什么是ICO(首次货币发行)

30.01.2019

什么是ICO(首次货币发行)

首次代币发行(ICO)是一种使用加密货币筹集资金的方法,通常在尚未完全开发的区块链平台,产品或服务的项目中最受欢迎。付款方式通常是比特币以太坊,但在某些情况下,也可以使用法定货币

投资者带着对公司前景的期望参加首次代币发行,推动需求从而使基础代币增值。换句话说,作为该加密货币项目的早期支持者,他们希望获得良好的投资回报率(ROI)。


ICO如何运作?

ICO往往会被与IPO(首次公开募股)进行比较,但这种对比具有极大的欺骗性。IPO通常用于成熟企业出售部分所有权股份来筹集资金。相比之下,ICO则主要被用作筹款机制,允许公司为非常早期的项目集资,而购买此代币的投资者并不会同时购买此公司的所有权。

通常,ICO代币会根据ERC-20标准在以太坊的区块链上创建,因此称为ERC-20代币。与以太坊一样,还有其他平台支持数字代币的创建与发行(比如Stellar, NEM, NEO, 和Waves)。对比之下,有些已经拥有功能齐全的区块链的公司会在自己的平台上发行数字资产。

以ERC-20代币为例,公司可以使用以太坊的智能合约来创建并发行自己的数字代币。ERC-20协议定义了公司在以太坊区块链上发行代币前必须遵循的一系列规则,而智能合约确保他们会以无信任的方式遵守这些规则。

初创企业的创始人创建了他们的代币以后需要说服投资者通过参与ICO来支持公司的项目。这通常可以通过开发一本描述公司目标以及新生态系统运作方式的白皮书来完成。创始人也可以给白皮书配上一个网站,提供有关ICO参与者的更多信息以及他们相信此加密货币项目会成功的原因。


为什么公司会进行ICO?

ICO可以成为提高风险投资和项目资金的非常有效的方法。 对于创业公司而言,它允许他们根据一个想法获得可支配的货币,这个想法可能已经或可能没有在市场上进行过测试。 许多这些小型的非成熟公司不太可能以任何其他方式获得资金。 传统的金融机构不太可能仅仅根据白皮书借贷启动资金,特别是在缺乏监管导致这些机构不愿意的加密领域。

虽然新公司和初创公司代表了大部分ICO,但情况正在发生变化。一些成熟的公司现在正在认识到ICO的价值以及加密货币提供的权力分散的力量。其中一些公司正在执行ICO,以在基于区块链的系统上启动新项目,作为筹集资金或分散业务的一种方式。这种做法被称为“反向ICO”。


任何人都可以进行ICO吗?

简单来说是的。在正确的指导下,几乎任何人都可以开发令牌并撰写描述其最终应用的白皮书。但是,这样做的公司或个人需要创建一个可行的基于区块链的企业。这需要的知识,技能和经验不是每个人都有的。他们还需要研究复杂的网络监管问题,这些监管问题因管辖区域而异,并且可能很快因ICO的日益普及而发生变化。

为了成功进行ICO,企业应该是健全的,并且有充分的证据证明该项目或创意将如何运作,价值从何而来,它做什么,需求者是谁,以及它如何被开发。说服投资人接受这个想法并让他们买单是迈向好结果的另一个关键步骤。


对ICO的监管

越来越多的ICO众筹活动引起了全球监管机构的关注,监管是加密货币界的热门话题。在美国,SEC(美国证券交易委员会)和CFTC(商品期货交易委员会)是两个主要的监管机构,他们在不断的讨论有关于ICO和加密货币的监管框架。

对ICO领域的监管仍处于初期阶段,不同国家之间没有统一的标准。一方面,过多的监管可能会阻碍新兴加密货币和区块链技术的增长和发展。另一方面,一些人认为监管可能会为该领域带来更大的合法性,从而缓解了迄今为止一直不愿探索它的传统金融机构的担忧。介于两者中间,许多人认为加密生态系统不应该是一个类似于“狂野西部”的金融空间,而应该足够自由地在传统金融系统的范围之外工作,这种平衡的做法受到称赞。

虽然一些司法管辖区 - 例如中国和韩国 - 宣布所有ICO都是非法的,但美国证券交易委员会发布了有关ICO的详细公告,警告潜在投资者在进行新投资之前进行尽职调查。美国证券交易委员会还表示,一些ICO有定性为证券的可能,如果是的话,(它们)则会受到联邦证券法规的约束。


ICO为什么这么重要?

ICO使用加密货币作为其主要的融资手段,因此它为创新企业和想要以不同方式做事的个人提供了(融资)的新途径。随着新的区块链初创公司筹集越来越多的资本,人们会越来越关注加密货币。尽管如此,ICO这种途径可能有利有弊。虽然ICO诈骗和大项目的失败会对加密货币的声誉产生不利影响,但成功的企业会在公众眼中赋予加密货币更多的真实性。

广泛采用和可靠的ICO代币可以减轻机构和消费者进入加密世界的一些不确定性。虽然这种新的投资方法仍在探索中,但许多人认为这是传统融资手段的可行替代方案,并可能成为未来公司的一种引人注目的方法。

Loading

What Is an ICO (Initial Coin Offering)?

30.01.2019

What Is an ICO (Initial Coin Offering)?

What Is an ICO (Initial Coin Offering)?

An Initial Coin Offering (ICO) is a method of raising funds through the use of cryptocurrencies. Its use is most popular in projects that have not yet fully developed their blockchain platform, product, or service. The payment is usually made with Bitcoin or Ethereum, but in some cases, fiat currency is also accepted.

Investors participate in Initial Coin Offerings with the hope and expectation that the company will be successful, driving demand and causing the underlying tokens to increase in value. In other words, they hope to get a good return on investment (ROI) as early supporters of that particular cryptocurrency project.


How Does an ICO Work?

An ICO is often compared to an IPO (Initial Public Offering). However, this comparison is quite deceptive. IPOs usually apply to established businesses that sell partial ownership shares in their company as a way to raise funds. In contrast, ICOs are mainly used as a fundraising mechanism that allows companies to raise funds for their project in very early stages, and investors who purchase their tokens are not buying any ownership in the company.

Typically, ICO tokens are created on the Ethereum blockchain, following the ERC-20 token standard, and are thus called ERC-20 tokens. Along with Ethereum, there are other platforms that support the creation and issuance of digital tokens (e.g., Stellar, NEM, NEO, and Waves). In contrast, some companies that already have a fully functioning blockchain often choose to issue their digital assets on their own platform.

Taking the ERC-20 tokens as an example, a company may use Ethereum smart contracts to create and issue their own digital token. The ERC-20 protocol defines a set of rules that the company has to follow in order to issue a token on the Ethereum blockchain, and the smart contracts ensure that these rules are followed in a trustless way.

Once the startup founders have their tokens created, they need to convince investors to support their project by participating in their ICO. This is often achieved with the development of a whitepaper describing the company goals and how the new ecosystem is supposed to work. Founders may also pair that whitepaper with a website that provides more information about the people involved in the ICO and why they believe their cryptocurrency project is likely to succeed. 


Why Do Companies Perform ICOs?

An ICO can be a very effective method of raising venture capital and project funding. For startups, it allows them to get spendable currency based on an idea, which may or may not have been tested in the market. It is unlikely that many of these small, non-established companies would be able to get funding any other way. Traditional financial institutions would be unlikely to loan the startup money on the basis of a whitepaper alone, especially in the crypto space where lack of regulation has caused reluctance on the part of these institutions.

While new companies and startups represent the bulk of ICOs, things are changing. Some established companies are now recognizing the value of ICOs and the power of decentralization offered by cryptocurrencies. Some of these companies are performing ICOs to launch new projects on a blockchain-based system as a way to raise capital or to decentralize their business. This practice is called a “reverse ICO.”


Can Anyone Hold an ICO?

The short answer is yes. With the right guidance, almost anyone can develop a token and write a whitepaper that describes its eventual application. But the company or individuals who do so need to create a viable blockchain-based venture. This requires knowledge, skill, and experience that not everyone possesses. They also need to research the complex web of regulatory issues that vary from one jurisdiction to the next and may soon change in response to ICOs’ growing popularity.

To hold a successful ICO, the venture should be sound and backed by solid evidence of how the project or idea will work, why it’s valuable, what it does, who needs it, and how it can be developed. Selling the idea and convincing investors to buy is another critical step towards positive results.


Regulation of ICOs

The growing number of ICO crowdfunding events attracted the attention of regulators all over the world, and regulation is a hot topic in the cryptocurrency community. Within the US, the SEC (US Securities and Exchange Commission) and the CFTC (Commodity Futures Trading Commission) are two regulatory institutions that are continually discussing the regulatory framework for ICOs and cryptocurrencies.

Regulation of the ICO sector is still in the early stages, and there is no uniformity across different countries. On the one hand, too much regulation is likely to hamper the growth and development of the emerging sector of cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology. On the other hand, some argue that regulation will likely bring greater legitimacy to the space, easing the fears of traditional financial institutions who have so far been reluctant to explore it. Somewhere in the middle, a balanced approach is lauded by many who believe the crypto ecosystem is not supposed to be a “wild west” financial space but should be free enough to work outside the confines of the traditional financial system.

While some jurisdictions - such as China and South Korea - have declared all ICOs illegal, the US SEC issued a detailed bulletin on ICOs, warning potential investors to perform due diligence before engaging in new investments. The SEC also said that some ICOs might qualify as securities, and if so, are subject to federal securities regulations.


Why Does it Matter?

ICOs use cryptocurrency as their primary funding instrument and, as such, offer a new avenue for innovative businesses and individuals who want to do things differently. More and more attention is drawn to cryptocurrency as new blockchain startups raise increasingly larger amounts of capital. Nonetheless, the ICO route may present both favorable and unfavorable outcomes. While ICO scams and huge public failures have a detrimental impact on cryptocurrency’s reputation, successful ventures give cryptocurrency more authenticity in the eyes of the public. 

ICO tokens that see widespread adoption and reliability may relieve some of the uncertainty that institutions and consumers have about entering the crypto space. While this new method of investment is still working out its kinks, it is considered by many as a viable alternative to traditional fundraising routes and may become a compelling approach for companies going forward.

Loading