什么是51%的攻击?

分享

在深入了解51%攻击之前,我们需要了解一定程度关系挖掘和由区块链建筑的系统。

比特币其中关键优势之一是它基于区块链技术构建和验证数据的分布式特性。节点的非中心化工作确保遵循协议规则,让所有网络参与者都能同意区块链的当前状态。这意味着大多数节点需要定期以挖掘的过程中来达成共识,从该使用软件的版本至确认交易等等。

比特币共识算法(工作证明)确保采矿者只能在网络上所有节点都达成共识,并一致验证该采矿者提供的块哈希是准确的情况下才能新成新的交易区块(指该块哈希能证明了采矿者做了一定的工作量,并找到了该区块的正确问题解决方案)。

区块链的基础设施- 作为非中心化的分类账和分布式系统,这系统能阻止任何中心化个体为了自己的目的而不择手段地管制网络,亦都是为什么比特币在网络上并没有单一掌控单位机构的原因。

由于采矿过程(在PoW的系统中)涉及大量电力和电脑机算资源的投入,采矿者的工作能力源自于他拥有的机算能力,亦称为散列能力或哈希率。在不同的位置有许多挖掘节点,它们会为了新生成下一个有效的比特币块散列而获取的奖金而竞争着。

在此基础下,挖掘币的工作是分布于世界各地所有不同的节点上,亦指哈希率不是一个单位所有,亦不应该有此状况出现。

但如果当哈希率不再分配得足够时会有什么事情发生呢?如果一个单位或组织能够获得超过50%的散列能力,会发生什么事情呢?其中一个可能后果是我们称之为- 51%攻击,也认知为多数攻击。


什么是51%的攻击?

51%的攻击是对比特币(或其他区块链网络)的潜在危机,由此单个单位或组织能够控制大部分哈希率,从而导致网络中断。换句话说,51%的攻击者将拥有足够的矿池算力从而能够故意排除或篡改交易顺序。

这样的攻击可使恶意单位或组织能在控制期间尝试和撤销交易者们所作出的交易,而导致双重支出潜在问题。成功的51%攻击还能允许攻击者阻止某些或所有交易被确认(亦指:交易拒绝服务)亦可以阻止一些或所有其他矿工继续进行采矿,而导致所谓的”垄断式采扩”。

另一方面,51%攻击是不允许攻击者撤销其他人的交易,也或阻止交易被广播到网络节点上。另外,改变成功采扩区块的奖金,凭空创造币或窃取从未属于攻击者的币也是非常不可能的。


51%的攻击有多大可能?

区块链网络是由非中心化及分布式节点网络来维护的,并要求所有参与者必须达成共识的过程中合作工作。这亦是区块链网络为什么高度安全的主要原因之一。网络越大防御力越好,保护及防御攻击和数据损坏能力越高级。

当涉及工作证明区块链时,挖掘者的哈希率越高,找到有效区块解决方案的可能性就越高。这的确是事实,因为挖掘的工作需要涉及的哈希率尝试越多,需要的机算能力和电力来作出每秒更多的试验发掘。所以早期加入比特币网络的挖掘者们,为促进网络的持续增长性和安全性而贡献良多。随着比特币货币的价值上涨,为了争夺区块挖掘奖金, 许多新的挖掘者被吸引而加入网络,(目前一个比特币的区块价格12.5 BTC)。这竞争情况亦是证明比特币网络有多么安全的原因之一。如果这整个网络和奖金挖掘制度不是基于那么公开诚实的机构挖掘者没有理由投入那么大量的资金和资源去参与进行这过程。

因此,面对这样庞大的网络规模,进行51%攻击是不可能的。一旦区块链网络变得足够庞大,个别单位或团队组织如企图集结的足够的机算能力足以淹没所有其他参与者,亦无法跟上与迅速增长的网络一样水平。

此外,随着区块链的增长,想更改已确认的区块变得越来越困难,因为区块都通过加密工作证明链接。因此,一个区块具有的确认链越多,企图更改或恢复该区块的交易成本就越高。因此,攻击者可能成功的改变几个最近新生区块的交易,但这更改不会持久和持续。

更进一步大胆设想,如果有恶意单位不受利润驱动或成本阻碍,并决定攻击比特币网络单纯为了销毁它。即使攻击者破坏网络,比特币程序和协议设定也会迅速地作出回应及时修改,对该攻击的进行调整。这将需要其他网络节点就这些变化达成一致共识,在紧急情况下这共识将很快达成。比特币对攻击非常有弹性,亦被视为现存最安全可靠的加密货币。

虽然比特币网络比较不可能被攻击因为它庞大的网络让攻击者有困难性集结同等的机算能力。但要实行在较小的加密货币上并不是那么具有挑战性。与比特币相比,山寨币具有相对较低的散列能力去保护其区块链网络。足够低去实现51%攻击。一些值得提及其受攻击的加密货币例子如Monacoin,Bitcoin Gold和ZenCash。

Loading

What is a 51% Attack?

28.11.2018

Before diving into the 51% attack, it is crucial to have a good understanding of mining and blockchain-based systems.

One of the key strengths of the Bitcoin and its underlying blockchain technology is the distributed nature of building and verifying data. The decentralized work of the nodes ensures that the protocol rules are being followed and that all network participants agree on the current state of the blockchain. This means that the majority of nodes need to regularly reach consensus in regards to the process of mining, to the version of the software being used, to the validity of transactions, and so forth.

The Bitcoin consensus algorithm (Proof of Work) is what assures that miners are only able to validate a new block of transactions if the network nodes collectively agree that the block hash provided by the miner is accurate (i.e. the block hash proves that the miner did enough work and found a valid solution for that block’s problem). 

The blockchain infrastructure - as a decentralized ledger and distributed system - prevents any centralized entity from co-opting the network for its own purposes, which is the reason why there is no single authority on the Bitcoin network.

Since the process of mining (in PoW-based systems) involves the investment of huge amounts of electricity and computational resources, a miner’s performance is based on the amount of computational power he has, and this is usually referred to as hash power or hash rate. There are many mining nodes in various locations and they compete to be the next to find a valid block hash and be rewarded with newly generated Bitcoins.

In such a context, the mining power is distributed across different nodes across the world, which means the hash rate is not in the hands of a single entity. At least it is not supposed to be.

But what happens when the hash rate is no longer distributed well enough? What happens if, for example, one single entity or organization is able to obtain more than 50% of the hashing power? One possible consequence of that is what we call a 51% attack, also known as majority attack.

What is a 51% attack?

A 51% attack is a potential attack on the Bitcoin (or another blockchain network), whereby a single entity or organization is able to control the majority of the hash rate, potentially causing a network disruption. In other words, the 51% attacker would have enough mining power to intentionally exclude or modify the ordering of transactions.

Such an attack would make it possible for the malicious entity to try and reverse transactions that he/she made while being in control, which would likely lead to a double-spending problem. A successful majority attack would also allow the attacker to prevent some or all transactions from being confirmed (aka. transaction denial of service) or to prevent some or all other miners from mining, leading to the so-called mining monopoly.

On the other hand, a majority attack would not allow the attacker to reverse transactions from other users nor to prevent transactions from being broadcasted to the network. Changing the block’s reward, creating coins out of thin air or stealing coins that never belonged to the attacker are also very improbable scenarios.

How likely is a 51% attack? 

Since a blockchain network is maintained by a distributed network of nodes, all participants cooperate in the process of reaching consensus. This is one of the main reasons why blockchain networks tend to be secure. Bigger networks have a stronger protection against attacks and data corruption.

When it comes to Proof of Work blockchains, the more hash rate a miner has, the higher the chances of finding a valid solution for the next block. This is true because mining involves a myriad of hashing attempts and more computational power means more trials per second. Several early miners joined the Bitcoin network in order to contribute to the networks’ growth and security. With the rising price of Bitcoin as a currency, numerous new miners have joined the network aiming to compete for the block rewards (currently set as 12.5 BTC per block). Such a competitive scenario is one of the reasons why the Bitcoin network is secure. Miners have no reason to invest large amounts of resources if it is not for acting honestly and striving to receive the block reward.

Therefore, a 51% attack on Bitcoin is rather unlikely because of the magnitude of the network. Once a blockchain grows large enough, the prospect of a single person or group obtaining enough computing power to overwhelm all the other participants rapidly grows to unachievable levels. 

Moreover, changing the previously confirmed blocks gets more and more difficult as the chain grows, because the blocks are all linked through cryptographic proofs. For the same reason, the more confirmations a block have, the higher the costs for altering or reverting the transactions of that block. Therefore, a successful attack would probably only be able to alter the transactions of a few recent blocks, for a short period of time.

Going further, let’s imagine a scenario where a malicious entity is not motivated by profit and decides to attack the Bitcoin network only to destroy it, no matter the costs. Even if the attacker manages to disrupt the network, the Bitcoin software and protocol would be quickly modified and adapted as a response to that attack. This would require the other network nodes to reach consensus and agree on these changes, but that would probably happen very quickly during an emergency situation. Bitcoin is very resilient to attacks and is considered the most secure and reliable cryptocurrency in existence. 

Although it is quite difficult for an attacker to obtain more computational power than the rest of the Bitcoin network, that is not so challenging to achieve on smaller cryptocurrencies. When compared to Bitcoin, altcoins have a relatively low amount of hashing power securing their blockchain. Low enough to make it possible for 51% attacks to actually happen. A few notable examples of cryptocurrencies that were victims of majority attacks include Monacoin, Bitcoin Gold and ZenCash.

Loading