تاريخ علم التشفير

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

علم التشفير أو التعمية هو علم كتابة الأكواد وشفرات الاتصال الآمن وهو واحد من أهم العناصر التي تدخل في صناعة البلوكشين و العملات الرقمية الحديثة. إن تقنيات التشفير المستخدمة اليوم هي نتيجة لتاريخ طويل للغاية من التطور. منذ العصور القديمة استخدم الناس التشفير لنقل المعلومات بطريقة آمنة. فيما يلي التاريخ الرائع الخاص بعلم التشفير الذي أدى إلى الطرق المتقدمة والمتطورة المستخدمة في التشفير الرقمي الحديث.


الجذور القديمة للتشفير

من المعروف أن تقنيات التشفير البدائية موجودة في العصور القديمة ويبدو أن معظم الحضارات المبكرة قد استخدمت التشفير إلى حد ما مثل استبدال الرمز وهو الشكل الأساسي للتشفير في كل من الكتابات المصرية القديمة وبلاد ما بين النهرين. تم العثور على أقدم مثال معروف لهذا النوع من التشفير في قبر النبيل المصري الذي يدعى خنومهتب الثاني والذي عاش منذ حوالي 3900 سنة.

لم يكن الغرض من استبدال الرمز في نقش خنومهتب الثاني إخفاء المعلومات ولكن كان لتعزيز جاذبيتها اللغوية. أقدم مثال معروف للتشفير المستخدم لحماية المعلومات الحساسة حدث منذ حوالي 3500 عام عندما إستخدم كاتب من بلاد ما بين النهرين التشفير لإخفاء صيغة لتزجيج الفخار والتي كانت تستخدم على أقراص الطين.

في فترات لاحقة من العصور القديمة استخدم التشفير على نطاق واسع لحماية المعلومات العسكرية المهمة وهو غرض لا يزال يخدم حتى يومنا هذا. في مدينة سبارتا في دولة اليونان تم تشفير الرسائل من خلال كتابتها على الرق فوق أسطوانة ذات حجم معين، مما يجعل الرسالة غير قابلة للتفكيك حتى يتم لفها حول اسطوانة مشابهة من قبل المستلم. وبالمثل، من المعروف أن الجواسيس في الهند القديمة استخدموا الرسائل المشفرة في وقت مبكر من القرن الثاني قبل الميلاد.

ربما تم إستخدام التشفير الأكثر تقدما في العالم القديم من قبل الرومان. أحد الأمثلة البارزة على التشفير الروماني المعروف باسم تشفير قيصر حيث ينطوي على تحويل الحروف لرسالة مشفرة بواسطة عدد معين من الأماكن أسفل الأبجدية اللاتينية. عند معرفة هذا النظام وعدد الأماكن لتغيير الحروف، يمكن للمستلم أن يفك شفرة الرسالة و اذا فشل في لن تصبح الرسالة قابلة للقراءة او الفهم.


التطورات في العصور الوسطى وعصر النهضة

خلال العصور الوسطى أصبح للتشفير أهمية متزايدة لكن شفرة الإستبدال و التي تعد طريقة قيصر مثال منها ظلت هي المعيار في التشفير.

 بدأ علم تحليل الشفرات و هو العلم الذي يتم من خلاله فك الشفرات و حلها في اللحاق بالعلوم البدائية التي لا تزال بدائية نسبياً في التشفير. الكيندي و هو عالم رياضيات عربي معروف قام بتطوير تقنية تعرف باسم تحليل التردد حوالي 800 ميلادي والتي جعلت شفرة الإستبدال عرضة لفك التشفير. لأول مرة تمكن الأشخاص الذين يحاولون فك رموز الرسائل المشفرة من الوصول إلى طريقة منهجية للقيام بذلك مما جعل من الضروري أن يتقدم التشفير إلى أبعد من ذلك حتى يظل مفيدًا.

في عام 1465، طور ليون ألبيرتي شفرة متعددة الأبجدية والتي تعتبر الحل ضد تقنية تحليلات التردد الكيندي. في الشفرة متعددة الأبجدية يتم ترميز رسالة باستخدام اثنين من الحروف الهجائية المميزة. الأول هو الأبجدية التي تكتب بها الرسالة الأصلية بينما الثانية هي أبجدية مختلفة تمامًا تظهر فيها الرسالة بعد تشفيرها. جنبا إلى جنب مع شفرة الإستبدال التقليدية زادت الشفرات إلى حد كبير من أمن المعلومات المشفرة. وما لم يكن القارئ يعرف الأبجدية التي كتبت بها الرسالة في الأصل، فلن يكون لدى أسلوب تحليل التردد الخاص بكيندي أي فائدة.

كما تم تطوير أساليب جديدة لتشفير المعلومات في فترة عصر النهضة، بما في ذلك طريقة مبكرة شائعة للترميز الثنائي اخترعها العالم المشهور السير فرانسيس بيكون في عام 1623.


التقدم أكثر في القرون الحديثة

استمر علم التشفير في التقدم تدريجياً على مر القرون. في سبعينيات القرن التاسع عشر وصف توماس جيفرسون حدثا كبيرا في التشفير على الرغم من أنه ربما لم يبن أبداً. تألف اختراعه المعروف باسم عجلة التشفير من 36 حلقة من الحروف على عجلات متحركة يمكن استخدامها لتحقيق تشفير معقد. لقد كان هذا المفهوم متقدمًا إلى حدٍ كبير حيث كان بمثابة أساسًا للتشفير العسكري الأمريكي حتى وقت متأخر من الحرب العالمية الثانية.

كما شهدت الحرب العالمية الثانية المثال المثالي للتعمية التناظرية المعروفة باسم آلة إنيجما. وكما هو الحال في شفرة العجلة استخدم هذا الجهاز الذي تستخدمه قوى المحور عجلات دوارة لترميز الرسالة مما جعل من المستحيل عمليا القراءة بدون لغز آخر.لكن في نهاية الأمر تم استخدام تقنية الكمبيوتر المبكرة للمساعدة في كسر شفرة إنيجما ولا يزال يعتبر فك رموز رسائل إنيجما الناجحة عنصرا حاسما في انتصار الحلفاء في نهاية المطاف.


التشفير في عصر الكمبيوتر

مع انتشار الحواسيب أصبح التشفير أكثر تقدما بكثير مما كان عليه في الحقبة التناظرية. تشفير رياضي 128 بت أقوى بكثير من أي تشفير قديم أو من القرون الوسطى وأصبح الآن معيارًا للعديد من الأجهزة الحساسة وأنظمة الكمبيوتر. بداية من عام 1990 كان علماء الكومبيوتر يطورون شكلاً جديدًا تمامًا من التشفير ، يطلق عليه علم الترميز الكمي ، وهو يأمل في رفع مستوى الحماية الذي يوفره التشفير الحديث مرة أخرى. 

في الآونة الأخيرة تم استخدام تقنيات التشفير أيضا لجعل إنشاء العملات الرقمية شيئا ممكنا حيث تستفيد العملات الرقمية من تقنيات التشفير المتطورة بما في ذلك دالة الهاش و تشفير المفتاح العام والتوقيعات الرقمية. وتستخدم هذه التقنيات في المقام الأول لضمان أمن البيانات المخزنة على البلوكشين و المصادقة على المعاملات. شكل متخصص من التشفير و المعروف المعروف باسم خوارزمية Elliptical Curve Digital Signature أو (ECDSA) يدعم بيتكوين وأنظمة التشفير الأخرى كوسيلة لتوفير أمن إضافي وضمان أن الأموال يمكن استخدامها فقط من قبل أصحابها الشرعيين.

لقد عبر التشفير شوطا طويلا في الـ 4000 سنة الماضية وليس من المرجح أن يتوقف عن التقدم في أي وقت قريب. طالما تتطلب البيانات الحساسة الحماية، سيستمر التشفير في التقدم. على الرغم من أن أنظمة التشفير المستخدمة في بلوكشين العملات الرقمية اليوم تمثل بعض الأشكال الأكثر تقدمًا من هذا العلم، إلا أنها أيضًا جزء من تقليد يمتد عبر الكثير من تاريخ البشرية.

Loading

History of Cryptography

SHARE

Cryptography, the science of writing codes and ciphers for secure communication, is one of the most important elements that goes into making modern cryptocurrencies and blockchains possible. The cryptographic techniques used today, however, are the result of an incredibly long history of development. Since ancient times, people have used cryptography to transmit information in a secure manner. Following is the fascinating history of cryptography that has led up to the advanced and sophisticated methods used for modern digital encryption.


The Ancient Roots of Cryptography

Primitive cryptographic techniques are known to have existed in ancient times, and most early civilizations appear to have used cryptography to some degree. Symbol replacement, the most basic form of cryptography, appears in both ancient Egyptian and Mesopotamian writings. The earliest known example of this type of cryptography was found in the tomb of an Egyptian noble named Khnumhotep II, who lived approximately 3,900 years ago.

The purpose of symbol replacement in the Knhumhotep inscription was not to conceal information, but to enhance its linguistic appeal. The earliest known example of cryptography being used to protect sensitive information occurred around 3,500 years ago when a Mesopotamian scribe employed cryptography to conceal a formula for pottery glaze, which was used on clay tablets.

By later periods of antiquity, cryptography was widely used to protect important military information, a purpose that it still serves to this day. In the Greek city-state of Sparta, messages were encrypted by being written on parchment laid over a cylinder of a particular size, making the message undecipherable until it was wrapped around a similar cylinder by the recipient. Likewise, spies in ancient India are known to have used coded messages as early as the 2nd century BC.

Perhaps the most advanced cryptography in the ancient world was achieved by the Romans. A prominent example of Roman cryptography, known as the Caesar cipher, involved shifting the letters of an encrypted message by a certain number of places down the Latin alphabet. Knowing this system and the number of places to shift the letters, a recipient could successfully decode the otherwise illegible message.


Developments in the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Throughout the Middle Ages, cryptography became increasingly important, but substitution ciphers, of which the Caesar cipher is one example, remained the standard. Cryptanalysis, the science by which codes and ciphers are cracked, began to catch up to the still relatively primitive science of cryptography. Al-Kindi, a noted Arab mathematician, developed a technique known as frequency analysis around 800 AD that rendered substitution ciphers vulnerable to decryption. For the first time, people attempting to decipher encrypted messages gained access to a systematic method for doing so, making it necessary for cryptography to advance even further in order to remain useful.

In 1465, Leone Alberti developed the polyalphabetic cipher, which is considered the solution against Al-Kindi's frequency analysis technique. In a polyalphabetic cipher, a message is encoded using two distinct alphabets. One is the alphabet in which the original message is written, while the second is an entirely different alphabet in which the message appears after being encoded. Combined with traditional substitution ciphers, polyalphabetic ciphers greatly increased the security of encoded information. Unless a reader knew the alphabet in which the message had originally been written, the frequency analysis technique was of no use. 

New methods of encoding information were also developed in the Renaissance period, including a popular early method of binary encoding invented by the noted polymath Sir Francis Bacon in 1623.


Advances in More Recent Centuries

The science of cryptography continued to advance progressively throughout the centuries. A major breakthrough in cryptography was described, though perhaps never built, by Thomas Jefferson in the 1790s. His invention, known as cipher wheel, consisted of 36 rings of letters on moving wheels that could be used to achieve complex encoding. This concept was so advanced that it would serve as the basis for American military cryptography until as late as the second World War.

World War II would also see the perfect example of analog cryptography, known as the Enigma machine. Like the wheel cipher, this device, employed by the Axis powers, used rotating wheels to encode a message, making it virtually impossible to read without another Enigma. Early computer technology was eventually used to help break the Enigma cipher, and the successful decryption of Enigma messages is still considered to be a critical component of the eventual Allied victory.


Cryptography in the Computer Age

With the rise of computers, cryptography became vastly more advanced than it was in the analog era. 128-bit mathematical encryption, far stronger than any ancient or medieval cipher, is now the standard for many sensitive devices and computer systems. Beginning in 1990, an entirely new form of cryptography, dubbed quantum cryptography, was under development by computer scientists hoping to once again elevate the level of protection offered by modern encryption.

More recently, cryptographic techniques have also been used to make cryptocurrencies possible. Cryptocurrencies leverage several advanced cryptographic techniques, including hash functions, public key cryptography, and digital signatures. These techniques are used primarily to ensure the security of data stored on blockchains and to authenticate transactions. A specialized form of cryptography, known as an Elliptical Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (ECDSA), underpins Bitcoin and other cryptocurrency systems as a means of providing extra security and ensuring that funds can only be used by their rightful owners.

Cryptography has come a long way in the last 4,000 years, and it isn't likely to stop anytime soon. As long as sensitive data requires protection, cryptography will continue to advance. Although the cryptographic systems used in cryptocurrency blockchains today represent some of the most advanced forms of this science, they are also part of a tradition that extends back through much of human history.

Loading