ما هو الاحتياطي الجزئي؟

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
ما هو الاحتياطي الجزئي؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

الاحتياطي الجزئي هو نظام مصرفي يسمح للمصارف التجارية بالربح عن طريق إقراض جزء من ودائع عملائها في حين يتم تخزين جزء صغير فقط من هذه الودائع كنقد حقيقي ومتاح للسحب في أي وقت من قبل العملاء. بالتوضيح من الناحية العملية، فإن هذا النظام المصرفي يخلق الأموال من لا شيء باستخدام نسبة من الودائع الخاصة بعملائه.

بمعنى آخر، يجب على هذه البنوك أن تحتفظ على الأقل بنسبة مئوية (جزء) من الأموال المودعة في حساباتها المالية من قبل عملائها مما يعني أنها تستطيع إقراض بقية الأموال. عندما يقدم البنك قرضًا يقوم كل من البنك والشخص الذي يقترض المال بحساب الأموال كأصول مما يضاعف المبلغ الأصلي من الناحية الاقتصادية. ثم يتم إعادة استخدام هذه الأموال وإعادة استثمارها وإعادة إقراضها عدة مرات الأمر الذي يؤدي بدوره إلى التأثير المضاعف وهذه هي الطريقة التي تخلق بها أنظمة البنوك الاحتياطية الجزئية أموالاً جديدة.

الإقراض والديون هما جزء لا يتجزأ من النظام المصرفي الاحتياطي الجزئي وغالبا ما يتطلب البنك المركزي لوضع العملة الجديدة في التداول وبالتالي فإن البنوك التجارية تكون قادرة على توفير عمليات السحب في أي وقت للعملاء. كما تؤدي معظم البنوك المركزية دور الوكالات التنظيمية التي تحدد الحد الأدنى من متطلبات الاحتياطي من بين أمور عديدة أخرى. مثل هذا النظام المصرفي هو ما تستخدمه معظم المؤسسات المالية في البلاد حيث إنه منتشر في الولايات المتحدة وفي العديد من بلدان التجارة الحرة الأخرى.


إنشاء أنظمة البنوك الاحتياطية الجزئية

تم إنشاء النظام المصرفي الاحتياطي الجزئي حوالي عام 1668 عندما تم تأسيس البنك السويدي كأول بنك مركزي في العالم و لكن كانت هناك إستخدامات بدائية بالفعل للنظام الاحتياطي الجزئي قبل ذلك. فكرة أن الودائع النقدية يمكن أن تنمو وتوسع والقيام بتحفيز الاقتصاد من خلال القروض سرعان ما أصبحت شعبية. حيث كان من المنطقي استخدام الموارد المتاحة لتشجيع الإنفاق بدلاً من تخزينها في خزنة.

بعد أن اتخذت السويد خطوات لجعل هذه الممارسة أكثر رسمية ترسخ هيكل الاحتياطي الجزئي وانتشر بسرعة حيث تم إنشاء مصرفين مركزيين في الولايات المتحدة أولهما في عام 1791 والتالي في عام 1816 لكن لم يبقيا لوقت طويل. في عام 1913، أنشأ قانون الاحتياطي الفيدرالي البنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي في الولايات المتحدة والذي أصبح الآن البنك المركزي الأمريكي. وكانت الأهداف المحددة لهذه المؤسسة المالية هي تحقيق الاستقرار وتحقيق الحد الأقصى والإشراف على الاقتصاد فيما يتعلق بالتسعير والتوظيف وأسعار الفائدة.


كيف تعمل؟

عندما يقوم العميل بإيداع الأموال في حسابه البنكي فإن تلك الأموال لم تعد ملكًا للمودع على الأقل ليس بشكل مباشر. حيث أنها تصبح ملكا للبنك، وفي المقابل يقدمون لعملائهم حساب إيداع يمكنهم الاستفادة منه و هذا يعني أنه يجب على عملاء البنك الحصول على مبلغ الإيداع كاملاً في أي وقت عند الطلب مع القواعد والإجراءات المصرفية المتبعة. ومع ذلك، عندما يستحوذ البنك على الأموال المودعة فإنه لا يحتفظ بكامل المبلغ. بدلا من ذلك يتم حجز نسبة صغيرة من الودائع (احتياطي جزئي). عادة ما يتراوح مبلغ الاحتياطي من 3٪ إلى 10٪ ويتم استخدام باقي الأموال لإصدار القروض للعملاء الآخرين.

فكر في كيفية إنشاء هذه القروض لأموال جديدة باستخدام هذا المثال المبسط:

  1. يقوم العميل A بإيداع 50,000 دولار في بنك 1. يقوم بنك بإقراض 45,000 دولار للعميل B.
  2. يقوم العميل B بإيداع 45,000 دولار في بنك 2. يقوم بنك بإقراض 40,500 دولار للعميل C.
  3. يقوم العميل C بإيداع 40,500 دولار في بنك 3. يقوم بنك بإقراض 36,450 دولار للعميل D.
  4. يقوم العميل D بإيداع 36,450 دولار في بنك 4. يقوم بنك بإقراض 32,805 دولار للعميل E.
  5. يقوم العميل E بإيداع 32,805 دولار في بنك 5. يقوم بنك بإقراض 29,525 دولار للعميل F.

مع وجود احتياطي جزئي بنسبة 10٪، نمى الرصيد الأصلي البالغ 50,000 دولار إلى إجمالي 234,280 دولار وهو مجموع جميع ودائع العملاء. في حين أن هذا مثال مبسط للغاية عن الطريقة التي يولد بها بنك الاحتياطي الجزئي المال عن طريق التأثير المضاعف إلا إنه يوضح الفكرة الأساسية التي يعمل بها.

لاحظ أن العملية تستند إلى مبدأ الدين. حيث تمثل حسابات الإيداع الأموال التي تدين بها البنوك لعملائها والقروض التي تحقق فوائدها والتي تحقق أكبر قدر من المال للبنوك هي تمثل أصول أحد البنوك. ببساطة، تجني البنوك الأموال عن طريق توليد المزيد من أصول حسابات القروض أكثر من ديون حساب الودائع.


ماذا عن الذعر المصرفي (التهافت على سحب الأموال من البنك)؟

ماذا لو قرر كل من لديه ودائع في بنك معين الظهور وسحب كل أموالهم في وقت واحد؟ يعرف هذا بإسم الذعر المصرفي، وبما أن البنك لا يحتفظ سوى بجزء صغير من ودائع عملائه، فمن المرجح أن يتسبب ذلك في فشل البنك بسبب عدم القدرة على الوفاء بالتزاماته المالية.

لكي يعمل النظام الاحتياطي الجزئي من المحتم ألا ينزل المودعون على البنوك لسحب أو الوصول إلى جميع مبالغ ودائعهم في وقت واحد. على الرغم من حدوث ذعر مصرفي في الماضي، إلا أنه عادةً ما لا يتصرف العملاء على هذا النحو. عادة، يحاول العملاء فقط سحب جميع أموالهم إذا كانوا يعتقدون أن البنك في مشكلة خطيرة.

في الولايات المتحدة، يمثل الكساد الكبير مثالاً سيئًا للدمار الذي يمكن أن يسببه القيام بسحب الأموال من البنوك بشكل كبير. واليوم، تعد الاحتياطيات التي تحتفظ بها البنوك إحدى الطرق التي تعمل بها لتقليل فرصة حدوث ذلك مرة أخرى. تحتفظ بعض البنوك بأكثر من الحد الأدنى المطلوب في الاحتياطي لتلبية طلبات العملاء بشكل أفضل وتوفير إمكانية الوصول إلى أموال حسابات الإيداع الخاصة بهم في أي وقت. 


مميزات و عيوب نظام الاحتياطي الجزئي 

في حين تتمتع البنوك بمعظم مزايا هذا النظام المربح للغاية، فإن القليل من هذا يتدفق إلى عملاء البنوك عندما يكتسبون فائدة على حسابات الإيداع الخاصة بهم. الحكومة هي أيضا جزء من الخطة، وكثيرا ما تدافع عن أن النظام المصرفي الاحتياطي الجزئي يشجع الإنفاق ويوفر الاستقرار الاقتصادي والنمو.

من ناحية أخرى، يعتقد العديد من الاقتصاديين أن مخطط الاحتياطي الجزئي غير مستدام ومحفوف بالمخاطر خاصة إذا اعتبرنا أن النظام النقدي الحالي الذي تنفذه معظم البلدان يقوم في الواقع على الائتمان / الدين وليس على الأموال الحقيقية.

النظام الاقتصادي لدينا يعتمد على فرضية أن الناس يثقون في كل من البنوك والعملات الورقية التي وضعتها الحكومات كعملة قانونية.


نظام الاحتياطي الجزئي و العملات الرقمية

على عكس نظام العملات الورقية التقليدية، تم إنشاء البيتكوين كعملة رقمية لامركزية مما أدى إلى إنشاء إطار اقتصادي بديل يعمل بطريقة مختلفة تمامًا عن الأنظمة التقليدية.

مثل معظم العملات الرقمية، يتم المحافظة على البيتكوين من خلال شبكة موزعة من العقد. حيث تكون جميع البيانات محمية ببروتوكولات مشفرة ويتم تسجيلها في دفتر الأستاذ العام الموزع المعروف بإسم البلوكشين. وهذا يعني أنه لا توجد حاجة إلى بنك مركزي وليس هناك سلطة مسؤولة عنه.

أيضا إصدار البيتكوين محدود بحيث لن يتم إنشاء المزيد من العملات بعد الوصول إلى الحد الأقصى من العرض المكون من 21 مليون عملة. لذلك، فإن السياق مختلف تمامًا ولا يوجد شيء كاحتياطي جزئي في عالم البيتكوين و العملات الرقمية.

Loading

What Is Fractional Reserve?

Share
What Is Fractional Reserve?

Fractional reserve is a banking system that allows commercial banks to profit by loaning part of their customers’ deposits, while just a small fraction of these deposits are stored as real cash and available for withdrawal. Practically speaking, this banking system creates money out of nothing using a percentage of their customers’ bank deposits. 

In other words, these banks are required to hold a minimum percentage (a fraction) of the money that is deposited in their financial accounts, meaning that they can loan out the rest of the money. When a bank makes a loan, both the bank and the person who borrows the money count the funds as assets, doubling the original amount in an economic sense. This currency is then re-used, re-invested and re-loaned multiple times, which in turn leads to the multiplier effect, and this is how fractional reserve banking “creates new money”.

Lending and debt are integral to the fractional reserve banking system and often requires a central bank to put new currency into circulation, so commercial banks are able to provide withdrawals. Most central banks also perform as regulatory agencies that determine, among other things, the minimum reserve requirement.  Such a banking system is what most countries’ financial institutions use. It’s prevalent in the United States and in numerous other free-trade countries.


The Creation of Fractional Reserve Banking Systems

The fractional reserve banking system was created around 1668 when the Swedish (Sveriges) Riksbank was established as the first central bank in the world - but other primitive forms of fractional reserve banking had already been in use. The idea that money deposits could grow and expand, stimulating the economy through loans, quickly became a popular one. It made sense to use the available resources to encourage spending, rather than hoard them in a vault.

After Sweden took steps to make the practice more official, the fractional reserve structure took hold and spread fast. Two central banks were established in the U.S., first in 1791 and next in 1816, but neither lasted. In 1913, the Federal Reserve Act created the U.S. Federal Reserve Bank, which is now the U.S. central bank. The named objectives of this financial institution are to stabilize, maximize and oversee the economy in regards to pricing, employment, and interest rates.

By this means (fractional reserve banking) government may secretly and unobserved, confiscate the wealth of the people, and not one man in a million will detect the theft.

– John Maynard Keynes, The Economic Consequences of the Peace (1920)

How does it work?

When a customer deposits money in their bank account, that money is no longer the depositor's property, at least not directly. The bank now owns it, and in return, they give their customer a deposit account that they can draw on. This means their bank customer should have access to their full deposit amount upon demand, with established bank rules and procedures.
However, when the bank takes possession of the deposited money, it doesn't hold on to the full amount. Instead, a small percentage of the deposit is reserved (a fractional reserve). This reserve amount typically ranges from 3% to 10% and the rest of the money is used to issue loans to other customers.


Consider how these loans create new money with this simplified example:

  1. Customer A deposits $50,000 in Bank 1. Bank 1 loans Customer B $45,000
  2. Customer B deposits $45,000 in Bank 2. Bank 2 loans Customer C $40,500
  3. Customer C deposits $40,500 in Bank 3. Bank 3 loans Customer D $36,450
  4. Customer D deposits $36,450 in Bank 4. Bank 4 loans Customer E $32,805
  5. Customer E deposits $32,805 in Bank 5. Bank 5 loans Customer F $29,525

With a fractional reserve requirement of 10%, that original $50,000 deposit has grown to $234,280 in total available currency, which is the sum of all customers’ deposits plus $29,525. While this is a very simplified example of the way fractional reserve banking generates money via the multiplier effect, it demonstrates the basic idea. 

Note that the process is based on the principal of debt. Deposit accounts represent money that banks owe their customers (liability) and interest-earning loans make the most money for banks and they are a bank’s asset. Simply put, banks make money by generating more loan account assets than deposit account liabilities.


What About Bank Runs?

What if everyone who hold deposits in a certain bank decides to show up and withdraw all their money? This is known as a bank run and since the bank is only required to hold up a small fraction of their customers’ deposits, it would likely cause the bank to fail due to an inability to meet their financial obligations. 

For the fractional reserve banking system to work, it's imperative that depositors don't descend on the banks to withdraw or access all their deposit amounts simultaneously. Though bank runs have occurred in the past, it's typically not how customers behave. Normally, customers only attempt to remove all their money if they believe the bank is in serious trouble.

In the U.S., the Great Depression is one notorious example of the devastation a massive withdrawal can cause. Today, the reserves held by banks is one of the ways they work to minimize the chance of this happening again. Some banks hold more than the mandated minimum in reserve to better meet their customer demands and provide access to their deposit account funds.


Advantages and Disadvantages of Fractional Reserve Banking

While banks enjoy most of the advantages of this highly lucrative system, a tiny bit of this trickles down to bank customers when they earn interest on their deposit accounts. Governmental are also part of the scheme and often defend that fractional reserve banking systems encourage spending and provide economic stability and growth.

On the other hand, many economists believe that the fractional reserve scheme is unsustainable and quite risky - especially if we consider that the current monetary system, implemented by most countries, is actually based on credit/debt and not on real money. The economic system we have relies on the premise that people trust both the banks and the fiat currency, established as legal tender by the governments.


Fractional Reserve Banking and Cryptocurrency

In contrast with the traditional fiat currency system, Bitcoin was created as a decentralized digital currency, giving birth to an alternative economic framework that works in an entirely different way.

Just like most cryptocurrencies, Bitcoin is maintained by a distributed network of nodes. All data is protected by cryptographic proofs and recorded on a public distributed ledger called blockchain. This means that there is no need for a central bank and there is no authority in charge. 

Also, the issuance of Bitcoin is finite so that no more coins will be generated after the max supply of 21 million units is reached. Therefore, the context is totally different and there is no such a thing as fractional reserve in the world of Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies.

Loading