加密学的历史

分享
Copied to clipboard!

加密学是以编写代码和解码去进行保护通信安全的基础技术,亦是速使现代加密货币和区块链成为可能的重要因素之一。然而,今天的加密技术正是这发展下的结果产物。自古以来,人类正就使用加密术的方式来确保传输信息的安全。以下文章将深入了解加密学的迷人历史,以及现代数码加密的先进。


密码学的长久根源

众所周知,原始加密技术早在古代就已存在,大多早期文明似乎在某种程度上使用了加密学。符形替换是最基本的如密学形式,早出现在古埃及和美索不达米亚的写作文献中。这类型的加密学在最早期发现的先例是在于一位名叫Khnumhotep II的埃及贵族的坟墓中,生活在大约3,900年前。

在Knhumhotep墓中符形替换目的不是为了隐藏信息,而是为了增强其信息的吸引力。最早期的加密学是用于保护敏感信息。发生在大约3500年前,当时美索不达米亚的一位抄写员使用加密术来隐藏用于粘土片的陶器釉的配方。

但在之后的古代时期,加密学被广泛用于保护重要的军事信息,这一目的至今仍然存在。在希腊城市斯巴达,加密信息通过写在特定大小的圆柱体上的羊皮纸上,使得信息难以辨认,直到接收者将其包裹在类似的圆柱特体上才能解读。同样地,早在公元前2世纪,古代印度的间谍就已经使用过编码信息通讯方式。

也许古代世界最先进的密码学是由罗马人实现的。在罗马历史是其中一个显著加密学列子,称为凯撒密码,其中涉及将加密信息的字母移动到拉丁字母表中的一定的位置。知道了这个系统和移动字母到一定的地方位置的收件人才可以成功解读信息,不然其他人是难以辨认及解读有关信息。


中世纪和文艺复兴时期的发展

在整个中世纪,加密学变得越来越重要,而凯撒密码在其中所有代码方式中仍然是加密学标准的代表。加密分析,用来破解代码和加密的科学,开始赶上相对原始的加密科学。著名的阿拉伯数学家Al-Kindi,在大约公元800年,研发了一种称为频率分析的技术,使代码更易于解密。在人类历史当中,第一次拥有这样有系统式的解码尝试方法,使得加密学必须要进一步强化推进才能保持其功能性。

在1465年,Leone Alberti开发了多字母解码,这项技术被认为是跟Al-Kindi频率分析技术的解决方案对立抗衡的。在多字母解码技术当中,需要使用到两个不同的字母表对信息进行编码。一个是写入原始信息的字母表,而第二个是完全不同的字母表,而其中的信息会在编码后出现。结合传统的代码,多字母代码大大提高了编码信息的安全性。除非读者知道最初写入信息的字母表,否则频率分析技术在这解读上会完全没有办法。

文艺复兴时期也开发不同的新信息编码方法,其中包括由著名的博学家弗朗西斯·培根于1623年发明的一种流行的早期二进制编码方法。


多个世纪的进步

加密学技术在几个世纪中不断地发展。托马斯杰斐逊,在17世纪末时,描述发表了一个在加密学中一个重大突破,但理论当时并没有实质建立过。他的发表,称为加密轮,由移动轮上的36个字母环组成,可用于实现复杂的编码上。这个概念是如此的先进,以至于它可以在第二次世界大战末期时,作为美国军事编码的基础。

第二次世界大战也看到拟似加密技术的完美例子,称为Enigma机器。像加密轮一样,这种由Axis电源使用的设备使用旋转式加密轮来编写信息,使得在没有其他Enigma机器解读的情况下几乎不可能解读信息。早期的电脑运算技术最终成功用于帮助打破Enigma的密码,成功解读Enigma的机密信息这一举至今仍然被认为是最终盟军获得胜利的关键事项。


电脑时代的加密学

随着电脑的兴起,加密码学变得比以前的时代更加先进。 128数位的加密编码,远比任何古代或中世纪的加密技术强化,现已成为许多敏感设备和电脑系统的标准设定。在1990年初开始,计算机科学家正在全面开发一种全新的加密形式,称为量子加密学,希望能够再次提升现代加密技术,从而提供的更高保护水平。

最近,加密技术也被实用于使加密货币上。加密货币利用了几种先进的加密技术,包括散列函数,公钥加密和数字签名。这些技术主要用于确保存储在区块链上的数据的安全性以及其验证交易事务。一种特殊形式的加密术,称为椭圆曲线数字签名算法(ECDSA),技术支持比特币和其他加密货币系统,作为提供额外安全性并确保资金只能由其合法所有者使用的方法。

在过去的4000年里,加密学已走过漫长的道路,并且不太可能停止的步伐。只要有需要保护的敏感数据,加密学就会继续发展。尽管今天的加密货币在区块链中使用到的加密系统,成为现今科学里最先进的代表者,但它亦追溯延伸到人类历史中重要的一部分。

Loading

History of Cryptography

SHARE

Cryptography, the science of writing codes and ciphers for secure communication, is one of the most important elements that goes into making modern cryptocurrencies and blockchains possible. The cryptographic techniques used today, however, are the result of an incredibly long history of development. Since ancient times, people have used cryptography to transmit information in a secure manner. Following is the fascinating history of cryptography that has led up to the advanced and sophisticated methods used for modern digital encryption.


The Ancient Roots of Cryptography

Primitive cryptographic techniques are known to have existed in ancient times, and most early civilizations appear to have used cryptography to some degree. Symbol replacement, the most basic form of cryptography, appears in both ancient Egyptian and Mesopotamian writings. The earliest known example of this type of cryptography was found in the tomb of an Egyptian noble named Khnumhotep II, who lived approximately 3,900 years ago.

The purpose of symbol replacement in the Knhumhotep inscription was not to conceal information, but to enhance its linguistic appeal. The earliest known example of cryptography being used to protect sensitive information occurred around 3,500 years ago when a Mesopotamian scribe employed cryptography to conceal a formula for pottery glaze, which was used on clay tablets.

By later periods of antiquity, cryptography was widely used to protect important military information, a purpose that it still serves to this day. In the Greek city-state of Sparta, messages were encrypted by being written on parchment laid over a cylinder of a particular size, making the message undecipherable until it was wrapped around a similar cylinder by the recipient. Likewise, spies in ancient India are known to have used coded messages as early as the 2nd century BC.

Perhaps the most advanced cryptography in the ancient world was achieved by the Romans. A prominent example of Roman cryptography, known as the Caesar cipher, involved shifting the letters of an encrypted message by a certain number of places down the Latin alphabet. Knowing this system and the number of places to shift the letters, a recipient could successfully decode the otherwise illegible message.


Developments in the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Throughout the Middle Ages, cryptography became increasingly important, but substitution ciphers, of which the Caesar cipher is one example, remained the standard. Cryptanalysis, the science by which codes and ciphers are cracked, began to catch up to the still relatively primitive science of cryptography. Al-Kindi, a noted Arab mathematician, developed a technique known as frequency analysis around 800 AD that rendered substitution ciphers vulnerable to decryption. For the first time, people attempting to decipher encrypted messages gained access to a systematic method for doing so, making it necessary for cryptography to advance even further in order to remain useful.

In 1465, Leone Alberti developed the polyalphabetic cipher, which is considered the solution against Al-Kindi's frequency analysis technique. In a polyalphabetic cipher, a message is encoded using two distinct alphabets. One is the alphabet in which the original message is written, while the second is an entirely different alphabet in which the message appears after being encoded. Combined with traditional substitution ciphers, polyalphabetic ciphers greatly increased the security of encoded information. Unless a reader knew the alphabet in which the message had originally been written, the frequency analysis technique was of no use. 

New methods of encoding information were also developed in the Renaissance period, including a popular early method of binary encoding invented by the noted polymath Sir Francis Bacon in 1623.


Advances in More Recent Centuries

The science of cryptography continued to advance progressively throughout the centuries. A major breakthrough in cryptography was described, though perhaps never built, by Thomas Jefferson in the 1790s. His invention, known as cipher wheel, consisted of 36 rings of letters on moving wheels that could be used to achieve complex encoding. This concept was so advanced that it would serve as the basis for American military cryptography until as late as the second World War.

World War II would also see the perfect example of analog cryptography, known as the Enigma machine. Like the wheel cipher, this device, employed by the Axis powers, used rotating wheels to encode a message, making it virtually impossible to read without another Enigma. Early computer technology was eventually used to help break the Enigma cipher, and the successful decryption of Enigma messages is still considered to be a critical component of the eventual Allied victory.


Cryptography in the Computer Age

With the rise of computers, cryptography became vastly more advanced than it was in the analog era. 128-bit mathematical encryption, far stronger than any ancient or medieval cipher, is now the standard for many sensitive devices and computer systems. Beginning in 1990, an entirely new form of cryptography, dubbed quantum cryptography, was under development by computer scientists hoping to once again elevate the level of protection offered by modern encryption.

More recently, cryptographic techniques have also been used to make cryptocurrencies possible. Cryptocurrencies leverage several advanced cryptographic techniques, including hash functions, public key cryptography, and digital signatures. These techniques are used primarily to ensure the security of data stored on blockchains and to authenticate transactions. A specialized form of cryptography, known as an Elliptical Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (ECDSA), underpins Bitcoin and other cryptocurrency systems as a means of providing extra security and ensuring that funds can only be used by their rightful owners.

Cryptography has come a long way in the last 4,000 years, and it isn't likely to stop anytime soon. As long as sensitive data requires protection, cryptography will continue to advance. Although the cryptographic systems used in cryptocurrency blockchains today represent some of the most advanced forms of this science, they are also part of a tradition that extends back through much of human history.

Loading