indicator. They may signal future demand for construction labor, and investments in the real estate market.


Lagging indicators

As opposed to leading indicators, lagging indicators are used to identify existing trends, which may not be immediately evident on their own. Thus, this type of indicator moves behind the economic cycles. 

Typically, lagging indicators are applied to long-term analyses, based on historical economic performance or previous price data. In other terms, lagging indicators produce signals based on a market trend or financial event that has already been initiated or established.


Coincident indicators

Although they are less popular in the cryptocurrency space, there is also a third class of indicators worth mentioning, which are known as coincident indicators. These indicators are somewhere in between the other two types. They work almost in real-time, providing information about the current economic situation.

For instance, a coincident indicator can be created by measuring the working hours of a group of employees or the production rate of a particular industry sector, such as manufacturing or mining.

It’s worth keeping in mind, however, that the definitions of leading, lagging, and coincident indicators are not always crystal clear. Some indicators may fall into different categories depending on the method and context. This is particularly common with economic indicators like the Gross Domestic Product (GDP).

Traditionally, GDP is considered a lagging indicator because it is calculated based on historical data. In some cases, however, it may reflect nearly instant economic changes, making it a coincident indicator.


Uses in technical analysis

As mentioned, economic indicators are also part of financial markets. Many traders and chartists deploy technical analysis tools that can be defined as either leading or lagging indicators.

Essentially, the leading TA indicators provide some sort of predictive information. They are usually based on market prices and trading volume. This means that they may indicate market movements that are likely to happen in the near future. But, just as any indicator, they are not always accurate.

Examples of leading indicators used in technical analysis include the Relative Strength Index (RSI) and the Stochastic RSI. In a sense, even the candlesticks may be considered as a type of leading indicator due to the patterns they create. In practice, these patterns may provide insights into future market events.

On the other hand, lagging TA indicators are based on previous data, giving traders insights about what has already happened. Still, they can come in handy when spotting the beginning of new market trends. For example, when an uptrend is over, and the price drops below a moving average, this could potentially indicate the start of a downtrend.

In some cases, the two types of indicators may be present in a single chart system. The Ichimoku Cloud, for instance, is composed of both leading and lagging indicators.

When used for technical analysis, both leading and lagging indicators have their advantages and disadvantages. By predicting future trends, leading indicators would seem to offer the best opportunities for traders. The problem, however, is that leading indicators frequently produce misleading signals.

Meanwhile, lagging indicators tend to be more reliable since they are clearly defined by previous market data. The obvious downside of lagging indicators, though, is their delayed reaction to market movements. In some cases, the signals may come relatively late for a trader to open a favorable position, resulting in lower potential gains.


Uses in macroeconomics

Beyond their usefulness in evaluating price market trends, indicators are also used to analyze macroeconomic trends. Economic indicators are different than those used for technical analysis, but can still be broadly classified into leading and lagging varieties.

In addition to the previously cited examples, other leading economic indicators include retail sales, housing prices, and the levels of manufacturing activity. In general, these indicators are assumed to drive future economic activity, or at least provide predictive insights. 

Other two classic examples of lagging macroeconomic indicators include unemployment and inflation rates. Along with GDP and CPI, these are commonly used when comparing the development levels of different countries - or when assessing the growth of a nation in comparison to previous years and decades.


Closing thoughts

Whether they are used in technical analysis or macroeconomics, leading and lagging indicators play an important role in many types of financial studies. They facilitate the interpretation of different kinds of data, often combining multiple concepts in a single instrument.

As such, these indicators can eventually predict future trends or confirm those that are already occurring. Other than that, they are also useful when evaluating the economic performance of a country. Either in relation to the previous years or in comparison to other countries.

Loading