ما هو هجوم Dusting؟

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

هجوم الـ Dusting هو نوع جديد نسبيًا من الأنشطة الضارة حيث يحاول المهاجمون والمخادعون اختراق خصوصية مستخدمي البيتكوين و العملات الرقمية عن طريق إرسال كميات صغيرة جدًا من العملات الرقمية إلى محافظهم الشخصية. يتم بعد ذلك تتبع نشاط المعاملات الخاصة بهذه المحافظ من قبل المهاجمين الذين يقومون بعد ذلك بإجراء تحليل مشترك لعناوين متعددة كمحاولة لتحديد هوية الشخص أو الشركة وراء كل محفظة.


ما هو الـ Dust؟

في لغة العملات الرقمية تشير كلمة Dust إلى كمية صغيرة من العملات الرقمية أو الرموز (tokens) و تكون كمية صغيرة جدًا لدرجة أن معظم المستخدمين لا يلاحظون ذلك. إذا أخذنا البيتكوين كمثال، إن أصغر وحدة من عملة البيتكوين هي 1 ساتوشي (0.00000001 BTC)، لذلك قد نستخدم مصطلح Dust للإشارة إلى بضع مئات من الساتوشي.

في منصات تداول العملات الرقمية يطلق أيضا كلمة Dust على الكميات الصغيرة من العملات التي "تتعثر" في حسابات المستخدمين بعد تنفيذ أوامر التداول. حيث تكون كمية الـ Dust هذه غير قابلة للتداول ولكن يمكن لمستخدمي بينانس تحويلها إلى BNB.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالبيتكوين، لا يوجد تعريف رسمي للـ Dust لكن يُعرّف Bitcoin Core الـ Dust بأنه أي ناتج معاملة أقل من رسوم تلك المعاملة مما يؤدي إلى مفهوم احتساب تلك الكمية كـ Dust.

من الناحية الفنية يتم إحتساب حد الـ Dust وفقًا لحجم المدخلات والمخرجات والتي تحسب عادةً 546 ساتوشي لمعاملات البيتكوين العادية (غير SegWit) و 294 ساتوشي لمعاملات SegWit الأصلية. هذا يعني أن أي معاملة منتظمة تساوي أو تقل عن 546 ساتوشي هذا يعني أن أي معاملة منتظمة تساوي أو تقل عن 546 سوف تعتبر مزعجة ومن المرجح أن يتم رفضها من قبل العقد المصادقة.


Dusting attacks

لقد أدرك المخادعون مؤخرًا أن مستخدمي العملات الرقمية لا يهتمون كثيرًا بهذه المبالغ الضئيلة التي تظهر في محافظهم لذلك بدأوا بالقيام بعمليات Dusting لعدد كبير من العناوين عن طريق إرسال عدد قليل من الساتوشي إليهم. بعد القيام بعملية الـ Dusting لعدة عناوين تكون الخطوة التالية من هجوم الـ Dusting هي القيام بتحليلًا مشتركًا لتلك العناوين المختلفة في محاولة لتحديد العناوين التي تنتمي إلى نفس المحفظة.

الهدف في النهاية من هجوم الـ Dusting هو ربط العناوين والمحافظ بشركاتها أو أفرادها. حيث يمكن للمهاجمين استخدام هذه المعرفة ضد أهدافهم إما من خلال هجمات التصيد الاحتيالي أو تهديدات الابتزاز الإلكتروني.

تم تنفيذ هجمات الـ Dusting في البداية باستخدام البيتكوين ولكنها تحدث أيضًا مع العملات الرقمية الأخرى التي تكون مبنية على أساس سلسلة مفاتيح عمومية و بلوكشين يمكن تتبعها.

في أواخر أكتوبر عام 2018 أعلن مطورو Bitcoin's Samourai Wallet أن بعض مستخدميهم تعرضوا لهجمات Dusting و أرسلت الشركة تغريدة تحذر المستخدمين من الهجمات وتشرح كيف يمكنهم حماية أنفسهم. قام فريق Samourai Wallet بتطبيق تنبيه في الوقت الفعلي لتتبع هجوم الـ Dust بالإضافة إلى ميزة "عدم الإنفاق (Do Not Spend)" التي تتيح للمستخدمين وضع علامة على الأموال المشبوهة بحيث لا يتم تضمينها في المعاملات المستقبلية.

نظرًا لأن هجمات الـ Dusting تعتمد على تحليل مشترك لعناوين متعددة إذا لم يتم نقل رصيد الـ Dust القليل فلن يتمكن المهاجمون من إجراء الاتصالات التي يحتاجونها لإلغاء إخفاء الهوية عن المحافظ. لدى Samourai Wallet بالفعل القدرة على الإبلاغ تلقائيًا عن المعاملات المشبوهة لمستخدميها. على الرغم من كون أن الحد الأقصى للـ Dust يبلغ 546 ساتوشي إلا أن العديد من الهجمات تفوقه بكثير وتتراوح عادةً بين 1000 و 5000 ساتوشي.


هوية البيتكوين

نظرًا لأن البيتكوين مفتوح المصدر ولامركزي يمكن لأي شخص إعداد محفظة والانضمام إلى الشبكة دون تقديم أي معلومات شخصية. وعلى الرغم من أن جميع معاملات البيتكوين عامة و مرئية للجميع إلا أنه ليس من السهل دائمًا العثور على الهوية وراء كل عنوان أو معاملة عامة وهذا ما يجعل البيتكوين مجهولًا إلى حد ما.

من المرجح أن تظل معاملات نظير إلى نظير (P2P) مجهولة الهوية لأنها تتم دون مشاركة أي وسيط. ولكن تقوم العديد من منصات تداول العملات الرقمية بجمع البيانات الشخصية من خلال عمليات التحقق من العملاء (KYC) مما يعني أنه عندما يقوم المستخدمون بنقل الأموال بين محافظهم الشخصية وحسابات التداول فإنهم يخاطرون بإلغاء إخفاء هويتهم بطريقة ما. من الناحية المثالية، يجب إنشاء عنوان بيتكوين جديد لكل معاملة استلام جديدة أو طلب دفع كوسيلة للحفاظ على خصوصية المستخدمين.

من المهم أن تضع في اعتبارك أن البيتكوين ليس في الحقيقة عملة سرية مجهولة على عكس ما يعتقد الكثير من الناس. إلى جانب هجمات الـ Dusting التي تم إنشاؤها مؤخرًا هناك العديد من الشركات ومختبرات الأبحاث والوكالات الحكومية التي تقوم بتحليلات على البلوكشين في محاولة لإلغاء إخفاء هوية شبكات البلوكشين ويجادل البعض بأنها حققت بالفعل تقدمًا كبيرًا.


أفكار ختامية

بينما يكاد يكون من المستحيل اختراق أو تعطيل بلوكشين البيتكوين، إلا أن محافظها غالباً ما تشكل نقطة قلق كبيرة. نظرًا لأن المستخدمين لا يتخلون عن معلوماتهم الشخصية عند إنشاء حساب، فلن يتمكنوا من إثبات السرقة إذا تمكن بعض المتسللين من الوصول إلى عملاتهم الرقمية. وحتى لو تمكنوا من ذلك فسيكون ذلك عديم الفائدة.

عندما يحتفظ المستخدم بعملاته الرقمية في محفظة شخصية، فإنه يتصرف كبنك خاص به، مما يعني أنه لا يوجد ما يمكنه فعله في حالة تعرضه للاختراق أو فقدان مفاتيحه الخاصة. تزداد الخصوصية والأمان أهمية كل يوم ليس فقط للأشخاص الذين لديهم شيء لإخفائه ولكن بالنسبة لنا جميعًا. خصوصا المستثمرين و متداولي العملات الرقمية.

بالإضافة الى هجمات الـ Dusting و الهجمات الأخرى التي تحاول الغاء اخفاء هوية المستخدمين من المهم أيضًا توخي الحذر من تهديدات الأمان الأخرى التي تشكل جزءًا من عالم العملات الرقمية. مثل Cryptojacking و Ransomware (برنامج الفدية) و Phishing (التصيد الإحتيالى). قد تتضمن تدابير الأمان الأخرى تثبيت VPN إلى جانب برنامج مكافحة فيروسات موثوق به في جميع أجهزتك وتشفير محافظك وتخزين المفاتيح الخاصة بك داخل مجلدات مشفرة.

Loading

What Is a Dusting Attack?

SHARE
What Is a Dusting Attack?

A dusting attack refers to a relatively new kind of malicious activity where hackers and scammers try and break the privacy of Bitcoin and cryptocurrency users by sending tiny amounts of coins to their personal wallets. Many Bitcoin adepts operate under the assumption that their anonymity is well protected against efforts to infiltrate their transactions, but unfortunately, that is not the case.


Dust Definition

In the language of cryptocurrencies, the term dust refers to a tiny amount of coin or token - an amount that is so small that people tend to ignore. Taking Bitcoin as an example, the smallest unit of the currency is 1 satoshi (0.00000001 BTC) and we could refer to a couple of hundreds of satoshis as dust. 

In other words, dust is a tiny transaction or amount that sometimes is not even worth sending because it is often smaller than the transaction fees. Within cryptocurrency exchanges, dust is also the name given to tiny amounts of coins that “get stuck” on users’ accounts after trading orders are executed. Dust balances are not tradeable, but Binance users are able to convert them to BNB.

Most people do not take notice of their wallet’s dust and rarely worries about its origin. Until recently, it was totally okay to not pay attention to these tiny amounts on your wallets, but with the creation of dusting attacks, we can no longer say that.


Dusting Attack

Scammers recently realized that Bitcoin users do not pay much attention to these tiny amounts showing up in their wallets, so they began "dusting" a large number of addresses by sending a few satoshis to them. They then started to track those funds and all transactions of those dusted wallets, which allowed them to link addresses and to eventually determine the companies or individuals behind those wallet addresses. This knowledge can later be used to construct targeted phishing attacks or attacks such as cyber-extortion on unaware victims. 

I know who you are, pay me and I will not reveal your identity

Dusting attacks were initially performed with Bitcoin but they are also happening with other cryptocurrencies that are running on top of a public and transparent blockchain.

In late October 2018, developers of the Bitcoin's Samourai wallet announced that some of their users were under dusting attack. The company sent out a tweet warning their users and explaining how they could protect themselves. In order to protect their users against dusting attacks, the wallet now offers a real-time alert for dust tracking as well as a “Do Not Spend” feature that enables the users to mark those suspicious funds and avoid using them in future transactions.

If a dust fund is not moved, attackers are not able to make the connections they need to "de-anonymize" the users of that wallet or the address owner. Samourai wallet already has the ability to automatically report transactions below the limit of 546 satoshis, which offers some level of protection. This limit is automatically adjusted by the software based on current market conditions.


Bitcoin Pseudonymity

Since Bitcoin is open and decentralized, anyone is able to set up a wallet and join the network without providing any personal information. Although all Bitcoin transactions are public and visible, it is not always easy to find the identity behind each public address or transaction and this is what makes Bitcoin somewhat private - but not completely.

Peer-to-peer (P2P) transactions, which are the ones made between two parties (without the involvement of any intermediary) are more likely to remain anonymous. Noteworthy, Bitcoin users are supposed to use each wallet address only once, as a way to preserve their privacy. 

However, most cryptocurrency adepts and traders make use of third-party exchanges and will eventually have their personal wallets linked to their exchange wallets, and thus, linked to their personal information. Hence, if you are into cryptocurrency trading, it is important to choose a trustworthy and secure exchange.

Therefore, it is important to keep in mind that, unlike many tend to believe, Bitcoin is not really an anonymous cryptocurrency. Besides the recently created dusting attacks, there are many companies, research labs, and governmental agencies performing blockchain analyses as a way to de-anonymize the blockchain. 


Other Privacy and Security Concerns

While the Bitcoin blockchain is nearly impossible to hack, the wallets are a weak link in this cryptocurrency chain. Since users do not give up their personal information when they create an account, they cannot prove theft if some hacker gains access to their coins - and even if they could, that would be useless. 

In fact, trying to follow up on Bitcoin theft is a futile enterprise for victims of that crime. If you hold Bitcoins in a personal wallet, which only you have access, then you are acting as your own bank and there is nothing you can do in case you lose your keys or your coins get stolen.

Privacy gets more and more valuable every day. Not only for the ones that have something to hide but for all of us. It is even more valuable for cryptocurrency traders and investors. 

Along with dusting and other de-anonymizing attacks, you should also be wary of the other security threats that are evolving very quickly in the cryptocurrency space, such as Cryptojacking, Ransomware, and Phishing. Moreover, you should consider installing a VPN along with a trustworthy antivirus in all of your devices. Also, make sure to encrypt your wallets and to store your keys inside encrypted folders.

Loading