الفرق بين التشفير المتماثل والتشفير الغير متماثل

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
الفرق بين التشفير المتماثل والتشفير الغير متماثل
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

تنقسم أنظمة التشفير حاليًا إلى مجالين رئيسيين للدراسة: تشفير متماثل وغير متماثل. التشفير غير المتماثل يشتمل على حالتين للاستخدام و هما التشفير غير المتماثل والتوقيعات الرقمية.

لذلك، قد نمثل هذه المجموعات على النحو التالي:

سوف تركز هذه المقالة على خوارزميات التشفير المتماثل وغير المتماثل.


التشفير المتماثل و التشفير الغير متماثل

غالبًا ما يتم تقسيم خوارزميات التشفير إلى فئتين  و هما التشفير المتماثل وغير المتماثل. يعتمد الاختلاف الأساسي بين هاتين الطريقتين للتشفير هي حقيقة أن خوارزميات التشفير المتماثل تستخدم مفتاحًا واحدًا بينما يستخدم التشفير غير المتماثل مفتاحين مختلفين ولكنهما متصلان. على الرغم من هذا الفرق يبدو بسيطًا إلا أنه  يفسر الاختلافات الوظيفية بين شكلين من تقنيات التشفير والطرق المستخدمة.


فهم مفاتيح التشفير

تقوم خوارزميات التشفير بإنشاء المفاتيح كسلسلة من الـ bits التي تستخدم لتشفير وفك تشفير جزء من المعلومات و هي الطريقة التي يتم بها استخدام هذه المفاتيح لحساب الاختلاف بين التشفير المتماثل وغير المتماثل.

بينما تستخدم خوارزميات التشفير المتماثل نفس المفتاح لأداء كل من وظائف التشفير وفك التشفير، تستخدم خوارزمية التشفير غير المتماثل على النقيض من ذلك مفتاحًا واحدًا لتشفير البيانات ومفتاحًا آخر لفك تشفيرها. في الأنظمة غير المتماثلة يُعرف المفتاح المستخدم للتشفير بالمفتاح العام ويمكن مشاركته بحرية مع الآخرين. من ناحية أخرى، فإن المفتاح المستخدم لفك التشفير هو المفتاح الخاص ويجب أن لا يتم مشاركته وأن يظل سراً.

على سبيل المثال إذا قامت أليس بإرسال رسالة إلى بوب محمية بواسطة تشفير متماثل  فإنها تحتاج إلى مشاركة نفس المفتاح الذي استخدمته للتشفير مع بوب حتى يتمكن من فك تشفير الرسالة. هذا يعني أنه إذا تمكن طرف خارجي ضار من الوصول إلى المفتاح  فسيكون بإمكانه الوصول إلى المعلومات المشفرة.

لكن إذا استخدمت أليس تشفير غير متماثل بدلاً من ذلك فإنها تقوم بتشفير الرسالة باستخدام المفتاح العمومي لبوب و سيتمكن بوب من فك تشفيرها بإستخدام مفتاحه الخاص وبالتالي يوفر التشفير غير المتماثل مستوى أعلى من الأمان لأنه حتى لو اعترض شخص ما رسائله وعثر على مفتاح بوب العام  فلن يتمكن من فك تشفير الرسالة أو فهم محتواها.


طول المفتاح

هناك اختلاف وظيفي آخر بين التشفير المتماثل وغير المتماثل يرتبط بطول المفاتيح والذي يقاس بالبتات (الـ bits) وترتبط مباشرة بمستوى الأمان الذي توفره كل خوارزمية تشفير.

في أساليب التشفير المتماثلة يتم اختيار المفاتيح بشكل عشوائي وعادةً ما يتم تعيين أطوالها على 128 أو 256 بت  اعتمادًا على مستوى الأمان المطلوب. في التشفير غير المتماثل  يجب أن تكون هناك علاقة رياضية بين المفاتيح العامة والخاصة وهذا يعني أن هناك نمط رياضي بين الاثنين. ونظرًا لحقيقة أنه من المحتمل أن يستغل المهاجمون هذا النمط لكسر التشفير، يجب أن تكون المفاتيح غير المتماثلة أطول بكثير لتقديم مستوى مكافئ من الأمان. يظهر الفرق في طول المفتاح بحيث يوفر مفتاح متماثل 128 بت ومفتاح 2048 بت غير متماثل مستويات أمان مشابهة تقريبًا.


المميزات والعيوب

كلا النوعين من التشفير لهما مزايا وعيوب قريبه لبعضهما البعض. حيث  أن خوارزميات التشفير المتماثل أسرع بكثير وتتطلب طاقة حسابية أقل لكن ضعفها الرئيسي هو توزيع المفاتيح. نظرًا لاستخدام نفس المفتاح لتشفير المعلومات وفك تشفيرها  يجب توزيع هذا المفتاح على أي شخص سيحتاج إلى الوصول إلى البيانات وهو ما يفتح مخاطر الأمان بشكل طبيعي (كما هو موضح سابقًا).

على العكس، يحل التشفير غير المتماثل مشكلة توزيع المفاتيح باستخدام المفاتيح العامة للتشفير والمفاتيح الخاصة لفك التشفير. ومع ذلك، فإن أنظمة التشفير غير المتماثلة بطيئة للغاية مقارنة بالأنظمة المتماثلة وتتطلب طاقة حاسوبية أكثر بكثير نتيجة لأطوالها الرئيسية الطويلة للغاية.


حالات الإستخدام

التشفير المتماثل

يستخدم التشفير المتماثل على نطاق واسع لحماية المعلومات في العديد من أنظمة الكمبيوتر الحديثة بسبب سرعتة العالية. على سبيل المثال،   يتم استخدام معيار التشفير المتقدم (AES) من قبل حكومة الولايات المتحدة لتشفير المعلومات المصنفة والحساسة. حل نظام AES محل معيار تشفير البيانات (DES) سابقًا والذي تم تطويره في السبعينيات كمعيار للتشفير المتماثل.

التشفير الغير متماثل

يمكن تطبيق التشفير غير المتماثل على الأنظمة التي قد يحتاج العديد من المستخدمين فيها إلى تشفير وفك تشفير رسالة أو مجموعة من البيانات  خاصةً عندما لا تكون السرعة و القوة الحاسوبية مطلوبة. أحد الأمثلة على هذا النظام هو البريد الإلكتروني المشفر حيث يمكن استخدام مفتاح عام لتشفير رسالة ويمكن استخدام مفتاح خاص آخر لفك تشفيرها.

الأنظمة الهجينة

 يتم استخدام التشفير المتماثل وغير المتماثل معًا في العديد من التطبيقات. الأمثلة النموذجية لهذه الأنظمة المختلطة هي بروتوكولات تشفير Security Sockets Layer (SSL) و Transport Layer Security (TLS) والتي تم تصميمها لتوفير اتصال آمن على الإنترنت. تعتبر بروتوكولات SSL الآن غير آمنة ويجب إيقاف استخدامها. بينما تعتبر بروتوكولات TLS آمنة وقد تم استخدامها على نطاق واسع من قبل جميع متصفحات الويب الرئيسية.


هل تستخدم العملات الرقمية التشفير؟

يتم استخدام تقنيات التشفير في العديد من محافظ العملات الرقمية كوسيلة لتوفير مستويات أعلى من الأمان للمستخدمين النهائيين. على سبيل المثال، يتم تطبيق خوارزميات التشفير  عندما يقوم المستخدمون بإعداد كلمة مرور لمحافظ العملات الرقمية مما يعني أن الملف المستخدم للوصول إلى المحفظة تم تشفيره.

لكن، نظرًا لحقيقة أن البيتكوين و العملات الرقمية  الأخرى تستخدم أزواج المفاتيح العام والخاص هناك اعتقاد خاطئ شائع بأن أنظمة البلوكشين  تستخدم خوارزميات التشفير غير المتماثلة. على الرغم من أن التشفير غير المتماثل والتوقيعات الرقمية هما حالتان رئيسيتان للاستخدام للتشفير غير المتماثل (تشفير المفتاح العام) كما ذكرنا سابقًا.

لذلك، لا تستخدم جميع أنظمة التوقيع الرقمي تقنيات التشفير حتى لو كانت توفر مفتاحًا عامًا وخاصًا. في الواقع يمكن توقيع رسالة رقمياً دون تشفيرها. تعد RSA أحد أمثلة الخوارزمية التي يمكن استخدامها لتوقيع الرسائل المشفرة.  لكن خوارزمية التوقيع الرقمي التي يستخدمها البيتكوين (المسماة ECDSA) لا تستخدم التشفير على الإطلاق.


أفكار ختامية

يلعب كل من التشفير المتماثل وغير المتماثل أدوارًا مهمة في الحفاظ على أمان المعلومات والاتصالات الحساسة في عالم اليوم المعتمد رقميًا. على الرغم من أن كلاهما يمكن أن يكون مفيدًا إلا أنهما يتمتعان بميزات وعيوب خاصة وبالتالي يتم وضعهما  في تطبيقات واستخدامات مختلفة. ومع استمرار تطور علم التشفير للحماية من التهديدات الأحدث والأكثر تطوراً،  من المرجح أن تظل أنظمة التشفير المتماثلة وغير المتماثلة مرتبطة  بأمان الكمبيوتر.

Loading

Symmetric vs. Asymmetric Encryption

Share
Symmetric vs. Asymmetric Encryption
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Cryptographic systems are currently divided into two major fields of study: symmetric and asymmetric cryptography. While symmetric encryption is often used as a synonymous of symmetric cryptography, asymmetric cryptography embraces two primary use cases: asymmetric encryption and digital signatures.

Therefore, we may represent these groups as follows:

This article will focus on symmetric and asymmetric encryption algorithms.


Symmetric vs. asymmetric encryption

Encryption algorithms are often divided into two categories, known as symmetric and asymmetric encryption. The fundamental difference between these two methods of encryption relies on the fact that symmetric encryption algorithms make use of a single key, while asymmetric encryption makes use of two different but related keys. Such a distinction, though apparently simple, accounts for the functional differences between the two forms of encryption techniques and the ways they are used.


Understanding encryption keys

In cryptography, encryption algorithms generate keys as a series of bits that are used for encrypting and decrypting a piece of information. The way in which those keys are employed accounts for the difference between symmetric and asymmetric encryption. 

While symmetric encryption algorithms use the same key to perform both the encryption and decryption functions, an asymmetric encryption algorithm, by contrast, uses one key to encrypt the data and another key to decrypt it. In asymmetric systems, the key used for encryption is known as the public key and can be freely shared with others. On the other hand, the key used for decryption is the private key and should be kept in secret.

For example, if Alice sends Bob a message that is protected by symmetric encryption, she needs to share the same key she used for encryption with Bob so that he can decrypt the message. This means that if a malicious actor intercepts the key, they are able to access the encrypted information. 

However, if Alice uses an asymmetric scheme instead, she encrypts the message with Bob’s public key, so Bob will be able to decrypt it with his private key. Thus, asymmetric encryption offers a higher level of security because even if someone intercepts their messages and finds Bob’s public key, they are not able to decrypt the message.


Key lengths

Another functional difference between symmetric and asymmetric encryption is related to the length of the keys, which are measured in bits and are directly related to the level of security provided by each cryptographic algorithm.

In symmetric schemes, the keys are randomly selected, and their lengths are usually set at 128 or 256 bits, depending on the required level of security. In asymmetric encryption, however, there must be a mathematical relationship between the public and private keys, meaning that there is a mathematical pattern between the two. Due to the fact that this pattern can potentially be exploited by attackers to crack the encryption, asymmetric keys need to be much longer to present an equivalent level of security. The difference in key length is so pronounced that a 128-bit symmetric key and a 2,048-bit asymmetric key offer roughly similar levels of security.

 

Advantages and disadvantages

Both types of encryption have advantages and disadvantages relative to one another. Symmetric encryption algorithms are much faster and require less computational power, but their main weakness is key distribution. Because the same key is used to encrypt and decrypt information, that key must be distributed to anyone who would need to access the data, which naturally opens up security risks (as previously illustrated).

Conversely, asymmetric encryption solves the problem of key distribution by using public keys for encryption and private keys for decryption. The tradeoff, however, is that asymmetric encryption systems are very slow by comparison to symmetric systems and require much more computing power as a result of their vastly longer key lengths.


Use cases

Symmetric encryption

Because of its greater speed, symmetric encryption is widely used to protect information in many modern computer systems. For example, the Advanced Encryption Standard (AES), is used by the United States government to encrypt classified and sensitive information. The AES replaced the previously Data Encryption Standard (DES), which was developed in the 1970s as a standard for symmetric encryption.


Asymmetric encryption

Asymmetric encryption can be applied to systems in which many users may need to encrypt and decrypt a message or set of data, especially when speed and computing power are not primary concerns. One example of such a system is encrypted email, in which a public key can be used to encrypt a message, and a private key can be used to decrypt it.


Hybrid systems

In many applications, symmetric and asymmetric encryption are used together. Typical examples of such hybrid systems are the Security Sockets Layer (SSL) and the Transport Layer Security (TLS) cryptographic protocols, which were designed to provide secure communication within the Internet. The SSL protocols are now considered insecure and its use should be discontinued. In contrast, the TLS protocols are deemed safe and have been extensively used by all major web browsers.


Do cryptocurrencies use encryption?

Encryption techniques are used in many cryptocurrencies wallets as a way to provide increased levels of security to the end-users. Encryption algorithms are applied, for example, when users set up a password for their cryptocurrency wallets, which means the file used to access the software was encrypted.

However, due to the fact that Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies make use of public-private key pairs, there is a common misconception that blockchain systems make use of asymmetric encryption algorithms. As previously noted, though, asymmetric encryption and digital signatures are two major use cases of asymmetric cryptography (public key cryptography).

Therefore, not all digital signature systems make use of encryption techniques, even if they present a public and a private key. In fact, a message can be digitally signed without being encrypted. The RSA is one example of an algorithm that can be used for signing encrypted messages, but the digital signature algorithm used by Bitcoin (named ECDSA) does not use encryption at all.


Closing thoughts

Both symmetric and asymmetric encryption play important roles in keeping sensitive information and communications secure in today's digitally dependent world. Though both can be useful, they each have their own advantages and disadvantages and so are put to different applications. As the science of cryptography continues to evolve to defend against newer and more sophisticated threats, both symmetric and asymmetric cryptographic systems will likely remain relevant to computer security.

Loading