ما هو هجوم إعادة الإرسال؟

مشاركة
ما هو هجوم إعادة الإرسال؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

يُعد هجوم إعادة الإرسال والذي يُطلق عليه أحيانًا هجوم التشغيل هجومًا إلكترونيًا حيث يعترض فيه الكيان الخبيث الإتصال ثم يكرر إرسال بيانات صالحة عبر شبكة وبسبب صلاحية البيانات الأصلية (التي تأتي عادة من مستخدم مصرح له) تعالج بروتوكولات الأمان الخاصة بالشبكة الهجوم كما لو كان إرسال بيانات عادي. ونظرًا لأنه يتم اعتراض الرسائل الأصلية وإعادة نقلها بشكل حرفي لا يحتاج المخترقون الذين يستخدمون هجمات إعادة الإرسال بالضرورة إلى فك تشفيرها.


ماذا يمكن أن تفعله القراصنة بهجوم إعادة الإرسال؟

يمكن استخدام هجمات إعادة الإرسال للوصول إلى المعلومات المخزنة على شبكة محمية بطريقة أخرى عن طريق تمرير أوراق اعتماد (بيانات) صالحة. كما يمكن استخدامها لخداع المؤسسات المالية لتكرار المعاملات مما يسمح للمهاجمين بسحب الأموال مباشرة من حسابات ضحاياهم. في بعض الحالات يدمج المخترقون أجزاء من الرسائل المشفرة المختلفة و يمررون النص المشفر الناتج إلى الشبكة في ما يُعرف باسم هجوم القطع واللصق. غالبًا ما يعطي رد فعل الشبكة لهذا النوع من الهجوم للهاكر معلومات قيمة يمكن استخدامها لزيادة استغلال النظام.

على الرغم من المخاطر الواضحة المرتبطة بها هناك حدود لما يمكن أن يحققه الهاكرز من خلال هجمات إعادة الإرسال وحدها. لا يمكن للهاكرز تغيير البيانات التي يتم إرسالها دون رفض الشبكة مما يحد من فعالية الهجوم لتكرار الإجراءات السابقة. هذه الهجمات هي أيضا سهلة نسبيا للدفاع ضدها. يمكن للحماية الأساسية مثل إضافة طابع زمني لنقل البيانات أن تحمي من محاولات إعادة الإرسال البسيطة. يمكن للخوادم أيضًا تخزين الرسائل المتكررة مؤقتًا وقطعها بعد عدد معين من التكرار للحد من عدد المحاولات التي يمكن أن يقوم بها المهاجم عن طريق إعادة إرسال الرسائل في تتابع سريع.


لماذا يشكل هجوم إعادة الإرسال خطرا في مجال العملات الرقمية؟

على الرغم من أنه بعيدا عن كونه مقتصرا على العملات الرقمية إلا أن هذه الهجمات لها صلة خاصة ببيئة معاملات العملات الرقمية و سجلات البلوكشين. والسبب في ذلك هو أن دفاتر الأستاذ في البلوكشين تمر أحيانًا بتغييرات في البروتوكول أو ترقيات تُعرف باسم "هارد فورك". عند حدوث هارد فورك، ينقسم دفتر الأستاذ الحالي إلى قسمين مع تشغيل الإصدار القديم للبرنامج وآخر يعمل بالإصدار الجديد المحدث. يكون الغرض من بعض الهارد فورك قط ترقية دفتر الأستاذ بينما يتفرع البعض الآخر ويشكل بفعالية عملات رقمية جديدة كليًا. من أشهر الأمثلة على الهارد فورك هو الترقية التي حدثت في بيتكوين كاش في 1 أغسطس عام 2017.

عندما يحدث الهارد فورك يصبح من الممكن نظريًا أن يوظف المهاجمون هجمات إعادة الإرسال ضد دفاتر الأستاذ الخاصة بالبلوكشين. إن المعاملة التي تتم معالجتها في دفتر الأستاذ من قبل شخص ما كانت محفظته صالحة قبل الهارد فورك سوف تكون صالحة أيضًا على الآخر. ونتيجة لذلك، يمكن للشخص الذي استلم عددًا معينًا من وحدات العملات الرقمية من شخص آخر من خلال دفتر أستاذ واحد التبديل إلى دفتر الأستاذ الآخر وتكرار المعاملة ونقل عددًا متماثلًا من الوحدات إلى حسابه مرة أخرى بطريقة احتيالية. نظرًا لأن محافظهم ليست جزءًا من التاريخ المشترك لدفتر الحسابات، فإن المستخدمين الذين يأتون إلى البلوكشين بعد حدوث هارد فورك غير معرضين لهذه الهجمات


كيف يمكن حماية البلوكشين من هذه الهجمات؟

على الرغم من أن ضعف دفتر سجلات البلوكشين الذي تم حدوث فورك به هو مصدر قلق صحيح، إلا أن بعظم الهارد فورك تتضمن بروتوكولات أمان تم تصميمها خصيصًا لمنع نجاح هذه الهجمات. تنقسم الإجراءات الفعالة ضد هجمات إعادة الإرسال إلى فئتين "strong replay protection" و "opt-in replay protection". في الأولى يتم إضافة علامة خاصة إلى دفتر الأستاذ الجديد الذي يظهر من الهارد فورك لضمان أن المعاملات التي أجريت عليه لن تكون صالحة في دفتر الأستاذ القديم و كذلك العكس، هذا هو نوع الحماية الذي تم تنفيذه عند حدوث فورك البيتكوين كاش من البيتكوين.

 يتم تنفيذ حماية إعادة الإرسال القوية تلقائيًا بمجرد حدوث هارد فورك. بينما الفئة الأخرى "opt-in replay protection" تتطلب من المستخدمين إجراء تغييرات في معاملاتهم يدويًا لضمان عدم إعادة عرضها. يمكن أن تكون حماية التمكين مفيدة في الحالات التي يُقصد بها استخدام الهارد فورك كتحديث لدفتر الأستاذ الرئيسي في العملة الرقمية بدلاً من حدوث انقسام كامل بها.

بالإضافة إلى هذه الحلول على مستوى دفتر الأستاذ يمكن للمستخدمين الأفراد أيضًا اتخاذ خطوات لحماية أنفسهم من التعرض لهجمات إعادة الإرسال. إحدى الطرق للقيام بذلك هي عن طريق قفل العملات من أن يتم نقلها إلى أن يصل دفتر الأستاذ إلى عدد معين من الكتل وبالتالي منع أي هجوم إعادة إرسال يتضمن وحدات العملة تلك من التحقق من الشبكة. مع ذلك، لا تقدم كل المحافظ أو دفاتر الأستاذ هذه الوظيفة.


الختام

تمثل هجمات إعادة الإرسال تهديدًا حقيقيًا لأمن الشبكة عندما تكون ناجحة. على عكس العديد من أنواع الهجمات الأخرى، لا تعتمد هجمات إعادة الإرسال على فك تشفير البيانات مما يجعلها حلاً فعالاً للهاكرز الذين يواجهون بروتوكولات التشفير الآمن بشكل متزايد. بسبب الهارد فورك التي تستخدم لترقية أو تقسيم البلوكشين، تكون الدفاتر المجمعة عرضة بشكل خاص لهذا النوع من الهجمات السيبرانية. ومع ذلك، توجد حلول قوية فعالة بشكل جيد في حماية أنظمة البلوكشين منها. على وجه الخصوص، بإستخدام حماية قوية من هجمات إعادة الإرسال لن يكون المهاجمين قادرين على تكرار المعاملات بعد حدوث هارد فورك.

Loading

What Is a Replay Attack?

Share
What Is a Replay Attack?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

A replay attack, sometimes also called a playback attack, is a cyber attack in which the malicious entity intercepts and then repeats a valid data transmission going through a network. Owing to the validity of the original data (which typically comes from an authorized user) the network's security protocols treat the attack as if it were a normal data transmission. Since the original messages are intercepted and re-transmitted verbatim, hackers employing replay attacks do not necessarily need to decrypt them.


What Can Hackers Do With a Replay Attack?

Replay attacks can be used to gain access to information stored on an otherwise protected network by passing it seemingly valid credentials. They can also be used to fool financial institutions into duplicating transactions, allowing attackers to draw money directly out of their victims' accounts. In some cases, hackers will combine parts of different encrypted messages and pass the resulting ciphertext to the network in what is known as a cut-and-paste attack. The network's reaction to this kind of attack will often give the hacker valuable information that can be used to further exploit the system.

Despite the obvious dangers associated with them, there are limits to what hackers can achieve with replay attacks alone. Attackers cannot change the data that is being sent without the network rejecting it, limiting the effectiveness of the attack to repeating past actions. These attacks are also relatively easy to defend against. A defense as basic as adding a timestamp to data transmission can guard against simple replay attempts. Servers can also cache repeated messages and cut them off after a certain number of repetitions to limit the number of attempts an attacker can make by replaying messages in quick succession.


Why Replay Attacks Matter in the World of Cryptocurrencies

Though they are far from exclusive to it, these attacks are particularly relevant to the environment of cryptocurrency transactions and blockchain ledgers. The reason for this is that blockchain ledgers sometimes go through protocol changes or upgrades known as hard forks. When a hard fork takes place, the existing ledger splits into two, with one running the legacy version of the software and one running the new, updated version. Some hard forks are meant merely to upgrade the ledger, while others branch off and effectively form entirely new cryptocurrencies. One of the best-known examples of a hard fork of the latter variety is the one that allowed Bitcoin Cash to fork from the main Bitcoin blockchain on August 1st, 2017.

When these hard forks occur, it becomes theoretically possible for attackers to employ replay attacks against blockchain ledgers. A transaction processed on one ledger by a person whose wallet was valid before the hard fork will also be valid on the other one. As a result, a person who received a certain number of cryptocurrency units from someone else through one ledger could switch to the other ledger, replicate the transaction and fraudulently transfer an identical number of units to his or her account a second time. Because their wallets are not part of the shared history of the ledgers, users who come to a blockchain after a hard fork takes place are not vulnerable to these attacks.


How Can Blockchains Be Protected Against These Attacks?

Although the vulnerability of forked blockchain ledgers to replay attacks is a valid concern, most hard forks include security protocols that are specifically designed to prevent these attacks from being successful. Effective measures against blockchain replay attacks fall into two categories, known as strong replay protection and opt-in replay protection. In strong replay protection, a special marker is added to the new ledger that emerges from the hard fork to ensure that the transactions conducted on it will not be valid on the legacy ledger, as well as the other way around. This is the type of protection that was implemented when Bitcoin Cash forked from Bitcoin.

When implemented, the strong replay protection is executed automatically as soon as the hard fork occurs. However, opt-in replay protection requires users to manually make changes to their transactions to ensure these cannot be replayed. Opt-in protection can be useful in instances where the hard fork is intended as an upgrade of a cryptocurrency's main ledger, rather than as a complete split from it.

In addition to these ledger-wide solutions, individual users can also take steps to protect themselves from being the victims of replay attacks. One method for doing this is by locking coins from being transferred until the ledger reaches a certain number of blocks, thus preventing any replay attack involving those coin units from being verified by the network. It should be noted, though, that not all wallets or ledgers offer this function.


Closing Thoughts

Replay attacks represent a real threat to network security when they are successful. Unlike many other types of attacks, replay attacks do not rely on the decryption of data, making them an effective workaround for malicious actors who are increasingly confronted with secure encryption protocols. Because of the hard forks that are used to upgrade or split them, blockchain ledgers are especially vulnerable to this kind of cyber attack. However, robust solutions exist that are reasonably effective in protecting blockchain systems from them. In particular, the employment of strong replay protection can guarantee that attackers will be unable to replicate transactions after a hard fork takes place.

Loading