ما هي عقود الخيارات؟

مشاركة
ما هي عقود الخيارات؟

ما هي عقود الخيارات؟

عقود الخيارات هو اتفاق يمنح المتداول الحق في شراء أو بيع الأصل بسعر محدد مسبقًا ما قبل أو في تاريخ معين. على الرغم من أن هذا قد يبدو مشابهاً للعقود الآجلة، إلا أن المتداولين الذين يشترون عقود الخيارات ليسوا ملزمين بتسوية صفقاتهم.

عقود الخيارات هي مشتقات يمكن أن تستخدم في مجموعة واسعة من الأصول الأساسية بما في ذلك الأسهم والعملات الرقمية. قد يتم اشتقاق هذه العقود أيضًا من المؤشرات المالية. عادة يتم استخدام عقود الخيارات للتحوط من المخاطر على المراكز الحالية وللتداول.


كيف تعمل عقود الخيارات؟

هناك نوعان أساسيان من عقود الخيارات. والمعروفة باسم خيار الشراء (Call Option) و خيار البيع (Put Option). تمنح خيارات الشراء لأصحاب العقود الحق في شراء الأصل الأساسي بينما تمنح خيارات البيع الحق في البيع. على هذا النحو، عادة ما يدخل المتداولون في خيارات شراء عندما يتوقعون أن يرتفع سعر الأصل الأساسي و خيارات البيع عندما يتوقعون انخفاض السعر. قد يستخدمون أيضًا خيارات البيع و الشراء ويأملون في أن تظل الأسعار مستقرة أو حتى مزيجًا من النوعين للمراهنة لصالح أو ضد تقلبات السوق.

يتكون عقد الخيارات من أربعة أشياء على الأقل: الـ size (الحجم) و الـ expiration date (تاريخ الإنتهاء) و الـ strike price (سعر الإضراب) و الـ premium (العلاوة). أولاً، يشير حجم الطلب إلى عدد العقود التي سيتم تداولها. ثانيًا، تاريخ انتهاء هو التاريخ الذي عنده لا يستطيع المتداول استخدام العقد. ثالثًا، سعر الإضراب هو السعر الذي سيتم فيه شراء الأصل أو بيعه (في حال قرر المشتري الذي تم التعاقد معه ممارسة الخيار). وأخيرًا، العلاوه هي سعر تداول عقود الخيارات. وهي تشير إلى المبلغ الذي يجب على المستثمر دفعه للحصول على قوة الاختيار لذا فإن المشترين يحصلون على عقود من الكتاب (البائعين) وفقًا لقيمة العلاوة والتي تتغير باستمرار بإقتراب تاريخ انتهاء العقد.

ببساطة، إذا كان سعر الإضراب أقل من سعر السوق فيمكن للمتداول شراء الأصل الأساسي بسعر مخفض وبعد إدراج العلاوة في المعادلة قد يختار استخدام العقد لتحقيق ربح. لكن إذا كان سعر الإضراب أعلى من سعر السوق فلن يكون للحامل أي سبب لاستخدام هذا الخيار ويعتبر العقد بلا فائدة. عندما لا يتم تنفيذ العقد، يفقد المشتري فقط القسط المدفوع عند دخول المركز.

من المهم الإشارة إلى أنه على الرغم من أن المشترين قادرون على الاختيار بين استخدام أو عدم إجراء خيارات بيع أو شراء، إلا أن الكتاب (البائعين) يعتمدون على قرار المشترين. لذلك إذا قرر مشتر خيار الشراء استخدام عقده فإن البائع ملزم ببيع الأصل الأساسي. وبالمثل، إذا قام المتداول بوضع خيار شراء، فإن البائع ملزم بشراء الأصل الأساسي من صاحب العقد. هذا يعني أن الكتاب (البائعين) يتعرضون لمخاطر أعلى من المشترين. بينما تقتصر خسائر المشترين على العلاوات المدفوعة مقابل العقد. يمكن أن يخسر الكتاب (البائعين) أكثر من ذلك بكثير اعتمادًا على سعر السوق للأصل.

تمنح بعض العقود المتداولين الحق في استعمال خيارهم في أي وقت قبل تاريخ انتهاء الصلاحية. يشار الى هذه العقود عادة باسم عقود الخيارات الأمريكية. بينما لا يمكن استعمال عقود الخيارات الأوروبية إلا في تاريخ انتهاء الصلاحية. ومع ذلك، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن هذه الطوائف لا علاقة لها بموقعها الجغرافي.


علاوة الخيارات (Options premium)

تتأثر قيمة العلاوة بعوامل متعددة. للتبسيط، قد نفترض أن علاوة الخيار تعتمد على أربعة عناصر على الأقل: سعر الأصل الأساسي و سعر الإضراب والوقت المتبقي حتى تاريخ انتهاء الصلاحية وتقلب الأسواق المقابلة (أو المؤشر).تقدم هذه المكونات الأربعة تأثيرات مختلفة على علاوة خيارات البيع (Put) وخيارات الشراء (Call) كما هو موضح في الجدول التالي.



علاوة خيارات الشراء

علاوة خيارات البيع

ارتفاع سعر الأصول

تزيد

تقل

ارتفاع سعر الإضراب

تقل

تزيد

انخفاض الوقت

تقل

تقل

التقلب

تزيد

تزيد


بطبيعة الحال، يؤثر سعر الأصل وسعر الإضراب على علاوة خيارات الشراء و البيع بطريقة عكسية. على العكس من ذلك، يعني الوقت الأقل عادةً أسعارًا أقل لكلا النوعين من الخيارات. السبب الرئيسي لذلك هو أن المتداولين سيكون لديهم احتمال أقل في تحول هذه العقود لصالحهم. من ناحية أخرى، عادة ما تسبب زيادة مستويات التقلب في ارتفاع أسعار العلاوات. وعلى هذا النحو فإن علاوة عقد الخيار هو نتيجة لتلك القوى وغيرها مجتمعة.


خيارات اليونانيين (Options Greeks)

خيارات اليونانيين هي أدوات مصممة لقياس بعض العوامل المتعددة التي تؤثر على سعر العقد. على وجه التحديد، فهي قيم إحصائية تستخدم لقياس مخاطر عقد معين بناءً على متغيرات أساسية مختلفة.فيما يلي بعض علاوات اليونانيين ووصف موجز لما يقيسونه:

  • دلتا (Delta): يقيس مقدار سعر عقد الخيارات الذي سيتغير بالنسبة لسعر الأصل الأساسي. مثال: تشير دلتا بقيمة 0.6 إلى أن سعر العلاوة من المحتمل أن يتحرك 0.60 دولار لكل حركة 1 دولار في سعر الأصل.

  • جاما (Gamma): يقيس معدل التغير في دلتا بمرور الوقت. لذلك إذا تغيرت دلتا من 0.6 إلى 0.45 فإن غاما للخيار ستكون قيمتها = 0.15.

  • Theta: قيس التغير في الأسعار فيما يتعلق بانخفاض يوم واحد في وقت العقد. حيث أنه يتوقع مقدار التغير في العلاوة المتوقع بإقتراب موعد انتهاء العقد.

  • فيجا (Vega): يقيس معدل التغير في سعر العقد بالنسبة للتغير بنسبة 1٪ في التقلب الضمني للأصل. زيادة فيجا عادة ما تعكس زيادة في سعر كل خيارات البيع و الشراء.

  • Rho: يقيس التغير المتوقع في الأسعار بالنسبة للتقلبات في أسعار الفائدة. حيث أن زيادة أسعار الفائدة بشكل عام تسبب زيادة في خيارات الشراء وانخفاض خيارات البيع. على هذا النحو، تكون قيمة Rho إيجابية بالنسبة لخيارات الشراء وسلبية لخيارات البيع.


حالات الاستخدام الشائعة

التحوط (Hedging)

تستخدم عقود الخيارات على نطاق واسع كأدوات تحوط. أحد الأمثلة الأساسية لاستراتيجية التحوط هو أن يقوم المتداولون بشراء خيارات طرح الأسهم التي لديهم بالفعل. اذا فقدت القيمة الإجمالية في مقتنياتها الرئيسية بسبب انخفاض الأسعار، فإن القيام بأمر بيع يمكن أن يساعدهم في تخفيف الخسائر.

على سبيل المثال، تخيل معنا أن "أليس" اشترت 100 سهم بسعر 50 دولارًا على أمل أن يرتفع سعر السوق. ومع ذلك، للتحوط من احتمال انخفاض أسعار الأسهم قررت شراء خيارات البيع بسعر الإضراب 48 دولارًا ودفع علاوة قدرها 2 دولار للسهم. إذا تحول السوق نحو الانخفاض وتراجع السهم إلى 35 دولارًا فيمكن أن تستعمل أليس عقدها لتخفيف الخسائر حيث تبيع كل سهم مقابل 48 دولارًا بدلاً من 35 دولارًا. ولكن إذا تحول السوق إلى الاتجاه الصعودي فلن تحتاج إلى استعمال العقد وستفقد فقط القسط المدفوع (2 دولار للسهم الواحد).

في مثل هذا السيناريو، ستصبح صفقة أليس متعادلة (لا مكسب ولا خسارة) عند سعر 52 دولارًا (50 دولارًا + 2 دولار علاوة للسهم الواحد) بينما ستقتصر خسائرها على -400 دولار (200 دولار تدفع مقابل العلاوة و 200 دولار أخرى إذا باعت كل سهم مقابل 48 دولارًا).


المضاربة (Speculative trading)

تستخدم الخيارات أيضًا على نطاق واسع في تداول المضاربة. على سبيل المثال، يمكن للمتداول الذي يعتقد أن سعر الأصل على وشك الارتفاع شراء خيار شراء. إذا كان سعر الأصل يتحرك فوق سعر الإضراب، ، فيمكن للمتداول استعمال الخيار وشراء الأصل بسعر منخفض. عندما يكون سعر الأصل أعلى أو أقل من سعر الإضراب بطريقة تجعل العقد مربحًا، يقال عليه خيار "in-the-Money" بينما يقال إن العقد يكون "at-the-Money" إذا كان في نقطة التعادل و "out-of-the-Money" في حالة الخسارة.


الاستراتيجيات الرئيسية

 يمكن للمتداولين استخدام مجموعة واسعة من الاستراتيجيات عند تداول الخيارات والتي تستند إلى أربعة مراكز أساسية. كمشتري: يمكن للمرء شراء خيار Call (الحق في الشراء) أو خيار Put (الحق في البيع). يمكن للمرء أن يبيع خيارات الشراء أو شراء خيارات بيع العقود. وكما ذكرنا، ، يلتزم الكتاب بشراء أو بيع الأصول إذا قرر صاحب العقد استعماله.

تعتمد استراتيجيات تداول الخيارات المختلفة على مجموعات مختلفة من عقود الشراء و البيع. تعتبر الـProtective puts و الـcovered calls و الـstraddle والـ strangle من الأمثلة الأساسية لهذه الاستراتيجيات.

  • Protective put: ينطوي على شراء عقد خيار البيع للأصل المملوك بالفعل. هذه هي استراتيجية التحوط التي استخدمتها أليس في المثال السابق. يُعرف أيضًا باسم تأمين المحافظ لأنه يحمي المستثمر من الاتجاه الهبوطي المحتمل مع الحفاظ على تعرضه في حالة ارتفاع سعر الأصل.

  • Covered call: يتضمن بيع خيار الشراء للأصل المملوك بالفعل. يتم استخدام هذه الاستراتيجية من قبل المستثمرين لتوليد دخل إضافي (علاوة الخيارات) من ممتلكاتهم. وإذا لم يتم تنفيذ العقد، فإنهم يكسبون العلاوة مع الاحتفاظ بأصولهم. وإذا تم تنفيذ العقد بسبب زيادة في سعر السوق فإنهم ملزمون ببيع مراكزهم.

  • Straddle: ينطوي على شراء خيار بيع و شراء على نفس الأصل مع أسعار إضراب وتواريخ انتهاء متطابقة. يسمح للمتداول بالربح طالما يتحرك الأصل بدرجة كافية في أي من الاتجاهين. ببساطة، في هذه الحالة يكون المتداول يراهن على تقلبات السوق.

  • Strangle: يتضمن شراء كل من خيارات الشراء و خيارات البيع المدرجة تحت "out-of-the-Money" (على سبيل المثال: سعر الإضراب أعلى من سعر السوق لخيارات الشراء وتحت خيارات البيع). حيث أن الـ Strangle يشبة الـ Straddle ولكن بتكاليف أقل لإنشاء مركز. لكن يتطلب الـ Strangle مستوى أعلى من التقلب ليكون مربحا.


المميزات

  • مناسبة للتحوط ضد مخاطر السوق.

  • مزيد من الراحة في تداول المضاربة.

  • السماح للعديد من المجموعات واستراتيجيات التداول مع أنماط مختلفة من المخاطر / المكافآت.

  • إمكانية الربح من جميع اتجاهات السوق الصعودية و الهبوطية والجانبية.

  • يمكن استخدامها لخفض التكاليف عند دخول المراكز.

  • السماح بالقيام بعمليات تداول متعددة في نفس الوقت


العيوب

  • آليات العمل وحساب العلاوة ليس أمرا سهلا دائما.

  • ينطوي على مخاطر عالية وخاصة بالنسبة لكتاب العقود (البائعين)

  • استراتيجيات تداول أكثر تعقيدًا مقارنة بالبدائل التقليدية.

  • غالبًا ما تعاني أسواق الخيارات من انخفاض مستويات السيولة مما يجعلها أقل جاذبية لمعظم المتداولين.

  • قيمة علاوة عقود الخيارات متقلبة للغاية وتميل إلى الانخفاض كلما اقترب تاريخ انتهاء الصلاحية.


عقود الخيارات والعقود المستقبلية

الخيارات والعقود الآجلة هي أدوات مشتقة وعلى هذا النحو لهم بعض حالات الاستخدام الشائعة. ولكن على الرغم من أوجه التشابه بينهما، إلا أن هناك فرق كبير في آلية التسوية بين الاثنين.

على عكس الخيارات، يتم تنفيذ العقود المستقبلية دائمًا عند الوصول إلى تاريخ انتهاء الصلاحية مما يعني أن حاملي العقود ملزمون قانونيا بتبادل الأصل الأساسي (أو القيمة المعنية نقدًا). من ناحية أخرى في الخيارات، لا يتم استخدامها إلا وفقًا لتقدير المتداول الذي يحمل العقد. إذا استعمل صاحب العقد (المشتري) هذا الخيار يكون كاتب العقد (البائع) ملزمًا بتداول الأصل الأساسي.


أفكار ختامية

 تمنح الخيارات للمستثمر خيار شراء أو بيع أحد الأصول في المستقبل بغض النظر عن سعر السوق في الوقت الحالي وهذا النوع من العقود متعدد الاستخدامات للغاية ويمكن استخدامه في سيناريوهات مختلفة، ليس فقط للمضاربة ولكن أيضًا لتنفيذ استراتيجيات التحوط.

ومع ذلك تجدر الإشارة إلى أن تداول الخيارات بالإضافة إلى المشتقات الأخرى ينطوي على العديد من المخاطر. لذلك قبل استخدام هذا النوع من العقود يجب أن يكون لدى المتداولين فهم جيد لكيفية عملهم. من المهم أيضًا أن يكون لديك فهم جيد للمجموعات المختلفة من الـ Calls و الـ Puts والمخاطر المحتملة التي تنطوي عليها كل استراتيجية. يجب على التجار أيضًا التفكير في استخدام استراتيجيات إدارة المخاطر جنبًا إلى جنب مع التحليلات الفنية والأساسية للحد من الخسائر المحتملة.

Loading

What Are Options Contracts?

Share
What Are Options Contracts?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

An options contract is an agreement that gives a trader the right to buy or sell an asset at a predetermined price, either before or at a certain date. Although it may sound similar to futures contracts, traders that buy options contracts are not obligated to settle their positions. 

Options contracts are derivatives that can be based on a wide range of underlying assets, including stocks, and cryptocurrencies. These contracts may also be derived from financial indexes. Typically, options contracts are used for hedging risks on existing positions and for speculative trading.


How do options contracts work?

There are two basic types of options, known as puts and calls. Call options give contract owners the right to buy the underlying asset, while put options confer the right to sell. As such, traders usually enter into calls when they expect the price of the underlying asset to increase, and puts when they expect the price to decrease. They may also use calls and puts hoping for prices to remain stable - or even a combination of the two types - to bet in favor or against market volatility.

An options contract consists of at least four components: size, expiration date, strike price, and premium. First, the size of the order refers to the number of contracts to be traded. Second, the expiration date is the date after which a trader can no longer exercise the option. Third, the strike price is the price at which the asset will be bought or sold (in case the contract buyer decides to exercise the option). Finally, the premium is the trading price of the options contract. It indicates the amount an investor must pay to obtain the power of choice. So buyers acquire contracts from writers (sellers) according to the value of the premium, which is constantly changing, as the expiration date gets closer.

Basically speaking, if the strike price is lower than the market price, the trader can buy the underlying asset at a discount and, after including the premium into the equation, they may choose to exercise the contract to make a profit. But if the strike price is higher than the market price, the holder has no reason to exercise the option, and the contract is deemed useless. When the contract is not exercised, the buyer only loses the premium paid when entering the position.

It is important to note that although the buyers are able to choose between exercising or not their calls and puts, the writers (sellers) are dependent on the buyers’ decision. So if a call option buyer decides to exercise his contract, the seller is obligated to sell the underlying asset. Similarly, if a trader buys a put option and decides to exercise it, the seller is obligated to buy the underlying asset from the contract holder. This means that writers are exposed to higher risks than buyers. While buyers have their losses limited to the premium paid for the contract, writers can lose much more depending on the asset’s market price.

Some contracts give traders the right to exercise their option anytime before the expiration date. These are usually referred to as American option contracts. In contrast, the European options contracts can only be exercised at the expiration date. It is worth noting, however, that these denominations have nothing to do with their geographical location.


Options premium

The value of the premium is affected by multiple factors. To simplify, we may assume that the premium of an option is dependent on at least four elements: the underlying asset’s price, the strike price, the time left until the expiration date, and the volatility of the corresponding market (or index). These four components present different effects on the premium of calls and put options, as illustrated in the following table.



Call options premium

Put options premium

Rising asset’s price

Increases

Decreases

Higher strike price

Decreases

Increases

Decreasing time

Decreases

Decreases

Volatility

Increases

Increases


Naturally, the asset’s price and strike price influence the premium of calls and puts in an opposing way. In contrast, less time usually means lower premium prices for both types of options. The main reason for that is because traders would have a lower probability of those contracts turning in their favor. On the other hand, increased levels of volatility usually cause premium prices to rise. As such, the option contract premium is a result of those and other forces combined.


Options Greeks

Options Greeks are instruments designed to measure some of the multiple factors that affect the price of a contract. Specifically, they are statistical values used to measure the risk of a particular contract based on different underlying variables. Following are some of the primary Greeks and a brief description of what they measure:

  • Delta: measures how much the price of an options contract will change in relation to the underlying asset’s price. For instance, a Delta of 0.6 suggests that the premium price will likely move $0.60 for every $1 move in the asset’s price.

  • Gamma: measures the rate of change in Delta over time. So if Delta changes from 0.6 to 0.45, the option’s Gamma would be 0.15.

  • Theta: measures price change in relation to a one-day decrease in the contract’s time. It suggests how much the premium is expected to change as the options contract gets closer to expiration.

  • Vega: measures the rate of change in a contract price in relation to a 1% change in the implied volatility of the underlying asset. An increase in Vega would normally reflect an increase in the price of both calls and puts.

  • Rho: measures expected price change in relation to fluctuations in interest rates. Increased interest rates generally cause an increase in calls and a decrease in puts. As such, the value of Rho is positive for call options and negative for put options.


Common use cases

Hedging

Options contracts are widely used as hedging instruments. A very basic example of a hedging strategy is for traders to buy put options on stocks they already hold. If the overall value is lost in their main holdings due to price declines, exercising the put option can help them mitigate losses.

For example, imagine that Alice bought 100 shares of a stock at $50, hoping for the market price to increase. However, to hedge against the possibility of stock prices falling, she decided to buy put options with a strike price of $48, paying a $2 premium per share. If the market turns bearish and the stock declines to $35, Alice can exercise her contract to mitigate losses, selling each share for $48 instead of $35. But if the market turns bullish, she doesn’t need to exercise the contract and would only lose the premium paid ($2 per share).

In such a scenario, Alice would break even at $52 ($50 + $2 per share), while her losses would be limited to -$400 ($200 paid for the premium and $200 more if she sells each share for $48).

What Are Options Contracts?


Speculative trading

Options are also widely used for speculative trading. For instance, a trader who believes that an asset's price is about to go up can buy a call option. If the price of the asset moves above the strike price, the trader can then exercise the option and buy it at a discount. When an asset's price is above or below the strike price in a way that makes the contract profitable, the option is said to be "in-the-Money." Likewise, a contract is said to be "at-the-Money" if on its breakeven point, or "out-of-the-Money" if in a loss.


Basic strategies

When trading options, traders can employ a wide range of strategies, which are based on four basic positions. As a buyer, one can buy a call option (right to buy) or put option (right to sell). As a writer, one can sell call or put options contracts. As mentioned, writers are obligated to buy or sell the assets if the contract holder decides to exercise it.

The different options trading strategies are based on the various possible combinations of call and put contracts. Protective puts, covered calls, straddle, and strangle are some basic examples of such strategies.

  • Protective put: involves buying a put option contract of an asset that is already owned. This is the hedging strategy used by Alice in the previous example. It is also known as portfolio insurance as it protects the investor from a potential downtrend, while also maintaining their exposure in case the asset’s price increases.

  • Covered call: involves selling a call option of an asset that is already owned. This strategy is used by investors to generate additional income (options premium) from their holdings. If the contract is not exercised, they earn the premium while keeping their assets. However, if the contract is exercised due to an increase in the market price, they are obligated to sell their positions.

  • Straddle: involves buying a call and a put on the same asset with identical strike prices and expiration dates. It allows the trader to profit as long as the asset moves far enough in either direction. Simply put, the trader is betting on market volatility.

  • Strangle: involves buying both a call and a put that are “out-of-the-Money” (i.e., strike price above market price for call options and below for put options). Basically, a strangle is like a straddle, but with lower costs for establishing a position. However, a strangle requires a higher level of volatility to be profitable.


Advantages

  • Suitable for hedging against market risks.

  • More flexibility in speculative trading.

  • Allow for several combinations and trading strategies, with unique risk/reward patterns.

  • Potential to profit from all the bull, bear, and side-way market trends.

  • May be used for reducing costs when entering positions.

  • Allow multiple trades to be performed simultaneously.


Disadvantages

  • Working mechanisms and premium calculation not always easy to understand.

  • Involves high risks, especially for contract writers (sellers)

  • More complex trading strategies when compared to conventional alternatives.

  • Options markets are often plagued with low levels of liquidity, making them less attractive for most traders.

  • The premium value of options contracts is highly volatile and tends to decrease as the expiration date gets closer.


Options vs. futures

Options and futures contracts are both derivative instruments and, as such, present some common use cases. But despite their similarities, there is a major difference in the settlement mechanism between the two.

Unlike options, futures contracts are always executed when the expiration date is reached, meaning that the contract holders are legally obligated to exchange the underlying asset (or respective value in cash). Options, on the other hand, are only exercised at the discretion of the trader who holds the contract. If the contract holder (buyer) exercises the option, the contract writer (seller) is obligated to trade the underlying asset.


Closing thoughts

As the name suggests, options give an investor the choice to buy or sell an asset in the future, regardless of the market price. These type of contracts are very versatile and can be used in various scenarios - not only for speculative trading but also for performing hedging strategies. 

Yet, it is worth noting that trading options, as well as other derivatives, involves many risks. So before making use of this type of contract, traders should have a good understanding of how it works. It is also important to have a good understanding of the different combinations of calls and puts and the potential risks involved in each strategy. Also, traders should also consider employing risk management strategies along with technical and fundamental analyses to limit the potential losses.

Loading