什么是期权合约?

分享
Copied to clipboard!
什么是期权合约?

期权合约是一种协议,能够赋予交易者在特定日期前或某个指定日期以预定价格买入或卖出资产的权利。听起来虽然类似于期货合约,但购买期权合约的交易者不一定要对头寸进行结算。

期权合约是一种交易衍生品,可以基于广泛的基础资产,包括股票和加密货币。这些合约也可能来自财务指标等信息。通常,期权合约用于对冲现有头寸和投机交易的风险。


期权合约如何运作?

有两种基本类型的选项,称为看跌和看涨。看涨期权给予合约所有者购买标的资产的权利,而看跌期权授予其出售权。因此,当交易者预期相关资产的价格会上涨时,他们通常会选择看涨期权,在预期价格下跌时选择看跌期权。他们也可能会在预期价格保持稳定时,选择同时执行看涨和看跌期权,甚至是两种合约的组合,以支持或抵御市场波动。

期权合约至少包含四个基本组成部分:规模、到期日、执行价和溢价。首先,订单的规模是指交易的合约数量。其次,到期日是交易者不再具有行使期权的日期。第三,执行价格是资产买入或卖出价格(如果合约买方决定行使期权)。最后,溢价是期权合约的交易价格。它表示投资者为获得选择权而必须支付的金额。因此,持权人根据溢价的价值从立权人(卖方)那里获得合约,随着到期日的临近,溢价的价值也不断发生变化。

一般情况下,如果合约执行价格低于市场价,交易者可以以折扣价购买相关资产,在支付溢价后,可以选择行使合约从而获取相应的利润。但如果合约执行价格高于市场价,持权人(holder)无法行使期权,合约被视为无效。在不行使合约的情况下,买方仅失去购入合约时所支付的溢价。

值得注意的是,尽管买家可以根据不同的情况选择执行他们所买入的看涨和看跌期权,但立权人(卖方)需要遵从买家的决定。因此,如果买方决定行使其看涨期权合约,则卖方有义务出售相关资产。同理,如果交易者购买看跌期权并决定执行看跌期权时,立权人有义务从合约持权人处购买标的资产。这意味着立权人面临的风险要高于买家。买家的损失仅限于支付合约的溢价,而立权人可能会因为资产的市场价格波动而造成更多的损失。

有些合约支持交易者在到期日前的任何时间执行期权。通常被称为美式期权合约。相反,欧式期权合约只能在到期日时执行。但值得注意的是,这些合约的类型与其地理位置无关。


期权溢价

溢价的金额会受多种因素的影响。为方便起见,我们假设期权的溢价取决于如下四个要素:标的资产的价格、执行价格、距离到期日所剩时间以及相应市场(或指数)的波动性。这四个要素对看涨期权和看跌期权的溢价会产生不同的影响,如下表所示。


看涨期权溢价

看跌期权溢价

资产价格上涨

增加

降低

执行价格上升

降低

增加

时间减少

降低

降低

波动性

增加

增加


当然,资产的价格和合约执行价格会影响看涨期权的溢价,而在看跌期权中则会是完全相反的方式。相比之下,较少的合约周期通常意味着两种类型的期权会产生较低的溢价。其主要原因是交易者对这些合约的偏好概率较低。另一方面,波动性增加通常会导致溢价上涨。因此,期权合约溢价是这些因素互相作用的结果。


期权希腊值(Greeks)

期权希腊值是衡量影响合约价格多个因素的工具。具体而言,它们是根据不同的基础变量来衡量特定合约风险的统计值(控制变量法)。以下是一些主要的希腊值(Greeks)以及他们所衡量内容的简要说明:

  • Delta:衡量期权合约价格相对于标的资产价格的变化程度。例如,Delta的0.6表示,对于资产价格每1美元的波动,溢价可能会上涨0.60美元。

  • Gamma:衡量Delta随时间的变化率。因此,如果Delta从0.6变为0.45,则期权的Gamma将为0.15。

  • Theta:衡量随着合约到期日的临近,价格变化趋势。它表明随着期权合约接近到期日时,溢价会发生多大变化。

  • Vega:衡量合约价格变动率与相关资产隐含波动率变动1%的关系。 Vega的增加通常可反映看涨期权和看跌期权的价格上涨。

  • Rho:衡量利率波动相关的预期价格变化。利率上升通常会意味着看涨期权和看跌期权的减少。因此,Rho的值对于对涨期权为正,对看跌期权为负。


常见用例

套期保值

期权合约被广泛用作对冲工具。对冲策略的一个常见例子是交易者购买已经持有股票的看跌期权。如果价格下跌而导致其持股的总价值下跌,那么行使看跌期权可以帮助他们减轻损失。

例如,假设爱丽丝以50美元的价格购买了100股股票,并希望市场价格能够上涨。然而,为了对冲股票价格下跌的可能性,她决定以48美元的执行价购买看跌期权,每股支付2美元的溢价。如果市场转为看跌且股价下跌至35美元,爱丽丝可以行使合约以减轻损失,以每股48美元(而非35美元)的价格出售。但如果市场转为看涨,她不需要行使合约,只会浪费掉所支付的溢价(每股2美元)。

在这种情况下,爱丽丝的保价格额是52美元(每股50美元+ 2美元溢价),而如果股价下跌她可将损失控制在400美元(200美元支付溢价,另外200美元是她按照每股48美元卖掉股票的损失金额)。

什么是期权合约?

投机交易

期权合约也被广泛用于投机交易。例如,认为资产价格即将上涨的交易者可以购买看涨期权。如果资产价格高于执行价格,交易者可以行使期权并以折扣价买入。如果资产的价格高于或低于执行价格,则可通过该合约实现盈利,该选项被称为“实值期权”。同样,如果合约处于盈亏平衡点,则称合约为“平价期权”,如果亏损,则称为“虚值期权”。


基本策略

在交易期权时,交易者可以采用基于四个基础头寸的广泛策略。作为买家,可以购买看涨期权(买入权)或卖出期权(卖出权)。作为立权人,用户可以出售看涨期权或看跌期权合约。如上所述,如果持权人决定执行合约资产标的,立权人有义务购买或出售资产。

不同期权交易策略基于看涨和看跌期权合约的各种可能性组合。保护性认沽期权 (Protective Put)、持保看涨期权(Covered Call Option)、跨式期权(Straddle)和宽跨式套利(Strangle)是这种策略的一些基本例子。

  • 保护性认沽期权 (Protective Put):涉及购买已拥有资产的看跌期权。这是Alice在上一个例子中使用的对冲策略。它也被称为投资组合保险,因为它可以保护投资者免受潜在下跌趋势的影响,同时在资产价格上涨的情况下保持投资风险。

  • 持保看涨期权(Covered Call Option):涉及出售已拥有资产的看涨期权。投资者使用此策略从其持有的资产中获得额外收入(期权溢价)。如果合约没有执行,他们在保留资产的同时赚取溢价。但是,如果合约因市场价格上涨而被执行,则他们有义务出售其头寸。

  • 跨式期权(Straddle):涉及购买看涨期权和到期日相同的资产。只要资产在任一方向上变化趋势足够明显,它就能够让交易者获利。简单地说,交易者押注于市场的剧烈波动

  • 宽跨式套利(Strangle):涉及同时购买“虚值期权”的看涨期权和看跌期权组合(即,看涨期权的执行价格高于市场价格、看跌期权的执行价格低于市场价格)。本质上,宽跨式套利(Strangle)类似于跨式期权,但建立一个位置的成本较低。然而,宽跨式套利需要市场更为剧烈的波动才能获利。


优势

  • 适合对冲市场风险。

  • 更具灵活性的投机交易。

  • 支持多种组合和交易策略,具有独特的风险/回报模式。

  • 具有从牛市、熊市和稳定市场中获利的潜力。

  • 在建立仓位时可降低成本。

  • 支持同时执行多个交易。


劣势

  • 工作机制和溢价计算难以理解。

  • 涉及高风险,特别是对于立权人(卖方)

  • 与传统替代方案相比,具有更复杂的交易策略。

  • 期权市场经常受到流动性低的困扰,使得它们对大多数交易者的吸引力降低。

  • 期权合约的溢价很不稳定,并且随着到期日的临近而趋于减少。


期权与期货

期权和期货合约都是交易衍生工具,因此提供了一些常见的用例。但尽管两者存在相似之处,但两者之间的解决机制存在重大差异。

与期权不同,期货合约总是在到期日时执行,这意味着持权人有法律义务交换标的资产(或各自的现金价值)。另一方面,期权仅由持有合约的交易员自行决定。如果持权人(买方)行使期权,立权人(卖方)有义务交易标的资产。


总结思想

顾名思义,无论市场价格如何,期权都会让投资者选择在未来买入或卖出资产。这种类型的合约非常通用,可用于各种情况 - 不仅用于投机交易,还用于执行对冲策略。

然而,值得注意的是,交易期权以及其他衍生品涉及诸多风险。因此,在使用此类合约前,交易者应该很好地理解它的工作原理。同样重要的是要充分了解看涨期权和看跌期权的不同组合以及每种策略所涉及的潜在风险。此外,交易者还应考虑采用风险管理策略以及技术基本面分析来遏制潜在的损失。

Loading

What Are Options Contracts?

Share
What Are Options Contracts?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

An options contract is an agreement that gives a trader the right to buy or sell an asset at a predetermined price, either before or at a certain date. Although it may sound similar to futures contracts, traders that buy options contracts are not obligated to settle their positions. 

Options contracts are derivatives that can be based on a wide range of underlying assets, including stocks, and cryptocurrencies. These contracts may also be derived from financial indexes. Typically, options contracts are used for hedging risks on existing positions and for speculative trading.


How do options contracts work?

There are two basic types of options, known as puts and calls. Call options give contract owners the right to buy the underlying asset, while put options confer the right to sell. As such, traders usually enter into calls when they expect the price of the underlying asset to increase, and puts when they expect the price to decrease. They may also use calls and puts hoping for prices to remain stable - or even a combination of the two types - to bet in favor or against market volatility.

An options contract consists of at least four components: size, expiration date, strike price, and premium. First, the size of the order refers to the number of contracts to be traded. Second, the expiration date is the date after which a trader can no longer exercise the option. Third, the strike price is the price at which the asset will be bought or sold (in case the contract buyer decides to exercise the option). Finally, the premium is the trading price of the options contract. It indicates the amount an investor must pay to obtain the power of choice. So buyers acquire contracts from writers (sellers) according to the value of the premium, which is constantly changing, as the expiration date gets closer.

Basically speaking, if the strike price is lower than the market price, the trader can buy the underlying asset at a discount and, after including the premium into the equation, they may choose to exercise the contract to make a profit. But if the strike price is higher than the market price, the holder has no reason to exercise the option, and the contract is deemed useless. When the contract is not exercised, the buyer only loses the premium paid when entering the position.

It is important to note that although the buyers are able to choose between exercising or not their calls and puts, the writers (sellers) are dependent on the buyers’ decision. So if a call option buyer decides to exercise his contract, the seller is obligated to sell the underlying asset. Similarly, if a trader buys a put option and decides to exercise it, the seller is obligated to buy the underlying asset from the contract holder. This means that writers are exposed to higher risks than buyers. While buyers have their losses limited to the premium paid for the contract, writers can lose much more depending on the asset’s market price.

Some contracts give traders the right to exercise their option anytime before the expiration date. These are usually referred to as American option contracts. In contrast, the European options contracts can only be exercised at the expiration date. It is worth noting, however, that these denominations have nothing to do with their geographical location.


Options premium

The value of the premium is affected by multiple factors. To simplify, we may assume that the premium of an option is dependent on at least four elements: the underlying asset’s price, the strike price, the time left until the expiration date, and the volatility of the corresponding market (or index). These four components present different effects on the premium of calls and put options, as illustrated in the following table.



Call options premium

Put options premium

Rising asset’s price

Increases

Decreases

Higher strike price

Decreases

Increases

Decreasing time

Decreases

Decreases

Volatility

Increases

Increases


Naturally, the asset’s price and strike price influence the premium of calls and puts in an opposing way. In contrast, less time usually means lower premium prices for both types of options. The main reason for that is because traders would have a lower probability of those contracts turning in their favor. On the other hand, increased levels of volatility usually cause premium prices to rise. As such, the option contract premium is a result of those and other forces combined.


Options Greeks

Options Greeks are instruments designed to measure some of the multiple factors that affect the price of a contract. Specifically, they are statistical values used to measure the risk of a particular contract based on different underlying variables. Following are some of the primary Greeks and a brief description of what they measure:

  • Delta: measures how much the price of an options contract will change in relation to the underlying asset’s price. For instance, a Delta of 0.6 suggests that the premium price will likely move $0.60 for every $1 move in the asset’s price.

  • Gamma: measures the rate of change in Delta over time. So if Delta changes from 0.6 to 0.45, the option’s Gamma would be 0.15.

  • Theta: measures price change in relation to a one-day decrease in the contract’s time. It suggests how much the premium is expected to change as the options contract gets closer to expiration.

  • Vega: measures the rate of change in a contract price in relation to a 1% change in the implied volatility of the underlying asset. An increase in Vega would normally reflect an increase in the price of both calls and puts.

  • Rho: measures expected price change in relation to fluctuations in interest rates. Increased interest rates generally cause an increase in calls and a decrease in puts. As such, the value of Rho is positive for call options and negative for put options.


Common use cases

Hedging

Options contracts are widely used as hedging instruments. A very basic example of a hedging strategy is for traders to buy put options on stocks they already hold. If the overall value is lost in their main holdings due to price declines, exercising the put option can help them mitigate losses.

For example, imagine that Alice bought 100 shares of a stock at $50, hoping for the market price to increase. However, to hedge against the possibility of stock prices falling, she decided to buy put options with a strike price of $48, paying a $2 premium per share. If the market turns bearish and the stock declines to $35, Alice can exercise her contract to mitigate losses, selling each share for $48 instead of $35. But if the market turns bullish, she doesn’t need to exercise the contract and would only lose the premium paid ($2 per share).

In such a scenario, Alice would break even at $52 ($50 + $2 per share), while her losses would be limited to -$400 ($200 paid for the premium and $200 more if she sells each share for $48).

What Are Options Contracts?


Speculative trading

Options are also widely used for speculative trading. For instance, a trader who believes that an asset's price is about to go up can buy a call option. If the price of the asset moves above the strike price, the trader can then exercise the option and buy it at a discount. When an asset's price is above or below the strike price in a way that makes the contract profitable, the option is said to be "in-the-Money." Likewise, a contract is said to be "at-the-Money" if on its breakeven point, or "out-of-the-Money" if in a loss.


Basic strategies

When trading options, traders can employ a wide range of strategies, which are based on four basic positions. As a buyer, one can buy a call option (right to buy) or put option (right to sell). As a writer, one can sell call or put options contracts. As mentioned, writers are obligated to buy or sell the assets if the contract holder decides to exercise it.

The different options trading strategies are based on the various possible combinations of call and put contracts. Protective puts, covered calls, straddle, and strangle are some basic examples of such strategies.

  • Protective put: involves buying a put option contract of an asset that is already owned. This is the hedging strategy used by Alice in the previous example. It is also known as portfolio insurance as it protects the investor from a potential downtrend, while also maintaining their exposure in case the asset’s price increases.

  • Covered call: involves selling a call option of an asset that is already owned. This strategy is used by investors to generate additional income (options premium) from their holdings. If the contract is not exercised, they earn the premium while keeping their assets. However, if the contract is exercised due to an increase in the market price, they are obligated to sell their positions.

  • Straddle: involves buying a call and a put on the same asset with identical strike prices and expiration dates. It allows the trader to profit as long as the asset moves far enough in either direction. Simply put, the trader is betting on market volatility.

  • Strangle: involves buying both a call and a put that are “out-of-the-Money” (i.e., strike price above market price for call options and below for put options). Basically, a strangle is like a straddle, but with lower costs for establishing a position. However, a strangle requires a higher level of volatility to be profitable.


Advantages

  • Suitable for hedging against market risks.

  • More flexibility in speculative trading.

  • Allow for several combinations and trading strategies, with unique risk/reward patterns.

  • Potential to profit from all the bull, bear, and side-way market trends.

  • May be used for reducing costs when entering positions.

  • Allow multiple trades to be performed simultaneously.


Disadvantages

  • Working mechanisms and premium calculation not always easy to understand.

  • Involves high risks, especially for contract writers (sellers)

  • More complex trading strategies when compared to conventional alternatives.

  • Options markets are often plagued with low levels of liquidity, making them less attractive for most traders.

  • The premium value of options contracts is highly volatile and tends to decrease as the expiration date gets closer.


Options vs. futures

Options and futures contracts are both derivative instruments and, as such, present some common use cases. But despite their similarities, there is a major difference in the settlement mechanism between the two.

Unlike options, futures contracts are always executed when the expiration date is reached, meaning that the contract holders are legally obligated to exchange the underlying asset (or respective value in cash). Options, on the other hand, are only exercised at the discretion of the trader who holds the contract. If the contract holder (buyer) exercises the option, the contract writer (seller) is obligated to trade the underlying asset.


Closing thoughts

As the name suggests, options give an investor the choice to buy or sell an asset in the future, regardless of the market price. These type of contracts are very versatile and can be used in various scenarios - not only for speculative trading but also for performing hedging strategies. 

Yet, it is worth noting that trading options, as well as other derivatives, involves many risks. So before making use of this type of contract, traders should have a good understanding of how it works. It is also important to have a good understanding of the different combinations of calls and puts and the potential risks involved in each strategy. Also, traders should also consider employing risk management strategies along with technical and fundamental analyses to limit the potential losses.

Loading