شرح طريقة The Wyckoff

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
شرح طريقة The Wyckoff
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

المحتويات

 

ما هي طريقة Wyckoff؟

تم تطوير طريقة Wyckoff بواسطة Richard Wyckoff في أوائل الثلاثينيَّات. وهي عبارة عن سلسلة من من المبادئ والاستراتيجيات التي تم تصميمها في البداية للمتداولين والمستثمرين. كرس ويكوف جزءًا كبيرًا من حياته في التعليم وتؤثر أعمالة بشكل كبير على التحليل الفني (TA) الحديث. على الرغم من أن طريقة ويكوف ركزت في الأصل على الأسهم، إلا أنها تطبق الآن على جميع أنواع الأسواق المالية.

ألهمت العديد من طرق التداول الأخرى للمتداولين الناجحين أعمال ويكوف (خاصة Jesse L. Livermore) واليوم يحتفظ ويكوف بنفس التقدير الذي تحظى به الشخصيات الرئيسية الأخرى مثل Charles H. Dow و Ralph N. Elliott.

قام ويكوف بأبحاث واسعة النطاق مما أدى إلى إنشاء العديد من النظريات وتقنيات التداول. يعطي هذا المقال نظرة عامة عن عمله. تتضمن المناقشة الاتي:

  • ثلاثة قوانين أساسية;

  • مفهوم الرجل المركب;

  • منهجية تحليل الرسوم البيانية (مخططات ويكوف);

  • نهج الخمس خطوات للسوق.

قام ويكوف أيضًا بتطوير اختبارات بيع وشراء محددة، بالإضافة الى طريقة تخطيط فريدة تستند إلى مخططات Point and Figure (P&F). بينما تساعد الاختبارات المتداولين على تحديد مداخل أفضل، يتم استخدام طريقة P&F لتحديد أهداف التداول. لكن لن يتم الدخول في هذين الموضوعين في هذه المقالة.

 

القوانين الثلاثة لـ Wyckoff

قانون العرض والطلب

ينص القانون الأول على أن الأسعار ترتفع عندما يكون الطلب أكبر من العرض وتنخفض عندما يكون العكس هو الصحيح (العرض أكبر من الطلب). يعد هذا من أهم المبادئ الأساسية للأسواق المالية وهو بالتأكيد لا ينحصر فقط على أعمال ويكوف. قد نمثل القانون الأول بثلاث معادلات بسيطة:

  • الطلب > العرض = ارتفاع الأسعار

  • الطلب < العرض = انخفاض الأسعار

  • الطلب = العرض = لا تغير كبير في الأسعار ( تقلبات خفيفة)

بمعنى آخر، يشير قانون Wyckoff الأول إلى أن الزيادة في الطلب على العرض تؤدي إلى ارتفاع الأسعار لأن عدد الأشخاص الذين يشترون أكثر من الذين يبيعون. لكن في حالة وجود عمليات بيع أكثر من الشراء فهذا يعني أن العرض يفوق الطلب مما يؤدي الى انخفاض الأسعار.

يقوم العديد من المستثمرين الذين يتبعون طريقة Wyckoff بالمقارنة بين حركة الأسعار وأشرطة الحجم كوسيلة لتصور العلاقة بين العرض والطلب بشكل أفضل. هذا غالبا ما يوفر نظرة ثاقبة حول تحركات السوق القادمة.

قانون السبب والنتيجة

ينص القانون الثاني لـ Wyckoff على أن الاختلافات بين العرض والطلب ليست عشوائية. بل تأتي بعد فترات من التجهيز نتيجة لأحداث معينة. وفقًا لمعايير Wyckoff، تؤدي فترة التجميع (السبب) في النهاية إلى اتجاه صعودي (نتيجة). في المقابل تؤدي فترة التوزيع (السبب) في النهاية إلى اتجاه هبوطي (نتيجة). 

قام Wyckoff بتطبيق تقنية رسوم بيانية فريدة لتقدير الآثار المحتملة الناتجة عن سبب ما. بمعنى آخر أنه ابتكر طرقًا لتحديد أهداف التداول بناءً على فترات التجميع والتوزيع. مما سمح له بتقدير الامتداد المحتمل لاتجاه السوق بعد الخروج من منطقة الدعم أو نطاق التداول (TR).

قانون الجهد والنتيجة

ينص قانون Wyckoff الثالث على أن التغييرات في سعر الأصل تكون نتيجة لجهد يمثله حجم التداول. إذا كانت حركة السعر متناسقة مع حجم التداول فهناك فرصة جيدة لاستمرار الاتجاه. لكن إذا كان الحجم والسعر يختلفان بشكل كبير فمن المرجح أن يتوقف اتجاه السوق أو يغير اتجاهه للإتجاه المعاكس.

على سبيل المثال، تخيل أن سوق البيتكوين يبدأ في الدعم بحجم تداول كبير بعد اتجاه هبوطي طويل. يشير الحجم الكبير إلى وجود جهد كبير ولكن الحركة الجانبية ( تقلبات منخفضة) تشير إلى نتيجة صغيرة. لذلك هناك تغير كبير بحركة البيتكوين لكن لا يوجد انخفاض كبير في الأسعار. مثل هذا الموقف قد يشير إلى أن الاتجاه الهبوطي قد يكون انتهى و أن هناك انعكاس في الإتجاه على وشك الحدوث.

 

الرجل المركب

قام Wyckoff بإبتكار فكرة الرجل المركب (أو المشغل المركب) باعتبارها هوية وهمية للسوق. اقترح على المستثمرين والمتداولين دراسة سوق الأوراق المالية كما لو أن كيانًا واحدًا كان يسيطر عليه. هذا من شأنه أن يجعل عملية متابعة إتجاهات السوق سهله عليهم.

يمثل الرجل المركب في جوهره أكبر اللاعبين (صناع السوق)، مثل الأفراد الأثرياء والمستثمرين من المؤسسات. يعمل دائمًا في مصلحته الخاصة لضمان قدرته على الشراء بسعر منخفض والبيع بسعر مرتفع. 

سلوك الرجل المركب يكون عكس غالبية مستثمري التجزئة الذين غالباً ما لاحظ Wyckoff خسارتهم للمال. لكن وفقًا لـ Wyckoff يستخدم الرجل المركب استراتيجية يمكن التنبؤ بها إلى حد ما ويمكن أيضا للمستثمرين التعلم منها.

دعونا نستخدم مفهوم الرجل المركب لتوضيح دورة سوق مبسطة. تتكون هذه الدورة من أربع مراحل رئيسية: التجميع (accumulation) والإتجاه الصاعد (uptrend) والتوزيع (distribution) والإتجاه الهابط (downtrend).

 

التجميع

يقوم الرجل المركب بتجميع الأصول قبل معظم المستثمرين. تتميز هذه المرحلة عادة بحركة جانبية. يتم فيها التجميع تدريجيا لتجنب تغير السعر بشكل ملحوظ.

الاتجاه الصعودي

عندما يمتلك الرجل المركب ما يكفي من الأسهم وتستنفد قوة البيع، يبدأ في دفع السوق للأعلى. بطبيعة الحال فإن الاتجاه الناشئ يجذب المزيد من المستثمرين مما يؤدي إلى زيادة الطلب.

من الجدير بالذكر أنه قد يكون هناك عدة مراحل من التجميع أثناء الاتجاه الصعودي. قد نسميها مراحل إعادة التجميع حيث يتوقف الاتجاه الأكبر ويتماسك لفترة من الوقت قبل مواصلة حركته الصعودية.

مع ارتفاع السوق يتم تشجيع المستثمرين الآخرين على الشراء. مما يؤدي في نهاية المطاف الى أن يصبح الجمهور العام متحمسًا بما يكفي للمشاركة. في هذه المرحلة يكون الطلب أعلى من العرض.

التوزيع

بعد ذلك يبدأ الرجل المركب في توزيع مقتنياته التي قام بتجميعها سابقا. يقوم ببيع مراكزه الرابحة لأولئك الذين يدخلون السوق في مرحلة متأخرة. عادة ما تتميز مرحلة التوزيع بحركة جانبية تمتص الطلب حتى يتم استنفاده.

الإتجاه الهبوطي

بعد وقت قصير من إنتهاء مرحلة التوزيع يبدأ السوق في العودة إلى الجانب السلبي. بمعنى آخر، بعد أن يقوم الرجل المركب ببيع كمية جيدة من الأسهم التي يمتلكها، يبدأ في دفع السوق نحو الانخفاض. في النهاية يصبح العرض أكبر بكثير من الطلب مما يؤدي الي إنشاء الإتجاه الهبوطي.

قد يحتوي الاتجاه الهبوطي أيضًا على مراحل لإعادة التوزيع مشابهه للإتجاه الصعودي. ببساطة تكون هذه المراحل بمثابة مناطق دعم قصيرة الأجل قبل حدوث انخفاضات كبيرة في الأسعار. قد تشمل أيضا ما نطلق عليه " Dead Cat Bounces" أو مصائد الثيران. حيث يقع بعض المشترين محاصرين على أمل حدوث انعكاس في الاتجاه ولكن لا يحدث. عندما ينتهي الاتجاه الهبوطي أخيرًا، تبدأ مرحلة تجميع جديدة.

 

مخططات Wyckoff

من المحتمل أن تكون مخططات التجميع و التوزيع تمثل الجزء الأكثر شيوعًا من عمل Wyckoff على الأقل في مجال العملات الرقمية. تقوم هذه النماذج بتثسيم مراحل التجميع والتوزيع إلى عدة أقسام أصغر. تنقسم هذه الأقسام إلى خمس مراحل (من A إلى E). بالإضافة الى أحداث Wyckoff متعددة والتي تم شرحها بإيجاز أدناه.

 

خطة التجميع

Wyckoff method accumulation schematic

المرحلة A

تنخفض قوة البيع ويبدأ الاتجاه الهبوطي في التباطؤ تدريجيّا. تتميز هذه المرحلة عادة بزيادة في حجم التداول. يشير الدعم الأولي Preliminary Support أو (PS) إلى أن بعض المشترين يظهرون في السوق لكن لا يزال غير كاف لإيقاف الحركة الهبوطية أو عكسها.

تتكون ذروة البيع Selling Climax أو (SC) من خلال حدوث نشاط بيع مكثف مع استسلام المستثمرين. هذه غالبًا ما تكون نقطة تقلبات عالية، حيث يخلق الذعر الناتج عن حالة ذروة البيع الشمعدانات (candlesticks) الكبيرة والفتائل (wicks). يتغير اتجاه الانخفاض القوي سريعًا إلى ارتداد أو Automatic Rally (AR) حيث يتم امتصاص العرض المفرط من قبل المشترين. بشكل عام يتم تحديد نطاق التداول الـ Trading Range (TR) من مخطط التجميع عن طريق فرق المسافة بين انخفاض (SC) وارتفاع (AR).

يحدث الاختبار الثانوي Secondary Test (ST) كما يوحي الاسم عندما ينخفض ويتجة السوق بالقرب من منطقة SC ويختبر ما إذا كان الاتجاه الهبوطي قد انتهى بالفعل أم لا. في هذه المرحلة يكون حجم التداول وتقلبات السوق أقل. على الرغم من أن ST غالباً ما تشكل منخفض أعلى وتكون متعلقة بـ SC إلا أنه قد لا يكون هذا هو الحال دائماً.

المرحلة B

يمكن اعتبار المرحلة B هي السبب الذي يؤدي إلى النتيجة بناءً على قانون السبب والنتيجة الخاص بـ Wyckoff.

في الأساس تكون المرحلة B هي مرحلة التدعيم التي يقوم فيها الرجل المركب بجمع أكبر عدد من الأصول. خلال هذه المرحلة يميل السوق لاختبار كل من مستويات المقاومة و الدعم التي تكون في نطاق التداول.

قد يكون هناك العديد من الاختبارات الثانوية (ST) خلال المرحلة B. لكن في بعض الحالات قد ينتج عنها ارتفاعات أعلى (مصائد الثور) أو انخفاضات لمستويات أكبر (مصائد الدب) وتكون متعلقة بـ SC و AR للمرحلة A.

المرحلة C

التجميع في مرحلة C النموذجية يحتوي على ما يسمى بالربيع. هو بمثابة فخ الدب الأخير قبل أن يبدأ السوق في تحقيق مستويات انخفاض أعلى. يضمن الرجل المركب خلال المرحلة C أنه لم يتبق سوى القليل من المعروض في السوق، أي أنه تم بالفعل بيع الكمية التي كان يجب بيعها.

غالباً ما يكسر الربيع مستويات الدعم لإيقاف صفقات المتداولين وتضليل المستثمرين. قد نصفها بأنها محاولة أخيرة لشراء الأسهم بسعر أقل قبل أن يبدأ الاتجاه الصعودي. يحث فخ الدب مستثمري التجزئة على التخلي عن ممتلكاتهم خوفًا من هبوط الأسعار أكثر. 

مع ذلك في بعض الحالات تنجح مستويات الدعم في الصمود ولا يأتي الربيع ببساطة. بمعنى آخر أنه قد يكون هناك مخططات التجميع التي تظهر جميع العناصر الأخرى ولكن لا يظهر بها الربيع. لكن لا يزال المخطط العام صحيح وساري.

المرحلة D

تمثل المرحلة D الانتقال بين السبب والنتيجة. فهي تكون بين منطقة التجميع (المرحلة C) وكسر منطقة نطاق التداول (المرحلة E). 

عادةً تظهر المرحلة D زيادة كبيرة في حجم التداول وتقلبات السعر وعادة ما يكون لديها نقطة الدعم الأخيرة Last Point Support (LPS) مما يؤدي إلى تشكيل قيعان أعلى قبل أن يعكس السوق حركتة ويصبح صعوديًا. غالبًا ما يسبق LPS اختراق مستويات المقاومة مما يؤدي بدوره إلى تشكيل قمم أعلى. يشير هذا إلى علامات القوة Signs of Strength (SOS) حيث تصبح نقاط المقاومة السابقة نقاط دعم جديدة تمامًا.

على الرغم من المصطلحات المربكة والصعبة إلى حد ما إلا أنه قد يكون هناك أكثر من نقطة دعم أخيرة (LPS) خلال المرحلة D. غالبًا ما يزداد حجم التداول أثناء اختبار خطوط الدعم الجديدة. في بعض الحالات قد يخلق السعر منطقة تدعيم صغيرة قبل كسر نطاق التداول الأكبر بفعالية والانتقال إلى المرحلة E.

المرحلة E

المرحلة E هي المرحلة الأخيرة في مخطط التجميع. تتميز بإختراق واضح لمنطقة نطاق التداول بسبب زيادة الطلب في السوق. هذا هو الوقت الذي يتم فيه كسر نطاق التداول بشكل فعال ويبدأ الاتجاه الصعودي.


خطة التوزيع

تعمل مخططات التوزيع في جوهرها في الاتجاه المعاكس للتجميع ولكن مع وجود مصطلحات مختلفة قليلاً.


Wyckoff method distribution schematic

 

المرحلة A

تحدث المرحلة الأولى عندما يبدأ اتجاه صعودي ثابت في التباطؤ بسبب انخفاض الطلب. يشير العرض الأولي Preliminary Supply (PSY) إلى أن هناك قوة بيعية تظهر على الرغم من أنها لا تزال غير قوية بما يكفي لإيقاف الحركة الصعودية. ثم يتم تشكيل ذروة الشراء Buying Climax (BC) من خلال حدوث نشاط شراء مكثف. يحدث هذا عادة بسبب المتداولين عديمي الخبرة الذين يقومون بالشراء بدافع العواطف. 

بعد ذلك تسبب الحركة القوية لأعلي حدوث رد فعل تلقائي Automatic Reaction (AR) حيث يتم استيعاب الطلب الزائد من قبل صناع السوق. بمعنى اخر، يبدأ الرجل المركب في توزيع مقتنياته على المشترين الذين انضموا الي السوق مؤخَّرًا. يحدث الاختبار الثانوي Secondary Test (ST) عندما يعيد السوق زيارة منطقة BC وغالبًا ما يشكل قمم منخفضة.

المرحلة B

تعمل المرحلة B الخاصة بالتوزيع كمنطقة تدعيم (سبب) تسبق الاتجاه الهبوطي (نتيجة). خلال هذه المرحلة يقوم الرجل المركب ببيع أصوله تدريجياً ويستحوذ ويضعف الطلب في السوق. 

عادة يتم اختبار النطاقين العلوي والسفلي لنطاق التداول عدة مرات والذي قد يشمل مصائد الدب (Bear trap) والثور (Bull trap) قصيرة المدى. في بعض الأحيان يتحرك السوق فوق مستوى المقاومة الذي تم إنشاؤه بواسطة BC مما ينتج عنه ST والتي يمكن أن تسمى أيضًا الاتجاه الصعودي Upthrust (UT).

المرحلة C

في بعض الحالات يقدم السوق مصيدة ثور أخيرة بعد فترة التدعيم. يطلق عليها UTAD أو Upthrust After Distribution وهي في الأساس عكس ربيع التجميع الذي ذكرناه سابقًا.

المرحلة D

المرحلة D للتوزيع هي صورة طبق الأصل من مرحلة التجميع. عادةً ما يكون لها نقطة توريد أخيرة Last Point of Supply (LPSY) في منتصف النطاق مما يؤدي إلى تشكيل قمم منخفضة. من هذه النقطة يتم إنشاء نقاط LPSYs جديدة إما حول منطقة الدعم أو أسفلها. تظهر علامة ضعف Sign of Weakness (SOW) واضحة عندما ينهار السوق أسفل خطوط الدعم.

المرحلة E

المرحلة الأخيرة من التوزيع تشير إلى بداية الاتجاه الهبوطي مع حدوث اختراق واضح تحت نطاق التداول بسبب هيمنة قوية للعرض على الطلب.

 

هل طريقة Wyckoff تعمل؟

بطبيعة الحال لا يتبع السوق نوعية هذه النماذج بدقة دائمًا. في الممارسة العملية يمكن أن تحدث مخططات التجميع والتوزيع بطرق عديدة مختلفة. على سبيل المثال، قد تكون المرحلة B في بعض المواقف تدوم لوقت أطول من المتوقع أو قد تكون فترة الربيع و اختبارات UTAD غائبة تمامًا.

مع ذلك لا يزال عمل Wyckoff يقدم مجموعة واسعة من التقنيات الموثوقة والتي تستند إلى نظرياته ومبادئه العديدة. وبالتأكيد أعمالة تعتبر قيمة لآلاف المستثمرين والمتداولين والمحللين في جميع أنحاء العالم. على سبيل المثال، قد تصبح مخططات التجميع والتوزيع مفيدة عند محاولة فهم الدورات الشائعة للأسواق المالية.

 

نهج الخمس خطوات لـ Wyckoff

قام Wyckoff أيضًا بتطوير نهج للسوق مكون من خمس خطوات والذي كان يستند إلى العديد من المبادئ والتقنيات. بإختصار، قد يتم النظر الى هذا النهج على أنه طريقة لتطبيق علمه في الممارسة العملية.

الخطوه الأولى: تحديد الاتجاه.

ما هو الاتجاه الحالي وأين من المرجح أن يذهب؟ ما هي حالة العلاقة بين العرض والطلب؟

الخطوة الثانية: تحديد قوة الأصول.

ما مدى قوة الأصل بالنسبة للسوق؟ هل يتحرك بطريقة مماثلة أم معاكسة؟

الخطوة الثالثة: إبحث عن أصول ذات “سبب” كافي

هل هناك أسباب كافية لفتح صفقة؟ هل السبب قوي بما فيه الكفاية ليجعل المكافآت المحتملة (النتيجة) تستحق المخاطره؟

الخطوة الرابعة: تحديد مدى احتمال تحرك السعر.

هل سعر الأصل جاهز للتحرك؟ ما هو موقفها في الاتجاه الأكبر؟ ما الذي يشير اليه السعر والحجم؟ تتضمن هذه الخطوة غالبًا استخدام اختبارات البيع والشراء الخاصة بـ Wyckoff.

الخطوة الخامسة: تحديد وقت دخولك.

الخطوة الأخيرة هي كل شيء متعلق بالتوقيت. عادة ما يتضمن تحليل الأسهم مقارنة بالسوق العام.

على سبيل المثال، يمكن للمتداول مقارنة حركة السعر أصل وعلاقته بمؤشر S&P 500. مثل هذا التحليل قد يوفر نظرات ثاقبة حول الحركات التالية المحتملة للأصول اعتمادًا على موقعهم داخل مخططات Wyckoff الفردية. في نهاية المطاف سوف يسهل هذا تحديد نقاط دخول جيدة.

من الجدير بالذكر أن هذه الطريقة تعمل بشكل أفضل مع الأصول التي تتحرك مع السوق العام أو المؤشر. على الرغم من ذلك في أسواق العملات الرقمية لايوجد هذا الترابط دائمًا.

 

أفكار ختامية

لقد مر ما يقرب من قرن منذ إنشاء أسلوب Wyckoff لكنه ما زال يستخدم على نطاق واسع حتى اليوم. فهو بالتأكيد أكثر من مجرد مؤشر تحليل فني (TA) لأنه يشمل العديد من المبادئ والنظريات وأساليب التداول. 

يسمح أسلوب Wyckoff في الأساس للمستثمرين باتخاذ قرارات أكثر منطقية بدلاً من التصرف بدافع العواطف/المشاعر. يوفر عمل Wyckoff المكثف أيضًا للمتداولين والمستثمرين سلسلة من الأدوات التي تستخدم لتقليل المخاطر وزيادة فرص نجاحهم. مع ذلك لا توجد تقنية مضمونة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالاستثمار. ينبغي أن يكون المرء دائمًا حذراً من المخاطر خاصة في أسواق العملات الرقمية ذات المشبعة بدرجة عالية من التقلب.

Loading

The Wyckoff Method Explained

Share
Copied to clipboard!
The Wyckoff Method Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Contents

 

What is the Wyckoff Method?

The Wyckoff Method was developed by Richard Wyckoff in the early 1930s. It consists of a series of principles and strategies initially designed for traders and investors. Wyckoff dedicated a significant part of his life teaching, and his work impacts much of modern technical analysis (TA). While the Wyckoff Method was originally focused on stocks, it is now applied to all sorts of financial markets.

A lot of Wyckoff’s work was inspired by the trading methods of other successful traders (especially Jesse L. Livermore). Today, Wyckoff is held in the same high regard as other key figures, such as Charles H. Dow, and Ralph N. Elliott.

Wyckoff did extensive research, which led to the creation of several theories and trading techniques. This article gives an overview of his work. The discussion includes:

  • Three fundamental laws;

  • The Composite Man concept;

  • A methodology for analyzing charts (Wyckoff’s Schematics);

  • A five-step approach to the market.

Wyckoff also developed specific Buying and Selling Tests, as well as a unique charting method based on Point and Figure (P&F) charts. While the tests help traders spot better entries, the P&F method is used to define trading targets. However, this article won’t dive into these two topics.

 

The three laws of Wyckoff

The Law of Supply and Demand

The first law states that prices rise when demand is greater than supply, and drop when the opposite is true. This is one of the most basic principles of financial markets and is certainly not exclusive to Wyckoff’s work. We may represent the first law with three simple equations:

  • Demand > Supply = Price rises

  • Demand < Supply = Price drops

  • Demand = Supply = No significant price change (low volatility)

In other words, the first Wyckoff law suggests that an excess of demand over supply causes prices to go up because there are more people buying than selling. But, in a situation where there is more selling than buying, the supply exceeds demand, causing the price to drop.

Many investors who follow the Wyckoff Method compare price action and volume bars as a way to better visualize the relation between supply and demand. This often provides insights into the next market movements.

The Law of Cause and Effect

The second law states that the differences between supply and demand are not random. Instead, they come after periods of preparation, as a result of specific events. In Wyckoff's terms, a period of accumulation (cause) eventually leads to an uptrend (effect). In contrast, a period of distribution (cause) eventually results in a downtrend (effect). 

Wyckoff applied a unique charting technique to estimate the potential effects of a cause. In other terms, he created methods of defining trading targets based on the periods of accumulation and distribution. This allowed him to estimate the probable extension of a market trend after breaking out of a consolidation zone or trading range (TR).

The Law of Effort vs. Result

The third Wyckoff law states that the changes in an asset’s price are a result of an effort, which is represented by the trading volume. If the price action is in harmony with the volume, there is a good chance the trend will continue. But, if the volume and price diverge significantly, the market trend is likely to stop or change direction.

For instance, imagine that the Bitcoin market starts to consolidate with a very high volume after a long bearish trend. The high volume indicates a big effort, but the sideways movement (low volatility) suggests a small result. So, there is a lot of Bitcoins changing hands, but no more significant price drops. Such a situation could indicate that the downtrend may be over, and a reversal is near.

 

The Composite Man

Wyckoff created the idea of the Composite Man (or Composite Operator) as an imaginary identity of the market. He proposed that investors and traders should study the stock market as if a single entity was controlling it. This would make it easier for them to go along the market trends.

In essence, the Composite Man represents the biggest players (market makers), such as wealthy individuals and institutional investors. It always acts in his own best interest to ensure he can buy low and sell high. 

The Composite Man’s behavior is the opposite of the majority of retail investors, which Wyckoff often observed losing money. But according to Wyckoff, the Composite Man uses a somewhat predictable strategy, from which investors can learn from.

Let’s use the Composite Man concept to illustrate a simplified market cycle. Such a cycle consists of four main phases: accumulation, uptrend, distribution, and downtrend.

 

Accumulation

The Composite Man accumulates assets before most investors. This phase is usually marked by a sideways movement. The accumulation is done gradually to avoid the price from changing significantly.

Uptrend

When the Composite Man is holding enough shares, and the selling force is depleted, he starts pushing the market up. Naturally, the emerging trend attracts more investors, causing demand to increase.

Notably, there may be multiple phases of accumulation during an uptrend. We may call them re-accumulation phases, where the bigger trend stops and consolidates for a while, before continuing its upward movement.

As the market moves up, other investors are encouraged to buy. Eventually, even the general public become excited enough to get involved. At this point, demand is excessively higher than supply.

Distribution

Next, the Composite Man starts distributing his holdings. He sells his profitable positions to those entering the market at a late stage. Typically, the distribution phase is marked by a sideways movement that absorbs demand until it gets exhausted.

Downtrend

Soon after the distribution phase, the market starts reverting to the downside. In other words, after the Composite Man is done selling a good amount of his shares, he starts pushing the market down. Eventually, the supply becomes much greater than demand, and the downtrend is established.

Similar to the uptrend, the downtrend may also have re-distribution phases. These are basically short-term consolidation between big price drops. They may also include Dead Cat Bounces or the so-called bull traps, where some buyers get trapped, hoping for a trend reversal that doesn’t happen. When the bearish trend is finally over, a new accumulation phase begins.

 

Wyckoff’s Schematics

The Accumulation and Distribution Schematics are likely the most popular part of Wyckoff’s work - at least within the cryptocurrency community. These models break down the Accumulation and Distribution phases into smaller sections. The sections are divided into five Phases (A to E), along with multiple Wyckoff Events, which are briefly described below.

 

Accumulation Schematic

Wyckoff method accumulation schematic

Phase A

The selling force decreases, and the downtrend starts to slow down. This phase is usually marked by an increase in trading volume. The Preliminary Support (PS) indicates that some buyers are showing up, but still not enough to stop the downward move.

The Selling Climax (SC) is formed by an intense selling activity as investors capitulate. This is often a point of high volatility, where panic selling creates big candlesticks and wicks. The strong drop quickly reverts into a bounce or Automatic Rally (AR), as the excessive supply is absorbed by the buyers. In general, the trading range (TR) of an Accumulation Schematic is defined by the space between the SC low and the AR high.

As the name suggests, the Secondary Test (ST) happens when the market drops near the SC region, testing whether the downtrend is really over or not. At this point, the trading volume and market volatility tend to be lower. While the ST often forms a higher low in relation to the SC, that may not always be the case.

Phase B

Based on Wyckoff’s Law of Cause and Effect, Phase B may be seen as the Cause that leads to an Effect.

Essentially, Phase B is the consolidation stage, in which the Composite Man accumulates the highest number of assets. During this stage, the market tends to test both resistance and support levels of the trading range.

There may be numerous Secondary Tests (ST) during Phase B. In some cases, they may produce higher highs (bull traps) and lower lows (bear traps) in relation to the SC and AR of the Phase A.

Phase C

A typical Accumulation Phase C contains what is called a Spring. It often acts as the last bear trap before the market starts making higher lows. During Phase C, the Composite Man ensures that there is little supply left in the market, i.e., the ones that were to sell already did.

The Spring often breaks the support levels to stop out traders and mislead investors. We may describe it as a final attempt to buy shares at a lower price before the uptrend starts. The bear trap induces retail investors to give up their holdings. 

In some cases, however, the support levels manage to hold, and the Spring simply does not occur. In other words, there may be Accumulation Schematics that present all other elements but not the Spring. Still, the overall scheme continues to be valid.

Phase D

The Phase D represents the transition between the Cause and Effect. It stands between the Accumulation zone (Phase C) and the breakout of the trading range (Phase E). 

Typically, the Phase D shows a significant increase in trading volume and volatility. It usually has a Last Point Support (LPS), making a higher low before the market moves higher. The LPS often precedes a breakout of the resistance levels, which in turn creates higher highs. This indicates Signs of Strength (SOS), as previous resistances become brand new supports.

Despite the somewhat confusing terminology, there may be more than one LPS during Phase D. They often have increased trading volume while testing the new support lines. In some cases, the price may create a small consolidation zone before effectively breaking the bigger trading range and moving to Phase E.

Phase E

The Phase E is the last stage of an Accumulation Schematic. It is marked by an evident breakout of the trading range, caused by increased market demand. This is when the trading range is effectively broken, and the uptrend starts.


Distribution Schematic

In essence, the Distribution Schematics works in the opposite way of the Accumulation, but with slightly different terminology.


Wyckoff method distribution schematic

 

Phase A

The first phase occurs when an established uptrend starts to slow down due to decreasing demand. The Preliminary Supply (PSY) suggests that the selling force is showing up, although still not strong enough to stop the upward movement. The Buying Climax (BC) is then formed by an intense buying activity. This is usually caused by inexperienced traders that buy out of emotions. 

Next, the strong move up causes an Automatic Reaction (AR), as the excessive demand is absorbed by the market makers. In other words, the Composite Man starts distributing his holdings to the late buyers. The Secondary Test (ST) occurs when the market revisits the BC region, often forming a lower high.

Phase B

The Phase B of a Distribution acts as the consolidation zone (Cause) that precedes a downtrend (Effect). During this phase, the Composite Man gradually sells his assets, absorbing and weakening market demand. 

Usually, the upper and lower bands of the trading range are tested multiple times, which may include short-term bear and bull traps. Sometimes, the market will move above the resistance level created by the BC, resulting in an ST that can also be called an Upthrust (UT).

Phase C

In some cases, the market will present one last bull trap after the consolidation period. It’s called UTAD or Upthrust After Distribution. It is, basically, the opposite of an Accumulation Spring.

Phase D

The Phase D of a Distribution is pretty much a mirror image of the Accumulation one. It usually has a Last Point of Supply (LPSY) in the middle of the range, creating a lower high. From this point, new LPSYs are created - either around or below the support zone. An evident Sign of Weakness (SOW) appears when the market breaks below the support lines.

Phase E

The last stage of a Distribution marks the beginning of a downtrend, with an evident break below the trading range, caused by a strong dominance of supply over demand.

 

Does the Wyckoff Method work?

Naturally, the market doesn’t always follow these models accurately. In practice, the Accumulation and Distribution Schematics can occur in varying ways. For example, some situations may have a Phase B lasting much longer than expected. Or else, the Spring and UTAD Tests may be totally absent.

Still, Wyckoff’s work offers a wide range of reliable techniques, which are based on his many theories and principles. His work is certainly valuable to thousands of investors, traders, and analysts worldwide. For instance, the Accumulation and Distribution schematics may come handy when trying to understand the common cycles of financial markets.

 

Wyckoff’s five-step approach

Wyckoff also developed a five-step approach to the market, which was based on his many principles and techniques. In short, this approach may be seen as a way to put his teaching into practice.

Step 1: Determine the trend.

What is the current trend and where it is likely to go? How is the relation between supply and demand?

Step 2: Determine the asset’s strength.

How strong is the asset in relation to the market? Are they moving in a similar or opposite fashion?

Step 3: Look for assets with sufficient Cause.

Are there enough reasons to enter a position? Is the Cause strong enough that makes the potential rewards (Effect) worth the risks?

Step 4: Determine how likely is the move.

Is the asset ready to move? What is its position within the bigger trend? What do the price and volume suggest? This step often involves the use of Wyckoff’s Buying and Selling Tests.

Step 5: Time your entry.

The last step is all about timing. It usually involves analyzing a stock in comparison to the general market.

For example, a trader can compare the price action of a stock in relation to the S&P 500 index. Depending on their position within their individual Wyckoff Schematic, such an analysis may provide insights into the next movements of the asset. Eventually, this facilitates the establishment of a good entry.

Notably, this method works better with assets that move together with the general market or index. In cryptocurrency markets, though, this correlation isn’t always present.

 

Closing thoughts

It’s been almost a century since its creation, but the Wyckoff Method is still in widespread use today. It is certainly much more than a TA indicator, as it encompasses many principles, theories, and trading techniques. 

In essence, the Wyckoff Method allows investors to make more logical decisions rather than acting out of emotions. The extensive work of Wyckoff provides traders and investors a series of tools for reducing risks and increasing their chances of success. Still, there is no foolproof technique when it comes to investing. One should always be wary of the risks, especially within the highly-volatile cryptocurrency markets.

Loading