ما هو جنون التوليب؟

مشاركة
ما هو جنون التوليب؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

يعتبر الكثيرون أن جنون التوليب هو أول قصة مسجلة لفقاعة مالية والتي من المفترض أنها حدثت في القرن السابع عشر. قبل مناقشة ما إذا كان جنون التوليب هو حقا فقاعة مالية أم لا دعنا نتناول أكثر القصص شيوعًا والتي تعتبر فقاعة حقيقية.


فقاعة جنون التوليب

حدثت واقعة جنون التوليب في هولندا خلال العصر الذهبي الهولندي. حيث كان لدى البلد أعلى دخل عالمي للفرد في ذلك الوقت وذلك بفضل تجارته الدولية الواسعة وعمليات التداول المكثفة.

ساعد الازدهار الاقتصادي العديد من الناس على تحقيق الثروة والرخاء. مما أدى بدوره إلى إنشاء سوق خاص يتم فيه بيع  السلع الفاخرة. في هذا السياق، كانت زهرة التوليب واحدة من أكثر الأشياء المرغوبة في هذا الوقت خاصة تلك التي لديها طفرة تجعلها جذابة و أكثر روعة من باقي الزهور النموذجية. كانت هذه الزهور الفريدة تختلف كثيرًا عن الخيارات الأخرى المتاحة لذلك أراد الجميع التباهي بها بسبب ألوانها وأنماطها غير المعتادة.

كان يمكن أن يتجاوز سعر الزهور دخل بعض العمال أو حتى سعر شراء منزل حسب الصنف. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، دفع سوق العقود الآجلة سعرها لأن الزهور لم تكن تنتقل من يد إلى يد في عملية البيع.

في نهاية المطاف ارتفع العرض الكلي من زهور التوليب بسبب تدفق المزارعين الذين قاموا بتسخير أراضيهم لزراعة هذه الأزهار. مما أدى إلى انفجار الفقاعة في عام 1637 خلال أسبوع (بسبب إرتفاع العرض بنسبة أكثر بكثير عن الطلب). يعتقد البعض أن وباء الطاعون الدبلي كان له تأثير أيضًا حيث لم يظهر المشترون في مزاد بيع التوليب قبل انفجار الفقاعة. المؤرخون ليسوا متأكدين مما إذا كان هناك أي حالات إفلاس حدثت بالفعل بسبب جنون التوليب حيث أن السجلات المالية يصعب الحصول عليها في تلك الفترة ولكن الحادث تسبب بالتأكيد في خسائر كبيرة للمستثمرين الذين كانوا يحملون عقود التوليب.


جنون التوليب و البيتكوين

يعتبر الكثيرين واقعة جنون التوليب مثال بارز على انفجار فقاعة مالية. تصف القصص الشعبية حلقة من الطمع والدعاية التي دفعت سعر زهور التوليب إلى ما هو أبعد من المستويات المعقولة. بينما بدأ الأشخاص الأذكياء في الخروج مبكراً، كان المتأخرون يبيعون الذعر بعد أن بدأ السقوط الحر للسعر مما تسبب في خسارة الكثير من المستثمرين ومقدمي الخدمات للكثير من المال.

من الشائع جدا سماع أن البيتكوين و العملات الرقمية الأخرى تتبع نمط مماثل لزهرة التوليب. لكن العالم المالي مختلف كثيرًا ومع عدد لاعبين أكثر بكثير مما كان عليه في القرن السابع عشر لذا فإن ربط جنون التوليب بـ البيتكوين يفشل في حساب هذه البيئة. علاوة على ذلك، فإن أسواق العملات الرقمية و الأسواق المالية التقليدية ختلفة تمامًا في العديد من الجوانب الأخرى.


الاختلافات الرئيسية

واحدة من أكبر الاختلافات بين زهور التوليب و البيتكوين هي القدرة على حفظ القيمة حيث كانت زهور التوليب ذات عمر محدود وكان من المستحيل تقريبًا معرفة التنوع الدقيق أو المظهر الدقيق للزهرة فقط عن طريق النظر إليها. كان يجب على التجار أن يزرعوها ويأملون أن يكون لديهم النوع الدقيق الذي استثمروه ، خاصة إذا دفعوا ثمن أحد الألوان النادرة. بخلاف ذلك، إذا أرادوا نقل زهور التوليب فهم بحاجة إلى وسيلة لشحنها بأمان إلى وجهتهم مع دفع جميع التكاليف المرتبطة بها. كانت زهور التوليب غير مناسبة للمدفوعات لأنه لم يكن من الممكن تقسيمها إلى أجزاء أصغر حيث من المرجح أن تقتل هذه الحركة النباتات .بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن سرقة الزهور بسهولة من الحقول أو من كشك السوق، مما يجعل من الصعب حمايتها.

على العكس، فإن البيتكوين رقمي ويمكن نقله ضمن شبكة تعمل من ند لند (نظير إلى نظير) عالمية. هي عملة رقمية يتم تأمينها بواسطة تقنيات التشفير مما يجعلها مقاومة للغاية لعمليات الاحتيال. لا يمكن نسخ البيتكوين أو اتلافه ويمكن تقسيمه بسهولة إلى وحدات أصغر متعددة. علاوة على ذلك، فالبيتكوين نادرًا نسبيًا مع عرض كلي محدود بحد أقصى 21 مليون عملة. صحيح أن العالم الرقمي للعملات الرقمية يوجد به بعض المخاطر ولكن اتباع المبادئ الأمنية العامة من المرجح أن تبقي أموالك آمنة.


هل كان جنون التوليب فقاعة حقيقية؟

في عام 2006 نشر الخبير الاقتصادي Earl A. Thompson مقالاً بعنوان "التوليب مانيا: حقيقة أم غير حقيقية" حيث ناقش كيف أن جنون التوليب كان في الواقع مرتبطًا بالتحويل الضمني من جانب الحكومة لعقود التوليب المستقبلية في عقود الخيارات وليس حقا بسبب السوق. وفقًا لطومسون لا يمكن اعتبار واقعة جنون التوليب فقاعةً نظرًا لأن الفقاعات تتطلب وجود أسعار متفق عليها بشكل متبادل تتجاوز القيم الأساسية و هذا لم يكن السبب الحقيقي في هذه الواقعة.

في عام 2007 نشرت Anne Goldgar كتابًا بعنوان "التوليب مانيا: المال والشرف والمعرفة في العصر الذهبي الهولندي" حيث قدمت الكثير من الأدلة على أن قصة جنون التوليب الشهيرة مليئة بالأساطير. استناداً إلى أبحاث محفوظات واسعة، تشير حجج Goldgar إلى أن كلا من ارتفاع فقاعة التوليب وانفجارها كانا أصغر بكثير مما يعتقد معظمنا. وذكرت أن التداعيات الاقتصادية كانت ضئيلة للغاية وأن عدد الأشخاص المشاركين في سوق التوليب كان أيضا صغيراً للغاية.


الختام

بغض النظر عما إذا كان جنون التوليب فقاعة مالية أم لا، فمن المؤكد أنه من غير المنطقي مقارنة التوليب بالبيتكوين (أو أي عملة رقمية أخرى). حدثت هذه الواقعة قبل 400 عام تقريبًا، في سياق تاريخي مختلف تمامًا ولا يمكن مقارنة الزهور بعملة رقمية مضمونة بتقنيات التشفير.

Loading

What Is Tulip Mania?

Share
What Is Tulip Mania?

Tulip Mania is considered by many as the first recorded story of a financial bubble, which supposedly occurred in the 1600s. Before discussing if the Tulip Mania was really a financial bubble or not, let’s go through the most common narrative that considers it to be a real bubble.


The Tulip Mania Bubble

The Tulip Mania took place in the Netherlands, during the Dutch Golden Age. The country had the highest global per capita income at that time, thanks to its growing international commerce and extensive trading operations.

The economic boom helped many people achieve wealth and prosperity, which in turn drove the market for luxury goods. In this context, one of the most coveted items were tulips, particularly those that had a mutation to make them even more stunning than the typical flower. These unique flowers were much different from the other options available, so everyone wanted to show them off due to their unusual colors and patterns.

Depending on the variety, the price of flowers could exceed the income of some workers or even the price of a house. In addition, a futures market pushed the pricing up since the flowers didn't have to physically change hands in the process.

Eventually, the supply of tulips got too high due to the influx of farmers dedicating their land to grow the flowers, causing the bubble to burst in 1637, within the course of a week. Some believe that the bubonic plague also had an impact as buyers didn’t show up to a tulip auction right before the free fall. Historians aren't sure whether any bankruptcies actually occurred due to Tulip Mania, as financial records are hard to come by from that period, but the crash certainly caused significant losses to investors that were holding tulip contracts.


Tulip Mania vs Bitcoin

Tulip Mania is considered by many as a prime example of a bursting bubble. The popular narrative describes an episode of greediness and hype that drove the price of tulips far beyond reasonable levels. While savvy people started to get out early, the late ones were panic selling after the free fall started, causing many investors and service providers involved to lose a lot of money.


It is quite common to hear that Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies are following a similar pattern. However, the financial world is much different and with far more players than in the 17th century, so connecting Tulip Mania with Bitcoin fails to account for this environment. Moreover, the cryptocurrency and traditional markets are quite different in many other aspects.


Main differences

One of the biggest differences between tulips and Bitcoins is the potential to act as a store of value. The tulips had a limited lifespan and it was almost impossible to tell the exact variety or appearance the flower would have just by looking at the bulb alone. Merchants would have to plant it and hope that they got the exact type that they invested in, especially if they paid for one of the rare colors. Other than that, if they wanted to transfer tulips, they needed a way to safely ship them to their destination with all of the associated costs. Tulips were also unsuitable for payments because it was not possible to divide them into smaller parts, as that would most likely kill the plants. In addition, flowers could be easily stolen from fields or out of a market stall, making them harder to protect.


In contrast, Bitcoin is digital and can be transferred within a global peer-to-peer network. It is a digital currency that is secured by cryptographic techniques, making it highly resistant to frauds. Bitcoin cannot be copied or destroyed and can be easily divided into multiple smaller units. Furthermore, it is relatively scarce, with a limited supply fixed at a maximum of 21 million units. It is true that the digital world of cryptocurrencies presents some risks, but following general security principles will likely keep your funds safe.


Was Tulip Mania a real bubble?

In 2006, the economist Earl A. Thompson published an article entitled “The tulipmania: Fact or artifact?”, where he discussed how the Tulip Mania was actually related to the implicit conversion, by the government, of tulip future contracts into option contracts - and not really to a market frenzy. According to Thompson, the Tulip Mania episode cannot be considered a bubble because “bubbles require the existence of mutually-agreed-upon prices that exceed fundamental values”, which was not really the case.

In 2007, Anne Goldgar published a book entitled “Tulipmania: Money, Honor, and Knowledge in the Dutch Golden Age”, where she presents lots of evidence that the popular Tulipmania story is actually full of myths. Based on extensive archival research, Goldgar’s arguments indicate that both the rise and the burst of the tulip bubble was much smaller than most of us tend to believe. She states that the economic repercussions were pretty minor and that the number of people involved in the tulip market was quite small.


Closing thoughts

Regardless of whether the Tulip Mania was a financial bubble or not, it is certainly irrational to compare tulips to Bitcoins (or any other cryptocurrency). The event took place almost 400 years ago, in a completely different historical context and flowers cannot really be compared to a digital currency that is secured by cryptographic techniques.

Loading