2008年的金融危机

分享
Copied to clipboard!

2008年的金融危机:深思过去与熟虑现在

2008年的金融危机撼动了整个全球的经济。十年后的现在,人们深思着规则是如何改变的,且更重要的是如何在未来避免此类型的经济危机。

起初的次级贷款市场金融风暴,慢慢的演变成了一场大规模的全球性金融危机和经济衰退。再从大规模的经济救援到后来的经济持续衰退,许多人都在质疑他们所深信的全球银行系统的稳定性和透明度。


金融危机期间发生了什么?

2008年的金融危机被视为“大萧条”之后最严重的经济灾难,世界经济因它而受到重创。而这也是导致所谓“大衰退”的主要原因。“大衰退”期间房价急速下跌,且失业率急剧上升。其所造成的影响何其巨大,致使如今仍由余波影响着现在的金融体系。

在不到两年的时间里,美国超过800万的公民失业,近250万家企业破产,400万户房屋被取消赎回权。从粮食短缺再到收入不平等,越来越多的人们开始对当时的经济体系失去信心。

虽然当时的经济衰退在2009年正式结束,但还是有许多国家在很长时间内仍受其影响,尤其是美国。美国2009年的失业率达到了10%,且直到2016年才恢复到危机前的水平。


是什么导致了“大衰退”?

就起因而言,应归咎于多个因素。当“完美风暴”逐渐形成,一旦达到临界点就会形成金融危机。当时的金融机构都在发行高风险的次级抵押贷款,而这一状况的导致的恶劣结果就是纳税人出资来进行大规模救助。

纵然引起2008年金融危机的真正原因错综复杂,但最主要的还是由于美国房地产市场崩溃所引起的一系列连锁反应,这才直接导致了金融体系出现裂缝。紧随其后的就是雷曼兄弟公司破产,而这也直接重创了美国和欧洲的经济。并且所有的这些也直接让公众意识到银行的潜在缺陷。由于全球经济的相互关联,这次的危机还在世界各地造成了重大影响。


对于现在来说它为什么如此重要?

虽然金融危机已经过去了10年,但其所产生的很多问题还是令人担忧。此次经济衰退造成的影响还有一些仍然存在,并且此次危机后全球经济的复苏与历史标准相比仍是疲弱的。现如今高风险贷款再次被提供,尽管出现违约的几率很低,但是谁也不能保证此情况会保持不变。

现在的监管机构坚称,自2008年以后,全球金融体系已经发生了重大变化,安全措施已大幅加强。出于此原因,人们开始相信现如今的全球金融体系已比10年前的更加强大。

而另一方面,仍有一些人在思考:以前的经济危机还会再次发生么?而对此的答案当然是肯定的“会”,因为一切皆有可能。纵然现在已经做出很多改变,且也已实施了新的规则,但其中仍存在一些根本性问题。

2008年的金融危机提醒我们,相关政策至关重要。2008年所发生事件基本上是由于监管者、政治家和决策者多年前所做出的不良政策引起的。从管控不足的监管机构,再到企业文化的影响,大衰退绝不是过去。


比特币等加密货币的发展

2008年金融危机的出现暴露出传统银行体系的一些风险,然而2008年也是第一种加密货币-比特币的诞生之年。

与美元或英镑等法定货币不同,比特币和其他加密货币都是去中心化的,而这就意味着它们并不受国家政府或中央银行的控制。反而,此类新货币的生产是由一组预定义的规则(协议)决定的。

比特币协议以及其基本的工作量证明(PoW)共识算法确保了此新型加密货币的发行是按照既定时间表来执行的。更具体的说,新代币的产生是依赖于被称为挖矿的过程。矿工们不仅负责向系统中引入新的代币,还将通过对交易的记录和验证来保护网络。

此外,比特币协议还设定了最大供应量,以此来确保世界上最多只会存在2100万比特币。而这就意味着现在和未来比特币的供应不会出现意外。同时,比特币的原始代码还是开源的,所以任何人都可以进行检查,也可以参与到它的发展中并给予贡献。


总结

尽管2008年的金融危机已经过去10年了,但人们从不会忘记当初的国际银行体系是多么的脆弱不堪。我们不能完全保证此类事件不会再次发生,而这也许就是比特币等去中心化数字货币被创建的主要原因。

加密货币仍有很长的路要走,但它们无疑是传统法定货币体系的可行的替代选择。此类替代经济网络也有望在财务自由的地区实现经济独立,并创造出一个更好的世界。

Loading

The 2008 Financial Crisis Explained

Share
The 2008 Financial Crisis Explained

Past and present

In 2008, the financial crisis shook the global economy. Now ten years later, people are wondering how the rules have changed, and more importantly, how this type of economic crisis can be avoided in the future. 

What began as a crisis in regards to the subprime mortgage market, later developed into a large-scale, global financial crisis and recession. From massive bailouts to the resulting economic downturn, many are now questioning the stability and transparency of the global banking systems they previously trusted.


What happened during the financial crisis?

Referred to as the worst economic disaster since the Great Depression, the 2008 financial crisis devastated the world economy. This resulted in what's known as the Great Recession, which led to falling housing prices and sharp increases in unemployment. The associated repercussions were enormous, and are still influencing financial systems today. 

In the US, more than eight million citizens lost their jobs, approximately 2.5 million businesses were devastated, and close to four million homes were foreclosed in less than two years. From food insecurity to income inequality, many have lost faith in the system.

The recession officially ended in 2009, but many continued to suffer long after it, especially in the US. The unemployment rate reached 10% in 2009 and was only recovered to pre-crisis levels in 2016.


What caused the Great Recession?

In terms of the cause, numerous factors were to blame. The "perfect storm" was brewing and once it reached its breaking point, a financial crisis ensued. Financial institutions were giving out high-risk loans (mainly mortgages) that eventually resulted in a massive taxpayer-financed bailout. 

The true cause of the 2008 financial crisis is highly complex, but it was America's housing market that initiated a chain reaction - one that would expose cracks in the financial system. This was followed by the bankruptcy of the Lehman Brothers firm which had a crippling effect on the American and European economy. In turn, the episode made the public aware of the banks' potential shortcomings. It also caused significant disruptions around the world, based on how the global economy is interconnected.


Why does it matter today?

Although it has been a decade since the financial crisis hit, there are still concerns. The effects of this recession are still alive, and the global economic recovery has been fairly weak in comparison to historical standards. High-risk loans are being offered once again, and although default rates are low today, that could change very quickly. 

Regulators insist that the global financial system has been altered since 2008 and that safety measures have been considerably enhanced. For this reason, many believe that the global financial system is stronger today than it was a decade ago. 

On the other hand, some are still wondering: could this type of economic crisis happen again? The short answer is yes, anything is possible. Despite the many changes that were made and the new rules that were enforced, there are fundamental problems that remain. 

Noteworthy, the 2008 financial crisis reminds us that policy matters. The events that took place in 2008 were essentially caused by the decisions that regulators, politicians, and policymakers made years prior. From poorly controlled regulatory bodies to the impact of corporate culture, the Great Recession is anything but "in the past." 


The development of Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies

While the rise of a financial crisis in 2008 highlighted some of the risks associated with the traditional banking system, 2008 was also the birth year of Bitcoin - the first cryptocurrency to be created.

In contrast to fiat currencies, such as the US dollar or British pound, Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies are decentralized, which means they are not controlled by a national government or central bank. Instead, the creation of new coins is determined by a predefined set of rules (protocol).

The Bitcoin protocol and its underlying Proof of Work consensus algorithm ensure that the issuance of new cryptocurrency units follows a regular schedule. More specifically, the generation of new coins is reliant on a process known as mining. The miners are not only responsible for introducing new coins into the system but also for securing the network by verifying and validating transactions.

In addition, the protocol establishes a fixed max supply that guarantees there will only ever be a total of 21 million Bitcoins in the world. This means that there are no surprises when it comes to the current and future supply of Bitcoin. Moreover, the Bitcoin source code is open-source, so anyone is able to not only check it but also to contribute and participate in its development.


Closing thoughts

Although it has been a decade since the 2008 financial crisis, people have not forgotten how fragile the international banking system really is. We cannot be totally sure, but this is probably one of the reasons that led to the creation of a decentralized digital currency like Bitcoin.

Cryptocurrencies still have a long way to go, but they definitely represent a viable alternative for the traditional fiat system. Such an alternative economic network may bring financial independence where there is none, and certainly has the potential to create a better society going forward.

Loading