ما هو الهجوم بنسبة %51؟

مشاركة

قبل ما نبدأ في شرح الهجوم بنسبة %51 من المهم أن يكون لديك مفهوم جيد عن التعدين و الأنظمة القائمة على البلوكشين.

واحدة من أهم نقاط القوة الرئيسية للبيتكوين و تقنية البلوكشين هي طبيعتها الموزعة و قابلية التحقق من البيانات. 

تضمن طبيعة عمل العقد اللامركزية أن يتم اتباع قواعد البروتوكول وأن جميع المشاركين في الشبكة يوافقون على الحالة الحالية للبلوكشين وهذا يعني أن غالبية العقد تحتاج إلى التوصل إلى توافق في الآراء (إجماع) بشكل منتظم فيما يتعلق بعملية التعدين و نسخة إصدار البرنامج المستخدم و صلاحية المعاملات وما إلى ذلك.

إن خوارزمية الإجماع للبيتكوين (إثبات العمل - Proof of Work) هي ما يضمن أن المُعَدِّنين لا يستطيعون سوى التحقق من كتلة جديدة من المعاملات إذا وافقت عُقد الشبكة بشكل جماعي على أن Hash الكتلة التي يوفرها المُعَدِّن دقيق/صحيح (أي ان هاش الكتلة يثبت أن المُعَدِّن قام بما يكفى من العمل للوصول لحل صحيح لمشكلة هذه الكتلة).

إن البنية التحتية للبلوكشين و التي تعمل كسجل لامركزي و نظام موزع تمنع أي كيان مركزي من اختيار الشبكة لأغراضه الخاصة وهذا هو السبب في عدم وجود سلطة واحدة على شبكة البيتكوين.

بما أن عملية التعدين في الأنظمة القائمة على (PoW) تتطلب كميات هائلة من الكهرباء والموارد الحاسوبية, فإن اداء المُعَدِّن يتوقف على الطاقة الحاسوبية التي يمتلكها وعادةً ما يشار إليها باسم Hash power أو Hash rate. هناك العديد من عقد التعدين في مناطق مختلفة و كلها تتنافس لتكون التالية في العثور على الهاش الصحيح و يتم مكافأتها بالبيتكوين الذي تم تعدينه حديثا.

في سياق هذا, يتم توزيع الطاقة التعدينية عبر العقد المختلفة في جميع أنحاء العالم مما يعني أن معدل التجزئة (Hash rate) ليس في يد كيان أو سلطة واحدة. على الأقل ليس من المفترض أن يكون.

لكن ماذا يحدث عندما لا يتم توزيع معدل التجزئة جيدًا بما فيه الكفاية؟ ماذا يحدث إذا, على سبيل المثال, إستطاع كيان واحد أو مؤسسة واحدة الحصول على %50 من طاقة التجزئة؟ إحدى العواقب المحتملة لذلك هي ما نسميه هجومًا بنسبة %51 و  يُعرف أيضًا باسم هجوم الأغلبية.


ما هو الهجوم بنسبة %51؟

يعتبر الهجوم بنسبة %51 هجومًا ممكناً على البيتكوين أو أي شبكة بلوكشين أخرى, حيث يستطيع كيان أو مؤسسة واحدة التحكم في غالبية معدل التجزئة  مما قد يؤدي إلى تعطيل الشبكة. بمعنى أخرى، سيكون لدى المهاجم بنسبة %51 طاقة تعدين كافية لاستبعاد أو تعديل ترتيب المعاملات بشكل مقصود.

إن مثل هذا الهجوم قد يجعل من الممكن لكيان خبيث أن يحاول عكس المعاملات التي قام بها أثناء سيطرته, الأمر الذي قد يؤدي إلى مشكلة الإنفاق المزدوج (double spending). و من شأن الهجوم الناجح أن يسمح للمهاجم بمنع بعض أو كل المعاملات من أن يتم تأكيدها (ويعرف أيضا باسم رفض الخدمة) أو منع بعض أو كل المُعَدِّنين الآخرين من التعدين  مما يؤدي إلى ما يسمى الاحتكار التعديني.

من ناحية أخرى, لن يسمح هجوم الأغلبية للمهاجم بعكس معاملات الأشخاص الآخرين أو منع بث المعاملات إلى الشبكة. إن تغيير مكافأة الكتلة وإنشاء العملات من الهواء أو سرقة العملات التي لا تنتمي للمهاجم هي أيضًا سيناريوهات غير محتملة.


ما مدى احتمالية وقوع هجوم بنسبة %51؟

بما أن شبكة البلوكشين قائمة على شبكة من العقد الموزعة فإن جميع المشاركين يتعاونون في عملية التوصل إلى إجماع (توافق آراء) وهذا هو أحد الأسباب الرئيسية التي تجعل شبكات البلوكشين آمنة. تتمتع الشبكات الأكبر حجماً بحماية أقوى ضد الهجمات وفساد البيانات.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بأي بلوكشين قائمة على إثبات العمل (Proof of Work) ,فإن كلما زاد معدل تجزئة المُعَدِّن كلما زادت فرص العثور على حل صالح للكتلة التالية. هذا صحيح لأن التعدين ينطوي على عدد لا يحصى من محاولات التجزئة والمزيد من القوة الحاسوبية يعني المزيد من التجارب في الثانية الواحدة. إنضم عدد من المُعَدِّنين في البداية الى شبكة البيتكوين للمساهمه في نمو و آمان الشبكة. مع ارتفاع سعر البيتكوين كعملة انضم العديد من المُعَدِّنين الجدد إلى الشبكة بهدف التنافس على المكافآت المجمعة (المحددة حاليًا بـ 12.5 BTC لكل كتلة). مثل هذا السيناريو التنافسي هو أحد الأسباب التي تجعل شبكة البيتكوين آمنة. ليس لدى المُعَدِّنين أي سبب لاستثمار كميات كبيرة من الموارد إذا لم يكن ذلك للتصرف بأمانة والسعي للحصول على المكافأة.

لذلك فإن الهجوم بنسبة %51 على البيتكوين غير محتمل إلى حد ما بسبب حجم الشبكة. بمجرد أن تنمو بلوكشين بما فيه الكفاية فإن احتمالية وجود شخص أو مجموعة واحدة تحصل على قوة حوسبة كافية لإفشال كل المشاركين الآخرين تنمو بسرعة إلى مستويات لا يمكن تحقيقها.

علاوة على ذلك، فإن تغيير الكتل المؤكدة سابقاً يزداد صعوبة كلما ازدادت السلسلة لأن الكتل مرتبطة جميعها من خلال البراهين المشفرة. و لنفس السبب كلما زادت تأكيدات كتلة, ارتفعت تكاليف تغيير أو إرجاع المعاملات الخاصة بهذه الكتلة.

لذلك، فإن الهجوم الناجح سيكون على الأرجح قادرًا على تغيير معاملات بعض الكتل الحديثة لفترة قصيرة من الزمن.

دعنا نتخيل سيناريو لا يكون فيه الكيان الخبيث هدفه الربح و يقرر مهاجمة شبكة البيتكوين فقط لتدميرها بغض النظر عن التكاليف. إذا تمكن المهاجم من تعطيل الشبكة  فإن برنامج وبروتوكول البيتكوين سيتم تعديله وتكييفه بسرعة كرد فعل على هذا الهجوم وهذا يتطلب من عقد الشبكة الأخرى الوصول إلى إجماع (توافق آراء) والاتفاق على هذه التغييرات, لكن هذا قد يحدث بسرعة كبيرة جدًا في حالة الطوارئ. يعتبر البيتكوين مقاوما للغية للهجمات ويعتبر الأكثر أمانًا وموثوقية في الوجود.

على الرغم من أنه من الصعب جدًا على المهاجم الحصول على طاقة حاسوبية أكثر من باقي شبكة البيتكوين إلا أن ذلك لا يمثل تحديًا كبيرًا لتحقيقه على العملات الرقمية الصغيرة. مقارنة بالبيتكوين, فإن العملات الرقمية الصغيرة لديها مقدار منخفض نسبياً من قدرة التجزئة التي تعمل على تأمين البلوكشين الخاص بهم. منخفض بما فيه الكفاية ليجعل من الممكن حدوث الهجوم بنسبة %51. بعض الأمثلة البارزة التي كانت ضحايا الهجوم بنسبة %51 هم Bitcoin Gold و Monacoin و ZenCash. 

Loading

What is a 51% Attack?

28.11.2018

Before diving into the 51% attack, it is crucial to have a good understanding of mining and blockchain-based systems.

One of the key strengths of the Bitcoin and its underlying blockchain technology is the distributed nature of building and verifying data. The decentralized work of the nodes ensures that the protocol rules are being followed and that all network participants agree on the current state of the blockchain. This means that the majority of nodes need to regularly reach consensus in regards to the process of mining, to the version of the software being used, to the validity of transactions, and so forth.

The Bitcoin consensus algorithm (Proof of Work) is what assures that miners are only able to validate a new block of transactions if the network nodes collectively agree that the block hash provided by the miner is accurate (i.e. the block hash proves that the miner did enough work and found a valid solution for that block’s problem). 

The blockchain infrastructure - as a decentralized ledger and distributed system - prevents any centralized entity from co-opting the network for its own purposes, which is the reason why there is no single authority on the Bitcoin network.

Since the process of mining (in PoW-based systems) involves the investment of huge amounts of electricity and computational resources, a miner’s performance is based on the amount of computational power he has, and this is usually referred to as hash power or hash rate. There are many mining nodes in various locations and they compete to be the next to find a valid block hash and be rewarded with newly generated Bitcoins.

In such a context, the mining power is distributed across different nodes across the world, which means the hash rate is not in the hands of a single entity. At least it is not supposed to be.

But what happens when the hash rate is no longer distributed well enough? What happens if, for example, one single entity or organization is able to obtain more than 50% of the hashing power? One possible consequence of that is what we call a 51% attack, also known as majority attack.

What is a 51% attack?

A 51% attack is a potential attack on the Bitcoin (or another blockchain network), whereby a single entity or organization is able to control the majority of the hash rate, potentially causing a network disruption. In other words, the 51% attacker would have enough mining power to intentionally exclude or modify the ordering of transactions.

Such an attack would make it possible for the malicious entity to try and reverse transactions that he/she made while being in control, which would likely lead to a double-spending problem. A successful majority attack would also allow the attacker to prevent some or all transactions from being confirmed (aka. transaction denial of service) or to prevent some or all other miners from mining, leading to the so-called mining monopoly.

On the other hand, a majority attack would not allow the attacker to reverse transactions from other users nor to prevent transactions from being broadcasted to the network. Changing the block’s reward, creating coins out of thin air or stealing coins that never belonged to the attacker are also very improbable scenarios.

How likely is a 51% attack? 

Since a blockchain network is maintained by a distributed network of nodes, all participants cooperate in the process of reaching consensus. This is one of the main reasons why blockchain networks tend to be secure. Bigger networks have a stronger protection against attacks and data corruption.

When it comes to Proof of Work blockchains, the more hash rate a miner has, the higher the chances of finding a valid solution for the next block. This is true because mining involves a myriad of hashing attempts and more computational power means more trials per second. Several early miners joined the Bitcoin network in order to contribute to the networks’ growth and security. With the rising price of Bitcoin as a currency, numerous new miners have joined the network aiming to compete for the block rewards (currently set as 12.5 BTC per block). Such a competitive scenario is one of the reasons why the Bitcoin network is secure. Miners have no reason to invest large amounts of resources if it is not for acting honestly and striving to receive the block reward.

Therefore, a 51% attack on Bitcoin is rather unlikely because of the magnitude of the network. Once a blockchain grows large enough, the prospect of a single person or group obtaining enough computing power to overwhelm all the other participants rapidly grows to unachievable levels. 

Moreover, changing the previously confirmed blocks gets more and more difficult as the chain grows, because the blocks are all linked through cryptographic proofs. For the same reason, the more confirmations a block have, the higher the costs for altering or reverting the transactions of that block. Therefore, a successful attack would probably only be able to alter the transactions of a few recent blocks, for a short period of time.

Going further, let’s imagine a scenario where a malicious entity is not motivated by profit and decides to attack the Bitcoin network only to destroy it, no matter the costs. Even if the attacker manages to disrupt the network, the Bitcoin software and protocol would be quickly modified and adapted as a response to that attack. This would require the other network nodes to reach consensus and agree on these changes, but that would probably happen very quickly during an emergency situation. Bitcoin is very resilient to attacks and is considered the most secure and reliable cryptocurrency in existence. 

Although it is quite difficult for an attacker to obtain more computational power than the rest of the Bitcoin network, that is not so challenging to achieve on smaller cryptocurrencies. When compared to Bitcoin, altcoins have a relatively low amount of hashing power securing their blockchain. Low enough to make it possible for 51% attacks to actually happen. A few notable examples of cryptocurrencies that were victims of majority attacks include Monacoin, Bitcoin Gold and ZenCash.

Loading