什么是Ripple?

分享

Ripple的概念

Ripple是一家在分布式账本数据库(XRP ledger)之上建立支付和交易网络(RippleNet)的私人控股企业,其前身为OpenCoin。Ripple公司的主要目标是将银行、支付服务供应商以及数字资产交易所连接起来,以此来实现更迅速、更经济的全球支付。


Ripple发展史

Ripple的首次理想化是由Ryan Fugger完成的,也是由他开发出了Ripple 的第一个原型,即去中心化数字支付系统RipplePay。且该系统在2005投入使用,其宗旨是为全球网络提供安全的支付解决方案。

2012年,Fugger把此项目移交给Jed McCaleb 和 Chris Larsen,并与他们共同创立了美国科技公司OpenCoin。至此,Ripple就开始作为专注于银行及其他金融机构支付解决方案的开源支付协议进行其发展。2013年,OpenCoin更名为Ripple Labs,且又在2015年再次更名为Ripple。


瑞波账本(XRPL)

基于Fugger的工作成果并受到比特币的启发,Ripple于2012年开发出了瑞波共识账本(RCL),并推出了其原生加密货币XRP(瑞波币)。而随后瑞波共识账本也更名为XRP账本。

作为分布式经济系统来运行的XRPL,不仅会存储网络参与者的所有财务信息,还将提供跨多个货币对的交易服务。且Ripple推出的XRPL还将作为一种可实现实时金融交易的开源分布式账本。同时还存在一种共识机制来对交易进行保障和验证。

不同于比特币,XRP账本它并不是基于PoW共识算法,所以它并不依赖于挖矿过程来验证交易。相反,该网络通过使用其自有的共识算法,也就是被称为Ripple共识算法(RPCA)来完成共识的。

XRPL是由不断进行交易记录校验的独立验证节点网络所管理的。任何人都可以设置并运行Ripple验证节点,同时还可以对验证节点进行选择。然而,Ripple建议其客户从已鉴定的受信列表中选取节点来验证其交易。而这些受信任的节点列表被称为唯一节点列表(UNL)。

UNL的节点之间相互交换交易数据,直到他们对当前的账本状况达成一致。也就是说,由绝大多数UNL节点认可的交易才算是有效交易,且当所有的节点将相同交易应用到账本时,则达成共识。

根据Ripple官方网站所介绍的:Ripple是一家私人企业,它开发了开源分布式账本XRPL。开源式账本就意味着,任何人都可以贡献节点,并且即使Ripple公司不复存在,XRPL还将继续运行。

 

RippleNet

与XRPL不同,RippleNet则是建立在XRPL之上的,Ripple公司独家的支付和交易网络。

RippleNet目前为银行和金融机构提供了三款支付解决方案系统,即xRapid、xCurrent和xVia。


xRapid

简单的说,xRapid是一种使用XRP(瑞波币)来搭建全球货币桥梁的按需流动性解决方案。而XRP和xRapid则都需要依赖于可使交易更快完成且费用更低XRP账本。

举个简单例子。来自澳大利亚的Bob想要通过金融机构FIN给印度的Alice汇款100美元。为了执行该交易,金融机构FIN则使用了xRapid解决方案来创建来源国和目的国之间的连接。在这种方式下,FIN机构可以将Bob的100美元转换成XRP(瑞波币),而此举措就为最终付款提供了必要的流动性。最后,在几秒钟内,XRP就可以被转换成印度卢比,且Alice也饿可以从印度的资产交易所中提取到该笔资金。


xCurrent

xCurrent则是一种为RippleNet用户的跨境支付提供即时结算和追踪的解决方案。不同于xRapid,xCurrent解决方案并不是基于XRP账本,且默认情况下也不使用XRP加密货币。xCurrent是在跨账本协议(ILP)上构建的,而其中的ILP是则是由Ripple设计用于连接不同账本或支付网络的协议。

xCurrent的四个基本组件为:

  1. Messenger(信使)—xCurrent信使将为已连接的RippleNet金融机构之间实现信息交互。其中包括风险与合规性、费用、汇率、付款明细,以及资金交付时间等信息。
  2. Validator(验证器)—Validator是以加密的方式确认交易的成功或失败,并跨账本协调资金流动。金融机构可以运行自有的Validator或者依赖于第三方Validator。
  3. ILP Ledger(IPL分类账)—当ILP在现有的银行账本中实现时,就形成了ILP分类账。ILP分类账作为子分类账,将用于追踪交易各方的信贷、借记和流动资金。且ILP分类账使交易各方能以原子级方式结算资金,而这就意味着交易要么及时结算,要么立刻终止。
  4. FX Ticker(外汇行情)—FX Ticker用于定义交易方之间的汇率。它还将追踪每个已设置的ILP分类账。

尽管xCurrent的主要设计目的是为了法定货币交易,但它也可以支持加密货币交易。

 

xVia

xVia是一个基于API标准化的接口,它将允许银行和其他金融服务提供商在同一结构内进行交互,而无需依赖于多支付网络集成。xVia将允许银行与其他合作银行(已连接RippleNet)之间创建支付,并允许银行将发票或其他信息附加到交易中。

 

总结

当比特币被誉为第一加密货币,而以太坊也被公认为智能合约的创造者时,我们可以将Ripple 网络视为专注于全球支付解决方案的货币兑换系统。

RippleNet可以实施在银行现有的基础设施上,以此来补充并改进传统的支付系统。xCurrent将在跨金融机构之间实现高成本效率且实时的支付,xRapid则使用无国界货币XRP来作为按需流动资金池,而最后xVia则促进了RippleNet参与者之间的整合与通信。

Loading

What Is Ripple?

Share
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Formerly known as OpenCoin, Ripple is a privately held company that is building a payment and exchange network (RippleNet) on top of a distributed ledger database (XRP Ledger). The main goal of Ripple is to connect banks, payment providers and digital asset exchanges, enabling faster and cost-efficient global payments. 


History

Ripple was first idealized in 2004 by Ryan Fugger, who developed the first prototype of Ripple as a decentralized digital monetary system (RipplePay). The system went live in 2005 and was meant to provide secure payment solutions within a global network.

In 2012, Fugger handed over the project to Jed McCaleb and Chris Larsen and together they founded the US-based technology company OpenCoin. From that point on, Ripple started to be built as a protocol focused on payment solutions for banks and other financial institutions. In 2013, OpenCoin was rebranded to Ripple Labs, which was later rebranded to Ripple, in 2015.


The XRP Ledger (XRPL)

Based on the work of Fugger and inspired by the creation of Bitcoin, Ripple deployed the Ripple Consensus Ledger (RCL) in 2012 - along with its native cryptocurrency XRP. The RCL was later renamed to XRP Ledger (XRPL).

The XRPL works as a distributed economic system that not only stores all the accounting information of the network participants but also provides exchange services across multiple currency pairs. Ripple presents the XRPL as an open-source distributed ledger that allows for real-time financial transactions. These transactions are secured and verified by the participants of the network through a consensus mechanism. 

Unlike Bitcoin, however, the XRP Ledger is not based on a Proof of Work consensus algorithm and, therefore, does not rely on a process of mining to verify transactions. Instead, the network reaches consensus through the use of its own customized consensus algorithm – formerly known as the Ripple Protocol Consensus Algorithm (RPCA).

The XRPL is managed by a network of independent validating nodes that constantly compare their transaction records. Anyone is able to not only set up and run a Ripple validator node but also to choose which nodes to trust as validators. However, Ripple recommends its clients to use a list of identified, trusted participants to validate their transactions. This list is known as the Unique Node List (UNL).

The UNL nodes exchange transaction data between each other until all of them agree on the current state of the ledger. In other words, transactions that are agreed upon by a supermajority of UNL nodes are considered valid and the consensus is achieved when all these nodes apply the same set of transactions to the ledger.

According to Ripple’s official website, Ripple is a privately held company that founded the development of the XRPL as an open-source distributed ledger. This means that anyone can contribute to the code and that the XRPL is able to continue even if the company ceases to exist.


RippleNet

In contrast to XRPL, the RippleNet is exclusive to the Ripple company and was built on top of the XRPL as a payment and exchange network.

The RippleNet currently offers a 3-product suite that is designed as a payment solution system for banks and other financial institutions. Currently, RippleNet has three major products: xRapid, xCurrent, and xVia.


xRapid

In short, xRapid is an on-demand liquidity solution that uses XRP as a global bridge currency between multiple fiat currencies. Both XRP and xRapid rely on the XRP Ledger, which enables faster confirmation times and much lower fees when compared to conventional methods.

Let’s take a simple example. Bob from Australia wants to send $100 to Alice who is based in India. Bob transfers the money via a financial institution called FIN. In order to perform the transaction, FIN uses the xRapid solution to create a connection with asset exchanges in both the originating and destination country. This way, the company is able to convert Bob’s $100 to XRP, which provides the necessary liquidity for the final payment. In a matter of seconds, the XRP is converted to Indian Rupees and Alice is able to withdraw the money from the asset exchange located in India.


xCurrent

xCurrent is a solution designed to provide instant settlement and tracking of cross-border payments between RippleNet members. Unlike xRapid, the xCurrent solution is not based on the XRP Ledger and does not use the XRP cryptocurrency by default. The xCurrent is built around the Interledger Protocol (ILP), which was designed by Ripple as a protocol for connecting different ledgers or payment networks. 


The four basic components of xCurrent are:

  1. Messenger - The xCurrent messenger provides peer-to-peer communication between connected RippleNet financial institutions. It is used to exchange information regarding risk and compliance, fees, FX rates, payment details and expected time of funds delivery.
  2. Validator - Validator is used to cryptographically confirm the success or failure of a transaction and also to coordinate moving of funds across the Interledger. Financial institutions can run their own validator or can rely on a third-party validator.
  3. ILP Ledger - The Interledger Protocol is implemented into existing banking ledgers, which creates the ILP Ledger. The ILP Ledger functions as a sub-ledger and is used to track credits, debits, and liquidity across transacting parties. Funds are settled atomically, meaning that they are either settled instantly or not at all.
  4. FX Ticker - FX ticker is used to define exchange rates between transacting parties. It tracks the current state of each configured ILP Ledger.

Although xCurrent is primarily designed for fiat currencies, it also supports cryptocurrency transactions.


xVia

xVia is an API-based standardized interface that allows banks and other financial service providers to interact within a single framework - without having to rely on multiple payment network integrations. xVia allow banks to create payments through other banking partners that are connected to RippleNet and also enables them to attach invoices or other information to their transactions.


Closing thoughts

While Bitcoin is known as the first cryptocurrency and Ethereum is recognized for the creation of a platform for smart contracts, we may consider Ripple network as a currency exchange system that focuses on global payment solutions for banks and other financial institutions.

RippleNet may be implemented on top of the existing banking infrastructure as a way to complement and improve the traditional payment system. xCurrent allows for cost-efficient real-time payments across financial institutions, xRapid uses XRP as a bridge borderless currency to provide on-demand liquidity pools, and xVia facilitates the integration and communication of all RippleNet participants.

Stay tuned for more content and don’t forget to check our videos at Binance Academy!

Loading