ما هي العملة الورقية؟

03.01.2019

uploads/1T6HrfWsfDoPmACfag4B.png

ما هي العملة الورقية؟

ببساطة، العملة الورقية هي العطاء القانوني الذي يستمد قيمته من الحكومة المصدرة له عوضا عن سلعة ما أو بضاعة. قوة الحكومة هي التي تثبت قيمة العملة الورقية وهي المفتاح في هذا النوع من المال. تستخدم معظم البلدان حول العالم نظام العملة الورقية لشراء السلع والخدمات والاستثمار والادخار حيث قامت العملات الورقية بإستبدال الذهب وغيرها من النظم القائمة على السلع في تأسيس قيمة المناقصة القانونية.


نشأة العملة الورقية

نشأت العملة الورقية منذ قرون في الصين حيث بدأت مقاطعة سيتشوان بإصدار أوراق نقدية خلال القرن الحادي عشر. في البداية كان يمكن استبدالها الحرير أو الذهب أو الفضة. لكن في نهاية المطاف، جاء كوبلاي خان إلى السلطة وأنشأ نظام العملة الورقية خلال القرن الثالث عشر. يدّعي المؤرخون أن هذه الأموال ساهمت في سقوط الإمبراطورية المغولية مع الإنفاق المفرط والتضخم المفرط في جذور تراجعها.

تم استخدام الأموال الورقية أيضًا في أوروبا خلال القرن السابع عشر حيث اعتمدتها إسبانيا والسويد وهولندا. لكن فشل النظام في السويد وتخلت الحكومة عنه في النهاية من أجل معيار الفضة. على مدى القرنين التاليين جربت فرنسا الجديدة (التي كانت في كندا) و المستعمرات الأمريكية ثم الحكومة الفيدرالية في الولايات المتحدة أيضا الأموال الورقية بنتائج مختلطة.

بحلول القرن العشرين، عادت الولايات المتحدة لاستخدام عملة قائمة على السلع على أساس محدود نوعًا ما. وفي عام 1933 أنهت الحكومة ممارسة تبادل الأموال الورقية مقابل الذهب. وبحلول عام 1972 تحت حكم الرئيس نيكسون تخلت الولايات المتحدة عن معيار الذهب تمامًا منهية زواله على نطاق دولي، وتحولت إلى إستخدام نظام العملات الورقية وهذا أدى إلى استخدام العملة الورقية في جميع أنحاء العالم.


العملة الورقية و معيار الذهب

سمح نظام معيار الذهب بتحويل الأموال الورقية إلى الذهب. في الواقع، كانت كل النقود الورقية مدعومة بكمية محدودة من الذهب وكانت تحتفظ بها الحكومة. و بموجب نظام العملة القائمة على السلع لم يكن بوسع الحكومات والبنوك إدخال عملة جديدة إلى الاقتصاد إلا إذا كانت تملك مبلغًا مساوًا لها في قيمة متاجر الذهب. لذلك حد هذا النظام من قدرة الحكومة على إنشاء الأموال وزيادة قيمة عملتها استنادًا فقط إلى العوامل الاقتصادية.

من ناحية أخرى، بموجب نظام العملة الورقية لا يجوز تحويل الأموال إلى أي شيء آخر. باستخدام الأموال الورقية يمكن للسلطات أن تؤثر بشكل مباشر على قيمة عملتها وربطها بالظروف الاقتصادية. تمتلك الحكومات والبنوك المركزية في بلدانها سيطرة أكبر بكثير على أنظمة العملات ويمكنها الاستجابة للأحداث المالية المتنوعة والأزمات باستخدام أدوات مختلفة مثل إنشاء مصارف احتياطية جزئية وتنفيذ التيسير الكمي.

يجادل المدافعون عن معيار الذهب بأن نظام العملات القائمة على السلع أكثر استقرارًا لأنه مدعوم بشيء مادي وقيِّم. بينما يجادل مؤيدو العملة الورقية بأن أسعار الذهب غير مستقرة بالمرة. وفي هذا السياق، يمكن أن تتقلب قيمة أو فائدة كل من العملة القائمة على السلع والأموال الورقية. ولكن مع وجود نظام العملة الورقية تكون الحكومة لديها مرونة أكبر في التصرف عندما تكون هناك حالة طوارئ اقتصادية.


بعض إيجابيات وسلبيات استخدام العملة الورقية

خبراء الاقتصاد وغيرهم من الخبراء الماليين لا يجمعون في دعمهم للعملة الورقية حيث يدافع المدافعون والمعارضون بحماس عن مزايا وعيوب نظام العملة هذا.

  • النقص/الندرة: لا تتأثر النقود الورقية من عامل الندرة أو النقص مثل الذهب حيث أنه محدود.

  • التكلفة: النقود الورقية يمكن إنتاجها بأسعار معقولة أفضل من المال القائم على السلع.

  • الإستجابة: تمنح النقود الورقية الحكومات والمصارف المركزية المرونة اللازمة لمعالجة الأزمات الاقتصادية.

  • التجارة العالمية: تستخدم العملة الورقية في الدول حول العالم مما يجعلها عملة مقبولة في التجارة الدولية.

  • السهولة: على عكس الذهب، لا تعتمد النقود الورقية على الاحتياطيات المادية التي تتطلب التخزين والحماية والمراقبة وغيرها من المطالب المكلفة.

  • ليس لها قيمة جوهرية: لا تحمل العملة الورقية أي قيمة جوهرية، وهذا يسمح للحكومات بإنشاء الأموال من لا شيء الأمر الذي قد يؤدي إلى تضخم شديد وانهيار نظامها الاقتصادي.

  • خطر تاريخي: من الناحية التاريخية، أدى تنفيذ أنظمة العملات الورقية في العادة إلى انهيار مالي. مما يشير إلى أن استخدامها يمثل بعض المخاطر.


العملة الورقية و العملة الرقمية

تمتلك العملة الورقية و العملة الرقمية بعضًا من الأرضية المشتركة حيث لا يدعم أي منهما سلعة مادية، ولكن هذا هو المكان الذي ينتهي فيه التشابه حيث أن الحكومات والبنوك المركزية تسيطر على الأموال الورقية بينما العملات الرقمية لامركزية ويرجع ذلك بحد كبير إلى دفتر رقمي موزَّع يسمى البلوكشين / Blockchain.

من الاختلافات البارزة الأخرى بين نظامي هاتين العملتين هي الطريقة التي يتم بها إنشاء هذه الأشكال من النقود. حيث أن البيتكوين ومعظم العملات الرقمية لديها إمداد محدود ومسيطر عليها. بينما الأموال الورقية يمكن للبنوك أن تخلقها من لا شيء وفقا لحكمها على الاحتياجات الاقتصادية للبلد.

وباعتبارها شكلاً رقميًا من أشكال النقود، فليس لدى العملات الرقمية نظير مادي و أيضا ليس لها حدود مما يجعلها أقل تقييدًا للمعاملات العالمية. علاوة على ذلك، فإن المعاملات لا رجعة فيها (حيث لا يمكن إسترداد الأموال بعد أن يتم إرسالها) كما أن طبيعة العملات الرقمية تجعل تتبعها أكثر صعوبة مقارنةً بنظام العملات الورقية.

من الجدير بالذكر أن سوق العملات الرقمية أصغر حجمًا بكثير وبالتالي فهو أكثر تقلبًا من الأسواق التقليدية. وربما كان هذا أحد الأسباب التي جعلت العملات الرقمية غير مقبولة عالميا حتى الآن. ولكن مع نمو الإقتصاد الرقمي ونضوجه من المرجح أن تقل هذه التقلبات. 


الختام

مستقبل كل من هذه الأشكال من العملات ليس بأي حال من الأحوال مؤكد. بينما لا يزال هناك مجال طويل أمام العملات الرقمية فمن المؤكد أنها ستواجه العديد من التحديات. فإن تاريخ العملة الورقية يظهر مدى تأثر هذا الشكل من المال على مر الزمان. هذا هو السبب الكبير الذي يدفع الكثير من الناس إلى استكشاف إمكانية التنقل إلى نظام العملات الرقمية عند القيام بمعاملاتهم المالية (على الأقل بنسبة ما).

تتمثل إحدى الأفكار الرئيسية وراء إنشاء البيتكوين و العملات الرقمية في استكشاف شكل جديد من المال مبني على شبكة موزعة تعمل بنظام الند للند (أو نظير إلى نظير). لم يتم إنشاء بيتكوين ليحل محل نظام العملات الورقية بالكامل ولكن لتقديم شبكة اقتصادية بديلة لديها بالتأكيد القدرة على إنشاء نظام مالي أفضل لمجتمع أفضل.

Loading

What Is Fiat Currency?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
What Is Fiat Currency?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

What is Fiat Currency?

Simply put, fiat currency is legal tender that derives its value from its issuing government rather than a physical good or commodity. The strength of the government that establishes the value of fiat currency is key in this type of money. Most countries around the world use the fiat currency system to purchase goods and services, invest, and save. Fiat currency replaced the gold standard and other commodity-based systems in establishing the value of legal tender.


The Rise of Fiat Currency

Fiat currency originated centuries ago in China. The Szechuan province began issuing paper money during the 11th century. At first, it could be exchanged for silk, gold, or silver. But eventually, Kublai Khan came into power and established a fiat currency system during the 13th century. Historians claim this money was instrumental in the downfall of the Mongol Empire, with excessive spending and hyperinflation at the root of its decline.

Fiat money was also used in Europe during the 17th century, being adopted by Spain, Sweden, and the Netherlands. The system was a failure in Sweden and the government eventually abandoned it for the silver standard. Over the next two centuries, New France in Canada, the American Colonies, and then the U.S. Federal Government also experimented with fiat money with mixed results.

By the 20th century, the U.S. was back to using commodity-based currency on a somewhat limited basis. In 1933, the government ended the practice of exchanging paper money for gold. By 1972, under President Nixon, the U.S. abandoned the gold standard altogether, finalizing its demise on an international scale, switching to the fiat currency system. This led to the use of fiat currency around the globe.


Fiat Currency vs. The Gold Standard

The gold standard system permitted the conversion of paper bills to gold. In fact, all paper money was backed by a finite amount of gold that was held by the government. Under a commodity-based currency system, governments and banks could only introduce new currency into the economy if they held an equal amount in value of gold stores. This system limited the government’s ability to create money and to increase the value of their currency based solely on economic factors.

On the other hand, under the fiat currency system, money may not be converted to anything else. With fiat money, authorities can directly impact the value of their currency and tie it to economic conditions. Governments and their countries’ central banks have far more control of currency systems. They can respond to varying financial events and crises with different tools, like the creation of fractional reserve banking and the implementation of quantitative easing.

Advocates of the gold standard argue that a commodity-based currency system is more stable because it’s backed by something that is physical and valuable. Fiat currency supporters counter that gold prices have been anything but stable. In this context, the value or worth of both commodity-based currency and fiat money can fluctuate. But with a fiat currency system, the government has more flexibility to act when there’s an economic emergency.


Some Pros and Cons of Using Fiat Currency

Economists and other financial experts are not unanimous in their support of fiat currency. Defenders and opposers passionately argue the pros and cons of this currency system.

  • Scarcity: Fiat money is not impacted and limited by the scarcity of a physical commodity like gold.
  • Cost: Fiat money is more affordable to produce than commodity-based money.
  • Responsiveness: Fiat currency gives governments and their central banks the flexibility to address economic crises.
  • International Trade: Fiat currency is used in nations around the world, making it an acceptable form of currency for international trade.
  • Convenience: Unlike gold, fiat money is not reliant on physical reserves that require storage, protection, monitoring, and other costly demands.
  • No Intrinsic Value: Fiat currency holds no intrinsic value. This allows governments to create money from nothing, which could lead to hyperinflation and collapse their economic system.
  • Historically risky: Historically, the implementation of fiat currency systems has typically led to financial collapses, which indicates that these systems present some risks.

Fiat Currency vs. Cryptocurrency

Fiat currency and cryptocurrency have a bit of common ground in that neither of them is backed by a physical commodity - but that’s where the similarity ends. While fiat money is controlled by governments and central banks, cryptocurrencies are essentially decentralized, largely due to a distributed digital ledger called Blockchain.

Another notable difference between these two currency systems is how each of these forms of money is generated. Bitcoin, like most cryptocurrencies, has a controlled and limited supply. In contrast, banks can create fiat money out of nothing, according to their judgment of a nation’s economic needs.

As a digital form of money, cryptocurrencies have no physical counterpart and are borderless, making them less restrictive for worldwide transactions. Moreover, the transactions are irreversible, and the nature of cryptocurrencies makes tracking considerably more difficult when compared to the fiat system.

Noteworthy, the cryptocurrency market is much smaller and, thus, way more volatile than traditional markets. This is probably one of the reasons cryptocurrencies are not yet universally accepted, but as the crypto economy grows and matures, volatility will likely decrease.


Closing thoughts

The future of both these forms of currency is in no way certain. While cryptocurrencies still have a long way to go and will certainly face many more challenges, the history of fiat currency demonstrates the vulnerability of this form of money. That’s a big reason many people are exploring the possibilities of moving towards a cryptocurrency system for their financial transactions - at least in some percentage.

One of the main ideas behind the creation of Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies is to explore a new form of money that is built on a distributed peer-to-peer network. Chances are Bitcoin was not created to replace the whole fiat currency system, but to offer an alternative economic network. Still, it certainly has the potential to create a better financial system for a better society.

Loading