ما هو الـ PGP؟

مشاركة
Copied to clipboard!
ما هو الـ PGP؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

كلمة PGP هي إختصار لـ Pretty Good Privacy و تعني الخصوصية الجيدة جدا. إنه برنامج تشفير مصمم لتوفير الخصوصية والأمان وأيضا يقوم بالمصادقة لأنظمة الاتصال عبر الإنترنت. Phil Zimmerman هو صاحب أول برنامج PGP ووفقًا له تم توفيره مجانًا نظرًا للطلب الاجتماعي المتزايد على الخصوصية.

تم إنشاء العديد من إصدارات برنامج PGP منذ نشأته في عام 1991. وفي عام 1997 قدم Phil Zimmerman اقتراحًا لفريق مهام هندسة الإنترنت (IETF) لإنشاء معيار PGP مفتوح المصدر. بعد ذلك تم قبول الاقتراح وأدى إلى إنشاء بروتوكول OpenPGP الذي يحدد تنسيقات المعايير لمفاتيح التشفير والرسائل.

على الرغم من استخدامه مبدئيًا فقط لتأمين رسائل البريد الإلكتروني والمرفقات، إلا أنه  يتم تطبيق PGP الآن على مجموعة واسعة من حالات الاستخدام بما في ذلك التوقيعات الرقمية وتشفير القرص بالكامل وحماية الشبكات.

كان PGP مملوك مبدئيًا لشركة PGP Inc التي اشترتها لاحقًا Network Associates Inc. و في عام 2010 قامت Symantec Corp بشراء PGP مقابل 300 مليون دولار وأصبح المصطلح الآن علامة تجارية تستخدم لمنتجاتها المتوافقة مع OpenPGP.


كيف يعمل؟

يعد PGP من بين أول البرامج المتاحة على نطاق واسع لتنفيذ تشفير المفتاح العام. وهو نظام تشفير هجين يستخدم التشفير المتماثل وغير المتماثل لتحقيق مستوى عالٍ من الأمان.

في عملية بسيطة لتشفير نص، يتم تحويل نص عادي (بيانات يمكن فهمها بوضوح) إلى نص مشفر (بيانات غير قابلة للقراءة).  ولكن قبل إجراء عملية التشفير تقوم معظم أنظمة PGP بضغط البيانات من خلال ضغط ملفات النص العادي قبل إرسالها لكي يحفظ PGP مساحة القرص ووقت الإرسال مع تحسين الأمان أيضًا.

بعد ضغط الملف، تبدأ عملية التشفير الفعلية. وفي هذه المرحلة  يتم تشفير ملف النص العادي المضغوط باستخدام مفتاح للاستخدام الفردي  والذي يُعرف باسم مفتاح الجلسة (session key). يتم إنشاء هذا المفتاح بشكل عشوائي من خلال استخدام تشفير متماثل ولكل جلسة اتصال PGP مفتاح جلسة فريد.

بعد ذلك، تم تشفير مفتاح الجلسة (1) نفسه باستخدام تشفير غير متماثل  يوفر المتلقي المقصود (Bob) مفتاحه العام (2) إلى مرسل الرسالة (Alice) حتى تتمكن من تشفير مفتاح الجلسة. تتيح هذه الخطوة لـ Alice مشاركة مفتاح الجلسة بأمان مع Bob عبر الإنترنت بغض النظر عن ظروف الأمان.

ما هو الـ PGP؟


يتم عادةً التشفير غير المتماثل لمفتاح الجلسة من خلال استخدام خوارزمية RSA.  تستخدم العديد من أنظمة التشفير الأخرى RSA  بما في ذلك بروتوكول أمان طبقة النقل (TLS) أو (Transport Layer Security) الذي يؤمن جزءًا كبيرًا من الإنترنت.

بمجرد إرسال النص المشفر للرسالة ومفتاح الجلسة المشفر،  يستطيع بوب استخدام مفتاحه الخاص (3) لفك تشفير مفتاح الجلسة والذي يستخدم بعد ذلك لفك تشفير النص المشفر مرة أخرى و تحويلة إلى النص العادي الأصلي.


ما هو الـ PGP؟


بصرف النظر عن العملية الأساسية للتشفير وفك التشفير، يدعم PGP أيضًا التوقيعات الرقمية، التي تخدم ثلاث وظائف على الأقل:

  • المصادقة: يستطيع بوب التحقق من أن مرسل الرسالة هو أليس.

  • النزاهة: يمكن أن يكون بوب على يقين من أن الرسالة لم تتغير.

  • عدم النكران: بعد توقيع الرسالة رقمياً ، لا تستطيع أليس أن تدعي أنها لم ترسلها.


حالات الإستخدام

أحد أكثر استخدامات PGP شيوعًا هو تأمين رسائل البريد الإلكتروني. يتم تحويل البريد الإلكتروني المحمي بواسطة PGP إلى سلسلة من الأحرف غير قابلة للقراءة (نص مشفر) ولا يمكن فك تشفيرها إلا باستخدام مفتاح فك التشفير المقابل. تكون آليات العمل هي نفسها من الناحية العملية لتأمين الرسائل النصية. وهناك أيضًا بعض تطبيقات البرامج التي تسمح بتنفيذ PGP على رأس التطبيقات الأخرى  مما يضيف بشكل فعال نظام تشفير إلى خدمات المراسلة غير الآمنة.

على الرغم من استخدام PGP في الغالب لتأمين اتصالات الإنترنت، إلا أنه يمكن تطبيقه أيضًا لتشفير الأجهزة الفردية. وهذا يعني أنه  قد يتم تطبيق PGP على أقسام القرص لجهاز كمبيوتر أو جهاز محمول. بمعنى أنه عند تشفير القرص الصلب سيُطلب من المستخدم تقديم كلمة مرور في كل مرة يقوم فيها النظام ببدء التشغيل.


المميزات والعيوب

بفضل الاستخدام المشترك للتشفير المتماثل و التشفير غير المتماثل،  يسمح PGP للمستخدمين بمشاركة المعلومات ومفاتيح التشفير بشكل آمن عبر الإنترنت. يستفيد PGP من كلاً من أمان التشفير غير المتماثل وسرعة التشفير المتماثل كنظام هجين.  بالإضافة إلى الأمان والسرعة تضمن التواقيع الرقمية أيضا سلامة البيانات وصحة المرسل.

يتم الآن توفير بروتوكول OpenPGP المسموح به لظهور بيئة تنافسية موحدة وحلول PGP من قبل العديد من الشركات والمؤسسات.  ومع ذلك فإن جميع برامج PGP التي تتوافق مع معايير OpenPGP متوافقة مع بعضها البعض. هذا يعني أنه يمكن استخدام الملفات والمفاتيح التي تم إنشاؤها في أحد البرامج في برامج أخرى دون مشاكل.

أما بالنسبة للعيوب،  فإن أنظمة PGP ليست سهلة الاستخدام والفهم خاصة بالنسبة للمستخدمين الذين لديهم القليل من المعرفة التقنية. و أيضا يعتبر طول المفاتيح العامة الطويل من قبل الكثيرين غير مريح نسبيا.

في عام 2018، تم نشر ثغرة أمنية كبيرة تسمى EFAIL بواسطة Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF). أتاح EFAIL للمهاجمين استغلال محتوى HTML النشط في رسائل البريد الإلكتروني المشفرة للوصول إلى إصدارات الرسائل غير المشفرة

لكن بعض المخاوف التي وصفها EFAIL كانت معروفة بالفعل من قبل مجتمع PGP منذ أواخر التسعينيات.  وفي الواقع،  ترتبط نقاط الضعف بالتطبيقات المختلفة من جانب عملاء البريد الإلكتروني وليس بـ PGP نفسه. لذلك على الرغم من العناوين الرئيسية المزعجة والمضللة فإن PGP لا يزال آمن للغاية.


أفكار ختامية

أصبح PGP أداة أساسية لحماية البيانات ويستخدم الآن في مجموعة واسعة من التطبيقات منذ إنشائه في عام 1991، حيث يوفر الخصوصية والأمان والمصادقة للعديد من أنظمة الاتصالات ومقدمي الخدمات الرقمية.

في حين أن اكتشاف 2018 من عيب EFAIL أثار مخاوف كبيرة حول جدوى البروتوكول، إلا أنها لا تزال  تعتبر التكنولوجيا الأساسية قوية وسليمة من ناحية التشفير. تجدر الإشارة أيضا إلى أن تطبيقات PGP المختلفة قد تقدم مستويات مختلفة من الأمان.

Loading

What Is PGP?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
What Is PGP?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

PGP stands for Pretty Good Privacy. It is an encryption software designed to provide privacy, security, and authentication for online communication systems. Phil Zimmerman is the name behind the first PGP program, and according to him, it was made freely available due to the growing social demand for privacy.

Since its creation in 1991, many versions of PGP software were created. In 1997, Phil Zimmerman made a proposal to the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) for the creation of an open-source PGP standard. The proposal was accepted and led to the creation of the OpenPGP protocol, which defines standards formats for encryption keys and messages.

Although initially used only for securing email messages and attachments, PGP is now applied to a wide range of use cases, including digital signatures, full disk encryption, and network protection.

PGP was initially owned by the company PGP Inc, which was later acquired by Network Associates Inc. In 2010, Symantec Corp. acquired PGP for $300 million, and the term is now a trademark used for their OpenPGP-compliant products.


How does it work?

PGP is among the first widely available software to implement public key cryptography. It is a hybrid cryptosystem that uses both symmetric and asymmetric encryption to achieve a high level of security.

In a basic process of text encryption, a plaintext (data that can be clearly understood) is converted into ciphertext (unreadable data). But before the process of encryption takes place, most PGP systems perform data compression. By compressing plaintext files prior to transmitting them, PGP saves both disk space and transmission time - while also improving security.

Following the file compression, the actual process of encryption begins. At this stage, the compressed plaintext file is encrypted with a single-use key, which is known as the session key. This key is randomly generated through the use of symmetric cryptography, and each PGP communication session has a unique session key.

Next, the session key (1) itself is encrypted using asymmetric encryption: the intended receiver (Bob) provides his public key (2) to the sender of the message (Alice) so that she can encrypt the session key. This step allows Alice to safely share the session key with Bob through the Internet, regardless of security conditions.

What Is PGP?

The asymmetric encryption of the session key is usually done through the use of the RSA algorithm. Many other encryption systems use RSA, including the Transport Layer Security (TLS) protocol that secures a great portion of the Internet.

Once the message's ciphertext and the encrypted session key are transmitted, Bob can use his private key (3) to decrypt the session key, which is then used to decrypt the ciphertext back into the original plaintext.

What Is PGP?

Aside from the basic process of encryption and decryption, PGP also supports digital signatures - which serve at least three functions: 

  • Authentication: Bob can verify that the sender of the message was Alice.

  • Integrity: Bob can be sure that the message wasn’t altered.

  • Non-repudiation: after the message is digitally signed, Alice cannot claim she didn’t send it.


Use cases

One of the most common uses for PGP is to secure emails. An email that is protected with PGP is turned into a string of characters that are unreadable (ciphertext) and can only be deciphered with the corresponding decryption key. The working mechanisms are practically the same for securing text messages, and there are also some software applications that allow PGP to be implemented on top of other Apps, effectively adding an encryption system to non-secured messaging services.

Although PGP is mostly used to secure internet communications, it can also be applied to encrypt individual devices. In this context, PGP may be applied to disk partitions of a computer or mobile device. By encrypting the hard disk, the user will be required to provide a password every time the system boots up.


Advantages and disadvantages

Thanks to its combined use of symmetric and asymmetric encryption, PGP allows users to securely share information and cryptographic keys through the Internet. As a hybrid system, PGP benefits from both the security of asymmetric cryptography and the speed of symmetric encryption. In addition to security and speed, digital signatures ensure the integrity of the data and authenticity of the sender. 

The OpenPGP protocol allowed for the emergence of a standardized competitive environment and PGP solutions are now provided by multiple companies and organizations. Still, all PGP programs that comply with the OpenPGP standards are compatible with each other. This means that files and keys generated in one program may be used in another without problems.

Regarding the disadvantages, PGP systems are not that simple to use and understand, especially for users with little technical knowledge. Also, the long length of the public keys is deemed by many as quite inconvenient. 

In 2018, a major vulnerability called EFAIL was published by the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF). EFAIL made it possible for attackers to exploit active HTML content in encrypted emails to gain access to the plaintext versions of messages.

However, some of the concerns described by EFAIL were already known by the PGP community since the late 1990s and, in fact, the vulnerabilities are related to the different implementations on the part of email clients, and not with PGP itself. So despite the alarming and misleading headlines, PGP is not broken and continues to be highly secure.


Closing thoughts

Since its development in 1991, PGP has been an essential tool for data protection and is now used in a wide range of applications, providing privacy, security, and authentication for several communication systems and digital service providers. 

While the 2018 discovery of the EFAIL flaw raised significant concerns about the protocol's viability, the core technology is still regarded as robust and cryptographically sound. It is worth noting that different PGP implementations may present varying levels of security.

Loading