ما هو التشفير بالمفتاح المتناظر؟

مشاركة
ما هو التشفير بالمفتاح المتناظر؟
الإستماع الى هذه المقالة
00:00 / 00:00

التشفير بالمفتاح المتناظر أو التشفير المتماثل هو نوع من أنظمة التشفير يستخدم فيه نفس المفتاح لتشفير الرسائل وفك تشفيرها. وقد استخدمت طريقة التشفير هذه إلى حد كبير في العقود الماضية لتسهيل الاتصال السري بين الحكومات والجيوش. في الوقت الحالى يتم تطبيق التشفير بالمفتاح المتناظر على نطاق واسع في أنواع مختلفة من أنظمة الكمبيوتر لتعزيز أمن البيانات.


كيف يعمل التشفير المتماثل؟

تعتمد أنظمة التشفير المتماثل على مفتاح واحد مشترك بين اثنين أو أكثر من المستخدمين. يتم استخدام نفس المفتاح لتشفير وفك تشفير ما يسمى بالنص العادي (الذي يمثل رسالة أو جزء من البيانات التي يتم تشفيرها). تتكون عملية التشفير من تشغيل نص عادي (إدخال) من خلال خوارزمية تشفير تسمى cipher والتي بدورها تقوم بإنشاء نص مشفر "ciphertext" (إخراج).

إذا كان نظام التشفير قويًا بدرجة كافية، فإن الطريقة الوحيدة لشخص ما لقراءة أو الوصول إلى المعلومات الموجودة في النص المشفر هي باستخدام المفتاح المقابل لفك تشفيره. عملية فك التشفير هي ببساطة تحويل النص المشفر مرة أخرى إلى نص عادي.

يعتمد أمن أنظمة التشفير المتماثل على مدى صعوبة تخمين المفتاح المقابل. على سبيل المثال، لفك تشفير مفتاح من نوعية 128bits قد يستغرق مليارات السنين باستخدام أجهزة الكمبيوتر الشائعة. كلما كان مفتاح التشفير أطول ، كلما أصبح من الصعب فك تشفيره. تعتبر المفاتيح التي يبلغ طولها 256bits بشكل عام آمنة للغاية ومقاومة من الناحية النظرية لهجمات التخمين (brute force attacks).

اثنين من أساليب التشفير المتماثل الأكثر شيوعًا هما Block Cipher و Stream Cipher. تقوم مجموعة تشفير الكتل بتجميع البيانات ف كتل ذات حجم محدد مسبقًا ويتم تشفير كل كتلة باستخدام المفتاح المتطابق و خوارزمية التشفير. (على سبيل المثال،  يتم تشفير النص العادي  128bits في نص مشفر 128bits). من ناحية أخرى، في نوعية stream cipher لا يتم تشفير  بيانات النص العادي بواسطة الكتل بل بالأحرى بزيادات 1 bit(يتم تشفير النص غير المشفر ذو البتة 1 bit في نص مشفر 1 bit في المرة الواحدة).


التشفير المتماثل والتشفير الغير متماثل

التشفير المتماثل هو أحد الطريقتين الرئيسيتين لتشفير البيانات في أنظمة الكمبيوتر الحديثة. و الطريقة الأخرى هي التشفير الغير متماثل  يشار إليه أحيانًا أيضًا بتشفير المفتاح العام.  الفرق الرئيسي بين هذه الطرق هو حقيقة أن الأنظمة غير المتماثلة تستخدم مفتاحين بدلاً من المفتاح الذي تستخدمه الأنظمة المتماثلة. يمكن مشاركة أحد المفاتيح بشكل عام (المفتاح العام) بينما يجب أن يبقى المفتاح الآخر خاصًا (المفتاح الخاص).

استخدام مفتاحين بدلاً من واحد ينتج أيضًا مجموعة متنوعة من الاختلافات الوظيفية بين التشفير المتماثل وغير المتماثل. حيث أن الخوارزميات غير المتماثلة أكثر تعقيدًا وأبطأ من الخوارزميات المتماثلة نظرًا لأن المفاتيح العامة والخاصة المستخدمة في التشفير غير المتماثل ترتبط إلى حد ما رياضيا حيث يجب أن تكون المفاتيح نفسها أطول بكثير لتوفير مستوى مماثل من الأمان الذي توفره المفاتيح المتماثلة الأقصر.


الإستخدامات في أنظمة الكمبيوتر الحديثة

تستخدم خوارزميات التشفير المتماثل في العديد من أنظمة الكمبيوتر الحديثة لتعزيز أمن البيانات وخصوصية المستخدم. يعد Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) المستخدم على نطاق واسع في كل من تطبيقات المراسلة الآمنة والتخزين السحابي مثالاً بارزًا على التشفير المتماثل.

بالإضافة إلى تطبيقات البرامج، يمكن أيضًا إضافة AES مباشرة في أجهزة الكمبيوتر. عادةً ما تقوم أنظمة التشفير المتماثل القائمة على الأجهزة بالاستفادة من AES 256 وهو متغير محدد لمعيار التشفير المتقدم الذي يبلغ حجم مفتاحه 256 bits.

من الجدير بالذكر أن بلوكشين البيتكوين لا يستخدم التشفير كما يميل الكثيرون إلى الاعتقاد. بل يستخدم  نوعًا معينًا من خوارزميات التوقيع الرقمي "digital signatures algorithm" (DSA) المعروفة باسم Elliptic Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (ECDSA) التي تنشئ التواقيع الرقمية دون استخدام التشفير.

تتمثل النقطة المثيرة للجدل في أن ECDSA يعتمد على تشفير elliptic-curve والذي بدوره يمكن تطبيقه على مهام متعددة  بما في ذلك التشفير والتوقيعات الرقمية والمولدات العشوائية الزائفة. ومع ذلك لا يمكن استخدام ECDSA نفسه للتشفير على الإطلاق.


المميزات والعيوب

توفر الخوارزميات المتماثلة مستوى عاليًا جدًا من الأمان مع السماح في الوقت نفسه بتشفير الرسائل وفك تشفيرها بسرعة. البساطة النسبية للأنظمة المتماثلة هي أيضا ميزة لوجستية لأنها تتطلب طاقة حوسبة أقل من تلك غير المتماثلة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك يمكن زيادة مستوى الأمان الذي يوفره التشفير المتماثل ببساطة عن طريق زيادة أطوال المفاتيح. حيث أن كل Bit واحدة تضاف الى طول مفتاح متماثل تزيد من صعوبة تكسير التشفير من خلال هجوم التخمين بشكل كبير.

على الرغم من أن التشفير المتماثل يوفر مجموعة واسعة من الفوائد  إلا أن هناك عيبًا رئيسيًا مرتبطًا به وهو المشكلة الكامنة في إرسال المفاتيح المستخدمة لتشفير البيانات وفك تشفيرها. عند مشاركة هذه المفاتيح عبر اتصال غير آمن تكون عرضةً لاعتراضها من قِبل جهات خارجية ضارة. إذا تمكن مستخدم غير مصرح له من الوصول إلى مفتاح متماثل معين فإن أمان أي بيانات مشفرة باستخدام هذا المفتاح تكون عرضة للخطر. لحل هذه المشكلة ، تستخدم العديد من بروتوكولات الويب مجموعة من التشفير المتماثل وغير المتماثل لإنشاء اتصالات آمنة. من بين أبرز الأمثلة على هذا النظام المختلط هو بروتوكول تشفير Transport Layer Security (TLS) المستخدم لتأمين أجزاء كبيرة من الإنترنت الحديثة. 

من الجدير بالذكر أيضًا أن جميع أنواع تشفير الكمبيوتر تخضع لثغرات أمنية بسبب التنفيذ غير الصحيح. في حين أن المفتاح الطويل بما فيه الكفاية يمكن أن يجعل هجوم القوة الغاشمة (هجوم التخمين) أمرًا مستحيلًا من الناحية الرياضية، إلا أن الأخطاء في التنفيذ التي يرتكبها المبرمجون غالباً ما تخلق نقاط ضعف تفتح الطريق أمام الهجمات الإلكترونية.


أفكار ختامية

يتم استخدام التشفير المتماثل على نطاق واسع في التطبيقات التي تتراوح بين تأمين حركة المرور على الإنترنت وحماية البيانات المخزنة على الخوادم السحابية و يرجع ذلك لسرعته النسبية وبساطته وأمانه. على الرغم من أنه يتم اقترانها في كثير من الأحيان بتشفير غير متماثل من أجل حل مشكلة نقل المفاتيح بأمان، إلا أن أساليب التشفير المتماثل تظل مكونًا مهمًا لأمن الكمبيوتر الحديث.

Loading

What is Symmetric Key Cryptography?

Share
What is Symmetric Key Cryptography?

Symmetric key cryptography (or symmetric encryption) is a type of encryption scheme in which the same key is used both to encrypt and decrypt messages. Such a method of encoding information has been largely used in the past decades to facilitate secret communication between governments and militaries. Nowadays, symmetric key algorithms are widely applied in various types of computer systems to enhance data security.


How does symmetric encryption work?

Symmetric encryption schemes rely on a single key that is shared between two or more users. The same key is used to encrypt and decrypt the so-called plaintext (which represents the message or piece of data that is being encoded). The process of encryption consists of running a plaintext (input) through an encryption algorithm called a cipher, which in turn generates a ciphertext (output).

If the encryption scheme is strong enough, the only way for a person to read or access the information contained in the ciphertext is by using the corresponding key to decrypt it. The process of decryption is basically converting the ciphertext back to plaintext.

The security of symmetric encryption systems is based on how difficult it randomly guess the corresponding key to brute force them. A 128-bit key, for example, would take billions of years to guess using common computer hardware. The longer the encryption key is, the harder it becomes to crack it. Keys that are 256-bits length are generally regarded as highly secure and theoretically resistant to quantum computer brute force attacks. 

Two of the most common symmetric encryption schemes used today are based on block and stream ciphers. Block ciphers group data into blocks of predetermined size and each block is encrypted using the corresponding key and encryption algorithm (e.g., 128-bit plaintext is encrypted into 128-bit ciphertext). On the other hand, stream ciphers do not encrypt plaintext data by blocks, but rather by 1-bit increments (1-bit plaintext is encrypted into 1-bit ciphertext at a time).


Symmetric vs. asymmetric encryption

Symmetric encryption is one of the two major methods of encrypting data in modern computer systems. The other is asymmetric encryption, which is the major application of public key cryptography. The main difference between these methods is the fact that asymmetric systems use two keys rather than the one employed by the symmetric schemes. One of the keys can be publicly shared (public key), while the other must be kept in private (private key).

The use of two keys instead of one also produces a variety of functional differences between symmetric and asymmetric encryption. Asymmetric algorithms are more complex and slower than the symmetric ones. Because the public and private keys employed in asymmetric encryption are to some degree mathematically related, the keys themselves must also be considerably longer to provide a similar level of security offered by shorter symmetric keys.


Uses in modern computer systems

Symmetric encryption algorithms are employed in many modern computer systems to enhance data security and user privacy. The Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) that is widely used in both secure messaging applications and cloud storage is one prominent example of a symmetric cipher.

In addition to software implementations, AES can also be implemented directly in computer hardware. Hardware-based symmetric encryption schemes usually leverage the AES 256, which is a specific variant of the Advanced Encryption Standard that has a key size of 256 bits.

It is worth noting that Bitcoin’s blockchain does not make use of encryption like many tend to believe. Instead, it uses a specific kind of digital signatures algorithm (DSA) known as Elliptic Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (ECDSA) that generates digital signatures without using encryption.

A common point of confusion is that the ECDSA is based on elliptic-curve cryptography (ECC), which in turn may be applied for multiple tasks, including encryption, digital signatures, and pseudo-random generators. However, the ECDSA itself cannot be used for encryption at all.

 

Advantages and disadvantages

Symmetric algorithms provide a fairly high level of security while at the same time allowing for messages to be encrypted and decrypted quickly. The relative simplicity of symmetric systems is also a logistical advantage, as they require less computing power than the asymmetric ones. In addition, the security provided by symmetric encryption can be scaled up simply by increasing key lengths. For every single bit added to the length of a symmetric key, the difficulty of cracking the encryption through a brute force attack increases exponentially.

While symmetric encryption offers a wide range of benefits, there is one major disadvantage associated with it: the inherent problem of transmitting the keys used to encrypt and decrypt data. When these keys are shared over an unsecured connection, they are vulnerable to being intercepted by malicious third parties. If an unauthorized user gains access to a particular symmetric key, the security of any data encrypted using that key is compromised. To solve this problem, many web protocols use a combination of symmetric and asymmetric encryption to establish secure connections. Among the most prominent examples of such a hybrid system is the Transport Layer Security (TLS) cryptographic protocol used to secure large portions of the modern internet.

It should also be noted that all types of computer encryption are subject to vulnerabilities due to improper implementation. While a sufficiently long key can make a brute force attack mathematically impossible, errors in implementation made by programmers often create weaknesses that open up the way for cyber attacks.


Closing thoughts

Thanks to its relative speed, simplicity, and security, symmetric encryption is used extensively in applications ranging from securing internet traffic to protecting data stored on cloud servers. Although it is frequently paired with asymmetric encryption in order to solve the problem of safely transferring keys, symmetric encryption schemes remain a critical component of modern computer security.

Loading