شرح توقيعات العتبة

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
شرح توقيعات العتبة
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

الكاتب: Omer Shlomovits, ZenGo.

مخطط توقيع العتبة (TSS) هو مخطط بدائي التشفير لإنشاء المفاتيح الموزعة وتوقيعها. يعد استخدام TSS في حسابات البلوكشين نموذجًا جديدًا يمكن أن يقدم العديد من الفوائد المختلفة خاصة فيما يتعلق بالأمان. بمعنى أنه يمكن لـ TSS التأثير على تصميم أنظمة الإدارة الرئيسية (مثل المحافظ الرقمية) وريادة المجال للحصول على الدعم المحلي في حالات استخدام DeFi. بعد قول هذا لا تزال TSS تقنية جديدة لذلك يجب أيضًا مراعاة المخاطر والقيود عند استخدامها.

في هذه المقالة سنقوم بتغطية ما هو الـ TSS و ما هي المزايا المحتملة التي قد يجلبها الى مجال البلوكشين وكيف يمكن تنفيذه في Client بلوكشين وكيف يقارن بـ Shamir secret sharingو Multisig و ما هي الطرق المختلفة لإستخدام TSS في إدارة المفاتيح الموزعة وأخيراً نناقش المخاطر والقيود المحتملة له.

دور التشفير

لفهم الـ TSS نحتاج أولاً إلى بعض المعرفة الأساسية عن علم التشفير. منذ السبعينات استخدمت أنظمة الإنترنت التشفير غير المتماثل أكثر وأكثر (مثل TLS و PGP) والذي يُعرف أيضًا باسم تشفير المفتاح العام (PKC). يستخدم PKC مفتاحين: واحد عام والآخر خاص. في حين أن المفتاح العام ليس سريًا ويمكن لأي شخص مشاركتة واستخدامه، إلا أن المفتاح الخاص هو جزء من المعلومات السرية التي تمثل أمان النظام ولا يمكن مشاركتة.

التشفير والتوقيعات الرقمية هما أكثر الاستخدامات شيوعًا للـ PKC. تعتمد كل من مخططات التشفير والتوقيع الرقمي على مجموعات من ثلاثة خوارزميات. الأولى هي توليد زوج المفاتيح الخاصة والعامة والثانية هي إنشاء نص مشفر/توقيع والثالثة هي عملية فك التشفير/التحقق. يما يتعلق بالتوقيعات الرقمية: تتطلب خوارزمية التوقيع أن يقوم المفتاح الخاص والذي يكون معروف فقط لمالكه بإنشاء توقيع فريد. يتم إرفاق التوقيع برسالة معينة بطريقة تمكن أي شخص يحمل المفتاح العام من التحقق من مصداقيتها وصحتها.


البلوكشين

ليس هناك شك في أن البلوكشين تعتبر تقنية قوية للغاية. فهي تقوم بتوفير طبقة إجماعية تنظم وتسجل الأحداث. مثل هذه البنية التحتية تعطينا نحن المستخدمين وحتى الحكومات القوة المحتملة لبناء اقتصادات لامركزية. والمثير للدهشة أن التشفير اللازم لتشغيل بلوكشين بسيط يمكن أن يعتمد فقط على التوقيعات الرقمية. في مجال البلوكشين تمثل المفاتيح الخاصة الهويات في حين أن التوقيعات عبارة عن بيان عام أو مطالبة تقدمها هوية ما. تقوم البلوكشين بطلب البيانات والتحقق من صحتها وفقًا لمجموعة من القواعد والتي تضمن من بين أشياء أخرى عديدة أن تكون التوقيعات غير قابلة للتزوير وتكون وصحيحة.

يتضمن صندوق أدوات التشفير الحديث بعض الحيل السحرية الرائعة على عكس التشفير الأكثر كلاسيكية المستخدم في البلوكشين. من بعض الأمثلة على هذه الحيل: براهين المعرفة الصفرية والتشفير المتماثل والحساب متعدد الأطراف. كما رأينا على مدار العقد الماضي دفعت بحوث البلوكشين التشفير المطبق بشكل كبير مع تقدم مفاجئ في المعرفة حديث في كل ما سبق وأكثر من ذلك بكثير. 

في هذه المقالة سوف نركز على أحد الإنفراجات وهو الـ (TSS) توقيعات العتبة الآمنة الفعالة.


MPC and the threshold signature scheme (TSS)

يعتبر الحساب المتعدد الأطراف (MPC) فرعًا للتشفير الذي بدأ بالعمل الأساسي لـ Andrew C. Yao منذ ما يقرب من 40 عامًا. في MPC تحاول مجموعة من الأطراف التي لا تثق ببعضها البعض حساب دالة على مدخلاتها مع الحفاظ على خصوصية تلك المدخلات. 

على سبيل المثال دعنا نقول أن عدد من موظفي شركة يريدون معرفة من يتقاضى راتب أكثر ولكن دون الكشف عن راتبهم الفعلي لبعضهم البعض. هنا المدخلات الخاصة هي الرواتب والمحرجات ستكون اسم الموظف مع أعلى راتب. عند إجراء هذا الحساب باستخدام MPC تكون النتيجه أنه لا يتم حتى تسريب راتب واحد أثناء الحساب. 

السمتان الرئيسيتان لـ MPC هما الصحة والخصوصية:

  • الصحة: المخرجات الناتجة من خوارزمية هي الصحيحة (كما هو متوقع).

  • الخصوصية: بيانات المدخلات السرية التي يحملها طرف لن تتسرب إلى باقي الأطراف الأخرى.

سنقوم بإستخدام MPC لحساب التوقيع الرقمي بطريقة موزعة. لنرى كيف يمكن تطبيق الخصائص المذكورة أعلاه على التوقيعات. بالنسبة للتوقيعات، لدينا ثلاث خطوات: 

  • توليد المفتاح: الخطوة الأولى وهي أيضا الأكثر تعقيدا. نحتاج إلى إنشاء مفتاح سيكون عامًا ويستخدم للتحقق من التوقيعات المستقبلية. لكننا نحتاج أيضًا إلى إنشاء سر فردي لكل طرف مشارك والذي سنطلق عليه إسم مشاركة سرية. في سياق الصحة والخصوصية نقول أن الوظيفة ستقوم بإخراج نفس المفتاح العام لجميع الأطراف ومشاركة سرية مختلفة لكل من التالي: (1) الخصوصية: لا يتم تسرب بيانات عن المشاركة السرية بين الطرفين و (2) الصحة: المفتاح العام هو وظيفة من المشاركات السرية.

  • التوقيع: تتضمن هذه الخطوة وظيفة إنشاء توقيع. تكون مساهمة كل طرف هي حصته السرية والتي تم إنشاؤها كمخرجات من الخطوة السابقة (توليد المفاتيح الموزعة). هناك أيضًا مدخلات عامة معروفة للجميع وهي الرسالة المراد توقيعها. سيكون الإخراج توقيعًا رقميًا وتضمن خاصية الخصوصية عدم حدوث أي تسريب للمشاركات السرية أثناء الحساب.

  • التحقق: تظل خوارزمية التحقق كما هي في الإعدادات الكلاسيكية. لتكون متوافقة مع توقيعات المفاتيح الفردية يجب أن يكون كل شخص لديه معرفة بالمفتاح العام قادرًا على التحقق من التوقيعات والتصديق من صحتها. هذا بالضبط ما تفعله عقد تحقق البلوكشين.

مخطط توقيع العتبة Threshold signature scheme أو (TSS) هو الاسم الذي نطلقه على تركيبة توليد المفاتيح الموزعة distributed key generation أو (DKG) وتوزيع التوقيع على مخطط توقيع العتبة.


الجمع بين TSS والبلوكشين

الطريقة الطبيعية التي يمكن من خلالها استخدام TSS في البلوكشين هي عن طريق تغيير client البلوكشين ليقوم بإنشاء المفاتيح والتوقيعات باستخدام TSS. هنا نستخدم مصطلح Client للإشارة إلى مجموعة من الأوامر التي يتم تنفيذها بواسطة عقدة كاملة. في التطبيق العملي تتيح لنا تقنية TSS استبدال جميع الأوامر المتعلقة بالمفتاح الخاص بحسابات موزعة.

لشرح ذلك بمزيد من التفصيل سوف نبدأ بوصف سريع عن كيفية إنشاء عناوين جديدة على هيكل بلوكشين كلاسيكي.  ببساطة، يمكننا إنشاء عنوان جديد عن طريق إنشاء مفتاح خاص ثم حساب المفتاح العام من المفتاح الخاص. وأخيرًا، يتم اشتقاق عنوان البلوكشين من المفتاح العام.

الآن باستخدام TSS سيكون لدينا مجموعة من الأطراف التي تقوم بحساب المفتاح العام بشكل مشترك كل طرف مشارك يحمل حصة سرية من المفتاح الخاص (لا يتم الكشف عن الحصص الفردية للأطراف المشاركة الأخرى). عن طريق المفتاح العام يمكننا اشتقاق العنوان بنفس الطريقة الموجودة في النظام التقليدي مما يجعل البلوكشين محايدا نوعا ما في طريقة إنشاء العناوين. الميزة هنا هي أن المفتاح الخاص لم يعد نقطة فشل واحدة لأن كل طرف يحتفظ بجزء واحد منه. 

يمكن القيام بنفس الشيء عند توقيع المعاملات. في هذه الحالة بدلاً من توقيع طرف واحد بمفتاحه الخاص نقوم بتشغيل مُولِّد توقيعات موزع بين أطراف متعددة. حتى يمكن لكل طرف إنتاج توقيع صالح طالما أن ما يكفي من المشاركين يتصرفون بأمانة. انتقلنا مرة أخرى من الحساب المحلي (نقطة فشل واحدة) إلى حساب تفاعلي.

من المهم الإشارة إلى أن إنشاء المفاتيح الموزعة يمكن القيام به بطريقة تتيح أنواعًا مختلفة من طرق الوصول اليهم: سيكون الإعداد “t out of n” العام قادرًا على تحمل ما يصل إلى t من الإخفاقات التعسفية في العمليات المتعلقة بالمفتاح الخاص دون المساس بالأمن.


TSS vs. Multisig

تقدم بعض شبكات البلوكشين وظيفة TSS كجزء مضمن أو قابل للبرمجة من البرنامج. نسمي هذه الوظيفة multisig أو التوقيع المتعدد (multi-signature). لفهم الاختلافات بشكل أفضل يمكننا أن ننظر إلى الـ multisig باعتباره TSS في مرحلة التطبيق في البلوكشين.

بمعنى اخر، يحاول كل من multisig و TSS بشكل أساسي تحقيق أهداف مماثلة لكن TSS يستخدم تشفيرًا off-chain بينما multisig يستخدم on-chain. مع ذلك فإن البلوكشين يحتاج إلى طريقة لتشفير multisig مما قد يضر بالخصوصية لأن بنية الوصول (عدد الموقعين) يكون مكشوفا على البلوكشين. تكلفة معاملة multisig تكون أعلى لأن المعلومات الموجودة على الموقعين المختلفين تحتاج أيضًا إلى التواصل على البلوكشين.

في TSS يتم طي تفاصيل الموقعين في معاملة عادية مما يقلل التكلفة ويحافظ على الخصوصية. من ناحية أخرى يمكن أن يكون multisig غير تفاعليى مما يوفر مشكلة تشغيل طبقة اتصال معقدة بين مختلف الموقعين.

تتمثل نقطة الاختلاف الرئيسية في أن الـ multisig الخاص بالبلوكشين يحتاج إلى إعادة تطبيقة على كل بلوكشين وفي بعض الحالات لا يتم دعمه على الإطلاق. على العكس يعتمد TSS على تشفير خالص لذلك يكون من الممكن دعمة دائمًا. يمكن العثور على مقالة رائعة توضع الإختلافات هنا.


TSS vs. Shamir secret sharing scheme

يوفر نظام مشاركة Shamir السري Shamir secret sharing scheme أو (SSSS) طريقة موزعة لتخزين المفتاح الخاص. بينما يكون المفتاح الخاص في وضع التخزين يتم تخزينه في مواقع متعددة. هناك اختلافان بين SSSS و TSS:

  • إنشاء المفاتيح: في SSSS يوجد حزب واحد يسمى “الموزع/the dealer” يكون مسؤول عن إنشاء المشاركات السرية الخاصة بالمفتاح. هذا يعني أنه في وقت إنشاء المفاتيح، يتم إنشاء المفتاح الخاص في مكان واحد ثم يتم توزيعه بواسطة الموزع على المواقع المختلفة. لكن في TSS لا يوجد موزع لأنه يتم توزيع دوره بحيث لا يكون المفتاح الخاص الكامل في مكان واحد أبدًا.

  • التوقيع: في SSSS يجب على الأطراف إعادة بناء المفتاح الخاص الكامل من أجل التوقيع مما يؤدي مرة أخرى إلى نقطة فشل واحدة في كل مرة يلزم فيها توقيع. من ناحية أخرى في TSS يتم التوقيع بطريقة موزعة دون إعادة إنشاء المشاركات السرية.

كما نرى في TSS لا يكون المفتاح الخاص (الذي يمثل أمان النظام) في مكان واحد مطلقًا طوال فترة عمرة.


محافظ العتبة

تختلف المحفظة المبنية على تقنية TSS قليلاً عن محافظ العملات الرقمية التقليدية. عادةً ما تقوم المحفظة التقليدية بإنشاء عبارة أولية واستخدامها لاشتقاق العناوين بشكل حتمي. يمكن للمستخدم في وقت لاحق استخدام البنية الهرمية الحتمية (HD) لـ 1) الوصول إلى المفاتيح الخاصة التي تتوافق مع عناوين المحفظة وتوقيع المعاملات معهم. 2) لاستعادة جميع مفاتيح المحفظة باستخدام العبارة الأولية.

في محافظ العتبة تكون الأمور أكثر تعقيدًا. على الرغم من أنه من الممكن إنشاء بنية هرمية حتمية (HD) إلا أنه يجب حساب إنشائها بطريقة موزعة كبروتوكول MPC آخر. حيث يحتاج الأطراف المشاركة إلى اتخاذ قرار مشترك بشأن ما هو المفتاح التالي الذي سيتم استخدامه. بمعنى آخر، سيكون لكل طرف عبارة أولية خاصة به. يتم إنشاء العبارات الأولية بشكل منفصل ولا يتم دمجها حتى لا يستطيع أحد الطرفين بمفرده استنتاج المفاتيح الخاصة من العبارة الأولية.

تتمتع المحافظ القائمة على TSS أيضًا بميزة أمان لطيفة تتيح إمكانية تدوير المفتاح الخاص دون تغيير المفتاح العام المقابل له وعنوان البلوكشين. تدوير المفتاح الخاص والمعروف أيضًا باسم المشاركة السرية الاستباقية هو بروتوكول MPC آخر يأخذ المشاركات السرية كمدخلات ويقوم بإخراج مجموعة جديدة من المشاركات السرية. يمكن حذف المشاركات السرية القديمة ويمكن أيضا استخدام المشاركات الجديدة بنفس الطريقة.

تضيف هذه البنية بُعدًا زمنيًا للأمان مما يعني أن المهاجم يجب أن يكون في مواقع متعددة في نفس الوقت لمحاولتة القيام بإختراق محفظة عتبة. إن الجمع بين المشاركات السرية قبل التدوير وبعد التدوير لن يمنح المهاجم أي قوة إضافية إذا أراد أن يزيف توقيعًا. 

الجانب السلبي لهذا النوع من المحافظ هو عدم وجود عبارة أولية مما يجعلها غير متوافقة مع أنظمة المحافظ ذات المفتاح الواحد. لذلك من المهم أن تقرر من الأطراف سيقوم بالإحتفاظ بالمشاركات السرية.

هناك بعض الطرق الممكنة مثل:

  • الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية لـ TSS: سيسمح المستخدم للخوادم “n” بتشغيل الحساب نيابة عنه. الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية فعالة لإنشاء المفتاح والإدارة والتوقيع على مقدمي الخدمة الذين ليسوا أصحاب الأصول ولكن يوفروا طبقة أمان في مقابل الحصول على بعض الحوافز.

  • باستخدام أجهزة متعددة: سيقوم المستخدم بتشغيل TSS على الأجهزة التي يمتلكها. على سبيل المثال سيكون أحد الأطراف عبارة عن جهاز إنترنت الأشياء وطرف آخر يكون مستخدم هاتف محمول وطرف آخر ثالث يكون جهاز الكمبيوتر المحمول وهكذا.

  • الأنظمة الهجينة: سيتم تشغيل TSS بحيث يتم التحكم في بعض الأطراف بواسطة موفري الخدمات الخارجيين بينما تعمل بعض الأطراف على الأجهزة الخاصة بهم.

تقوم الطريقة الأولى بإلغاء تحميل حساب TSS الثقيل من جانب عميل المستخدم. من ناحية أخرى يمكن لمقدمي الخدمات التواطؤ (نفترض أن عددًا كبيرًا منهم لا يتعرض للهجوم في نفس الوقت ولكن في الممارسة العملية يمكنهم أن يتعرضوا للهجوم في نفس الوقت) وسرقة أصول المستخدم.

الطريقة الثانية تمنح المستخدم تحكمًا كاملاً ولكنها تجعل عملية إجراء المعاملات أمرا مرهقًا حيث تحتاج إلى أجهزة متعددة للاتصال بالإنترنت والمشاركة في حساب TSS.

يعتبر الخيار الثالث هو الأفضل بين كلا الخيارين لأنه يتيح للمستخدم طريقة سهلة وسريعة لإجراء المعاملات دون المساومة على إجراء المعاملات دون إذن المستخدم.


TSS والعقود الذكية 

وجد الباحثون على مدار السنين العديد من الاستخدامات للتوقيعات الرقمية ولكن بعضها غير مدهش. كما ذكرنا سابقا، TSS هو تشفير بدائي يمكنه زيادة الأمان بطريقة كبيرة. في سياق البلوكشين قد نقول أنه يمكن استبدال العديد من الوظائف بالتشفير المبني على TSS. يمكن بناء التطبيقات اللامركزية وحلول Layer 2 للتوسع والمقايضات الذرية والخلط والإرث وغير ذلك الكثير على إطار عمل TSS. سيتيح هذا في النهاية اللى استبدال عمليات العقود الذكية الباهظة التكلفة والمحفوفة بالمخاطر ببدائل أرخص وأكثر موثوقية.

لإعطاء بعض الأمثلة الملموسة: تستخدم Multi-Hop Locks التوقيعات التي تتطلب طرفين بطريقة ذكية ويمكن استخدامها لتبديل شبكة البرق الخاصة بالبيتكوين بشبكة قنوات دفع أكثر أمانًا وخصوصية. ربما يكون ShareLock أرخص حل خلط لسلسلة الإيثيريوم مبني على التحقق بإستخدام توقيع عتبة فردي.


المخاطر

على مدار العامين الماضيين كانت هناك زيادة ملحوظة في تطبيقات TSS. لكن مثل أي تقنية جديدة نسبيًا لا يزال لديها بعض القيود والمخاوف. مقارنةً بتشفير المفتاح العام التقليدي، يمكن أن تكون بروتوكولات TSS معقدة للغاية ولم يتم “اختبارها عَمَلِيًّا” بعد. عادةً ما يتطلب TSS افتراضات تشفيرية إضافية أضعف مقارنة بالتوقيعات الرقمية البسيطة. نتيجة لذلك يتم الآن اكتشاف متجهات الهجوم المشفرة التي لم تكن موجودة في الإعدادات التقليدية من قبل (راجع هذا العرض التقديمي من Breaking Bitcoin Conference 2019). يمكن لمهندسي الأمان وخبراء التشفير التطبيقيين المساعدة في تطبيق TSS بأمان في نظامك.

على الجانب الإيجابي أصبحت التطبيقات الحالية والجديدة أقوى بسبب زيادة مساهمات الجودة ومراجعات الأقران وفحص الحسابات وتحسينات الأداء الحسابية بإستخدام الخوارزميات.


أفكار ختامية

في هذه المقالة قمنا بتقديم أساسيات نظام توقيع العتبة Threshold signature scheme وإختصارة (TSS) وهو تشفير بدائي رائع لديه القدرة على تغيير طريقة استخدام البلوكشين بشكل كبير.

نظرًا لأن هذه المقالة لم تناقش Threshold ECDSA التي يمكن استخدامها في سلسلة بينانس والبيتكوين، فيمكن للأشخاص المهتمين قراءة المقالات في القائمة التالية. أيضًا إذا كنت ترغب في تجربة بعض تطبيقات TSS يمكنك العثور على كود لمحفظة Binance Chain ذات طرفين هنا أو تجربة ZenGo wallet التي تستخدم الطريقة الهجينة لتوفير محفظة Binance Chain ثنائية الأطراف.


قراءة متعمقة:

Loading

Threshold Signatures Explained

Share
Copied to clipboard!
Threshold Signatures Explained
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Author: Omer Shlomovits, ZenGo.

Threshold Signature Scheme (TSS) is a cryptographic primitive for distributed key generation and signing. The use of TSS in blockchain clients is a new paradigm that can provide numerous benefits, especially in terms of security. In the broader sense, TSS can influence the design of key management systems (such as crypto wallets) and lead the way for native support in DeFi use cases. Having said that, TSS is still a new technology, so the risks and limitations should also be considered.

In this article, we will cover what a TSS is, what are the potential advantages it brings to the blockchain space, how it can be implemented in a blockchain client, how it compares to Shamir secret sharing and Multisig, what are the different ways to use TSS for distributed key management and finally we discuss the risks and limitations.


The power of cryptography

To understand TSS, we first need some basic knowledge of cryptography. Since the 1970s, more and more Internet systems (such as TLS and PGP) employed asymmetric cryptography, which is also known as Public key cryptography (PKC). PKC makes use of two keys: one public and one private. While the public key is no secret and can be published and used by anyone, the private key is a piece of secret information that represents the security of the system.

Encryption and digital signatures are the two most common usages for PKC. Both encryption and digital signatures schemes rely on sets of three algorithms. First is the private and public key pair generation, second is the generation of a ciphertext/signature, and third is the process of decryption/verification. In regards to digital signatures, the signing algorithm requires the private key, which is known only to its owner, to produce a unique signature. The signature is attached to a given message in a way that anyone holding the public key will be able to verify its authenticity and correctness.


Blockchain

There is no doubt that blockchain is a very powerful technology. It provides a consensus layer that organizes and records events. Such an infrastructure gives us, the users, potential power to build decentralized economies and even governments. Surprisingly enough, the cryptography needed to run a basic blockchain can be based solely on digital signatures. In the context of a blockchain, the private keys represent identities while a signature is a public statement or claim done by an identity. The blockchain will order the statements and validate them according to a set of rules, which ensure, among other things, that the signatures are unforgeable and correct.

In contrast to the more classical cryptography utilized in the blockchain, the modern cryptographic toolbox includes some awesome magic tricks: zero-knowledge proofs, homomorphic encryption, and multi-party computation, to name a few. As we saw over the past decade, blockchain research pushed applied cryptography tremendously, with recent breakthroughs in all of the above and much more. 

In this article, we will focus on a single such breakthrough: efficient secure threshold signatures (TSS).


MPC and the threshold signature scheme (TSS)

Multi-party computation (MPC) is a branch of cryptography that started with the seminal work of Andrew C. Yao, almost 40 years ago. In MPC, a set of parties that do not trust each other try to jointly compute a function over their inputs while keeping those inputs private. 

As an example, let us say that n employees of a company wants to know who is getting paid the most but without revealing to each other their actual salary. Here the private inputs are salaries and the output will be the name of the employee with highest salary. Doing this computation using MPC we get that not even a single salary is leaked during the computation. 

The two main properties of MPC are correctness and privacy:

  • Correctness: the output produced by an algorithm is correct (as expected).

  • Privacy: the secret input data that a party holds would not leak to the other parties.

We will use MPC to compute a digital signature in a distributed way. Let's see how the above properties can be applied to signatures. Recall that, for signatures, we have three steps: 

  • Key Generation: the first step is also the most complex. We need to generate a key which will be public and used to verify future signatures. But, we also need to generate an individual secret for each party, which we will call a secret share. In terms of correctness and privacy we say that the function will output the same public key to all parties, and a different secret share for each such that: (1) privacy: no secret shares data is leaked between the parties, and (2) correctness: the public key is a function of the secret shares.

  • Signing: this step involves a signature generation function. The input of each party will be its secret share, created as output of the previous step (distributed key generation). There is also public input known to all, which is the message to be signed. The output will be a digital signature, and the property of privacy ensures that no leakage of secret shares occurred during the computation.

  • Verification: the verification algorithm remains as it is in the classical setting. To be compatible with single key signatures, everyone with knowledge of the public key should be able to verify and validate the signatures. This is exactly what blockchain validating nodes do.

Threshold signature scheme (TSS) is the name we give to this composition of distributed key generation (DKG) and distributed signing a threshold signature scheme.


Combining TSS with blockchains

The natural way in which TSS can be put to use in a blockchain is by changing a blockchain client to generate keys and signatures using TSS. Here, we use the term blockchain client to refer to the set of commands executed by a full node. In practice, the TSS technology allows us to replace all private key related commands with distributed computations.

To explain it in more detail, we start by describing briefly how new addresses are created on the classical blockchain design.  Simply put, we can create a new address by generating a private key, and then computing the public key from the private key. Finally, the blockchain address is derived out of the public key.

Now, using TSS, we would have a set of n parties jointly computing the public key, each holding a secret share of the private key (the individual shares are not revealed to the other parties). From the public key, we can derive the address in the same way as in the traditional system, making the blockchain agnostic to how the address is generated. The advantage is that the private key is not a single point of failure anymore because each party holds just one part of it. 

The same can be done when signing transactions. In this case, instead of a single party signing with their private key, we run a distributed signature generation between multiple parties. So each party can produce a valid signature as long as enough of them are acting honestly. Again we moved from local computation (single point of failure) to an interactive one.

It is important to mention that the distributed key generation can be done in a way that allows different types of access structures: the general “t out of n” setting will be able to withstand up to t arbitrary failures in private key related operations, without compromising security.


TSS vs. Multisig

Some blockchains offer TSS functionality as a built-in or programmable part of the software. We call this functionality multisig or multi-signature. To better understand the differences, we can look at multisig as a TSS in the application layer of the blockchain.

Put differently, both multisig and TSS are essentially trying to achieve similar goals, but TSS is using cryptography off-chain, while multisig happens on-chain. However, the blockchain needs a way to encode multisig, which might harm privacy because the access structure (number of signers) is exposed on the blockchain. The cost of a multisig transaction is higher because the information on the different signers also needs to be communicated on the blockchain.

In TSS, the signers’ details are folded into a regular looking transaction, reducing cost and maintaining privacy. On the other hand, multisig can be non-interactive, which saves the trouble of running a complex communication layer between the different signers.

The main point of difference is that multisig is blockchain-specific and needs to be reimplemented for every blockchain, and in some cases, it is not supported at all. Conversely, TSS is relying on pure cryptography, so support is always possible. A great article with illustrations on the differences can be found here.


TSS vs. Shamir secret sharing scheme

The Shamir secret sharing scheme (SSSS) provides a way to store the private key in a distributed manner such that while the private key is at rest, it is stored in multiple locations. There are two differences between SSSS and TSS:

  • Key Generation: in SSSS, there is a single party called “the dealer” that is in charge of generating the private key secret shares. It means that at time of Key Generation, the private key is generated at a single location and then distributed by the dealer to the different locations. In TSS, there is no dealer as its role is distributed such that the full private key is never at a single location.

  • Signing: in SSSS, the parties must reconstruct the full private key in order to sign, which again results in a single point of failure each time a signature is needed. In TSS, the signing is done in a distributed way without ever reconstructing the secret shares.

As we can see, in TSS the private key (which represents the security of the system) is never at a single location throughout its entire lifetime.


Threshold wallets

A wallet based on TSS technology is a bit different than traditional cryptocurrency wallets. Typically, a conventional wallet generates a seed phrase and use it to deterministically derive the addresses. The user can later use this hierarchical deterministic (HD) structure to 1) reach the private keys that correspond to the wallet addresses and sign transactions with them, and 2) to recover all wallet keys using the seed phrase.

In a threshold wallet, things are more complex. Although it is possible to generate an HD structure, its generation must be computed in a distributed manner, as another MPC protocol. The parties need to jointly decide on what is the next key to be used. In other words, each party will have a seed phrase of its own. The seed phrases are generated separately and never combined so that one party alone can’t derive the private keys from its seed.

TSS-based wallets, also have a nice security feature, which is enabling of private key rotation without changing the corresponding public key and blockchain address. Private key rotation, also known as proactive secret sharing, is yet another MPC protocol that takes the secret shares as input, and outputs a new set of secret shares. The old secret shares can be deleted and the new ones can be used in the same way.

Such a structure adds a time dimension to the security, which means an attacker must be at multiple locations at the same time to attack a threshold wallet. Combining secret shares before rotation and after the rotation will give the attacker no extra power if they want to forge a signature. 

A downside of this type of wallet is that the lack of a seed phrase makes it incompatible with single-key wallet systems. So it’s important to consider which parties will hold the secret shares.

There are a few possible architectures:

  • Outsourcing TSS: the user will let “n” servers run the computation on their behalf. Effectively outsourcing the key generation, management and signing to service providers who are not the owners of the assets but provide a security layer in return to some incentive.

  • Using multiple devices: The user will run the TSS between the devices they own. For example - one party will be some IoT device, another party will be the user mobile, another party their laptop, and so on.

  • Hybrid: TSS will run such that some parties are controlled by outside service providers and some parties run on user-owned devices.

The first method offloads the heavy TSS computation from the user client side. On the other hand, the service providers can collude (we assume enough of them are not attacked at the same time, but in practice, they might) and steal the assets of the user.

The second method gives the user full control but makes it cumbersome to conduct transactions as you need multiple devices to go online and engage with the TSS computation.

The third option is considered the best of both worlds as it gives the user an easy and fast way to conduct transactions but without compromising on having transactions done without the user authorization.


TSS and smart contracts 

Over the years, researchers have found many uses for digital signatures, and some are surprisingly non-trivial. As mentioned, TSS is a cryptographic primitive that can greatly increase security. In the context of blockchains, we may say that many functionalities can be replaced with TSS-based cryptography. Decentralized applications, layer 2 scaling solutions, atomic swaps, mixing, inheritance, and much more can be built on top of a TSS framework. This would eventually allow for expensive and risky on-chain smart contract operations to be replaced by cheaper and more reliable alternatives.

To give some concrete examples: Multi-Hop Locks makes use of two-party signatures in a clever way and can be used as an alternative to Bitcoin lightning network with a more secure and private payment channel network. ShareLock is probably the cheapest on-chain mixing solution for Ethereum, based on verification of a single threshold signature.


Risks

In the last couple of years, there was a significant increase in TSS implementations. However, as a relatively new technology, it still has some limitations and concerns. Compared to classic public key cryptography, TSS protocols can be very complex and are yet to be “battle-tested”. Usually, TSS requires additional, weaker, cryptographic assumptions compared to simple digital signatures. As a result, cryptographic attack vectors that did not exist in traditional setups are now being discovered (see this presentation from Breaking Bitcoin Conference 2019). Security engineers and applied cryptographers can assist in safely deploying TSS in your system.

On the positive side, existing and new implementations are becoming stronger due to an increase in quality contributions, peer reviews, audits, and algorithmic performance improvements.


Closing thoughts

In this article, we introduced the basics of the threshold signature scheme (TSS), which is a fascinating cryptographic primitive that has the potential to change significantly the way we use blockchain.

Since this article did not discuss the Threshold ECDSA that can be used in Binance Chain and Bitcoin, the ones interested may refer to the following list of recent papers. Also, if you want to play with some TSS implementations you can find a code for two-party Binance Chain wallet here or try ZenGo wallet, which utilizes the hybrid method to provide a non-custodial two-party Binance Chain wallet.


Further reading:

Loading