设备指纹:你是如何被暴露的?

分享
Copied to clipboard!
设备指纹:你是如何被暴露的?

什么是设备指纹?

由社群提交 - 作者:匿名


在计算机科学领域中,指纹生成是指为各类电子数据创建唯一标识符的过程。而当我们需要实施某项技术来识别出单个用户或设备时,我们将它们称为浏览器或设备指纹。

本质上,该过程包括了收集有关智能手机、计算机或其他设备的信息。有时,即使用户隐藏了IP地址或者更换了浏览器,通过指纹识别也是可以识别到该设备的。

多年来,网络分析服务一直在收集设备和浏览器信息,旨在分析合法的网络流量并检测潜在的欺诈行为。如今,出现了更多先进的技术能够收集到设备里面特定的参数。

指纹技术在之前主要应用在计算机领域中。如今,新一代技术可以识别出任何类型的设备信息,并且新不断专注于日益增长的移动端应用程序。


它是如何工作的?

详细说来,设备指纹识别涉及相关数据的收集,然后通过散列函数对数据集进行合并和提交。接下来散列函数的输出(哈希值)可以作为每个设备(或用户)的唯一ID。

收集到的信息通常被存储在数据库中,而非设备端。虽然单一数据点的生成方式是相同的,但多个数据集的组合最终生成的指纹却是唯一的。

设备指纹识别方式可分为被动和主动两种方式。这两种方式的目的都是收集设备的信息。因此,即使数千台运行着相同操作系统的计算机,每台计算机上也都可安装有各类的软件、硬件、浏览器、插件、语言、时钟和常规设置的相应组合。


被动设备指纹识别

顾名思义,通过无感知的方式收集信息,无需请求用户(或远程系统)的同意。该方式会基于每台设备发送的内容来收集数据,因此被动指纹识别倾向于客户端提供较少的特定信息(例如,操作系统)。

例如,有开发者开发了一款被动指纹识别技术,该技术被用于收集网络设备(例如因特网调解调器)上的无线驱动器信息。该程序可以在无需设备操作的前提下,在各种类型的驱动程序中通过被动方式实现交互。简而言之,不同的设备会采用不同的方式来扫描网络中可能存在的连接(接入点)。因此,攻击者也可以使用这些差异来准确识别每个目标设备所使用的驱动程序。


主动指纹识别

另外一种识别方式是主动指纹识别,该方式需要主动请求网络通信,这使得它们在客户端中的运行更容易被检测到。一些网站运行JavaScript代码作为收集用户设备和浏览器信息的方式。所收集的信息包括窗口大小、字体、插件、语言设置、时区,甚至包括其硬件的详细信息。

主动识别技术的一个典型例子是画布指纹识别,它常被用于计算机和移动设备中。通常基于HTML5网页的画布(图形元素)交互脚本。脚本中记录了画布在屏幕上所绘制的隐藏图像,然后记录图像中包含的信息,例如屏幕分辨率、字体和背景颜色。


具体有何用途?

设备指纹识别可以为广告商提供了一种跨浏览器跟踪消费者行为的功能。还能够帮助银行系统识别用户的请求是来自可信设备还是来自存在欺诈行为相关联的系统中。

除此之外,设备指纹识别还可以帮助网站识别多个帐户注册的行为,或帮助搜索引擎识别存在可疑行为的设备。

在检测和防范身份盗用或信用卡欺诈方面,设备指纹识别也能够派上用场。然而,这些技术可能会影响到用户隐私,尤其是在使用被动指纹识别时,在某些数据收集的方式中,用户可能无法检测到个人的数据已经被收集。


存在哪些限制?

在主动指纹识别方面,数据收集依赖于脚本语言(如JavaScript)的可用性。然而当移动设备和用户运行了隐藏程序或插件,可能会影响脚本执行的可用性,使指纹识别难以识别出相应的设备信息。其中包括用于拦截广告和追踪器的浏览器插件。

但是,在某些情况下,某些看重隐私保护的用户反而更容易被识别。例如,当他们使用了某些非主流软件和具有特殊设置的插件时,会使他们更具备特征,容易被发现。

此外,指纹识别的有效性可能会受到客户端大量变化的影响。不断更改设置或使用多个虚拟操作系统的用户可能会在数据收集过程中收到影响,导致识别不准确。

使用不同的浏览器也可能导致指纹识别在收集信息的过程中出现错误,但现在可以使用现代的跨浏览器指纹识别技术来避免这些问题。


总结

现在有很多方式可以实现和使用设备指纹识别技术。收集数据和识别设备来源的有效性会因方式不同而异。

无论是单独使用还是与其他方法结合使用,设备指纹识别都会成为追踪行为和识别用户的有效工具。因此,这种强大的技术可以用于合法或非法活动中,所以了解它们的基本机制会有助于您进一步熟悉该技术。

Loading

Device Fingerprinting: How Exposed Are You?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Device Fingerprinting: How Exposed Are You?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

What is Device Fingerprinting?

Community Submission - Author: Anonymous


In computer science, fingerprinting refers to the process of creating unique identifiers - for all sorts of digital data. But when certain techniques are deployed to identify individual users or machines, we refer to them as browser or device fingerprinting.

Essentially, the process consists of gathering information about a smartphone, computer, or other devices. Sometimes, this can be achieved even when the user's IP address is hidden or when they change from one browser to another.

For many years, web analytics services have been collecting devices and browser information, aiming to measure legitimate web traffic and detect potential frauds. Today, more advanced approaches allow for the collection of specific parameters.

Previous fingerprinting methods focused mainly on computers. But, modern techniques can now identify devices of almost any type, and there is an increasing interest in the growing mobile environment.


How does it work?

Specifically, device fingerprinting involves the collection of data sets, which are then combined and submitted through a hash function. Next, the output (hash value) may serve as a unique ID for each device (or user).

The information gathered is often stored in a database, rather than on the device itself. While a single data point is somewhat generic, the combination of multiple data sets can be unique.

Device fingerprinting may include both passive and active methods. The goal of both approaches is to collect a device's information. So even if thousands of computers are running the same operating system, each will likely present a unique combination of software, hardware, browser, plugins, language, time zone, and general settings.


Passive fingerprinting

As the name suggests, passive methods gather information in a less obvious way, without querying the user (or the remote system). The data is collected based on what is sent out by each device, so passive fingerprinting tends to provide less specific information (e.g., operating system).

For instance, one can develop a passive fingerprinting technique that collects information about a wireless driver on networking devices, such as an Internet modem. The passive interaction could be explored in various types of drivers, without requiring any action from the devices. Simply put, different devices adopt different methods for scanning possible connections (access points). So, these differences can be used by an attacker to accurately identify which driver is being used by each targeted device.


Active fingerprinting

On the other hand, active fingerprinting relies on active network communication, which makes them more detectable on the client-side. Some websites run JavaScript code as a way to gather information about the user's devices and browsers. This may include window size, fonts, plugins, language settings, time zone, and even details about their hardware.

A notable example of an active technique is canvas fingerprinting, which is used on both computer and mobile devices. It often relies on a script that interacts with the canvas (graphics element) of an HTML5 web page. The script instructs the canvas to draw a hidden image on the screen and then records the information represented in the image, such as screen resolution, fonts, and background colors.


What is it used for?

Device fingerprinting methods provide a way for advertisers to track consumer behavior across multiple browsers. They also allow banks to identify if a request is coming from a trusted device or from a system associated that was previously associated with fraudulent activity.

Other than that, device fingerprinting help websites prevent multiple account registrations or a search engine to flag devices demonstrating suspicious behavior.

Device fingerprints may come handy when detecting and preventing identity theft or credit card fraud. However, these techniques threaten user privacy and depending on the implementation, the collection of data can be undetectable - especially with passive fingerprinting.


What are the limitations?

When it comes to active fingerprinting, the data collection relies on the availability of scripting languages, such as JavaScript. Mobile devices and users that run privacy software or plugins will likely present limited scripting availability, making them harder to identify. This includes the use of browser extensions that block trackers and ads.

In some situations, however, privacy-focused users can be easier to identify. For instance, when they use unpopular software and plugins along with particular settings that, ironically, make them even more distinctive.

Also, the effectiveness of fingerprinting may be limited by large variations on the client-side. Users that are constantly changing their settings, or that use multiple virtual operating systems may cause inaccuracies in the process of data collection. 

Using different browsers may as well cause inconsistencies in the process of gathering information, but modern, cross-browser fingerprinting techniques can be used to avoid such limitation.


Closing thoughts

There are several ways of implementing and using the device fingerprinting technique. So, the effectiveness to gather data and identify a single source may vary considerably from one method to another.

Either on its own or when combined with other methods, device fingerprinting can be an effective tool for tracking behavior and identifying users. As such, this powerful technique can be used for both legit and shady activities, so being informed about their basic mechanisms is certainly a good starting point.

Loading