什么是通货膨胀?

分享
Copied to clipboard!

通货膨胀是指经济体系在一段时间内,商品和服务的价格不断上涨。一些原因表示通货膨胀亦表示该货币的购买力下降。以下有几个特定通货膨胀条件。

首先,价格的上涨必须是持续性的,而不仅仅是单一个案。但如果某个产品的价格突然上涨,这并不表示是通货膨胀形成的。我们称这个现象为“相对价格变化”,经常在该商品的供需平衡出现问题之下发生。一旦供应增满足需求价格将会稳定下来。另一方面,在通货膨胀间,价格的上涨是不会稳定下来。

其次,通货膨胀涉及所有商品和服务价格的普遍上涨。 “相对价格变化”的情况是通常指一两种商品的价格突然上涨,而通货膨胀指的是经济体系中几乎所有商品的价格增加。

其三,通货膨胀是一种长期现象。普遍的价格上涨都会持续很长的一段时间。多数发展国家都会对通货膨胀率进行年度衡量和研究,而研表示通货膨胀通常会持续数年而不定。


通货膨胀如何运作?

通货膨胀的原因

经济学家已经确定两个基本形成通货膨胀现象的原因。首要是,该货币流通的迅速增加(供应。例如在15世纪时,当欧洲征服了西半球时,金银锭同时的涌入欧洲,并引发起通货膨胀。

其次,某些特定商品需求兴盛至供不应求的时候,亦可能出现通货膨胀。这会引发该商品的价格上涨,而引起其他经济部分的连锁效应。而导致几乎所有商品和服务的价格普遍上涨的结果。


衡量通货膨胀

衡量通货膨胀的方法有很多。最普遍方法是衡量商品和服务的相对价格。为了进行这样的测量,政府机构可进行例如,家庭调查,以识别该社区或国家内的惯用日常物品。然后追查这些项目的价格,以便作为衡量计算的基础。


通货膨胀与通货紧缩

通货紧缩是指在一段时间内价格普遍的下降情况。虽然通货膨胀会对国家经济构成威胁,但通货紧缩的危险性亦不能忽视。

首先,通货紧缩往往意指经济活动缓慢。而随着价格的下落,导致消费者一直延迟购买,直至价格降低才购买。其次,由于消费者需求下降,通货紧缩的现象会导致企业减少对生产的资金投资。这意味着对借款的需求减少了,导致利率降低。虽然低利率能帮助那些带有贷款或房贷的消费者,但却对那些靠储蓄账户生活或靠赚取利息的人不利。

1929年的股市崩盘 - 经济大萧条就是通货紧缩的一个显著例子。它被现代世界历史上,被视为目前最大和最漫长的经济萧条。经济萎缩导致货币供应减少,并开始出现螺旋式的经济下滑。美国失业率在4年间,从3.2%加速至大约25%,同时降低了市场对商品的需求,导致更多的失业率。

经济学家称这效应称为- 通缩螺旋,因为某负面的经济事件导致另一个又一个连锁反应。通常由某类型的金融危机成为导火线,通过减少对商品和服务的需求量来刺激周期,从而减缓生产。这导致工资和收入降低,从而进一步减少了需求。经济放缓导致价格下跌。一旦通缩螺旋式开始,它所造成的后果很容易导致经济衰退。金融专家认为通缩螺旋是会对一个国家的经济构成了巨大威胁。


委内瑞拉的通货膨胀

委内瑞拉有一个关于通货膨胀而影响的显著子。在过去几年间,这个南美国家的经济在通货膨胀下面临崩溃状态。社会主义政策,加上贪污腐败和油价不断下跌是令到委内瑞拉的通货膨胀问题恶化的主要原因之一。根据专家预测,2018年的通胀率将达到百分之100万。这表示着价格将以惊人的速度继续上涨。


通货膨胀为何如此重要?

通货膨胀这问题是非常重要的,因为它可以对一个国家的经济体系和消费者的个人财务产生极大的正面和负面的影响。


通货膨胀的正面影响

虽然通货膨胀通常是有害的,但它也可以带来一些正面的好处。首先,通货膨胀可以刺激一个国家的经济。随着更多的资金流通,亦产生更多的消费需求,增加市场需求。同时,激烈生产线,减少失业率,从而为经济体注入更多资金。

其次,通货膨胀可以抵御一种称为“节俭悖论”的经济危机。这是由一位20世纪著名经济学家约翰·梅纳德·凯恩斯(John Maynard Keynes)提出的一个现象定义。它指的是当通货紧缩期间价格下跌时,消费者倾向等待价格继续下滑而延后购买商品。如上所述,通货膨胀与通货紧缩之间的方式相对相反 - 它更促使消费者在价格上涨之前迅速地购买商品和服务。


通货膨胀的负面影响

通货膨胀这问题当然地受到经济学家和政府官员的高度关注和担忧,对一般公民来说相对的值得关注的一个问题。因为通货膨胀会伤害国家中最脆弱的人群 - 包括贫穷阶级和年长者,也减少了工人阶级的实际收入。第三,它导致利率上涨。最后,通货膨胀将降低了储蓄存款的价值。那些花费数年时间为教育或退休资金积累储蓄的人群将会看到这笔资金的使用价格大大降低。


加密货币和通货膨胀

当各国政府试图控制通货膨胀同时,许多人认为比特币是对抗通胀肆虐的良好对冲手段。这是因为比特币的是有限制固定的总供应量,总供应量为2100万个币。尽管这提出存在一些争议,但许多人认为固定供应量让比特币成为一种通货紧缩的货币,因此可以抵御通货膨胀。亦出于这个原因,许多委内瑞拉的人们已经开始使用比特币或其他加密货币来应对国家的恶性通货膨胀。

Loading

What Is Inflation?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

By this means the government may secretly and unobserved, confiscate the wealth of the people, and not one man in a million will detect the theft.

– John Maynard Keynes on inflation of monetary supply. The Economic Consequences of the Peace (1920).

Inflation is the increase in the price of goods and services in an economy, over a set period of time. For that reason, inflation is also defined as the reduction of the purchasing power of a given currency. There are several conditions that define price inflation. 

First, the rise in prices has to be sustained and not just a sporadic event. While prices may go up suddenly on an item, this may not necessarily be inflation. These are called “relative-price changes” and often occur due to a problem with the supply and demand of a particular good. Once the supply increases to meet demand, the price will stabilize. On the other hand, during inflation, the rise in prices continues without stabilizing.

Second, inflation involves a general increase in the prices of goods and services. While “relative-price change” usually means just one or two goods have increased in price, inflation refers to an increase in costs of nearly all items in the economy. 

Third, inflation is a long-term phenomenon. The general increase in prices continues for an extended period of time. Most modern nations perform annual measurements of inflation rates, and studies reveal that inflation often stretches over several years.


How does inflation work? 

Causes of inflation

Economists have identified two basic causes of inflation. First, a rapid increase in the amount of actual currency in circulation (supply). For instance, when European conquistadors subjugated the western hemisphere in the 15th century, gold and silver bullion flooded into Europe and caused inflation.

Second, inflation can occur due to a supply shortage in a specific good that is in high demand. This can then spark a rise in the price of that good, which may ripple through the rest of the economy. The result can be a general rise in prices across nearly all goods and services.


Measuring inflation

There are many different approaches to how inflation is measured. The usual method is to measure the prices of the most relevant goods and services. To perform such a measurement, government agencies may conduct, for example, household surveys that identify the commonly purchased items within a community or country. The prices of these items are then tracked over time and used as a base for the calculation.


Inflation vs. deflation

Deflation is when there is a general decline in prices over a set period. Though inflation is often a threat to a nation’s economy, deflation may also be dangerous. 

First, deflation tends to slow down economic activity. As prices fall, consumers develop the habit of delaying purchases until prices are lower. Second, deflation can then cause businesses to reduce investing in improved production due to lower consumer demand. Finally, this translates into less demand for borrowing money, which leads to lower interest rates. While lower interest rates may help consumers who take out a mortgage or loan, it hurts the ones who live off of the interest earned from savings accounts. 

Followed by the Stock Market Crash of 1929, the Great Depression is one notable example of deflation. It is considered the largest and longest economic depression in modern world history. The economic contraction caused the money supply to reduce and started a downward economic spiral. The US unemployment rate raised from 3.2% to roughly 25% in 4 years, decreasing the demands for goods and resulting in even more unemployment. 

Economists term this sequence a deflationary spiral because one negative economic event leads to another. Often some type of financial crisis sparks the cycle by reducing demand for goods and services, which slows down production. This reduces wages and income, which in turn further curtails demand. The slowdown causes prices to drop. Once a deflationary spiral begins, the problems it creates can easily continue the downturn. Financial experts consider deflationary spirals to be a great threat to a nation’s economy. 


Inflation in Venezuela

A clear example of the impact of inflation is found in Venezuela. The South American country has seen its economy crumble under inflation over the last years. Socialist policies, widespread corruption, and falling oil prices are probably some of the major causes of Venezuela’s hyperinflation.


Why inflation matters?

Inflation is an important issue as it can have both positive and negative effects on a nation’s economy and a consumer’s personal finances. 


The positive aspects of inflation

Though inflation is often very harmful, it can have some positive benefits. First, inflation can stimulate a nation’s economy. As more money circulates, there is more money to spend, which creates more demand. This spurs production, reduces unemployment, and puts more money into the economy as a whole.

Second, inflation protects against an economic danger called the “Paradox of Thrift”. This is a term coined by John Maynard Keynes, a famous 20th-century economist. It refers to the tendency of consumers to delay buying goods when prices are falling during deflation. As you can see, inflation works the opposite way of deflation – it prompts consumers to buy goods and services quickly before prices increase more. 


The negative aspects of inflation

Though economists and government officials are rightfully concerned with inflation, it also matters for common citizens for several reasons. It hurts the most vulnerable people in a nation – the poor and the elderly and also decreases the real income of the working class. Third, it causes interest rates to go up. Finally, inflation reduces the value of savings. People who have spent years saving money to provide for education or retirement will see the buying power of that money greatly reduced. 


Cryptocurrencies and inflation

While national governments try to control inflation, Bitcoin is seen by many as a good hedge against the ravages of inflation. This is due to the fact that Bitcoin has a fixed total supply of 21 million coins. Despite some controversies, many believe that this makes Bitcoin a deflationary currency, and therefore, resistant to inflation. For this reason, many Venezuelans have begun using Bitcoin or other cryptocurrencies to cope with the nation’s hyperinflation.

Loading