سيكولوجية دورات السوق

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
سيكولوجية دورات السوق
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

ما هي سيكولوجية السوق؟

سيكولوجية السوق هي فكرة أن حركات السوق تعكس (أو تتأثر بـ) الحالة العاطفية للمشاركين فيه. هذا أحد الموضوعات الرئيسية للاقتصاد السلوكي وهو مجال متعدد التخصصات يبحث في العوامل المختلفة التي تسبق القرارات الاقتصادية.

يعتقد الكثيرون أن العواطف هي القوة الدافعة الرئيسية وراء تحولات أو تغيرات الأسواق المالية. هذا الشعور العام المتقلب للمستثمر هو ما يخلق ما يسمى دورات السوق السيكولوجية.

باختصار، معنويات السوق هي الشعور العام الذي يشعر به المستثمرين والمتداولين عندما تحدث حركة في سعر الأصل. عندما تكون معنويات السوق إيجابية وترتفع الأسعار بشكل مستمر يقال أن هناك اتجاه صعودي (يشار إليه في الغالب بسوق صاعد أو Bull Market). يسمى العكس سوق هبوطي أو Bear Market وهو عندما يكون هناك انخفاض مستمر في الأسعار.

لذلك فإن العاطفة تتكون من الآراء والمشاعر الفردية لجميع المتداولين والمستثمرين في الأسواق المالية. هناك طريقة أخرى للنظر إليها وهي متوسط الشعور العام للمشاركين في السوق. 

لكن كما هو الحال في أي مجموعة، لا يوجد رأي واحد يكون هو المهيمن تمامًا. استنادًا إلى نظريات سيكولوجية السوق يميل سعر الأصل إلى التغيير باستمرار استجابةً لمعنويات السوق الإجمالية وهذا شيء فعال و حيوي أيضًا. خلاف ذلك سيكون من الصعب إجراء صفقة ناجحة. 

في التطبيقات العملية، عندما يرتفع السوق ويكون الإتجاة العام صعودي فمن المحتمل أن يكون ذلك بسبب تحسن الموقف والثقة بين المتداولين. حيث تؤدي معنويات السوق الإيجابية إلى زيادة الطلب وانخفاض العرض. في المقابل قد يؤدي زيادة الطلب إلى موقف أقوى. بالمثل يميل الاتجاه الهبوطي القوي إلى خلق شعور سلبي يقلل من الطلب ويزيد من العرض المتاح.

 

كيف تتغير المشاعر خلال دورات السوق؟

السوق الصعودي

تمر جميع الأسواق بدورات من التوسع والانكماش عندما يكون السوق في مرحلة التوسع (سوق صعودي)، يكون هناك حالة من كلا من التفاؤل والإيمان والجشع. عادة تكون هذه هي العواطف الرئيسية التي تؤدي إلى نشاط شراء قوي.

من الشائع جدًا أيضا رؤية نوع من التأثير الدوري أو الرجعي أثناء دورات السوق. على سبيل المثال تصبح المعنويات أكثر إيجابية مع ارتفاع الأسعار مما يؤدي إلى رفع المعنويات أيضا والذي بدورة في النهاية يدفع السوق إلى الارتفاع أكثر.

في بعض الأحيان يسيطر شعور قوي من الجشع والإيمان على السوق بطريقة يمكن أن تتشكل بها فقاعة مالية. في مثل هذا السيناريو يصبح العديد من المستثمرين غير عقلانيين ومغيبين عن القيمة الفعلية ويشترون الأصل فقط لأنهم يعتقدون أن السوق سوف يستمر في الارتفاع. 

يصبحون أكثر جَشَعًا ونشاطًا على أمل جني الأرباح. مع توجة السعر أكثر إلى الأعلى يتم إنشاء القمة المحلية للأصل. بشكل عام تعتبر هذه أعلى نقطة للمخاطر المالية.

في بعض الحالات يشهد السوق حركة جانبية لفترة من الوقت حيث يتم بيع الأصول تدريجياً. تعرف هذه أيضا باسم مرحلة التوزيع. لكن لا تقدم بعض دورات السوق مرحلة توزيع واضحة ويبدأ الاتجاه الهبوطي بعد وقت قصير من الوصول إلى القمة.

السوق الهبوطي

يمكن أن تتحول حالة البهجة بسرعة إلى الرضا عن النفس عندما يبدأ السوق في الاتجاه المعاكس. حيث يرفض العديد من المتداولين الاعتقاد بأن الاتجاه الصعودي قد انتهى. مع استمرار الأسعار في الإنخفاض تبدأ معنويات السوق في التحرك بسرعة إلى الجانب السلبي وغالبًا ما تتضمن مشاعر القلق والإنكار والفزع.

في هذا السياق قد نصف القلق على أنه اللحظة التي يبدأ فيها المستثمرون في التساؤل عن سبب انخفاض السعر مما يؤدي قريبًا إلى بدأ مرحلة الإنكار. تتميز مرجلة الإنكار بشعور بعدم القبول. حيث يصر العديد من المستثمرين على الاحتفاظ بمراكزهم الخاسرة إما لأنه قد "فات الأوان على البيع" أو لأنهم يريدون أن يصدقوا أن "سيعود السوق قريبًا"

لكن تزداد موجة البيع مع انخفاض الأسعار أكثر. عند الوصول لهذه النقطة غالباً ما يؤدي الخوف والذعر إلى ما يسمى بـ إستسلام السوق (عندما يتخلى حاملو الأصول عن أصولهم ويبيعونها بالقرب من القاع المحلي).

في نهاية المطاف يتوقف الاتجاه الهبوطي مع انخفاض التقلب واستقرار السوق. عادةً ما يمر السوق بحركات جانبية قبل أن تبدأ مشاعر الأمل والتفاؤل بالسيطرة مرة أخرى. تعرف هذه الفترة الجانبية باسم مرحلة التجميع.

 

كيف يستخدم المستثمرون سيكولوجية السوق؟

على افتراض أن نظرية سيكولوجية السوق صحيحة فإن فهمها قد يساعد المتداول على الدخول والخروج من الصفقات في أوقات أكثر ملائمة. السلوك العام للسوق يأتي بنتائج عكسية: عادةً ما تأتي لحظة أعلى الفرص المالية (بالنسبة للمشتري) عندما يكون معظم الناس يائسين والسوق في حالة إنخفاض شديد. على النقيض من ذلك غالبًا ما تنشأ لحظة أعلى مخاطر مالية عندما يكون غالبية المشاركين في السوق في حالة بهجة وثقة بالنفس مفرطة.

بالتالي يحاول بعض المتداولين والمستثمرين قراءة العاطفة المسيطرة على السوق لتحديد المراحل المختلفة من دوراته السيكولوجية. من الناحية المثالية سوف يستخدمون هذه المعلومات للشراء عندما يكون هناك ذعر (انخفاض الأسعار) والبيع عند وجود جشع (ارتفاع الأسعار). على الرغم من ذلك يكون التعرف على هذه النقاط المثالية عند التطبيق العملي مهمة نادراً ما تكون سهلة. ما قد يبدو مثل القاع المحلي (الدعم) قد يفشل في الصمود مما يؤدي إلى الوصول الى مستويات أدنى.

 

التحليل الفني وسيكولوجية السوق

من السهل إلقاء نظرة على دورات السوق السابقة والتعرف على كيفية تغير السيكولوجية بشكل عام حيث أن تحليل البيانات السابقة يجعل من الواضح معرفة ما هي الإجراءات والقرارات التي قد تكون الأكثر ربحية.

مع ذلك فإنه من الصعب للغاية فهم كيف يتغير السوق في الحال وحتى أكثر صعوبة التنبؤ بما سيحدث بعد ذلك. يستخدم العديد من المستثمرين التحليل الفني (TA) لمحاولة توقع أين من المحتمل أن يذهب السوق في الفترة القادمة.

بمعنى أننا قد نقول أن مؤشرات التحليل الفني هي أدوات يمكن استخدامها عند محاولة تقييم الحالة السيكولوجية للسوق. على سبيل المثال قد يشير مؤشر القوة النسبية (RSI) إلى أن هناك زيادة في شراء أحد الأصول بسبب معنويات إيجابية قوية في السوق (مثل الجشع المفرط).

يمثل مؤشر MACD مثالاً آخر عن المؤشرات التي يمكن استخدامها لتحديد المراحل السيكولوجية المختلفة لدورة السوق. باختصار، قد تشير العلاقة بين خطوطها إلى متى يتغير زخم السوق (على سبيل المثال القوة الشرائية تزداد ضعفا).

 

البيتكوين وسيكولوجية السوق

يعتبر سوق البيتكوين الصاعد في عام 2017 مثالًا واضحًا على كيفية تأثير سيكولوجية السوق على الأسعار والعكس صحيح. حيث أن من يناير إلى ديسمبر ارتفع سعر عملة البيتكوين من 900 دولار تقريبًا إلى أعلى مستوى لها على الإطلاق عند 20,000 دولار. أصبحت معنويات السوق إيجابية أكثر فأكثر خلال إرتفاع السعر. حيث شارك الآلاف من المستثمرين الجدد في السوق واشتعلت بهم حماسة السوق الصاعد أو كما يطلق عليها FOMO. حيث دفع التفاؤل المفرط والجشع الأسعار بسرعة إلى الأعلى.

بدأ انعكاس الاتجاه في أواخر عام 2017 ومطلع عام 2018. ترك التصحيح التالي العديد من المنضمين الجدد للسوق بخسائر كبيرة. حتى عندما تم تحديد الاتجاه الهبوطي بالفعل تسببت الثقة الزائفة والرضا عن النفس في إصرار الكثير من الناس على الـ HODLing (التمسك بعملاتهم). 

بعد بضعة أشهر أصبحت معنويات السوق سلبية للغاية حيث بلغت ثقة المستثمرين أدنى مستوى لها على الإطلاق. تسبب الـ FUD (الخوف و الشك) والذعر في قيام العديد من أولئك الذين اشتروا بالقرب من القمة بالبيع بالقرب من القاع مما تسبب لهم في خسائر كبيرة. أصيب بعض الناس بخيبة أمل من البيتكوين على الرغم من أن التكنولوجيا كانت واحدة. في الواقع، يتم تحسينها بشكل مستمر.

 

التحيزات المعرفية

التحيزات المعرفية هي أنماط تفكير شائعة تؤدي غالبًا إلى اتخاذ البشر لقرارات غير عقلانية. يمكن أن تؤثر هذه الأنماط على كل من المتداولون الأفراد والسوق بشكل عام. بعض الأمثلة الشائعة هي:

  • انحياز التأكيد: هو الميل في المبالغة في تقدير المعلومات التي تؤكد معتقداتنا الخاصة مع تجاهل أو رفض جميع المعلومات التي تتعارض معها. على سبيل المثال قد يركز المستثمرون في السوق الصاعد بشكل أقوى على الأخبار الإيجابية ويتجاهلون الأخبار السلبية أو الإشارات التي تدل على أن اتجاه السوق على وشك الانعكاس.

  • كره الخسارة: الميل المشترك للبشر في الخوف من الخسائر أكثر مما قد يستمتعون بالمكاسب حتى لو كان المكسب مساويا للخسارة أو أكبر منها. بمعنى اخر، فإن ألم الخسارة يكون عادة أكثر إيلامًا من فرحة الربح. قد يتسبب هذا في فقدان المتداول لفرص جيدة أو البيع بسبب الذعر خلال فترات استسلام السوق.

  • تأثير المنحة: هو ميل الناس إلى تقدير قيمة الأشياء التي يمتلكونها لمجرد أنهم يمتلكونها. على سبيل المثال من المرجح أن يعتقد المستثمر الذي يمتلك حقيبة Bag من العملات الرقمية أنه يملك قيمة أكبر من كونه غير حامل عملات رقمية.

 

أفكار ختامية

يتفق معظم المتداولين والمستثمرين على أن علم النفس له تأثير على أسعار السوق ودوراته. على الرغم من أن دورات السوق السيكولوجية معروفة جيدًا إلا أنه ليس من السهل دائمًا التعامل معها. بداية من ظاهرة جنون التوليب الهولندية في القرن السادس عشر إلى فقاعة دوت كوم في التسعينات. حتى التجار المهرة كافحوا لفصل موقفهم الخاص عن شعور السوق العام. يواجه المستثمرون المهمة الصعبة المتمثلة في فهم ليس فقط سيكولوجية السوق ولكن أيضًا سيكولوجيتهم الخاصة وكيفية تأثير ذلك على عملية صنع القرار.

Loading

The Psychology of Market Cycles

Share
Copied to clipboard!
The Psychology of Market Cycles
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

What is market psychology?

Market psychology is the idea that the movements of a market reflect (or are influenced by) the emotional state of its participants. It is one of the main topics of behavioral economics - an interdisciplinary field that investigates the various factors that precede economic decisions.

Many believe that emotions are the main driving force behind the shifts of financial markets. And that the overall fluctuating investor sentiment is what creates the so-called psychological market cycles.

In short, market sentiment is the overall feeling that investors and traders have regarding the price action of an asset. When the market's sentiment is positive, and prices are rising continuously, there is said to be a bullish trend (often referred to as a bull market). The opposite is called a bear market, when there is an ongoing decline in prices.

So, the sentiment is made up of the individual views and feelings of all traders and investors within a financial market. Another way to look at it is as an average of the overall feeling of the market participants. 

But, just as with any group, no single opinion is completely dominant. Based on market psychology theories, an asset's price tends to change constantly in response to the overall market sentiment - which is also dynamic. Otherwise, it would be much harder to make a successful trade. 

In practice, when the market goes up, it is likely due to an improving attitude and confidence among the traders. A positive market sentiment causes demand to increase and supply to decrease. In turn, the increased demand may cause an even stronger attitude. Similarly, a strong downtrend tends to create a negative sentiment that reduces demand and increases the available supply.

 

How do emotions change during market cycles?

Uptrend

All markets go through cycles of expansion and contraction. When a market is in an expansion phase (a bull market), there is a climate of optimism, belief, and greed. Typically, these are the main emotions that lead to a strong buying activity.

It's quite common to see a sort of cyclical or retroactive effect during market cycles. For example, the sentiment gets more positive as the prices go up, which then causes the sentiment to get even more positive, driving the market even higher.

Sometimes, a strong sense of greed and belief overtakes the market in such a way that a financial bubble can form. In such a scenario, many investors become irrational, losing sight of the actual value and buying an asset only because they believe the market will continue to rise. 

They get greedy and overhyped by the market momentum, hoping to make profits. As the price gets overextended to the upside, the local top is created. In general, this is deemed as the point of maximum financial risk.

In some cases, the market will experience a sideways movement for a while as the assets are gradually sold. This is also known as the distribution stage. However, some cycles don't present a clear distribution stage, and the downtrend starts soon after the top is reached.

Downtrend

When the market starts to turn the other way, the euphoric mood can quickly turn into complacency, as many traders refuse to believe that the uptrend is over. As prices continue to decline, the market sentiment quickly moves to the negative side. It often includes feelings of anxiety, denial, and panic.

In this context, we may describe anxiety as the moment when investors start to question why the price is dropping, which soon leads to the denial stage. The denial period is marked by a sense of unacceptance. Many investors insist on holding their losing positions, either because "it's too late to sell" or because they want to believe "the market will come back soon."

But as the prices drop even further, the wave of selling gets stronger. At this point, fear and panic often lead to what is called a market capitulation (when holders give up and sell their assets close to the local bottom).

Eventually, the downtrend stops as the volatility decreases and the market stabilizes. Typically, the market experiences sideways movements before feelings of hope and optimism start arising once again. Such sideways period is also known as the accumulation stage.

 

How do investors use market psychology?

Assuming that the theory of market psychology is valid, understanding it may help a trader to enter and exit positions at more favorable times. The general attitude of the market is counterproductive: the moment of highest financial opportunity (for a buyer) usually comes when most people are hopeless, and the market is very low. In contrast, the moment of highest financial risk often arises when the majority of the market participants are euphoric and overconfident.

Thus, some traders and investors try to read the sentiment of a market to spot the different stages of its psychological cycles. Ideally, they would use this information to buy when there is panic (lower prices) and sell when there is greed (higher prices). In practice, though, recognizing these optimal points is rarely an easy task. What might seem like the local bottom (support) may fail to hold, leading to even lower lows.

 

Technical analysis and market psychology

It is easy to look back at market cycles and recognize how the overall psychology changed. Analyzing previous data makes it obvious what actions and decisions would have been the most profitable.

However, it is much harder to understand how the market is changing as it goes - and even harder to predict what comes next. Many investors use technical analysis (TA) to attempt to anticipate where the market is likely to go.

In a sense, we may say that TA indicators are tools that may be used when trying to measure the psychological state of the market. For instance, the Relative Strength Index (RSI) indicator may suggest when an asset is overbought due to a strong positive market sentiment (e.g., excessive greed).

The MACD is another example of an indicator that may be used to spot the different psychological stages of a market cycle. In short, the relation between its lines may indicate when market momentum is changing (e.g., buying force is getting weaker).

 

Bitcoin and market psychology

The Bitcoin bull market of 2017 is a clear example of how market psychology affects prices and vice-versa. From January to December, Bitcoin rose from roughly $900 to its all-time high of $20,000. During the rise, market sentiment became more and more positive. Thousands of new investors came on board, caught up in the excitement of the bull market. FOMO, excessive optimism, and greed quickly pushed prices up – until it didn't.

The trend reversal started taking place in late 2017 and early 2018. The following correction left many of the late joiners with significant losses. Even when the downtrend was already established, false confidence and complacency caused many people to insist on HODLing

A few months later, the market sentiment became very negative as investors' confidence reached an all-time low. FUD and panic caused many of those who bought close to the top to sell near the bottom, incurring in big losses. Some people became disillusioned with Bitcoin, although the technology was essentially the same. In fact, it is being improved continuously.

 

Cognitive biases

Cognitive biases are common thinking patterns that often cause humans to make irrational decisions. These patterns can affect both individual traders and the market as a whole. A few common examples are:

  • Confirmation bias: the tendency to overvalue information that confirms our own beliefs, while ignoring or dismissing information that runs contrary to them. For example, investors in a bull market may put a stronger focus on positive news, while ignoring bad news or signs that the market trend is about to reverse.
  • Loss aversion: the common tendency of humans to fear losses more than they enjoy gains, even if the gain is similar or greater. In other words, the pain of a loss is usually more painful than the joy of a gain. This may cause traders to miss good opportunities or to panic sell during periods of market capitulation.
  • Endowment effect: This is the tendency for people to overvalue things that they own, simply because they own it. For example, an investor that owns a bag of cryptocurrency is more likely to believe it has value than a no-coiner.

 

Closing thoughts

Most traders and investors agree that psychology has an impact on market prices and cycles. Although the psychological market cycles are well known, they are not always easy to deal with. From the Dutch Tulip Mania in the 1600s to the dotcom bubble in the 90s, even skilled traders have struggled to separate their own attitude from the overall market sentiment. Investors face the difficult task of understanding not only the market's psychology but also their own psychology and how that is affecting their decision-making process.

Loading