تسجيل بصمات الجهاز: ما مدى تعرضك للخطر؟

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
تسجيل بصمات الجهاز: ما مدى تعرضك للخطر؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

ما معنى تسجيل بصمات الجهاز؟

Community Submission - Author: Anonymous


في علم الكمبيوتر تشير تسجيل البصمة إلى عملية إنشاء معرفات فريدة لكل أنواع البيانات الرقمية. لكن عندما يتم تطبيق بعض التقنيات لتحديد المستخدمين الفرديين أو الآلات فإننا نشير إليها على أنها تسجيل بصمات المتصفح أو الجهاز.

تتكون العملية أساسًا من جمع معلومات حول هاتف ذكي أو كمبيوتر أو أجهزة أخرى. في بعض الأحيان يمكن تحقيق ذلك حتى عندما يكون عنوان الـIP الخاص بالمستخدم مخفيًا أو عندما يغير من متصفح إلى آخر.

تقوم خدمات تحليل الويب بجمع معلومات عن الأجهزة والمتصفح لسنوات عديدة بهدف قياس حركة المرور الشرعية على الإنترنت واكتشاف عمليات الاحتيال المحتملة. تتيح الأساليب الأكثر تقدماً اليوم جمع معايير/معلومات محددة.

ركزت أساليب تسجيل البصمات السابقة بشكل أساسي على أجهزة الكمبيوتر. ولكن يمكن للتقنيات الحديثة الآن التعرف على تقريبًا أي نوع من الأجهزة وهناك اهتمام متزايد ببيئة المحمول المتنامية.


كيف تعمل؟

تنطوي عملية تسجيل بصمات الجهاز على تجميع مجموعة من البيانات والتي يتم دمجها وإرسالها من خلال  دالة هاش (Hash Function). بعد ذلك قد يكون الإخراج (قيمة التجزئة / Hash Value) بمثابة معرّف فريد لكل جهاز (أو مستخدم).

غالبًا ما يتم تخزين المعلومات التي يتم جمعها في قاعدة بيانات بدلاً من تخزينها على الجهاز نفسه. في حين أن جزء من البيانات عام إلى حد ما إلا أن يمكن أن تكون مجموعة البيانات المتعددة فريدة من نوعها.

قد تتضمن عملية تسجيل بصمات الجهاز طرق غير نشطة و طرق نشطة. الهدف من كلا النهجين هو جمع معلومات الجهاز. لذلك حتى لو كانت آلاف أجهزة الكمبيوتر تعمل على نظام التشغيل نفسه فمن المحتمل أن يكون لكل منها مجموعة فريدة من البرامج والأجهزة و المتصفح والإضافات واللغة والمنطقة الزمنية والإعدادات العامة.


تسجيل البصمات الغير نشطة

كما يوحي الاسم، تقوم الطرق الغير نشطة بتجميع المعلومات بطريقة أقل وضوحًا دون الاستعلام عن المستخدم (أو النظام البعيد). يتم جمع البيانات بناءً على ما يتم إرساله من قبل كل جهاز لذلك تميل البصمات غير الفعالة إلى توفير معلومات أقل تحديدًا (مثل نظام التشغيل).

على سبيل المثال يمكن تطوير تقنية تسجيل البصمات غير الفعالة التي تجمع معلومات حول برنامج تشغيل لاسلكي على أجهزة الشبكات مثل مودم (راوتر) الإنترنت. يمكن استكشاف التفاعل الغير فعال في أنواع مختلفة من برامج التشغيل دون الحاجة للقيام بأي إجراء من الأجهزة. ببساطة تعتمد الأجهزة المختلفة طرقًا مختلفة لمسح/فحص الاتصالات المحتملة (نقاط الوصول). لذلك يمكن استخدام هذه الاختلافات من قبل المهاجم لتحديد بدقة برنامج التشغيل الذي يستخدمه كل جهاز مستهدف.


تسجيل البصمات النشطة

على الجانب الأخر تعتمد البصمات النشطة على اتصال الشبكة النشط مما يجعلها أكثر قابلية للاكتشاف من جانب العميل. تقوم بعض مواقع الويب بتشغيل كود JavaScript كوسيلة لجمع معلومات حول أجهزة المستخدم ومتصفحاته. قد يشمل ذلك حجم النافذة والخطوط والإضافات وإعدادات اللغة والمنطقة الزمنية وحتى تفاصيل حول أجهزتهم.

من الأمثلة البارزة على تسجيل البصمات النشطة canvas fingerprinting والذي يستخدم على كل من أجهزة الكمبيوتر والأجهزة المحمولة. غالبًا ما يعتمد على برنامج نصي (Script) يتفاعل مع لوحة الرسم (عنصر الرسومات) لصفحة ويب من نوع HTML5. حيث يرشد البرنامج النصي (الـ Script) اللوحة لرسم صورة مخفية على الشاشة ثم يسجل المعلومات الممثلة في الصورة مثل دقة الشاشة والخطوط وألوان الخلفية.


في ماذا تستخدم؟

توفر طرق تسجيل بصمات الأجهزة للمعلنين تتبع سلوك المستهلك عبر متصفحات (Browsers) متعددة. كما أنها تسمح للبنوك بتحديد ما إذا كان الطلب قادمًا من جهاز موثوق أو من نظام مرتبط مسبقًا بنشاط احتيالي.

بخلاف ذلك تساعد عملية تسجيل بصمات الأجهزة مواقع الويب على منع تسجيلات حسابات متعددة أو محرك بحث على وضع علامة على الأجهزة التي تظهر سلوك مشبوه.

قد تصبح بصمات الجهاز مفيدة عند اكتشاف ومنع سرقة الهوية أو الاحتيال في بطاقة الائتمان. لكن هذه التقنيات تهدد خصوصية المستخدم ووفقًا للتنفيذ حيث يمكن أن يكون جمع البيانات غير قابل للكشف وخاصةً باستخدام طرق تسجيل البصمات الغير نشطة.


ما هي القيود؟

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالبصمات النشطة يعتمد جمع البيانات على توفر لغات البرمجة النصية مثل JavaScript. من المرجح أن توفر الأجهزة المحمولة والمستخدمون الذين يشغلون برامج أو مكوِّنات إضافية توفرًا محدودًا للبرمجة النصية مما يجعل تحديدها أكثر صعوبة. ويشمل ذلك استخدام ملحقات المتصفح التي تمنع برامج التتبع والإعلانات.

ومع ذلك في بعض الحالات يمكن للمستخدمين المهتمين بالخصوصية التعرف عليهم بسهولة. على سبيل المثال عند استخدام البرامج والإضافات الغير معروفة مع إعدادات معينة تجعلها أكثر وضوحا.

أيضًا قد تكون فعالية البصمات محدودة بسبب الاختلافات الكبيرة من جانب العميل. قد يتسبب المستخدمون الذين يغيرون إعداداتهم باستمرار أو يستخدمون العديد من أنظمة التشغيل الإفتراضية في عدم دقة عملية جمع البيانات. 

قد يؤدي استخدام متصفحات مختلفة أيضًا إلى عدم تناسق في عملية جمع المعلومات ولكن يمكن استخدام تقنيات تسجيل البصمات عبر المتصفحات الحديثة لتجنب هذا القيد.


أفكار ختامية

هناك عدة طرق لتنفيذ واستخدام تقنية البصمات للجهاز. لذلك قد تختلف فعالية جمع البيانات وتحديد مصدر واحد اختلافًا كبيرًا من طريقة إلى أخرى.

يمكن أن يكون تسجيل بصمة الجهاز أداة فعالة لتتبع السلوك وتحديد المستخدمين إما من تلقاء نفسها أو عندما تقترن بطرق أخرى. وعلى هذا النحو يمكن استخدام هذه التقنية القوية في أنشطة شرعية و أنشطة غير شرعية وبالتالي فإن التعرف على آلياتها الأساسية يعد بالتأكيد أمرَّا هَامًا.

Loading

Device Fingerprinting: How Exposed Are You?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Device Fingerprinting: How Exposed Are You?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

What is Device Fingerprinting?

Community Submission - Author: Anonymous


In computer science, fingerprinting refers to the process of creating unique identifiers - for all sorts of digital data. But when certain techniques are deployed to identify individual users or machines, we refer to them as browser or device fingerprinting.

Essentially, the process consists of gathering information about a smartphone, computer, or other devices. Sometimes, this can be achieved even when the user's IP address is hidden or when they change from one browser to another.

For many years, web analytics services have been collecting devices and browser information, aiming to measure legitimate web traffic and detect potential frauds. Today, more advanced approaches allow for the collection of specific parameters.

Previous fingerprinting methods focused mainly on computers. But, modern techniques can now identify devices of almost any type, and there is an increasing interest in the growing mobile environment.


How does it work?

Specifically, device fingerprinting involves the collection of data sets, which are then combined and submitted through a hash function. Next, the output (hash value) may serve as a unique ID for each device (or user).

The information gathered is often stored in a database, rather than on the device itself. While a single data point is somewhat generic, the combination of multiple data sets can be unique.

Device fingerprinting may include both passive and active methods. The goal of both approaches is to collect a device's information. So even if thousands of computers are running the same operating system, each will likely present a unique combination of software, hardware, browser, plugins, language, time zone, and general settings.


Passive fingerprinting

As the name suggests, passive methods gather information in a less obvious way, without querying the user (or the remote system). The data is collected based on what is sent out by each device, so passive fingerprinting tends to provide less specific information (e.g., operating system).

For instance, one can develop a passive fingerprinting technique that collects information about a wireless driver on networking devices, such as an Internet modem. The passive interaction could be explored in various types of drivers, without requiring any action from the devices. Simply put, different devices adopt different methods for scanning possible connections (access points). So, these differences can be used by an attacker to accurately identify which driver is being used by each targeted device.


Active fingerprinting

On the other hand, active fingerprinting relies on active network communication, which makes them more detectable on the client-side. Some websites run JavaScript code as a way to gather information about the user's devices and browsers. This may include window size, fonts, plugins, language settings, time zone, and even details about their hardware.

A notable example of an active technique is canvas fingerprinting, which is used on both computer and mobile devices. It often relies on a script that interacts with the canvas (graphics element) of an HTML5 web page. The script instructs the canvas to draw a hidden image on the screen and then records the information represented in the image, such as screen resolution, fonts, and background colors.


What is it used for?

Device fingerprinting methods provide a way for advertisers to track consumer behavior across multiple browsers. They also allow banks to identify if a request is coming from a trusted device or from a system associated that was previously associated with fraudulent activity.

Other than that, device fingerprinting help websites prevent multiple account registrations or a search engine to flag devices demonstrating suspicious behavior.

Device fingerprints may come handy when detecting and preventing identity theft or credit card fraud. However, these techniques threaten user privacy and depending on the implementation, the collection of data can be undetectable - especially with passive fingerprinting.


What are the limitations?

When it comes to active fingerprinting, the data collection relies on the availability of scripting languages, such as JavaScript. Mobile devices and users that run privacy software or plugins will likely present limited scripting availability, making them harder to identify. This includes the use of browser extensions that block trackers and ads.

In some situations, however, privacy-focused users can be easier to identify. For instance, when they use unpopular software and plugins along with particular settings that, ironically, make them even more distinctive.

Also, the effectiveness of fingerprinting may be limited by large variations on the client-side. Users that are constantly changing their settings, or that use multiple virtual operating systems may cause inaccuracies in the process of data collection. 

Using different browsers may as well cause inconsistencies in the process of gathering information, but modern, cross-browser fingerprinting techniques can be used to avoid such limitation.


Closing thoughts

There are several ways of implementing and using the device fingerprinting technique. So, the effectiveness to gather data and identify a single source may vary considerably from one method to another.

Either on its own or when combined with other methods, device fingerprinting can be an effective tool for tracking behavior and identifying users. As such, this powerful technique can be used for both legit and shady activities, so being informed about their basic mechanisms is certainly a good starting point.

Loading