什么是粉尘攻击?

分享
Copied to clipboard!

粉尘攻击指的是一种新型的恶意攻击活动,黑客和诈骗者将通过向用户私人钱包中发送极少量的代币以此来试图破坏比特币和加密货币用户的匿名性。许多比特币内行人都认为他们的匿名隐私权已经受到很好的保护,黑客并不能渗入到他们的交易中,然而事实情况并非如此。


粉尘定义

在加密货币的世界中,“粉尘”是人们通常可以将其忽略的极少量的货币或代币。就拿比特币为例,比特币的最小单位是1 satoshi(也就是0.00000001比特币),通常我们将小于几百satoshis的数量视为粉尘。

换句话说,粉尘就是很小部分的交易或金额,通常这部分金额都不值得交易,因为他们的交易费用常常都高于其本身价值。而交易所通常将那些“卡住”且不能被交易的极少量代币称为粉尘。

大部分人都不会注意到他们钱包中的粉尘,也很少关心这些粉尘的来源。在以前,你完全可以不注意钱包中的粉尘,但现在,随着粉尘攻击的出现,你则需要警惕起来。


粉尘攻击

诈骗者们最近意识到,比特币用户并不会太在意钱包中所出现那些极小的金额,所以他们开始向钱包地址中发送少量的satoshis,进而将这些地址“粉尘化”。之后骗子们开始追踪那些已经被粉尘化的钱包中的资金和所有的交易,继而连接上这些地址,并最后确定这些钱包地址所属的公司或个人。后来这一方面的理解被用于钓鱼攻击或诸如“我知道你是谁,给我付钱否则我将揭露你的身份”之类的威胁攻击。粉尘攻击最初是针对比特币进行的,但后来也慢慢侵染到其他流行区块链上的加密货币。

2018年10月,比特币钱包Bamourai的开发者发布公告,说他们的客户受到了粉尘攻击。随后该公司发布了一条推文提醒他们的客户,并向客户解释可以通过什么方式来保护自己。为了保护客户免受粉尘攻击,该钱包现在为客户们提供了粉尘追踪实时警报,并提供了一项名为“请勿花费”的功能,该功能将允许客户标记出那些可疑资金,从而避免在未来交易中使用它们。

如果粉尘资金不被移动,则追踪者无法与它们建立连接,至此也无法完成钱包或地址拥有者的“去匿名化”。Samourai钱包目前已经可以对低于546 satoshis的交易进行自动报警,而这也在一定程度上提供了保护。并且该软件还将根据市场变化来调整最低报警限制。

 

比特币的虚名

由于比特币是开源且去中心化的,所以任何人都可以在不提供任何个人信息的情况创建钱包并加入到网络中。尽管所有的比特币交易都是公开可见的,但想要找到某个地址或交易背后的身份信息却绝非那么容易,而这也是比特币在某种程度上是具有隐私性的原因(但也并非完全私密化)。

P2P交易是一种建立在双方之间且不存在任何中介的交易方式,且此种交易可能会保持更好匿名性。而对于比特币用户来说,最好的隐私保护方式也许就是单个钱包地址只使用一次。

然而,大多数加密货币行家和交易员都在使用第三方交易所,且最终都要将他们的私人钱包与他们的交易所钱包相连接,而此种方式也就自然而然的连接了他们的个人信息。因此,如果您想要进行加密货币交易,则尤为重要的就是选择一个可靠且安全的交易所。

所以请记住,比特币并非如大多数人所认为的那样,是一种完全匿名性的加密货币。除了最近发生的粉尘攻击外,还有很多公司、研究中心以及政府机构也都在进行区块链分析,以此来去除区块链的匿名性。


其他隐私性和安全性问题

虽然比特币区块链的破解几乎是不可能,但钱包却是整个加密链中的薄弱环节。由于用户在创建钱包时并不愿意输入他们的个人信息,所以当黑客窃取了他们的代币后,他们并不能证明这是一起盗窃事件,并且就算他们可以证明那些代币是属于他们的,那最终的结果还是无济于事。

事实上,对于比特币盗窃案件的受害者来说,试图追查被盗比特币的行为是徒劳的。当你的私人钱包中持有比特币时(只有自己可以访问),你就扮演者自己的银行机构,那么在你的私钥丢失或钱包中代币被盗时,则只有自己对此负责。

隐私的价值每天都在增长。不管是那些想要隐藏信息的人,还是普通人都是需要隐私的。而对于加密货币交易者和投资者来说则更为重要。

除了粉尘和其他去匿名攻击之外,你还需要提防加密领域其他迅速涌现的安全威胁,例如,挖矿型网络袭击Cryptojacking、勒索病毒、以及钓鱼攻击等。

Loading

What Is a Dusting Attack?

SHARE
What Is a Dusting Attack?

A dusting attack refers to a relatively new kind of malicious activity where hackers and scammers try and break the privacy of Bitcoin and cryptocurrency users by sending tiny amounts of coins to their personal wallets. Many Bitcoin adepts operate under the assumption that their anonymity is well protected against efforts to infiltrate their transactions, but unfortunately, that is not the case.


Dust Definition

In the language of cryptocurrencies, the term dust refers to a tiny amount of coin or token - an amount that is so small that people tend to ignore. Taking Bitcoin as an example, the smallest unit of the currency is 1 satoshi (0.00000001 BTC) and we could refer to a couple of hundreds of satoshis as dust. 

In other words, dust is a tiny transaction or amount that sometimes is not even worth sending because it is often smaller than the transaction fees. Within cryptocurrency exchanges, dust is also the name given to tiny amounts of coins that “get stuck” on users’ accounts after trading orders are executed. Dust balances are not tradeable, but Binance users are able to convert them to BNB.

Most people do not take notice of their wallet’s dust and rarely worries about its origin. Until recently, it was totally okay to not pay attention to these tiny amounts on your wallets, but with the creation of dusting attacks, we can no longer say that.


Dusting Attack

Scammers recently realized that Bitcoin users do not pay much attention to these tiny amounts showing up in their wallets, so they began "dusting" a large number of addresses by sending a few satoshis to them. They then started to track those funds and all transactions of those dusted wallets, which allowed them to link addresses and to eventually determine the companies or individuals behind those wallet addresses. This knowledge can later be used to construct targeted phishing attacks or attacks such as cyber-extortion on unaware victims. 

I know who you are, pay me and I will not reveal your identity

Dusting attacks were initially performed with Bitcoin but they are also happening with other cryptocurrencies that are running on top of a public and transparent blockchain.

In late October 2018, developers of the Bitcoin's Samourai wallet announced that some of their users were under dusting attack. The company sent out a tweet warning their users and explaining how they could protect themselves. In order to protect their users against dusting attacks, the wallet now offers a real-time alert for dust tracking as well as a “Do Not Spend” feature that enables the users to mark those suspicious funds and avoid using them in future transactions.

If a dust fund is not moved, attackers are not able to make the connections they need to "de-anonymize" the users of that wallet or the address owner. Samourai wallet already has the ability to automatically report transactions below the limit of 546 satoshis, which offers some level of protection. This limit is automatically adjusted by the software based on current market conditions.


Bitcoin Pseudonymity

Since Bitcoin is open and decentralized, anyone is able to set up a wallet and join the network without providing any personal information. Although all Bitcoin transactions are public and visible, it is not always easy to find the identity behind each public address or transaction and this is what makes Bitcoin somewhat private - but not completely.

Peer-to-peer (P2P) transactions, which are the ones made between two parties (without the involvement of any intermediary) are more likely to remain anonymous. Noteworthy, Bitcoin users are supposed to use each wallet address only once, as a way to preserve their privacy. 

However, most cryptocurrency adepts and traders make use of third-party exchanges and will eventually have their personal wallets linked to their exchange wallets, and thus, linked to their personal information. Hence, if you are into cryptocurrency trading, it is important to choose a trustworthy and secure exchange.

Therefore, it is important to keep in mind that, unlike many tend to believe, Bitcoin is not really an anonymous cryptocurrency. Besides the recently created dusting attacks, there are many companies, research labs, and governmental agencies performing blockchain analyses as a way to de-anonymize the blockchain. 


Other Privacy and Security Concerns

While the Bitcoin blockchain is nearly impossible to hack, the wallets are a weak link in this cryptocurrency chain. Since users do not give up their personal information when they create an account, they cannot prove theft if some hacker gains access to their coins - and even if they could, that would be useless. 

In fact, trying to follow up on Bitcoin theft is a futile enterprise for victims of that crime. If you hold Bitcoins in a personal wallet, which only you have access, then you are acting as your own bank and there is nothing you can do in case you lose your keys or your coins get stolen.

Privacy gets more and more valuable every day. Not only for the ones that have something to hide but for all of us. It is even more valuable for cryptocurrency traders and investors. 

Along with dusting and other de-anonymizing attacks, you should also be wary of the other security threats that are evolving very quickly in the cryptocurrency space, such as Cryptojacking, Ransomware, and Phishing. Moreover, you should consider installing a VPN along with a trustworthy antivirus in all of your devices. Also, make sure to encrypt your wallets and to store your keys inside encrypted folders.

Loading