ما هو التضخم المُفرِط؟

مشاركة
ما هو التضخم المُفرِط؟

تشهد جميع الاقتصادات مستوىً من التضخم يحدث عندما يزداد متوسط سعر السلع حيث تنخفض القوة الشرائية لتلك العملة. في الطبيعي تعمل الحكومات والمؤسسات المالية معًا لضمان حدوث التضخم بمعدل سلس وتدريجي. ومع ذلك، كانت هناك العديد من الأمثلة في التاريخ التي تسارعت فيها معدلات التضخم عند درجة غير مسبوقة لدرجة أنها تسببت في تقلص القيمة الحقيقية لعملة تلك البلد بنسب مقلقة جدا. هذا المعدل المتسارع للتضخم هو ما نسميه التضخم المُفرِط أو التضخم الجامح.

في كتاب "The Monetary Dynamics of Hyperinflation" ذكر الاقتصادي Philip Cagan أن فترات التضخم المُفرِط تبدأ عندما يزداد سعر السلع والخدمات بأكثر من 50٪ في غضون شهر واحد. على سبيل المثال،  إذا ارتفع سعر كيس الأرز من 10 دولارات إلى 15 دولارًا في أقل من 30 يومًا ومن 15 إلى 22.50 دولارًا بنهاية الشهر التالي فسوف نشهد تضخمًا مفرطا.  وإذا استمر في هذا الاتجاه قد يرتفع سعر كيس الأرز إلى 114 دولارًا في ستة أشهر  وأكثر من 1000 دولار في عام واحد.

نادرا ما يبقى معدل التضخم المفرط راكدا عند 50٪. في معظم الحالات تتسارع هذه المعدلات بسرعة بحيث يمكن أن يزداد سعر السلع والخدمات المختلفة بشكل كبير خلال يوم واحد أو حتى ساعات. ونتيجة لارتفاع الأسعار  تنخفض ثقة المستهلك وتقل قيمة عملة البلد. في نهاية المطاف،  يؤدي التضخم المفرط إلى تأثير مضاعف يؤدي إلى إغلاق الشركات وزيادة معدلات البطالة وانخفاض الإيرادات الضريبية. أشهر أحداث التضخم المُفرِط حدثت  في ألمانيا وفنزويلا وزيمبابوي، ولكن العديد من الدول الأخرى شهدت أزمة مماثلة،  بما في ذلك المجر ويوغوسلافيا واليونان وغيرها الكثير.


التضخم المُفرِط في ألمانيا

واحدة من أشهر الأمثلة على التضخم المُفرِط حدثت في جمهورية فايمار الألمانية بعد الحرب العالمية الأولى. حيث كانت ألمانيا قد اقترضت مبالغ ضخمة من الأموال لتمويل المجهود الحربي معتبرة بإيمانًا تامًا بأنها ستفوز بالحرب وستستخدم تعويضات من الحلفاء لسداد هذه الديون. لكن لم يقتصر الأمر على عدم فوز ألمانيا في الحرب  بل كان عليها أن تدفع مليارات الدولارات من التعويضات.

على الرغم من الجدل الدائر حول أسباب التضخم المُفرِط في ألمانيا، فإن بعض الأسباب الشائعة تشمل تعليق المعيار الذهبي وتعويضات الحرب والإصدار المتهور للأموال الورقية. كان قرار تعليق المعيار الذهبي في بداية الحرب يعني أن كمية النقود المتداولة لا علاقة لها بقيمة الذهب الذي تملكه الدولة. أدت هذه الخطوة المثيرة للجدل إلى انخفاض قيمة العملة الألمانية مما أجبر الحلفاء على المطالبة بتعويضات يتم دفعها بأي عملة أخرى غير العملة الورقية الألمانية. وردت ألمانيا عن طريق طباعة كميات هائلة من أموالها الخاصة لشراء العملات الأجنبية،  مما تسبب في انخفاض قيمة العملة الألمانية أكثر.

في بعض الأوقات خلال هذه الفترة كانت معدلات التضخم تتزايد بمعدل أكثر من 20٪ في اليوم. حيث أصبحت العملة الألمانية عديمة القيمة لدرجة أن بعض المواطنين أحرقوا النقود الورقية لإبقاء منازلهم دافئة  لأنها كانت أرخص من شراء الخشب.


التضخم المُفرِط في فنزويلا

بفضل احتياطياتها النفطية الضخمة، حافظت فنزويلا على اقتصاد صحي خلال القرن العشرين ولكن ثقل النفط في ثمانينيات القرن العشرين الذي أعقبه سوء الإدارة الاقتصادية والفساد في أوائل القرن الحادي والعشرين أدى إلى أزمة اجتماعية واقتصادية وسياسية قوية. بدأت الأزمة في عام 2010 وهي الآن من بين الأسوأ في تاريخ البشرية.

ارتفعت معدلات التضخم في فنزويلا بسرعة حيث ارتفعت من معدل سنوي قدره 69 ٪ في عام 2014 إلى 181 ٪ في عام 2015. بدأت فترة التضخم المفرط في عام 2016  والتي شهدت تضخمًا بنسبة 800٪ بحلول نهاية العام، تلتها 4000٪ في عام 2017 وأكثر من 2,600,000٪ في أوائل عام 2019.

في عام 2018  أعلن الرئيس نيكولاس مادورو أنه سيتم إصدار عملة جديدة ( بوليفار سيادي / sovereign bolivar) من أجل مكافحة التضخم المفرط ليحل محل البوليفار الحالي بمعدل 1/100,000 و بهذه الطريقة أصبح 100 ألف بوليفار قديم يساوي بوليفار سيادي واحد. ومع ذلك، فإن فعالية مثل هذا النهج أمر مشكوك فيه للغاية. قال الخبير الاقتصادي Steve Hanke  أن خفض الأصفار هو "شيء تجميلي" و "لا يعني شيئًا ما لم تغير السياسة الاقتصادية".


التضخم المُفرِط في زيمبابوي

بعد استقلال البلد في عام 1980، كان اقتصاد زيمبابوي مستقرا تماما خلال سنواته الأولى. و لكن، بدأت حكومة الرئيس روبرت موغابي برنامجاً في عام 1991 يدعى برنامج التكيف الهيكلي الاقتصادي (ESAP) الذي يعتبر أحد الأسباب الرئيسية للانهيار الاقتصادي في زيمبابوي. بالإضافة الى برنامج ESAP، أدت إصلاحات الأراضي التي أجرتها السلطات إلى انخفاض حاد في إنتاج الغذاء  مما أدى إلى أزمة مالية واجتماعية كبيرة.

بدأ الدولار الزيمبابوي (ZWN) في تقديم إشارات عدم الاستقرار في أواخر التسعينات، وبدأت حالات التضخم المفرط في أوائل العقد الأول من القرن الحالي. بلغ معدل التضخم السنوي 624٪ في عام 2004 و 1730٪ في عام 2006 و 231,150,888٪ في يوليو 2008. بسبب الافتقار إلى البيانات التي قدمها البنك المركزي في البلاد  كانت المعدلات بعد شهر يوليو تستند إلى التقديرات النظرية.

ووفقا لحسابات الأستاذ Steve H. Hanke’ فإن التضخم المفرط في زيمبابوي بلغ ذروته في نوفمبر 2008 بمعدل سنوي قدره 89.7 sextillion في المائة.  أي ما يعادل 79.6 مليار في الشهر أو 98 في المائة في اليوم.

كانت زيمبابوي أول بلد يعاني من التضخم المفرط في القرن الواحد والعشرين وسجلت ثاني أسوأ أزمة تضخم في التاريخ (بعد اليونان). في عام 2008، تم التخلي رسميا عن ZWN  وتم تبني العملات الأجنبية كعملة قانونية.


استخدام العملات الرقمية

 بما أن البيتكوين وغيرها من العملات الرقمية لا تستند إلى أنظمة مركزية، فإن قيمتها لا يمكن أن تحددها المؤسسات الحكومية أو المالية. تضمن تقنية البلوكشين أن إصدار العملات الرقمية  الجديدة يتبع جدولًا زمنيًا محددًا وأن كل وحدة فريدة ومحصنة من الازدواجية.

هذه هي بعض الأسباب التي جعلت العملات الرقمية  تزداد شعبية  خاصة في البلدان التي تتعامل مع التضخم الجامح  مثل فنزويلا. ويمكن رؤية أحداث مماثلة في زيمبابوي حيث شهدت مدفوعات العملات الرقمية من نوع نظير إلى نظير ارتفاعًا مذهلاً.

في بعض البلاد، تدرس السلطات بجدية الاحتمالات والمخاطر المرتبطة بإدخال عملة رقمية مدعومة من الحكومة  كبديل محتمل لنظام العملة الورقية التقليدية. حيث البنك المركزي السويدي هو من بين الأوائل. تشمل الأمثلة البارزة الأخرى البنوك المركزية في سنغافورة وكندا  والصين والولايات المتحدة.


افكار أخيرة

على الرغم من أن حالات التضخم المفرط قد تبدو قليلة ومتباعدة، إلا أنه من الواضح أن فترة قصيرة نسبيا من الاضطرابات السياسية أو الاجتماعية يمكن أن تؤدي بسرعة إلى انخفاض قيمة العملات الورقية التقليدية.  يمكن أن يكون انخفاض الطلب على التصدير الوحيد لبلد ما سببًا في البداية. بمجرد خفض قيمة العملة ترتفع الأسعار بسرعة كبيرة  مما يؤدي في النهاية إلى خلق حلقة مفرغة. حاولت العديد من الحكومات مواجهة هذه المشكلة عن طريق طبع المزيد من الأموال، لكن هذا التكتيك وحده أثبت أنه عديم الفائدة ولم يعمل إلا على خفض قيمة العملة الإجمالية. من المثير للاهتمام ملاحظة أنه مع انخفاض الثقة بالعملة التقليدية، يميل الإيمان بالعملة الرقمية إلى الارتفاع. هذا قد يكون له تداعيات قوية على مستقبل كيفية النظر إلى المال والتعامل معه على الصعيد العالمي.

Loading

What is Hyperinflation?

Share
What is Hyperinflation?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

All economies experience some level of inflation, which occurs when the average price of goods increases, as the purchasing power of that currency decreases. Usually, governments and financial institutions work together to ensure inflation occurs at a smooth and gradual rate. However, there have been many instances in history where inflation rates have accelerated at such an unprecedented degree that it caused the real value of that country's currency to be diminished in alarming proportions. This accelerated rate of inflation is what we call hyperinflation.

In his book, "The Monetary Dynamics of Hyperinflation," economist Philip Cagan states that hyperinflation periods begin when the price of goods and services increases by more than 50% within one month. For example, if the price of a sack of rice increases from $10 to $15 in less than 30 days, and from $15 to $22.50 by the end of the following month, we would have hyperinflation. And if this trend continues, the price for the sack of rice could rise to $114 in six months, and over $1,000 in one year.

Rarely does the rate of hyperinflation remain stagnant at 50%. In most cases, these rates accelerate so rapidly that the price of various goods and services can increase drastically within one single day or even hours. As a consequence of rising prices, consumer confidence declines and the value of the country's currency decreases. Eventually, hyperinflation causes a ripple effect leading to company closures, increased unemployment rates, and decreased tax revenue. Well-known hyperinflation episodes occurred in Germany, Venezuela, and Zimbabwe, but many other countries experienced similar crisis, including Hungary, Yugoslavia, Greece, and many more.


Hyperinflation in Germany

One of the most famous examples of hyperinflation took place in the Weimar Republic of Germany after the First World War. Germany had borrowed massive amounts of money to fund the war effort, fully believing they would win the war and use reparations from the Allies to repay these debts. Not only did Germany not win the war, but they were required to pay billions of dollars in reparations.

Despite the debate about the causes of Germany’s hyperinflation, some commonly cited causes include the suspension of the gold standard, the war reparations, and the reckless issuance of paper money. The decision to suspend the gold standard at the beginning of the war meant that the amount of money in circulation bore no relation to the value of gold the country owned. This controversial step led to the devaluation of the German currency, which forced the Allies to demand reparations be paid in any currency other than the German paper mark. Germany responded by printing massive amounts of its own money to purchase foreign currency, causing the value of the German mark to depreciate even more.

At some points during this episode, inflation rates were increasing at a pace of more than 20% per day. German currency became so worthless that some citizens burned the paper money to keep their houses warm, as it was cheaper than buying wood.

Hyperinflation in Venezuela

Thanks to its large oil reserves, Venezuela maintained a healthy economy during the 20th century, but the 1980s oil glut followed by economic mismanagement and corruption of early 21st century gave rise to a strong socioeconomic and political crisis. The crisis started in 2010 and is now among the worst in human history.  

Inflation rates in Venezuela increased rapidly, raising from an annual rate of 69% in 2014 to 181% in 2015. The period of hyperinflation started in 2016, marked by 800% inflation by the end of the year, followed by 4,000% in 2017 and over 2,600,000% in early 2019.

In 2018, president Nicolás Maduro announced that a new currency (sovereign bolivar) would be issued in order to fight the hyperinflation, replacing the existing bolivar at a rate of 1/100,000. Thus, 100,000 bolivares became 1 sovereign bolivar. However, the efficacy of such an approach is highly questionable. Economist Steve Hanke stated that cutting zeros is “a cosmetic thing” and “means nothing unless you change economic policy.”


Hyperinflation in Zimbabwe

After the independence of the country in 1980, Zimbabwe’s economy was quite stable during its early years. However, the government of President Robert Mugabe initiated a program in 1991 called ESAP (Economic Structural Adjustment Programme) that is deemed as a major cause of Zimbabwe’s economic collapse. Along with ESAP, land reforms performed by authorities resulted in a drastic drop in food production, leading to a big financial and social crisis.

The Zimbabwe dollar (ZWN) started to present signals of instability in the late 1990s, and hyperinflationary episodes began in the early 2000s. Annual inflation rates reached 624% in 2004, 1,730% in 2006, and 231,150,888% on July 2008. Due to the lack of data provided by the country’s central bank, the rates after July were based on theoretical estimates. 

According to Professor Steve H. Hanke’s calculations, Zimbabwe’s hyperinflation reached a peak in November 2008, at an annual rate of 89.7 sextillion percent, which is equivalent to 79.6 billion percent per month, or 98% per day.

Zimbabwe was the first country to experience hyperinflation in the 21st century and recorded the second worst inflation episode in history (after Hungary). In 2008, the ZWN was officially abandoned, and foreign currencies were adopted as legal tender.


The use of cryptocurrencies

Since Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies are not based on centralized systems, their worth cannot be determined by governmental or financial institutions. Blockchain technology ensures that the issuance of new coins follows a predefined schedule and that each unit is unique and immune to duplication. 

These are some of the reasons why cryptocurrencies are becoming increasingly popular - especially in countries that are dealing with hyperinflation, such as Venezuela. Similar occurrences can be seen in Zimbabwe, where digital currencies peer-to-peer payments have seen a dramatic rise.

In some countries, authorities are seriously studying the possibilities and risks associated with the introduction of a government-backed cryptocurrency, as a potential alternative to the traditional fiat currency system. The central bank of Sweden is among the first. Other notable examples include the central banks of Singapore, Canada, China, and the US. Although many central banks are experimenting with blockchains, these systems won't necessarily create a new paradigm in terms of monetary policy as their cryptocurrencies are unlikely to have a limited or fixed supply like Bitcoin.


Final thoughts

Although instances of hyperinflation might seem few and far between, it’s clear that a relatively short period of political or social unrest can quickly lead to the devaluation of traditional currencies. Lower demand for the sole export of a country can also be a driving cause. Once the currency devalues, prices shoot up very quickly, eventually creating a vicious cycle. Several governments have tried to counter this problem by printing more money, but this tactic alone has proven to be useless and only served to further decrease the overall currency value. It is interesting to note that as trust in traditional currency falls, faith in cryptocurrency tends to rise. This might have powerful implications for the future of how money is viewed and dealt with globally.

Loading