Wyckoff分析法详解

分享
Copied to clipboard!
Wyckoff分析法详解

目录

 

什么是Wyckoff分析法?

Wyckoff分析法是由Richard Wyckoff在1930年代初提出的。最初阶段,它由为交易者和投资者设计的一系列定律和投资策略组成。Wyckoff倾其一生在他教学中投入了大量精力,他的工作影响了许多现代技术分析(TA)方法。Wyckoff分析法最初主要适用于股市,但现在已被应用在各类金融市场中。

Wyckoff的诸多成果也受到其他成功交易者(尤其是Jesse L. Livermore)交易方式的启发。现今,Wyckoff与其他知名人物,如Charles H. Dow和Ralph N. Elliott一样受到高度关注。

Wyckoff进行了大量的研究,从而创立了多种理论和交易技术。本文将对他的工作成果进行简要概述。讨论内容包括:

  • 三大基础定律;

  • 市场主力概念

  • 图表的分析方式(Wyckoff的示意图);

  • 进入市场的五大步骤。

Wyckoff还提出了特定的买入和卖出测试,以及基于点和图(P&F)图表的独创图表法。测试可以帮助交易者发现更好的入场方式,而P&F方法用于定义交易目标。但是,本文不会深入探讨这两个主题。

 

Wyckoff三大定律

供求定律

第一条定律表明,当需求大于供给时价格上涨,反之则下跌。这是金融市场中的最基本原则之一,当然这也不仅仅是Wyckoff分析法所独有。我们可以用三个简单的公式来说明第一定律:

  • 需求>供应=价格上涨

  • 需求<供应=价格下降

  • 需求=供应=价格无明显变化(波动性低)

换句话说,Wyckoff第一定律说明,需求超过供给会导致价格上涨,因为购买的人多于出售的人。但是,在卖多于买的情况下,供应超过需求,导致价格下降。

许多遵循Wyckoff分析法的投资者会比较价格行为和交易量,以更好地形成可视化的供需关系。这通常也可以帮助交易者形成下阶段市场交易趋势。

因果定律

由第二定律可以说明,供求关系之间的差异性并不是随机的。相反,由于特定事件的缘故,它们是经过一段时间的准备后才来的。用Wyckoff的话说,一段时期的累计(原因)会在最终产生上升趋势(结果)。相反,派发(原因)最终会产生下降趋势(结果)。

Wyckoff应用了一种独特的图表技术来预估原因的潜在影响。换句话说,他创建了基于累积和派发期定义交易目标的方法。这使他能够估算出突破了合并区或交易范围(TR)后的市场趋势。

量价不一致定律

Wyckoff第三法律说明,资产价格的变化是由交易量影响的。如果价格走势与交易量一致,则趋势很有可能会延续。但是,如果交易量和价格差异很大,市场趋势可能会停止或发生变化。

例如,我们假设在发生长期看跌趋势之后,比特币市场开始以很高的交易量进行整合。高交易量表明市场交易者为之付出了很大努力,但横向移动(低波动)则表明交易量对价格结果的影响很小。因此,如果出现比特币交易量对增多,但价格没有再大幅度下降的情况。则可能表明下降趋势已经结束,即将发生价格逆转。

 

市场主力

Wyckoff将“市场主力”(或“庄家”)设想为市场中存在的一种身份。他建议投资者和交易员应该像研究实体机构一样来研究股票市场。这将能使他们更容易顺应市场趋势。

本质上,市场主力代表着市场中的最大参与者(做市商),例如持有大量资金的个人和机构投资者。他们的最大利益就是确保能够以低价买入和高价卖出。

市场主力的行为与大多数散户投资者相反,Wyckoff经常观察到这种情况是亏损的。但是根据Wyckoff的说法,“庄家”采用的是某种可以预见的策略,投资者可以从中学习。

我们可以使用“市场主力”概念来简要说明市场周期。市场周期主要包括四大主要阶段:累积、上升趋势、分派和下降趋势。

 

累积

市场主力会抢在大多数投资者之前积累资产。该阶段的市场走势通常是以侧向移动。市场主力会选择逐渐进行累加以避免价格发生明显变化。

上升趋势

当“市场主力”持有足够的股份,并且在市场看空力量耗尽时,庄家开始推高市场。自然地,这种上升趋势会吸引更多的投资者,导致需求不断增加。

值得注意的是,在上升趋势中也可能存在多个累积阶段。我们可以称它们为再累积阶段,在此阶段,较大的上升趋势会停止并巩固一段时间,然后继续向上运动。

随着市场的上涨,会助推其他投资者竞相购买。最终,更多的普通投资者也开始不断关注,共同参与其中。在此情况下,需求远远高于供给。

分派

接下来,市场主力开始分派股份。他们将盈利的头寸转卖给后期进入市场的投资者。通常,分派阶段的市场特征是侧向移动,直到市场需求耗尽为止。

下降趋势

在分派阶段结束后不久,市场开始恢复下行趋势。换句话说,在“市场主力”卖出大量股票后,他开始推低市场。最终,供应变得远远大于需求,从而产生了下降趋势。

与上升趋势相类似,下降趋势也可能存在重新分配阶段。基本上就是大幅下跌期间的短期整合。它们还可能包括“死猫反弹”或所谓的“利多陷阱”,一些买家被套牢,希望这种趋势不会发生。当看跌趋势最终结束时,新的累积阶段将重新开始。

 

Wyckoff原理图

累积和分派原理图可能是Wyckoff分析法中最受欢迎的部分-至少在加密货币社区中如此。这些模型将“累积”和“分派”阶段分为较小的部分。每个部分又分为五个阶段(从A到E)以及多个Wyckoff事件,下面将对此进行简要介绍。

 

累积示意图

Wyckoff分析法累积原理图

阶段A

卖力不断下降,下降趋势开始减弱。此阶段通常以交易量增加为标志。初步支撑位(PS)显示买家不断增加,但仍不足以阻止下跌趋势。

当空军投降时,剧烈的抛售交易会形成“卖出高潮”(SC)。这通常是高波动点,在这种情况下,恐慌性抛售会产生较大的烛台和灯芯线。由于过多的供应量被买家吸收,因此强劲的下跌迅速反弹或形成自动反弹(AR)。通常,累积示意图的交易范围(TR)由SC低位和AR高位之间的空间定义。

顾名思义,当市场在SC区域附近下跌时,将进行二级测试(ST),以测试下降趋势是否真的结束。此时,交易量和市场波动性降低。尽管ST通常相对于SC会形成更高的低点,但并非总是如此。

阶段B

根据Wyckoff的因果定律,阶段B可被视为产生结果的原因。

本质上,阶段B是合并阶段,在该阶段中,市场主力累积的资产数量达到最多。在此阶段,市场倾向于对交易区间的阻力位支撑位进行测试。

阶段B的区间内可能会有多次二级测试(ST)。在某些情况下,相对于阶段A的SC和AR,可能会产生更高的高点位(利多陷阱)和更低的低点位(利空陷阱)。

阶段C

阶段C中包含所谓的“反弹”。这也通常是最后的空头陷阱,一般在市场开始触及更高的低点之前出现。在阶段C中,市场主力会确保市场上没有剩余的供应,即所有的供应都已经被消化掉了。

“反弹”经常会突破支撑位,起到阻止交易者和误导投资者的作用。我们可以将其描述为在上升趋势开始之前,“庄家”以较低价格购买股票的最后尝试。“空头陷阱”诱使散户投资者放弃现在持有的股票。 

但是,在某些情况下,支撑位还可以保持,但不会发生反弹。换句话说,“累积示意图”可能显示所有的其他元素,但唯独没有显示“反弹”。尽管如此,该分析法仍然有效。

阶段D

阶段D代表因果关系之间的过渡。它位于累积区(阶段C)和突破交易区(阶段E)之间。

通常情况下,阶段D期间交易量和波动率显着增加。通常具有最后点支撑(LPS),在市场走高之前将该支撑位设置在较低的点位。LPS通常会在突破阻力位之前,尝试产生更高的点位。同时这也是向上增长的压力(SOS),因为之前的阻力形成了新的支撑位

上述的一系列术语可能会令人感到困惑,但需要了解到在阶段D中可能会产生多个LPS。在测试新的支持位时,通常会增加交易量。在某些情况下,价格可能会在有效突破较大的交易范围并进入阶段E之前创建小的合并区域。

阶段E

阶段E是累积示意图的最后一个阶段。市场需求增加导致交易范围明显被突破。这能够在刚开始呈现上升趋势的时候,有效地打破交易范围。


派发示意图

本质上,派发示意图与“累积”示意图的工作方式完全相反,且术语略有所不同。


Wyckoff分析法分派示意图

 

阶段A

第一阶段发生在已建立的上升趋势之上,这个阶段由于需求减少上升势头开始放缓。初步供应(PSY)表明,尽管不足以阻止走势向上,但这个阶段已经不断出现卖力。此时,购买热潮(BC)由激烈的购买活动形成。这通常是由缺乏经验的交易员超买情绪引起的。

接下来,强劲的上涨会引发自动反应(AR),因为过多的需求被做市商吸收掉。换句话说,市场主力开始将其持有的股票转卖给后来的买家。当市场重新试探BC区域时,通常会形成较低的高点,从而进行二级测试(ST)。

阶段B

分派示意图中的阶段B是(价格)下降趋势之前的合并区(交易量)。在此阶段,市场主力逐步出售其资产,吸收并削弱了市场需求。

通常,该阶段会多次测试交易区间内价格的上限和下限,其中可能包括短期的看跌陷阱和牛市陷阱。有时,市场会移动到BC阶段所创建的阻力位上方,从而产生二级测试(ST)也可以称为Upthrust(UT)。

阶段C

在某些情况下,市场将在整合期之后出现最后一个牛市陷阱。称为UTAD或分派后拉盘。基本上,它与累积弹簧相反。

阶段D

阶段D几乎是累积阶段的重镜像。它通常在范围的中间具有最后一个供给点(LPSY),从而产生较低的高点。从这一点开始,将在支撑区域周围或下方创建新的LPSY。当市场跌破支撑线以下时,就会出现明显的疲软迹象。

阶段E

分派的最后阶段标志着下降趋势的开始,由于供应远大于需求的明显优势,成交价格将低于交易区间。

 

Wyckoff分析法是否奏效?

当然,市场并不一定总是准确遵循这类分析模型。实际上,累积和分派原理图可以通过不同的方式出现。例如,某些情况下阶段B的持续时间可能比预期的要长。否则,可能会出现完全没有反弹和UTAD测试。

尽管如此,Wyckoff分析法还是基于他的许多理论和原理为交易者提供了多种可靠的技术。他的分析法对于全球成千上万的投资者、交易员和分析师而言无疑具有非常大的价值。例如,在尝试了解金融市场的常见周期时,“累积和分配”原理图就能够派上用场。

 

Wyckoff的五步分析法

Wyckoff基于他的许多原理和技术,开发了一套五步分析方法。简而言之,这种方法可以看作是将他的理论付诸于实践的一种方法。

第一步:确定趋势。

确定目前的趋势是什么,下一步趋势可能如何?现阶段的供求关系如何?

第二步:确定资产的实力。

资产相对于整体市场的实力如何?资产与市场的走势是相似还是相反的?

第三步:寻找具有足够买入“理由”的资产。

分析是否有足够的理由在当前点位进入?入场的理由是否足够强大,足以为潜在的回报(效果)进行冒险?

第四步:确定下一步资产升值的可能性。

资产有移动的趋势吗?在大趋势下该资产的走势如何?价格和数量的关系是什么?此步骤通常涉及使用Wyckoff进行买卖测试。

第五步:确认您的入场时间。

最后一步就是安排时间入场。通常包括在总体市场中比较分析股票。

例如,交易者可以比较该股票相对于标准普尔500指数的价格行为。根据他们在各自Wyckoff示意图中的位置,这种分析可以对资产下一步的趋势提供参考。最终,这有助于建立合适的入场时机。

值得注意的是,这种方法对于和总体市场趋势或指数一致的资产更为有效。但是,在加密货币市场中,这种关联性并不总是一致。

 

总结

自Wyckoff分析法诞生,已经将近一个世纪,但是Wyckoff分析法至今仍在广泛使用。能够被广泛接受,因为它不仅仅是技术性指标,该分析法还涵盖了许多原理、理论和交易技巧。

本质上,Wyckoff分析法使投资者能够做出更合乎逻辑的决策,而不是按照情绪出牌。Wyckoff分析法为交易者和投资者提供了一系列降低风险和增加成功机会的工具。尽管如此,在投资方面不存在万无一失的技术。人们应该始终对风险保持警惕,尤其是在波动性高的加密货币市场中。

Loading

The Wyckoff Method Explained

Share
Copied to clipboard!
The Wyckoff Method Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Contents

 

What is the Wyckoff Method?

The Wyckoff Method was developed by Richard Wyckoff in the early 1930s. It consists of a series of principles and strategies initially designed for traders and investors. Wyckoff dedicated a significant part of his life teaching, and his work impacts much of modern technical analysis (TA). While the Wyckoff Method was originally focused on stocks, it is now applied to all sorts of financial markets.

A lot of Wyckoff’s work was inspired by the trading methods of other successful traders (especially Jesse L. Livermore). Today, Wyckoff is held in the same high regard as other key figures, such as Charles H. Dow, and Ralph N. Elliott.

Wyckoff did extensive research, which led to the creation of several theories and trading techniques. This article gives an overview of his work. The discussion includes:

  • Three fundamental laws;

  • The Composite Man concept;

  • A methodology for analyzing charts (Wyckoff’s Schematics);

  • A five-step approach to the market.

Wyckoff also developed specific Buying and Selling Tests, as well as a unique charting method based on Point and Figure (P&F) charts. While the tests help traders spot better entries, the P&F method is used to define trading targets. However, this article won’t dive into these two topics.

 

The three laws of Wyckoff

The Law of Supply and Demand

The first law states that prices rise when demand is greater than supply, and drop when the opposite is true. This is one of the most basic principles of financial markets and is certainly not exclusive to Wyckoff’s work. We may represent the first law with three simple equations:

  • Demand > Supply = Price rises

  • Demand < Supply = Price drops

  • Demand = Supply = No significant price change (low volatility)

In other words, the first Wyckoff law suggests that an excess of demand over supply causes prices to go up because there are more people buying than selling. But, in a situation where there is more selling than buying, the supply exceeds demand, causing the price to drop.

Many investors who follow the Wyckoff Method compare price action and volume bars as a way to better visualize the relation between supply and demand. This often provides insights into the next market movements.

The Law of Cause and Effect

The second law states that the differences between supply and demand are not random. Instead, they come after periods of preparation, as a result of specific events. In Wyckoff's terms, a period of accumulation (cause) eventually leads to an uptrend (effect). In contrast, a period of distribution (cause) eventually results in a downtrend (effect). 

Wyckoff applied a unique charting technique to estimate the potential effects of a cause. In other terms, he created methods of defining trading targets based on the periods of accumulation and distribution. This allowed him to estimate the probable extension of a market trend after breaking out of a consolidation zone or trading range (TR).

The Law of Effort vs. Result

The third Wyckoff law states that the changes in an asset’s price are a result of an effort, which is represented by the trading volume. If the price action is in harmony with the volume, there is a good chance the trend will continue. But, if the volume and price diverge significantly, the market trend is likely to stop or change direction.

For instance, imagine that the Bitcoin market starts to consolidate with a very high volume after a long bearish trend. The high volume indicates a big effort, but the sideways movement (low volatility) suggests a small result. So, there is a lot of Bitcoins changing hands, but no more significant price drops. Such a situation could indicate that the downtrend may be over, and a reversal is near.

 

The Composite Man

Wyckoff created the idea of the Composite Man (or Composite Operator) as an imaginary identity of the market. He proposed that investors and traders should study the stock market as if a single entity was controlling it. This would make it easier for them to go along the market trends.

In essence, the Composite Man represents the biggest players (market makers), such as wealthy individuals and institutional investors. It always acts in his own best interest to ensure he can buy low and sell high. 

The Composite Man’s behavior is the opposite of the majority of retail investors, which Wyckoff often observed losing money. But according to Wyckoff, the Composite Man uses a somewhat predictable strategy, from which investors can learn from.

Let’s use the Composite Man concept to illustrate a simplified market cycle. Such a cycle consists of four main phases: accumulation, uptrend, distribution, and downtrend.

 

Accumulation

The Composite Man accumulates assets before most investors. This phase is usually marked by a sideways movement. The accumulation is done gradually to avoid the price from changing significantly.

Uptrend

When the Composite Man is holding enough shares, and the selling force is depleted, he starts pushing the market up. Naturally, the emerging trend attracts more investors, causing demand to increase.

Notably, there may be multiple phases of accumulation during an uptrend. We may call them re-accumulation phases, where the bigger trend stops and consolidates for a while, before continuing its upward movement.

As the market moves up, other investors are encouraged to buy. Eventually, even the general public become excited enough to get involved. At this point, demand is excessively higher than supply.

Distribution

Next, the Composite Man starts distributing his holdings. He sells his profitable positions to those entering the market at a late stage. Typically, the distribution phase is marked by a sideways movement that absorbs demand until it gets exhausted.

Downtrend

Soon after the distribution phase, the market starts reverting to the downside. In other words, after the Composite Man is done selling a good amount of his shares, he starts pushing the market down. Eventually, the supply becomes much greater than demand, and the downtrend is established.

Similar to the uptrend, the downtrend may also have re-distribution phases. These are basically short-term consolidation between big price drops. They may also include Dead Cat Bounces or the so-called bull traps, where some buyers get trapped, hoping for a trend reversal that doesn’t happen. When the bearish trend is finally over, a new accumulation phase begins.

 

Wyckoff’s Schematics

The Accumulation and Distribution Schematics are likely the most popular part of Wyckoff’s work - at least within the cryptocurrency community. These models break down the Accumulation and Distribution phases into smaller sections. The sections are divided into five Phases (A to E), along with multiple Wyckoff Events, which are briefly described below.

 

Accumulation Schematic

Wyckoff method accumulation schematic

Phase A

The selling force decreases, and the downtrend starts to slow down. This phase is usually marked by an increase in trading volume. The Preliminary Support (PS) indicates that some buyers are showing up, but still not enough to stop the downward move.

The Selling Climax (SC) is formed by an intense selling activity as investors capitulate. This is often a point of high volatility, where panic selling creates big candlesticks and wicks. The strong drop quickly reverts into a bounce or Automatic Rally (AR), as the excessive supply is absorbed by the buyers. In general, the trading range (TR) of an Accumulation Schematic is defined by the space between the SC low and the AR high.

As the name suggests, the Secondary Test (ST) happens when the market drops near the SC region, testing whether the downtrend is really over or not. At this point, the trading volume and market volatility tend to be lower. While the ST often forms a higher low in relation to the SC, that may not always be the case.

Phase B

Based on Wyckoff’s Law of Cause and Effect, Phase B may be seen as the Cause that leads to an Effect.

Essentially, Phase B is the consolidation stage, in which the Composite Man accumulates the highest number of assets. During this stage, the market tends to test both resistance and support levels of the trading range.

There may be numerous Secondary Tests (ST) during Phase B. In some cases, they may produce higher highs (bull traps) and lower lows (bear traps) in relation to the SC and AR of the Phase A.

Phase C

A typical Accumulation Phase C contains what is called a Spring. It often acts as the last bear trap before the market starts making higher lows. During Phase C, the Composite Man ensures that there is little supply left in the market, i.e., the ones that were to sell already did.

The Spring often breaks the support levels to stop out traders and mislead investors. We may describe it as a final attempt to buy shares at a lower price before the uptrend starts. The bear trap induces retail investors to give up their holdings. 

In some cases, however, the support levels manage to hold, and the Spring simply does not occur. In other words, there may be Accumulation Schematics that present all other elements but not the Spring. Still, the overall scheme continues to be valid.

Phase D

The Phase D represents the transition between the Cause and Effect. It stands between the Accumulation zone (Phase C) and the breakout of the trading range (Phase E). 

Typically, the Phase D shows a significant increase in trading volume and volatility. It usually has a Last Point Support (LPS), making a higher low before the market moves higher. The LPS often precedes a breakout of the resistance levels, which in turn creates higher highs. This indicates Signs of Strength (SOS), as previous resistances become brand new supports.

Despite the somewhat confusing terminology, there may be more than one LPS during Phase D. They often have increased trading volume while testing the new support lines. In some cases, the price may create a small consolidation zone before effectively breaking the bigger trading range and moving to Phase E.

Phase E

The Phase E is the last stage of an Accumulation Schematic. It is marked by an evident breakout of the trading range, caused by increased market demand. This is when the trading range is effectively broken, and the uptrend starts.


Distribution Schematic

In essence, the Distribution Schematics works in the opposite way of the Accumulation, but with slightly different terminology.


Wyckoff method distribution schematic

 

Phase A

The first phase occurs when an established uptrend starts to slow down due to decreasing demand. The Preliminary Supply (PSY) suggests that the selling force is showing up, although still not strong enough to stop the upward movement. The Buying Climax (BC) is then formed by an intense buying activity. This is usually caused by inexperienced traders that buy out of emotions. 

Next, the strong move up causes an Automatic Reaction (AR), as the excessive demand is absorbed by the market makers. In other words, the Composite Man starts distributing his holdings to the late buyers. The Secondary Test (ST) occurs when the market revisits the BC region, often forming a lower high.

Phase B

The Phase B of a Distribution acts as the consolidation zone (Cause) that precedes a downtrend (Effect). During this phase, the Composite Man gradually sells his assets, absorbing and weakening market demand. 

Usually, the upper and lower bands of the trading range are tested multiple times, which may include short-term bear and bull traps. Sometimes, the market will move above the resistance level created by the BC, resulting in an ST that can also be called an Upthrust (UT).

Phase C

In some cases, the market will present one last bull trap after the consolidation period. It’s called UTAD or Upthrust After Distribution. It is, basically, the opposite of an Accumulation Spring.

Phase D

The Phase D of a Distribution is pretty much a mirror image of the Accumulation one. It usually has a Last Point of Supply (LPSY) in the middle of the range, creating a lower high. From this point, new LPSYs are created - either around or below the support zone. An evident Sign of Weakness (SOW) appears when the market breaks below the support lines.

Phase E

The last stage of a Distribution marks the beginning of a downtrend, with an evident break below the trading range, caused by a strong dominance of supply over demand.

 

Does the Wyckoff Method work?

Naturally, the market doesn’t always follow these models accurately. In practice, the Accumulation and Distribution Schematics can occur in varying ways. For example, some situations may have a Phase B lasting much longer than expected. Or else, the Spring and UTAD Tests may be totally absent.

Still, Wyckoff’s work offers a wide range of reliable techniques, which are based on his many theories and principles. His work is certainly valuable to thousands of investors, traders, and analysts worldwide. For instance, the Accumulation and Distribution schematics may come handy when trying to understand the common cycles of financial markets.

 

Wyckoff’s five-step approach

Wyckoff also developed a five-step approach to the market, which was based on his many principles and techniques. In short, this approach may be seen as a way to put his teaching into practice.

Step 1: Determine the trend.

What is the current trend and where it is likely to go? How is the relation between supply and demand?

Step 2: Determine the asset’s strength.

How strong is the asset in relation to the market? Are they moving in a similar or opposite fashion?

Step 3: Look for assets with sufficient Cause.

Are there enough reasons to enter a position? Is the Cause strong enough that makes the potential rewards (Effect) worth the risks?

Step 4: Determine how likely is the move.

Is the asset ready to move? What is its position within the bigger trend? What do the price and volume suggest? This step often involves the use of Wyckoff’s Buying and Selling Tests.

Step 5: Time your entry.

The last step is all about timing. It usually involves analyzing a stock in comparison to the general market.

For example, a trader can compare the price action of a stock in relation to the S&P 500 index. Depending on their position within their individual Wyckoff Schematic, such an analysis may provide insights into the next movements of the asset. Eventually, this facilitates the establishment of a good entry.

Notably, this method works better with assets that move together with the general market or index. In cryptocurrency markets, though, this correlation isn’t always present.

 

Closing thoughts

It’s been almost a century since its creation, but the Wyckoff Method is still in widespread use today. It is certainly much more than a TA indicator, as it encompasses many principles, theories, and trading techniques. 

In essence, the Wyckoff Method allows investors to make more logical decisions rather than acting out of emotions. The extensive work of Wyckoff provides traders and investors a series of tools for reducing risks and increasing their chances of success. Still, there is no foolproof technique when it comes to investing. One should always be wary of the risks, especially within the highly-volatile cryptocurrency markets.

Loading