ما هو الـ Hashing؟

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
ما هو الـ Hashing؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

تشير كلمة التجزئة (أو Hashing) الى عملية انشاء مخرجات ذي حجم ثابت عن طريق مدخلات ذي حجم متغير. يتم ذلك من خلال استخدام الصيغ الرياضية المعروفة باسم دالات التجزئة (يتم تطبيقها كـخوارزميات تجزئة). 

على الرغم من أن ليست جميع دالات التجزئة تستخدم التشفير إلا أن ما يسمى بدالات/وظائف تجزئة التشفير هي جوهر العملات الرقمية. بفضلهم تتمكن البلوكشين والأنظمة الموزعة الأخرى من الوصول الى مستويات كبيرة من نزاهة البيانات وأمانها.

تعتبر كل من وظائف التجزئة التقليدية والتشفيرية حتمية. ومعنى أن تكون حتمية هو أنه طالما لم يتغير الإدخال (المدخلات) فإن خوارزمية التجزئة ستنتج دائمًا نفسفإن خوارزمية التجزئة ستنتج دائمًا نفس المخرجات (المعروف أيضًا باسم Digest أو Hash).

عادة يتم تصميم خوارزميات التجزئة للعملات الرقمية كوظائف أحادية الاتجاه مما يعني أنه لا يمكن التراجع عنها بسهولة دون وجود كميات كبيرة من الوقت والموارد الحاسوبية. بمعنى آخر، من السهل للغاية الحصول على المخرجات من المدخلات ولكن من الصعب نسبيًا حدوث العكس (الحصول على المدخلات من المخرجات فقط). بشكل عام كلما زادت صعوبة العثور على المدخلات كلما كانت خوارزمية التجزئة أكثر أمانًا.


كيف تعمل دالات/وظائف التجزئة؟

تنتج دالات التجزئة المختلفة مخرجات بأحجام مختلفة لكن أحجام المخرجات الممكنة لكل خوارزمية تجزئة ثابتة دائمًا. على سبيل المثال لا يمكن لخوارزمية SHA-256 سوى إنتاج مخرجات يبلغ حجمها 256 bits، بينما تنشئ SHA-1 ملخصًا مكونًا من 160 bits دائمًا.

للتوضيح، لنقم بتشغيل كلمة “Binance” و “binance” من خلال خوارزمية التجزئة SHA-256 (التي يتم إستخدامها في البيتكوين).

SHA-256

Input

Output (256 bits)

Binance

f1624fcc63b615ac0e95daf9ab78434ec2e8ffe402144dc631b055f711225191

binance

59bba357145ca539dcd1ac957abc1ec5833319ddcae7f5e8b5da0c36624784b2


لاحظ أن التغيير الطفيف (في شكل الحرف الأول) أدى إلى قيمة تجزئة مختلفة تمامًا. ولكن نظرًا لأننا نستخدم SHA-256 فسيكون للمخرجات دائمًا حجم ثابت يبلغ 256-bits (أو 64 حرفًا) بغض النظر عن حجم الإدخال (Input). أيضًا لا يهم عدد المرات التي نقوم فيها بتشغيل الكلمتين خلال الخوارزمية حيث سيظل المخرجان ثابتان.

على العكس إذا قمنا بتشغيل نفس المدخلات من خلال خوارزمية تجزئة SHA-1 فسنحصل على النتائج التالية:

SHA-1

Input

Output (160 bits)

Binance

7f0dc9146570c608ac9d6e0d11f8d409a1ee6ed1

binance

e58605c14a76ff98679322cca0eae7b3c4e08936


الجدير بالذكر أن كلمة SHA هي اختصار لخوارزميات Secure Hash. وهي تشير الى مجموعة من دالات تجزئة التشفير التي تشمل خوارزميات SHA-0 و SHA-1 مع مجموعات SHA-2 و SHA-3. تعد SHA-256 جزءًا من مجموعة SHA-2 بالإضافة الى SHA-512 ومتغيرات أخرى. وحاليًا تعتبر مجموعات SHA-2 و SHA-3 فقط آمنة.


لماذا تكون مهمة؟

لدى وظائف التجزئة التقليدية مجموعة واسعة من حالات الاستخدام بما في ذلك عمليات البحث في قواعد البيانات وتحليل الملفات الكبيرة وإدارة البيانات. من ناحية أخرى تستخدم دالات التجزئة التشفيرية على نطاق واسع في تطبيقات أمن المعلومات مثل مصادقة الرسائل وبصمات الأصابع الرقمية. بالنسبة للبيتكوين دالات التجزئة التشفيرية هي جزء أساسي من عملية التعدين وتلعب أيضًا دورًا في إنشاء عناوين ومفاتيح جديدة.

القوة الحقيقية للتجزئة تأتي عند التعامل مع كم هائل من المعلومات. على سبيل المثال يمكن تشغيل ملف كبير أو مجموعة بيانات من خلال دالة هاش ثم استخدام ناتجها للتحقق بسرعة من دقة وتكامل البيانات. وهذا ممكن بسبب الطبيعة الحتمية لدالات التجزئة: حيث تؤدي المدخلات دائما إلى مخرجات مبسطة ومكثفة (هاش). هذه التقنية تزيل الحاجة إلى تخزين وتذكر كميات كبيرة من البيانات.

تكون التجزئة مفيدة بشكل خاص في سياق تقنية البلوكشين. يحتوى بلوكشين البيتكوين على العديد من العمليات التي تتضمن التجزئة معظمها يكون في عملية التعدين. في الواقع، تعتمد جميع بروتوكولات العملات الرقمية تقريبًا على التجزئة لربط مجموعات المعاملات وتكثيفها في كتل. وأيضًا لإنشاء روابط مشفرة بين كل كتلة ما يؤدي إلى إنشاء بلوكشين بشكل فعال.


دالات هاش التشفيرية

مرة أخرى، يمكن تعريف دالة هاش (التجزئة) التي تستخدم تقنيات التشفير على أنها دالة هاش التشفيرية. يتطلب اختراق دالة هاش التشفيرية عدد لا يحصى من محاولات هجوم القوة العمياء (brute-force). لكي يتم عكس دالة هاش التشفيرية يجب أن يخمنوا ماذا كانت المدخلات عن طريق التجربة والخطأ حتى يتم إنتاج المخرجات المقابلة. لكن من الممكن أيضا أن تنتج مدخلات مختلفة نفس المخرجات وفي هذه الحالة يحدث “تصادم أو collision”.

من الناحية الفنية تحتاج دالة التجزئة التشفيرية إلى اتباع ثلاث خصائص حتى يمكن اعتبارها آمنة بشكل فعال. قد نصف تلك الخصائص بالتالي: collision resistance و preimage resistance و second preimage resistance.

قبل مناقشة كل خاصية دعونا نلخص المنطق الخاص بهم في ثلاث جمل قصيرة.

  • Collision resistance (مقاومة للتصادم): لا يمكن العثور على أي مُدخلين مختلفين ينتجان نفس التجزئة (الـهاش) كمخرجات.

  • Preimage resistance: لا يمكن “عكس” وظيفة التجزئة (البحث عن المدخلات من مخرجات معينة).

  • Second-preimage resistance: لا يمكن العثور على أي مُدخل ثاني يصطدم مع مُدخل أخر محدد.


Collision resistance

كما ذكرنا من قبل، يحدث تصادم عندما تنتج مدخلات مختلفة نفس التجزئة بالضبط. وبالتالي تعتبر دالة التجزئة مقاومة للاصطدام حتى اللحظة التي يجد فيها شخص ما تصادمًا. لاحظ أن الاصطدامات ستكون موجودة دائمًا لأي دالة تجزئة لأن المدخلات المحتملة غير محدودة في حين أن المخرجات المحتملة محدودة.

بعبارة أخرى، تكون دالة التجزئة مقاومة للاصطدام عندما تكون إمكانية العثور على تصادم منخفضة للغاية بحيث تتطلب ملايين السنين من العمليات الحسابية. لذلك على الرغم من عدم وجود دالات تجزئة خالية من التصادم إلا أن بعضها قوي بما فيه الكفاية ليتم اعتباره مقاومًا (على سبيل المثال SHA-256).

من بين خوارزميات SHA المختلفة لم تعد مجموعات SHA-0 و SHA-1 آمنة نظرًا لوجود تصادمات. تعتبر حاليا مجموعات SHA-2 و SHA-3 مقاومة للتصادم.


Preimage resistance

ترتبط خاصية preimage resistance بمفهوم الوظائف أحادية الاتجاه. حيث تعتبر دالة التجزئة preimage-resistant عندما يكون هناك احتمال ضئيل للغاية لإيجاد شخص ما المدخلات التي تنتج مخرجات معينة.

مع الوضع بالإعتبار أن هذه الخاصية تختلف عن تلك السابقة لأن أحد المهاجمين سيحاول تخمين ماذا كانت المدخلات من خلال النظر في مخرجات معينة. من ناحية أخرى يحدث تصادم عندما يعثر شخص ما على مدخلات مختلفة تولد نفس المخرجات ولكن لا يهم المدخلات التي تم استخدامها.

تعد خاصية preimage resistance ذات قيمة في حماية البيانات لأن هاش بسيط من الرسالة يمكن أن يثبت مصداقيتها دون الحاجة إلى الكشف عن أي معلومات. عند تطبيقها عمليا، يقوم العديد من مقدمي الخدمات وتطبيقات الويب بتخزين واستخدام التجزئة (الـ hashes) المتولدة من كلمات المرور بدلاً من كلمات المرور في النص العادي.


Second-preimage resistance

للتبسيط قد نقول أن Second-preimage resistance تقع في مكان ما بين الخصائص الأخرى السابقة. يحدث هجوم second-preimage عندما يتمكن شخص ما من العثور على مُدْخَل محدد يولد نفس ناتج مُدْخَل آخر يعرفه بالفعل.

بمعنى اخر، فإن هجوم second-preimage يتضمن العثور على تصادم ولكن بدلاً من البحث عن إثنين من المدخلات العشوائية التي تولد نفس الهاش كناتج، فإنهم يبحثون عن مُدْخَل يولد نفس الهاش الذي تم إنشاؤه بواسطة مُدْخَل محدد آخر.

لذلك فإن أي دالة تجزئة مقاومة للاصطدامات تكون أيضًا مقاومة لهجمات second-preimage حيث أن الأخيرة سوف تعني حدوث تصادم دائمًا. لكن لا يزال بوسع المهاجمون القيام بهجمة مبكرة على دالة مقاومة للاصطدام لأنها تتضمن إيجاد مُدْخَل واحد من مُخْرَج واحد.


التعدين

هناك العديد من الخطوات في عملية تعدين البيتكوين التي تحتوي على دالات تجزئة مثل التحقق من الأرصدة وربط المدخلات والمخرجات بالمعاملات وتجزئة المعاملات داخل كتلة لتكوين Merkle Tree. لكن أحد الأسباب الرئيسية التي تجعل بلوكشين البيتكوين آمَن هو حقيقة أن القائمون على التعدين بحاجة إلى عدد لا يحصى من عمليات التجزئة من أجل إيجاد حل صالح للكتلة التالية.

وعلى وجة التحديد يتعين على القائم على التعدين تجربة عدة مدخلات مختلفة عند إنشاء قيمة تجزئة للكتلة المرشحة الخاصة بهم. في جوهرها سيتمكنون فقط من التحقق من صحة الكتلة الخاصة بهم إذا قاموا بإنشاء هاش ناتج يبدأ بعدد معين من الأصفار. عدد الأصفار هو الذي يحدد صعوبة التعدين ويختلف وفقًا لمعدل التجزئة المخصص للشبكة.

في هذه الحالة يمثل معدل التجزئة مقدار الطاقة الحاسوبية التي يتم استثمارها في تعدين البيتكوين. في حالة زيادة معدل تجزئة الشبكة سيقوم بروتوكول البيتكوين تلقائيًا بضبط صعوبة التعدين بحيث يظل متوسط الوقت اللازم لتعدين كتلة قريبًا من 10 دقائق. في المقابل إذا قرر العديد من القائمين على التعدين إيقاف التعدين مما سيؤدي الى انخفاض معدل التجزئة بشكل كبير فسيتم ضبط صعوبة التعدين مما يسهل عملية التعدين (حتى يعود متوسط وقت تعدين الكتلة إلى 10 دقائق).

لاحظ أنه لا يتعين على القائمين على التعدين العثور على اصطدامات نظرًا لوجود العديد من الهاشات التي يمكنهم إنشاؤها كمخرجات صالحة (بداية بعدد معين من الأصفار). لذلك هناك العديد من الحلول الممكنة لكتلة معينة ولا يتعين على القائمين على التعدين العثور على واحد منها وفقًا للبداية التي تحددها صعوبة التعدين. 

نظرًا لأن عملية تعدين البيتكوين مكلفة للغاية، فإن القائمين على التعدين ليس لديهم سبب كافي لخداع النظام لأن هذا سيؤدي إلى خسائر مالية كبيرة. كلما انضم عدد أكبر من القائمين على التعدين للبلوكشين كلما أصبحت قوية أكثر.


أفكار ختامية

ليس هناك أي شك في أن دالات التجزئة هي أدوات أساسية في علوم الكمبيوتر خاصة عند التعامل مع كميات هائلة من البيانات. يمكن أن تكون خوارزميات التجزئة متعددة الاستخدامات عند دمجها مع التشفير مما يوفر الأمان والمصادقة بعدة طرق مختلفة. على هذا النحو تعد دالات التجزئة التشفيرية مهمة للغاية بالنسبة لجميع شبكات العملات الرقمية تقريبًا. لذلك فإن فهم خصائصها وآليات عملها مفيد بالتأكيد لأي شخص مهتم بتقنية البلوكشين.

Loading

What Is Hashing?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
What Is Hashing?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Hashing refers to the process of generating a fixed-size output from an input of variable size. This is done through the use of mathematical formulas known as hash functions (implemented as hashing algorithms). 

Although not all hash functions involve the use of cryptography, the so-called cryptographic hash functions are at the core of cryptocurrencies. Thanks to them, blockchains and other distributed systems are able to achieve significant levels of data integrity and security.

Both conventional and cryptographic hash functions are deterministic. Being deterministic means that as long as the input doesn’t change, the hashing algorithm will always produce the same output (also known as digest or hash).

Typically, the hashing algorithms of cryptocurrencies are designed as one-way functions, meaning they cannot be easily reverted without large amounts of computing time and resources. In other words, it is quite easy to create the output from the input, but relatively difficult to go in the opposite direction (to generate the input from the output alone). Generally speaking, the more difficult it is to find the input, the more secure the hashing algorithm is considered to be.


How does a hash function work?

Different hash functions will produce outputs of differing sizes, but the possible output sizes for each hashing algorithm is always constant. For instance, the SHA-256 algorithm can only produce outputs of 256 bits, while the SHA-1 will always generate a 160-bits digest.

To illustrate, let’s run the words “Binance” and “binance” through the SHA-256 hashing algorithm (the one used in Bitcoin).

SHA-256

Input

Output (256 bits)

Binance

f1624fcc63b615ac0e95daf9ab78434ec2e8ffe402144dc631b055f711225191

binance

59bba357145ca539dcd1ac957abc1ec5833319ddcae7f5e8b5da0c36624784b2


Note that a minor change (the casing of the first letter) resulted in a totally different hash value. But since we are using SHA-256, the outputs will always have a fixed size of 256-bits (or 64 characters) - regardless of the input size. Also, it doesn’t matter how many times we run the two words through the algorithm, the two outputs will remain constant.

Conversely, if we run the same inputs through the SHA-1 hashing algorithm, we would have the following results:

SHA-1

Input

Output (160 bits)

Binance

7f0dc9146570c608ac9d6e0d11f8d409a1ee6ed1

binance

e58605c14a76ff98679322cca0eae7b3c4e08936


Notably, the acronym SHA stands for Secure Hash Algorithms. It refers to a set of cryptographic hash functions that include the SHA-0 and SHA-1 algorithms along with the SHA-2 and SHA-3 groups. The SHA-256 is part of the SHA-2 group, along with SHA-512 and other variants. Currently, only the SHA-2 and SHA-3 groups are considered secure.


Why do they matter?

Conventional hash functions have a wide range of use cases, including database lookups, large files analyses, and data management. On the other hand, cryptographic hash functions are extensively used in information-security applications, such as message authentication and digital fingerprinting. When it comes to Bitcoin, cryptographic hash functions are an essential part of the mining process and also play a role in the generation of new addresses and keys.

The real power of hashing comes when dealing with enormous amounts of information. For instance, one can run a big file or dataset through a hash function and then use its output to quickly verify the accuracy and integrity of the data. This is possible because of the deterministic nature of hash functions: the input will always result in a simplified, condensed output (hash). Such a technique removes the need to store and “remember” large amounts of data.

Hashing is particularly useful within the context of blockchain technology. The Bitcoin blockchain has several operations that involve hashing, most of them within the process of mining. In fact, nearly all cryptocurrency protocols rely on hashing to link and condense groups of transactions into blocks, and also to produce cryptographic links between each block, effectively creating a blockchain.


Cryptographic hash functions

Again, a hash function that deploys cryptographic techniques may be defined as a cryptographic hash function. In general, breaking a cryptographic hash function requires a myriad of brute-force attempts. For a person to “revert” a cryptographic hash function, they would need to guess what the input was by trial and error until the corresponding output is produced. However, there is also the possibility of different inputs producing the exact same output, in which case a “collision” occurs.

Technically, a cryptographic hash function needs to follow three properties to be considered effectively secure. We may describe those as collision resistance, preimage resistance, and second preimage resistance.

Before discussing each property, let’s summarize their logic in three short sentences.

  • Collision resistance: infeasible to find any two distinct inputs that produce the same hash as output.

  • Preimage resistance: infeasible to “revert” the hash function (find the input from a given output).

  • Second-preimage resistance: infeasible to find any second input that collides with a specified input.


Collision resistance

As mentioned, a collision happens when different inputs produce the exact same hash. Thus, a hash function is considered collision-resistant until the moment someone finds a collision. Note that collisions will always exist for any hash function because the possible inputs are infinite, while the possible outputs are finite.

Put in another way, a hash function is collision-resistant when the possibility of finding a collision is so low that it would require millions of years of computations. So despite the fact that there are no collision-free hash functions, some of them are strong enough to be considered resistant (e.g., SHA-256).

Among the various SHA algorithms, the SHA-0 and SHA-1 groups are no longer secure because collisions have been found. Currently, the SHA-2 and SHA-3 groups are considered resistant to collisions.


Preimage resistance

The property of preimage resistance is related to the concept of one-way functions. A hash function is considered preimage-resistant when there is a very low probability of someone finding the input that generated a particular output.

Note that this property is different from the previous one because an attacker would be trying to guess what was the input by looking at a given output. A collision, on the other hand, occurs when someone finds two different inputs that generate the same output, but it doesn’t matter which inputs were used.

The property of preimage resistance is valuable for protecting data because a simple hash of a message can prove its authenticity, without the need to disclose the information. In practice, many service providers and web applications store and use hashes generated from passwords rather than the passwords in plaintext.


Second-preimage resistance

To simplify, we may say that the second-preimage resistance is somewhere in between the other two properties. A second-preimage attack occurs when someone is able to find a specific input that generates the same output of another input that they already know.

In other words, a second-preimage attack involves finding a collision, but instead of searching for two random inputs that generate the same hash, they search for an input that generates the same hash that was generated by another specific input.

Therefore, any hash function that is resistant to collisions is also resistant to second-preimage attacks, as the latter will always imply a collision. However, one can still perform a preimage attack on a collision-resistant function as it implies finding a single input from a single output.


Mining

There are many steps in Bitcoin mining that involves hash functions, such as checking balances, linking transactions inputs and outputs, and hashing transactions within a block to form a Merkle Tree. But one of the main reasons Bitcoin blockchain is secure is the fact that miners need to perform a myriad of hashing operations in order to eventually find a valid solution for the next block.

Specifically, a miner has to try several different inputs when creating a hash value for their candidate block. In essence, they will only be able to validate their block if they generate an output hash that starts with a certain number of zeros. The number of zeros is what determines the mining difficulty, and it varies according to the hash rate devoted to the network.

In this case, the hash rate represents how much computer power is being invested in Bitcoin mining. If the network`s hash rate increases, the Bitcoin protocol will automatically adjust the mining difficulty so that the average time needed to mine a block remains close to 10 minutes. In contrast, if several miners decide to stop mining, causing the hash rate to drop significantly, the mining difficulty will be adjusted, making it easier to mine (until the average block time comes back to 10 minutes).

Note that miners don't have to find collisions because there are multiple hashes they can generate as a valid output (starting of a certain number of zeros). So there are several possible solutions for a certain block, and miners only have to find one of them - according to the threshold determined by the mining difficulty. 

Because Bitcoin mining is a cost-intensive task, miners have no reason to cheat the system as it would lead to significant financial losses. The more miners join a blockchain, the bigger and stronger it gets.


Closing thoughts

There is no doubt that hash functions are essential tools in computer science, especially when dealing with huge amounts of data. When combined with cryptography, hashing algorithms can be quite versatile, offering security and authentication in many different ways. As such, cryptographic hash functions are vital to nearly all cryptocurrencies networks, so understanding their properties and working mechanisms is certainly helpful for anyone interested in blockchain technology.

Loading