什么是公钥密码学?

分享
Copied to clipboard!
什么是公钥密码学?

什么是公钥密码学?

公钥密码学(PKC)又称非对称密码学,是一种同时使用公钥和私钥的机制,与使用单一密钥的对称密码学相对应。密钥对的使用赋予了PKC独特的功能和特性,以解决存在于其他密码学技术中的固有挑战。此种形式的密码学已经成为现代计算机安全中重要原理,同时也是日益增长的加密货币生态系统的关键组成部分。


公钥密码学的工作原理

在PKC体系中,发送方使用公钥来加密信息,而接收方则使用私钥来解密信息。由于两个密钥的完全不同,因此可以安然的进行公钥共享,而并不用担心会损害私钥的安全性。每组非对称密钥对都是唯一的,所以就确保了使用公钥加密的信息只能由持有对应私钥的人才能进行读取。

并且,由于非对称加密算法生成的密钥对之间是数学相关的,所以它们的密钥长度相比于对称密码学使用的密钥要长的多。其长度通常为1024位或2048位,所以使用公钥来计算对应私钥也就变得极其困难。现如今,最常见的非对称加密算法被称为RSA。在RSA方案中,密钥是通过两个数相乘(通常为两个较大的质数)得到的公共模数来生成。其中模数将生成两个密钥,一个是可以共享的公钥,另一个是需要保密的私钥。RSA算法在1977年由Rivest、Shamir以及Adleman(所以叫RSA)首次提出,而现在也仍然是公钥密码学系统的重要组成部分。


使用PKC来作为加密工具

公钥密码学解决了对称算法中长期存在的问题,即加密密钥和解密密钥之间的通信问题。在不安全的连接中发送对称密钥将会产生将其暴露给第三方的风险,而第三方随后则可以读取任何由该共享密钥所加密的信息。虽然存在诸如迪菲-赫尔曼密钥交换协议等加密学技术来解决这一问题,但这些密钥仍是容易受到攻击的。而在公钥密码学中完全不用担心此问题,且用于加密的密钥可以在任何网络连接中共享。至此,与对称算法相比,非对称算法就提供了更高级别的保护。


数字签名中的用例

非对称密码学算法的另一个应用就是使用数字签名来验证数据。本质上来说,数字签名就是使用信息中的数据所创建的散列。当信息被发送之后,接收方可以使用发送方的公钥来核实签名,以此来验证消息的来源并确保信息未被篡改。在某些情况下,数字签名和加密技术是同时应用的,这是因为散列本身也可能是被加密的。然而需要注意的是,并非所有的数字签名体系都是使用加密技术的。

 

局限性

的确,PKC的可以用于提高计算机的安全性并验证信息的完整性,但其也存在一定的局限性。由于加密和解密涉及到复杂的数学操作,所以非对称算法在处理大量数据时也可能略显缓慢。且此类型密码学也很大程度的依赖于私钥保密的假设。倘若意外的共享或公开了私钥,则使用其对应公钥加密的信息的安全性就会受到影响。有时用户的私钥也可能意外丢失,而这种情况下用户将失去对加密数据的访问权。


公钥密码学的应用

此种密码学被许多现在计算机系统所使用来为敏感信息提供安全保障。就比如,可以使用公钥密码学技术来对电子邮件进行加密,以确保其中内容的机密性。同时允许网站安全连接的安全套接层(SSL)协议也使用了非对称密码学。PKC系统也被用于安全电子投票环境的探索(此种电子投票环境将允许选民在家庭电脑上参与选举)。

PKC的特性在区块链加密货币技术中也表现突出。当新的加密货币钱包被创建时,就会生成一对密钥(公钥和私钥)。公共地址是使用公钥生成的,并可以安全的与他人共享。另一方面,私钥被用于创建数字签名和验证交易,所以必须要保密。当交易被数字签名中的认证散列验证之后,就可以被添加到区块链账本中。该数字签名系统确保了只有拥有加密货币钱包对应私钥的用户才能从钱包中获取资金。但值得注意的是,加密货币应用中所使用的非对称密码与计算机安全目的中所用的却不同。例如,比特币以太坊所使用的是椭圆曲线数字签名算法(ECDSA)来验证交易。

从计算机安全到验证加密货币交易可以看出,公钥密码学在现代数字系统的安全保护方面发挥了关键作用。通过使用成对的公钥和私钥,非对称密码学算法解决了对称密码中固有的安全问题。对于PKC的使用已经经历了多年,且也在不断开发其在新兴领域内的应用,特别是区块链和加密货币领域。

Loading

What is Public Key Cryptography?

Share
Copied to clipboard!
What is Public Key Cryptography?
Listen to this article
00:00 / 00:00

Public key cryptography (PKC), also known as asymmetric cryptography, is a framework that uses both a private and a public key, as opposed to the single key used in symmetric cryptography. The use of key pairs gives PKC a unique set of characteristics and capabilities that can be utilized to solve challenges inherent in other cryptographic techniques. This form of cryptography has become an important element of modern computer security, as well as a critical component of the growing cryptocurrency ecosystem.


How does public key cryptography work?

In a PKC scheme, the public key is used by a sender to encrypt information, while the private key is used by a recipient to decrypt it. Because the two keys are different from one another, the public key can be safely shared without compromising the security of the private one. Each asymmetric key pair is unique, ensuring that a message encrypted using a public key can only be read by the person who possesses the corresponding private key.

Because asymmetric encryption algorithms generate key pairs that are mathematically linked, their key lengths are much longer than those used in symmetric cryptography. This longer length - typically between 1,024 and 2,048 bits - makes it extremely difficult to compute a private key from its public counterpart. One of the most commons algorithm for asymmetric encryption in use today is known as RSA. 

In the RSA scheme, keys are generated using a modulus that is arrived at by multiplying two numbers (often two large prime numbers). In basic terms, the modulus generates two keys (one public that can be shared, and one private that should be kept in secret). The RSA algorithm was first described in 1977 by Rivest, Shamir, and Adleman (hence, RSA) and remains a major component of public key cryptography systems.


PKC as an encryption tool

Public key cryptography solves one of the long-standing problems of symmetric algorithms, which is the communication of the key that is used for both encryption and decryption. Sending this key over an insecure connection risks exposing it to third parties, who can then read any messages encrypted with the shared key. Although cryptographic techniques (such as the Diffie-Hellman-Merkle key exchange protocol) exist to solve this problem, they are still vulnerable to attacks. In public key cryptography, by contrast, the key used for encryption can be shared securely over any connection. As a result, asymmetric algorithms offer a higher level of protection when compared to the symmetric ones.


Use in generating digital signatures

Another application of asymmetric cryptography algorithms is that of authenticating data through the use of digital signatures. Basically speaking, a digital signature is a hash created using the data in a message. When that message is sent, the signature can be checked by the recipient using the sender's public key. This way, they can authenticate the source of the message and ensure that it has not been tampered with. In some cases, digital signatures and encryption are applied together, meaning the hash itself may be encrypted as part of the message. It should be noted, however, that not all digital signature schemes use encryption techniques.


Limitations

Although it can be used to enhance computer security and provide verification of message integrity, PKC does have some limitations. Owing to the complex mathematical operations involved in encryption and decryption, asymmetric algorithms can be quite slow when forced to deal with large amounts of data. This type of cryptography also depends heavily on the assumption that the private key will remain secret. If a private key is accidentally shared or exposed, the security of all messages that have been encrypted with its corresponding public key will be compromised. It is also possible for users to accidentally lose their private keys, in which case it becomes impossible for them to access the encrypted data.


Applications of public key cryptography

This type of cryptography is used by many modern computer systems to provide security for sensitive information. Emails, for example, can be encrypted using public key cryptography techniques to keep their contents confidential. 

The secure sockets layer (SSL) protocol that makes secure connections to websites possible also employs asymmetric cryptography. PKC systems have even been explored as a means of providing a secure electronic voting environment that would potentially allow voters to participate in elections from their home computers.

PKC also features prominently in blockchain and cryptocurrency technology. When a new cryptocurrency wallet is set up, a pair of keys is generated (public and private keys). The wallet address is generated using the public key and can be securely shared with others. The private key, on the other hand, is used for creating digital signatures and verifying transactions, and therefore, must be kept in secret. Once a transaction has been verified by confirming the hash contained in the digital signature, that transaction can be added to the blockchain ledger. This system of digital signature verification ensures that only the person who has the private key associated with the corresponding cryptocurrency wallet can release funds from it. 

It should be noted that the asymmetric ciphers used in cryptocurrency applications are different from those used for computer security purposes. Bitcoin and Ethereum, for instance, use a specialized cipher known as the Elliptic Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (ECDSA) to verify transactions.


Closing thoughts

From computer security to verifying cryptocurrency transactions, public key cryptography plays an important role in securing modern digital systems. By using paired public and private keys, asymmetric cryptography algorithms resolve fundamental security concerns presented by symmetric ciphers. Although PKC has been in use for many years, new uses and applications are regularly being developed for it, particularly in the blockchain and cryptocurrency space.

Loading