什么是量化宽松(QE)?

分享
Copied to clipboard!
什么是量化宽松(QE)?

关于量化宽松(QE)的概念,业内可能会有很多不同且有争议的定义。但基本上讲,这是一种增加流动性和通货膨胀的市场运作机制(由中央银行执行),其目的是刺激一个国家的经济,鼓励企业和消费者增加借贷和消费行为,拉动内需。


它是如何工作的?

通常,该业务由中央银行通过从政府或商业银行购买证券(如股票、债券和国库资产等)向经济体系注入资金流。

中央银行通过新增信贷行为扩大规模的方式,来增加成员银行的储备基金(按照银行系统所持有的部分准备金)。由于新的信贷行为没有商品或物质价值的任何实体支持,可以说量化宽松(QE)基本上是无中生有的。

因此,量化宽松(QE)的目的是增加货币供应量,使人们更容易获得资金,以此作为刺激经济活动和增长的一种方式。其总体想法是保持低利率,促进企业和消费者的贷款,并提升市场对整体经济的信心。然而,在实践中,量化宽松并不总是有效,而且实际上,对于拥护者和反对者来说,它都是一种非常具有争议的方案。

量化宽松政策是一项相对比较宽松的货币政策。一些学者认为,日本央行(Bank of Japan)在20世纪90年代后期首次使用了该政策(可以说是确实)。这是有争议的,因为许多经济学家都在争论当时日本的货币实践是否真正构成了量化宽松(QE)。从那时起,其他几个国家也开始实施量化宽松政策,以尽量减少经济危机。


什么刺激了量化宽松政策(QE)的使用?

量化宽松政策旨在解决传统银行业未能防范的经济衰退问题。量化宽松的主要目标是增加通胀(以避免通货紧缩)- 利率调整是央行用来控制通胀率的主要工具之一。当借贷和金融活动放缓时,一个国家的中央银行可以通过降低利率,使银行能够有效解决贷款压力。相比之下,当政策过于随意时,即当支出和信贷接近风险水平时,更高的利率可能会成为停止的触发条件。


量化宽松政策有效吗?

2008年金融危机结束后不久,国际货币基金组织(IMF)发布了一份说明,其中QE被视为有效的非常规货币政策。分析包括五大央行:美联储、欧洲中央银行、英格兰中央银行,加拿大中央银行和日本中央银行。

每个机构都采用了独特的策略,大多数都大大提高了市场整体的流动性。报告称,中央银行的干预措施取得了成功,流动性的增加对于避免长期的经济危机和金融体系崩溃起到了至关重要的作用。

但是,量化宽松并不总是有效,而且高度依赖于经济背景和策略。许多使用量化宽松政策(或类似方法)进行实验的经济体没有达到预期的效果。如果管理不当,向经济注入资金和降低利率的行为可能会导致意外情况和不良影响。下面我们列出一些潜在的优点和缺点。


潜在的优势和积极的影响

  • 提供更多的信贷资金:由于通过央行购买资产增加资金,鼓励银行提供更多的贷款。
  • 增加借贷行为:当利率低时,消费者和企业更有可能发生新的借贷行为。
  • 增加支出:由于新的贷款和借贷会产生更多资金,消费者将增加支出。因为在利率较低的情况下,将资金留在手中并不具吸引力。
  • 增加就业:当企业通过贷款获得更多资金并且由于消费者支出增加而获得更多盈利时,他们会被鼓励扩大经营并雇用更多员工。


潜在的缺点和负面影响

许多专家表达了这样一种担忧,即量化宽松政策只是一种针对可以助长经济更大结构性问题的创可贴。一些潜在的缺点包括:

  • 通货膨胀:量化宽松带来的货币供应增加自然会导致通货膨胀。产品竞争将会增加,因为流通的资金更多,但没有增加货物供应。需求增加导致价格上涨。如果管理不当,通货膨胀率会迅速上升,导致恶性通货膨胀。
  • 没有强制贷款:在量化宽松政策中,商业银行打算利用从中央银行获得的资金来提供更多贷款。但是在这个过程中没有任何东西要求他们这样做。例如,当2008年金融危机后最初在美国实施量化宽松政策时,许多银行选择持有新或的资金而不是将其扩散。
  • 出现更多负债:借贷行为的增加可能导致企业和消费者的借贷超出他们承受能力范围,这可能对经济产生负面影响。
  • 对其他投资工具的影响:债券市场经常对不稳定和突发变化做出负面反应,这在量化宽松政策实施后变得非常普遍。


案例

某些使用了量化宽松政策的国家央行包括:

  • 日本央行:2001-2006和2012年(安倍经济学)。
    量化宽松的努力并没有缓解他们的财务问题。日元兑美元汇率疲软,进口成本上升。
  • 美国央行:2008-2014。
    美国央行实施了三轮量化宽松政策,以解决次贷危机和随之而来的经济衰退。经济复苏,但是否由于量化宽松而引起争议。与没有使用量化宽松政策的加拿大相比,没有显示出显著差异。
  • 欧洲央行:2015-2018。
    欧元区遭受了打击和失败,持续通货膨胀、失业率下降,虽然2017年经济复苏强劲,但它仍在应对经济增长乏力和利率上升的问题。


观点总结

作为一种非常规的货币策略,量化宽松政策可能已经帮助一些经济体实现了复苏,但它仍然是一种极具争议的策略,甚至这个结论也值得商榷。虽然如恶性通货膨胀和过度借贷等大多数潜在的风险,尚未对经济体造成任何破坏性的影响,但一些使用量化宽松的国家也经历了货币不稳定以及对其他经济领域和市场的不利影响。使用量化宽松政策造成的长期影响还不够明确,量化宽松对经济体的影响可能会因不同情况,造成完全不同的结果。

Loading

What is Quantitative Easing (QE)?

Share
What is Quantitative Easing (QE)?

Quantitative Easing (QE) may present different and controversial definitions. But basically speaking, it is a market operation (performed by central banks) that increases liquidity and inflation, with the alleged intention of stimulating the economy of a nation, encouraging businesses and consumers to borrow and spend more.


How does it work?

Usually, the operation consists of a central bank injecting money into the economy by purchasing securities (such as stocks, bonds, and treasury assets) from the government or commercial banks.

The central banks add to these member banks’ reserve funds (which are held in compliance with the fractional reserve banking system) through the extension of new credit. Because the new credit is not backed by a commodity or anything of physical value, QE essentially creates money out of nothing.

Therefore, the purpose of QE is to increase the money supply, making it more accessible as a way to stimulate economic activity and growth. The idea is to keep interest rates low, boosting lending for businesses and consumers and promoting confidence in the overall economy. In practice, however, QE doesn’t always work, and it is actually a very controversial approach, with both defenders and detractors.

QE is a relatively new expansive monetary policy. Some scholars believe that its first real-world use was (arguably) in the late 1990s by the Japanese central bank (Bank of Japan). This is arguable because many economists debate whether Japan’s monetary practices at that time truly constituted QE or not. Since then, several other countries have implemented QE practices as an attempt to minimize their economic woes.


What spurred the use of Quantitative Easing?

QE was devised to address problems that arose when conventional modern banking practices failed to prevent a recession. The primary goal of QE is to increase inflation (to avoid deflation) - and interest rate adjustments are one of the main tools that central banks use to keep the inflation rate under control. When borrowing and financial activity slows down, a country’s central bank can lower the rate to make it more affordable for banks to extend loans. In contrast, when things are a bit too free - with spending and credit are approaching risky levels - a higher interest rate may act as somewhat of a stop gate.


Is Quantitative Easing effective?

Shortly after the 2008 financial crisis has ended, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) released a note where QE was discussed as an effective unconventional monetary policy. The analysis included five major central banks: the US Federal Reserve, European Central Bank, Bank of England, Bank of Canada, and the Bank of Japan.  

Each institution deployed a unique strategy, but most of them dramatically increased the overall market liquidity. The report claims that the interventions performed by the central banks have been successful and that increased liquidity was important to avoid a prolonged economic crisis and a financial system meltdown.

However, QE is not always effective, and it is highly dependent on context and strategy. Many economies that experimented using QE (or a similar approach) didn’t have the desired effects. If not managed properly, the act of injecting money into the economy and lowering interest rates may cause unexpected and undesirable outcomes. Below we list some of the potential advantages and disadvantages.


Potential advantages and positive effects

  • More lending: Because of their increase in funds through the central bank’s purchase of assets, the banks should be encouraged to make more loans.
  • Increased borrowing: Consumers and businesses are more likely to take on new debt when interest rates are low.
  • Greater spending: Consumers will increase their spending because of all the new lending and borrowing generating more money. With lower interest rates, leaving money sitting in savings is not that appealing.
  • Job growth: When businesses have access to more capital through loans and are selling more due to increased consumer spending, they are encouraged to expand and hire more employees.


Potential disadvantages and negative effects

Many specialists express the concern that QE is simply a band-aid for larger, structural problems that will eventually tank the economy. Some potential downsides include:

  • Inflation: The increased money supply caused by QE naturally creates inflation. Competition for products will increase because there’s more money circulating, but no increased supply of goods. The higher demand leads to higher prices. If not managed properly, inflation rates can increase fast, leading to hyperinflation.
  • No forced lending: In QE, commercial banks are meant to use the money they receive from the central bank to offer more loans. But there is nothing in the process that requires them to do so. For instance, when QE was initially applied in the US after the 2008 financial crisis, many banks held on to their newfound wealth instead of spreading it around.
  • More debt: The increased borrowing benefit may lead businesses and consumers to borrow more than they can afford, which can have negative consequences for the economy.
  • Impacts other investment instruments: The bond market often responds negatively to instability and abrupt changes, which are quite common after QE policies take place.


Examples

Some countries whose central banks have used Quantitative Easing include:

  • Bank of Japan: 2001-2006 and 2012-present (Abenomics).
    QE efforts have not eased their financial problems. The Japanese Yen got weaker against the US dollar, and the cost of imports increased.
  • United States: 2008-2014.
    The U.S. implemented three rounds of QE to address the housing crisis and ensuing recession. The economy recovered, but whether it was due to QE is debatable. A comparison to Canada, who didn’t use QE banking practices, reveals no remarkable difference.
  • European Central Bank: 2015-2018.
    The Eurozone has had some hits and misses, with stable inflation, decreased unemployment, and a strong 2017 economy, but it’s still coping with uninspiring wage growth and rising interest rates.


Closing thoughts

As an unconventional monetary strategy, QE may have helped some economies with their recoveries, but it is certainly a controversial strategy, and even that conclusion is debatable. Most of the potential risks, like hyperinflation and excessive debt, haven’t come to fruition in any devastating manner yet, but some countries who have used QE experienced currency instability and a detrimental impact on other economic areas and markets. The long-term consequences are not clear enough, and the effects of QE may be entirely different according to the context.

Loading