什么是保证金交易?

分享
什么是保证金交易?

保证金交易是一种使用第三方提供的资金进行资产交易的方式。与常规交易账户相比,保证金账户能够让交易者获得更多的资金,支持他们使用头寸。从本质上讲,保证金交易对交易结果进行了放大,使交易者能够在盈利交易中获得更大的利润。这种扩大交易结果的能力使得保证金交易在低波动性市场尤其是国际外汇市场中尤其受欢迎。保证金交易也被用于股票、现货和加密货币市场。

在传统市场中,保证金交易中借入的资金通常由投资经纪人提供。然而,在加密货币交易中,该部分资金通常由其他交易者提供,他们根据市场供需对保证金收取一定的利息。除此之外,还有一部分加密货币交易所也为其用户提供保证金。


保证金交易如何运作?

当开始进行保证金交易时,交易者需要设置订单总价值的百分比。这种初始化投资被称为保证金,它与杠杆的概念密切相关。换句话说,保证金交易账户用于创建杠杆交易,所谓杠杆是指借入资金与保证金的比例。例如,要以10:1的杠杆比例开立总价值10万美元的交易,交易者需要投入1万美元的资金。

当然,不同的交易平台和市场提供不同的规则和杠杆率。例如,在股票市场中,2:1是典型的比例,而期货合约通常以15:1的比例进行杠杆交易。对于外汇经纪公司而言,保证金交易通常以50:1的比例设置杠杆,某些情况下也会使用100:1和200:1的比例。涉及到加密货币市场时,比例范围通常是从2:1到100:1之间,交易社区通常使用术语‘x’来指杠杆比例(如2x,5x,10x,50x等)。

保证金交易可用于开立多头和空头交易。多头反映了资产价格上涨的市场情绪,而空头则反映了与多头相反的情况。在使用保证金交易开立多头或空头时,交易者的资产将充当借入资金的抵押品。这对交易者来说至关重要,因为大多数交易公司可在市场与交易者选择的头寸相反(高于或低于某个阈值)的情况下,保留强制出售交易者抵押资产的权利。

例如,如果交易者建立了多头杠杆,当价格显著下跌时,他们可能会被调用保证金。当要求交易者将更多资金存入其保证金账户以达到最低保证金交易要求时,就会发生追加保证金的通知。如果交易者没有这样做,他们所持股份将自动清算以弥补损失。通常情况下,当保证金账户中所有资产总价值(也称为清算保证金)低于该特定交易所或经纪商的总保证金要求时,就会发生以上情况。


优缺点分析

保证金交易最明显的优势是由于杠杆交易产生的相对价值较高,可以为投资者带来更大的利润。除此之外,由于交易者可以通过保障金交易,使用相对较少的投资成本开立多种的杠杆交易,从而为投资者带来多元化的投资机会。最后,拥有保证金账户交易者可以无需将大笔资金转移到他们的账户,即可实现快速便捷的建仓。

就以上所有的优势而言,在用户发生亏损的时候,保证金交易也同样像它放大收益那样,给用户带来更为严重的亏损。与常规现货交易不同,保证金交易引入的损失可能超过交易者的初始投资,因此被视为是高风险的交易方式。鉴于交易所涉及的杠杆数量,即使市场价格的小幅下跌也可能会给交易者带来巨大损失。因此,选择使用保证金交易的投资者应采用适当的风险管理策略并利用相关的风险缓解工具(如限价止损单)来降低风险。


加密货币市场的保证金交易

保证金交易本身就比常规交易风险更大,在加密货币方面,风险就更高了。由于加密货币市场本身就存在高波动性,在加密货币交易中使用保证金的交易者就更加需要特别小心。虽然套期保值和风险管理策略可能会派上用场,但保证金交易肯定是不适合初学者的。

能够分析图表,识别趋势以及确定进入和退出点,这些方式并不能消除保证金交易所涉及的风险,但却有助于更好地预测风险和更有效地进行交易。因此,在利用他们进行加密货币交易之前,建议用户首先要对技术分析有敏锐的理解,同时也要在现货交易中获得大量的经验。


保证金融资

对于没有风险承受能力进行保证金交易的投资者,还有另一种方法可以从杠杆交易中获利。一些交易平台和加密货币交易所提供了一种称为保证金融资的功能,用户可以将其资金用于资助其他用户的保证金交易。

通常,该流程遵循特定条款并动态产生利率。如果交易者接受条款并接受要约,则基金的提供者有权以约定的利息偿还贷款。尽管这些机制可能因交易所而异,但由于杠杆头寸可以被强制清算防止过度损失,因此为其他用户提供保证金融资的风险相对较低。保证金资金还需要用户将资金存入交换所钱包中。因此,用户需要重点考虑所涉及的风险,并了解该功能在他们所选择的交易中起到什么作用。


总结思想

当然,对那些希望将交易利润进行杠杆的用户来说,保证金交易是十分实用的工具。如果使用得当,保证金账户提供的杠杆交易将有助于提升盈利能力,并是投资组合多样化。

然而,如上所述,这种交易方式也可能出现爆仓并产生更高的风险。因此,推荐技术娴熟的交易者进行使用。同样具有市场波动性较高的加密货币,在使用保证金交易时就要更为谨慎。

Loading

What is Margin Trading?

Share
What is Margin Trading?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Margin trading is a method of trading assets using funds provided by a third party. When compared to regular trading accounts, margin accounts allow traders to access greater sums of capital, allowing them to leverage their positions. Essentially, margin trading amplifies trading results so that traders are able to realize larger profits on successful trades. This ability to expand trading results makes margin trading especially popular in low-volatility markets, particularly the international Forex market. Still, margin trading is also used in stock, commodity, and cryptocurrency markets.

In traditional markets, the borrowed funds are usually provided by an investment broker. In cryptocurrency trading, however, funds are often provided by other traders, who earn interest based on market demand for margin funds. Although less common, some cryptocurrency exchanges also provide margin funds to their users.


How does margin trading work?

When a margin trade is initiated, the trader will be required to commit a percentage of the total order value. This initial investment is known as the margin, and it is closely related to the concept of leverage. In other words, margin trading accounts are used to create leveraged trading, and the leverage describes the ratio of borrowed funds to the margin. For example, to open a $100,000 trade at a leverage of 10:1, a trader would need to commit $10,000 of their capital.

Naturally, different trading platforms and markets offer a distinct set of rules and leverage rates. In the stock market, for example, 2:1 is a typical ratio, while futures contracts are often traded at a 15:1 leverage. In regards to Forex brokerages, margin trades are frequently leveraged at a 50:1 ratio, but 100:1 and 200:1 are also used in some cases. When it comes to cryptocurrency markets, the ratios are typically ranging from 2:1 to 100:1, and the trading community often uses the ‘x’ terminology (2x, 5x, 10x, 50x, and so forth).

Margin trading can be used to open both long and short positions. A long position reflects an assumption that the price of the asset will go up, while a short position reflects the opposite. While the margin position is open, the trader’s assets act as collateral for the borrowed funds. This is critical for traders to understand, as most brokerages reserve the right to force the sale of these assets in case the market moves against their position (above or below a certain threshold).

For instance, if a trader opens a long leveraged position, they could be margin called when the price drops significantly. A margin call occurs when a trader is required to deposit more funds into their margin account in order to reach the minimum margin trading requirements. If the trader fails to do so, their holdings are automatically liquidated to cover their losses. Typically, this occurs when the total value of all of the equities in a margin account, also known as the liquidation margin, drops below the total margin requirements of that particular exchange or broker.


Advantages and disadvantages

The most obvious advantage of margin trading is the fact that it can result in larger profits due to the greater relative value of the trading positions. Other than that, margin trading can be useful for diversification, as traders can open several positions with relatively small amounts of investment capital. Finally, having a margin account may make it easier for traders to open positions quickly without having to shift large sums of money to their accounts.

For all its upsides, margin trading does have the obvious disadvantage of increasing losses in the same way that it can increase gains. Unlike the regular spot trading, margin trading introduces the possibility of losses that exceed a trader's initial investment and, as such, is considered a high-risk trading method. Depending on the amount of leverage involved in a trade, even a small drop in the market price may cause substantial losses for traders. For this reason, it's important that investors who decide to utilize margin trading employ proper risk management strategies and make use of risk mitigation tools, such as stop-limit orders.


Margin trading in cryptocurrency markets

Trading on margin is inherently riskier than regular trading, but when it comes to cryptocurrencies, the risks are even higher. Owing to the high levels of volatility, typical to these markets, cryptocurrency margin traders should be especially careful. While hedging and risk management strategies may come handy, margin trading is certainly not suitable for beginners. 

Being able to analyze charts, identify trends, and determine entry and exit points won't eliminate the risks involved with margin trading, but it may help to better anticipate risks and trade more effectively. So before leveraging their cryptocurrency trades, users are recommended first to develop a keen understanding of technical analysis and to acquire an extensive spot trading experience.


Margin funding

For investors who do not have the risk tolerance to engage in margin trading themselves, there is another way to profit from the leveraged trading methods. Some trading platforms and cryptocurrency exchanges offer a feature known as margin funding, where users can commit their money to fund the margin trades of other users.

Usually, the process follows specific terms and yields dynamic interest rates. If a trader accepts the terms and takes the offer, the funds' provider is entitled to repayment of the loan with the agreed upon interest. Although the mechanisms may differ from exchange to exchange, the risks of providing margin funds are relatively low, owing to the fact that leveraged positions can be forcibly liquidated to prevent excessive losses. Still, margin funding requires users to keep their funds in the exchange wallet. So, it is important to consider the risks involved and to understand how the feature works on their exchange of choice.


Closing thoughts

Certainly, margin trading is a useful tool for those looking to amplify profits of their successful trades. If used properly, the leveraged trading provided by margin accounts can aid in both profitability and portfolio diversification.

As mentioned, however, this method of trading can also amplify losses and involves much higher risks. So, it should only be used by highly skilled traders. As it relates to cryptocurrency, margin trading should be approached even more carefully due to the high levels of market volatility.


Learn how to get started Margin Trading on Binance in our guide: Binance Margin Trading Guide

Loading