ما هو الـ DoS Attack؟

مشاركة
ما هو الـ DoS Attack؟

باختصار، فإن هجوم DoS او Denial-of-Service ومعناه هجوم الحرمان من الخدمة هو طريقة تُستخدم لتعطيل وصول المستخدمين الشرعيين إلى شبكة مستهدفة أو مورد ويب. عادة يتم تحقيق ذلك عن طريق التحميل الزائد على الهدف (غالبًا خادم ويب) بكمية هائلة من التصفح أو عن طريق إرسال طلبات ضارة تتسبب في خلل المورد المستهدف أو تعطيله بالكامل.

كانت أول حالة موثقة لهجوم الحرمان من الخدمة في فبراير عام 2000 عندما قام مخترق كندي عمره 15 عامًا باستهداف خوادم ويب Amazon و eBay بمثل هذا الهجوم. ومنذ ذلك الحين استخدم العديد الأشخاص هجمات الحرمان من الخدمة لتعطيل الأهداف في العديد من الصناعات.


أنواع هجمات الحرمان من الخدمة (DoS)

تهدف بعض أنواع هجمات الحرمان من الخدمة إلى تعطيل وصول فرد مستهدف معين إلى شبكة أو مورد،  بينما تعتزم هجمات اخرى في جعل المورد غير ممكن الوصول إليه بالكامل. يمكن أن تستمر هذه الهجمات من دقائق إلى ساعات وفي بعض الحالات النادرة تستمر لأيام. وكثيراً ما تتسبب هذه الأنواع من الانقطاعات في خسائر مالية كبيرة للشركات التي تصبح أهدافًا والتي ليس لديها استراتيجيات للحد منها أو تخفيفها.

تأتي هجمات الحرمان من الخدمة بأشكال وأحجام مختلفة بما أن جميع الأجهزة والشبكات ليست عرضة للخطر بنفس الطريقة. فإن أولئك الذين يحاولون إلحاق الضرر غالباً ما يضطرون إلى الإبداع في الطرق التي يمكنهم بها استغلال الثغرات المختلفة في تكوين النظام.


تشمل بعض الثغرات المعروفة لهجمات الحرمان من الخدمة: 


Buffer overflow attack

هو أكثر أنواع الثغرات شيوعا.  يعتمد هجوم Buffer Overflow على إرسال الكثير من الزيارات إلى الموقع و يكون عدد الزيارات أكبر من العدد الذي قام مطورون الموقع بتحديدة بحيث لا يستطيع الموقع إستيعاب حجم الزيارات و هذا ما يسمح للمهاجم بالتحكم في الهدف أو حتى تعطيلة.


ICMP flood 

يستهدف هجوم ICMP flood جهازًا تمت تهيئته بشكل غير صحيح على الشبكة المستهدفة مما يضطر الجهاز إلى توزيع حزم وهمية على كل عقدة (كمبيوتر) على الشبكة المستهدفة بدلاً من عقدة واحدة و بالتالي يزداد الحمل على الشبكة.

غالبًا ما يشار إلى هذا النوع من الهجوم باسم Ping of Death أو Smurf Attack.


SYN flood 

يقوم هجوم SYN flood بإرسال طلبًا للاتصال بخادم الويب ولكنه لا يوثق الاتصال بشكل كامل مطلقًا ثم يقوم بإستهداف جميع المنافذ (الـ Ports) المفتوحة المتبقية على خادم الويب إلى أن يجبر الخادم على التعطل.


DoS vs DDoS attacks

هناك مصطلح مشابه آخر من المحتمل أن تواجهه وهو هجوم DDoS و الذي يعني Distributed Denial-of-Service attack (هجوم الحرمان من الخدمة الموزع). الفرق بين هجوم DoS و هجوم DDoS هو أن أثناء هجوم DDoS، يتم توجيه العديد من الأجهزة الضارة لاستهداف مورد واحد.

من المرجح أن يكون هجوم الحرمان من الخدمة الموزع أكثر نجاحا من هجوم الحرمان من الخدمة الذي ينطلق من مورد واحد فقط. يميل المهاجمون أيضا إلى تفضيل هذه الطريقة حيث يصبح من الصعب على نحو متزايد تتبع الهجوم مرة أخرى إلى مصدره حيث أن الهجوم يأتي من نقاط متعددة.


هل يمكن أن يؤثر هجوم الـ DDoS على العملات الرقمية؟

في معظم الحالات تم استخدام هجمات الحرمان من الخدمة لاستهداف خوادم الويب الخاصة بالشركات الكبرى مثل البنوك وتجار التجزئة على الإنترنت وحتى الحكومات والخدمات العامة. ومع ذلك من المهم اعتبار أن أي جهاز أو خادم أو شبكة متصل بالإنترنت يمكن أن يكون هدفًا محتملًا لهذه الأنواع من الهجمات.

 اكتسبت العملات الرقمية شهرة في السنوات الأخيرة مما جعل منصات التداول تصبح أكثر عرضة لهجمات الحرمان من الخدمة الموزع. على سبيل المثال، عندما تم إطلاق عملة Bitcoin Gold رسميًا، أصبحت على الفور هدفاً لهجوم DDoS واسع النطاق الذي انتهى به الأمر إلى تعطيل موقعها على الويب لعدة ساعات.

ومع ذلك، فإن الجانب اللامركزي من البلوكشين يخلق لها حماية قوية ضد هجمات الـ DDoS وغيرها من الهجمات السيبرانية. حتى إذا فشلت العديد من العقد في الاتصال بالإنترنت أو ببساطة انقطعت عن الإتصال بالإنترنت فإن البلوكشين  قادرة على مواصلة التشغيل والتحقق من صحة المعاملات. عندما تتمكن العُقد المُعطلة من العودة إلى العمل، تتم إعادة مزامنتها مع أحدث البيانات التي توفرها العقد التي لم تتأثر.

ترتبط درجة الحماية لكل بلوكشين ضد هذه الهجمات بعدد العقد ومعدل التجزئة في الشبكة. مثل أكبر و أقدم العملات الرقمية البيتكوين و الذي يعتبر البلوكشين الخاصة به الأكثر أمانا. هذا يعني أن هجوم الـ DDoS وغيره من الهجمات السيبرانية أقل عرضة للتسبب في اضطرابات.

تضمن خوارزمية إثبات العمل (Proof of Work) أن جميع بيانات الشبكة مضمونة بأدلة تشفير. هذا يعني أنه يكاد يكون من المستحيل تغيير الكتل التي تم التحقق منها سابقاً. يتطلب تغيير بلوكشين البيتكوين أن يتم كشف الهيكل بالكامل تسجيل بتسجيل وهو أمر مستحيل عمليًا حتى بالنسبة لأقوى أجهزة الكمبيوتر.

وبالتالي فإن الهجوم الناجح من المحتمل أن يكون قادرًا فقط  على تعديل معاملات بعض الكتل الحديثة و لفترة قصيرة من الزمن. وحتى إذا تمكن المهاجم من السيطرة على أكثر من 50٪ من طاقة البيتكوين للقيام بما يسمى الهجوم بنسبة 51٪ (أو هجوم الأغلبية)، سيتم تحديث البروتوكول الأساسي بسرعة كرد على الهجوم.

Loading

What Is a DoS Attack?

07.01.2019

uploads/fhdm2QdkuZPejg3tAjRr.png

In short, a DoS attack - or Denial-of-Service attack - is a method used to disrupt legitimate users' access to a target network or web resource. Typically, this is accomplished by overloading the target (often a web server) with a massive amount of traffic, or by sending malicious requests that cause the target resource to malfunction or crash entirely. 

The first documented case of a Denial of Service attack was in February of 2000 when a 15-year old Canadian hacker targeted Amazon and eBay web servers with such an attack. Since then, more and more people have utilized DoS attacks to disrupt targets in many industries. 


Types of DoS attacks 

Some types of Denial of Service attacks aim to disrupt a specific target individual's access to a network or resource, while others intend to render the resource entirely inaccessible. These attacks can last anywhere from minutes to hours, and in some rare instances, even for days. These types of outages often cause major financial losses for businesses that become targets and don't have the proper mitigation strategies in place. 

Denial of Service attacks come in many different shapes and sizes. Since not all devices and networks are vulnerable in the same ways, those trying to cause harm often have to get creative in the ways they can exploit various loopholes in the system configuration. 


Some well-known types of Denial of Service exploits include: 


Buffer overflow attack 

The most common type of exploit, a buffer overflow attack relies on sending more traffic to the target than developers had originally built the system to handle. This type of attack allows the bad actor to crash or even control the targeted process. 


ICMP flood 

An ICMP flood attack targets a misconfigured device on the target network, forcing the machine to distribute bogus packets to each and every node (computer) on the target network instead of a single node, thus overloading the network. This sort of attack may often be referred to as “the ping of death” or a “smurf attack”. 


SYN flood 

A SYN flood sends a request to connect to a web server but never fully authenticates the connection. It then proceeds to target all the remaining open ports on the target web server until it forces the server to crash. 


DoS vs DDoS attacks

Another similar term that you’re likely to encounter is a DDoS attack, which stands for a Distributed Denial-of-Service attack. The difference between a Dos and a DDoS attack is that during a DDoS attack, many malicious machines are directed to target a single resource. A Distributed Denial of Service attack is far more likely to be successful in disrupting the target than a DoS attack originating from a single source. Bad actors also tend to prefer this method as it becomes increasingly difficult to trace the attack back to its source since the attack originates from multiple points. 


Can DDoS attacks affect cryptocurrencies? 

In a majority of cases, Denial of Service attacks have been used to target web servers of large corporations, such as banks, online commercial retailers, and even major government and public services - however, it’s important to consider that any device, server, or network connected to the internet could be a potential target for these types of attacks. 

As cryptocurrencies have picked up traction in recent years, crypto exchanges have become increasingly popular targets for DDoS attacks. For example, when the cryptocurrency Bitcoin Gold officially launched, it immediately became the target of a massive DDoS attack that ended up disrupting their website for multiple hours.

However, the decentralized aspect of blockchains creates a strong protection against DDoS and other cyber attacks. Even if several nodes fail to communicate or simply go offline, the blockchain is able to continue operating and validating transactions. When the disrupted nodes manage to recover and get back to work, they re-sync and catch up with the most recent data, provided by the nodes that were not affected.

The degree of protection each blockchain has against these attacks is related to the number of nodes and hash rate of the network. As the oldest and biggest cryptocurrency, Bitcoin is considered the most secure and resilient blockchain. This means that DDoS and other cyber attacks are much less likely to cause disruptions.

The Proof of Work consensus algorithm ensures that all network data is secured by cryptographic proofs. This means that it is almost impossible to change previously validated blocks. Altering the Bitcoin blockchain requires the entire structure to be unraveled record-by-record, something which is a practical impossibility even for the most powerful computers. 

Hence, a successful attack would probably only be able to modify the transactions of a few recent blocks, for a short period of time. And even if the attacker manages to control more than 50% of the Bitcoin hashing power to perform the so-called 51% attack (or majority attack), the underlying protocol would be quickly updated as a response to the attack.

Loading